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CONSUMER INFORMATION
NOTICE OF STUDENT RIGHTS

You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction, without any
penalty or obligations, through attendance at the first class session or the seventh calendar
day after enrollment, whichever is later.

If the Enrollment Agreement is cancelled within the 7 days from signing the Enroliment
Agreement, the school will refund 100 percent of the amount paid for institutional charges,
less a reasonable deposit or an application fee not to exceed $250.00, if the notice of
cancellation is made through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after
enrollment, whichever is later.

After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time,
and you have the right to receive a pro rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less
of the scheduled program. Your refund rights are described in the contract.

If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund. Contact the
Director at the address and phone number below for information.

If you have any complaints, questions, or problems, which you cannot work out with the
school, write or call: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1-888-370-7589.

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily
Answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary
Education af 1747 N. Market Blvd Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, www.bppe.ca.gov,
Toll free number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897.

“As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an
enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact
sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing the enrollment agreement.”

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling foll free (888) 370-7589 or by
Completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s Internet web site
www.bppe.ca.gov.

Read the Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and
responsibilities. If you have lost your Notice of Cancellation form, ask the school for a sample

copy.

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
1747 N. Market Blvd Suite 225
Sacramento, CA 95834

Mailing Address:
P.O Box 980818
W. Sacramento, CA. 95798-0818

www.bppe.ca.gov
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GENERAL INFORMATION

APPROVALS
The Institutions are accredited by:
National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences
3015 Colvin Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-600-7600
Current Accreditation Status: Accredited

NACOB and ABCOT (an approved branch of NACOB) are recognized as an eligible institution to
participate in Federal Financial Aid Programs by:

The United States Department of Education

400 Maryland Avenue, SW

Washington, D.C. 20302

NACOB and ABCOT is currently on Heightened Cash Monitoring 1 (HCMT)

NACOB and ABCOT are a private institution that is approved to operate by the Bureau for Private
Postsecondary Education. The approval to operate means compliance with state standards as set forth
in the Ed. Code.

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

1747 N. Market Blvd, Suite 225

Sacramento, CA 95834

916-574-7720

www.bppe.ca.gov

NACORB is approved for the training of veterans and eligible persons under Title 38 of the U.S. Code.
ABCOT is a branch of NACOB and at this fime is approved by the BBC, but does not have Veteran's

approval.
Mailing Address: Physical Address:
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
P.O. Box 944226 2420 Del Paso Rd Suite 100
Sacramento, Ca. 94244-2260 Sacramento, CA95834

Phone Number: 800-952-5210
Email: barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov

BOARD OF BARBERING & COSMETOLOGY REQUIREMENTS

The school is approved by the State of California, Board of Barbering & Cosmetology and must adhere
to the Cosmetology Act, Board Rules & Regulations. By enrolling the student also agrees to abide by
these rules. Failure to do so can mean disciplinary action or termination. These rules will be reviewed
throughout your course.

LOCATIONS
NACORB is located at 124 Floyd Avenue, just off McHenry Avenue where all classroom instruction is given.
NACOB. was licensed by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology in 1968.

ABCOT, a branch campus of North Adrian’s College of Beauty, is located at 3000 W. Grantline Road,
Tracy, California 95304 where all classroom instruction is given, and it was opened 12/09/2008.

The colleges are located on all major bus routes. Ample parking is available in nearby parking lots, for
students, faculty and clients.



North Adrian’s College of Beauty does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, isn't operating as a
debtor in possession, or filed a peftition within the preceding five years, or have ever had a petition in
bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter
11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code.

ADMINISTRATION BUSINESS HOURS
Individuals may contact the Career Advisor, Financial Aid, and Job Placement Assistance to secure
more information between the following hours:

NACOB: 8:00am - 4:30pm ABCOT 9:00am - 3:30pm
All Administrative offices may be reached at the following:
North Adrian’s College of Beauty (209) 526-2040
Adrians Beauty College of Tracy (209) 835-3550

Please contact your respective campus for more information. Financial Aid is by appointment only.

NACOB and ABCOT RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE THESE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES AT ANY TIME
WITHOUT NOTICE BY POSTING SUCH CHANGES ON THE COLLEGE BULLETIN BOARD.

FACILITIES & EQUIPMENT

NACORB is located on Floyd Ave, Modesto, CA with more than 8850 square feet of floor space. The
facility contains five theory classrooms (capacity 160). Each of the classrooms is equipped with flat
screen TV's &DVD players in which the teachers use the online resources to supplement their classes.
There is a large client clinic classroom with 48 client stations, 6 manicure stations, two efficient
dispensaries, as well as three private rooms for conducting facials in a professional sefting with five beds.

ABCOT is located at 3000 Grant Line Road in the Wal-Mart/Costco Shopping Center. The building has
8767 square feet of floor space, with four large classrooms and two multipurpose classrooms. There is a
dispensary as well as a sufficient client clinic classroom equipped with 24 client stations, 4 manicure
stations, 2 pedicure stations and 4 facial beds for waxing and facial freatments. A student break area
inside as well as out, there are several rest rooms within the space that are designated for clients and for
students within their study areas.

Both campuses meet or exceeds the minimum requirements of the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
fo ensure the success of the student’s education, fraining, skill, and experience to obtain employment.
Each campus has a minimum of 10 Mannequins, electrical equipment for skincare and electrical facials,
1 time clock, 5 shampoo bowls, 6 dryers, 2 facial chairs, 6 manicure stations, thermal straighteners, 3 non-
electric combs, 1 stove (for non-electric combs), 1 electric curling iron, 3 non-electric curling irons (at
least two sizes), 1 stove (for non-electric curling irons), 15 hairstyling or barbering chairs, 1 textbook (or
online access) for each approved course, Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Act, Board of Barbering
and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations, a list of the text and reference materials approved by NIC, and
two approved texts other than text possessed by the student. In addition, all schools are well ventilated,
have running water, has drinking water, hand washing facilities, and restrooms. All equipment is updated
or maintained regularly.



CLASS SCHEDUES
NACOB: Cosmetology

30 hour Night Schedule: Monday thru Friday 2pm-8pm

30 hour Day Schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 8am-2:30pm

***20 hour Night Schedule Monday thru Friday 2pmépm

***%20 hour Day Schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 8am-12pm

Barbering/Barber Crossover/Esthetics/Manicuring/Teacher Training

30 hour Day Schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 8am-2:30pm

***20hour Day Schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 8am-12pm
ABCOT: Cosmetology/Barbering

30 Hour day schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 9am-3:30pm

***20 Hour Night Schedule Tuesday thru Saturday 2am-1pm

*** These Schedules Are Not Available At This Time

Accelerated schedules are available only at NACOB. ABCOT has minimal hours in order to make up any
overtime. Additional schedules may be added at the discretion of the School Director.
OWNERSHIP
North Adrian's College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy is owned by North Adrian’s
College of Beauty, Inc. North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Inc. is owned by Pat Cochran.
MEMBERSHIPS - AFFILIATIONS APPROVALS
American Association of Cosmetology Schools (AACS)
California Department of Vocational Rehabilitation
National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences
Stanislaus County Department of Education
U.S. Department of Education, Division of Eligibility
U.S. Veterans
ADMISSIONS POLICY
All Instruction is given in English. We do not provide ESL classes.

The School does not discriminate in its employment, admission, instruction, or graduation policies on the
basis of sex, age, race, color, religion, or ethnic origin nor does it recruit students already attending or
admitted to another school offering similar programs of study. The school requires that each prospective
student enrolling in the Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetics, Manicuring, Barber Crossover, and Teacher
Training program must:

e Complete a personal interview with a Career Advisor

e Complete an application for enrollment.

e Provide proof of secondary education such as a high school diploma, a high school equivalency
GED certificate, an official transcript showing secondary school completion, a state certification
of home-school completion, College transcripts showing completion of an Associate’s Degree,
successfully evaluated foreign diploma. A foreign high school diploma must also be translated
into English by an outside agency that is qualified to franslate documents into English.

¢ Government Issued Identification Card (State Identification Card, Driver’s License, Passport, etfc.)

e Valid Social Security Card

e The institution only accepts students from other countries if they are eligible non-citizens.

o U.S. Permanent resident who has an I-151 or I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card)
o Departure Record (I-94) from the US Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing
one of the following designations:
Refugee
Asylum Granted
Indefinite parole and/or Humanitarian Parole
Cuban - Haitian enfrant, status pending
Conditional Entrant (valid only if issued before April 1980)
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o An approval form [-797
o [|-688 with valid expiration dafte.
¢ The instifution does not grant credit for experiential learning.
e The institution does not help with visa services and cannot vouch for student status.
e Should a student provide a foreign high school diploma, to be accepted it must be evaluated by an
outside agency that is qualified to confirm the academic equivalence to a U.S. High School Diploma.
A foreign high school diploma must also be translated into English by an outside agency that is
qualified to translate documents into English. This outside documentation is at the expense of the
student.
e We do not accept the Ability to Benefit (ATB) Test
e Students who do not possess a high school diploma that is equivalent to a U.S. High School Diploma
or GED will not be accepted for enrollment.
e Students enrolling under a tfraining agreement with another entity, the applicant must meet the
admissions requirements set forth in the fraining agreement with the other entity.

Barbering Crossover program prerequisites:
¢ Must have a valid California Cosmetology license or at a minimum a Proof of Training with the
school seal. Students with out of state licenses or transcripts must first obtain California Board
of Barbering & Cosmetology approval for acceptance of hours.

Teacher Training program prerequisites:
e Hold a current license as a practitioner in the field they wish to teach

RE-ENTRY POLICY
Any former student wanting to re-enroll:

1. A current admissions application must be completed and a letter provided to the college
explaining the circumstances of the prior withdrawal and how the student will be successful
during this enrollment.

2. A $500 fee will be paid by re-enrolling student for an evaluation exam, to determine the hours to
be accepted for enrollment. This Fee is non-refundable and with approval may be added to the
students account. This fee can be waived under certain circumstances at the discretion of the
School Director.

3. Student lefter, exam results, and the educator’s recommendation will be reviewed for
consideration of re-enftry; if the student is accepted for re-enftry, the student will be placed in the
appropriate course level.

4. Prior hours accepted by the College towards a re-entry student may vary from program to
program.

5. The decision for re-entry of the applicant acceptance and placement level of program, or
denial, made by the school will be mailed to the student within 7 business days. The decision is
final and no appeals are allowed.

6. Students accepted for re-entry must make an appointment with the business office and /or
financial aid office to discuss financial arrangements to complete their program.

7. Are-entry student resumes to the same Satisfactory Academic Progress status as when he/she left
the school.

TRANSFERS

Program Transfer
Transfer students may receive credit from the Manicuring course or the Esthetics course towards
Cosmetology/Barbering. Cosmetology hours may transfer into the Manicuring course or the
Esthetics course. No credit/hours are fransferable from the Manicuring course toward the
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Esthetics course or vice versa. A fee of $500.00 must accompany the change request. This fee
can be waived under certain circumstances at the discretion of the School Director.

To Another Beauty College
You would need to request to be officially withdrawn from the College in which a withdrawal
calculation will be done along with “Return of Title IV Funds” if you are a student receiving
financial aid. If the student owes the college for any reason, the Academic Transcript and Proof
of Training will be withheld until the balance is paid in full. The college will only accept cash,
cashier’'s check or money order for the balance.

Main Campus/Branch Campus Transfer (Current Students Only)
To request a transfer from the Main Campus to the Branch Campus or Branch Campus to Main
Campus, a request must be completed in writing. An informal withdraw will be completed. Your
balance will then transfer to your new Enrollment Agreement. A Proof of Training and Record of
Withdraw must be provided. A fee of $500.00 must accompany the transfer request. There is no
loss of hours or credit achieved. This fee can be waived under certain circumstances atf the

discretion of the School Director. This fee may be added to the students account with written
approval.

From Another Beauty College
A student, who wants to transfer from another college or wants the College to accept hours from
a previous enrollment at another Beauty College, must follow all procedures. The school must
have a Proof of Training and Official Transcripts in their possession before a fransfer appointment
will be scheduled.

1. An application must be completed, an intake interview, and provide the college with their
original proof of training and Official Transcripts from the previous College. No hours can be
accepted for enrollment without these documents.

2. A $500 fee will be paid by the student for an evaluation exam, to determine the hours to be
accepted for enrollment. This Fee is non-refundable and must be paid prior to scheduling unless
other payment arrangements have been made. This fee can be waived under certain
circumstances at the discretion of the School Director.

3. Examresults and the educator’'s recommendation will be reviewed by the Director or Associate

Director to make a determination of hours accepted.

Prior hours accepted by the College for a student may vary from program to program.

5. The decision for re-entry of the applicant acceptance and placement level of program, or
denial, made by the school will be mailed to the student within 7 business days. The decision is
final and no appeals are allowed.

6. Are-entry student resumes to the same Satisfactory Academic Progress status as when he/she
left the school.

>

From Another College

Credits or attendance at another college that do not provide a California State Board of
Barbering and Cosmetology Proof of Training would not be applicable fo this Institution.

From Another State

Students who transfer hours from another state must have their Official Transcript reviewed by

that Board of Barbering and Cosmetology prior to scheduling an appointment with a Career
Advisor.

VA Students Only
This institution will evaluate all previous education and fraining, grant credit when appropriate,
reduce the length of the program proportionately, and keep appropriate documentation on file.
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There is no fee connected to prior credit evaluation or fransfer of credit to students receiving VA
benefits.
NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABLILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION
“The transferability of credits you earn at NACOB and ABCOT at the complete discretion of an institution
to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in the educational program is
also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the certificate that
you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be
required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason, you should make
certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include
contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending NACOB and ABCOT to
determine if your certificate will fransfer.” Ed. Code 94909 (15)

North Adrian’s College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy has not entered into any
arficulation or fransfer agreement with any other college.

Applicants seeking Federal Financial Aid Assistance must have a minimum of:

e Provide proof of secondary education such as a high school diploma, a high school equivalency
GED certificate, an official transcript showing secondary school completion, a state certification
of home-school completion, College transcripts showing completion of an Associate’s Degree,
successfully evaluated foreign diploma.

e Government Issued Identification Card (State Identification Card, Driver's License, Passport, etc.)
(we will accept areceipt until you receive the physical card)

e Valid Social Security Card (we will accept a receipt until you receive the physical card)

¢ The institfution only accepts students from other countries if they are eligible non-citizens.

o U.S. Permanent resident who has an I-151 or I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card)

o Departure Record (I-94) from the US Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing
one of the following designations:
Refugee
Asylum Granted
Indefinite parole and/or Humanitarian Parole
Cuban - Haitian entfrant, status pending
Conditional Entrant (valid only if issued before April 1980)
An approval form I-797

o [|-688 with valid expiration dafe.
¢ Should a student provide a foreign high school diploma, to be accepted it must be evaluated by
an outfside agency that is qualified to confirm the academic equivalence to a U.S. High School

Diploma. A foreign high school diploma must also be translated into English by an outside agency

that is qualified to translate documents into English. This outside documentation is at the expense

of the student.

e Students who do not possess a high school diploma that is equivalent to a U.S. High School
Diploma or GED wiill not be accepted for enroliment.

e We do not accept the Ability to Benefit (ATB) Test

O O O O O O

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

The California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology performs random background checks for its
applicants during the application process. Students who have been convicted of a felony or
misdemeanor are highly encouraged to submit a Pre-Approval Application for Criminal
Pleas/Convictions to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology prior to enrolling info our college. There is
no fee due for this application.




