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PAUL MITCHELL.

the school

EAST BAY

100 Crescent Drive, Suite D, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523, (925) 691-7687

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay, 100 Crescent Drive, Suite D, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523, is a private
institution that is approved to operate by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.
Approval to operate means the institution is compliant with the minimum standards contained in the
California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009 (as amended) and Division 7.5 of Title 5 of the
California Code of Regulations. The school was approved April 19,2011, and is approved to operate until
January 1,2024. For more information, contact the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) at
1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589, or visit its
Web site at www.bppe.ca.gov.

Cosmetology 1600 hours
Barbering 1500 hours
Esthetics 600 hours

Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy level accommodating 238 students at any one time.

California statute requires that a student who successfully completes a course of study be awarded an
appropriate diploma or certificate verifying the fact.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment
agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School’s Performance Fact Sheet, which must

be provided to you prior to signing an enroliment agreement. This school is currently approved to
participate in approved sponsored programs, government or otherwise, to provide grants and/or loans to
pay for portions of tuition and fees.

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) sets minimum standards for these programs of study:
The minimum number of class hours and the total clock hours for each course, as outlined in the
program’s Rules and Regulations booklet, must be met to qualify the student for licensure.

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered
by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) at 1747 N.
Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589.

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for
Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can
be obtained on the bureau’s website www.bppe.ca.gov.

All information in the content of this school catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by
Melissa Serpa and Caelyn Armijo, Co-Directors.
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Melissa Serpa Co-Director Caelyn Armijo Co-Director

Signature

The schools catalog can be found on the schools website: _http://paulmitchell.edu/eastbay and
prospective student will also be given a catalog during a tour.

The school catalog is updated annually and as needed.
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At Paul Mitchell The School East Bay, our mission is to provide a quality educational system to prepare
students to pass the state board examination and gain employment within their chosen field of study. We
promote and recognize the principles of fairness, equity, inclusion, anti-discrimination, and social justice.
Our culture is about celebrating diversity, bringing out the best in people and situations, changing lives,
making a difference, giving back, healing the planet, and healing ourselves. We also provide a solid
educational foundation to empower our team members in the pursuit of excellence. We strongly believe
that when people come first, success will follow.

Our programs offer the challenge of a stimulating and rewarding career. Paul Mitchell The School East
Bay is fully equipped to meet all the demands of modern hair care, while at the same time providing a
high-tech atmosphere and attitude for progressive personal development. The 11,000 square-foot facility
includes a student lounge and lockers, client reception and work areas, management offices, private
classrooms, workstations, and equipment.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay provides handicap parking immediately in front of the school,
wheelchair access through its main entrance double doors. We have two floors, so we have an elevator for
handicap and wheelchair access, along with a private handicap bathroom and public women'’s and men’s
bathroom, both equipped for handicap access. All learning areas, classrooms and clinic floor classroom
are handicap accessible.

Unapproved persons are not allowed on the campus. Future Professionals may not bring unapproved
persons to school. Our facility may not be used as a drop off station, child care or waiting area. Having
unapproved persons on campus creates a distraction to other students and all those around them. If we
feel a person is a distraction or liability we may ask them to leave the campus.

PMHBW, LLC, dba Paul Mitchell The School East Bay, is an independently owned and operated franchisee
of Paul Mitchell Advanced Education, LLC.

Cosmetology: Standard Occupational Classification (SOC 39-5012.00):

Classification of Instructional Program (CIP 12.0401)

The curriculum involves 1600 hours to satisfy California state requirements. The course includes extensive
instruction and practical experience in cutting, hair coloring, perming, customer service, personal
appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail skills, client record keeping,
business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type administration, and job interviewing.

*Students are prepared to be an entry level cosmetologist.

Barbering: SOC 39.5011.00, CIP Code 12.0402:

The curriculum involves 1500 hours to satisfy California state requirements. The program includes
extensive instruction and practical experience in men’s cutting, color, texture, men’s grooming, customer
service, personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take Home)
skills, guest record-keeping, and business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type
administration, and job interviewing.

*Students are prepared to be entry-level barbers.
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Esthetics: SOC 39-5094.00, CIP Code 12.0409:

The curriculum involves 600 hours to satisfy California state requirements. The course includes extensive
instruction and practical experience in skin, facials, hair removal, makeup application, customer service,
personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take Home) skills,
guest record-keeping, business ethics, state laws and regulations, salon-type administration, and job
interviewing.

*Students are prepared to be entry-level estheticians.
* At this time the school does not have any plans to improve or change its educational programs

* The school does not have any written agreements with any other entity to offer in whole or part any of
its educational programs.

Students must abide by local (city and/or landlord) parking rules, which are announced during orientation.
Paul Mitchell The School East Bay will not be responsible for parking violations and/or towing fees.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not recruit ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE. As“THE SCHOOL
DOES NOT OFFER INSTRUCTION IN ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE

Students must have the ability to read and write English at a level of a graduate of an American high
school as demonstrated by the possession of a standard high school diploma*, high school transcripts**,
an academic transcript of a student who has successfully completed at least a two-year program that

is acceptable for full credit towards a bachelor’s degree or High School Equivalency diploma or official
High School Equivalency diploma test scores.

If a students primary language is not English the student may bring an interpreter, when signing the
enrollment contract to obtain a clear understanding of the terms and conditions of the enrollment contract
in the students primary language.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay in its admission, instruction, and graduation policies and practices,
does not allow or tolerate harassment or discrimination based on race, religion, creed, color, ethnic
origin, national origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions),
military or veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital status, age, sexual
orientation, gender, gender identity or expression, genetic information, or any other basis protected
by the federal, state, or local law. The school does not condone discrimination of any kind, bullying,
harassment, or hazing of any sort. If any student or team member experiences or witnesses anyone
being bullied, harassed, or hazed in any way, he or she is required to report the matter to the school’s
director, Melissa Serpa and Caelyn Armijo, in person or by calling (925) 691-7687, or by mail at 100
Crescent Drive, Suite D, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523, immediately so appropriate action can be taken.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and
Sciences (NACCAS) and is not required by NACCAS to have a teach-out agreement in place. Schools are
only required to have a teach-out agreement in place under certain circumstances where the school may
no longer be considered a viable entity, which does not apply to this school.

PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL EAST BAY CATALOG



The U.S. Department of Education requires all Title IV eligible schools to publish any enforcement actions
or prosecutions brought against it by a state or federal law enforcement agency in any matter where a
final judgment against the institution, if rendered, would result in an adverse action by the school’s
accrediting agency, revocation by the state authorization or licensing agency, or limit, suspend, or
terminate a school’s eligibility to participate in Title IV programs of the Higher Education Act. Paul
Mitchell The School East Bay does not have any legal actions against it by a state or federal law
enforcement agency.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay admits as regular students those who are high school graduates,
holders of high school graduation equivalency certificates. Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not
accept ability to benefit (ATB) students at this time, unless a student previously attended our school as an
ATB student (grandfathered-in) and is accepted to re-enter the program.

Complete an Application Form: Complete and submit the application form to the school prior to
registration. All forms may be obtained by requesting them from Paul Mitchell The School East Bay.

Submit a Application Fee: Action will not be taken on admission or any student loan application
until an application fee of $100.00 is received. Please submit the fee in the form of a credit card
payable to Paul Mitchell The School East Bay. This fee is not included in the cost of tuition.

Submit One (1) Photo: The photo should be a recent head and shoulder shot of the applicant.

©

Entrance Essay: The essay should include the applicant’s accomplishments and career goals.

Personal Interview: Applicant must complete a personal interview with the admission’s team prior
to registration.

Provide Verification Documents:

a. ldentification (provide only one): Copies of a passport, a government-issued identification, a
driver’s license, or a birth certificate are required.

b. Education (provide only one): Copies of a standard high school diploma*, high school
transcripts showing high school completion**, an academic transcript of a student who has
successfully completed at least a two-year program that is acceptable for full credit towards a
bachelor’s degree, California Certificate of Proficiency or High School Equivalency diploma or
official High School Equivalency diploma test scores. The students education documents meet the
criteria demonstrating the student is proficient in the English language.

* Please note that a Modified High School Diploma, a Certificate of Completion, or a Certificate of
Attainment is not accepted for our Admissions requirements. They are not considered equivalent

to a Standard High School Diploma. We are required to verify that your proof of education is from a valid
high school or High School equivalency program. If we determine that your diploma or High School
Equivalency diploma is not valid, you will be denied admission to the school.

**Foreign Diplomas or Transcripts: The school will accept a foreign diploma or transcript, however the
diploma or transcript MUST be equivalent to a U.S. high school diploma and must be translated into English
by certified translator. It is the students responsibility to have the foreign diploma or transcript translated
and evaluated as part of the admissions process. Because the cost of evaluating a foreign diploma or
transcript must be incurred as a charge of admissions prior to enrollment in an eligible program, the fee
cannot be included in the cost of attendance (COA). Guidance on who to contact to secure an official
translation and evaluation can be obtained from the school Financial Aid Leader. Applicants with foreign
diplomas or transcripts must pass the school’s aptitude exam prior to enrollment, demonstrating the
student is proficient in the English language.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not recruit students who are already enrolled in a similar program

at another institution.
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If you have a disability and need an academic adjustment, please notify the admissions office as soon as
possible so the school can review your request. If you are interested in attending our school and you do
not have a high school diploma or High School equivalency certificate, please contact our admissions
office for a list of High School equivalency programs located near the school. Paul Mitchell The School
East Bay does not require a student to have immunizations / vaccinations to enroll in our school. A copy
of the school’s ADA Policy and Request for Accommodations form may be found on the school’s
website or from the school’s Admissions Leader.

Transfer hours accepted by the school are applied to the total number of hours necessary to complete the
program and are considered both attempted and completed hours for the purpose of determining when
the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted. Satisfactory academic progress (SAP) evaluation
periods are based on actual contracted hours at the institution. Please refer to the school Transfer policy for
additional information.

Home-schooled students are not considered to have a high school diploma or equivalent, howeverthey
are eligible for admission into Paul Mitchell The School East Bay, if their secondary school education was
in a home school that state law treats as a home or private school.

Some states issue a secondary school completion credential to home schoolers; if this is the case in the
state where the student was home-schooled; he/she must obtain this credential in order to be eligible for
enrollment; otherwise the school will verify that the prospective student was home schooled in a state
that the law treats the home school as a home or private school.

ARBITRATION AND CLASS ACTION WAIVER DISCLOSURE

Arbitration and Class Action Waiver Disclosure: Paul Mitchell The School East Bay (the “School”)
requires each student to agree to a pre-dispute arbitration agreement and a class action waiver
as a condition of enrollment (“Arbitration Agreement”). The Arbitration Agreement does not, in
any way, limit, relinquish, or waive a student’s ability to pursue filing a borrower defense claim,
pursuant to 34 C.FR. § 685.206(e) at any time. The Arbitration Agreement does not require that
the student participate in arbitration or any internal dispute resolution process offered by the
School prior to filing a borrower defense to repayment application with the U.S. Department of
Education pursuant to 34 C.FR. § 685.206(e). Any arbitration, required by the Arbitration
Agreement, tolls (pauses) the limitations period for filing a borrower defense to repayment
application pursuant to 34 C.F.R. § 685.206(e)(6)(ii) for the length of time that the arbitration
proceeding is under way. Any questions about the Arbitration Agreement or a dispute relating
to a student’s Title IV Federal student loans or to the provision of educational services for which
the loans were provided should be directed to Melissa Serpa or Caelyn Armijo, in person or by
calling (925) 691-7687, or by mail at 100 Crescent Drive, Suite D, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523,
immediately so appropriate action can be taken.

The definition of a class action means a lawsuit or an arbitration proceeding in which one or
more parties seeks class treatment. Class action waiver means any agreement or part of an
agreement, regardless of its form or structure, between a school, or a party acting on behalf of a
school, and a student that relates to the making of a Direct Loan or the provision of educational
services for which the student received title IV funding and prevents an individual from filing or
participating in a class action that pertains to those services.

The definition of a pre-dispute arbitration agreement means any agreement or part of an
agreement, regardless of its form or structure, between a school, or a party acting on behalf of a
school, and a student requiring arbitration of any future dispute between the parties relating to
the making of a Direct Loan or provision of educational services for which the student received
title IV funding.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay’s Financial Aid Leader will meet with each student during the
signing of the enrollment contract and will be available during the student’s completion of

Entrance Counseling for Title IV Student Loans to help answer any questions a student may have.
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Non-immigrant applicants must provide documentation to show that they are permitted to be
enrolled in a vocational or technical post-secondary school in the United States. Please see the
Financial Aid Officer to determine if you qualify for enrollment and any type of Title IV financial aid.
Please note that students who are studying under a student visa (M1 visa), or any other visa, are not
eligible to receive Title IV financial aid. Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does admit students from
other countries, but does not have visa services and does not vouch for student status. There will be
no associated charges with this process.

After a prospect has completed the enrollment application process, the enroliment team and director
reviews each applicant and his or her required admissions materials including the written entrance essay
and personal interview to determine acceptance. Upon the decision of the enrollment team and director,
the applicant receives written notification of acceptance or denial. Note: All applicants must go through
the entire enrollment application process (detailed in the enrollment application) which includes re-entry
students (withdrawals) and transfer students.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not have an articulation agreement with any other schools or
entities. The entire educational program is being provided by Paul Mitchell The School East Bay and it’s

educational team.
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Students who re-enroll in the program within 180 days of last date of attendance must complete the
following:

@ All outstanding tuition, fees, and overtime expenses must be paid in advance or the student must
make satisfactory arrangements with the Financial Aid Leader.

® Previous tuition payments will be credited to the student’s balance based upon the original
contracted cost for the course.

© If a re-enrolling student has previously used all of their excused absences provided under their
original contract, the student will not receive any additional time for excused absences under the
new contract addendum.

O Students who are Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) eligible will be assessed a prorated STRF fee.

Students who re-enroll in the program after 180 days of last date of attendance must complete the
following:

© All outstanding tuition, fees, and overtime expenses must be paid in advance or the student must
make satisfactory arrangements with the Financial Aid Leader.

@ Students will be contracted at the current tuition hourly rate.

The student will receive 10% of scheduled hours under the new re-enrollment contract for excused
absences.

O Students are required to purchase a kit if their current kit is not complete. Any missing kit items must
be purchased.

© Students who are Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) eligible will be assessed a prorated STRF fee.

@

For re-entry students who return more than one year after having withdrawn from their program of
study, they must take a written exam to determine their level of retained knowledge and the number
of hours that will be credited to the student upon re-entry.

The school does not deny re-admission to any service member of the uniformed services for reasons
relating to that service.

Re-admission is reserved to the sole discretion of Paul Mitchell The School East Bay and may require
special conditions.

Re-admission for a student requires a personal interview with school administration. The re-entering
student will be placed on a 30-day evaluation. During the 30-day evaluation period the student must
demonstrate for that period that they can meet the school’s minimum attendance and academic
requirements for Satisfactory Academic Progress. The student will then be evaluated for Satisfactory
Academic Progress at the next scheduled evaluation period to determine their new status. Students
who fail to meet the minimum attendance and academic requirements for that 30-day evaluation period
may be terminated. Students who re-enter the program are placed in the same Satisfactory Academic
Progress as when they left.

Prospects trying to re-enter or transfer in may not be able to enter into a schedule that is not available
due to capacity. Not all schedules may be available.
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The cost for cosmetology transfer students is $13.50 per hour attended at Paul Mitchell The School East
Bay; this does not include the cost of a complete and current Paul Mitchell student kit.

The cost for barbering transfer students is $13.50 per hour attended at Paul Mitchell The School East
Bay; this does not include the cost of a complete and current Paul Mitchell student kit.

The cost for esthetics transfer students is $15.00 per hour attended at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay;
this does not include the cost of a complete and current Paul Mitchell student kit.

*Students that have their California cosmetology license or have completed the 1600 hours in cosmetology
and would like to enroll in the barbering program a maximum of 1300 hours will be accepted and students will
need to complete a minimum of 200 hours in barbering and the cost will be $13.50 per hour.

*Students that have their California barbering license or have completed 1500 hours in barbering and would
like to enroll in the cosmetology program a maximum of 1300 hours will be accepted and students will need to
complete a minimum of 300 hours in cosmetology and the cost will be $13.50 per hour.

Please note that students transferring to another school may not be able to transfer all the hours they
earned at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay; the number of transferable hours depends on the policy of
the receiving school.

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the tuition.
Paul Mitchell The School East Bay will collect official post secondary transcripts from all VA students.
Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not award credits for prior experiential learning.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any
other college or university.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay evaluates all VA student transcripts for prior credit. The school does not
accept credit or hours from non-cosmetology programs.

In extraordinary circumstances, the school may allow a student to transfer in more hours from a
non-Paul Mitchell School, if the student is enrolling from a school that has suddenly closed without
notice. In these instances, the school will evaluate the prospective student and credit them with the
number of hours related to their course knowledge.

Prospects trying to re-enter or transfer in may not be able to enter into a schedule that is not available
due to capacity. Not all schedules may be available.

All programs

To determine the number of hours our school will accept is based on the following:

(1) The number of hours completed during the student’s previous training.

(2] GPA from previous training.

(3] Attendance percentage during previous training.

(4] The amount of time that has passed since they last attended school.

(5] We will give them a written exam which they must pass with a 70% score or higher.

These same criteria may be used for re-entry students.

Out of state transfer students must submit their hours to the California Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology and receive a California Proof of Training document. This document will be used in
conjunction with the above criteria to determine the number of hours that will be accepted as transfer
hours.

Cosmetology
Cosmetology students transferring from a non-Paul Mitchell School.
A maximum of 1200 hours will be accepted. Students must complete a minimum of 400 hours.
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Barbering
Barbering students transferring from a non-Paul Mitchell School.
A maximum of 1100 hours will be accepted. Students must complete a minimum of 400 hours.

Esthetics
Esthetics students transferring from a non-Paul Mitchell School.
A maximum of 200 hours will be accepted. Students must complete a minimum of 400 hours.

The transferability of credits you earn at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay is at the complete discretion of
the institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in cosmetology,
barbering, and/or esthetics is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to
transfer. If the certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you
seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this
reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals.
This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Paul Mitchell
The School East Bay to determine if your certificate will transfer.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay is a clock hour school, which means that in order to receive credit for
each hour earned you must be in attendance engaged in an educational activity. If you decide to transfer
to another cosmetology school, the likelihood is that some or most of your hours will be transferrable
based on the transfer school’s published policy. However, if you transfer to a credit hour school, such as

a community college, or traditional college or university, for a degree granting program, the likelihood is
that most, if not all hours earned will not be transferrable because of the subject matter taught and the
type of degree granting program you are enrolling in. Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not give
clock hour credit for service in the armed forces, paid or unpaid employment, or other demonstrated
competency or learning because of the nature of the program offered and state regulatory requirements.

The transferability of credits or certificate you earn at another institution, is at the sole discretion of Paul
Mitchell The School East Bay. You may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework, if Paul
Mitchell The School East Bay does not accept some or all of your credits. This determination will be based
on an evaluation of the student’s comprehension of the course material. The school does not allow a
student to appeal the number of hours accepted when transferring from another location. After the
student completes the evaluation, the student will meet with the Education Leader to determine the
number of hours accepted and where the student will be placed in the program. At this time, it will also
be determined if previous completed coursework needs to be repeated. For this reason, you should speak
to Paul Mitchell The School East Bay’s admissions leader to determine if your credits or certificate will
transfer. Transfer students are responsible to pay the hourly fee based on the number of hours needed to
complete the program of study, which is noted under the Transfer Student section of this catalog. Transfer
students are responsible to pay the $100.00 application fee as part of the Admissions Procedure. The
transfers student’s technical kit will be evaluated, and if necessary, the student will be responsible to
purchase the technical and digital kit, as well as the textbooks and any sales tax involved.

The state may refuse to grant a license if a student has been convicted of a crime; committed any act
involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit; or committed any act that, if committed by a licentiate of the
business or profession in question, would be grounds for the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
to deny licensure. The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology denies licensure on the grounds that the
applicant knowingly made a false statement of fact required to be revealed in the application for such
license. Students who are not U.S. citizens or who do not have documented authority to work in the
United States will not be eligible to apply to take the state licensure examination. Paul Mitchell The School
East Bay is not responsible for students denied licensure.
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Paul Mitchell The School East Bay offers distance education to its Future Professionals for only a portion of
the educational program. Students who enroll in a program with distance education as a component of
the program understand and acknowledge that the portion of distance learning offered is in compliance
with the school’s state regulatory body and accrediting agency. Since Paul Mitchell The School East

Bay only utilizes distance learning for a small portion of the overall program, the school does not enroll
students who are only interesting in attending the distance learning portion of the program. Please

note that academic achievement earned via distance education may not be accepted for reciprocity or
eligibility for licensure in other states.

The following programs offered at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay lead to licensure in the state of
California: Cosmetology, Barbering, and Esthetics. We have compiled a list of all states that require
licensure for the program you are interested in enrolling. We have identified whether the institution’s
program curriculum meets, does not meet, or a determination has not been made yet, for other state’s
individual state educational requirements for professional licensure. This information can be located on
the school’s paulmitchell.edu website, as well as you will receive a copy in the school’s admissions packet,
prior to touring the school.

Please note that the school you are planning on attending has only had their curriculum evaluated by the
state that you are attending school in, which meets the state’s requirements for licensure and practice. In
determining whether your program of study is acceptable in another state, each state board reviews the
number of clock hours you attended in your home state, the subject areas and practical experiences you
completed, as a part of the process of determining what, if any, additional requirements you may have to
meet in order to be licensed in their state. We encourage all graduates who are considering becoming
licensed in another state to first take the licensure exam in their home state, which will make it easier to
transfer into another state. If you are not licensed by your home state, the state you are considering
getting licensed in may require you to take additional training to meet their state minimum hour
requirements and/or take their state licensure exam. State boards do not evaluate the curriculum of
schools located in other states, but do, in most cases, recognize training from other states in order to
transfer their license.

If, at any time, the program you are enrolled in, ceases to meet the educational requirements for licensure
in the state where the student is located, the school will provide written notice directly to the student in
writing within 14 calendar days of making that determination.

To receive a cosmetology license in the state of California a student must:

©® Complete a cosmetology course in a school approved by the California State Board of Barbering &
Cosmetology.

©

Submit an application and required fee.

(]

Have a least a 10th grade education or its equivalent and is at least 17 years of age.

©

Must receive a passing score on both the practical demonstration and written test.
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© Enrollment periods: Paul Mitchell The School East Bay usually begins a new cosmetology, barbering,
and esthetics class about every eight (8) weeks, depending upon space availability. Please refer to the
Tuition and Registration Schedule supplement or contact Paul Mitchell The School East Bay for exact
starting dates.

® Holidays and school closures: Paul Mitchell The School East Bay allows the following holidays
off: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, July 4, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, December 24 and 25, and
one day per month for staff personal development. These dates are determined according to the
calendar each year. Additional holidays may be added to the schedule at the discretion of school
administration. The school is open for business unless there is a declared State of Emergency.

Unexpected closures will be posted on email or social media.

© Enrollment contract: Paul Mitchell The School East Bay clearly outlines the obligation of both the
school and the student in the enrollment contract. A copy of the enrollment contract and information
covering costs and payment plans will be furnished to the student before the beginning of class
attendance.

O Payment schedule: Paul Mitchell The School East Bay offers a variety of monthly financial payment
schedules. See Paul Mitchell The School East Bay’s Admissions Leader or Financial Aid Leader for
details.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay strives to provide a quality educational system that prepares students
to pass the state board examination and gain employment within their chosen field of study. Our
quality education system includes an outstanding facility, experienced and competent instructors, and a
curriculum developed through years of experience and expertise. Our education goals are:

©® To educate students to be professional, knowledgeable, and skilled in their field for marketability
within the industry.

® To maintain an updated program that provides students with the knowledge to compete in their field
of study.

©® To promote the continuing educational growth of our faculty and students, using current teaching
methods and techniques.

O To teach courtesy and professionalism as the foundation for a successful career in their chosen field of
study.

© To prepare students to successfully pass the state licensing exam for entry-level employment.

0O To train and graduate students while empowering them to become confident and excited to enter a
successful career within the salon and beauty industry.
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“The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate
economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was
a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in
the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so,
you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program,
and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if
you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program!

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts,
or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF
may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225,
Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid
tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of
any of the following:

© The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was
closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the
Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

@ You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the
closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program
within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

© You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the
closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the
institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value
of the program more than 120 days before closure.

The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as
required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of
tuition and other costs.

O You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based
on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been
unable to collect the award from the institution.

@ You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and
have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of
the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-collection may,
at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise
been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the
student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4)
year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer
identification number”
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 94923,
94924 and 94925, Education Code.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay collects the STRF fee of $12.00 from cosmetology students, $10.50
from barbering students, and $5.50 for esthetics students and remits it to the BPPE.

If a student fails to make a scheduled tuition payment, the student may receive a coaching session on
the Future Professional Advisory form and/or be suspended until payment is received.

