The Bureau conducts routine announced and unannounced inspections of institutions to determine compliance with standard minimum requirements set out in California Education Code, Title 3, Division 10, Part 59, Chapter 8 (also known as the California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009) and corresponding regulations set out in Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Division 7.5, Private Postsecondary Education.
While the Bureau is on-site inspecting an institution, the following Notice to Students is posted in a conspicuous place and must be maintained and kept unobstructed for 90 days thereafter:
Notice to Students
This institution is subject to regular compliance inspections by the
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Information regarding
the dates of inspections conducted and the results of those
inspections can be found at the Bureau's website at
www.bppe.ca.gov. This Institution was last inspected on [date].
At the conclusion of a compliance inspection, a Notice to Comply is issued for detected minor violations. The institution is provided 30 days to correct the violations, or the Bureau may take further disciplinary action. Violations detected during a compliance inspection that are material in nature are referred to the Enforcement Division for investigation and possible disciplinary action.
- Announced Compliance Inspections - The institution responds to Bureau requests and undergoes a comprehensive on-site inspection.
- Unannounced Compliance Inspections - The Bureau performs an unannounced on-site inspection, focusing on specific areas.
- Compliance Inspection Results - Completion dates of inspections, includes issued Notices to Comply.
- Institution Minimum Requirements
- Frequently Asked Questions