The State, employers and various other agencies may require criminal background checks before
students can be placed in an externship or take professional licensing, certification, or registration exams.
Students who have prior felony convictions or serious misdemeanors may be denied the opportunity fo
take professional licensing, certification, or exams, or may be denied a license or certification to practice
in some states, even if the exam is taken and successfully completed. Students are responsible for
inquiring with the appropriate agencies about current requirements prior to enrolling in the program of
their choice.

CORONAVIRUS-19 (COVID-19)

On March 13, 2020, the President of the United States declared that a national emergency concerning
the COVID-19 outbreak began on March 1, 2020, as stated in “Declaring a National Emergency
Concerning the Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Outbreak,” Proclamation 2994 of March 13,
2020, Federal Register Vol. 85, No. 53 at 15337-38. NACCAS and BPPE both provided flexibilifies to allow
institutions to provide Temporary or Emergency Distance Education. Per BPPE and NACCAS, at any time
an allowable instance occurs, the College has been approved to restart Temporary or Emergency
Distance Education for an emergency COVID-19 issue.

ORIENTATION
The orientation at the College is mandatory that you attend, and you cannot start school until you have
attended the orientation. Orientation is 2-4 hours and is held prior to or on the class start date.

This informational class will set the tone for a pleasant educational experience. It will make you aware of
your responsibilities by understanding the procedures and policies of the college by reviewing the
catalog along with sanitation aspects, rules and regulations, student expectations, time cards, using the
fime clock and parking on campus, and the expectations of the teaching staff. It will acquaint you with
the instructional program, course goals, personnel and student services. It will also be the fime that you
will receive a list of items necessary for your first days and weeks of your class. Any papers,
documentation, payments or verification that you need to complete for the office should be done
before attending the orientation session.

ADMISSIONS/CAREER ADVISORS OFFICE
The career advisor's office is located at the facility.

RESOURCES
Referrals are available for services including mental health, child care, physical health, etc. upon request
in the admissions office.

The institution does not have any dormitory facilities under its contfrol. We do not provide any assistance
in finding housing. Housing is available within 2 miles of the college. The cost of housing ranges from $200
to $1,500 per month.

The Institution has a small library, and Internet access. Students have an abundance of knowledge
available via the internet. They must see their supervising instructor to check out one of the magazines,
design books, or use a computer.



CALENDAR / HOLIDAYS

The college is a year-round school, with open enrollment and open exit. The class start dates are ever
Monday or Tuesday at NACOB and every Tuesday at ABCOT. Any class may be cancelled at any fime at
the discretion of the Director. See Appendix #5.

The college is closed on Sundays at NACOB and ABCOT. The college observes the following holidays:

e New Year's Day Veterans Day

e Memorial Day Labor Day

e Independence Day Martin Luther King Jr Day
e Labor Day Washington's Birthday

e Thanksgiving Day Presidents Day

e Christmas Day

Depending upon the day of the week the holiday falls on; additional days may be included as holidays.
The College provides a Winter Vacation in December and Summer Vacation in July. The school reserves
the right to close additional days for Instructor/ Staff in service or training. Please refer to the School
Calendar. A special holiday may be declared for special or emergency reasons and will be posted on
the schools Facebook and via text message. Holy Days of all religious beliefs are respected and allowed.
A schedule is given to staff and students at the beginning of each year.

MISSION STATEMENT
The college provides career fraining in Career Arts and Sciences and related fields. The Institutions
graduate students with the skills needed to secure entry-level employment

ETHICS

At NACOB and ABCOT, we place a high value on the integrity and good judgment of every individual
associated with the school. We expect every student to always exercise discretion and professionalism.
Clients, staff members, and fellow students must be treated with respect and courtesy. Please keep the
school’s best interest in mind at all fimes. Conversation topics should be limited to professional subjects
and not include: religion, politics, sex, personal problems or any controversial. The school positively
reserves the right to suspend or expel a student who gossips, uses vulgar language, or causes any type of
discord. Respect must be shown at all times toward peers, customers, and staff.

CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINE

It is expected that all students are enrolled for serious educational pursuits and that they will conduct
themselves so as to preserve an appropriate atmosphere of positive learning. It is also expected that all
students who enroll at NACOB and ABCOT are willing fo assume the responsibilities of citizenship within
the student body. While enrolled, students are subject to school policies, rules and regulations that
include the prerogative of dismissing those whose conduct is unfavorable to the aims of an institution of
higher education and disruptive to the learning environment of others.

COMPLIANCE
Students must comply with all instructions and directives given by the school personnel relative to school
activities. Also, students must comply with all State Board Rules and Regulations.



DISCLOSURE AND RETENTION OF STUDENT RECORDS

Adult students have the right to inspect, review and challenge information contained in their
educational records. Parents of adult students are not allowed access to the student’s files. Access is
granted to parents or guardians of dependent minors, only if the student is a minor and a dependent.
Education records are defined as files, materials, and documents that contain information directly
related to the student and are maintained by the college. To inspect, review, or challenge information,
you must make an appointment with the administrative office. Written consent is required before
education records may be disclosed to third parties with the exception of accrediting commissions or
governmental agencies as authorized by law. See FERPA Act. The college will maintain records as
available until June 30 of the year that a student attended. After June 30t each year, all records will be
archived. For the records to be removed or researched from storage, a $75 archive fee is to be paid
prior to removing from archives.

The institution will maintain the following information for a period of six (6) years from the date of
withdrawal or completion.
a) Name, address, e-mail address, and telephone number of each student who is enrolled in an
educational program in that institution.
b) For each student granted a certificate by that institution, permanent records of all of the
following:
The certificate granted and the date on which that certificate was granted.
The courses and units on which the certificate was based.
The grades earned by the student in each of those courses.
Limited Financial Aid records

00U

After six years, records are destroyed except for Student ledger, enrollment agreement, franscripfs,
and/or proof of training. NACOB and ABCOT will not locate your records until the appropriate fees have
been paid in full.

Grievance Policy

In accordance with the institution's mission statement, the school will make every attempt to resolve any

student complaint that is not frivolous or without merit. Complaint procedures will be included in new

student orientation thereby assuring that all students know the steps to follow should they desire to
register a complaint at any time. Evidence of final resolution of all complaints will be retained in school
files in order to determine the frequency, nature, and patterns of complaints for the institution. The
following procedure outlines the specific steps of the complaint process.

1. The student should register the complaint in writing on the designated form provided by the
institution within 60 days of the date that the act which is the subject of the grievance occurred.

2. The complaint form will be given to the school Director.

3. The complaint will be reviewed by management and a response will be sent in writing to the student
within 30 days of receiving the complaint. The initial response may not provide for final resolution of
the problem but will notify the student of continued investigation and/or actions being taken
regarding the complaint.

4. If the complaint is of such nature that it cannot be resolved by the management, it will be referred
to an appropriate agency if applicable.

5. Depending on the extent and nature of the complaint, interviews with appropriate staff and other
students may be necessary to reach a final resolution of the complaint.

6. In cases of extreme conflict, it may be necessary to conduct an informal hearing regarding the
complaint. If necessary, management will appoint a hearing committee consisting of one member
selected by the school who has had no involvement in the dispute and who may also be a
corporate officer, another member who may not be related to the student filing the complaint or
another student in the school, and another member who may not be employed by the school or
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related to the school owners. The hearing will occur within 90 days of committee appointment. The
hearing will be informal with the student presenting his/her case followed by the school's response.
The hearing committee will be allowed to ask questions of all involved parties. Within 15 days of the
hearing, the committee will prepare a report summarizing each witness' testimony and a
recommended resolution for the dispute. School management shall consider the report and either
accept, reject, or modify the recommendations of the committee. Corporate management shall
consider the report and either accept, reject, or modify the recommendations of the committee.

7. Students must exhaust the institution’s internal complaint process before submitting the complaint to
the school’'s accrediting agency or state approving agency, if applicable.

HEALTH AND PHYSICAL CONSIDERATIONS

Generally, the professional in the beauty field must be in good physical health because working in this
profession requires direct physical contact with the clients. In most aspects of the beauty culture, there is
a great deal of standing, walking, pushing, bending and stretching, sometimes for long periods of time.
A person must consider his or her own physical limitations in ferms of making a career choice that
involves extensive training. We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations or
disabilities if these students believe they can fulfill the training demands.

If a student, while enrolled, sustains an injury deemed by the college to impair their ability to fulfill all
educational requirements, both practical and theoretical, the student may be required to take a Leave
of Absence until given a full medical release by their physician.

TIME SCHEDULE AND SCHOOL HOURS:

Your school hours vary with your schedule. It is your responsibility to arrive at school on time and remain in
school according to your contracted schedule. If this is not the case, you must contact the school via
text or phone call to report your tardiness or absence before you are scheduled to arrive.

Should you find it necessary to change your schedule, please complete the schedule change form. It is
in the Financial Aid Office. Financial Aid recipients must check with the Financial Aid Office to determine
if a contact change will affect their funding. An approved Contract Change form is an addendum to
the enrollment agreement.

A confract change is not available to the ABCOT campus.

TARDINESS

Tardiness negatively affects everyone who is here on tfime. When students are tardy for class, a disruption
is caused. After the first 5 min of class, students are considered tardy. Students must be in class within 1
(one) Hour from scheduled class start. Students who fail fo clock in within the 1 hour will not be allowed to
clock in but can return to school the next day. The maximum amount of time a student can be late and
still be allowed to clock in and receive credit for the day is 1 hour from scheduled start time. This policy is
not infended to punish students for coming in late. It is to reward the students who are here on time with
an uninterrupted class. In most every legitimate case, you should know at least the day ahead if you will
need to miss part of your school day. All you would need to do is fill out an absence form in advance,
and turn it in to your teacher.

A call to the college is not sufficient to allow you admittance into a class beyond the 1-hour fimeframe.
In cases of emergency, documentation will be required and looked at on a case-by-case basis. School
rules always take priority, but students are to adhere to each Educator’s classroom rules. Reminder that
Overtime Charges apply.
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EARLY DISMISSAL

All personal/business appointments should be handled on your day off. Should you find it necessary to
leave school early, you must fill out an absence form, have it signed and turned in to your instructor.

Early dismissals must be filled out if you are leaving more than 10 minutes before you scheduled end time.
Reminder that Overtime Charges apply.

TIME CARDS

Time cards are an important factor to your success at NACOB and ABCOT. It is your job to make sure that
you are getting the correct credits on the time card so that you are maintaining satisfactory academic
progress and applying effort toward graduation. All students have access to a weekly time card
provided by their instructor. It is the student’s responsibility to maintain the time card. It is also the
student’s responsibility to fransfer all prior hours and operations accurately to a new weekly fime card.

A teacher must document each and every operation when that operation is completed. The teacher
that supervised the operation will initfial the operation on the fime card immediately upon completion or
no credit will be given. Under no circumstances will credit be given by a teacher who did not supervise
the operation.

The entire week's paper time card must be turned in at the desk at the end of each and every day.
Taking paper time cards home and holding on to paper time cards can result in loss of all credits earned
during that week or weeks. In order to complete the course of study, the student must complete the
minimum clock hours, theory, and practical operations as prescribed by the California Board of
Barbering and Cosmetology. The time card is the property of the college and no copies will be made. All
students are allowed to review their fimecards with their instructor during their review and receiving their
SAP Report Card review.

TIME CLOCK OR FINGERPRINT READER PROCEDURES

The course you are enrolled in is considered a clock hour program. This means that credit is applied
toward completing your program through the accumulation of clock hours. NACOB and ABCOT time
clocks or fingerprint readers are the only instruments that we use to determine the number of clock hours
you have completed on a daily basis. To keep an accurate account of your time, you must adhere to
the following procedures or you will lose credit hours.

In instances of power failure, computer failure, Temporary/Emergency Distance Education or anything
outside of the Colleges control, the College will utilize alternative attendance tracking procedures such
as manual fime clocks, text messaging, emails, and/or PivotPoint LAB Online Tracker. This list is not an
exhaustive list.

CLOCKING IN / OUT PROCEDURES

Clocking in

You must clock in upon arrival to school. You may clock in up upon your arrival to school, before your
scheduled clock in fime, however your time will not start until your contracted start tfime. Example: If you
are scheduled to begin at 8:00 a.m. and you clock in at any time between 7:30 a.m. and 8:00 a.m., your
fime will begin at 8:00 a.m. If you clock in between 8:06am - 8:14am your time will be rounded to 8:15am.

Clocking Out

You must clock out when leaving school for the day. You may clock out up to 30 minutes after your
scheduled clock out time. Example: If your schedule ends at 4:30 p.m. and you clock out any fime
between 4:30 p.m. and 5:00 p.m., your clock out time will be rounded up to the nearest quarter hour. For
students on the student salon, if you are performing a service on a client, you will clock out after your
client is completed and receive all hours.
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If you wish to leave earlier than your scheduled clock out time, you must follow the early dismissal
procedure, complete an early leave form, have the teacher sign the early leave form and get approval
from the office. The same procedure for using the fingerprint reader applies to clocking out that was
explained in clocking in.

Breaks / Lunch
You are allowed one 10-minute break per four hours, and should take a 30-minute lunch break if you are
clocked in for more than six and a half hours. You must clock out and back in for lunch.

Lunches are thirty minutes. This includes purchasing your food and eating it. This does not mean thirty
minutes fravel time to get your food, then clocking in and sitting down to eat. Nor, does it mean to wait
while someone goes to pick up your food and then sitting down to eat. If you are in class, your feacher
determines lunchtime and when you will be dismissed to eat. If you are a student on the clinic floor, your
lunch will be coordinated with the reception desk and educators. If you are on the clinic floor and have
not had a chance to take a lunch by 1:30 p.m. because of client bookings, notify your teacher.

ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS / GUIDELINES FOR CLOCKING IN AND OUT
e Credit will be given for APPLIED EFFORT ONLY! Applied effort is defined as working on class
assignments, manikin or client clinical work towards your course of study, not self-study, listening
to radio, reading magazines, talking on cell phones, etc.
¢ Holding on fo paper tfime cards may result in loss of all credit accumulated for that week/weeks.
e If the attendance system is having technical issues, a correction formis listed at the front desk
and will be adjusted. Please inform your educator fo verify your fime.

DRESS CODE AND APPERANCE

All students are required to arrive at school each day meeting the dress code in ifs entirety. The personal
appearance of our students reflects our school image and visually states what the school represents. This
means that when you as a professional, are communicating to clients, the client receives over half of
their impressions of you from what they can see, not what they can hear. If your goal is to be successful,
then it is apparent that you must take every advantage. The following dress policy will help you in
reaching your goal.

Acceptable professional dress code during Classroom Phase:
e Must wear ALL BLACK, NO LOGOS
e Clothing must be professional, clean, and free of rips, holes or stains.
¢ Shoes must be black, closed-toed and closed heel, comfortable, supportive shoes with
nonskid soles.
Hair must be clean and styled prior to arriving at school
Cosmetics must be applied prior to arriving at school
Leggings must be worn with a shirt, dress or skirt that is at least fingertip length
Dresses, Skirts that fall below the fingertips

Acceptable professional dress code while on the Student Salon/Clinic
e Must wear black or white, in any combination
Prints in black and white only are acceptable
No Logo’s
Clothing must be professional, clean, and free of rips, holes or stains.
Shoes must be black, closed-toed and closed heel, comfortable, supportive shoes with
nonskid soles.
e Hair must be clean and styled prior to arriving at school
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Cosmetics must be applied prior to arriving at school

Esthetics students must have hair pulled back while performing services on clients

Leggings must be worn with a shirt, dress or skirt that is at least fingertip length

Dresses, Skirts that fall below the fingertips

Approved smocks and aprons must be worn at all times while performing services on clients.
Apron is provided in kit. Smocks can be purchased directly from College.