Note: There will be a late payment fee of $25.00 for any payments that are late over 10 calendar
days.
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Because of inflationary cycles, and because we must occasionally change equipment to remain current,
the school reserves the right for the following tuition information to be subject to change.

TUITION - Cosmetology

Tuition $20,741.54
Application Fee (nonrefundable) 100.00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable) 12.00
Technical Kit 2,375.12
Textbooks (nonrefundable) 297.85
Digital Kit (nonrefundable) 437.99
Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable) 272.20
TOTAL COSTS $24,236.70
TUITION - Barbering

Tuition $19,059.69
Application Fee (nonrefundable) 100.00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable) 10.50

Technical Kit 833.34

Textbooks (nonrefundable) 320.85

Digital Kit (nonrefundable) 437.99

Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable) 139.31

TOTAL COSTS $20,901.68
TUITION - Esthetics

Tuition $8,340.00
Application Fee (nonrefundable) 100.00

Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable) 5.50
Technical Kit 1,781.51
Textbooks (nonrefundable) 263.35

Digital Kit (nonrefundable) 437.99

Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable) 217.25
TOTAL COSTS $11,145.60

* Once a kit has been signed for and taken possession of by the student, its fee becomes nonrefundable.

Please contact the school’s Financial Aid Leader for payment options. Tuition payments must be setup as
auto-pay. No cash or checks are acceptable. Financial aid recipients understand that monies received on
their behalf are applied first to tuition costs. Any remaining funds available for the student will be paid to
the student only at which time the course costs have been paid in full.

Financial aid available to those who qualify.

Per VA regulation, only mandatory fees may be billed to the VA. The cost of the Kit, Books and iPad, while
required for enrollment, do not qualify as mandatory fees in such that the school gives students the option to
purchase the kit from other sources other than the school. Students utilizing VA benefits will be responsible for

arranging alternate payment for these items.
The school does not participate in any state financial aid programs

Note: The total charges for a period of attendance are equivalent to the cost of the entire program,
due to the length of the program.
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COSMETOLOGY TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE CURRENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE $ 20,741.54
ESTIMATED TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM $20,741.54
TOTAL CHARGES DUE UPON ENROLLMENT $100.00

BARBERING TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE CURRENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE $ 19,059.69
ESTIMATED TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM $19,059.69
TOTAL CHARGES DUE UPON ENROLLMENT $100.00

ESTHETICS TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE CURRENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE $ 8,340.00
ESTIMATED TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM $8,340.00

TOTAL CHARGES DUE UPON ENROLLMENT $100.00

The school complies with California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009, 94899.5 (b) and does
not require more than one term or four months of tuition in advance, until 50% of the program has been
offered and the school is due full payment.

Students will only be allowed to use Paul Mitchell technical kits and equipment while enrolled at the School. Students
may purchase the Paul Mitchell Technical kit in it's entirety from the school, or they may be purchased independently.
If purchased independently, they must meet the criteria listed on the Student Technical Kit List. Refer to the catalog
kit list. If the student needs to replace a technical kit or equipment item at any time during his or her enrollment in
the school, these items may be purchased through the school or independently.

Students are advised to refrain from loaning any part of their technical kit or textbooks. The school is not responsible
for items that are lost or stolen. Published kit lists herein are subject to change.

All education apps will work on an Iphone. If a student has access to an Iphone, that is compatible with the apps, an
Ipad purchase may not be necessary.

Right to Independent Purchase of IPad, Textbooks and Technical Kit: Any student who desires to independently
purchase their IPad, textbook or technical kit from a vendor other than Paul Mitchell The School East Bay has the
right to do so. A student who chooses to do this should notify the school during contracting.

YOU MAY ASSERT AGAINST THE HOLDER OF THE PROMISSORY NOTE YOU SIGNED IN ORDER TO
FINANCE THE COST OF THE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM ALL OF THE CLAIMS AND DEFENSES THAT YOU
COULD ASSERT AGAINST THIS INSTITUTION, UP TO THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID UNDER THE
PROMISSORY NOTE.

5-DAY CLASSES
(M-Fri. 9:00 AM - January 24, March 14, May 2, June 20, August 15, October 10, December 5
4:30 PM):

3-DAY CLASSES
(8:00 AM - 6:30 PM):

NIGHT CLASSES: February 14, June 27, September 26

January 12, March 2, April 20, June 8, August 3, September 21, November 9
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3-DAY SCHOOL (M-W,
8:00 AM to 6:30 PM):

TRANSFER January 31, April 11, July 25, October 24

January 10, April 25, July 18, October 16

3-DAY SCHOOL (M-W,
8:00 AM to 6:30 PM):

3-DAY SCHOOL (W-F,
8:00 AM to 6:30 PM):

Class will be held at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay located at 100 Crescent Drive, Suite D,
Pleasant Hill, CA 94523.

February 14, May 9, August 8, November 7,

January 5, March 30, June 22, September 28,

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay celebrates Constitution Day on or near September 17 of each year.
For more information visit www.constitutionday.com.

Students are encouraged to register to vote in State and Federal Elections. Voter Registration and Election
Date information for the state of California can be found at http://www.sos.ca.gov.

For information on Voter Registration and Election Dates for Federal Elections visit
www.eac.gov/voter resources.

Students wishing to transfer to another institution must pay all monies owed to Paul Mitchell The School
East Bay, and all applicable academic requirements must be met in order for the hours to be released.

23 Cutting and Coloring DVDs / Paul Mitchell Product Guide Workbook / Color System DVD Box Set /

Color System Skill Cards / Cutting System DVD Box Set / Cutting System Book / MASTERS CDs / Milady's
Standard Cosmetology 2012 Theory Workbook / Milady’s Standard Cosmetology 2012 Exam Review / Milady’s
Standard Cosmetology 2012 Textbook / Pivot Point Fundamentals: Digital Seat / Pivot Point Fundamentals
Cosmetology Study Guide / Pivot Point Fundamentals Barbering Study Guide

The student can access the library materials from an instructor.
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Students will be coached for noncompliance with any of the items listed below as coaching
opportunities. If a student receives five (5) coaching sessions, they may receive a five-school-day
suspension. On the students fifth coaching session, the Future Professional Advisor will create a plan of
action to be followed. After a student has received a five-school-day suspension, the student may only
receive two (2) more coaching sessions. On the seventh coaching session, the student may be terminated
from the school.

Future Professionals may receive coaching sessions for the following items:

Lack of the correct uniform and/or dress code, which includes a missing name tag

Malicious gossip

Neglecting to call in when late or absent.

Excessive tardiness to theory and/or specialty class.

Not attending school on the required mandatory school days. (Refer to the school attendance policy.)

Beginning a guest service without a Learning Leader’s consultation.

Unfinished singles and/or the late submission of the practical Clinic Classroom Worksheet.

Being behind in theory attendance and/or theory exams.

Parking in an undesignated area.

Use of cell phones in non-permitted areas.
Smoking on the school campus. The school is a smoke-free campus

Violation of the school’s Internet and Social Networking Policy.

Violation of the standards in the Student Professional Development Guidelines. (Refer to the school
catalog.)

Behind on tuition payments
Falling below required percent in monthly attendance.

Technology used for non-educational purposes.

Failure to complete practical and academic assignments.

Violation of standards and/or Code of Conduct at a school-sponsored event, externship, off-campus
event, and/or field trip.

Readmittance into the school after a five-school-day suspension will be based upon the following:

A. The Future Professional must be current on all theory exams and academic assignments.

B. The Future Professional must conduct a personal interview with the School Director and/or Financial
Aid Leader to determine the compliance for reentry.

C. The Future Professional will be placed on probation for thirty (30) calendar days, during which time he
or she must strictly abide by all policies, rules, and regulations.

D. Complete the 5 Day Suspension Re-Entry Form.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay may terminate a student’s enrollment for immoral and/or improper
conduct, receiving seven (7) coaching sessions, and/or failing to comply with educational requirements
and/or the terms as agreed upon within the enrollment contract.
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Students may be terminated for the following and may be given no warnings or prior coaching sessions:

Use of drugs and/or alcohol, which includes prescription marijuana.

Possession of drugs and/or alcohol, which includes prescription marijuana.

Clocking in/out for another Future Professional.

Leaving the school facility, without notifying a Learning Leader and/or signing out for a break, and
remaining clocked in on the time clock and receiving unearned hours. The school parking lot and
surrounding businesses are not included as part of the school facility.

Cheating or stealing.

Insubordination.

Threatening statements made toward staff, service guests, or Future Professionals. No bullying.

Physical violence and/or altercations.

Paul Mitchell Schools, in its admission, instruction, and graduation policies and practices, does not
discriminate on the basis of sex, race, religion, age, ethnic origin, color, disability, sexual orientation,
or ancestry. The school does not allow or tolerate discrimination of any kind, bullying, harassment, or
hazing of any sort toward staff, Future Professionals, and/or service guests.

Violation of the Title IX policy.

Violation of standards and/or Code of Conduct at a school-sponsored event, externship, off-campus
event, and/or field trip.

Violation of the Harrassment, Intimidation, Bullying, and Discrimination Policy.

If a Future Professional is terminated for gross misconduct, which includes but is not limited to reporting to

school under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, cheating, stealing, insubordination, threats, and/or
bullying, such termination is final and may not be appealed.

PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL EAST BAY CATALOG

18



Course Hours: 1600 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences.

Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 200 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 1390 hours are spent in the clinic area where
practical experience is gained.

Distance Education Learning Experience: The school is utilizing an approved “Temporary Distance
Education” program where online learning can be used up to 75% of the program due to the
COVID-19 national emergency. After “Temporary Distance Education’, students will return

to whatever program is approved at that time.

Instructional Methods: Students are guided through the 1600 hour curriculum by Learning Leaders

using various instructional methods including, but not limited to, on-site education, hands-on
education, lectures, digital textbooks, videos, digital applications, digital handouts, study guides, the
use of doll heads, the clinic classroom floor, mini classes, apps, and online education. Distance
learning may be incorporated as necessary utilizing methods and tools such as Pivot Point, Google
Classrooms, Zoom, Live Online Classes, Pre-recorded Classes, and Notability.

Your time at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay for the cosmetology program will be divided into seven
designations:

Core Curriculum: A 200-hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic
fundamentals. Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral, and practical testing methods.
Students must successfully complete the Core curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily
classes in cutting, coloring, permanent waving, and chemical texture services.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: Your clinic classroom time from 200 to 1600 hours will

be guided with individual attention and group learning experiences using mini-classes, monthly
worksheets, and periodic evaluations developed specifically for this monitoring progress. This is when
you begin experiencing your clinic classroom education on paying clients in the clinic classroom area.

Classroom Learning Experience: Your classroom time from 200 to 1600 hours is divided into five
(5) areas: cutting, coloring, texture, makeup, and nails. Each area has an instructor in the field who
conducts the different specialty classes once a week; Classroom Learning Experiences may also
include retail, motivation, self improvement, professional development, and attendance education
which may be conducted by an instructor, non-licensed staff member or guest artist.

Adaptive Curriculum: From 280 to 800 hours you will enter a new phase of specialty classroom
workshops coupled with challenging practical services designed to continue building you into a
confident beauty industry designer.

Creative Curriculum: You will spend your last 800 hours at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay in “high
gear”by dressing, acting, and working like a true professional. You will use your own artistic and
creative abilities, coupled with the assistance of the Learning Leaders, to prepare yourself for your
future beauty industry career.

Business Fundamentals: This self-guided course provides an in-depth overview of the salon
business world with proven systems and strategies to build a successful career in the field of
cosmetology. This highly interactive, digital course is designed to give future professionals the tools
and techniques they need to develop business skills, build a clientele, grow their individual business
and achieve their dreams.
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BARBERING COURSE OVERVIEW

Course Hours: 1500 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences.

Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 200 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 1290 hours are spent in the clinic floor area
where practical experience is gained.

Distance Education Learning Experience: The school is utilizing an approved “Temporary Distance
Education” program where online learning can be used up to 75% of the program due to the
COVID-19 national emergency. As of December 21, 2021 the program will be 100% on-campus and
distance education will no longer be an option.

Instructional Methods: Students are guided through the 1500 hour curriculum by Learning Leaders
using various instructional methods including, but not limited to, on-site education, hands-on
education, lectures, digital textbooks, videos, digital applications, digital handouts, study guides, the
use of doll heads, the clinic classroom floor, mini classes, apps, and online education. Distance
learning may be incorporated as necessary utilizing methods and tools such as Pivot Point, Google
Classrooms, Zoom, Live Online Classes, Pre-recorded Classes, and Notability.

BARBERING COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay for the barbering program will be divided into six
designations:

Core Curriculum: A 200-hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic
fundamentals. Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral, and practical testing methods.
Students must successfully complete the Core curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily
classes in cutting, color, permanent waving, and chemical texture services.

Clinic Floor Learning Experience: Your clinic floor time from 280 to 1500 hours will be guided with
individual attention and group learning experiences using workshops, monthly worksheets, and
periodic exams developed specifically for monitoring progress. This is when you begin working on
paying service guests in the clinic classroom.

Classroom Learning Experience: Your classroom time from 280 to 1500 hours is divided into four
(4) areas: cutting, color, texture, and men’s grooming. Each area has a Skill Specialist in the field who
conducts the different specialty classes once a week; these may include guest artists, retail (Take
Home), motivation, self-improvement, nail artistry, makeup, etc.

Adaptive Curriculum: From 280 to 750 hours, you will enter a new phase of specialty classroom
workshops coupled with challenging practical services designed to continue building your skills as a
future beauty industry professional.

Creative Curriculum: You will spend your last 750 hours in Paul Mitchell The School East Bay in “high
gear”by dressing, acting, and working like a true beauty industry professional. You will use your own
artistic and creative abilities, coupled with the assistance of the Learning Leaders, to prepare yourself
for your future beauty industry career.
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Course Hours: 600 clock hours
The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences.

@ Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 190 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices.

@ Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 410 hours are spent in the clinic floor area
where practical experience is gained.

© Distance Education Learning Experience: The school is utilizing an approved “Temporary Distance
Education” program where online learning can be used up to 75% of the program due to the
COVID-19 national emergency. After “Temporary Distance Education’, students will return
to whatever program is approved at that time.

Your time at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay for the esthetics program will be divided into four
designations:

© Core Curriculum: This 190-hour time period is dedicated to exploring foundational knowledge and
basic esthetics, facial, hair removal, and makeup procedures. You will receive individual attention in
practical workshops, and you will complete monthly worksheets and periodic tests throughout the
course. This is an intense and exciting portion of your experience.

Clinic Floor Learning Experience: You will enter a new phase of specialty classroom
workshops coupled with challenging practical services that will continue to build your skills as a
future beauty industry professional.

Classroom Learning Experience: During this phase of your learning, you will be introduced to guest
speakers, prescriptive (Take Home) selling, motivation, self-improvement, body treatments, and
emerging technologies. You will use your own technical and therapeutic abilities, coupled with the
assistance of Learning Leaders, to provide service to service guests. You will make discoveries and
learn relationship-building skills that will guide your success in this exciting, diverse field.

©

Creative Curriculum: You will dress, act, and work like a true salon professional. You will use your
own technical and therapeutic abilities, coupled with the assistance of Paul Mitchell The School
East Bay Learning Leaders, to prepare for your future beauty industry career.
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Cosmetology

The cosmetology program is approved as a brick & mortar program and a hybrid program with distance
education. The requirements listed below are required for the brick & mortar program.

The instructional program of Paul Mitchell The School East Bay meets or exceeds these requirements:

Practical

Subject Technical Instruction .
Applications

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Hair Dressing (1100 hours)

Hairstyling 65 240
Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening 40 105
Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60 50

Hair Cutting to include razor, clipper, trimmers, and

thinning shears 20 80
Five Minute Stress Relief Treatment 0 50
Additional Training 915 0
Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Health and Safety (200 hours)

Laws and Regulations 20

Health and Safety Considerations 45

Disinfection and Sanitation 20 15
Anatomy and Physiology 15

Professional Development 30

Additional Training 70

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Esthetics (200 hours)

Manual, Electrical, and Chemical Facials 25 40
Eyebrow Beautification and Makeup 25 30
Additional Training 150 0
Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring (100 hours)
Manicuring and Pedicuring 10 25
Artificial Nails and Wraps 25 120 Nails =12
Additional Training 65 0

The institution offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure education-related
employment that includes, but is not limited to training in professionalism, resume’ development, job
interview preparation and job search skills.

No additional hours will be required to complete the additional training and these additional course are
not a requirement for state licensure.

Exceeds means that during the course of your training you may complete more services then what is listed,
however no additional hours, over the 1600 required by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) will be
required.
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Cosmetology 1600 hours 11.75% Distance Education

The cosmetology program is approved as a brick & mortar program and a hybrid program with distance

education. The requirements listed below are required for the hybrid program.

Wig Theory, Wig Services, Hairpiece & Hair Addition Essentials

Subject Theory Hours
Block 1 Haircoloring

Color Theory, Color Design, Identifying Existing Color, Nonoxidative Color, Oxidative 2
Color, Color Tools & Essentials, Color Skills, Guest Experience, Color Service

Block 2 Chemical Texture

Perm Theory, Perm Design, Perm Products & Essentials, Perm Skills, Guest

Experience, Relaxer Theory, Relaxer Products & Essentials, Relaxer Skills, Guest 20
Experience, Relaxer Service

Block 3 Skin Care Makeup

Skin Theory, Skin Diseases & Disorders, Skin Care, Guest Experience, Hair Removal

Theory, Guest Experience, Makeup Theory, Makeup Products & Design, Guest 20
Experience

Block 4 Nails

Nail Theory, Natural Nails, Nail Product & Essentials, Guest Experience, Natural Nail 20
Service, Artificial Product & Essentials, Atificial Nail Service

Block 5 Life Skills & Business

Healthy Body & Mind, Ergonomics, Basic Communication, Communicate With

Confidence, Human Relations, Resilience, Goal Setting, Job Search, Finding A Salon 8
That Fits, Professional Relationships, Know Your Client Market, Salon Experience,

Ownership, Operations, Retail Products

Block 6 Science Part 1

Microbiology, Infection Control, First Aid, Building Block Of The Human Body, 20
Muscular Sysytem, Circulatory System, Nervous System, Hair Theory, Matter

Block 7 Science Part 2

pH, Principles Of Electricity, Electricity In Cosmetology, Hair Care Product 2
Knowledge, Hair Care, Shampoo & Scalp Massage Theory, Guest Experience

Block 8 Client Centered Design & Sculpture

Sculpture Theory, Sculpture Tools & Essentials, Sculpture Skills, Guest Service,

Solid Form Overview, Graduated Form Overview, Increase Layer Form Overview, 20
Uniformly Layered Form Overview, Texturizing Techniques, Combination Form

Overview, Men's Scuplture Overview

Block 9 Hair Design

Hair Design Theory, Hair Design Tools & Essentials, Hair Design Skills, Guest

Experience, Hair Design Service, Straight Volume & Indentation, Curvature 20
Volume & Identations, Fingerwaving & Molding , Thermal Design

Block 10 Long Hair Styling Wigs & Extensions

Long Hair Theory, Long Hair Tools & Essentials, Long Hair Skills, Guest Experience, 20

Distance Education hours and assignments are graded and recorded daily. Theory chapter exams, final

exams and final practical evaluations must completed in the school facility.

PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL EAST BAY CATALOG

23



Barbering

The barbering program is approved as a brick & mortar program and a hybrid program with distance
education. The requirements listed below are required for the brick & mortar program.

The instructional program of Paul Mitchell The School East Bay meets or exceeds these requirements:

Technical Practical

Subject Instruction Applications

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Hair Dressing (1100 hours)

Hairstyling 65 240
Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening 40 105
Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60 50
Hair Cutting to include razor, clipper, trimmers,

and thinning shears 20 80
Five Minute Stree Relief Treatment 0 50
Scalp Treatment and Manipulation 0 10
Additional Training 915 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Shaving (200 hours)

Shaving Preparation and Performance
(Shaves and Facials)

Additional Training 100 0

Technical InstructionTraining in Health and Safety (200 hours)

100 40

Laws and Regulations 20
Health and Safety Considerations 45 0
Disinfection and Sanitation 20 15
Anatomy and Physiology 15
Professional Development 25 0
Additional Training 75 0

The institution offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure education-related
employment that includes, but is not limited to training in professionalism, resume’ development, job
interview preparation and job search skills.

No additional hours will be required to complete the additional training, and these additional courses are
not a requirement for state licensure.

Exceeds means that during the course of your training, you may complete more services than what is listed;
however, no additional hours over the 1,500 hours required by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC)
will be required.
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Barbering 1500 hours 11.73% Distance Education

The barbering program is approved as a brick & mortar program and a hybrid program with distance

education. The requirements listed below are required for the hybrid program.

Essentials

Subject Theory Hours
Block 1 Haircoloring

Color Theory, Color Design, Identifying Existing Color, Nonoxidative Color, Oxidative 19
Color, Color Tools & Essentials, Color Skills, Guest Experience, Color Service

Block 2 Chemical Texture

Perm Theory, Perm Products & Essentials, Perm Skills, Guest Experience, Perm

Service, Relaxer Theory, Relaxer Products & Essentials, Relaxer Skills, Guest 19
Experience, Relaxer Service

Block 3 Skin Care & Shaving & Beard Design

Skin Theory, Skin Diseases & Disorders, Skin Care, Guest Experience, Hair Removal

Theory, Guest Experience, Shaving & Beard Design Theory, Shaving & Beard Design 19
Tools & Essentials, Shaving & Beard Design Skills, Guest Experience, Shaving, Beard

Design Service

Block 4 Life Skills & Business

Healthy Body & Mind, Ergonomics, Basic Communication, Communicate With

Confidence, Human Relations, Resilience, Goal Setting, Job Search, Finding A

Barbershop That Fits, Professional Relationships, Know Your Client Market, Build 5
Your Clientele, Barbershop Experience, Ownership, Operations, Retail Products,

Barbering History

Block 5 Science Part 1

Microbiology, Infection Control, First Aid, Building Block Of The Human Body, 19
Muscular System, Circulatory System, Nervous System, Hair Theory, Matter

Block 6 Science Part 2

pH, Principles Of Electricity, Electricity In Barbering, Hair Care Product Knowledge, 19
Hair Care, Shampoo & Scalp Massage Theory, Guest Experience

Block 7 Client Centered Design & Sculpture

Cutting Theory, Cutting Tools & Essentials, Foundational Cutting Skills, Foundational

Forms Overview, Guest Experience, Cutting Service, Tapered Cut & Fade Theory, 19
Tapered Cut & Fade Tools & Essentials, Tapered Cut & Fade Skills, Short Combination

Form Overview, Texturizing Techniques, Tapered Cut & Fade Service

Block 8 Hair Design

Styling Theory, Styling Tools & Essentials, Thermal Styling, Wet Styling, Natural 19
Texture Styling, Styling Guest Experience, Styling Service

Block 9 Hair Replacement

Wig Theory, Wig Services, Hair Replacement Systems, Wig & Hair Replacement 19

Distance Education hours and assignments are graded and recorded daily. Theory chapter exams, final

exams and final practical evaluations must completed in the school facility.
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Esthetics

The instructional program of Paul Mitchell The School East Bay meets or exceeds these requirements:

Subject

Technical
Instruction

Practical
Applications

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Ha

ir Dressing (350 hours)

Manual, Electrical, and Chemical Facials 70 140
Preparation 15 0
Additional Training 265 0
Technical Instruction in Health and Safety (200 hours)

Laws and Regulations 10 0
Health and Safety Considerations 40 0
Disinfection and Sanitation 10 0
Anatomy and Physiology 15 0
Additional Training 125 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Removal and Make-up (50 hours)

The institution offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure education-related
employment that includes, but is not limited to training in professionalism, resume’ development, job

interview preparation and job search skills.

No additional hours will be required to complete the additional training, and these additional courses are

not a requirement for state licensure.

Exceeds means that during the course of your training, you may complete more services than what is listed;
however, no additional hours over the 600 hours required by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC)

will be required.
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The following tests and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 1600-hour course:

©® Academic theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each assigned theory
exam. Depending on the length of the module, theory exams will occur weekly or bi-monthly,
within the 10% of distance education hours. The theory exams will evaluate the student’s academic _
performance for each subject of the distance education curriculum.

® Core written and practical evaluation test: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each
written exam and each practical skill exam in order to complete the Core program. The exams are an
overview of instruction taught during the Core schedule. All Core written and practical skill exams
must be passed with a 70% in order to transition to the Clinic Classroom. If students are unable to
pass each exam after two attempts, the student may be asked to withdraw from the program and re-
enroll in the next available Core class start date. The core written and practical skills evaluation must
be completed within the school facility and cannot be taken through distance education.

© Final exam 1 (approximately 1400-hour written test): The written exam covers an overview of
all theory instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam.
Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on all final exams. Final Exam 1 must be completed
within the school facility and cannot be taken through distance education.

O (linic Practical Skill Assessments: Future Professionals progress in practical skill assessments and
theory hours will be digitally monitored on a weekly basis by the Future Professional Advisor using
the Course Key app. All assignhed practical skill assessments must be completed in order to complete
the program.