Unacceptable dress:
e Exposed cleavage, buttocks, backs, waist, midriffs, underarms, undergarments, or shorts
See through clothing
Absence of approved apron or smock while performing services on clients
Tank or sleeveless tops without a smock
Printed t-shirts or hoodies
Sweat pants, sweat shirts, shorts, thermals, gym or sportswear
Gym shoes, beach sandals, flip - flops
Dresses, Skirts that fall above the fingertips
Head covers, hats and bandanas
Hair ornamentation covering more than 25% of hair
Head phones unless approved for class

All students are required to be in dress code to receive credit for clock time. Students that are not in
dress code will be clocked out, sent home to change and may return. Students will not receive clock
fime while they are sent home to change for any reason.

Changing early into street clothes is not allowed before clocking out.

The decision as to whether the student's dress is inappropriate is at the discretion of the college staff. The
school reserves the right to enforce this policy.

ELECTRONICS AND SOCIAL MEDIA POLICY

Effective November 12, 2018, Electronic Devices (e-devices) is a privileged part of your educational
experience at NACOB and ABCOT. The College reserves the right to revoke the privilege of possessing
and using any e-devices at any time. E-devices includes, but not limited fo, any device used o
communicate, receive, send, store, record to listen to voice, text, digital, audio, video, photo, electronic,
or infernet/cyberspace data, images, and/or information which shall include but not be limited to
pagers, cellular phones, iPods, PDA’s, MP3 players, CD players, video game players, cameras, GPS,
laptops, tablets, etc. The College assumes no responsibility for any lost or stolen e-devices, or any of ifs
contents.

e E-devices must be placed in the off or silent mode, with the exception of before school, during
breaks, and after school;

e E-devices may be used, viewed, listen to by students before or after school, during breaks, and
during approved class time for academic purposes only;

e E-devices must be turned off or in silent mode when not employed for coursework;

e Inthe event of an emergency, students should inform their families and loved ones to contact the
Colleges front desk;

e Students ARE NOT permitted to take photos or videos of any students, staff, or clients without the
other parties’ consent;

e Students ARE NOT permitted to send threatening, harassing, or inappropriate text messages,
phone calls, or any “direct messages” on social media to any students, staff, or clients;
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e E-devices are not to be used on test days, unless authorized by your educator.

At times, students report to the Colleges faculty that they have received inappropriate, intimidating,
threatening, and/or unwanted communication from a fellow classmate via social media. In some cases,
this activity takes place off campus and/or not during scheduled attendance where school sanctions do
not apply. For this reason, the College encourages any inappropriate communication be referred to
local authorities.

Students who violate this policy will be sent home and suspended for the remainder of the day. Based on
the severity of the violation, students may be expelled from the course.

SANITATION

It is everyone’s responsibility to keep our working and training place clean. While students are not
considered College employees and will not be paid a wage, each student throughout their training will
be assigned specific sanitation duties as required by California’s Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
Rules and Regulations. All areas of the college that include the rest rooms, waste containers, mopping
wet or soiled floors, and garbage pickup are included in these duties. These duties will be no greater
than what is expected of you in a salon. Throughout the day, you must keep your styling tools in a
sanitary and clean condition. It is important for every student to assume responsibility for sanitation. It's
not fair to other students to clean up after another student. We must all work together as a feam to
create a positive environment conducive to learning.

HOUSEKEEPING

A. A clean work area makes for a pleasant and safe place to work.

B. Students are not allowed to eat in classrooms or on the clinic floor, which is a federal sanitary law. The
only exception is drinking water.

C. Employees and students are asked to help keep their surroundings as neat and orderly as possible. To
prevent slippage, the floors must be free of hair, debris, and water. Should these substances come in
contact with the floor, please remove them immediately. Place safety cones in areas to indicate wet
floors. This is imperative for the safety of everyone.

D. Trash receptacles are located throughout the building. Please place all litter from lunch and scrap
materials efc. in these receptacles.

E. Hair clippings should be disposed of in the receptacle labeled HAIR CLIPPINGS

F. Be health, safety, and fire prevention conscious.

Rigid adherence to the rules of sanitation, disinfection and personal hygiene is required at all times.

This directly affects the professionalism, continuity, and image of you and the school in the marketplace.

STUDENT HEALTH AND SAFETY

Your health and safety are important fo NACOB and ABCOT. All requirements must be adhered to and

the following are to be noted and/or followed by all students.

A. All accidents or injuries must be reported on the accident incident form, which is located in the
teacher’s office.

B. Common sense is the most important safety rule of all. Please use it at all fimes.

C. Horseplay in work areas will not be tolerated.

D. Take all necessary precautions to maintain a safe environment.

FIRE

In case of a fire, your responsibility is to protect you by leaving the building in a calm, orderly manner. The
emergency Evacuation Route is posted near all exit doors. Know the evacuation route, and know where
fire extinguishers are located throughout the building.

15



INTERNAL COMPLAINTS/CHAIN OF COMMAND: ACADEMIC AND CONSUMER
Problems of all kind occurin any school or business. If a problem should arise with an individual please
follow the below procedures:

1. Try toresolve the matter with that person

2. If you're unable to resolve the matter with that person, make an appointment with the student
affairs representative or other designated person. The purpose is to have both parties discuss their
problems in a calm manner with the student affairs representative, student, and others present,
with a resolution.

The following will occur:

J—

The complaint will be resolved satisfactorily with all parfies

2. The complainant will proceed with filing a grievance within 45 days from the original occurrence.
If af any time the College feels that the safety or learning environment is compromised due to the
incident, any students or staff involved in the incident will be sent home on an administrative
leave until a formal investigation has been completed and a formal resolution has been sent to
all parties.

This chain of command permits the proper flow of information and allows the system to function more
efficiently and effectively. This produces more positive results and, quicker action, reaction and
consistency.

*See grievance procedures for additional information.

** Any problems will be discussed with the student; we will not discuss any situation with anyone (mother,
father, aunt, uncle, brother, sister, spouse, boyfriend, girlfriend), other than the student the School has the
confract with.

DISCIPLINARY PROCESS
When a student needs to be counseled for disciplinary problems, NACOB and ABCOT implements the
positive approach.

The following procedures are entailed:

STEP | Verbal warning

STEP II Written warning

STEP 1lI Student is clocked out and sent home.

STEP IV Three day suspensions.

STEP V Termination. Student may be escorted out of facility by a staff member. In the event

A student displays inappropriate or threatening behavior; law enforcement officers will be
called to escort the student off of the premises. A student may appeal with a letter. (See
appeal procedures).

NACOB and ABCOT reserves the right to advance a student through this step process with/without a
letter of appeal and should the condition warrant i, to remove the student immediately from the
college.

*NACOB and ABCOT reserves the right to bypass the step procedure if a student is involved in an
unlawful act.
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*Administrative Leave- Students are placed on Administrative Leave when a situation arises that is
deemed to be a safety concern for any member of the student body, faculty, or public. These situations
normally require additional investigation to fully evaluate. A student is either allowed to return with no
further requirements, allowed to return with stipulations or required to go through the review process. The
student is asked to remove all property from the school and is not allowed to attend school.

Administrative Leave time is not charged to the student as extra instructional time. During this process the
student will be noftified of a meeting date and time, the student will be allowed to explain their side of
the situation in front of a board of 2 employees not involved in the situation, the Director and a Board
Member, employee of a different location or board member. The student will then receive a written
decision within 14 days from the date of their meeting. If the student does not agree they must abide by
the school’s appeals process in order for their appeal to be processed.

EXPULSION
If a student is expelled from school they may be entitled to a refund and will be calculated as if a
withdrawal.

BEHAVIOR/SAP INTERVENTION

When a student is not maintaining satisfactory academic progress, grades, or displays a behavior that is
not conducive to the philosophy of the NACOB and ABCOT organization and/or the beauty industry,
staff personnel will counsel them. If necessary a advising notice will be required, appropriate steps will be
outlined for the student’s continuation of their education.

RECEPTION DESK

The school reception desk is not a gathering place for students. Standing at the desk is unsightly to clients
entering the school and disrupts the duties of the school receptionist. Only the recepftionist and assigned
students are allowed to be behind the desk. All appointments are to be made by the receptionist,
designated staff member, or assigned student(s). All personnel, including teachers, must follow this
procedure to insure consistency, customer service and professionalism.

LAST CLINIC APPOINTMENT TAKEN
The last appointment taken should reflect the normal total fime needed to complete the full service.

DISPENSING OF EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS

The dispensary is responsible for dispensing supplies to ensure inventory confrol. It will be necessary for the
student to present the client work ticket before any supplies will be released. If a student is checking out
an implement, they must provide their fime card. Upon return of the checked-out items, the student time
card will be released.

SERVING THE PUBLIC

All students will be serving the public and must be courteous and pleasant. Students must take all
appointments assigned to them after completing specific modules/cycles. Students are to be prepared
with all necessary equipment needed to complete the service. A student is not to leave a client during a
service while a chemical is processing, during a facial peel, or while an electric apparatus is applied to
the skin, unless another student has been assigned by the teacher. Should a student leave a client with
any of the above-mentioned work, they will face disciplinary actions as deemed appropriate.
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STUDENT SERVICE PROTOCOL

1. When students are called to the reception desk for an appointment, they will pick up the work

ficket, which will indicate the type of service his/her client has scheduled.

2. The student will greet the client in a professional manner and direct them to assigned workstation.

The work ticket must be prominently displayed on the workstation.

3. After completing the consultation process, it may be necessary for the student to consult with the
floor instructor before the service begins. Additional services may be added and a client
charged accordingly.

The work ticket must be presented before any product is dispensed.

5. Throughout the service, educate the client as to what additional services may be required or
retail products that maintain the quality of service.

6. Upon completion of the service, the student will walk the client to the reception desk to
complete their fransaction, suggest any retail products, and book for their next appointment.

>

PERSONAL SERVICES

There is no personal service during time clocked in. A student is not allowed to clock out in order to have
services performed. There are various times during our Curriculum where students are encouraged and
required to maintain and update their professional image. These are the only allowed times for personal
services.

STUDENT PRICE LIST
A Student Price List is provided as a supplemental handout.

VISITORS

All visitors must remain in the college waiting area only. No visitors are permitted in the classroom or on
the clinic floor or break area. NO EXCEPTIONS. Only employees, prospective students with an employee,
current students, or clients who have signed the hold harmless waiver are allowed beyond the front desk.

GUM CHEWING
Gum chewing is not permitted on the premises. It does not look or sound professional to service a client
while chewing gum, nor is it sanitary. Gum is a hair magnet.

TELEPHONE CALLS

Messages will be taken forincoming calls in emergencies only. Calls will be screened to determine if it is
an emergency and only if it is deemed to be an emergency call will a message be taken or delivered to
the student. An emergency is defined as but noft limited to: a spouse, child, or sibling; parent is extremely
ill or has been in an accident requiring emergency medical freatment.

School phones may not be used for personal calls. Use of personal cell phones is only allowed during
students’ break or lunch outside the building, in the back area or where designated.

SMOKING
No smoking is allowed in the school. Smoking is only allowed in the designated areas. A student must be
clocked out when taking a smoke break.

MEDICATION

All students must inform the Registrar’s Office of all medication ingested during business hours. This
includes prescription medication. For the safety of our clients, the college reserves the right to encourage
students on heavy medications to work on mannequin or go home.
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UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Any student who possesses or who is determined to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs while at
school will be sent home and subject to termination. If it is determined that you have been under the
influence, you may be sent to get a drug test at your own expense within 24 hours. Reinstatement is at
the discretion of the Director of the school.

WEAPONS
Any student who possesses or uses a weapon while at school will be subject to termination.

PARKING

Students are to park in the student parking lot and designated area assigned by the school. Students are
not allowed to park in front of the building or any area along the sidewalks. These spaces are reserved
for our clientele. The speed limit in the parking lot is 3 mph.

MODELS

At times, the student will be asked to provide a model to perform services. The school will give the
student a five-day minimum notice. Failure to bring in a model will adversely affect your grade,
performance, and specialized personal training. As a part of the student’s learning experience, he or she
will be responsible for receiving services administered by other students. If the student has a medical
condition that prohibits them from receiving a particular service, they must submit supporting
documentation from a certified physician.

USE OF SCHOOL PRODUCTS

Professional products/materials are supplied by the school for use on paying clients. This process will assist
in the student’s learning experience. Only products endorsed or carried by the college are approved
and all other products will be requested to be removed.

STUDENT SUPPLIES AND MATERIALS

The student is expected to supply all tools and materials needed for their learning experience beyond
their student kits, except products for paying clients. A Supplemental Handout will be given to each
student for the kit and book list required before starting school. Additional supplies will need to be
purchased for your own use throughout your education. This is at your own expense. Please see
supplemental handout for more information.

EQUIPMENT AND BELONGINGS

NACOB and ABCOT is not responsible for lost, damaged or stolen property. Each student is responsible
for his or her personal belongings and materials. A student has access to a locker. All bottles and
containers must be labeled to identify contents. Rolling Bags distributed by or purchased from the school
are allowed on the clinic floor. Students may not borrow equipment from each other, and they are
responsible for the return of school materials and equipment lent to them. Any equipment/supplies
borrowed from the school, not returned, will be charged on their College account. Backpacks and
wheel packs are allowed, but they are not allowed on the clients’ clinic floor or the classroom floor, they
must fit into your locker or safely with you in the classroom. The reason they are not allowed on the
clients’ clinic floor or the classroom floor is because of fire safety and frip hazards. Any bags and lockers
are subject fo on the spot inspection along with the student tool kit. Personal kit belongings must be
removed from the school no later than 30 days from the student’s last day of attendance. There will be
no written notice given by the college to remove the student’s belongings from a locker or station.
Should you have any concerns about possible loss of equipment and belongings, we recommend that
you contact your insurance agent to determine whether your present policy would cover any loss. If your
present policy does not cover such loss, you may want to pay additional premiums and provide
coverage through a rider on present policy.
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EXTERN REQUIREMENTS
At this time the college does not participate in an extern program.

FAILURE TO COMPLETE COURSE AT CONTRACT ENDING DATE

A student who fails to complete the minimum number of hours and/or operations by the contract ending
date, all students training may be stopped until additional money for training has been paid to the
college or payment arrangements are made. The amount charged for additional fraining for the
Cosmetology program is $11.10 per hour, Barbering program is $11.10 per hour, Esthetics program is
$13.70 per hour, Manicuring program is $10.25 per hour, Teacher Training program is $13.75 per hour and
Barber Crossover is $13.50 per hour. Please refer to your contract.

CONTACT INFORMATION CHANGE
Students will keep the school informed of any change in telephone number, address, name change,
email change or emergency numbers. Form for changes is available at the reception area.

NO VERBAL AGREEMENTS
There are no verbal agreements made between students’ and their teachers or office personnel. Only
agreements made, signed and executed by the college and the student will be valid.

RECIPROCITY
Students wishing to relocate to or from other states must check the requirements of that state. In
California you must contact www.barbercosmo.ca.gov.

SCHOLARSHIPS

Scholarships may be offered periodically. Scholarships offered are for a specific period or program are
merit based and shall only be used for tuition allowances. Any students who enroll in the specified
program during this period will be eligible. Industry provided scholarships are available from beauty
product manufacturers and salon sponsors. In addition, check the following American Association of
Cosmetology Schools website for the availability of beauty industry scholarships at beautyschools.org.

START DATES
All class start dates are listed on Addendum #5

STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION
NACOB and ABCOT does not discriminate on the bases of race, ethnic origin, color, national origin, sex,
religion, disability, financial status, or age in its programs and activities.

DISABILITIES AND ACCOMODATIONS

NACOB and ABCOT is committed that no qualified handicapped person, by reason of his or her
handicap, will be excluded from enrolling in a course of instruction or be subjected to discrimination
based upon disability. Applicants, who are persons with disabilities, as defined in paragraph 104.3(j) of
the regulation under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, may apply for admittance info the
program. However, all prospective students must meet standard admission requirements.

NACOB and ABCOT does not formally assess students under the standards of a traditional 504 plan
(IEP/other). If an applicant for enrollment believes he or she may need an accommodation during his or
her program, he or she should advise an Admissions representative/Registrar prior to class start and must
submit a written request for specific accommodations(s). The written request must include
documentation of the student’s official assessment (for example, and Individual Education Program (IEP)
from the student’s high school) and outline the specific accommodations(s) requested.
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Should a student fail fo request accommodation prior to the program start, he or she may submit a
written request to the Director at any time; however, all requests should be made at least four weeks in
advance of the date needed. Accommodation plans determined after the program start will be
effective from the date determined moving forward.

The Director will review all requests for accommodation and a determination of reasonable
accommodations (if applicable) will be provided in writing prior to the start of the student’s program
and/or within two weeks of the official request for currently enrolled students.

Students requesting reconsideration of the decision regarding the request should contact the Director
within one week of the date of the response. The student must provide a statement of why and how he
or she believes the response should be modified.

Due fo state licensing requirements and rigorous industry standards that are in place fo protect the
public, all students are required to meet the academic standards outlined in this catalog and/or as
amended hereafter.

SCHOOL POLICY ON SEXUAL HARASSMENT
The Fair Employment and Housing Commission regulations define sexual harassment as unwanted sexual
advances, or visual, verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature. This definition includes many forms of
offensive behavior. The following is a partial list.
A. Unwanted sexual advances.
B. Offering benefits in exchange for sexual favors.
C. Visual conduct; Leering, making sexual gestures, display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures,
cartoons or posters.
D. Verbal conduct; making or using derogatory comments, slurs or jokes.
E. Verbal sexual advances or propositions.
F. Verbal abuse of a sexual nature, graphic verbal commentaries about an individual, suggestive or
obscene letters, notes or invitations.
G. Physical conduct; touching, assault, impeding or blocking movement.

The management of NACOB and ABCOT strongly disapproves of any and all forms of Sexual Harassment.
Anyone who has been sexually harassed should notify the Director in writing within 48 hours of the
offense. An investigation will be made into the allegations. Upon confirmation of any act of sexual
harassment, action will be taken immediately to remedy the situation. If necessary, a formal sexual
harassment grievance may be filed within 60 days from the date of the original complaint. NACOB and
ABCOT will take all reasonable steps necessary to prevent harassment from occurring. See Grievance
Policies and Procedures.

TUITION WAIVERS
Tuition Waivers are done for special circumstances; hardship or disputes. These are only allowed with
approval from the Director of the School.
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STUDENT SERVICES

STUDENT BENEFITS
Students may receive the following benefits:
1. In house discounts of 20% on retail products.
2. A personal service discount of 20% on service.
3. Family discounts of 10% on services. For immediate family members only.
4. Parficipation in special school promotional events outside the college.

CAREER ADVISING

Students are advised individually by their teachers, and as often as necessary. Advising takes place as
part of the satisfactory progress review at the end of each evaluation period. A student may request an
additional advising period at any time. Often the college is in a position o help a student with a personal
or business problem and referrals to resources within the community are made. We will be happy to
discuss any concerns you may have by appointment. Students are encouraged o come to us with
problems or questions, which may affect their performance in college. Advice on course selection and
vocational goals are provided to all students before enrolling in college, and at any subsequent time.
Should your problem arise in the following areas, seek out the appropriate person or department.

Conflict with a student or staff member Student Affairs Representative
Curriculum Assoc. Director/Teacher
Personal Finances Financial Aid Department
Student ideas to improve college Career Advisor

DEAN'S LIST (Graduation Ceremonies Only)

A student who maintains a grade average of 4% or better in homework, theory tests, practical
assignments, and clinical work during their entire course and has safisfactory attendance will be placed
on the Dean’s List. A plague is presented to the student. Barber Crossover students are not eligible for
Deans List.

DRUG ABUSE PREVENTION PROGRAM

The college makes the following information available to its students, staff, and teachers. Any individual
associated with NACOB and ABCOT who is seeking information, counseling, or assistance concerning
Drug Abuse prevention may call the following agency.

Drug Treatment Center 24-Hour Help Line 800-711-6375

DRUG FREE CAMPUS POLICY

The colleges participate in the US Department of Education Drug Free Schools Program. Staff and
students are prohibited from the unlawful manufacture, distribution, possession, or use of illicit drugs or
alcohol. Students or employees who violate this policy will be subject to disciplinary action up to and
including expulsion or termination from school or employment. While the sale and use of cannabis is legall
in the State of California, federal guidelines still prohibit the sale and use of cannabis.

JOB PLACEMENT

Job placement assistance is provided to graduates and students at no additional charge, by request
only. The college does not guarantee employment or use the placement data as an incentive to entice
prospective students to enroll.
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ACADEMIC REGULATIONS

APPLIED EFFORT

NACOB and ABCOT only recognize time clock recorded hours of attendance. Students must clock in
and out at the start and end of their class day, in and out for their lunch period. After clocking in, you are
required to maintain applied effort. Applied effort means that you are to be engaged in assigned
practice activities authorized by your teacher, or participating in a class. In all cases, your activities while
on the time clock must be related to training for your course of study.

Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or
examination. Practical operations means the actual performance by the student of a complete service
on another person or on a mannequin.

Personal grooming, listening to electronic devices, sleeping, leaving the building, reading magazines will
not be tolerated. You will be asked to stop such activity or to clock out for the remainder of the day and
you will receive a counseling notice. Continued activities of this nature could result in you termination
from the college. Each laboratory operation and/or practice operation must be checked by an
instructor and signed by that instructor prior to client leaving and student receiving credit. Lost time cards
will cause the loss of applied effort for the period covered on the time card.

SCHOOL RULES AND REGULATIONS

PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT is the only level of conduct we expect from our students. A professional
doesn't arrive 15 minutes late. Students treat clients, instructors, and fellow students with courtesy and
awareness. A student constantly takes the time to follow standards of good grooming and proper
sanitation.

The following rules are important. If you do not comply, you may be warned, suspended or terminated
from school.

WARNING POLICY:
A warning is given to a student verbally or in writing for breaking any rule.

WARNINGS WILL BE ISSUED FOR THE FOLLOWING;

e All students are required to be in class on fime.

Any student who is not clocked in on the hour is tardy.

No student will be permitted to leave unless signed out by the Instructor in charge.

No student will be given credit for theory unless the instructor initials daily record.

Each and every operation must be checked and approved by the Instructor in charge of the

operation.

Students are required to attend school according to their contracted hours.

e Hours are posted by the official time clock and/or the fingerprint reader. Students will be given
an update of total hours at each evaluation period. At this time, it is the student’s responsibility to
balance the number of hours on their timecard to the amount of clock hours on the system.
Discrepancies should only be within the period of time included in the current evaluation period.
Previous evaluation periods once signed and agreed upon by the Student, as demonstrated on
the report card, cannot be changed.

¢ Common courtesy requires that the student address the client by Mr., Mrs., or Ms.

e Clients have priority over student’s use of any and all equipment.

e Allstudents must be applying effort or practicing at all times. Being clocked in when you are not
actively engaged in practice on the school premises is considered fraud.
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Students must perform an operation hourly or is not considered as applying effort foward clinical
practice.

All students are given daily and weekly clinical assignments and are expected to complete them
and turn them in weekly.

For sanitary reasons, no chewing gum on campus.

If you have failed to clock in at any time, you must clock in immediately and will not have any
clock hour credit until clocked in.

All absences must be phoned in on the day of the absence 30 minutes BEFORE class starts.

Any other absences must be approved two weeks in advance in writing. Absence forms are
available atf the front desk and must be turned into Instructor.

Should a student find it necessary to be out of school for longer than one week, a Leave of
Absence should be requested in writing.

Students may not clock out early for personal services.

Clock time is only allowed while in uniform.

All students are expected to be neat when arriving at school, this means hair combed, shoes
cleaned, and in a clean uniform. For women, their make-up on and the men, clean-shaven.
Students assigned to classroom work are not allowed to have students on the floor fix their hair.
Break rooms and bathrooms must be kept clean at all times.

Each student is responsible for any area they could use including bathrooms, classroom, break
areas, lab, supplies, mirror, dresser, locker, student salon and anywhere around any of those
areas.

Nothing must be left on the dresser, mirror, or desk overnight. The school reserves the privilege of
inspecting all articles used on the public at any time and said arficles must be approved by the
school as well as kept in a sanitary condition.

We recommend that you mark all of your equipment and personal belongings with your name or
initials. The school cannot be responsible if your property is stolen. A locker is provided for your
personal belongings and equipment. The student must provide a lock for the locker. An exira key
is fo be given to the admissions office the first day of school and if the lock is a combination lock,
the combination.

Students must have approved equipment and textbooks with them at all times.

During a leave of absence, you must vacate your station and/or locker. Personal effects left in
lockers after 30 days, the locker will be emptied, and the school assumes no responsibility for
these items. They will be disposed of in any way convenient.

Do not talk to another student when working on a client.

Do not ask another student how to do a procedure, ask the Instructor.

All parking in designated student parking areas ONLY.

Uniform of school must be neat and clean every day.

Uniform of school - follow uniform policy.

Student visitors are required to check in with receptionist and are to remain in reception area
ONLY.

Under no circumstances are visitors to be in student break area or on clinic floor.

Under no circumstances is it acceptable for family or friends to come to the school on behalf of
the student and behave in such a way that could be deemed threatening, inappropriate or
vulgar. The necessary steps will be taken to protect the students and staff of the school. The
student can be held responsible.

No phone calls can be made or received during school hours except in case of an emergency.
Cell phones, iPod are to be turned off during school hours.

Outgoing or incoming cell calls can only be placed during lunch, off campus or in break area
ONLY.

Breaks are ten (10) minutes for every four clock hours.

Lunch period is thirty (30) minutes.
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e Food and drinks are allowed in the break area ONLY. State sanitary laws do not allow either food
or drinks in the school.

Students will be sent fo lunch on a demand basis.

School Board is required for completion and graduation.

If a student misses a scheduled school board or fails, there is a $100.00 charge for the retake.

A grade of 75% or better on the school board is required for a diploma.

SUSPENSIONS will occur for the following if a student:

e Hasrepeated warnings

e Displays a poor aftitude or rudeness

e Permits another student to clock them in or out. Both students will be suspended. Clocking in or
out for another student is looked upon as forgery.
Leaves school without permission.
Does not attend Friday, Saturday, or the day before a holiday.
Uses profane language or displays bad behavior.
Smokes on the premises and not in an allowed smoking area.
Refuses to take a client
Complains about a client
Argues with a client, student, or staff member
Being in direct violation of an Instructor’s direction.
Does not give two weeks prior notice for personal tfime off.
Does not pay tfuition and is delinquent.
Arguing, fighting with another student.

SUSPENSION POLICY:
A minor infraction will result in a suspension of just an hour or up to two weeks.

SUSPENSIONS can occur if:
e Astudentis caught cheating, lying or stealing.
e Astudentis under the influence of alcoholic beverages, illegal and controlled substances.
e Permits another student to clock them in or out. Both students will be suspended. Clocking in or
out for another student is looked upon as forgery.
A student fails to make satisfactory progress.
A student sexually or verbally harasses another person.
Payment of tuition is delinquent for two months.
A student is guilty of willful destruction of school property.
A student can be suspended for breaking a school rule if the school deems it necessary
And appropriate for the situation.

TERMINATION POLICY:

Students are dismissed for major violations as listed above, but are not limited to those listed. A student
may be advanced through the termination process at the discretion of the Director or Associate Director
of Education. A student’s confract can be terminated without prior verbal or written warnings when the
school deems that the student’s behavior or actions are jeopardizing the learning environment, the
students, staff members or school (whether in the building or in the parking lot). A student who causes
bodily injury to any client, student and/or staff member will be terminated immediately, and law
enforcement will be called immediately.

The school reserves the right to make any changes in the rules and regulations at any time if necessary,
student(s) may be sent home under an Administrative Leave until or when the situation is calmed down
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and investigated. The school reserves the right to proceed under the Administrative Leave policy,
request further documentation or allow the return to school.

ATTENDANCE STATUS

Full time students are required to attend a minimum of 30 hours per week.

Part time enrollment is defined as less than 30 hours per week.

*Accelerated enroliment is defined as a student attending more than 30 and up to é6 hours per week.
*This contract is only available at NACOB.

GRADING SYSTEM

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical work, and aftendance. The evaluations
are measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a leftter grade. Evaluation
reports are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each attendance period. This
evaluation form reflects the overall attendance and academic progress of each student. Academic
grade is derived through tests, homework, and practical operations. Students must maintain a 67%
aftendance average to maintain satisfactory progress. A student must maintain a 70% academic
average to maintain satisfactory progress.

Note: Attendance is evaluated on both an evaluation period and a cumulative basis. At each
evaluation point, the attendance from this evaluation will be added fo the attendance from the
preceding months to determine whether the student will complete the course within the maximum time
frame established in this policy.

TESTING POLICIES

I At the end of each Pivot Point Module, a written and practical exam will be given on the
entire module. Should a student who is scheduled for these exams miss any portion of the
exam, either written or practical they could be charged a fee of $50. Once the fee is paid
the student will be eligible to be scheduled for the next test date. It is the students’
responsibility to reschedule any missed or failed exam; retest dates will not be announced.

Il. Each student is required to pass a mock state board exam. The exam will consist of a written
and practical exam. Should a student who is scheduled for these exams miss any portion of
the exam either written or practical, they could be charged a fee of $100. Once the fee is
paid the student will be eligible to be scheduled for the next test date. It is the students’
responsibility to reschedule any missed or failed exam; retest dates will not be announced.

Il. Tests are given at the end of each Theory Chapter. Should a student miss any chapter test
due to any absence/illness either excused or unexcused they are required to make up the
fest at the next make up test date. Make up tests are given monthly. Should any student fail
to make up chapter tests monthly they could be charged a fee of $15.00 for each make up
test given prior to graduation. It is the students’ responsibility fo schedule make up test; test
dates will not be announced.

v. These fees will be billed directly to your student account and must be paid prior to
graduation. No proof of fraining will be issued until balance is paid in full.
V. No electronic dictionaries will be allowed in class during any test.

GRADUATION DOCUMENTATION/AWARDING OF DIPLOMA

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and Official Transcript of Hours for the applicable
course when the student has successfully completed all phases of study, required tests, practical
assignments with an overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical
examination with a 75%; and attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study
according to all of the State requirements; completed all exit paperwork; attended an exit interview,

26




financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts

owed to the school.