The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 1500-hour course:

©® Academic theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each assigned theory
exam. Depending on the length of the module, theory exams will occur weekly or bi-monthly, within
the 10% of distance education hours. The theory exams will evaluate the student’s academic
performance for each subject of the distance education curriculum.

@ Core written and practical skill evaluation exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher
on each written exam and each practical skill exam in order to complete the Core program. The
exams are an overview of instruction taught during the Core schedule. All Core written and practical
skill exams must be passed with a 70% in order to transition to the Clinic Classroom. If students
are unable to pass each exam after two attempts, the student may be asked to withdraw from the
program and re-enroll in the next available Core class start date. The core written and practical skills
evaluation must be completed within the school facility and cannot be taken through distance
education.

© Final exam 1 (1400-hour written test): The written exam covers an overview of all theory
instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam. Students
must receive a grade of 70 % or higher on all final exams. Final Exam 1 must be completed within the
school facility and cannot be taken through distance education.

O Clinic Practical Skill Assessments: Future Professionals progress in practical skill assessments and
theory hours will be digitally monitored on a weekly basis by the Future Professional Advisor using
the Course Key app. All assigned practical skill assessments must be completed in order to complete
the program.
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The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 600-hour course:

©

Academic theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each assigned theory
exam.

Core written and practical: Students must receive a grade of 80% or higher on each written exam
and each practical skill exam in order to complete the Core program. The exams are an overview of
instruction taught during the Core schedule. All Core written and practical skill exams must be
passed with a 80% in order to transition to the Clinic Classroom. If students are unable to pass each
exam after two attempts, the student may be asked to withdraw from the program and re-enroll in
the next available Core class start date.

Final written and practical: The written exam covers an overview of all theory instruction, California
state law, and other items covered on the state esthetics exam. Students must receive a grade of 80%
or higher on all final exams.

Clinic Practical Skill Assessments: Future Professionals progress in practical skill assessments and
theory hours will be digitally monitored on a weekly basis by the Future Professional Advisor using
the Course Key app. All assigned practical skill assessments must be completed in order to complete
the program.

© 0o

e

Complete the required number of clock hours of training.

Achieve and receive passing grades on all practical graduation requirements and projects, including
practical and theoretical examinations.

Satisfactorily pass final written and practical exams.
Upon completion, receive a graduation certificate.

Pass state board exam.

By following safety precautions you contribute to the health, welfare, and safety of the community.
Always have good hygiene and be professionally dressed. Keep a first aid kit on hand, follow safety
regulations, and keep equipment properly sanitized. The following precautions should always be taken
with each client:

1]
o
(3]

® o

Protect clients’ clothing by appropriately draping them.
Ask clients to remove any jewelry, hair accessories, glasses, etc.

Keep any and all chemicals away from the eyes. In case of eye contact with chemicals, thoroughly
rinse eyes with cold water.

Wear gloves when dealing with chemicals.

Remember that anything containing chemically active ingredients must be used carefully to avoid
injury to you and your client.
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Students interested in pursuing a career in the the beauty industry should:

Develop finger dexterity and a sense of form and artistry.
Enjoy dealing with the public.
Keep aware of the latest fashions and beauty techniques.

Make a strong commitment to your education.

® ©6 © 0

Be aware that the work can be arduous and physically demanding because of long hours standing
and using your hands at shoulder level.

©® Housing: Paul Mitchell The School East Bay keeps a file of information about housing in the
surrounding areas; however the school does not provide dormitory facilities and does not have any
facilities under its control. The school is not responsible to find or assist student in finding housing.

There is available housing located within 2 miles of the school. The cost of housing is between
$1,300.00 to $2, 200.00 per month.

Advising: Students are provided with academic advising and additional assistance as necessary.
If referral to professional assistance is necessary, the school maintains a record of such referral.
Information and advice on any financial assistance are accessible to students. Paul Mitchell The
School East Bay also gives advice and information to students on these subjects:

a. Regulations governing licensure to practice, including reciprocity among jurisdictions.

b. Employment opportunities, within their field of study.

¢. Opportunities for continuing education following graduation.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay provides each Future Professional the opportunity to enroll in a hybrid
program of study that provides for both in-school education, as well as distance learning.

Upon completion of all curriculum requirements, for those Future Professionals who are enrolled in a
Hybrid program, they must demonstrate competency by taking and passing several written
comprehensive Academic exams and Practical assessments, which are administer in school. All transcripts
provide by Paul Mitchell The School will specifically outline those hours obtained via distance education.
Please note that in accordance with the school’s accrediting agency, practical experiences on a live model
or service guest can only occur during the in-school portion of the program.

As a part of distance education, Paul Mitchell The School East Bay will ensure the content is delivered in a
manner that meets the school’s mission statement and educational objectives by assessing each Future
Professional’s competence. Participation will be documented in a log of all student activity. The Future
Professional’s qualitative academic performance for each 10% of the distance education (modules) will be
evaluated through testing and educational assignments. Future Professional surveys (Core, Adaptive,
Creative and upon graduation), Learning Leader evaluations during distance learning, and a comparison
of outcome rates for those who were enrolled in the hybrid program versus in-school learning only, will
be compared to validate the quality of the on-line learning.

In order to enroll in the hybrid program of study, the Future Professional must have the following
hardware, software, and network requirements:

Apple iPad

WiFi (a/g/n/ac) or wireless (3G or 4G/LTE) 1.5Mbps/1.5Mbps (up/down)
Pivot Point

Google Chrome

Zoom

00000
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The state of California has the reasonable expectation that all trained and licensed cosmetology
professionals will be knowledgeable of all public health regulations applicable to the profession and that
licensed cosmetology professionals will practice and enforce these standards.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay has the reasonable expectation that all students will dutifully and
earnestly apply themselves to learning the health regulations of California and on a daily basis will
practice and demonstrate their knowledge of these rules and accept their professional vanguards and
enforcers of public health regulations.

Employees are expected to demonstrate and apply these standards and regulations at all times.
Students and employees are required to adhere to the safety precautions caused by COVID-19. Students
and employees must abide by the safety and sanitation procedures as outlined by the Centers for Disease

Control and Prevention (CDQC).

Clean your hands often

. Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds especially after you
have been in a public place, or after blowing your nose, coughing, or sneezing.

. If soap and water are not readily available, use a hand sanitizer that contains at least 60%
alcohol. Cover all surfaces of your hands and rub them together until they feel dry.

. Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.
Cover your mouth and nose with a cloth face cover when around others

. You could spread COVID-19 to others even if you do not feel sick.

. Everyone should wear a cloth face cover when they have to go out in public.

. The cloth face cover is meant to protect other people in case you are infected.

. Do NOT use a facemask meant for a healthcare worker.

. Continue to keep about 6 feet between yourself and others. The cloth face cover is not a

substitute for social distancing.

Clean and disinfect
. Clean AND disinfect surfaces daily. This includes clinic station, hydraulic chair, tables,
doorknobs, light switches, countertops, handles, desks, phones, keyboards, toilets,
faucets, and sinks.
. If surfaces are dirty, clean them. Use detergent or soap and water prior to disinfection.
. Then, use a household disinfectant. Most common EPA-registered household
disinfectantexternal icon will work.

Watch for symptoms

People with COVID-19 have had a wide range of symptoms reported - ranging from mild symptoms to
severe illness. If you have any of these symptoms DO NOT come to school. Contact the school and follow
the call-in procedure. A school representative will be taking student’s temperature prior to entering the
school facility. If the student has a fever, they will not be allowed to enter the school until the symptoms
have passed.

These symptoms may appear 2-14 days after exposure to the virus:

. Fever

. Cough

. Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
. Chills

. Repeated shaking with chills

. Muscle pain

. Headache

. Sore throat

. New loss of taste or smell

PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL EAST BAY CATALOG

30



© Receive the required number of clock hours of training.

@ For a student to meet state requirements, all clinic practical worksheets must be completed in their
entirety.

© Pass written and practical exams.
O Complete the required theory hours.

© Tuition has been paid in full or the student has made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all
monies owed to the school prior to the student obtaining 1400 clock hours for cosmetology students,
1300 clock hours for barbering students, and 400 clock hours for esthetic students.

If the student cannot pay owed tuition in full or come into agreement with a payment plan of monies
owed to the school, the student will be withdrawn from the program. The student may re-enter the
program when payment arrangements can be made.

Once the student has met all these requirements, he/she will receive a CERTIFICATE of COMPLETION.

The School will not release an official transcript until all educationally related graduation requirements
are met.

For students who withdraw, the student may request an official transcript of hours earned.
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Career opportunities for Cosmetologists include, but are not limited to, Hair Stylist, Color Stylist, Makeup

Artist, Nail Technician, Educator, Salon Owner or Manager, Product Trainer, Platform Artist, Esthetician,

and many more.

Although Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not guarantee employment upon graduation, Paul
Mitchell The School East Bay does maintain an aggressive job placement program and will inform
students of job openings and opportunities. Paul Mitchell The School East Bay coordinates placement
programs with local and national salons by sending out surveys and inviting salon owners and guest
artists to teach and speak there.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay has placed students in the beauty industry as Hair Stylists,

Makeup Artists, Nail Technician, Beauty Industry Educator, Salon Owners or Managers, Platform Artist, and

Beauty Industry Instructor.

Employment and Career Opportunities for Cosmetology:

® Salon Hairstylist

® Hospital Hair-Care Service

® Cosmetology School Owner

® Free-lance Hairstylist

@ Salesperson/Retail Specialist

® Manufacturer’s Representative

® Salon Owner/Manager

® Makeup Artist

@ State Board Examiner

@ Hair Color Specialist

@ Stage and Film Makeup Artist

@ State Board Inspector

@ Artificial Hair Services Specialist

® Beauty and Fashion Consultant

® Trade Publication Writer

@ Platform Artist

® Photo Stylist

@ Cruise Ship Stylist

® Cosmetology School Instructor

Employment and Career Opportunities for Barbering:

@ Salon Barber

@ Hospital Hair-Care Service

@ Barbering School Owner

® Free-lance Barber

® Salesperson/Retail Specialist

® Manufacturer’s Representative

® Salon Owner/Manager

® Photo Stylist

@ State Board Examiner

@ Hair Color Specialist

® Stage and Film Makeup Artist

@ State Board Inspector

® Barbering School Instructor

@ Cruise Ship Barber

® Trade Publication Writer

@ Platform Artist

Employment and Career Opportunities for Esthetics:

@ Esthetician

@ Salon or Spa Owner

® Educator or Instructor

@ Free-lance Esthetician

@ Salesperson/Retail Specialist

@ Manufacturer’s Representative

® Makeup Artist

@ State Board Examiner

@ Stage and Film Makeup Artist

® State Board Inspector

® Cruise Ship

® Trade Publication Writer

Students can refer to the Department of Labor website http://www.bls.gov for additional information
regarding employment opportunities and availability.
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TECHNICAL KIT - Cosmetology

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition.
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies.

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Cosmetology Technical Kit and can be purchased
from Paul Mitchell The School East Bay, Ulta Beauty, Paul Mitchell Signature Salons, dulcelash.com, Future
ProfessionalMakeupAcademy.com, and/or musebeauty.pro.

COMBS CAPES
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Pick Teasing Comb, 109 | $1.21 [ 1 Paul Mitchell All Purpose Cape $9.94
1 Paul Mitchell White Cutting Comb, 408 $1.86 | 1Paul Mitchell Cutting Cape $9.94
1Paul Mitchell Red Cutting Comb, 416 $1.86
1 Paul Mitchell Teal Cutting Comb, 424 $1.86 | ACCESSORIES
1 Paul Mitchell Black Metal Tail, 429 $1.21 | 1Paul Mitchell Metal Clips (10 pack) $4.64
1 Paul Mitchell Black Rat Tail, 814 $1.21 | 1Paul Mitchell Rolling Metal Case $55.88
1 Paul Mitchell Detangler Comb $1.49 | 1Paul Mitchell Water Bottle $3.74
1 Workbook, Product Guide $2.07
BRUSHES 1 MUSE Beauty Kit $713.00
1 Paul Mitchell Paddle Plastic 427 $4.09 | 1Future Professional Makeup Academy | $569.25
1Paul Mitchell Scalp Brush §223 | StudentKit
1Paul Mitchell Styling Plastic 407 §2.97 | 1Dulce Lash Extensions $286.93
1Paul Mitchell Sculpting Plastic 413 $2.23
1Paddle, Paul Mitchell Lightener §371 | TOOLS
1Paul Mitchell Express lon Round® - Large | $6.72 | 2 Female Paul Mitchell Mannequin §62.10
1 Paul Mitchell Express lon Round® - Small §5.97 | 1Wahl Clipper & Trimmer Set $79.05
1 Paul Mitchell Feathering Razor $12.42
PRODUCT 1 Express lon Dry+° (Plus) 125V $51.22
160z Hot Off The Press™ §5.33 | 1Paul Mitchell Express Gold Curl™ §25.61
16.8 0z. Fast Form™ $5.54 | Marcel, 75"
1.35(10gr) Invisiblewear Pump Me Up $6.83 1Paul Mitchell Manicure Set 310,87
18.5 0z (250ml) InvisiblewearBoomerang | $4.30 | 1 ExpresslonSmooth® <+ (Plus) 120v AL
Re-Styling Mist 1Scissor Kit, 6.0", Texturizer, 5.5", Case | $172.10
19502 (314ml/269g) Invisiblewear™ Orbit | $5.90 | 1 Paul Mitchell Tripod A
Hairspray 2 Female Paul Mitchell Mannequin $69.00
1Bag, PLH Tote Bag 2018 $1.29 1 Curly Sue Paul Mitchell Mannequin $23.94
1 Card, Note Card, PLH Tote Bag 5026 |1 JZBeauty Mannequin Hand andTips ~ { $23.00

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment.
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal, no exceptions. All returned
equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee. Per VA regulation, only mandatory fees may be billed

to the VA. The cost of the Kit, Books and iPad, while required for enrollment, do not qualify as mandatory
fees in such that the school gives students the option to purchase the kit from other sources other than the
school. Students utilizing VA benefits will be responsible for arranging alternate payment for these items.

Total Cost of Technical Kit - Cosmetology: $2,375.12
Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable): $ 207.82
Total: $2,582.94
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TECHNICAL KIT — Barbering

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition.
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies.

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Cosmetology Technical Kit and can be purchased
from Paul Mitchell The School East Bay, Ulta Beauty, Paul Mitchell Signature Salons, dulcelash.com, Future
ProfessionalMakeupAcademy.com, and/or musebeauty.pro.

COMBS CAPES

1 Paul Mitchell Clipper Comb, 318 $3.23 | 1Paul Mitchell All Purpose Cape $9.94

1 Paul Mitchell White Cutting Comb, 408 $1.86 1 Paul Mitchell Cutting Cape $9.94

1Paul Mitchell Red Cutting Comb, 416 $1.86

1 Paul Mitchell Teal Cutting Comb, 424 $1.86 ACCESSORIES

1 Paul Mitchell Black Metal Tail, 429 $1.21 1 Paul Mitchell Barber Brush $3.23

1 Paul Mitchell Black Rat Tail, 814 $1.21 1 Paul Mitchell Metal Clips (10 pack) $4.64

1 Paul Mitchell Taper Comb, 818 $1.21 1 Paul Mitchell Neck Duster $3.42

1 Paul Mitchell Detangler Comb $1.49 [ 1Paul Mitchell Rolling Metal Case $55.88
1 Paul Mitchell Water Bottle $3.74

BRUSHES 1 Workbook, Product Guide $2.07

1 Paul Mitchell Paddle Plastic 427 $4.09

1 Paul Mitchell Scalp Brush $2.23 | TOOLS

1Paul Mitchell Styling Plastic 407 $2.97 | 1Male Mannequin with Beard $43.28

1 Paul Mitchell Sculpting Plastic 413 $2.23 1 Female Mannequin $31.05

1 Paul Mitchell Express lon Round® - Large $6.72 | 1Foil Shaver $62.10

1 Paul Mitchell Express lon Round® - Small $5.97 1Wahl Clipper & Trimmer Set $79.05
1 Express lon Dry+® (Plus) 125V $51.22

PRODUCT 1 Scissor Kit, 6.0, Texturizer, 5.5", Case | $212.04

12.5 oz Construction Paste™ $4.30 1 Paul Mitchell Tripod $74.52

12.50z. Hardwired™ $4.30 1 Paul Mitchell Barber Razor (for face $11.79

13 oz. Clean Cut™ §5.12 | shaving)

13 oz. Reformer™ $5.12 1 Paul Mitchell Feathering Razor (for $12.42

18.5 oz Double Hitter™ $454 | cutting hair)

1 Card, Note Card, PLH Tote Bag 5026 | 1Express Gold Curl™Marcel, 75" 72

1 Bag, PLH Tote Bag 2018 §129 | 1Male Mannequin with Beard 43.28
1 Female Mannequin $31.05

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment.
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal, no exceptions. All returned
equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee. Per VA regulation, only mandatory fees may be billed

to the VA. The cost of the Kit, Books and iPad, while required for enrollment, do not qualify as mandatory
fees in such that the school gives students the option to purchase the kit from other sources other than the
school. Students utilizing VA benefits will be responsible for arranging alternate payment for these items.

Total Cost of Technical Kit - Barbering: $ 83334
Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable): $ 7292
Total: $ 906.26
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Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition.
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies.

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Cosmetology Technical Kit and can be purchased
from Paul Mitchell The School East Bay, Ulta Beauty, Paul Mitchell Signature Salons, dulcelash.com, Future
ProfessionalMakeupAcademy.com, and/or musebeauty.pro.

TOOLS

1 Muse Makeup $713.00
1 Dulce Pro Lash Kit $381.40
1FPMA $569.25
1 Smock $80.50
1 Extraction Kit $11.49
1 Massage Head (Flat Back) $25.88

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment.
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal, no exceptions. All returned
equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee. Per VA regulation, only mandatory fees may be billed

to the VA. The cost of the Kit, Books and iPad, while required for enrollment, do not qualify as mandatory
fees in such that the school gives students the option to purchase the kit from other sources other than the
school. Students utilizing VA benefits will be responsible for arranging alternate payment for these items.

Total Cost of Technical Kit — Esthetics: $1,781.51
Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable): S 155.88
Total: $ 1,937.39
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Textbooks listed below are included in the Paul Mitchell Kit at a discounted price to the student. For
veterans or eligible person, the cost of the “Textbook and Supplies” may not be paid by the VA; the

Veteran or eligible person will be responsible for payment.

TEXTBOOKS - Cosmetology

Pivot Point Fundamentals: Digital Seat with online LAB access and Study Guide $240.35
Pivot Point Fundamentals Cosmetology Study Guide $57.50
Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable) $26.06

1 California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Regulations book
1 Health and Safety Course Texthook
1 Health and Safety Course Exam Booklet

Total: $323.91

TEXTBOOKS - Barbering

Pivot Point Fundamentals: Digital Seat with online LAB access and Study Guide $263.35
Pivot Point Fundamentals Barbering Study Guide $57.50
Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable) $28.07

1 California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Regulations book
1 Health and Safety Course Textbook
1 Health and Safety Course Exam Booklet

Total: $348.92

TEXTBOOKS - Esthetics

Pivot Point Fundamentals: Digital Seat with online LAB access and Study Guide $263.35
Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable) $23.04

1 California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Regulations book
1 Health and Safety Course Textbook
1 Health and Safety Course Exam Booklet

Total: $286.39

Per VA regulation, only mandatory fees may be billed to the VA. The cost of the Kit, Books and iPad, while
required for enrollment, do not qualify as mandatory fees in such that the school gives students the option to
purchase the kit from other sources other than the school. Students utilizing VA benefits will be responsible for

arranging alternate payment for these items.
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The following items may be purchased at apple.com or Best Buy or many other retailers:

1 AppleiPad (nonrefundable) $329.00

1 Apple Pencil (nonrefundable) $99.00

1 Notability App. $9.99

Sales Tax (8.75%) (nonrefundable) $38.32

Total: $476.31

Per VA regulation, only mandatory fees may be billed to the VA. The cost of the Kit, Books and iPad, while
required for enrollment, do not qualify as mandatory fees in such that the school gives students the option to
purchase the kit from other sources other than the school. Students utilizing VA benefits will be responsible for
arranging alternate payment for these items.

The Cosmetology Education Kit:

1The Men's Cutting System App (includes Barbering Fundamentals) | 1Business Fundamentals: Connecting to My Future iBook
1The Cutting System App (includes Cutting book) 1Be Nice (Or Else!) iBook

1The Color Systems App (included Coloring book) 1Plugged In (Access to Master 's Library (while enrolled)
1The Makeup System App 1 Mini-Color Swatch Book

1The Makeup Portfolio (available in print only) 1 Dollar Camp

1The Skill Cards App 1 State Board Pre-Application

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the
tuition. The cost of the education kit is $834.00.

The Barbering Education Kit:

1The Men's Cutting System App (includes Barbering Fundamentals)
1The Cutting System App (includes Cutting book)

1The Color Systems App (included Coloring book)

1The Skill Cards App

1 Dollar Camp

1 Business Fundamentals: Connecting to My Future iBook
1Be Nice (Or Else!) iBook

1 Plugged In (Access to Master 's Library (while enrolled)
1 Mini-Color Swatch Book

1 State Board Pre-Application

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the

tuition. The cost of the education kit is $834.00.

The Esthetics Education Kit is included in the cost of tuition:

11mage Essentials Esthetics Student Kit
1 Alexandria Professional Basic Student Kit (Sugaring)
1 Full Skin Education Kit

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the

tuition. The cost of the education kit is $543.44.
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The Federal Return of Title IV funds formula (R2T4) dictates the amount of Federal Title IV aid that must be
returned to the federal government by the school and/or the student. The federal formula is applicable
to an eligible student receiving federal aid when that student withdraws at any point during the payment
period. If a student did not start or begin attendance at the school, the R2T4 formula does not apply.

Official Withdrawal Process: If a student wishes to withdraw from school, they must notify the Financial
Aid Leader of the school. The notification may be in writing or orally. The date the notification is received
is the date of determination. The Financial Aid Leader must begin the withdrawal process.

Unofficial Withdrawal Process: For unofficial withdrawals a student’s withdrawal date at a school that is
required to take attendance is their last day of physical attendance. The date of determination is 14 days
after they cease attendance.

In both cases the last day of attendance will be used in the return to Title IV calculation.

The federal formula requires a Return of Title IV calculation if the student received or could have received
(based on eligibility criteria) federal financial assistance in the form of Pell Grants, and Direct Loans or Direct
PLUS Loans during the payment period. The percentage of Title IV aid earned is equal to the percentage of
the payment period that was completed as of the withdrawal date if this occurs on or before the 60% point
of time. After the 60% point of the payment period (or period of enrollment depending on what the school
uses) the student is considered to have earned 100% of the aid for the period. The percentage that has not
been earned is calculated by subtracting the percentage of Title IV aid earned from 100%.

The percentage of the payment period completed is calculated by the hours scheduled in the payment
period as of the withdrawal date divided by the scheduled hours in the payment period.

The amount to be returned is calculated by subtracting the amount of Title IV assistance earned from the
amount of Title IV aid that was or could have been disbursed as of the withdrawal date.

PostWithdrawal Disbursement:If a student receives lessTitle IV funds than the amount earned, the school
will offer the student a disbursement of the earned aid that was not received at the time of their withdrawal
which is called a post-withdrawal disbursement. Post-withdrawal disbursements will be made from Pell
Grant funds first, if the student is eligible. If there are current educational costs still due the school at the
time of withdrawal, a Pell Grant post-withdrawal disbursement will be credited to the student’s account.
Any remaining Pell funds must be released to the student without the student having to take any action.
Any federal loan program funds due in a post-withdrawal disbursement must be offered to the student
and the school must receive the student’s authorization before crediting their account. The authorization is
required to be sent to the student within 30 days of the date the school determined the student’s last date
of attendance.

Credit Balance: If a credit balance still exists on the student’s account after the R2T4 and institutional
refund calculations are done, that credit balance must be used to pay any grant overpayment that exists
based on the current withdrawal within 14 days from the date that the R2T4 calculation was performed.
The overpayment must be eliminated prior to offering a credit balance to a student.

The following Title IV return distribution is used for all FSA students.
© Unsubsidized Direct Loan
@ Subsidized Direct Loan
© Direct PLUS Loan (Parent)
O Federal Pell Grant
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Returns must be made as soon as possible to the federal programs but no later than 45 days after the date
of determination. (unless the school uses less days based on a state, accrediting agency or institutional
requirement)

The law requires that a student is responsible for all unearned Title IV program assistance that the school
is not required to return. This is determined by subtracting the amount returned by the school from the
total amount of unearned Title IV funds to be returned.