APPLICATION FOR STATE BOARD EXAMINATION

After graduation, you may apply to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology for the licensing
examination. The fee to take the State Board examination is as follows: $125 for Cosmetology exam,

$125.00 for Barbering exam, $115 for Esthetics exam,

$110 for Manicuring exam, and $125.00 for Barber

Crossover to be paid by the student. You must pass the practical exam and written exam with a 75% to
get your license. The testing facilities for the examination are located in Fairfield and in Glendale. You
may bring your own kit or rent a kit from an outside company for an additional cost as it is required to
take the exam. Exam fees are subject to change by The California State Board of Barbering and

Cosmetology without prior notification.

Please Note: Persons who have been convicted of Felonies, owe child support or fines, may at the
discretion of the State of California, Department of Consumer Affairs be delayed or denied admittance
fo the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Examination. The college is not responsible for a graduate
being unable to take their state examination in these cases.

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY (SAP):

Satisfactory Academic Progress is consistently applied to all students enrolled at the school.
This policy is reviewed during orientation and the catalog is available on the NACOB and ABCOT

website.

The college expects its students to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP).

Evaluation Periods: 20 scheduled hours per week

Cosmetology: 1600 hours, 80 weeks scheduled

1st Evaluation Ends: 450 Scheduled Hours, 22.5 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 900 Scheduled Hours, 45 weeks
3rd Evaluation Ends: 1250 Scheduled Hours, 62.5 weeks
4th Evaluation Ends: 1600 Scheduled Hours, 80 weeks

Barbering: 1500 hours, 75 weeks scheduled

1st Evaluation Ends: 450 Scheduled Hours, 22.5 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 900 Scheduled Hours, 45 weeks
3rd Evaluation Ends: 1200 Scheduled Hours, 60 weeks
4th Evaluation Ends: 1500 Scheduled Hours, 75 weeks

Esthetics: 600 hours, 30 weeks scheduled
1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 15 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 600 Scheduled Hours, 30 weeks

Teacher Training: 600 hours, 30 weeks scheduled
1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 15 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 600 Scheduled Hours, 30 weeks

Manicuring: 400 hours, 20 weeks scheduled
1st Evaluation Ends: 180 Scheduled Hours, 9 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 360 Scheduled Hours, 18 weeks

Barber Crossover: 200 hours, 10 weeks scheduled
1st Evaluation Ends: 90 Scheduled Hours, 4.5 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 180 Scheduled Hours, 9 weeks

Evaluation Periods: 30 scheduled hours per week

Cosmetology: 1600 hours, 54 weeks scheduled

1st Evaluation Ends: 450 Scheduled Hours, 15 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 900 Scheduled Hours, 30 weeks
3rd Evaluations Ends: 1250 Scheduled Hours, 42 weeks
4t Evaluations: 1600 Scheduled Hours, 54 weeks

Barbering: 1500 hours, 50 weeks scheduled

1st Evaluation Ends: 450 Scheduled Hours, 15 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 00 Scheduled Hours, 30 weeks
3rd Evaluations Ends: 1200 Scheduled Hours, 40 weeks
4t Evaluations: 1500 Scheduled Hours, 50 weeks

Esthetics: 600 hours, 20 weeks scheduled
1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 10 weeks
2nd Evaluation: 600 Scheduled Hours, 20 weeks

Teacher Training: 600 hours, 20 weeks scheduled
1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 10 weeks
2nd Evaluation: 600 Scheduled Hours, 20 weeks

Manicuring: 400 hours, 14 weeks scheduled
1st Evaluation Ends: 180 Scheduled Hours, 6 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 360 Scheduled Hours, 12 weeks

Barber Crossover: 200 hours, 7 weeks scheduled
1st Evaluation Ends: 90 Scheduled Hours, 3 weeks
2nd Evaluation Ends: 180 Scheduled Hours, 6 weeks

*Transfer/re-enrolled students - Midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods,

whichever comes first.
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Evaluations will determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for satisfactory academic
progress. The frequency of evaluations ensures that students have had at least one evaluation by
midpoint of the course and/or program. All evaluations will be completed within seven (7) School
Business Days following each established evaluation period. It will be delivered either in person, text or
email.

Attendance Progress Evaluations — Students are required to attend a minimum of 67% of the hours
possible based on the applicable attendance schedule in order to be considered maintaining
satfisfactory attendance progress. Evaluations are conducted at the end of each evaluation period to
determine if the student has met the minimum requirements. The attendance percentage is determined
by dividing the fotal hours accrued by the total number of hours scheduled. At the end of each
evaluation period, the school will determine if the student has maintained at least 67% cumulative
attendance since the beginning of the course which indicates that, given the same attendance rate,
the student will graduate within the maximum fime frame allowed.

Note: Attendance is evaluated on both an evaluation period and a cumulative basis. At each
evaluation point, the attendance from this evaluation will be added to the attendance from the
preceding evaluations to determine whether the student will complete the course within the maximum
time frame established in this policy.

ACADEMIC YEAR

COURSE WEEKS Academic Year

Cosmetology (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 1600 hours 54 weeks AY1: 900 (30 weeks)

AY2: 700 (24 weeks)
Cosmetology (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 1600 hours 80 weeks AY1: 900 (45 weeks)

AY2: 700 (35 weeks)
Barbering (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 1500 hours 50 weeks AY1: 900 (30 weeks)

AY2: 600 (20 weeks)
Barbering (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 1500 hours 75 weeks AY1: 900 (45 weeks)

AY2: 600 (40 weeks)
Esthetics (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 20 weeks AY1: 600 (20 weeks)
Esthetics (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks AY1: 600 (30 weeks)
Manicuring (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 400 hours 14 weeks AY1: 400 (14 weeks)
Manicuring (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 400 hours 20 weeks AY1: 400 (20 weeks)
Teacher Training (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 20 weeks AY1: 600 (20 weeks)
Teacher Training PT, 20 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks AY1: 600 (30 weeks)
Barber Crossover (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 200 hours 7 weeks AY1:200 (07 weeks)
Barber Crossover (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 200 hours 10 weeks AY1:200 (10 weeks)
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MAXIMUM TIME FRAME
The maximum time (which does not exceed 150% of the course length) allowed for students fo complete
each course at satisfactory academic progress is stated below:

COURSE WEEKS SCHEDUELED HOURS Academic Year
Cosmetology (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 1600 hours 80 weeks 2400 AY1:900 AY2: 700
Cosmetology (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 1600 hours 120 weeks 2400 AY1:900 AY2: 700
Barbering (FT, 30 hrs/wk]) 1500 hours 75 weeks 2250 AY1: 900 AY2: 600
Barbering (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 1500 hours 113 weeks 2250 AY1: 900 AY2: 600
Esthetics (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks 900 AY1: 600
Esthetics (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 600 hours 45 weeks 9200 AY1: 600
Manicuring (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 400 hours 20 weeks 600 AY1:400
Manicuring (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 400 hours 30 weeks 600 AY1:400
Teacher Training (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks 200 AY1: 600
Teacher Training PT, 20 hrs/wk) 600 hours 45 weeks 200 AY1: 600
Barber Crossover (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 200 hours 10 weeks 300 AY1:200
Barber Crossover (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 200 hours 15 weeks 300 AY1:200

The maximum time allowed for transfer/re-enrolled students who need less than the full course
requirements or part fime students will be determined based on 67% of the schedule contracted hours.

Students who have not completed the course within the maximum time frame will be withdrawn from
the program. A student withdrawn due to not meeting the maximum timeframe may reenroll into their
program on a cash pay basis.

*VA Students: Hours are paid for the approved program length only not maximum timeframe.

Academic Progress Evaluations — The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a
based-on theory and practical assignments. Academic learning is evaluated at the completion of each
evaluation period. Students must maintain a cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% in order to be
considered making Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP). The Academic Progress evaluations are
conducted atf the end of each evaluation period to determine if the minimum requirements have been
met. Academic Progress is determined by an average (cumulative) of the student’s theory (which
conisists of tests, quizzes, and homework), and practical operations (in class rubrics or clinic floor
quantitative).

Grading Symbol Quality of Points Academic Average
A Excellent 90-100%
B Satisfactory 80-89%
C Satisfactory 70-79%
D Unsatisfactory 60-69%
F Unsatisfactory 59 and Below

DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS

Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are
considered to be making satisfactory academic progress until the next schedule evaluation. Students
will receive a nofification of their Satisfactory Academic Progress Determination at the fime of each of
the evaluations. Students deemed not maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress may have their Title
IV Funding interrupted, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal resulting in a status
of probation. A student will be withdrawn after failure to prevail upon appeal or if no appeal is made
within 10 days.
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WARNING

Students who fail fo meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress are placed on
warning and considered fo be making satisfactory academic progress while during the warning period.
The student will be advised in writing on the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by
the next evaluation. If at the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both the
attendance and academic requirements, he/she may be placed on probation and, if applicable,
students may be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV funds.

PROBATION

Students who fail fo meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress after the
warning period will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory academic
progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and prevails upon
appeal. Additionally, only students who have the ability to meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress
Policy standards by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation. Students placed on
an academic plan must be able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the
next evaluation period. Students who are progressing according to their specific academic plan will be
considered making Satisfactory Academic Progress. The student will be advised in writing of the actions
required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the
probationary period, the student has still not met both the attendance and academic requirements
required for satisfactory academic progress or by the academic plan, he/she will be determined as
NOT making satisfactory academic progress and, if applicable, students will not be deemed eligible to
receive Title IV funds.

RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS

Student may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting
minimum attfendance of 67% and academic requirements (GPA of 70%) by the end of the warning or
probationary period.

INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS

If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence, the student will return to school in the
same progress status as prior to the leave of absence. Hours elapsed during a leave of absence will
extend the student’s contract period and maximum time frame by the same number of days taken in
the leave of absence and will not be included in the student’s cumulatfive attendance percentage
calculation. Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will return in
the same satisfactory academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal.

Appeal Procedure

If a student is determined to not be making satisfactory academic progress, the student may appeal the
determination within ten calendar days. Reasons for which students may appeal a negative progress
determination include death of arelative, an injury or iliness of the student, or any other allowable
special or mitigating circumstance. The student must submit a written appeal to the school on the
designated form describing why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along
with supporting documentation of the reasons why the determination should be reversed. This
information should include what has changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to
achieve Satisfactory Academic Progress by the next evaluation point. Appeal documents will be
reviewed and a decision will be made and reported to the student within 30 calendar days. The appeal
and decision documents will be retained in the student file. If the student prevails upon appeal, the
satfisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal financial aid will be
reinstated, if applicable.
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NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSES, REPETITIONS
Noncredit, remedial courses and repetitions do not apply to this institution. Therefore, these items have
no effect upon the school’s satisfactory academic progress standards.

TRANSFER HOURS

With regard to Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student’s fransfer hours from another institution that are
accepted toward the student’s educational program will be counted as both attempted and
completed hours for the purpose of determining when the allowable maximum time frame has been
exhausted. SAP evaluation periods are based on scheduled contracted hours at the institution.

VA STUDENTS

In addition, VA benefits will be terminated and the Veteran's Administration will be prompftly notified. For
the duration of Probation, the student will also lose the following privileges: advanced fraining, personal
services, in house discounts, and family discounts.

LEAVE OF ABSENCE (LOA)

An authorized leave of absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a student’s program of study. LOA
refers to the specific time period during a program when a student is not in attendance. All requests for
leaves of absences must be submitted in writing, phone, text or email, include the reason for the
student’s request and include the student’s signature. There must be a reasonable expectation that the
student will return from the LOA. The institution will not assess the student any additional instfitutional
charges as a result of the LOA. A student granted a LOA that meets these criteria is not considered to
have withdrawn, and no refund calculation is required at that fime. A LOA is not required if a student is
not in attendance only for an institutional scheduled break. However, a scheduled break may occur
during a LOA.

LOA CRITERIA/PROCEDURES

1. Aleave of absence will be granted for the following reasons:

Medical, Active Military, Jury Duty, Mitigating circumstances and Personal Reasons

2. The LOA form must be completed and submitted in writing, phone, text, or email to the School

Director.

Minimum leave of absence requires at least 1-week intervals.

A student must apply for a leave of absence in advance or during the week of, unless unforeseen

circumstances prevent the student from doing so. For example, if a student were injured in a car

accident and needed a few weeks to recover before returning to institution, the student would
not have been able to request the LOA in advance.

5. Leave of absences not applied for in advance are given for emergency situations and will
be documented by staff on the leave of absence form and the form and any documentation
will be completed once the student returns to school. In this example, the beginning date of the
approved LOA would be determined by the institution to be the first date the student was unable
to attend the institution because of the accident.

6. NACOB and ABCOT reserves the right fo amend this policy on a case-by-case basis.

7. LOA’s are granted for a maximum of 180 days in 12 months from the 1st day of the first requested
Leave of absence.

8. A student must return from the leave of absence prior to or on the return date on the form.

9. The institution will extend the student’s contract period by the same number of days taken in the
LOA. Changes to the contract period and maximum time frame will extend by the same number
of calendar days taken in the LOA on the enrollment agreement should be initialed by all parties
or an addendum should be signed and dated by all parties. An approved complete LOA form is
an addendum to the Enrollment Agreement.

Ao
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10. Failure to return from the expiration of the Leave of Absence will result in a student being
terminated immediately from the college. This will be considered to be the student’s withdrawal
determination date. At an institution required to tfake attendance, the withdrawal date for the
purpose of calculating a refund it is always the student’s last day of attendance.

11. Aleave of absence extension may be requested prior to the end of the original leave of
absence return date.

12. Students who do not return from a Leave of Absence need to know that repayment on your
student loans begins 6 months after your last date of attendance.

A student that does not follow and complete the LOA procedures will have all of his/her time missed
counted as absences from school; the student will incur overtime charges as a result, and this will affect
the student’s Satisfactory Academic Progress. A student that misses 14 calendar days without
contacting the school or on an official Leave of Absence, will be considered withdrawn from the
program and his/her confract will be terminated.

**Veterans Students** Veteran's Benefits will be suspended while a student is on an approved Leave of
Absence. Once the student has regained active status with the College, benefits will resume.

During COVID-19, Leave of Absences were allowed to exceed 180 days. This flexibility is allowed until the
pandemic is over.

SCHOOL CLOSURES
If the school permanently closes, students will receive a pro-rata refund of tuition as required by State &
Federal guidelines.

EXIT PROCEDURES FOR STUDENTS COMPLETING COURSE OF STUDY
Two weeks before completing course of study, an appointment must be set for the following:
1. Students must review all hours and operations and grades with their instructor for accuracy.
2. Students must confirm their expected graduation date with teacher and office.
3. Students must meet with the office to review accounts to date and pay off any outstanding
balance. This final payment must be in cash, cashier check, money order.
4. All students must complete a graduation participation form. Students will be given a state board
kit rental form at this time.
5. All student information such as address and phone number must be updated in computer if
necessary.

On the final school day:

1. Student is responsible to assure that all hours and operations are complete before clock out.

2. Have made safisfactory arrangements for payment of all debfs, including overtime with the
college.

3. Therequired clock hours have been completed.

4. The student has an overall attendance average of 67%, an academic average of 70%, a total
GPA of 70%.

5. Passed the mock state board, both practical and written with a 75% score.

6. A completed graduation checklist is located in the students file.

WITHHOLDING OF STUDENT TRANSCRIPT/GRADES/DIPLOMA
NACOB and ABCOT will withhold the student’s transcripts (completion, withdrawal or a diploma) until
financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts
owed to the school. These items will only be given when students meet the following criteria:

1. Total GPA 70%;

2. Overall Attendance Average 67%;
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Operations & Theory Hours all have been Completed;

Completion of all State requirements;

Financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment; and
Passed Schools mock state board written and practical with a grade of 75%.

oA W

NACOB and ABCOT STAFF AND JOB TITLES AND FUNCTIONS
Please see Addendum #2

Excused/Unexcused Absences

Excused absences/tardies are absences/tardies that are verifiable This does not extend your contract
nor excuse any additional charges. Verifiable excused absences/tardies allowed you to makeup
assignments or tests with no penalty.