Overpayment of Title IV, HEA Funds — Any amount of unearned grant funds that you must return is
called overpayment. The amount of grant overpayment that you must repay is half of the grant funds

you received or were scheduled to receive. A student who owes an overpayment remains eligible for

Title IV, HEA program funds through and beyond the earlier of 45 days from the date the school sends a
notification to the student of overpayment, or 45 days from the date the school was required to notify the
student of the overpayment if, during those 45 days the student:

© Repays the overpayment in full to the school;

® Enters into a repayment agreement with the school in accordance with repayment
arrangements satisfactory to the school; or

© Signs a repayment agreement with the Department, which will include terms that permit
a student to repay the overpayment while maintain his or her eligibility for Title IV, HEA program
funds.

Within 30 days of the date of the school’s determination that the student withdrew, an institution must
send a notice to any student who owes a Title IV, HEA grant overpayment as a result of the student’s
withdrawal from the school in order to recover the overpayment.

If the student does not repay the overpayment in full to the school, or enter a repayment agreement with
the school or the Department within the earlier of 45 days from the date the school sends notification to
the student of overpayment, or 45 days from the date the school was required to notify the student of the
overpayment.

At any time the student fails to meet the terms of the repayment agreement with the school:
© The student chooses to enter into a repayment agreement with the Department.
® The student who owes an overpayment is ineligible for Title IV HEA program funds.

You must make arrangement with the school or Department of Education to return the amount of
unearned grant funds.
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L. Instutional Tuition 4,500.00
Charges for Room
the Period. Board
Other
Other
Other

STEP 8 . f the Student!
From the Net loans disbursed to the student (Box B} subtract the
Total loans the school must return (Box P) to find the amount of

Title IV loans the student is still responsible for repaying (Box R).

These outstanding loans consist either of loan funds that student
has earned, or unearned loan funds that the school is not
responsible for repaying, or both; and they are repaid to the loan
holders according to the terms of the borrower's promissory note.

Total Instutitonal Charges

| 672700 | -| 0.00 | =] 672700 |

(Add all the charges together) L. | 4,500.00 |
M. Percentage of unearned Title iV aid
[ 1000% | -[ 100.0%

Box H
N. Amount of unearned charges
Multiply institutional charges for the period (Box L) by the
Percentage of unearned Title 1V aid (Box M),
| 450000 | x| 0.0% b =]
Box L Box M
0. Amount ofor school to return
Compare the amount of Title IV aid to be returned (Box K)
to Amount of unearned charges (Box N), and enter the
lesser amount.

0.0% |
Box M

0.00 ]
Box N

Box B Box P Box R
» If Box Q is less than or equal to Box R, STOP.
The only action a school must take is to notify the holders
of the loans of the student's withdrawal date.
»  If Box Qis greater than Box R, Proceed to Step 9.

S. initial amount of Title IV grants for student to return
From the initial amount of unearned Title IV aid due from the
student (Box Q) subtract the amount of loans to

student (Box S) subtract the amount of loans to be repaid
by the student (Box T).

1. 0.00 | 0.00 | -1 0.00 | =| 0.00 |
2, 0.00 Box S Box T Box U
3. 0.00 > If Box U is less than or equal to zero, STOP.
4. PLUS FDLP / FFELP (Grad Student) 0.00 If not, go to step 10.
5. PLUS FDLP / FFELP (Parent) 0.00
Total loans the school must return = P. 0.00 | |STEP 4! 1
Except as noted below, the student must return the unearned
6. Peli Grant 0.00 grant funds for which he/she is responsible (Box U). The grant
7. Academic Competitiveness Grant 0.00 funds returned by the student are applied to the following sources
8. Nationat SMART Grant 0.00 | in the order indicated, up to the total amount disbursed from that
9. FSEOG 0.00 grant program minus any grant funds that school is responsible
10. TEACH Grant 0.00 | for returning to that program in Step 6.
Note that the student is not responsible for returning
6. funds to any program to which the student owes $50.00

Frdrﬁ the améunt of Title IV aid to be.returned (Box K) subtract
the Amount for the schoot to return (Box Q).

[ -1

i 0.00
Box K

0.00 ] = |
Box O

0.00 |
Box Q

» If Box Qis < or = zero, STOP. If > zero, go to Step 8.

or less.

Amount to Return
0.00

Title IV Grant Programs:
1. Pell Grant
Academic Competitiveness Grant
National SMART Grant
FSEQOG
TEACH Grant

ooa N
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Total loans the school must return (Box P) to find the amount of

L. Instutional Tuition 4,500.00 Title IV loans the student is still responsible for repaying (Box R).
Charges for Room
the Period. Board These outstanding loans consist either of loan funds that student
Other has earned, or unearned loan funds that the school is not
Other responsible for repaying, or both; and they are repaid to the loan
Other holders according to the terms of the borrower's promissory note.
Total Instutitonal Charges | 672700 | -| 0.00 | =1 672700 ]
{Add all the charges together) [ I 4,500.00 | Box B Box P Box R
»  IfBox Q is less than or equal to Box R, STOP.
M. Percentage of unearned Title iV aid The only action a school must take is to notify the holders
[ 1000% ] -[ 1000% |=] 0.0% | of the loans of the student's withdrawal date.
Box H Box M »  if Box Qis greater than Box R, Proceed to Step 9.

N. Amount of unearned charges
Multiply institutional charges for the period (Box L) by the

r—— e

Percentage of uneamned Title IV aid (Box M), S, Initial amount of Titie IV grants for student to return
| 450000 | x| 0.0% b= 0.00 | From the initial amount of unearned Title IV aid due from the
Box L BoxM Box N student (Box Q) subtract the amount of loans to paid

0. Amount ofor school to return by the student (Box R},
Compare the amount of Title IV aid to be returned (Box K) ]
to Amount of unearned charges (Box N), and enter the

lesser amount.

student (Box S) subtract the amount of loans to be repaid
by the student (Box T},

1. 0.00 { 0.00 | -1 0.00 | =] 0.00 |
2, 0.00 Box S Box T Box U
3. 0.00 | »  IfBox Uis less than or equal to zero, STOP.
4. PLUS FDLP / FFELP (Grad Student) 0.00 If not, go to step 10.
5. PLUS FDLP / FFELP (Parent) 0.00
Total foans the school mustreturn=  P. 0.00 {_S_I_E_ ; ] :
Except as noted below, the student must return the unearned
6. Peli Grant 0.00 grant funds for which he/she is responsible (Box U). The grant
7. Academic Competitiveness Grant 0.00 ] funds returned by the student are applied to the following sources
8. National SMART Grant 0.00 | inthe order indicated, up to the total amount disbursed from that
9. FSEOG 0.00 grant program minus any grant funds that school is responsible
10. TEACH Grant 0.00 | for returning to that program in Step 6.
Note that the student is not responsible for returning
funds to any program to which the student owes $50.00

From the amount of Title IV aid to be returned (Box K} subtract or less,
the Amount for the schoot to return (Box Q).
Title IV Grant Programs: Amount to Return
i 0.00 | - 0.00 i=| 0.00 ] 1. PellGrant 0.00
Box K Box O Box Q 2. Academic Competitiveness Grant
3. National SMART Grant
4
5

» if Box Qis < or = zero, STOP. If > zero, go to Step 8. FSEOG

TEACH Grant
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This is a state mandated policy following the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education Code of
Regulation 71750. This policy applies to all students and programs.

Any monies due the student shall be refunded within 45 days of official cancellation or withdrawal.
Official cancellation or withdrawal shall occur on the earlier of the dates that:

a. Astudentis not accepted by the school. This student shall be entitled to a refund of all monies
paid to the school except a non-refundable application fee.

b. A student (orin the case of a student under legal age, his/her parent or guardian) cancels his/her
contract and demands his/her money back in writing, through attendance of the first day of class
or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract, whichever is later. In this case
all monies collected by the school shall be refunded except a non-refundable application fee. This
policy applies regardless of whether or not the student has actually started training.

¢. Astudent who cancels his/her contract through attendance of the first day of class or the seventh
(7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract is entitled to a refund of all monies paid to the
school less an application fee of $100.00.

d. Astudent notifies the institution of his/her official withdrawal in writing.

A student is expelled by the institution.

For official cancellations as defined in paragraphs b, ¢, d, or e, the cancellation date will be

determined by the postmark on written notification at the following address: Paul Mitchell The

School East Bay, 100 Crescent Drive, Suite D, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523, or by the date said information

is delivered to the school administrator/owner in person. Written cancellations need not take any

particular form.

g. Monies paid for student kits are nonrefundable.

h. A student’on a leave of absence date of withdrawal determination shall be the earlier of the

scheduled date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the school
that the student will not be returning.

bl ()]

You have the right to cancel your enroliment contract and obtain a refund of charges paid through
attendance of the first day of class or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract,
whichever is later. YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING. Students do not have the right to cancel by
telephoning the school or by not coming to class.

Any monies due a student who unofficially withdraws from the institution shall be refunded within
45 days of a determination by the institution that the student has withdrawn without notifying

the institution. Unofficial withdrawals are monitored every 30 days and a determination is made to
withdraw a student who has been absent from school for 14 or more consecutive calendar days; the
withdrawal date that will be used in this calculation is the student’s actual last date of attendance.

When situations of mitigating circumstances are in evidence, such as serious illness, a disabling
accident, or death in the immediate family, the school may make a settlement that is reasonable and
fair to both parties.

All extra costs, such as books, equipment, graduation fees, application fee, rentals, and other such
charges, are not considered in the tuition adjustment computation if the charges are itemized
separately in the enrollment contract.

If a course and/or program is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment, and before
instruction in the course and/or program has begun, the school shall either provide a full refund of
all monies paid or provide completion of the course and/or program.

If a course and/or program is cancelled and ceases to offer instruction after the student has enrolled
and instruction has begun, the school shall either provide a full refund of all monies paid or provide
completion of the course and/or program.
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A student’s account may be sent to collections for nonpayment.

© If an institution closes or discontinues a program prior to the completion of the contracted
services, the institution shall provide a pro-rata refund only if the Bureau determines the
school made provisions for students enrolled at the time of default to complete a comparable
educational program at another institution at no additional charge to the student beyond the
amount of the total charges in the original enroliment agreement. If the institution does not make
that provision, the institution shall provide students a full refund of all institutional charges.

@ Astudentis entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal student aid program funds.

Students are responsible for the amount owed. If a student obtains a student loan, he/she is responsible
for repaying the loan amount, plus interest, less the amount of any refund. The institution shall also
provide a pro rata refund of nonfederal student financial aid program monies paid for institutional
charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance.

If you are eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or state government and you default on the loan,
both of the following may occur:

© The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student,
including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entititled to reduce the balance
owed on the loan.

© You may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other
government assistance until the loan is repaid.

An institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs complies with this article by
complying with applicable regulations of the federal student financial aid programs under Title IV of the
federal Higher Education Act of 1965.

Step 1: Identify all amounts paid for instruction less cost of equipment.

Step 2: Subtract Application fee not to exceed $250.00. The school only charges a student a $100.00
applicaiton fee.

Step 3: Apply a pro rata refund based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program.

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the cosmetology program:

The amount listed is the amount a school may retain based on the percentage of SCHEDULED hours
completed in the program.

‘ $20,741.54 \ $5,600.22 \

$20,741.54 x27% = $5,600.22 amount of tuition the school is entitled to retain

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the barbering program:

The amount listed is the amount a school may retain based on the percentage of SCHEDULED hours
completed in the program.

$19,059.69 $5,146.12

$19,059.69 x 27% = $5,146.12 amount of tuition the school is entitled to retain
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Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the esthetics program:

The amount listed is the amount a school may retain based on the percentage of SCHEDULED hours
completed in the program.

‘ $8,340.00 } $2,251.80 }

$8,340.00 x27% = $2,251.80 amount of tuition the school is entitled to retain

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, has never filed for
bankruptcy petition within the preceding five (5) years, nor operated as a debtor in possession or had a
petition of bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five (5) years that resulted in reorganization
under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code.

You have the right to withdraw from a course of instruction at any time. If you withdraw from the course
of instruction after the period allowed for cancellation of the agreement, which is until the first day of
class session, or the seventh (7) calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later, the school will remit

a refund less an application fee, if applicable, within 45 days following your withdrawal, you are only
obligated to pay only for educational services rendered. IF THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE PAID IS MORE THAN
THE AMOUNT YOU OWE FORTHE TIME YOU ATTENDED, THEN A REFUND WILL BE MADE WITHIN 45 DAYS
OF WITHDRAWAL. IF THE AMOUNT YOU OWE IS MORE THAN THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID,
THEN YOU WILL HAVE TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO PAY IT.

REMEMBER, YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING. You do not have the right to cancel by telephoning the
school or failing to attend classes. If you have any complaints, questions, or problems that you cannot
resolve with the school, write or call the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market
Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589.

The undersigned agrees that Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not guarantee the student loan
process in any respect. A Federal Parent Plus loan requires a credit check and is based on the parent’s
credit. Pre-approval for a Parent Plus loan does not guarantee that the parent will receive a Federal Parent
Plus loan. It is critical that the parent be able to pass a credit check when the loan is certified. The school
has no control over the approval or decline of a parent’s credit history. Nor does the school assume any
responsibility for mistakes on any Department of Education financial aid forms. It is up to the student to
make sure all forms are accurate and complete.

Federal Loan information is available in the National Student Loan Database System (NSLDS) and will be
accessible by Servicers and Schools, as authorized.

The school has policies and procedures that it follows for verification of Title IV funding. Verification is a
requirement by the U.S. Department of Education. Students are randomly selected to provide additional
information. The school provides students with a verification form so they can collect the necessary
information. The school gives the student a 30-day deadline to return the form to the financial office with
verification items attached. If verification documents are not submitted by the due date, the student

will be placed on a monthly cash pay status until verification is completed. FAME handles our student
overpayments and alerts the school so it can make changes to the award packet, which is reported to
Common Origination and Disbursement (COD) for the Department of Education.
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In order to academically succeed in a program, a Federal Pell Grant student must have the ability to
purchase books and supplies at the beginning of the academic period. By the seventh day of a payment
period, the school will provide a way for a student who is eligible for a Federal Pell Grant to obtain or
purchase the books and supplies required for the payment period if:

The school will consider all the FSA funds a student is eligible to receive at the time it makes the
determination, but the school need not consider aid from non-FSA sources.

The amount the school must provide is the lesser of the presumed credit balance or the amount
determined by the school that the student needs to obtain the books and supplies. In determining the
required amount, the school may use the actual costs of books and supplies or the allowance for those
materials used in estimating the student’s cost of attendance for the period. A student may decline to
participate in this process to obtain or purchase books and supplies, if they so choose.

Our school does not have a list of preferred lenders and we do not offer private education loans.

Students will be given written notice advising them that a conviction of illegal drugs, of any offense,
during an enrollment period for which the student was receiving Title IV financial aid will result in the
loss of eligibility for any Title IV per HEA Sec. 484(r)(1) and 20 U.S.C. 1091(r)(1).Students whose eligibility
has been suspended due to a drug conviction may resume eligibility if they successfully pass two

(2) unannounced drug tests conducted by a drug rehabilitation program that complies with criteria
established under HEA Sec. 484(r)(2) (20 U.S.C. 1091(r)(2)).

If Title IV disbursements result in a credit balance on the student’s account, the Financial Aid office

will notify the student. The student has the option to have the school hold the credit balance and can
complete an authorization for the school to hold the funds by obtaining an authorization form from
the Financial Aid Department. If the student does not want the school to hold their funds, all credit
balance disbursements and refunds due to funding source will be processed within 14 days of the
credit balance appearing on the student account. Regardless of the chosen option the school will clear
all credit balances on a student account by the end of the award year.

Students must complete all required assignments and tests. To accommodate students, makeup test days
and worksheet periods are scheduled. Students must complete makeup work at the scheduled time.
Monthly makeup test dates are posted on the theory and school calendars.

During the contracted enrollment period, the student must maintain a 90% attendance average each
month. Falling under the Institutional Attendance Policy may lead to documentation on the Future
Professional Advisory, suspension and/or termination. Maintaining a 90% attendance average or above
will also avoid the student being assessed any over-contract charges.
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Students enrolled in programs approved by NACCAS must meet formal standards that measure their
satisfactory academic progress toward graduation. The Satisfactory Academic Progress policy is provided
to all students prior to enrollment. The policy is consistently applied to all enrolled students. Satisfactory
Academic Progress Evaluations are maintained in the student file. A leave of absence will extend the
student’s contract period and maximum time frame by the same number of days taken in the leave of
absence.

Factors for measuring the student’s progress toward satisfactory completion of the program include
maintaining:

©® A minimum cumulative Theory grade level of 70% or higher.
® A minimum cumulative academic level of 70% or higher on practical worksheet completion.*

©® To determine whether a student meets the academic requirements for Satisfactory progress, theory
and practical grades are averaged together to give a cumulative academic grade of 70% or higher.

O A minimum cumulative attendance of 80% of their scheduled hours**

*To meet the state practical requirements for graduation, students must eventually complete monthly practical
worksheets 100%. See LEARNING PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES.

**To determine your rate of attendance, divide the cumulative number of hours completed by the scheduled
hours to date.

A student who has not achieved the minimum cumulative GPA of 70% and/or who has not successfully
completed at least a cumulative rate of attendance of 80% is not eligible for Title IV assistance, if applicable,
unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal of the determination that has resulted in
status of probation.
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Cosmetology Schedule:

5-Day Monday - Friday 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM 7 hrs perday |35 hrs per week
Full Time
3-Day Wednesday - Friday 8:00 AM to 6:30 PM 10 hrs per day | 30 hrs per week
Full Time
Nights Monday - Friday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM [ 5 hrs per day |25 hours per week
Full Time

Barbering Schedule:
3-Day Monday - Wednesday | 8:00 AM to 6:30 PM 10 hrs per day | 30 hrs per week
Full Time

Esthetics Schedule:
3-Day Monday - Wednesday | 8:00 AM to 6:30 PM 10 hrs per day | 30 hrs per week
Full Time
3-Day Wednesday - Friday 8:00 AM to 6:30 PM 10 hrs per day | 30 hrs per week
Full Time

Information regarding other course schedules is available upon inquiry.

The state of California requires 1600 clock hours for the cosmetology course. Students are expected to
complete the course in no more than 125% of the program length. If a student is never absent, he/she
should complete the course within 46 weeks for a full-time 5-day (35 hr.) student, 53 weeks for full-time
3-day student, and 64 weeks for a full-time student.

The state of California requires 1500 clock hours for the barbering course. Students are expected to
complete the course in no more than 125% of the program length. If a student is never absent, he/she
should complete the course within 50 weeks for full-time 3-day student.

The state of California requires 600 clock hours for the esthetics course. Students are expected to
complete the course in no more than 125% of the program length. If a student is never absent, he/she
should complete the course within 20 weeks for full-time 3-day student.
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Students must complete the educational program within the maximum time frame, which is based on
attending at least 80% of the scheduled hours.

e toecks 3ok
e e s3ecs
Cosmetology - Part Time (5-Day) 64 Weeks 80 Weeks
Monday through Friday

Barbering - Full Time (3-Day) 50 Weeks 63 Weeks
Esthetics - Full Time (3-Day) 20 Weeks 25 Weeks

The maximum time frame allowed for transfer students who need less than full course requirements or
part-time students will be determined based on 80% of the scheduled contracted hours. If any student
enrolled fails to complete the program within the maximum time frame they will lose their eligibility
for Title IV programs and will be terminated from the program. Students who exceed the maximum
time frame will be permitted to re-enroll in the program on a cash-pay basis. Whether a student pays
out of pocket or receives Title IV Financial aid all hours attempted and completes are considered part of
the Satisfactory Academic Progress calculation. For students with a disability that appeal, the student’s
disability will be considered as a factor towards maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress.

*The school uses a 900-hour academic year for Title IV purposes.

If the student needs to take off more time than allotted in the contract or more than 14 consecutive
calendar days, he/she must take a leave of absence or withdraw and reenroll when ready to return. If
a student needs more than 14 consecutive calendar days of time off due to pregnancy/new mother,
and/or military duty then the student should take a leave of absence. Students who withdraw prior
to completing the course of study and who wish to reenter will reenter at the same progress status as
applicable at the time of withdrawal.

Course incompletes, repetitions, and noncredit remedial courses do not apply to this institution.
Therefore, these items have no effect upon the school’s satisfactory academic progress standards.

Majors, degrees, second degrees, or summer terms does not apply to Paul Mitchell The School East Bay.
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A Leave of Absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a Student’s program of study. LOA refers to the
specific time period during an ongoing program when a Student is not in academic attendance. Leaves
of Absence will be granted in the case of pregnancy or new parents. A leave of absence will be permitted
with a letter from the student’s doctor. If a student is called into active duty for the military the school will
grant a leave of absence. During the Coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic, management may grant a leave of
absence for extenuating circumstances.

In order to be placed on Leave of Absence, the student must:

@ Complete and sign the school’s Leave of Absence Request Form, unless unforeseen circumstances
prevent the student from doing so.

@ Must state the reason for the Leave of Absence (LOA) request
© Be approved by the School’s Future Professional Advisor and Financial Aid Leader.

O Leaves must be a minimum of 14 days and and must not exceed a total of 180 days in a 12-month
period. Leaves of absence related to COVID-19 may be less than 14 days.

A student on a leave of absence date of withdrawal determination shall be the earlier of the scheduled date
of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the school that the student will not be
returning. A leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and maximum time frame by the
same number of days taken in the leave of absence.

Student’s may not arbitrarily decide to “take” a leave of absence.

There will be no additional charges for a LOA. If the student fails to return or contact the School Financial
Aid Leader on the documented return date, the Student will be considered to have withdrawn from school
as of that date the student began the LOA. The withdrawal date for the purpose of calculating a refund is
always the student’s last day of attendance.

For federal aid recipients, the student’s payment period is suspended during the LOA and no federal
financial aid will be disbursed to student while on a Leave of Absence. Upon the student’s return, the
student will resume the same payment period and coursework and will not be eligible for additional Title
IV aid until the payment period has been completed. If the student is a Title IV loan recipient, the student
will be informed of the effects that the student’s failure to return from a leave may have on the student’s
loan repayment terms, including the expiration of the student’s grace period. A contract addendum will be
completed upon return from the LOA to extend the contract end date by the applicable number of days.

In special circumstances, the school may grant a leave of absence to a student in the case of an
emergency, such as a car accident or other medical issue that would prevent the student from
requesting the leave of absence prior to the incident occurring. In these cases, the school will collect
the request from the student at a later date and document the reason for the granting of the leave
after the incident has occurred. The beginning date of the leave of absence will be based on the first
date it has been determined that the student cannot come to class due to the accident or medical
situation.

In order to grant a Leave of Absence there must be the expectation that the student will be returning
to school.

A student who is granted a LOA that meets these criteria is not considered to have withdrawn and no
refund calculation is required at that time.

Changes to the contract period on the enroliment agreement must be initialed by all parties or an
addendum must be signed and dated by all parties to reflect the new contract end date.

PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL EAST BAY CATALOG

49



Formal Satisfactory Progress Evaluations in both attendance and academics will occur when students

reach:

Cosmetology (25 hour
schedule)

450 actual hours and
18 weeks

900 actual hours and
36 weeks

1250 actual hours and
50 weeks

Cosmetology (30 hour
schedule)

450 actual hours and
15 weeks

900 actual hours and
30 weeks

1250 actual hours and
42 weeks

Cosmetology (35 hour
schedule)

450 actual hours and
13 weeks

900 actual hours and
26 weeks

1250 actual hours and
36 weeks

Barbering (30 hour 450 actual hours and 900 actual hours and 1200 actual hours and
schedule) 15 weeks 30 weeks 40 weeks

Esthetics (30 hour 300 actual hours and N/A N/A

schedule) 10 weeks

The first evaluation will occur no later than the midpoint of the academic year. The SAP evaluations are
printed and emailed to the student within 7 school business days of the student reaching the evaluation
points.

The following grading system is used to evaluate a student’s academic ability:

Examinations are given in all subjects.

Satisfactory Academic Progress Evaluations are reviewed and signed by the student and maintained
in the student’s financial file. The Satisfactory Academic Progress Evaluation will reflect if the student’s
evaluation will impact the students eligibility for Financial Aid. The student may request to review
their financial aid file from the Financial Aid Leader or Director.

©Q

The following grading scale is used for theory progress:

A=90-100% B =80-89% C=70-79% Failing = Below 70%

Practical and clinical work is graded by a signature on the student’s practical clinic worksheet or guest
ticket. A signature from an instructor represents a passing grade which means all elements of the
practical grading criteria were met. No signature indicates a failing score which means one or more of
the practical grading criteria elements were not met and the student has not met minimum satisfactory
standards on the practical application. Students are required to continue and/or repeat the practical
application until they receive a signature from an instructor.

*The school uses a 900-hour academic year for Title IV purposes.

Transfer hours accepted by the school are applied to the total number of hours necessary to complete the
program and are considered both attempted and completed hours for the purpose of determining when
the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted. Satisfactory Academic Progress evaluation
periods are based on scheduled contracted hours at the institution. For transfer students attending less
than a full academic year, an evaluation will be done at the midpoint of the actual hours.

Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are
considered to be making satisfactory progress until the next scheduled evaluation.
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Students failing to meet minimum requirements for attendance and/or academic progress will be
placed on Financial Aid Warning and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress during the
warning period which is until the next evaluation period. The student will be advised in writing on the
actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. During the Financial
Aid Warning period, students are eligible, if applicable, to receive financial aid funds. If at the end of the
warning period, the student has still not met both academic and/or attendance requirements, he/she
may be placed on probation and, if applicable, the student may be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV
funds.

Students who fail to meet the minimum requirements for attendance and academic progress after the
Warning period, the student will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory
academic progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and
prevails upon appeal.

Additionally, only students who have the ability to meet satisfactory academic progress policy standards
by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation. Students placed on an academic plan
must be able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next evaluation
period or the institution develops an academic plan for the student that, if followed, will ensure that the
student is able to meet the institution’s satisfactory academic progress requirements by a specific point
within the maximum timeframe established for the individual student. Students who are progressing
according to their specific academic plan will be considered making satisfactory academic progress.
The student will be advised in writing of the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress
by the next evaluation. If at the end of the probationary period, the student has still not met both the
attendance and academic requirements required for satisfactory academic progress or set forth by the
academic plan, the student will be determined as NOT making satisfactory academic progress, and if
applicable, the student will not be deemed eligible to receive Title IV funds.

Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV funding, as applicable, by meeting
the minimum attendance and academic requirements by the end of the warning or probationary period.
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A student may appeal the Financial Aid ineligible decision if he/she has a reason for not making
satisfactory progress and if he/she can document that the circumstances that caused the unsatisfactory
academic progress determination have in some way changed and that satisfactory academic progress
standard can be met by the end of the next evaluation period. A student has ten (10) school days
from the date of notification that they are not meeting the second consecutive satisfactory progress
determination to appeal the unsatisfactory academic progress determination. The student must submit
a written appeal to the school’s financial aid office on the designated schools Appeal Form describing
why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along with supporting documentation
of the reasons why the determination should be reversed. This information should include what has
changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to achieve satisfactory academic progress by
the next evaluation point.

The reasons for which a student may appeal a negative progress determination include death of
arelative, an injury or illness of the student, a student’s disability, or any other allowable special or
mitigating circumstances.

The Appeal documents will be reviewed and a decision will be made and reported to the student within
30 calendar days. The appeal and decision documents will be retained in the student’s file. If the student
prevails upon appeal, the satisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal
financial aid will be reinstated, if applicable.

If the appeal is granted the student will be placed on Financial Aid Probation for one evaluation period.
If the student has not met academic and/or attendance requirements for two (2) consecutive evaluation
periods, for example 450 to 900 actual hours evaluations; and does not prevail on appeal, the student
will be determined as not making satisfactory progress and may be terminated.

This policy applies to all students regardless of whether or not they are eligible for Title IV funding
programs. In order to comply with USDE requirements the terminology financial aid warning or financial
aid probation will be used for both Title IV and non-Title IV students.

If a student is terminated due to receiving the maximum amount of coaching sessions, or due to

the reasons outlined under termination on the Student Advisory Form, the student may appeal the
termination decision. A student has five (5) calendar days from the date of termination to appeal the
decision. The student must submit a written appeal to the school’s Future Professional Advisor on the
schools Termination Appeal Form describing why they were terminated, along with supporting
documentation of the reasons why the determination should be reversed. This information should
include what has changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to continue through the
program without incident.

An appeal hearing will take place within 15 business days of receipt of the written appeal. This hearing
will be attended by the student, parent/guardian (if the student is a dependent minor), the student’s
learning leader, the future professional advisor, and the school director. A decision on the student’s
appeal will be made within three (3) business days by the director of education and will be
communicated to the student in writing. This decision will be final.

If a student is terminated for gross misconduct, which includes but is not limited to reporting to school

under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, cheating, stealing, insubordination, threats, and/or
bullying, such termination is final and may not be appealed.
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The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) sets a limit on the disclosure of personally
identifiable information from school records and defines the rights of students to review and request
changes to the records. FERPA generally gives postsecondary students the rights to:

©® Review their education records,
® Seekto amend inaccurate information in their records, and
® Provide consent for the disclosure of their records.

Students (or parents / guardians of a dependent minor) are guaranteed access to their school records,
with a staff member present, within 30 days from the date of the request. Copies of all records can be
requested at $0.20 per page.

General Release of Information

Except under the special conditions described in this policy, a student must provide written consent
before the school may disclose personally identifiable information from the student’s education records.
The written consent must:

State the purpose of the disclosure,

Specify the records that may be disclosed,

Identify the party or class of parties to whom the disclosure may be made, and
Be signed and dated.

FERPA Disclosures to Parents

While the rights under FERPA have transferred from a student’s parents to the student when the student
attends a postsecondary institution, FERPA does permit a school to disclose a student’s education records
to his or her parents if the student is a dependent student under IRS rules.

Note that the IRS definition of a dependent is quite different from that of a dependent student for
Financial Student Aid (FSA) purposes. For IRS purposes, students are dependent if they are listed as
dependents on their parent’s income tax returns. (If the student is a dependent as defined by the IRS,
disclosure may be made to either parent, regardless of which parent claims the student as a dependent.)

A school may disclose information from a student’s education records to parents in the case of a health or
safety emergency that involves the student, without needing the student’s consent.

A school may let parents of students under age 21 know when the student has violated any law or policy
concerning the use or possession of alcohol or a controlled substance.

A school official may share with parents information that is based on that official’s personal knowledge or
observation and that is not based on information contained in an education record.

Release of Information to Regulatory Agencies

Disclosures may be made to authorized representatives of the U.S. Department of Education for
audit, evaluation, and enforcement purposes. “Authorized representatives” include employees of the
Department, such as employees of the Office of Federal Student Aid, the Office of Postsecondary
Education, the Office for Civil Rights, and the National Center for Education Statistics, as well as firms
under contract to the Department to perform certain administrative functions or studies.
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In addition, disclosure may be made if it is in connection with financial aid that the student has received
or applied for. Such a disclosure may only be made if the student’s information is needed to determine
the amount of the aid, the conditions for the aid, or the student’s eligibility for the aid, or to enforce the
terms or conditions of the aid.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay provides and permits access to student and other school records as
required for any accreditation process initiated by the school or by the National Accrediting Commission
of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS), or in response to a directive of said Commission.

Disclosures in Response to Subpoenas or Court Orders

FERPA permits schools to disclose education records, without the student’s consent, to comply with a
lawfully issued subpoena or court order.

In most cases, the school must make a reasonable effort to notify the student who is the subject of the
subpoena or court order before complying, so the student may seek protective action. However, the
school does not have to notify the student if the court or issuing agency has prohibited such disclosure.

The school may also disclose information from education records, without the consent or knowledge of
the student, to representatives of the U.S. Department of Justice in response to an ex parte order issued in
connection with the investigation of crimes of terrorism.

Disclosures for Other Reasons

There are two FERPA provisions concerning the release of records relating to a crime of violence. One
concerns the release to the victim of any outcome involving an alleged crime of violence (34 CFR 34

CFR 99.31[a][13]). A separate provision permits a school to disclose to anyone the final results of any
disciplinary hearing against an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence where that student was found in
violation of the school’s rules or policies with respect to such crime or offense (34 CFR 99.31[a][14]).

Directory Information

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay does not publish “directory information” on any student.

Record Maintenance

All requests for releases of information are maintained in the student’s file as long as the educational
records themselves are kept. Student records are maintained for a minimum of six (6) years for withdrawal
students; transcripts of graduates are kept indefinitely. The student may contact the schools Financial Aid
Leader or Director for copies of their educational or financial records.

Amendment to Student Records

Students have the right to seek an amendment to their school records. To seek an amendment, students
must meet with the school director and bring any supporting documentation to show that the record is
incorrect.

A parent or eligible student may file a written complaint with the Family Policy Compliance Office
regarding an alleged violation under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act. The Office’s
address is: Family Policy Compliance Office, U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW.,
Washington, DC 20202.
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Paul Mitchell The School East Bay is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts
and Sciences (NACCAS) and recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. Each agency requires
schools to provide important information regarding outcome rates in the areas of completion,
placement, and licensure; however, each agency requires that we provide outcome rates differently.
NACCAS requires schools to list the outcome rates for the main campus and all additional campuses
as a whole. In this case, there are no additional campuses.-NACCAS requires schools to list the
outcome rates also by program. If you have any questions regarding our outcome rates, please see our
Admissions Team for assistance.

Paul Mitchell The School combined performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

60% 63.10% 93.55%

Cosmetology Program:

60.58% 63.86% 93.55%

Barbering Program:

33.33% 0% N/A

NACCAS' 2019 Annual Report is derived from a single cohort of students - those scheduled to
graduate in 2019. NACCAS' graduation, placement and licensure definitions are described below:

Graduation: Based on all students scheduled to graduate from the program in 2019. The scheduled
graduation date is a student’s most recent contract end date (i.e., the contract end date after all leaves
of absence, schedule changes and re-enrollments have been accounted for). A student may count as a
graduate if they have completed all applicable graduation requirements at the institution.

Licensure: Based on graduates from the graduation cohort who sat for all parts of their required licensure
exam prior to November 30, 2020. A student in the licensure cohort may count as a “pass” if they pass all
required portions of the examination prior to November 30, 2020.

Placement: Based on graduates from the graduation cohort who are eligible for placement. A student may
count as placed if they are employed in a field for which their training prepared them prior to November 30,
2020. Students may be excluded from the calculation if they fall into one of the categories listed. In 2019,
the school excluded the following number of students* based on each of the following categories:

@ The graduate is deceased 0
@ The graduate is permanently disabled 0
© The graduate is deployed for military service/duty 0

O The graduate studied under a student visa and is ineligible for employment in the US. 0

© The graduate continued his/her education at an institution under the same ownership (e.g., a graduate
of your cosmetology program subsequently enrolled in the instructor program of an institution under
the same ownership) 0
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Total Excluded 0

*If fewer than ten students were excluded for any one category, the disclosure will only include the total of
all excluded students if that total is at least ten. If the calculation excluded fewer than a total of ten students
the institution will state that it excluded students on the basis of each condition, and note that the number
of total exclusions were fewer than 10 and therefore cannot be disclosed.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay Cosmetology performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

24% 64% 73%

|

57%

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay Barbering performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

0% 0% 0%

33%

]

Completion rates are based on the number of students who began the program who are scheduled to
complete the program within 100% of the published program length within the reporting calendar
year, and excludes all the students who cancelled during the cancellation period.

2016 Graduation
66%

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay must prepare the completion and graduation rate of its certificate- or
degree-seeking, first-time, full-time undergraduate students each year. The rates will track the outcomes
for students for whom 150% of the normal time for completion or graduation has elapsed. Normal time
is the amount of time necessary for a student to complete all requirements for a degree or certificate
according to the institution’s catalog. These rates are generated from the school student record
management system.
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All students must commit to and follow the Student Professional Development Guidelines during their
enrollment at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay. These guidelines were established to assist in creating a
safe, focused, and enjoyable learning experience.

Attendance and Documentation of Time

e o

The school records attendance in clock hours and gives appropriate attendance credit for all hours
attended. The school will deduct a half-hour if a student fails to punch in/out for lunch. Attendance
is calculated using a computerized timeclock. This device may consist of an app that can be used on
your phone, a biometric scanner in the school, or similar device. In order to ensure proper clock hours
are credited, full-time students are required to clock in/out 4 times a day: when they arrive to school,
when they leave for lunch, when they return from lunch, and when they leave at the end of the day.
Part time students are required to clock in/out 2 times a day: when they arrive to school and when
they leave at the end of the day. If a student fails to clock in or out for their schedule on the student
time clock, the student will not receive hours. If the student wishes to dispute any hours they feel
earned, the student must provide documentation to verify attendance on the missing time form. The
documentation would include the student sign in sheet, the specialty class attendance role, and/or
the guest service summary.

The school is open from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM for 5-day students, 8:00 AM to 6:30 PM for 3-day
students, and 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM for night students.

All courses require continuous attendance.

The prescribed attendance schedule must be maintained each week. Alternate schedules are
available to those students who qualify.

Night students may not miss Mondays and Fridays; 5-day Monday through Friday students may not
miss Mondays; 5-day Tuesday through Saturday students may not miss Saturdays, and 3-day
students may not miss Fridays.

Students must be on time, as tardiness inhibits the learning process. Students who are late for theory,
a specialty class or a guest artist class may attend the class, but must be accompanied into the
classroom by a learning leader. Students are never excused from mandatory theory class to work in
the clinic classroom.

During the enrollment contract period, the student is allowed to miss 160 hours (cosmetology)
and 150 hours (barbering) before having to pay extra instructional charges. If the student’s training
goes beyond the contracted ending date for course completion, the student will be charged an
additional $13.50 for cosmetology students and $13.50 for barbering students for each hour
completed after the contract ending date. The student may use the 160 (cosmetology) and 150
(barbering) allowed absent hours for vacation, appointments, illness, etc.

**Refer to the school enrollment contract for the Enrollment Contract Period definition.

Please note that if a student misses more than 14 consecutive calendar days, the student may
be terminated from the program.

Students attend Core the first 6 weeks (200 clock hours) of enrollment. During this time the student
must maintain a monthly attendance of 90%. If at the conclusion of the month, the student’s
progress report is not 90% attendance, the student may be dropped from the program and asked to
re-enroll in the next class start date.

Students who are late or cannot attend school must contact the school and talk to the school service
desk immediately. Day students must call in by 8:30 AM; night students must call in by 1:30 PM.
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Students must request time off from school from the Education Leader.

©

Students are required to be in attendance seven (7) hours per day, 35 hours per week for the full-time
schedule; ten (10) hours per day, 30 hours per week for a full-time 3-day schedule; five (5) hours per
day, 25 hours per week for part-time students. Holidays such as Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New
Year’s Day will be set according to the calendar each year.

® Lunches and breaks are scheduled for all students. Day students will take 30 minutes for lunch
between 12:00 noon and 1:30 PM, if possible, according to their booking. Students should
communicate with their instructor if they have not had lunch by 1:30 PM.

Observe the appropriate breaks for your school schedule. Breaks are as follows:

10 or 7 hr/day 10 min. in the morning & 10 min in the afternoon 30 min.
6 hr/day 10 min. in the morning & 10 min in afternoon n/a
5 hr/day 10 min at mid-point of schedule n/a

® Documentation of time: Students may not leave the school premises during regular hours without an
instructor’s permission.

a. Students who leave school premises for more than 10 minutes or those who leave early must
document their time by clocking out on the time clock, signing the sign-out sheet, and having an
instructor book them out.

b. Students who leave school premises for less than 10 minutes must sign the sign-out sheet.

¢. Day students must clock out on the time clock for lunch for 30 minutes every day. Students will
not receive credit for the hour if they fail to clock in/out for lunch.

@ Students may not clock in or out for another student; doing so will be grounds forimmediate
termination.

® Students must keep a record of all services each day on the “service tracking sheet,” which must be
completed daily and turned in every month.

® Receiving additional hours outside a student’s scheduled hours. The time would need to be
pre-approved by a Learning Leader. These extra hours are recorded on a“Makeup Time Request
Form”. The student would need to be working on approved coursework which could be: completing
theory requirements, staying beyond their scheduled time to complete a service guest, attending an
extra class or instruction that occurred beyond their scheduled hours.
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Professional Image: All Future Professionals must adhere to the following professional dress code
while in attendance:

© Future Professionals may wear black, gray, or white in any combination.

® A minimal printin clothing is acceptable if it is a black and white print.

© Clothing should be professional and clean.

O Shoes should be black, white, or gray professional, practical, and comfortable.
© Hair should be styled prior to arriving at the school.

O Any cosmetics should be applied prior to arriving at the school.

@ The following is a list of acceptable dress:

a. Jeans or clothing made of jean material if they are black or gray in color. Any rips or tears
must fall below the fingertips, when standing up.

b. Sleeveless tops.

¢. Sweatshirts, printed T-shirts, hooded sweatshirts and/or jackets with the Paul Mitchell logo
or the school logo may be worn.

d. Stylish hats, scarves, and stylish head wraps.

e. Shorts and/or skirts that fall below the fingertips.

O Tights or leggings should be worn with skirts or dresses that fall above the knees for all Future
Professionals.

© Name tag — as provided by the school. All Future Professionals are required to wear a name tag
while in attendance.
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All barbering Future Professionals must adhere to the following professional dress code while in
attendance:

© Barbering Future Professionals may wear all black or gray, to include a button-down shirt.
® A straight tie or bow tie may be worn in black, gray, yellow, or red.

© Accessories may be worn in black, gray, yellow, or red, which include: a belt, arm-garter, suspenders,
jewelry, and/or shoes.

O A barbering Future Professional may wear a smock, in black only.

© Sweatshirts, printed T-shirts, hooded sweatshirts and/or jackets with the Paul Mitchell logo or the
school logo may be worn.

O Fedoras, flat hats, or ascot caps may be worn.

The following is a list of unacceptable dress for all Future Professionals in attendance:

. Gym workout shoes, foot thongs, or beach sandals.

. Tank tops, spaghetti string tops, or belly shirts.

. Sweatpants.

. Sweatshirts, hooded sweatshirts, jackets and printed T-shirts other than those with the Paul
Mitchell logo or the school logo.

. Shorts and/or skirts that fall above fingertips, when standing up.
Baseball hats, visors, bandanas, or caps.

g. Headphones, headgear, and/or earphones are not permitted in the classroom or the clinic

classroom.
h. Sunglasses.

onNn oo
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Future Professionals who fail to comply with the Future Professional dress code may be coached
and may receive an advisory.
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Sanitation and Personal Services

© Future Professionals must keep workstations and classroom areas clean, sanitary, and clutter free at all
times.

@ Future Professionals must clean their stations in the clinic classroom, including the floor, after each
service.

© Hair must be swept up immediately after a service is completed, before blow drying.

©

Clinic stations must be cleaned at the end of the day, prior to clocking out for the day.

Future Professionals may have their hair or other services done Tuesday through Thursday. To receive

a service, students must do the following prior to starting the service:

a. Notify an Learning Leader.

b. Be scheduled off the service books by a Learning Leader.

c. Payfor service supplies including perms, tints, bleaches, rinses, conditioning, treatments,
manicures, nails, etc.

d. Personal services are considered rewards and scheduled for Future Professionals who are up to
date with all practicals, exams, and clinic practical worksheets. School assignments and successful
learning are the priority.

Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct
Visitors are allowed in the service reception area only. Visitors are not allowed in the classrooms,
student lounge, or clinic classroom area.

Only emergency calls are permitted on the business phone. Students may use the student phones for
a limited time. Please keep your calls to three (3) minutes or less.

Cell phones are permitted in assigned areas of the school.

Future Professionals may not visit with another Future Professionals who is servicing a client.
Future Professionals may not gather around the service desk, service reception area, or offices.
Food, drinks, and water bottles are allowed only in the lunchroom.

o000 0O® © ©

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay is a smoke-free campus; this includes vaping or any other form of
tobacco.

©

Stealing or taking school or another’s personal property is unacceptable and grounds for termination.

School administration has the right to access and inspect a Future Professionals locker at any time,
refer to the locker policy.
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Learning Participation Guidelines

© © 060600 © ©

Peer teaching and tutoring are encouraged. Taking credit for another’s work or cheating during
exams is unacceptable and is grounds for termination.

Future Professionals will be expected to maintain an average of 70% on all theory tests and
assignments.

Future Professionals may not be released from required theory class to take a client.
Only service desk personnel may schedule or change client service appointments.
All services must be checked and the service ticket initialed by a Learning Leader.

Future Professionals are expected to be continuously working on school-related projects,
assignments, clinic practical worksheets, reading theory, or test preparation during school hours.

Future Professionals will receive clock hours during the times they fully participate in their learning
experience.

When Future Professionals are not scheduled with service appointments or are not scheduled to

attend theory or a specialty class, they may focus on the following:

a. Completion of clinic practical worksheets

b. Completion of theory review worksheets

¢. Performing a service on another Future Professionals

d. Listening to or reading school resource center materials, including educational videos,
audiotapes, and books

Future Professionals must comply with school personnel and Learning Leader’s assignments and
requests as required by the curriculum and Future Professionals guidelines and rules.

Future Professionals may not perform hair, skin, barber, or nail services outside of school unless
authorized to do so by school administration. Conducting unauthorized hair, skin, barber, or nail
services outside of school will be reported to the state board and may result in your inability to
receive a professional license.

Future Professionals are responsible for their own kit and equipment and may use a clinic station
drawer only while working at that clinic station. The school is not responsible for any lost or stolen
articles.

Parking is allowed in assigned parking areas only or cars may be towed at the owner’s expense.
All clinic practical worksheets are due on the assigned day of each month by the end of the school
day.

If a Future Professional fails to complete the practical skill assessments or required weekly theory

hours they will be placed on the Back on Track List. Future Professionals have one week to get caught
up before they receive a coaching advisory.

If a student fails to pass the Core written and/or practical exam on their second attempt, they may be
asked to withdraw from the program and re-start in the next Core class start date.

Theory Class: The school requires a Future Professional to complete all theory hours as part of their
graduation requirements. Refer to the graduation requirements.
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Part of your learning experience includes fine-tuning and mastering the skills and behaviors of a
salon professional. The school team will coach all Future Professionals to correct noncompliant or
innappropriate behavior.

The following actions may be inspected for noncompliance:

©® Attendance and Documentation of Time Guidelines: Attendance, promptness, and
documentation of work are cornerstones of successful work practices. Future Professionals may be
clocked out, released for the day, or suspended when they do not comply with guidelines.

® Professional Image Standards: Professional image standards were created to provide guidance
and direction to Future Professionals as they develop their professional image and persona. Future
Professionals may be coached and receive an advisory when they do not meet professional image
standards.

© Sanitation and Personal Service Procedures: Sanitation and personal service procedures have
been established to comply with state laws and to provide a safe and clean service environment.
Future Professionals may be coached and receive an advisory when they do not follow sanitation and
personal service procedures.

O Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct: It is the school’s responsibility to provide a
learning environment that is professional, positive, and conducive to learning. Staff and students all
contribute to a mutually respectful learning environment that fosters effective communication and
professional conduct. Future Professionals who fail to follow communication guidelines and who
do not conduct themselves in a respectful and professional manner may experience suspension or
termination.

© Learning Participation Guidelines: The learning participation guidelines have been established to
provide a creative, fun, interactive, and collaborative learning environment that empowers Future
Professionals to act as “future salon professionals” and committed learners. Positive behavior is
required to create a mutually beneficial learning environment for all Future Professionals. Future
Professionals who fail to meet the guidelines and create challenges for other Future Professionals or
staff may be released from school, suspended, or terminated.

Corrective Action Steps

Once a Future Professionals has received five (5) coaching sessions, the Future Professionals may be
suspended from school for five (5) days. If a Future Professionals receives two (2) more coaching sessions
after re-admission from a five (5) day suspension, the Future Professionals’ attendance may be permanently
terminated. A Future Professional may be terminated without prior coaching sessions for improper and/ or
immoral conduct. Refer to the school Future Professional Advisory Form.

When monitoring Future Professionals for unofficial withdrawals, the school is required to count any days that
a Future Professionals was out of school on suspension as a part of the 14 consecutive days of
non-attendance used to determine whether the Future Professionals will be returning to school.

We believe in providing a quality environment with an exceptional educational program. This framework
gives everyone the opportunity to enjoy the experience! The entire staff appreciates the Future
Professionals’ respect of these guidelines.
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©® Accommodation Procedures for Students with Disabilities
@ Grievance Procedures for Students who have Complaints on the Basis of Disability

EEKEXXXKXXK¥

©® Accommodation Procedures for Students with Disabilities

Non-Discrimination Policy — It is the policy of Paul Mitchell The School to comply with Section 504
of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act which are Federal laws that prohibit
discrimination on the basis of disability. Paul Mitchell The School does not discriminate on the basis

of disability against a qualified person with a disability in regard to application, acceptance, grading,
advancement, training, discipline, graduation, or any other aspect related to a student’s participation in
a program of Paul Mitchell The School. This applies to all students and applicants for admission to The
School. Paul Mitchell The School will provide reasonable accommodations to students with disabilities.

Definition of an Individual with a Disability — An individual with a disability is a person who has

a physical or mental impairment which substantially limits one or more major life activities of the
individual. These persons are protected by Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with
Disabilities Act (ADA). Individuals with a record of such an impairment and individuals who are regarded
as having such an impairment are also protected by these Federal laws. The definition of “disability” in
Section 504 and the ADA should be interpreted to allow for broad coverage.

The phrase physical impairment means a physiological disorder or condition, a cosmetic disfigurement, or
an anatomical loss, that affects one or more of the following body systems: neurological; musculoskeletal;
special sense organs (which would include speech organs that are not respiratory such as vocal cords,
soft palate, tongue, etc.); respiratory, including speech organs; cardiovascular; reproductive; digestive;
genitourinary; hemic and lymphatic; skin; and endocrine. Examples include, but are not limited to,
orthopedic, visual, speech, and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy,
multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, diabetes, HIV disease (symptomatic or asymptomatic),
tuberculosis, drug addiction, and alcoholism.

The phrase mental impairment means any mental or psychological disorder, including but not limited

to, mental retardation, organic brain syndrome, emotional or mental iliness, specific learning disabilities,
post-traumatic stress disorder, depression and bi-polar disorder. The phrase substantially limits must

be interpreted without regard to the ameliorative effects of mitigating measures, other than ordinary
eyeglasses or contact lenses. Mitigating measures are things like medications, prosthetic devices,
assistive devices, or learned behavioral or adaptive neurological modifications that an individual may
use to eliminate or reduce the effects of an impairment. These measures cannot be considered when
determining whether a person has a substantially limiting impairment. An impairment that is episodic or
in remission is a disability if, when in an active phase, it would substantially limit a major life activity. For
example, a student with bipolar disorder would be covered if, during manic or depressive episodes, the
student is substantially limited in a major life activity (e.g., thinking, concentrating, neurological function,
or brain function).

The phrase major life activities means functions such as caring for one’s self, performing manual tasks,
seeing, hearing, eating, sleeping, walking, standing, lifting, bending, speaking, breathing, learning,
reading, concentrating, thinking, communicating and working. Major life activities also includes major
bodily functions such as functions of the immune system, normal cell growth, and digestive, bowel,
bladder, neurological, brain, respiratory, circulatory, endocrine, and reproductive functions.
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The School’s Responsibilities to Students with Disabilities

The School must provide academic adjustments, auxiliary aids and reasonable accommodations to
students with disabilities, that are necessary to ensure students are not denied the benefits of, or
excluded from participation in, The School’s program. The School must make modifications to its
academic requirements that are necessary to ensure that the requirements do not discriminate against
students with disabilities. The School must ensure that it provides physical access to students with
disabilities. It is also the responsibility of Paul Mitchell The School to permit students with disabilities to
use service dogs on each campus.

The person responsible for implementing these responsibilities at Paul Mitchell The School East Bay
Campus is: Caelyn Armijo; ADA Compliance Coordinator; 100 Crescent Drive, Suite D, Pleasant Hill, CA
94523; (925) 691-7687 x 1006; caelyna@eastbay.paulmitchell.edu.

When a student informs a School staff member that the student is disabled, or needs accommodations
or assistance due to disability, the staff member will refer the Student to The School’s ADA Compliance
Coordinator.

Procedures for Students and The School

Documentation of disability by students — Students with disabilities who wish to request reasonable
accommodations (including academic adjustments, auxiliary aids, or modifications) must contact the
ADA Compliance Coordinator named above for their campus. Students must provide documentation of
disability from an appropriate professional, which depends on the nature of the disability. For example, a
student with a psychological disability should provide documentation from a psychologist, psychiatrist or
social worker. The documentation submitted must be within the last 12 months, if older than 12 months
the student must provide current documentation from the appropriate professional.

This documentation may be the student’s existing medical records, or reports created by the student’s
medical provider or an appropriate professional who conducts an assessment of the student. It may

be documentation from the student’s past educational records such as reports from teachers or school
psychologists, or records that show the student’s educational history, disability assessment, and the
accommodations the student previously received. It may be records from the state department of
rehabilitation or the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Documentation should be current and relevant,
but that does not mean that a recent report or record is needed in all cases. Some disabilities are stable
lifelong conditions and historic documentation will be sufficient. Some disabilities are readily apparent
and observable and thus little or no documentation will be needed.

The documentation of disability is kept at all times in a locked, private file at The School. To protect
privacy, direct access to this documentation is by written consent only. The ADA Compliance Coordinator
will determine what information needs to be shared with Paul Mitchell The School staff and Learning
Leaders, on an “as needed basis,” in order to facilitate academic accommodations or other services.

Student requests for accommodations and interactive discussion with ADA Compliance
Coordinator — Students who plan to request accommodations should contact the ADA Compliance
Coordinator promptly, so there is time for the Coordinator to review the student’s documentation and
discuss accommodations with the student before the student begins the class or program for which
the accommodation is being requested. When a student contacts the Coordinator, the Coordinator will
keep a record of the dates and contacts with the student, including a record of the accommodations
requested by the student. Students who have questions about the type of documentation they need
to provide should contact the Coordinator to discuss this.
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The student and the ADA Compliance Coordinator will discuss how the student’s impairment impacts
the student, how the student expects the impairment to impact the student in The School’s program,
the types of accommodations the student has previously received (if any), and the accommodations
being requested by the student from The School. The Coordinator and the student should discuss
accommodations needed during all phases of the program (Core, Adaptive and Creative), and for
classroom instruction, skills based instruction and skills practice.

The documentation (or observation) must show the nature of the student’s disability and how it limits a
major life activity. The accommodations requested by the student should be related to these limitations.
There are no pre-set accommodations for specific disabilities. Instead, the Coordinator and the student
must discuss and determine what the student’s limitations are, and how they can be accommodated.

Here are some examples:

® A student with an orthopedic disability may need cushioned floor mats and scheduled times to sit
down. These students may also need particular kinds of chairs.

® Astudent with a learning disability or attention deficit disorder may need extra time to take tests,
such as ninety minutes to take a test instead of the sixty minutes allowed to other students. These
students may need to take their tests in a location that is quiet and has no distractions, such as an
office rather than the classroom.

® A student with a learning disability or psychological disability may need a note taker, a copy of the
instructor’s notes or presentation, or to use a tape recorder during instruction.

® A student with post-traumatic stress disorder or an anxiety disorder may need to take periodic leaves
of absence, or may need to structure their program so that it is scheduled over a longer period of
time than usual. These students may need to take breaks in a quiet room during skills practice.

® Astudent with a hearing impairment may need instructors to use voice amplification systems, or may
need the School to provide a sign language interpreter.

® Astudent with diabetes may need periodic breaks to check his or her blood sugar level.

Decision about accommodations, and ensuring implementation of accommodations — The ADA
Compliance Coordinator will decide the accommodations to be provided to the student. The Coordinator
will consider any past accommodations that have been effective for the student, and will give primary
consideration to the type of accommodation requested by the student. Alternate accommodations may
be provided if there is an alternative accommodation that would be equally effective for the student.

The Coordinator will make a decision no later than two weeks after the student states the request for an
accommodation. If the student does not submit documentation of a disability at the time the student
requests an accommodation, the Coordinator will make a decision no later than two weeks after the
student provides the documentation.

The Coordinator will list the approved accommodations in writing and provide this to the student. The
Coordinator will inform the appropriate Learning Leaders and school staff of the accommodations they
are responsible for providing to the student, how to provide the accommodations, and when to provide
the accommodations. The Coordinator will keep a written record of these contacts about the student’s
accommodations. The Coordinator will verify that the accommodations are being implemented for

the student through direct observation, report by the student, and/or documentation from The School
staff. If the student informs the Coordinator that an accommodation is not being fully implemented, the
Coordinator will immediately intervene with relevant staff members to ensure the accommodation is
provided to the student.

After accommodations have been approved for a student, the Coordinator will make an appointment
with the student for a time when the student’s program is expected to change. The purpose of the
appointment is to determine whether the student’s accommodations should be changed when the
student’s program phase changes, or the type of instruction changes.
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Additional factors — The School is not obligated to provide accommodations that would result in a
fundamental alteration of The School’s program. In this case, the Coordinator will promptly search for
an equally effective alternate accommodation for the student that would not fundamentally alter the
program. The Coordinator will offer the alternate accommodation to the student.

The School is not obligated to provide accommodations that would result in an undue financial or
administrative burden on The School. If the Coordinator decides that a requested accommodation might
impose such a burden, the Coordinator will discuss the issue with The School owner, who will take into
account the overall financial resources of The School. The School owner will make the final decision, in
accord with the requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities
Act. If The School owner determines that the requested accommodation would be an undue burden, the
Coordinator will promptly search for an equally effective alternate accommodation for the student and
offer the alternate accommodation to the student.

Appeals by Students

A student may appeal any accommodation decision made by the ADA Compliance Coordinator if the
student disagrees with the decision. Here are some examples: A student may appeal the Coordinator’s
decision to deny a requested accommodation. A student may appeal a decision by the Coordinator to
provide an alternate accommodation rather than the specific accommodation requested by a student.
A student may appeal a decision by the Coordinator that the student has not presented sufficient
documentation to support the requested accommodation. A student may also file an appeal when

a school staff member fails to provide an approved accommodation, and the Coordinator has not
effectively addressed the situation.

When a student wishes to file an appeal, the student must notify Melissa Serpa or Caelyn Armijo;
Co-Directors; 100 Crescent Drive, Suite D, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523; (925) 691-7687; melissas@eastbay.
paulmitchell.edu or caelyna@eastbay.paulmitchell.edu. The student must explain his/her reasons for
disagreeing with the Coordinator’s decision, or explain how the student’s accommodation is not being
implemented, and submit any relevant documentation.

Within five calendar days of receiving a student’s appeal the Director will meet with the student and the
Coordinator to discuss the issues presented by the student’s appeal. If appropriate, the Director will also
discuss the issues with other School staff members.

When a student appeals a decision made by the Coordinator, the Director will determine whether the
Coordinator’s decision should be revised or remain the same. If the decision is revised, the Director will
ensure that the revised decision is implemented.

When a student files an appeal on the basis that an approved accommodation is not being implemented,
the Director will determine whether the accommodation is being fully implemented, and if it is not,
ensure that the accommodation is implemented. The Director will inform the student of the decision in
writing no later than fourteen days after receiving the student’s appeal.
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Training and Mediation Responsibilities of the ADA Compliance Coordinator

The ADA Compliance Coordinator at each campus will deliver disability training sessions for all campus
staff members at least once each calendar year. In these training sessions the Coordinator will explain

the basic requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities

Act as they apply to The School. The Coordinator will address: The School’s responsibility to provide
accommodations to students with disabilities; how to appropriately interact with students with particular
kinds of disabilities; how to go about implementing accommodations that the Coordinator has approved
for students; how to support students with disabilities in The School’s programs; that students with
disabilities cannot be penalized for using approved accommodations. The Coordinator will keep a record
of each training session.

The Coordinator may also provide trainings for students who wish to learn about The School’s process for
providing accommodations, or about The School’s grievance procedures.

To help ensure that future campus staff members and students are aware of The School’s policies, the
Coordinator will make sure that the Accommodations Procedures and the Grievance Procedures are
continually posted at the campus.

The Coordinator will assist students with disabilities who have concerns about implementation of their
accommodations or their treatment by The School staff members or other students. At the request of

a student, the Coordinator will informally mediate or attempt to resolve issues related to the student’s
disability. If this informal process does not resolve the student’s concerns, the student may file a grievance
as described in Section Il below.

® Grievance Procedures for Students who have Complaints on the Basis of Disability

Paul Mitchell The School is responsible for providing a grievance procedure to students who feel they
have been discriminated against on the basis of disability. The grievance procedure provides students
the opportunity to file a complaint. The School then has the responsibility to objectively investigate the
allegations in the complaint and determine whether the student has been discriminated against. If The
School determines that discrimination occurred, The School must take appropriate steps to correct the
discrimination and prevent it from reoccurring.

Grievance complaints — A student may file a grievance if the student feels he or she has been
discriminated against because the student is disabled, or because the student is regarded as being
disabled, or because the student has a record of being disabled. A student may also file a grievance if the
student feels that he or she has been retaliated against for advocacy based on disability. Here are some
examples of discrimination:

An instructor or other students refer to the student in a derogatory way related to the student’s
disability.

An instructor generally refers to students with particular types of disability in a derogatory way.
Other students refuse to work with the student because the student is disabled.

A School staff member refuses to provide a service to the student that the staff member provides to
other students.

A school staff member takes a negative action toward the student after the student asked for
accommodations for a disability.

A guest presenter at The School makes derogatory statements about students with disabilities, or
states that students with disabilities can never be employed in the presenter’s field.

A student’s request for accommodation was denied by The School, or an instructor did not
implement an accommodation for the student that was approved by The School.

O 0 0 000 O
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A student must file a grievance complaint within 90 days of the date the discriminatory act occurred,
or within 90 days of the end of an informal attempt to resolve the complaint, whichever is later. The
complaint must be written. In the complaint, the student must describe what happened and the dates
the acts took place, and state who was involved. The student should explain why the student believes
the acts were taken based on disability. The student should describe or provide copies of any relevant
documents or emails, if available.

A student may ask the Campus ADA Compliance Coordinator to try and informally resolve the student’s
complaint before the student files a written complaint. However, the student is not required to try
informal resolution before filing a written complaint.

The complaint must be sent to Melissa Serpa or Caelyn Armijo; Co-Directors; 100 Crescent Drive, Suite D,
Pleasant Hill, CA 94523; (925) 691-7687; melissas@eastbay.paulmitchell.edu or

caelyna@eastbay.paulmitchell.edu.

Investigation of the Complaint — When the Director receives a written complaint, the Director will
immediately begin an objective investigation. The School has the right to contract with an independent
investigator to conduct any investigation. Within seven days, the Director will discuss the allegations in
the complaint with the student, and obtain any needed additional information from the student. The
Director will obtain from the student the names of any persons the student believes will have relevant
information. The Director will gather all information necessary to determine what took place. To do so,
the Director will interview any School staff members or students who engaged in the actions or may
have witnessed the actions that the student is complaining about. The Director will interview persons
that the student stated may have relevant information. The Director will gather any relevant documents
such as emails, student work or instructor’s records. During the investigation, the Director will disclose the
complaint, and confidential information about the student, only to the extent necessary to investigate
the allegations of the complaint.

After reviewing all the evidence gathered, the Director will determine whether the student was treated
differently from other students based on disability; or whether the student was harassed based on
disability; or whether the student was retaliated against because the student advocated on the basis of
disability; or whether the student was denied an accommodation that The School should have provided
to the student.

Written Decision — The Director will provide the student with a written decision no later than sixty days
after the date the student filed the complaint. The decision will state the determination reached by the
Director at the conclusion of the investigation, and the reasons the Director reached that determination.
If the Director concludes that the student was discriminated against on the basis of disability, the decision
will state the types of remedial action that The School has taken or will take to correct the discrimination.
The decision will also state how The School will prevent the discriminatory acts from occurring again.

Appeals by Students — If the student who filed the complaint disagrees with the decision made by the
Director, or disagrees with the remedial action specified, the student may appeal the decision to The
School Owner. The appeal must be written and sent to Melissa Serpa or Caelyn Armijo; Co-Directors; 100
Crescent Drive, Suite D, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523; (925) 691-7687; melissas@eastbay.paulmitchell.edu
or caelyna@eastbay.paulmitchell.edu. The appeal must state the specific reasons that the student
disagrees with the decision. Appeals must be filed no later than thirty days after the student receives the
written decision from the Director.

The Owner will review all the information provided by the student in the appeal, the decision by the
Director, the interview records made by the Director and the documents gathered by the Director. The
Owner will issue a written decision to the student within fourteen days after receiving the student’s
appeal. The Owner will determine whether the decision should be revised or remain the same. If the
Owner determines that the decision should be revised, the Owner will ensure that any necessary changes
in the remedies are implemented.
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U.S. Department of Education

Students or The School staff who have questions or concerns about disability issues may contact the
Office for Civil Rights (OCR), U.S. Department of Education. OCR enforces Section 504 of the Rehabilitation
Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act as they apply to post-secondary educational institutions.

The OCR National Headquarters is located at:

U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights
Lyndon Baines Johnson Department of Education Bldg
400 Maryland Avenue, SW

Washington, DC 20202-1100

Telephone: (800) 421-3481

FAX: (202) 453-6012; TDD: (877) 521-2172

Email: OCR@ed.gov

OCR has regional offices located throughout the country. To find the office for our state, you can check
the OCR website at: http://wdcrobcolp01.ed.gov/CFAPPS/OCR/contactus.cfm, or call the telephone
number above.

Provisions of the Higher Education Amendment of 1976 require that effective July 1, 1977, each post-
secondary institution which receives Federal Financial Aid funds must make certain student consumer
information available to any enrolled or prospective student who request such information.

This section compiled by the Financial Aid office staff attempts to meet the requirements.

The school is approved for and participates in Federal PELL Grants, Subsidized Direct loans, Unsubsidized
Direct Loans, and Parent PLUS loans. Such programs help to defray the costs of attending school for those
students eligible for financial aid consideration.

Financial aid is any mechanism that reduces out of pocket costs that the students and/or parents must
pay to obtain a specific post-secondary education. Put differently, financial aid is monies made available
to help students meet the cost of the program. Financial aid includes grants and need and non-need
loans.

Need-based financial aid is available to families that demonstrate a financial need for additional
resources. The formula below is used to determine how much financial need a student has:

Cost of Attendance - Expected Family Contribution (EFC) = Financial Need
Non-Need is the difference between the cost of education and Financial Need.
Based on these calculations Federal Aid may not cover all the cost of attendance.
All financial aid is awarded to students who qualify based on the following:

© Criteria making a student ELIGIBLE includes citizen or permanent non-citizen alien recipient codes 1-
151, 1-551, and 1-94.

® Criteria making a student INELIGIBLE includes codes F-1, F-2, J-1, J-2; students who are in federal loan
default; students who receive grant overpayments; or male students who meet Selective Service
registration criteria, but are not registered.
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Paul Mitchell The School East Bay is committed to providing a work and school environment free of
unlawful harassment or discrimination. In furtherance of this commitment, all students and employees
are required to take the mandatory sexual harassment and prevention training upon starting in school
and again in January of each year. The school’s policy prohibits harassment or discrimination based on
race, religion, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related
medical conditions), military or veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital
status, age, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression, genetic information, or any other
basis protected by the federal, state, or local law. Additionally, in accordance with Title IX of the Education
Amendments of 1972, the school prohibits discrimination based on sex, which includes sexual
harassment and sexual violence, and the school has jurisdiction over the investigation of Title IX
complaints.

Title IX applies to all of the school’s educational programs or activities, whether such programs or
activities occur on-campus or at an off-campus events. The school’s anti-harassment and discrimination
policy applies to all persons involved in the operation of the school and prohibits unlawful harassment
and discrimination by any employee of the school, as well as students, customers or service guests, third
parties, vendors, or anyone who does business with the school. It further extends to prohibit unlawful
harassment by or against students.

Any employee, student, or contract worker who violates this policy will be subject to disciplinary action.
To the extent a customer or service guest, vendor, or other person with whom the school does business
engages in unlawful harassment or discrimination, the school will take appropriate corrective action. The
grievance procedure will provide that grievances may be filed about discrimination in any academic,
educational, extracurricular, athletic, or other programs operated or sponsored by, or related to, the
school, whether the programs take place on the campus of the school, during a school-sponsored field
trip, or during other off-campus events.

As part of the school’s commitment to providing a harassment-free working and learning environment,
this policy shall be disseminated to the school community through publications such as the school’s
catalog, the school’s website, new employee orientations, student orientations, and other appropriate
channels of communication. The school will provide training to key staff members to enable them to
handle any allegations of discrimination and harassment, including sexual harassment or sexual violence,
promptly and effectively. The school will respond quickly to all reports, and will take appropriate action to
prevent, to correct, and, if necessary, to discipline behavior that violates this policy.

Definitions Regarding Sex Discrimination

Dating violence is defined as violence committed by a person who is or has been in a social relationship

of a romantic or intimate nature with the victim; and where the existence of such a relationship shall be

determined based on a consideration of the following factors: the length of the relationship; the type of
relationship; and the frequency of interaction between the persons involved in the relationship.

Domestic violence the definition of “domestic violence” includes felony or misdemeanor crimes of
violence committed by a current or former spouse or intimate partner of the victim, by a person with
whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is cohabitating with or has cohabitated with
the victim as a spouse or intimate partner, by a person similarly situated to a spouse of the victim under
the domestic or family violence laws of the jurisdiction receiving grant monies, or by any other person
against an adult or youth victim who is protected from that person’s acts under the domestic or family
violence laws of the jurisdiction.

PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL EAST BAY CATALOG

71



Sex discrimination is defined as treating individuals differently on the basis of sex with regard to any aspect of services,
benefits, or opportunities the school provides, such as:
U Treating a person differently in determining whether he or she satisfies any requirement or condition for
the provision of an aid, benefit, or service.
O Providing different aid, benefits, or services, or providing aid, benefits, or services in a different manner.
U Denying any person an aid, benefit, or service.
O Subjecting any person to separate or different rules of behavior, sanctions, or other treatment in
providing an aid, benefit, or service.
O Aiding or perpetuating discrimination against any person by providing significant assistance to any
agency, organization, or person, which discriminates on the basis of sex in providing any aid, benefit, or
service to students or employees.
O Otherwise limiting any person in the enjoyment of any right, privilege, advantage, or opportunity.

Sexual harassment is defined as conduct on the basis of sex that satisfies one or more of the following:
@ An employee of the school conditioning the provision of an aid, benefit, or service of the school on an
individual’s participation in unwelcome sexual conduct;
@ Unwelcome conduct determined by a reasonable person to be so severe, pervasive, and objectively offensive
that it effectively denies a person equal access to the recipient’s education program or activity; or
©"Sexual assault” as defined in 20 U.S.C. 1092(f)(6)(A)(v), “dating violence” as defined in 34 U.S.C. 12291(a)(10),
“domestic violence” as defined in 34 U.S.C. 12291(a)(8), or “stalking” as defined in 34 U.S.C. 12291(a)(30). The
federal definitions identified in this paragraph are included as a part of the school’s policy.

Sexual violence is defined as physical sexual acts engaged in without the consent of the other person or when the other
person is unable to consent to the activity. Sexual violence includes sexual assault, rape, battery, and sexual coercion;
domestic violence; dating violence; and stalking.

Stalking is defined as engaging in a course of conduct directed at a specific person that would cause a reasonable person
to fear for his or her safety or the safety of others; or suffer substantial emotional distress.

General Definitions
Actual knowledge means notice of sexual harassment or allegations of sexual harassment to a recipient’s Title IX
Coordinator or any official of the recipient who has authority to institute corrective measures on behalf of the recipient.

Campus is defined as any building or property owned or controlled by an institution of higher education within the same
reasonably contiguous geographic area of the institution and used by the institution in direct support of, orin a

manner related to, the institution’s educational purposes, including residence halls; and property within the same
reasonably contiguous geographic area of the institution that is owned by the institution but controlled by another
person, is used by students, and supports institutional purposes (such as a food or other retail vendor). Education
programs or activities that receive Federal financial assistance. Under the Final Rule, schools must respond when sexual
harassment occurs in the school’s education program or activity, against a person.

Complainant is defined as an individual who is alleged to be the victim of conduct that could constitute sexual
harassment. Any third-party, as well as the complainant, may report sexual harassment. While parents and guardians do
not become complainants (or respondents); however, the school recognizes the legal rights of parents and guardians to
act on behalf of parties (including by filing formal complaints) in Title IX matters.

Consent is informed, voluntary, and revocable. Consent is an affirmative, unambiguous, and conscious decision by each
participant to engage in mutually agreed-upon sexual activity. It must be given without coercion, force, threats, or
intimidation. Consent must be ongoing throughout a sexual encounter and can be revoked at any time. Once consent is
withdrawn, the sexual activity must stop immediately.

Corrective measures are defined as actions taken to address a security breach or privacy violation, with the intent to
counteract the breach or violation and reduce future risks. The school’s owner and School Director are the school’s
designated officials who have the authority to institute corrective measures.

Formal complaint is defined as a document filed by a complainant or signed by the Title IX Coordinator alleging sexual
harassment against a respondent and requesting that the school investigate the allegation of sexual harassment.
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Denial of equal access to educational opportunities may include skipping class to avoid a harasser, a decline in a student’s
grade point average, or having difficulty concentrating in class. A complainant does not need to have suffered loss of
education before being able to report sexual harassment.

Non-campus building or property is defined as any building or property owned or controlled by a student organization
recognized by the institution; and any building or property (other than a branch campus) owned or controlled by an
institution of higher education that is used in direct support of, or in relation to, the institution’s educational purposes,

is used by students, and is not within the same reasonably contiguous geographic area of the institution. Educational
programs or activities, whether such programs or activities occur on-campus or off-campus. A school may address sexual
harassment affecting its students or employees that falls outside Title IX’s jurisdiction in any manner the school chooses,
including providing supportive measures or pursuing discipline

Public property is defined as all public property that is within the same reasonably contiguous geographic area of the
institution, such as a sidewalk, a street, other thoroughfare, or parking facility, and is adjacent to a facility owned or
controlled by the institution if the facility is used by the institution in direct support of, or in a manner related to the
institution’s educational purposes.

Respondent is defined as an individual who has been reported to be the perpetrator of conduct that could constitute
sexual harassment.

Sexual assault is defined as an offense classified as a forcible or nonforcible sex offense under the uniform crime reporting
system of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Sexual assault occurs when a physical sexual activity is engaged in without
the consent of the other person or when the other person is unable to consent to the activity. The activity or conduct may
include physical force, violence, threat, or intimidation, ignoring the objections of the other person, causing the other
person’s intoxication or incapacitation through the use of drugs or alcohol, and taking advantage of the other person’s
incapacitation (including voluntary intoxication).