Unexcused absences/tardies students are able to clock in to school no later than 1 hour past their
scheduled start fime. Any missed assignments will be arranged at the convenience of the instructor.
Make up tests are n the last Friday of the month only.

COURSES OF STUDY
All courses offered by NACOB and ABCOT are conducted in English. The institution does not provide
English as a second language (ESL) course.

COSMETOLOGY COURSE: (1600 CLOCK HOURS)

Educational Goals:

The cosmetology course of study is designated to assist the student’s capability fo pass the Board of
Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite in order to obtain a
Cosmetology License. The license is a requirement to operate as a cosmetologist in the State of
California (SOC #39-5012.00, CIP #12.0401)

Curriculum for Cosmetology Course - 1600 Clock Hours (54 weeks/30 hours per week or 80 weeks/20
hours per week)

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetology course shall consist of sixteen hundred (1,600)
clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of
cosmetology. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom
participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a
complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained.
See "Applied Effort”.

Grading System

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a lefter grade. SAP/Report
Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is
derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations. Students must maintain a “C" (70%)
academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C" (67%) attendance
average to maintain safisfactory progress.
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Such Technical Instruction and Practical Operations shall include:

COSMETOLOGY CURRICULUM BREAKDOWN

1600 Total Clock Hours

SUBJECT

TECHNICAL
INSTRUCTION
(HOURS)

PRACTICAL
OPERATIONS
(Hours)

PRACTICAL
OPERATIONS
(ACTUAL
OPERATIONS -
NOT HOURS)

HAIR DRESSING (1100 total hours required)

The required subjects of instruction in Hair Dressing
shall be Completed with the minimum hours of
technical and practical operations for each
subject-matter as follows:

Minimum
Hours
Required

Minimum
Hours
Required

Minimum
Operations
Required

Hair Styling
shall include but is not limited to, the following

techniques and procedures; Hair analysis,
shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs,
straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and
hot curling irons and blower styling.

65

450

240

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening
Shall include, but is not limited to, the following
techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, acid and
alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening
including the use of sodium hydroxide and other
base solutions.

40

205

105

Hair Coloring and Bleaching

Shall include but is not limited to, the following
technigques and procedures (also including, the use
of semi-permanent, demi-permanent and
temporary colors): Hair analysis, predisposition and
strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing,
tinting, bleaching, high and low lights, and the use
of dye removers.

60

140

50

Hair Cutting
Shall include but is not limited to, the following

techniques and procedures: Use of scissors, razor
(shaper), electrical clippers/ frimmers, and thinning
(fapering) shears for wet and dry cutting.

20

120

80

34




HEALTH AND SAFETY (200 total hours required)

The required subjects of instruction in Health and
Safety shall be Completed with the minimum hours
of technical instruction for each subject-matter as
follows:

Minimum
Hours
Required

Minimum
Hours
Required

Minimum
Operations
Required

Laws and Regulations

The subjects of Laws and Regulations shall include,
but is not limited to, the following issues: The
Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Board's Rules
and Regulations

20

Health and Safety ConsiderationsShall include but is
not limited to, the following techniques and
Procedures: Cosmetology chemistry including the
chemical Composition and purpose of cosmetic,
nail, hair and skin care Preparations. Elementary
chemical makeup, chemical skin peels and
chemical and physical changes of matter.
Hazardous substances including fraining in
chemicals and health in establishments, protection
from hazardous chemicals and preventing
chemical injuries, ergonomics, theory of electricity in
cosmetology, bacteriology, communicable
diseases, including HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, and staph
and Material Safety Data Sheets.

45

Disinfection and Sanitation

Shall include but is not limited to, the following
techniques and procedures: Disinfection and
sanitation including proper procedures to protect
the health and safety of the consumer as well as
the technician. Proper disinfection for equipment
used in establishments. Disinfection shall be
emphasized throughout the entire fraining period
and must be performed before use of all instruments
and equipment.

20

60

Anatomy and Physiology
Shall include, but is not limited to the following
issues: Human Anatomy, Human Physiology

Communication Skills

that include professional ethics, resume, job seeking
skills, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping,
interview prep, and client service records

20

Board Approved Health & Safety Course

20
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ESTHETICS (200 total hours required)

The required subjects of instruction in Esthetics shall
be completed with the minimum hours of technical
instruction and practical operations for each
subject-matter as follows:

Minimum
Hours
Required

Minimum
Hours
Required

Minimum
Operations
Required

Manual, Electrical, and Chemical Facials

Shall include, but is not limited to, the following
techniques and procedures: Manual Facials
including cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs,
and masks. Electrical Facials include the use of
electrical modalities, dermal lights and electrical
apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes;
however, machines capable of producing an
electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as
to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the
muscles of the body or face. Chemical facials
include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and
scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the non-
living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the
epidermis, may be removed, and only for the
purpose of beautification.

25

80

40

Eyebrow Beautification and Make-upShall include
but is not limited to, the following issues: Eyebrow
arching and Hair Removal, including the use of wax,
tweezers, electrical ormanual, and depilatories for
the removal of superfluous hair.

25

70

30

MANICURING AND PEDICURING (100 total hours)
The required subjects of instruction in Manicuring
and Pedicuring shall be completed with the
minimum hours of fechnical instruction and
practical operation for each subject-matter as
follows:

Minimum
Hours
Required

Minimum
Hours
Required

Minimum
Operations
Required

Manicuring and Pedicuring

Shall include but is not limited to, the following
issues: Water and oil manicure, including nail
analysis, and hand/foot and arm/ankle
massage.

25

25

Artificial Nails and Wraps

Artificial nails including acrylic: liquid and powder
brush-ons, artificial nail tips and nail wraps and
repairs.

25

40

120

TOTAL

410

1190

N/A

1600 total hours

Depending on how long it takes a student to complete the require number of practical operations, a
student may exceed the total number of hours required in a subject, or may not yet meet the total
hours required in a subject. If a student does not yet meet the total number of hours required, the
school will be responsible for making sure the student completes additional hours to meet the total

hour requirement in that subject
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Cosmetology Performance Objective
1) Acquire knowledge of law and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishments’
practices.
2) Acquire knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails.
3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology,
chemistry, and theory.
4) Acquire business management fechniques common to cosmetology.

Skills to be developed
1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services.
2) Acquire knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine
any disorders.
3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in all cosmetology services.
4) Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up including the application of false
strip eyelashes.
5) Will learn the proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and
pedicuring.
6) Will learn the application of brush-on nails, wraps, and nail tips.

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed
1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology.
2) Possess a positive atftitude towards the public and fellow workers.
3) Have improved personality fowards patrons and colleagues.

Course Levels (as of 7/01/2021)
Phase I-Foundation 15 weeks/450 hours (until basics and test out complete)
Basics and fundamentals of hair styling, facials, & nails

Student Clinic Classroom 37 weeks/ 1110 hours
Clinic client and manikin work on skills from prior class

State Board Preparation 2 weeks/ 40 hours
Mock State Board Prep and Test

It is at the discretion of the instructor/director to move students up or hold them back when there has
been more than 18hrs of absences If student is moved forward without work being completed
Certificates for Pivot Point Modules will not be given.

An optional 6-week intermediate class will be offered 3-4 times per year. This will cover more than basic
skills. This class will be offered to all students once. Students will only be allowed two absences from being
dropped from the class. Students must sign up, attend, and have all necessary supplies. Timely notice will
be given to students, as possible. Additional Items must be purchased either from the College or privately
prior to the first start date of the 6-week class. It is the student’s responsibility to make proper
arrangements to attend this class. This is not a requirement to graduate but will help to further skills
obtained.

Methods used to instruct Students

Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands
on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, frade magazines, and white board.
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Makeup Exams:

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be
scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege — not a right! Students should
be in attendance on examination days.

Textbooks:
PivotPoint Fundamentals (FUNC) Textbook, Course Study Guide, Exam Prep Book. Online

As of October 31, 2017, NACOB and ABCOT of Tracy has converted to Electronic Books.
As of February 1, 2018, North Adrian’s College of Beauty has converted to Electronic Books.

Students are provided access to Electronic Books after their cancellation period has ended and has
access for 730 days after registration. This includes any absences, Leave of Absence, or any other
disruption in your education.

There is an added option of physical books until no longer available by PivotPoint.

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable
course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an
overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and
attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State
requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been
met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school.

Licensing Requirements

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology license
will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and
graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam.
The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the
student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the
student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of
California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test unfil
the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.

Applicants take the exam in either Northern or Southern California. All fees and transportation is the
responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License is $125.00 paid directly to the
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is $75.00. Kit rental is
$135.00 and must bring their own tri-pod, manikin hand, manikin head, and disinfectant wipes. You must
make an appointment for the Fairfield Rentakit location prior to examination (707) 428-4477.

Job Opportunities

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail
artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing,
frade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product
manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and
fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon
manager.
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ESTHETICS COURSE: 600 CLOCK HOURS (20 WEEKS/30 hours per week or 30 WEEKS/20 hours per week)
SOC # 39-5094.00 CIP# 12.0409

The courses of study for students enrolled in the Esthetics course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock
hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of
esthetics. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom
participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a
complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained.
See "Applied Effort.”

Educational Goals:
The Esthetics course of study is designated to assist the student's capability fo pass the Board's Esthetics
licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite in order to obtain an Esthetics license.

Curriculum for Esthetics Course 600 Clock Hours

The curriculum for students enrolled in the esthetics course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock hours of
technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of esthetics.
Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or
examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a complete service
on another person or mannequin.

Grading System

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a lefter grade. SAP/Report
Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is
derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations. Students must maintain a “C" (70%)
academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C"” (67%) attendance
average to maintain safisfactory progress.
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Such Technical Instruction and Practical Operations shall include:

ESTHETICS CURRICULUM BREAKDOWN

600 Total Clock Hours

hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical
injuries; health and safety laws; and agencies
ergonomics and communicable diseases,
including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B)

PRACTICAL
TECHNICAL PRACTICAL OPERATIONS
SUBJECT INSTRUCTION OPERATIONS (ACTUAL
(HOURS) (Hours) OPERATIONS -
NOT HOURS)
Minimum Minimum Minimum
Hours Hours Operations
FACIALS (350 total hours required) Required Required Required
Manual, Electrical, and Chemical Facials
(A) Manual (product knowledge - use and
safety, skin analysis, cleansing, scienfific
manipulations packs and masks).
(B) Electrical
(equipment, use and safety of electrical
modalities, including dermal lights and
electrical apparatus for facials and skin care
purposes; however, machines capable of
Producing electric current shall not be used to 70 265 140
stimulate so as to confract the muscles of the
body or face.
(C) Chemicals product knowledge — use and
safety, chemical skin peels, packs, masks, and
scrubs. Training shall emphasize That only the
non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin known
as the epidermis may be Removed and only for
the purpose of beautification All practical
operations must be performed in accordance
with section 992 regarding skin peeling.)
Preparation
Client Consultation, infake procedures,
N . . - 15 0 0
contraindications, professionalism, client record
keeping, pre and post care spa sKkill
Minimum Minimum Minimum
Hours Hours Operations
HEALTH AND SAFETY (200 total hours required) Required Required Required
Laws and Regulations 10 0 0
Health and Safety Considerations
(training in chemicals and health
establishments; material
safety data sheets; products, tools, and
equipment - use and safety ; protection from 40 0 0
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Disinfection and Sanitation

(procedures to protect the health, infection
control and safety of the consumer as well as
the technician. The ten required operations
shall entail performing all necessary functions
for disinfecting instruments and equipment as
specified in Sections 979& 980. Disinfections
should be emphasized throughout the entire
period and must be performed before use of all
instruments and equipment).

Anatomy and Physiology 15 0 0

Board Approved Health & Safety Course 20

Communication Skills

that include professional ethics, resume, job
seeking skills, salesmanship, decorum, record 20 0 0
keeping, inferview prep, and client service
records

Minimum Minimum Minimum

HAIR REMOVAL and MAKE-UP (50 total hours Hours Hours Operations
required) Required Required Required

Eyebrow Beautification

(use and safety of wax, tweezers, manual or
electrical and depilatories for the removal of 25 5 50
Superfluous hair.) (A) Tweezers (B) Wax and
Depilatories

Makeup
(product knowledge — use and safety, skin 20 5 40
analysis, complete 20 and corrective make-up
and application of false eyelashes.

TOTAL 245 355 N/A

600 total hours

Depending on how long it takes a student to complete the require number of practical operations,
a student may exceed the fotal number of hours required in a subject, or may not yet meet the
total hours required in a subject. If a student does not yet meet the total number of hours required,
the school will be responsible for making sure the student completes additional hours fo meet the
fotal hour requirement in that subject.

Esthetics Performance Objective
1) Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishment
practices.
2) Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of skin.
3) Acquire knowledge of general theory, relative to a cosmetician, including anatomy,
physiology, chemistry, nutrition, and theory.
4) Acquire business management techniques common to esthetics.

Skills to be developed
1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all esthetic services.
2) Acquire the knowledge of analyzing all skin types to determine proper analysis.
3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all esthetics services.
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4) Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of false
strip eyelashes.

5) Will learn the safety procedures of the use of electrical skin care machines.

6) Will learn various massage techniques.

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed
1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to esthetics.
2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers.
3) Have improved persondlity in dealing with patrons and colleagues.

Course Levels

Phase | 2 weeks Basics and fundamentals of facials and makeup
Clinic 17 + weeks Clinic client work on skills from prior classes
Board Prep 1 week Test and review for board preparation

Methods used to instruct Students
Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands
on application, overheads, visual aids, textbooks, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board.

Makeup Exams:

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be
scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege — not a right! Students should
be in attendance on examination days.

Textbooks:
PivotPoint Fundamentals (FUNE), Course Study Guide, Course Exam Prep

As of October 31, 2017, NACOB and ABCOT of Tracy has converted to Electronic Books.
As of February 1, 2018, North Adrian’s College of Beauty has converted to Electronic Books.

Students are provided access to Electronic Books after their cancellation period has ended and has
access for 730 days after registration. This includes any absences, Leave of Absence, or any other
disruption in your education.

There is an added option of physical books until no longer available by PivotPoint.

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable
course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an
overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and
attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State
requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been
met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school.

Licensing Requirements

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10t grade. A Cosmetology license
will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and
graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam.
The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the
student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the
student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of
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California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test unfil
the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.

Applicants take the exam in either Northern or Southern California. All fees and fransportation is the
responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License are $115.00 paid directly to the
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is $75.00. Kit rental is
$155.00 and must bring their own disinfectant wipes. You must make an appointment for the Fairfield
Rentakit location prior to examination (707) 428-4477 ..

Job Opportunities

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail
artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing,
frade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product
manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and
fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon
manager.

MANICURING COURSE: 400 CLOCK HOURS (14 WEEKS/30 hours per week 20 WEEKS/20 hours per week)
(SOCi# 39-5092.00, CIP #12.0410).

The course of study for students enrolled in a manicuring course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock
hours of technical instructional and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of
manicuring and Pedicuring. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture,
classroom participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the
student of a complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort in
maintained. See “Applied Effort.”