Supportive measures are defined as individualized services reasonably available that are non-punitive, non-disciplinary,
and not unreasonably burdensome to the other party while designed to ensure equal educational access, protect safety,
or deter sexual harassment.

Rape Shield Protections limit or prohibit the use of evidence of a victim’s past sexual history to undermine that victim’s
credibility. The purpose of rape shield laws is to protect victims from the emotional distress of being cross-examined
about their sexual history on the witness stand. Evidence regarding the victim’s reputation and evidence of past sexual
behavior not related to the rape accusation at hand is prohibited.

Prohibited Conduct

Title IX protects students’rights to educational opportunities free from sex discrimination. This policy strictly prohibits
sexual or other unlawful harassment or discrimination, as well as sexual violence, dating violence, domestic violence and
stalking, as defined above. Sexual or other unlawful harassment or discrimination that includes any verbal, physical, or
visual conduct, racial epithets, slurs and derogatory remarks, stereotypes, jokes, posters or cartoons based on race,
religion, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions), military
or veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital status, age, sexual orientation, gender, gender
identity or expression, genetic information, or any other basis protected by the federal, state, or local law basis if:

U Submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual’s
education or employment;An employee of the recipient conditioning the provision of an aid, benefit, or service of
the recipient on an individual’s participation in unwelcome sexual conduct (quid pro quo);

U Submission to, or rejection of, such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for decisions concerning that
individual’s education or employment; or

U Unwelcome conduct determined by a reasonable person to be so severe, pervasive, and objectively offensive
that it effectively denies a person equal access to the recipient’s education program or activity. It creates a hostile
or offensive environment, which means the alleged conduct is sufficiently serious to limit or deny

a student or student’s ability to participate or benefit from the student’s education program.
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Sexual harassment is conduct based on sex, whether directed toward a person of the opposite or same sex, and may
include explicit sexual propositions, sexual innuendo, suggestive comments, sexually oriented “kidding” or “teasing,’
practical jokes, jokes about or displays of obscene printed or visual material, questions about sexual fantasies,
preferences, or history, and physical contact, such as patting, pinching, or intentionally brushing against another person’s
body. Gender-based harassment, including acts of verbal, nonverbal, or physical aggression, intimidation, or hostility
based on sex or sex-stereotyping are strictly prohibited, even if those acts do not involve conduct of a sexual nature.

Complaint/Grievance Procedure

The following grievance procedures shall be used to address sex discrimination complaints filed by students/ employees,
the complainant is attempting to participate in the school’s education program or activity at the time they file the formal
complaint, or complaints filed on their behalf against employees, other students, or third parties.

A complainant“attempting to participate”in a school’s education program, includes when a complainant: has withdrawn

from the school due to alleged sexual harassment and expresses a desire to re-enroll if the school responds appropriately
to the allegations; has graduated but intends to apply to a new program or intends to participate in alumni programs and
activities; is on a leave of absence and is still enrolled as a student or intends to re-apply after the leave of absence; or has

applied for admission.

Any person may report sex discrimination, including sexual harassment (whether or not the person reporting is the
person alleged to be the victim of conduct that could constitute sex discrimination or sexual harassment), in person, by
mail, by telephone, or by e-mail, using the contact information listed for the Title IX Coordinator, or by any other means
that results in the Title IX Coordinator receiving the person’s verbal or written report. Such a report may be made at any
time, including during non-business hours, by using the telephone number or e-mail address, or by mail to the office
address, listed below for the Title IX Coordinator. Only a complainant may file a formal complaint that initiates a Title IX
grievance procedure.

If you believe that you have experienced or witnessed harassment or sexual violence, you need to notify the Title IX
coordinator as soon as possible after the incident. Do not allow an inappropriate situation to continue by not reporting it,
regardless of who is creating the situation. No employee, contract worker, student, vendor, customer or service guest, or
other person who does business with the school is exempt from the prohibitions in this policy. The school Director or
Education Leader, if they are informed of a Title IX complaint will refer all harassment complaints to the Title IX coordina-
tor. In order to facilitate the investigation, your complaint should include details of the incident or incidents, dates and
times, names of the individuals involved, and names of any witnesses. A sex discrimination complaint should be filed
within seven (7) days from the date of the alleged discriminatory incident in order for the school to take timely and
appropriate action. All documentation pertaining to the complaint/grievance process will be confidential. The complaint/
grievance once received will be maintained in the Title IX Coordinator’s office, which has limited staff access.

All complaints involving a student, employee, contract worker, vendor, customer or service guest, or other person who
does business with the school will be referred to the campus'’s Title IX Coordinator to begin the complaint process outline
in this policy. The Title IX Coordinator is listed below and has the responsibility of Intake reports and complaints, initiating
the formal complaint process, and providing supportive measures to both the complainant and respondent.

If the school has actual knowledge of sexual harassment in an educational program or activity at the school, against a
person in the United States, they will respond promptly in a manner that is not deliberately indifferent. A school is
considered deliberately indifferent only if its response to sexual harassment is clearly unreasonable in light of the known
circumstances.

The grievant/complainant may use the Title IX Grievance Form, but it is not required, to file a Title IX discrimination
complaint.

Title IX Coordinator:

Elexis Bamboa

925-691-7687

100 Cresent Drive. Suite D

East Bay, CA 94523
elexisb@eastbay.paulmitchell.edu
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The school ensures that its Title IX Coordinator(s), Investigator(s), Decision-Maker(s), and Informal Resolution Facilitator(s)
have adequate training on what constitutes sexual harassment, including sexual violence, dating violence, domestic vio-
lence, sex discrimination, and stalking, and that they understand how the school’s grievance procedures operate. Please
refer to the end of this policy for a listing of the various roles of individuals involved in the Title IX process, their responsi-
bilities, and training requirements.

Reporters
We encourage all individuals who have a Title IX compliant to meet with the Title IX Coordinator to begin the formal

grievance process. If the school Director or Education Leader, who are not Title IX Coordinators, are informed of a Title IX
complaint they must notify the Title IX Coordinator of the complaint immediately, as long as they have the

Complainant’s consent that they can report the incident to the Title IX Coordinator. These are the only school employees
that a complainant may discuss Title IX allegations with that are required under the school’s policy to be obligated to
inform the Title IX Coordinator of information that they received, as long as the Complainant grants that authority. Once
any of these reports are notified of complaint allegations the notice triggers the start of the complaint process by the Title
IX Coordinator.

Formal Complaint

A“formal complaint”is defined as a document filed by a complainant or signed by the Title IX Coordinator alleging sexual
harassment against a respondent and requesting that the school investigate the allegation of sexual harassment. At the
time of filing a formal complaint, a complainant must be participating in or attempting to participate in the education
program or activity of the school. A formal complaint could include actions that occurred during on-line training that
includes computer and Internet networks, digital platforms, and computer hardware or software owned, operated by, or
used by the school. In regard to on-line harassment, the school will review the factual circumstances to determine if it
occurred in circumstances over which the school had substantial control over the respondent and the context in which
the event occurred. A formal complaint may be filed with the school’s Title IX Coordinator in person, by mail, or by
electronic mail, by using the contact information located in the school’s policy. The phrase “document filed by a
complainant” means a document or electronic submission that contains the complainant’s physical or digital signature, or
otherwise indicates that the complainant is the person filing the formal complaint. A complainant does not need to have
already suffered loss of education before being able to report sexual harassment.

The Title IX Coordinator will meet with the complainant to explain the process of filing a formal complaint. The
complainant must be the alleged victim unless the parent or legal guardian has a legal right to act on their behalf.
Anyone may report a Title IX violation; however, only a complainant may file a formal complaint that initiates a Title IX
grievance procedure. The Title IX Coordinator will defer to the complainant’s wishes as to whether or not they want to file
a formal complaint.

If the Title IX Coordinator is the one who signs and initiates a formal complaint, the Title IX Coordinator is not a
complainant or a party during a grievance process and must comply with requirements for Title IX personnel to be free
from conflicts of interest and bias.

The school’s Title IX Policy provides for a consistent, transparent grievance process for resolving formal complaints of
sexual harassment. The school’s policy is required to treat complainants equitably by providing remedies any time a
respondent is found responsible and treat respondents equitably by not imposing disciplinary sanctions without
following the grievance process prescribed in the school’s policy. Any remedies, which are required to be provided to a
complainant when a respondent is found responsible, will be designed to maintain the complainant’s equal access to
education and may include the same individualized services described as supportive measures; however, any remedies
imposed do not need to be non-disciplinary or non-punitive and need not avoid burdening the respondent.

Once a formal complaint has been filed, the school will provide a written notice to each of the parties involved, which will
include a copy of the school’s written Grievance Process, a list of the allegations, including specific information regarding
the allegations, and a notice that the parties have a right to an advisor. The advisor should not be a lawyer. If during the
investigation additional allegations are investigated, then a new notice must be provided to the parties, which identifies
the new issues.
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Grievance Procedure

The school’s grievance procedures are designed to ensure that the Title IX complaint process is free from conflicts of
interest and to treat everyone equally during the process, which requires Title IX personnel (Title IX Coordinators,
Investigators, Decision-Makers, and people who facilitate any informal resolution process) to be free from conflicts of
interest or bias for or against complainants or respondents. In order to accomplish this, we have put into place the
following requirements.

o AllTitle IX personnel must include training on the definition of sexual harassment, the scope of the
school’s education program or activity, how to conduct an investigation and grievance process including
hearings, appeals, and informal resolution processes, as applicable, and how to serve impartially,

including by avoiding prejudgment of the facts at issue, conflicts of interest, and bias.

(2] The school provides all decision-makers with training on any technology to be used at a live hearing. In
addition, the school’s decision-makers and investigators receive training on issues of relevance, including how to
apply the rape shield protections provided (only for complainants), prior to participating in any

Title IX investigation.

(3] The federal regulations governing Title IX allegations requires that there is a presumption that the
respondent is not responsible for the alleged conduct until a determination regarding responsibility is made at
the conclusion of the grievance process. The school may remove a respondent from the recipient’s educational
program or activity on an emergency basis, provided that the school undertakes an individualized safety and risk
analysis, and determines that an immediate threat to the physical health or safety of any student

or other individual arising from the allegations of sexual harassment justifies removal and provides the
respondent with notice and an opportunity to challenge the decision immediately following the removal. In the
case of a school employee, the school may place the individual on mandatory administrative leave.

(4] All of the materials the school uses to train Title IX personnel are located on the school’s website under
the Required Disclosures section on the home page.

(5] Once the hearing takes place, the Decision-Maker may take the following actions against the respondent:
dismiss the complaint; place the individual on probation; suspend the individual; terminate the individual; require
the individual to go to counseling; change the respondent’s schedule; or require the individual to retake the Title
IX training.

0 The school may provide the following remedies to a complainant: an escort; removal from shared classes;
academic support services, such as tutoring; and medical or counseling services.

(7] The school has chosen to use the preponderance of the evidence standard, for all formal complaints of
sexual harassment (including where employees and faculty are respondents).

(8 Upon completion of the Title IX process, either party may file an appeal of the decision. The school’s
appeal process is outlined below.

(9] Throughout the grievance process the school will not use, rely on, or seek disclosure of information
protected under a legally recognized privilege, unless the person holding such privilege has waived the privilege.

(10} All provisions, rules, or practices that are a part of the school’s grievance process for handling formal
complaints of sexual harassment apply equally to both parties.

To initiate a criminal investigation, reports of sexual violence should be made to“911” or local law enforcement. The
criminal process is separate from the school’s disciplinary process. To the extent that an employee or contract worker is
not satisfied with the school’s handling of a harassment or discrimination complaint, he or she may also contact the
appropriate state or federal enforcement agency for legal relief.

The school will make appropriate referrals to law enforcement. The school will also notify complainants of the right to

proceed with a criminal investigation and a Title IX complaint simultaneously. The school will not wait for the criminal
investigation or criminal proceeding to be concluded before beginning its own investigation.
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Investigation of Allegations

In response to all complaints, the school will ensure prompt and equitable resolution through a reliable and impartial
investigation of the allegations, including the opportunity for both parties to present witnesses or other evidence. The
school will follow its written grievance process before the imposition of any disciplinary sanctions or other actions that
are not supportive measures, against a respondent. During this process the school will not restrict an individual’s rights
protected under the U.S. Constitution, including the First Amendment, Fifth Amendment, and Fourteenth Amendment,
when complying with Title IX.

The federal regulations require a school to investigate sexual harassment allegations in any formal complaint, which can
be filed by a complainant, or signed by aTitle IX Coordinator. The regulations affirm that a complainant’s wishes with
respect to whether the school investigates should be respected unless the Title IX Coordinator determines that signing a
formal complaint to initiate an investigation over the wishes of the complainant is not clearly unreasonable in light of the
known circumstances.

If the allegations in a formal complaint do not meet the definition of sexual harassment, or did not occur in the school’s
education program or activity against a person in the United States, the school must dismiss such allegations for
purposes of Title IX but may still address the allegations in any manner the school deems appropriate under the school’s
own code of conduct, which is published in the school’s catalog. The school may also dismiss a complaint if: the
complainant withdraws the complaint; if the respondent is no longer enrolled or employed at the school; or if
circumstances prevent institution from being able to investigate the complaint allegations. The school has the discretion
to assess the facts and circumstances of a case before deciding whether to dismiss the complaint because the respondent
has left the school. The school may consider, for example, whether a respondent poses an ongoing risk to the campus
community, or whether a determination regarding responsibility provides a benefit to the complainant even though the
school does not have control over the respondent. In these cases, each party needs to be notified that the complaint has
been dismissed and the reasons why it has been dismissed.

The time necessary to conduct an investigation will vary based on complexity of the allegation but will generally be
completed within sixty (60) days of receipt of the complaint, which includes appeals and informal resolutions, with an
allowance for short-term and good cause delays or extensions of the time frame. Delays for good cause, may include, for
example, a temporary postponement of a hearing to accommodate a person with a disability. However, when deciding
whether to grant a delay or extension, the school will consider the interests of promptness, fairness to the parties, and
accuracy of adjudications. In these cases, the school will promptly notify all parties of the reason for the delay and the
estimated length of the delay, as well as important updates about the investigation. If a complainant requests
confidentiality, the school will take all reasonable steps to investigate and respond to the complaint consistent with the
request. If a complainant insists that his or her name or other identifiable information not be disclosed to the alleged
perpetrator, the school will inform the complainant that its ability to respond may be limited.

The preponderance of the evidence standard will apply to investigations, meaning the school will evaluate whether it is
more likely than not that the alleged conduct occurred.

During the investigation, the school will provide interim measures, as necessary, to protect the safety and well-being of
students and/or employees involved and are designed to restore or preserve equal access to the education program or
activity without unreasonably burdening the other party and to protect the safety of all parties, the school’s educational
environment, or deter sexual harassment.

The Title IX Coordinator will promptly contact the complainant confidentially to discuss the availability of supportive
measures; consider the complainant’s wishes with respect to supportive measures; inform the complainant of the
availability of supportive measures with or without the filing of a formal complaint; and explain to the complainant the
process for filing a formal complaint. The school will offer supportive measures, at no cost, to the person alleged to be the
victim (referred to as the “complainant”), which may include counseling, extensions of deadlines or other course-related
adjustments, modifications of work or class schedules, campus escort services, mutual restrictions on contact between
the parties, leaves of absence, increased security and monitoring of certain areas of the campus, and other similar
measures to help protect the alleged victim and deter sexual harassment. The respondent is also eligible for the same
supportive measures that the complainant has available. The school will maintain as confidential any supportive
measures provided to the complainant or respondent, to the extent that maintaining such confidentiality would not
impair the ability of the school to provide the supportive measures. The school’s Title IX Coordinator is responsible for
coordinating the effective implementation of all supportive measures that will be provided before sanctions in any
grievance procedure are imposed.
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The school will investigate the allegations in any formal complaint and send written notice to both parties (complainants
and respondents) of the allegations upon receipt of a formal complaint. The Title IX Coordinator has the responsibility of
investigating the complaint allegations; however, if it is in the best interest of the parties involved the school may choose
another employee or hire a third-party to conduct the investigation.

During the grievance process, and when investigating the complaint allegations, the school will abide by the following
procedures:
o The school will apply a presumption that the respondent is not responsible during the grievance process
(presumption of innocence). The burden of gathering evidence and burden of proof is the responsibility of the
school, not on the individual parties. The presumption does not imply that the alleged harassment did
not occur, or that the respondent is truthful or a complainant is untruthful. Instead, the presumption is designed
to ensure that investigators and decision-makers serve impartially and do not prejudge that the respondent is
responsible for the alleged harassment.

(2] The school will provide equal opportunity for the parties involved to present fact and expert witnesses
and other inculpatory and exculpatory evidence. Witnesses cannot be anonymous.

(3] The school will not restrict the ability of the parties to discuss the allegations or gather evidence (e.g., no
“gag orders”) to support their case.

(4] Both parties to the complaint will have the same opportunity to select an advisor of the party’s choice
who may be, but need not be, an attorney.

(5] The school as a part of the investigative process will send written notice of any investigative interviews,
meetings, or hearings to both parties. Any interviews that occur can have both parties’advisors present.

0 The schools will send the parties, and their advisors, evidence directly related to the allegations, in
electronic format or hard copy, with at least 10 days for the parties to inspect, review, and respond to the
evidence provided.

(7] The school will send the parties, and their advisors, an investigative report that fairly summarizes relevant
evidence, in electronic format or hard copy, with at least 10 days for the parties to respond to the report.

(8] The school will dismiss allegations of conduct that do not meet the definition of sexual harassment or

did not occur in a school’s educational program or activity against a person in the U.S. Such dismissal is only for
Title IX purposes and does not preclude the school from addressing the conduct in any manner the school deems
appropriate.

(9] The school may, in their discretion, dismiss a formal complaint or allegations therein if the complainant
informs the Title IX Coordinator in writing that the complainant desires to withdraw the formal complaint or
allegations therein, if the respondent is no longer enrolled or employed by the school, or if specific circumstances
prevent the school from gathering sufficient evidence to reach a determination.

[10) The school will give the parties written notice of a dismissal (mandatory or discretionary) and the reasons
for the dismissal.

1) The school may, in their discretion, consolidate formal complaints where the allegations arise out of the
same facts or circumstances, whether it is complaints against multiple respondents or by multiple complainants.

(12} The school will protect the privacy of a party’s medical, psychological, and similar treatment records by

stating that the school cannot access or use such records unless the school obtains the party’s voluntary, written
consent to do so.
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Live Hearings
The school’s Title IX grievance process provides for a live hearing. If the complaint goes to a live hearing, then each party

must have an advisor. The appointed Decision-Maker is the individual who will be conducting the hearing. The following
conditions will apply for a live hearing:

o The Decision-Maker(s) must permit each party’s advisor to ask the other party and any witnesses all
relevant questions and follow-up questions, including those that challenge credibility. Parties and witnesses are
not required to submit to cross-examination or otherwise participate in the Title IX grievance process.

(2] Cross-examination at the live hearing must be conducted directly, orally, and in real time by the party’s
advisor of choice and never by either the complainant or respondent personally. Questions must be asked in a
respectfully and non-abusive manner. If a party’s advisor of choice yells at others or is unprofessional or abusive
the school may remove the advisor and require a replacement. The school may exclude as not relevant questions
that are duplicative or repetitive.

(3] At the request of either party, the school will provide for the entire live hearing (including
cross-examination) to occur with the parties located in separate rooms with technology enabling the parties to
see and hear each other.

4] Only relevant cross-examination and other questions may be asked of a party or witness. Before a
complainant, respondent, or witness answers a cross-examination or other question, the Decision-Maker must
first determine whether the question is relevant and explain to the party’s advisor asking cross-examination
guestions any decision to exclude a question as not relevant.

(5] The live hearing provides for the opportunity for all parties’advisors to examine and cross-examine
witnesses, including challenging the credibility of witnesses. Hearsay statements and irrelevant information is are
not permitted.

0 The school’s process provides for rape shield protections for complainants deeming irrelevant questions
and evidence about a complainant’s prior sexual behavior unless offered to prove that someone other than the
respondent committed the alleged misconduct or offered to prove consent.

(7] If either party does not have an advisor present at the live hearing, the school will provide, at no cost to
that party, an advisor of the school’s choice who may be, but is not required to be, an attorney to conduct
cross- examination on behalf of that party. Only the advisor may cross-examine the witnesses.

(8] If a party or witness does not submit to cross-examination at the live hearing, the Decision-Maker(s) must
not rely on any statement of that party or witness in reaching a determination regarding responsibility;

provided, however, that the decision-maker(s) cannot draw an inference about the determination regarding
responsibility based solely on a party’s or witness'’s absence from the live hearing or refusal to answer
cross-examination or other questions.

o Relevant evidence can be considered to determine whether the respondent is responsible for the alleged
sexual harassment.The decision-maker may rely on non-statement evidence related to the alleged prohibited
conduct that is in the record, such as photographs or video images showing the underlying incident.

The decision-maker may consider a text message, email, or audio or video recording created and sent by a
respondent as a form of alleged sexual harassment even if the respondent does not submit to cross-examination.
Similarly, if a complainant alleges that the respondent said, “I'll give you a higher grade in my class if you goon a
date with me,” the decision-maker may rely on the complainant’s testimony that the respondent said those words
even if the respondent does not submit to cross-examination.

[10) Live hearings may be conducted with all parties physically present in the same geographic location or, at
the school’s discretion, any or all parties, witnesses, and other participants may appear at the live hearing
virtually. Police reports, medical reports and other documents and records may not be relied on to the extent they
contain the statements of a party or witness who has not submitted to cross-examination.

1) As a part of the process, the school will create an audio or audiovisual recording, or transcript, of any live
hearing, as a part of the record.
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Final Determination of the Investigation

The school’s grievance process uses the preponderance of the evidence standard to determine responsibility. The
school’s grievance process uses the same standard of evidence for all formal complaints of sexual harassment whether the
respondent is a student or an employee (including faculty member). The Decision-Maker(s) in the process are required to
objectively evaluate all relevant evidence, inculpatory and exculpatory, and avoid credibility determinations based on a
person’s status as a complainant, respondent, or witness.

The Decision-Maker in all instances cannot be the Title IX Coordinator or the investigator in order to ensure that the
investigative process is fair and free of bias. The Decision-Maker will issue a written determination regarding
responsibility with findings of fact to include the following:

o Must identify the standard of evidence used based on the school’s written policy.

(2] Identify the allegations that constitute sexual harassment.

(3] Describe the procedures the school used from the filing of the formal complaint through the hearing
process.

(4] Make findings of fact and conclusions about whether the alleged conduct occurred, rationale for the

result as to each allegation.

(5] Include the imposition of any sanctions or disciplinary actions imposed on the respondent, and whether
any remedies will be provided to the complainant.

0 State the procedures to file an appeal and the allowable bases for an individual to appeal the decision.
Upon conclusion the written determination will be sent simultaneously to the parties.
The Title IX Coordinator is responsible for implementation of any remedies imposed by the

Decision-Maker.

Appeal Process
The school will allow either or both parties the opportunity to appeal the Decision-Maker’s determination regarding

responsibility from a school’s dismissal of a formal complaint or any allegations therein. Either party can appeal based on
the following:

(1] Procedural irregularity that affected the outcome of the matter;
(2] Newly discovered evidence that could affect the outcome of the matter; and/or
(3] The Title IX personnel had a conflict of interest or bias, that affected the outcome of the decision.

Informal Resolution

The school provides the opportunity for the parties involved in the formal complaint allegations to facilitate an informal
resolution, such as mediation, so long as both parties give voluntary, informed, written consent to attempt an informal
resolution. At any time prior to agreeing to a resolution, any party has the right to withdraw from the informal resolution
process and resume the grievance process with respect to the formal complaint. The school will provide written notice to
the parties of the allegations, requirements of the resolution process, and any limitations.

If the complaint allegations are in regard to an employee of the school sexually harassing a student, the opportunity for
an informal resolution is not available.

A school may not require as a condition of enrollment or continuing enrollment, or employment or continuing
employment, or enjoyment of any other right, waiver of the right to a formal investigation and adjudication of formal
complaints of sexual harassment. Similarly, a school may not require the parties to participate in an informal resolution
process and may not offer an informal resolution process unless a formal complaint is filed.
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Retaliation Prohibited
The school prohibits any form of retaliation, intimidation, threats, coercion, discrimination, or harassment against any
individual who filed or otherwise participated in the filing or investigation of a complaint of discrimination. Actions do not
have to be on the basis of sex or involve sexual harassment to constitution retaliation. Retaliation complaints may use the
same grievance process as sexual harassment complaints. Any individual who believes he or she has been subjected to
retaliation may file a separate complaint under this procedure. The school will keep confidential the identity of
complainants, respondents, and witnesses, except as may be permitted by FERPA, as required by law, or as necessary to
carry out a Title IX proceeding, which does not constitute retaliation.
The following circumstances do not constitute retaliation, including:
o Exercising one’s rights protected under the First Amendment.
(2] Charging an individual with a code of conduct violation for making a materially false statement in bad
faith in the course of aTitle IX grievance proceeding does not constitute retaliation; however, a determination
regarding responsibility, alone, is not sufficient to conclude that any party made a bad faith materially
false statement.
(3] Charging an individual with code of conduct violations that do not involve sexual harassment but arise
out of the same facts or circumstances as a report or formal complaint of sexual harassment; however, for
the purpose of interfering with any right or privilege secured by Title IX does constitute retaliation.

Reporting Requirements

Victims of sexual misconduct should be aware that school administrators must issue timely warnings for incidents
reported to them that pose a substantial threat of bodily harm or danger to other members of the campus community.
The school will make every effort to ensure that a victim’s name and other identifying information is not disclosed, while
still providing enough information for community members to make safety decisions in light of the danger. The school
reserves the right to notify parents/guardians of dependent students regarding any health or safety risk or a change in
student status. The school will also notify the local police department of any crimes that have been brought to their
attention.

Any allegations or violations of Title IX will be reported to the school’s Clery Act coordinator to be included in the school’s
annual reporting requirements.

Record Keeping
All records of the Title IX formal complaint including, the investigation, evidence, decision making process, hearings, and
decision letters will be maintained by the school for at least 7 years.

Required Training

The school’s Title IX Coordinator, Investigator, Decision-Maker, or any person designated by the school to facilitate an
informal resolution process, must not have a conflict of interest or bias for or against complainants or respondents
generally, or an individual complainant or respondent. Each individual that is part of the Title IX process is required to take
training that includes how to serve impartially, including by avoiding prejudgment of the facts at issue, conflicts of
interest, and bias. Part of the required training is to ensure that Title IX Coordinators, investigators, decision-makers, and
any person who facilitates an informal resolution process, receive training on the definition of sexual harassment, the
scope of the school’s education program or activity, how to serve impartially, how to make relevancy determinations, how
to conduct an investigation and grievance process including hearings, appeals and informal resolution.

The school will provide the Decision-Maker(s) with training on any technology to be used at a live hearing and on issues
of relevance of questions and evidence, including when questions and evidence about the complainant’s sexual
predisposition or prior sexual behavior are not relevant. The school will also ensure that investigators receive training on
issues of relevance to create an investigative report that fairly summarizes relevant evidence. Any materials used to train
Title IX Coordinators, Investigators, Decision-Makers, and any person who facilitates an informal resolution process, must
not rely on sex stereotypes and must promote impartial investigations and adjudications of formal complaints of sexual
harassment.

Additional Information

Employees and students may contact the Title IX coordinator with any questions related to this policy. In addition, the
U.S. Department of Education Office for Civil Rights (“OCR") investigates complaints of unlawful harassment of students in
educational programs or activities. This agency may serve as a neutral fact finder and will attempt to facilitate the
voluntary resolution of disputes with the parties. For more information, visit the OCR website at:
http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/index.html.
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Paul Mitchell The School East Bay records attendance in clock hours. To ensure proper clock hours are
credited, students are required to clock in and out utilizing a biometric scanner in accordance with

the Course Key policy. Biometric scanners are computer-based systems that scan a student’s finger

or facial identifier for purposes of identification. The computer system extracts unique data points

and creates a unique mathematical representation used to verify a person’s identity. Paul Mitchell The
School East Bay or its vendors may collect, retain, and use biometric data for the purpose of identifying
students when recording clock hours.

Biometric Data Defined

In general, biometric data is “biometric identifiers” and “biometric information” as defined below.
“Biometric identifier” means a retina or iris scan, fingerprint, voiceprint, or scan of hand or face
geometry. Biometric identifiers do not include writing samples, written signatures, photographs,
human biological samples used for valid scientific testing or screening, demographic data, tattoo
descriptions, or physical descriptions such as height, weight, hair color, or eye color.

“Biometric information” means any information, regardless of how it is captured, converted, stored, or
shared, based on an individual’s biometric identifier used to identify an individual. Biometric
information does not include information derived from items or procedures excluded under the
definition of biometric identifiers.

Purpose for Collection of Biometric Data

The School does not collect or store biometric data. At this time, the School’s third-party time clock
vendor may collect and store an individual’s biometric identifier (for example, fingerprint or facial
identifiers), solely for identification in connection with the use of the biometric time clock. The School’s
third-party time clock vendor will retain biometric data of an only for so long as the person is an
enrolled student. The biometric data shall be permanently removed from the records of the School’s
vendors and licensors in accordance with the retention schedule set forth herein.

Disclosure and Authorization

Each student will be required to sign the Release and Consent to Use of Biometric Data as a condition
of his/her enrollment with the School.

The School and its time clock vendors will not sell, lease, trade, or otherwise profit from students’
biometric data; provided, however, that the School’s time clock vendor will be paid for products or
services used by the School that utilize such biometric data.

The School will not disclose or disseminate any biometric data to anyone other than its time clock
vendors without first obtaining student’s written consent to such disclosure or dissemination unless
disclosure or redisclosure is required by state or federal law or municipal ordinance or required
pursuant to a valid warrant or subpoena issued by a court of competent jurisdiction.

Retention Schedule
The School shall retain a student’s biometric data only until, and shall require that its time clock
vendors permanently destroy such data when, the first of the following occurs:

© Within thirty (30) days after the initial purpose for collecting or obtaining such
biometric data has been satisfied, such as the withdrawal or graduation of a student;
or

® Within 3 years of the student’s last interaction with the School.
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Data Storage

The School and its time clock vendors shall use a reasonable standard of care to store, transmit and
protect from disclosure any paper or electronic biometric data collected. Such storage, transmission,
and protection from disclosure shall be performed in a manner that is the same as or more protective
than the way the School or its time clock vendors transmit and protect from disclosure other confiden-
tial and sensitive information, including personal information that can be used to uniquely identify an
individual or an individual’s account or property, such as driver’s license numbers and social security
numbers.
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Paul Mitchell The School East Bay is committed to maintaining a working and learning environment
that provides for fair and equitable treatment, including freedom from bullying, harassment,
intimidation, and discrimination of any kind. This policy includes anyone who engages in such
behavior on school property, at school activities, or an electronic act through the use of cell phones,
computers, personal communication devices, or other electronic gaming devices.

Harassment, intimidation, bullying, and discrimination may take many forms, including verbal
aggression and name calling; inappropriate comments; inappropriate images; physical aggression;
relational aggression; graphic and written statements, which may include use of cell phones,
computers, or gaming systems; any insensitive materials and other conduct that may be physically
threatening, harmful, or humiliating . Harassment, intimidation, bullying, and discrimination include
intent to harm, they are directed at a specific target, and typically involve repeated incidents.
Harassment, intimidation, bullying and discrimination create a hostile environment and will not be
tolerated in Paul Mitchell Schools.

Such conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an
individual’s work or school performance and creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work or
school environment. Harassment, intimidation, bullying and discrimination can interfere and limit a
person’s ability to participate in or benefit from the education, services, activities, or opportunities
offered by the Paul Mitchell School. Administration will take prompt, equitable, and remedial

action (including but not limited to requiring sensitivity training, probation, suspension, expulsion,

or termination) on all reports and complaints that come to the attention of school personnel,

either formally or informally. Allegations of any policy violation will be investigated and handled
appropriately based upon the findings, including reporting any criminal activity to the appropriate law
enforcement agency.

Engaging in harassment, intimidation, bullying or discrimination will result in appropriate discipline
or other appropriate sanctions against offending students, staff, service guests, third-party vendors, or
contractors. Anyone engaging in these behaviors on school property or at school activities will have
their access to school property and activities restricted or revoked, as appropriate.

The school shall respect the confidentiality of the complainant and the individual(s) against whom the
complaint is filed as much as possible, consistent with the school’s legal obligations, state laws and
policies, and the necessity to investigate the allegations and take disciplinary and/or restorative action
to resolve the problem.

Retaliation is prohibited against any person who makes a complaint or who is a witness under

this policy and will result in appropriate disciplinary action against the person responsible for the
retaliation. Individuals who knowingly report or corroborate false allegations will be subject to
appropriate disciplinary and /or restorative action. Each staff member is responsible for immediately
reporting alleged harassment, intimidation, bullying or discrimination to his/her supervisor or other
appropriate school personnel. Staff members who fail to take prompt action to report allegations or
violation(s) of this policy may be subject to disciplinary and/or restorative action up to and including
termination.

For a list of state anti-bullying laws and policies please go to: www.stopbullying.gov.

For a list of federal anti-discrimination laws and policies, please go to:
https://www.ftc.gov/site-information/no-fear-act/protections-against-discrimination
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All material in this program is, unless otherwise stated, the property of Paul Mitchell The School East Bay.
Reproduction or retransmission of the materials, in whole or in part, in any manner, without the prior
written consent of the copyright holder, is a violation of copyright law.

At Paul Mitchell The School East Bay we abide by the provisions of the federal Digital Millennium
Copyright Act (DMCA), which requires prompt response to claims of copyright infringement by copyright
holders or their agents. If the school receives an allegation of copyright infringement based on your use
of the school’s computers, the matter will be referred to the school director for further investigation. If
you are found responsible after meeting with the school director, you are subject to disciplinary action
including loss of network access, suspension or termination from school, and/or restitution or community
service.

The Internet is an essential tool in everyone’s lives for both academic and everyday pursuits. Along
with these benefits come responsibilities. One of the most critical is conforming to the copyright laws
governing music, movies, games, and software over the Internet. You must have the consent of the
copyright holder to make copies.

The consequences of copyright infringement also extend outside of the school. Summary of Civil and
Criminal Penalties for Violation of Federal Copyright Laws Copyright infringement is the act of exercising,
without permission or legal authority, one or more of the exclusive rights granted to the copyright owner
under section 106 of the Copyright Act (Title 17 of the United States Code). These rights include the right
to reproduce or distribute a copyrighted work. In the file sharing context, downloading or uploading
substantial parts of a copyrighted work without authority constitutes an infringement. Penalties for
copyright infringement include civil and criminal penalties. In general, anyone found liable for civil
copyright infringement may be ordered to pay either actual damages or “statutory” damages affixed at
not less than $750 and not more than $30,000 per work infringed. For “willful” infringement, a court may
award up to $150,000 per work infringed. A court can, in its discretion, also assess costs and attorneys'’
fees. For details, see Title 17, United States Code, Sections 504, 505. Willful copyright infringement can
also result in criminal penalties, including imprisonment of up to five years and fines of up to $250,000
per offense. For more information, please see the website of the U.S. Copyright Office at (www.copyright.

gov).

Another reason to be careful with file-sharing programs is that the installation procedures for most of
them enable default open access worldwide to information on your system; thus, the integrity of your
computer and personal information can be compromised through illegal file sharing, including making
you vulnerable to identity theft.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay has a Firewall/Router/Internet Bandwidth Shaping, Network Monitoring,
and Routing that blocks lllegal File Sharing Sites to prevent students, staff and guests from copyright
infringement.
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Paul Mitchell The School East Bay respects the rights of students to use social media during their personal
time. Social media includes all forms of publicly accessible communications which include, but are not
limited to, written and verbal communications (including podcast and video uploads) and all forms of
electronic communication including discussion groups, forums, newsgroups, e-mail distribution, blog
postings, and or social networking sites (such as Facebook, Instagram, SnapChat, Twitter, You Tube,
Friendster, Tik Tok, etc.) . Students are personally responsible for the content they publish on social
networking sites. Students are expected to treat each other with fairness and respect, consistent with the
Paul Mitchell Schools culture.

Paul Mitchell Schools does not permit ethnic slurs, personal insults, obscenity, intimidation, cyber
bullying, harrassment or engaging in conduct that would be unbecoming of a Paul Mitchell Future
Professional and misrepresent Paul Mitchell culture. Paul Mitchell The School reserves the right to request
the removal of any posts at its discretion and take necessary disciplinary action as appropriate.

The School is concerned about the use of alcohol and drugs in the educational facility. This concern is
based upon the effect that those substances have on a person’s judgment, performance, safety, and
health.

The School prohibits the possession, use, or being under the influence of alcohol or an illegal substance
on School premises or at a School activity.

This prohibition includes drugs which (a) are not legally obtainable or (b) are legally obtainable but
have not been legally obtained. The prohibition also includes prescribed drugs not legally obtained and
prescribed drugs not being used for the prescribed purposes.

In order to enforce this policy, the School reserves the right to search all School premises, including
classrooms, administrative offices, corridors, storage rooms, and parking lots. The School also reserves
the right to search all employee and student property on School premises or at School activities,
including but not limited to backpacks, purses, handbags, lockers, and vehicles parked on School
property. The School also reserves the right to implement other measures necessary to deter abuse of this
policy. Failure or refusal to cooperate may be grounds for disciplinary action, including expulsion from
the School or termination for employees.

The School also will not object to law enforcement seeking to search School premises or employees and
students, and employee and student property on School property or at School activities.

PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL EAST BAY CATALOG

86



The following institutions license and regulate our institution:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE)
1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225

Sacramento, CA 95834

(916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC)
P.O.Box 944226

Sacramento, CA 94244-2260

(916) 575-7281

Toll-free: (800) 952-5210

National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences, Inc. (NACCAS)
3015 Colvin Street

Alexandria, VA 22314

(703) 600-7600

Nationally accredited by National Accrediting Commissions of Career Arts & Sciences, Inc (NACCAS).
NACCAS is recognized by the Department of Education as a national accrediting agency for
postsecondary school and programs of cosmetology arts and sciences, electrology, and massage.

If you are interested in reviewing or receiving a copy of the school’s state license/approval or a copy of the
school’s letter of accreditation, please contact the school director.

The Campus Crime Report is provided to the each student prior to enrollment. The Campus Crime
Statistics are updated annually (October).If you are interested in reviewing or receiving a copy of the
school’s Campus Crime Report, please see the school director and/or the Financial Aid Office.
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This Grievance Procedure will be used to process a written grievance or complaint concerning
discrimination, bullying, harassment, or any other grievance that a complainant feels have been left
unresolved against a student, employee, or third-party. The grievance or complaint will be referred to

the School Director and/or School Owner. The following grievance procedures shall be used to address a
grievance filed by students or employees, or for complaints filed on their behalf against employees, other
students, or third parties. A copy of the Grievance form may be obtained from the school’s Director;
however, you may also provide a written complaint by other means as long as it is signed and dated.

In order to facilitate the investigation, the complaint should include details of the incident or incidents,
dates and times, names of the individuals involved, and names of any witnesses. A complaint should be
filed within seven (7) days from the date of the alleged incident in order for the school to take timely and
appropriate action. The complaint once received will be maintained in the Director’s office, which has
limited staff access. The school Director has the responsibility of investigating the complaint allegations;
however, if it is in the best interest of the parties involved the school may choose another employee.

The time necessary to conduct an investigation will vary based on complexity of the allegation(s) but will
generally be completed within fourteen (14) days of receipt of the complaint. If a complainant requests
confidentiality, the school will take all reasonable steps to investigate and respond to the complaint
consistent with the request. If a complainant insists that his or her name or other identifiable

information not be disclosed to the alleged perpetrator, the school will inform the complainant that its
ability to respond may be limited.

All complaints involving a student, employee, contract worker, vendor, customer service guest, or other
person who does business with the school will be referred to the school’s Director. The Director will begin
the complaint process outline in this policy.

Investigation of Allegations

The school will investigate all complaints received. The school’s grievance procedures are designed to
ensure that the complaint process is free from conflicts of interest.

1. During the grievance process each individual is consider innocent of the alleged conduct until

a determination regarding responsibility is made at the conclusion of the grievance process. The school
may remove an individual from the school on an emergency basis, provided that the school undertakes
an individualized safety and risk analysis, and determines that an immediate threat to the physical health
or safety of any student or other individual arising from the allegations justifies removal and provides the
individual with notice and an opportunity to challenge the decision immediately following the removal.
In the case of a school employee, the school may place the individual on mandatory administrative leave.

2. All provisions, rules, or practices that are a part of the school’s grievance process for handling
formal complaints apply equally to both parties.

3. The school will make appropriate referrals to law enforcement, if necessary. The school will also
notify complainants of the right to proceed with a criminal investigation, while the school conducts its
own investigation simultaneously. The school will not wait for the criminal investigation or criminal
proceeding to be concluded before beginning its own investigation and acting on the evidence
obtained.

4, The school will dismiss allegations of conduct that do not meet the school’s written policies.
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5. The school will provide equal opportunity for the parties involved to present facts,
documentation, and witnesses. Any witnesses listed will be interviewed by the school Director.

6. The school may, in their discretion, dismiss a complaint or allegations therein if the complainant
informs the Director in writing that the complainant desires to withdraw the formal complaint or
allegations therein, if the individual is no longer enrolled or employed by the school, or if specific
circumstances prevent the school from gathering sufficient evidence to reach a determination. If the
complaint is dismissed, the school will give the parties written notice of a dismissal of the complaint and
the reasons why.

7. The school may, in their discretion, consolidate complaints where the allegations arise out of the
same facts or circumstances, whether it is complaints against multiple individuals.

8. Upon conclusion of the investigation into the allegations, the Director will provide a written
determination to all parties, as to the final decision and any actions taken.

Students should follow the above process; however, the student may, at any time, file a complaint with
the school’s accrediting agency, or the U.S. Department of Education.

Compilaints can be filed with BPPE at https://www.bppe.ca.gov/enforcement/complaint.shtml:

How to File a Complaint

Most consumers receive a quality education and have a generally positive experience from attending

an approved private postsecondary educational institution. However, in the event a consumer believes
an institution’s administrative processes or educational programs are compromised and are not up to
the required minimum standards, the consumer should notify the Bureau. Consumers should also notify
the Bureau if a consumer suspects that an institution is operating without Bureau approval. Consumers
may file a complaint by using the Bureau’s online complaint submission link, here (preferred) or by
downloading the complaint form and mailing it to the address below.

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
P.O.Box 980818
West Sacramento, CA
95798-0818

WHO MAY FILE A COMPLAINT

Anyone may file a complaint if they believe an institution has violated the laws and/or regulations
governing the institution’s operation, including unlicensed activity. Complaints are most often received
from students, their families, other members of the private postsecondary education industry, law
enforcement agencies, and other regulatory agencies.

If you have questions or need assistance with filing a complaint please email, bppe.enforcement@dca.

ca.gov or call (888) 370-7589, press 3 when prompted.

Complaints can be filed with Board of Barbering & Cosmetology at https://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/
enforcement/complaint.shtml:

All complaints must be submitted to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology in writing.
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Complaints may be submitted:

Electronically through www.breeze.ca.gov.

or

By U.S. Mail using a Consumer Complaint Form (Korean) (Spanish) (Vietnamese) or other written
document addressed to:

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
P.O. Box 944226
Sacramento CA,

94244-2260

To register comments/complaints about the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, use the Citizens
Complaint Form (Korean) (Spanish) (Vietnamese).

To file a complaint with the school’s accrediting agency, the National Accrediting Commission of Career
Arts and Sciences, please follow the directions below:

1. Go to
https://naccasngo.sharepoint.com/sites/NACCASWeb/Shared%20Documents/Website%20Public%20
Documents/Applications%20&%20Forms/All1%20Applications%20&%20Forms/Complaint%20Form.pdf
for a copy of NACCAS' complaint form.

2. An individual must complete the form and submit it to:

NACCAS
3015 Colvin Street
Alexandria, VA 22314

3. “Student complainants: In accordance with NACCAS' Standards and Criteria, schools must have
a policy and procedure for handling student complaints and inform the students in writing of same. The
notice must be included in the school’s catalog, handbook, other published materials, and/or otherwise
prominently displayed in the school. NACCAS shall not consider a student complaint until all procedures
and remedies within the institution have been exhausted. A student complainant must show that

the institution’s complaint procedure has been followed and state why the matter is considered still
unresolved when he/she submits a complaint to NACCAS

“The NACCAS complaint process is intended as a tool for NACCAS to monitor whether accredited schools
are complying with NACCAS' accreditation standards. It is not designed or intended as a means for
providing individual relief to the person filing the complaint. As detailed in NACCAS' Handbook, NACCAS'
Board of Commissioners will not intervene on behalf of individuals in cases of disciplinary action or
dismissal, or act as a court of appeals in such matters as admission, graduation, fees, or similar points of
issue. If you are seeking relief for personal grievances against the institution identified in your complaint,
you are advised to exercise your rights under the institution’s internal grievance policy. If you are not
satisfied with the results of that process, you may wish to consult with the state regulatory board or
agency that licenses the institution concerning your rights under state law and regulations.”

4. Upon conclusion of the investigation into any allegations, NACCAS will send the individual a
letter notifying them of their decision.

Students will not be subject to retribution upon filing a complaint.
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Owners: PMHBW, LLC

Co-Directors: Melissa Serpa and Caelyn Armijo

Guest Service Leader: Christina Ozuna

Admissions Leader: Meredith Brooks

Financial Aid Leader: Israel Gutierrez and Jenny Magadan
Education Leader: Teresa Arriola

Service Desk Coordinators: Adrianna Hachler and Ashanti Nunley
Future Professional Advisor: Caitlyn Skidmore

Title IX Coordinator: Caitlyn Skidmore

Enrollment Team: Jillian Marino

Staff Faculty:

Amanda Sargeant: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetology License: KK561309

Amanda has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 6 months currently working as a Core
Learning Leader and the Clinic Classroom Learning Leader guiding and teaching the future professionals
so they can successfully accomplish their goals to become the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Anjenette Brown: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetology License: KK585253

Anjenette has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 2 months currently working as a Clinic
Classroom Learning Leader guiding and teaching the future professionals so they can successfully
accomplish their goals to become the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Caelyn Armijo: Co-Director - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetology License: KK541255

Caelyn has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 8 years currently working as a Co-Director
guiding and teaching the future professionals so they can successfully accomplish their goals to become
the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Caitlyn Skidmore: Future Professional Advisor - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetology License: KK530500

Caitlyn has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 3 years currently working as a Future
Professional Advisor guiding and teaching the future professionals so they can successfully accomplish
their goals to become the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Elexis Bambao: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetology License: KK555281

Elexis has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 7 months currently working as a Core
Learning Leader, Clinic Classroom Learning Leader and State Board Specialist guiding and teaching the
future professionals so they can successfully accomplish their goals to become the next generation of
amazing Stylists.
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Karina Revuelta-Ozuna: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetologist License: KK568243

Karina has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 3 and a half years currently working as a Core
Learning Leader and Clinic Classroom Learning Leader guiding and teaching the future professionals so
they can successfully accomplish their goals to become the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Pegah Eslami: Learning Leader - Part Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetologist License: KK562504

Pegah has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 4 years currently working as a Clinic
Classroom Learning Leader guiding and teaching the future professionals so they can successfully
accomplish their goals to become the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Stephanie Jacobsen: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetologist License: KK468854

Stephanie has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 1 year currently working as a Clinic
Classroom Learning Leader guiding and teaching the future professionals so they can successfully
accomplish their goals to become the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Teresa Arriola: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetology License: KK563276

Teresa has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 3 years currently working as a Education
Leader guiding and teaching the future professionals so they can successfully accomplish their goals to
become the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Vanessa Root-Fitzgerald: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetology License: KK576211

Vanessa has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 3 years currently working as a Clinic
Classroom Learning Leader guiding and teaching the future professionals so they can successfully
accomplish their goals to become the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Zuri Ferrusquia: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

California Cosmetology License: KK523406

Zuri has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 2 years currently working as a Clinic Classroom
Learning Leader, Theory Specialist and Worksheet Specialist guiding and teaching the future professionals
so they can successfully accomplish their goals to become the next generation of amazing Stylists.

Barbering Learning Leaders

Ricardo Castaneda: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Barber

California Barbering License: B90502

Ricardo has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 3 years currently working as a Clinic
Classroom Learning Leader and Barber Theory Specialist guiding and teaching the future professionals so
they can successfully accomplish their goals to become the next generation of amazing Barbers.
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Maria Puentas: Learning Leader - Full Time

Licensed Esthetician

California Esthetician License: Z106379

Maria has been an Instructor at Paul Mitchell the School for 2 months currently working as a Core
Learning Leader and Clinic Classroom Learning Leader guiding and teaching the future professionals so
they can successfully accomplish their goals to become the next generation of amazing Estheticians.

Paul Mitchell The School East Bay will permit any covered individual to attend or participate in the
course of education during the period beginning on the date on which the individual provides to the
educational institution a certificate of eligibility for entitlement to educational assistance under chapter
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Post 9/11, G.I. Bill® (Ch. 33) or Vocational Rehabilitation &
Employment (Ch. 31) benefits ending on the earlier of the following dates:

© The date on which the Department of Veterans Affairs provides payment for such course of education
to such institution.

In accordance with Title 38 US Code 3679 subsection (e) Paul Mitchell The School East Bay will not
impose any penalty, including the assessment of late fees, the denial of access to classes, libraries, or
other institutional facilities, or the requirement that a covered individual borrow additional funds, on
any covered individual because of the individual’s inability to meet his or her financial obligations to the
institution due to the delayed disbursement of funding from the Department of Veterans Affairs.
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