Educational Goals:

The manicuring course of study is designed to improve the student’s capability to pass the Board of
Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is a prerequisite in order to obtain
a Manicuring License. The license is a requirement to operate as a Manicuring in the state of California
(DOT#331.674-010).

Curriculum for Manicuring Course 400 Clock Hours

The curriculum for students enrolled in a manicuring course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock hours
of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a manicurist and pedicurist.
Technical instruction means instruction by demonstrator, lecture, classroom participation or examination.
Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another
person. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: (See next Page)

Grading System

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a lefter grade. SAP/Report
Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is
derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations. Students must maintain a “C" (70%)
academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance
average to maintain satisfactory progress. Academic grade is derived from an equal weighting of tests,
homework, and practical operations. “Excellence in Education” grading criteria will be used in all
practical, attendance, and clinical work. Students must maintain a “C” (70%) average to maintain
satfisfactory academic status.
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Such Technical Instruction and Practical Operations shall include:

MANICURING CURRICULUM BREAKDOWN
400 Total Clock Hours
PRACTICAL
SUBJECT INSTRUCTION | OPERATIONS OPERATIONS
(ACTUAL OPERATIONS -
(HOURS) (Hours) NOT HOURS)
Minimum Minimum Minimum
Hours Hours Operations
NAIL CARE (300 total hours required) Required Required Required
Manicures and Pedicures 200 60
Including foot and ankle massage, product 0
knowledge - use and safety. 180
Principles and technigques of pedicures. 0
Minimum Minimum Minimum
Hours Hours Operations
HEALTH AND SAFETY (100 total hours required) Required Required Required
Laws and Regulations 10 0 0
Health and Safety Considerations
(fraining in chemicals and health
establishments; material safety data sheets;
products, tools, and equipment -use and safety;
profection from hazardous chemicals and 25 0
preventing chemical injuries; health and safety
laws and agencies, ergonomics, and
communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS
and Hepatitis B.) 0
Disinfection and Sanitation
(procedures to protect the health, infection
control and safety of the consumer as well as
the technician. The ten operations shall entail
performing all necessary functions for
-~ L2 . 20 0
disinfecting instruments and equipment as
specified. Disinfection will be emphasized
throughout the entire training period and must
be performed before use of all instruments and
equipment.) 35
Anatomy and Physiology 10 0 0
Board Approved Health & Safety Course 20 0 0
Communication Skills
that include professional ethics, resume, job
seeking skills, salesmanship, decorum, record 20 0 0
keeping, inferview prep, and client service
records
TOTAL 165 235 N/A
400 total hours
Depending on how long it takes a student to complete the require number of practical operations,
a student may exceed the total number of hours required in a subject, or may not yet meet the
total hours required in a subject. If a student does not yet meet the total number of hours required,
the school will be responsible for making sure the student completes additional hours fo meet the
total hour requirement in that subject

44



Manicuring Performance Obijective
1) Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California Manicuring establishing practices.
2) Understand sterilization procedures.
3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to manicuring including anatomy, physiology,
chemistry, and theory relative to practical procedures performed.
4) Acquire business management techniques common to Manicuring.
Skills to be developed
1) Use of proper implements relative to all manicuring, Pedi curing, and artificial nails.
2) Develop knowledge to recognize the various skin conditions and disorders
3) Acquire knowledge
4) Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in use of manicuring, Pedi curing, and artificial
nails.
Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed
1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to manicuring.
2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers.
3) Appreciate honesty and integrity.
4) Have improved personality in dealing with patrons and colleagues.
Course Levels
Phase | 2 weeks Basics and fundamentals of all Nail applications
Clinic 10 + weeks Clinic client work on skills from prior classes
Or Rehearsal
Board Prep 1 week Review for board and pass mock state board.
Methods used to instruct Students
Various teaching methods are ufilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands
on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, frade magazines, and white board.

Makeup Exams:

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be
scheduled at the discretfion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege — not a right! Students should
be in attendance on examination days.

Textbooks:
PivotPoint Fundamentals (FUNM) *this program is not online.

As of October 31, 2017, NACOB and ABCOT of Tracy has converted to Electronic Books.
As of February 1, 2018, North Adrian’s College of Beauty has converted to Electronic Books.

Students are provided access to Electronic Books after their cancellation period has ended and has
access for 730 days after registration. This includes any absences, Leave of Absence, or any other
disruption in your education.

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable
course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an
overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and
attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State
requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been
met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school.
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Licensing Requirements

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10t grade. A Cosmetology license
will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and
graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam.
The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the
student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the
student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of
California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test untfil
the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.

Applicants take the exam in either Northern or Southern California. All fees and fransportation is the
responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License is $110.00 paid directly to the
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is $75.00. Kit rental is
$60.00 and must bring their own tri-pod, manikin hand and disinfectant wipes. You must make an
appointment for the Fairfield Rentakit location prior to examination (707) 428-4477 ..

Job Opportunities

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail
artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing,
tfrade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product
manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and
fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon
manager.

TEACHER TRAINING COURSE: 600 CLOCK HOURS (20 WEEKS/30 hours per week or 30 WEEks/20 HOURS PER
WEEK)

(SOC# 25-3099.00 CIP # 12.0413)

The course of study for students enrolled in a Teacher Training course shall consist of six hundred (600)
clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of student instruction
and supervision. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom
participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a
complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained.
See "Applied Effort.”

Educational Goals:

Curriculum for Teacher Training Course - 600 Clock Hours

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Teacher Training course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock
hours of technical instruction and practical operations in fundamentals of teaching and supervision of
students. Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation and
examination. Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of classroom lecture,
demonstration and supervision of students in other courses.

At this time the State of California has no licensing for the Teacher Training program.

Grading System

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade. SAP/Report
Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is
derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations. Students must maintain a “C" (70%)
academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance
average to maintain satisfactory progress.
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Curriculum for Teacher Training Course- 600 Hours

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Teacher Training course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock
hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a Teacher Training.
Technical instruction means instruction by demonstrator, lecture, classroom participation or examination.
Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another
person. Pre-requisite is a valid, Cosmetology License issued by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.

Such Technical Instruction and Practical Operations shall include:

TEACHER TRAINING CURRICULUM BREAKDOWN
600 TOTAL CLOCK HOURS
PRACTICAL
TECHNICAL PRACTICAL OPERATIONS
INSTRUCTION | OPERATIONS (ACTUAL
(HOURS) (Hours) OPERATIONS - NOT
HOURS)
Minimum Minimum Minimum
SUBJECT Hours Hours Operations
Required Required Required
State Law 10 0 0
Prepatory Instruction 120 100 100
Communication Skills
that include professional ethics, resume, job seeking 0 0
skills, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping,
interview prep, and client service records 0
Conducting Classroom 140 0 0
Classroom 100 0 0
Supervising 100 10 10
TOTAL 490 110 N/A
600 total hours
Depending on how long it fakes a student fo complete the require number of practical operations, a
student may exceed the total number of hours required in a subject, or may not yet meet the total hours
required in a subject. If a student does not yet meet the total number of hours required, the school will be
responsible for making sure the student completes additional hours to meet the total hour requirement in
that subject

Teacher Training Performance Objective
1) Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California cosmetology establishing practices.
2) Understand sterilization procedures.
3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to teaching techniques, organization, lesson
planning, evaluation and advising of students and administrative responsibilities. Acquire
knowledge of general practical application of supervising classrooms and students.
4) Acquire business management fechniques common fo teachers.

Skills to be developed
1) Use of proper implements relative to all phases of cosmetology.
2) Develop knowledge to recognize the various teaching techniques, learning styles and class
management.
3) Acquire knowledge of evaluating techniques and student advising.
4) Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in use of equipment for all phases of
cosmetology
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Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed
1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology.
2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public, students and fellow workers.
3) Appreciate honesty and integrity.
4) Have improved persondlity in dealing with clients and colleagues.
Course Levels

Phase | 2 weeks Basics and fundamentals of teaching
Intern 17 + weeks Student supervision
Phase |l 1 week Test and review

Methods used to instruct Students
Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands
on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, frade magazines, and white board.

Makeup Exams:

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be
scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege — not a right! Students should
be in attendance on examination days.

Textbooks:
PivotPoint Mindful Teaching Pro, Online Textbooks

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable
course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an
overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and
attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State
requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been
met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school.

Licensing Requirements
The State of California does not license.

BARBERING COURSE: 1500 CLOCK HOURS (50 WEEKS/30 hours per week 75 WEEKS/20 hours pers week)
(SOC #39-5011.00, CIP #12.0402)

Educational Goals:

The barbering course of study is designed to assist the student’s in passing the Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite in order to obtain a Barbering License.
The license is a requirement to operate as a barber in the State of California.

Curriculum for Barbering Course — 1500 Clock Hours

The curriculum for students enrolled in a barbering course shall consist of fiffeen hundred (1,500)

clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of
barbering. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom
participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a
complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained.
See "Applied Effort”
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Grading System

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are

measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a lefter grade. SAP/Report
Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is

derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations. Students must maintain a “C"” (70%)

academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance

average to maintain satisfactory progress.

Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:

BARBERING CURRICULUM BREAKDOWN
1500 Total Clock Hours
PRACTICAL
TECHNICAL PRACTICAL OPERATIONS
SUBJECT INSTRUCTION OPERATIONS (ACTUAL
(HOURS) (Hours) OPERATIONS -
NOT HOURS)
Minimum Minimum Minimum
Hours Hours Operations
HAIR DRESSING (1100 total hours required) Required Required Required
Hair Styling
shall include but is not limited to, the following
techniques and procedures; Hair analysis,
- ) - . . 65 240
shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb
outs, straightening, waving, curling with hot
combs and hot curling irons and blower styling. 450
Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening
Shall include, but is not limited to, the following
techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, acid
. . . 40 105
and alkaline permanent waving, chemical
straightening including the use of sodium
hydroxide and other base solutions. 205
Hair Coloring and Bleaching
Shall include but is not limited to, the following
techniques and procedures (also including, the
use of semi-permanent, demi-permanent and
S . . Iy 60 50
temporary colors): Hair analysis, predisposition
and strand tests, safety precautions, formula
mixing, tinting, bleaching, high and low lights,
and the use of dye removers. 140
Hair Cutting
Shall include but is not limited to, the following
techniques and procedures: Use of scissors, 20 80
razor (shaper), electrical clippers/ trimmers, and
thinning (tapering) shears for wet and dry
cutting. 120
Minimum Minimum Minimum
Hours Hours Operations
HEALTH AND SAFETY (200 total hours required) Required Required Required
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Laws and Regulations

The subjects of Laws and Regulations shalll
include, but is not limited to, the following issues:
The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and
Board'’s Rules and Regulations 0

20 0

Health and Safety Considerations

Shall include but is not limited to, the following
techniques and Procedures: Cosmetology
chemistry including the chemical Composition
and purpose of cosmetic, nail, hair and skin
care Preparations. Elementary chemical
makeup, chemical skin peels and chemical
and physical changes of matter. Hazardous 45 0
substances including training in chemicals and
health in establishments, protection from
hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical
injuries, ergonomics, theory of electricity in
cosmetology, bacteriology, communicable
diseases, including HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, and
staph and Material Safety Data Sheets. 0

Disinfection and Sanitation

Shall include but is not limited to, the following
technigques and procedures: Disinfection and
sanitation including proper procedures to
protect the health and safety of the consumer

as well as the technician. Proper disinfection for 20 0

equipment used in establishnments. Disinfection

shall be emphasized throughout the entire

fraining period and must be performed before

use of all instruments and equipment. 60

Anatomy and Physiology

Shall include, but is not limited to the following 15 0

issues: Human Anatomy, Human Physiology 0

Communication Skills

that include professional ethics, resume, job

seeking skills, salesmanship, decorum, record 20 0

keeping, interview prep, and client service

records 0

Board Approved Health & Safety Course 20 0 0

Minimum Minimum Minimum
Hours Hours Operations

SHAVING (200 total hours required) Required Required Required

Shaving Preparation and Performance 100 100 40
TOTAL 425 1075 N/A

1500 total hours

Depending on how long it takes a student to complete the require number of practical operations,
a student may exceed the total number of hours required in a subject, or may not yet meet the
total hours required in a subject. If a student does not yet meet the total number of hours required,
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the school will be responsible for making sure the student completes additional hours fo meet the
total hour requirement in that subject

Barbering Performance Objective

1) Acquire knowledge of law and rules regulating California’s barbering establishments’ practices.

2) Acquire knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails.

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to barbering including anatomy, physiology, chemistry,
and theory.

4) Acquire business management techniques common to barbering.

Skills to be developed

1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all barbering services.

2) Acquire knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine any
disorders.

3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in all barbering services.

4) Will learn the proper procedure for preparing the client’s hair for shaving.

5) Will learn the proper procedure assessing the condition of the client’s skin

6) Will learn the application fo perform shaving techniques, applying after-shave antiseptic following
facial services, massaging the client’s face and rolling cream massages.

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed

1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to barbering.
2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers.
3) Have improved personality towards patrons and colleagues.

Course Levels

Phase I-Foundation 15 weeks/450 hours (until basics and test out complete)
Basics and fundamentals of hair styling, shaving, facials, &
nails

Student Clinic Classroom 33 weeks/ 990 hours

Clinic client and manikin work on skills from prior class

State Board Preparation 2 weeks/ 60 hours

Mock State Board Prep and Test
Barbering and Cosmetology students are together in Phase 1, except for 1 week when men’s grooming
and shaving is completed.

Methods used to instruct Students
Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands
on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, frade magazines, and white board.

Makeup Exams:

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be
scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege — not a right! Students should
be in attendance on examination days.

Textbooks:
PivotPoint Fundamentals (FUNB) Textbook, Study Guide, Exam Prep online
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Students are provided access to Electronic Books after their cancellation period has ended and has
access for 730 days after registration. This includes any absences, Leave of Absence, or any other
disruption in your education.

There is an added option of physical books until no longer available by PivotPoint.

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable
course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an
overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and
attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State
requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been
met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school.

Licensing Requirements

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology license
will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and
graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam.
The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the
student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the
student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of
California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test unfil
the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.

Applicants take the exam in either Northern or Southern California. All fees and fransportation is the
responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License is $125.00 paid directly to the
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is $75.00. Kit rental is
$110.00 and must bring their own tri-pod, manikin head, and clippers. You must make a appointment for
the Fairfield Rentakit location prior to examination (707) 428-4477 ..

Job Opportunities

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail
artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing,
frade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product
manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and
fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon
manager.

BARBER CROSSOVER COURSE: 200 CLOCK HOURS (7 WEEKS/30 hours per week or 10 WEEKS/20 hours per
week) (SOC #39-5011.00 CIP #12.0402)

Educational Goals:

The Barber Crossover course of study is designed to assist the student’s in passing the Board of Barbering
and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite in order to obtain a Barbering
License. The license is a requirement to operate as a barber in the State of California.

Curriculum for Barber Crossover Course from Cosmetology Course — 200 Clock Hours

The curriculum for students enrolled in a barbering course shall consist of two hundred (200) clock hours
of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of barbering.
Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or
examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a complete service
on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. See “Applied Effort”
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Grading System

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade. SAP/Report
Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is
derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations. Students must maintain a “C" (70%)
academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance
average to maintain satisfactory progress.

Such Technical Instruction and Practical Operations shall include:

BARBER CROSSOVER CURRICULUM BREAKDOWN
200 Total Clock Hours
PRACTICAL
TECHNICAL PRACTICAL OPERATIONS
SUBJECT INSTRUCTION OPERATIONS (ACTUAL
(HOURS) (Hours) OPERATIONS -
NOT HOURS)
Minimum Minimum Minimum
Hours Hours Operations
SHAVING (200 total hours required) Required Required Required
Shaving Preparation and Performance 80 100 40
Communication Skills
that include professional ethics, resume, job
seeking skills, salesmanship, decorum, record 20 0
keeping, interview prep, and client service
records 0
TOTAL 100 100 N/A
200 total hours
Depending on how long it fakes a student fo complete the require number of practical operations,
a student may exceed the fotal number of hours required in a subject, or may not yet meet the
total hours required in a subject. If a student does not yet meet the total number of hours required,
the school will be responsible for making sure the student completes additional hours fo meet the
total hour requirement in that subject

Barbering Performance Objective

1) Acquire knowledge of law and rules regulating California’s barbering establishments’ practices.

2) Acquire knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails.

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to barbering including anatomy, physiology, chemistry,
and theory.

4) Acquire business management techniques common to barbering.

Skills to be developed

1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all barbering services.

2) Acquire knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine any
disorders.

3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in all barbering services.

4) Will learn the proper procedure for preparing the client’s hair for shaving.
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5) Will learn the proper procedure assessing the condition of the client’s skin
6) Will learn the application fo perform shaving techniques, applying after-shave antiseptic following
facial services, massaging the client’s face and rolling cream massages.

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed

1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to barbering.
2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers.
3) Have improved personality tfowards patrons and colleagues.

Course Levels
Foundation 1 week/30 hours
Includes shaving and mens grooming

Student Clinic Classroom 5 weeks/140 hours
State Board Preparation 1 week/30 hours

Methods used to instruct Students
Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands
on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board.

Makeup Exams:

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be
scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege — not a right! Students should
be in atfendance on examination days.

Textbooks:
PivotPoint Fundamentals (FUNB) Online

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable
course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an
overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and
attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State
requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been
met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school.

Licensing Requirements

Barber Crossover applications will take the full barber license test. Students are fransferring hours from
their Cosmetology Course to the Barbering Course.

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10t grade. A Cosmetology license
will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and
graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam.
The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the
student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the
student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of
California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until
the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.

Applicants take the exam in either Northern or Southern California. All fees and transportation is the
responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License is $125.00 paid directly to the
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is $75.00. Kit rental is
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$110.00 and must bring their own tri-pod, manikin head, and clippers. You must make an appointment
for the Fairfield Rentakit location prior to examination (707) 428-4477..

Job Opportunities

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail
artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing,
frade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product
manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and
fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon
manager.

COURSE COSTS

Addendum #6. A supplemental handout will be provided to each student upon request.

Students have the opftion to purchase their student kit and books independently or thru the College. This
added as an addendum to their Enrollment Agreement and inifialed and signed by the student.
NACOB and ABCOT reserves the right to change the tuition and fees of any and all courses, and make
subject changes without prior notice when necessary. Any change will not affect currently attending
students.

METHOD OF PAYMENT
Method of Payment: Cash, Credit Card (4% Fee), Sponsor/Funding Source , Check, Student Loan

NON PAYMENT OF OUTSTANDING BALANCES
Any non-payment of outstanding balances that go more than ninety (90) days past due will be assigned
fo a collection agency.

ACCIDENT INSURANCE POLICY

Students are advised to carry school insurance through their own insurance agent to cover personal
accidents that occur on the premises within their scheduled training time during enrollment. Students are
advised to carry vehicle insurance for theft vandalism, or loss that will cover their property or vehicle
while on school property.

SUPPLEMENTAL TRAINING
1. Applicants seeking supplemental fraining must submit o the school the Supplemental Form given
to them by the California State Board.
2. College Director of Education will review, then determine the hours that the applicant will need
to complete.
The charge for the supplemental training is $25.00 per hour.
Payment for these hours will be paid in advance-terms is cash, credit card, or ATM. No personal
checks will be accepted.
NO REFUNDS
Applicant to provide their own equipment and supplies.
No Baby Board Tests are given within their supplemental hours.
No make-up hours will be accepted.
The schedule provided by the school will be followed.
0. Uniform will be the lab coat needed for State Board testing. Applicant to follow existing uniform
policy of the school.

o
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INSTITUTIONAL REFUND POLICY
The REFUND POLICY can also be found within the Enrollment Agreement. All Enrolled Students will receive
a copy of the Enrollment Agreement.

This refund policy applies to all terminations for any reason, by either party, including student
decision/termination, course or program cancellation, or school closure.

STUDENT'S RIGHT TO CANCEL

1. You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction, without any penalty or
obligations, through attendance at the first-class session or the seventh calendar day after
enrollment, whichever is later.

2. If the Enroliment Agreement is cancelled within the 7 days from signing the Enrollment Agreement,
the school will refund 100 percent of the amount paid for institutional charges, less a reasonable
deposit or an application fee not to exceed $250.00, if the notice of cancellation is made through
aftendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enroliment, whichever is later.

3. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time; and you
have the right to receive a pro rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less of the
scheduled program.

4. Cancellation may occur when the student provides a written notice of cancellation at the following
address: North Adrian’s College of Beauty 124 Floyd Ave Modesto, CA 95350 or Adrians Beauty
College of Tracy 3000 W. Grantline Road Tracy, CA 95304. This can be done by mail or by hand
delivery.

5. The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly
addressed with proper postage. If a student fails fo notify the College in writing, the student will
automatically be withdrawn after 14 days of non-attendance.

6. The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is
effective if it shows that the student no longer wishes to be bound by the Enrolilment Agreement.

7. A withdrawal may be effectuated by the student’s written notice or by the student’s conduct,
including, but not necessarily limited, to a student’s lack of attendance.

REMEMBER THAT YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING. You do not have the right to cancel by telephone or by
not coming to class.

WITHDRAWAL FROM THE PROGRAM/INSTITUTIONAL REFUND POLICY

You may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described above) and
receive a pro rata refund within 45 days of withdrawal if you have completed 60 percent or less of the
period of attendance, based on scheduled hours. The refund will be less an application fee or deposit not
to exceed $250.00, and less any deduction for books and equipment that the student has received and
signed for. If the student has completed more than 60.01% of the period of attendance for which the
student was charged, the tuition is considered earned and the student will receive no refund. Books and Kit
are non-refundable.

For the purpose of determining a refund under this section, a student shall be deemed to have withdrawn
from a program of instruction when any of the following occurs:

e The student notifies the institution in writing of the withdrawal.

e The student has failed to attend class for fourteen (14) calendar days without any contact from the
student

e The institution terminates the student’'s enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory academic
progress; failure o abide by the rules and regulations of the institution; absences in excess of maximum
set forth by the institution; and/or failure to meet financial obligations to the School.
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e Failure to return from a leave of absence. The date of the student’s withdrawal shall be the earlier of
the scheduled date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the institution
that the student will not be returning.

All refunds are calculated based on the student’s last date of attendance.

For students who enroll and begin classes but withdraw prior to course completion (after seven business
days of signing the enrollment agreement), the following schedule of tuition earned by the school applies.
All refunds are based on scheduled hours:

Percent of Scheduled Time Enrolled to Total Program Total Tuition School Shall Retain
Prorated based on percentage of
0.01% fo 60% scheduled attendance
60.01% and over | 100% earned

The amount owed equals the daily charge for the program (total institutional charge, minus nonrefundable
fees, divided by the number of hours in the program) multiplied by the number of hours the student was
scheduled to aftend, prior to withdrawal.

If any portion of the tuition was paid from the proceeds of a loan or third party, the refund shall be sent to
the lender, third party or, if appropriate, to the state or federal agency that guaranteed or reinsured the
loan. Any amount of the refund in excess of the unpaid balance of the loan shall be first used to repay
any student financial aid programs from which the student received benefits, in proportion to the amount
of benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to the student.

The school will issue an Official Transcript and Proof of Training to student’s who withdraw prior to
program completion when the student has successfully completed the required exit paperwork and
made satisfactory arrangements for debts owed the school as approved by the school.

In the event of a course/program cancellation or school closure a student will be charged for scheduled
hours and any applicable non-refundable items or fees.

FEDERAL RETURN OF TITLE IV FUNDS POLICY

The law requires that when you withdraw during a payment period, the amount of SFA program
assistance that you have earned up to that point is determined by a specific formula. If you received (or
the school received on your behalf) less assistance that the amount you earned, you will be able to
receive those additional funds. If you received more assistance than you earned, the excess funds must
be returned. For the purpose of determining the amount you owe, you shall be deemed to have
withdrawn from the course when any of the following occurs: a. You nofify the school of your withdrawall
or the actual date of withdrawal; b the School terminates your enroliment; c. You fail to attend classes
for 14 days without any contact with the school; d. You fail to return from a leave of absence. In this
case, the date of withdrawal shall be deemed to be the last date of recorded attendance.

The school is required to perform a “Return to Title IV" (R2T4) calculation to determine the amount of
financial aid a student has earned during the payment period. The return amount is calculated by
dividing the scheduled hours that the student could have attended by the total hours in the payment
period.

A student would be owed a post-disbursement of Title IV funds upon withdrawal from the Institution if the
amount already received is less than the amount the student earned, and for which the student is
otherwise eligible. The student would be then eligible to receive a Post-withdrawal disbursement of the
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earned aid that was not received. A school must offer any amount of a Post-withdrawal disbursement
that is not credited to the student’s account within 30 days of the determination. A Pell disbursement can
be posted without the student’s approval/nofification; however, a Federal loan disbursement will require
the student consent of approval prior to the school disbursing such funds.

The Order that Title IV program funds must be returned:
1. Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loan
2. Federal Direct Subsidized Loan
3. Federal PLUS Loan
4. Federal Pell Grant
5. Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)

Time frame to return funds to the Federal program is 45 days from the Date of Determination of the
student’s withdrawal.

How earned aid is calculated:

The school determines the clock hours completed in the payment period and divides those hours by
total clock hours in the payment period. If the percentage is greater than 60.01%, the student has
earned 100% of his/her and no Title IV aid received is returned to the Federal program. However, if the
percentage is equal to 60% or less, the school is required to calculate the amount the student earned in
the payment period. For example, let’s assume a student is scheduled to complete 225 hours out of the
450 hours in the payment period. In this scenario, the school will divide 225 clock hours scheduled to
complete by 450 hours in the payment period resulting in a 50%. The school then multiplies 50% against
the amount of Federal Aid the student received to calculate the amount the student earned. Samples
of Refunds based on the College’s Refund Policy and the return to Title IV Policy are available upon
request by contacting the Financial Aid office during regular business hours.

After a return of Title IV aid is performed, a student may still owe a balance to the school.

TUITION AND FEE POLICIES
All fuition and fees are due upon enroliment.

ADDITIONAL INCIDENTAL COSTS FOR ALL COURSES

Binders, pens, pencils, note paper, uniforms, products for student practice, sanitary containers,
examination fee for the State examination, rental kit fee for the State examination are all incidental costs
for all of the courses at the college. These items must be purchased by the student either at the college
or paid for outside of the college. Should a student use the ATM card, a use fee of 4% will be added per
fransaction. If a credit card is used to pay a fuition payment, four percent will be charged on the
payment made by credit card.

TUITION FEE FOR RE-ENROLLED / TRANSFER STUDENTS
The hourly tuition charges for transfer or re-enrolled students who have prior hours are charged the
current hourly rate per course at the time the enrollment agreement is signed.

EXTRA INSTRUCTIONAL CHARGES

Each course has been scheduled for completion within an allotted time frame. This time frame is your
scheduled graduation date on your enrollment agreement. There is no grace period for completion of
your program. It is not redlistic to expect to receive an education for free. The school has reserved
space, equipment, and licensed instructors for each student and course. If a student does not graduate
within the contract period, additional training will be billed at the rate as stated on your enrolliment
agreement, until graduation. Extra instructional charges or satisfactory payment arrangements must be
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made prior to the completion of all graduation requirements and receiving your Proof of Training and
Diploma.

FINANCIAL AID - CONSUMER INFORMATION
Due to various approvals, authorization, and accreditation, Institution’s students are eligible to apply for
and receive tuition aid and financial assistance while attending our college. A list of these programs
includes:

1. Federal Pell Grant

2. Subsidized Federal Direct Loan

3. Unsubsidized Federal Direct Loan

4

5

. Direct PLUS Loan
. Private Alternative Loan

If you wish to apply for financial aid assistance, you must establish financial aid eligibility each year. In
order to determine if you are eligible for financial aid, you must complete the application process, meet
academic progress standards, and be enrolled full time.

Financial assistance awarded through NACOB and ABCOT, may consist of a combination of grants,
loans, and scholarships. NACOB and ABCOT Participates with state, federal and private agencies in
providing various aid programs.

Federal Pell Grant Program- this grant is an important source of aid for students who demonstrate
financial need. It is dependent upon determination of eligibility, enrollment status, cost of
attendance and a payment schedule issued by the U.S. Department of Education. A grant does
not have to be repaid.

Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant - each year the college makes a limited
number of awards to students through the Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant
program. These funds are targeted to those students who have the lowest calculated family
contribution.

Federal Direct Loans Subsidized - students requiring additional assistance may wish to apply for a
federal loan. Repayment begins six months after the student leaves the college. Students not
qualifying for a Subsidized Federal Direct Loan may apply for an Unsubsidized Federal Direct
Loan. There is no pre-payment penalty with this loan.

Federal Direct Loans Unsubsidized - Independent students may also borrow in the Federal
Unsubsidized program and choose to begin interest payments while in school and principal
payments six (6) months after graduation.

Direct PLUS - through the Federal Parent Loan for Undergraduate Students Program, the parents
of dependent students may borrow to meet educational expenses. Repayment of this loan
begins sixty (60) days after the first disbursement.

Private Alternative Loans - loans are private, credit-based student loans for technical training or
frade schools, online courses, and other continuing education programs. To be eligible you must
be a U.S. Citizen or permanent resident and have an established credit history. Loan has interest
rates and fees that regard good credit. Repayment terms of up to 15 years are available. If you
have less than ideal credit or no credit at all, you can still be eligible for the loan by applying with
a creditworthy cosigner.
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Bureau of Indian Affairs Grant (BIA) - Available to help eligible Native American students who:
o Have af least one fourth Native American, Eskimo, or Aleutfian heritages as certified by
tfribal agencies served by the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
o Are enrolled or plan to enroll as an undergraduate student on a full time basis.
BIA grants are not automatically awarded. It is important that students apply early to meet
deadline dates set by area offices.

GENERAL FINANCIAL AID INFORMATION

Full time Financial Aid Officers/Aids are available to assist you in obtaining the financial assistance
required fo meet your educational needs. You may apply for financial aid by contacting the Financial
Aid office to discuss the process and time lines to apply for aid and completing the Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).

The FAFSA helps determine the amount of assistance for which you are eligible. This analysis fakes info
account factors such as income, assets, number of family members in your household, and the number
of your family members enrolled in college.

When to apply: you should apply for financial aid as soon as you decide to enroll at NACOB and ABCOT.
Your Financial Aid Officer/Aid will assist you with the forms needed to begin the application process. You
should have a complete financial aid file to ensure timely receipt of financial aid funds. A complete
financial aid file consists of NACOB and ABCOT receipt of a student’s FAFSA data from the Department
of Education, a completed loan enfrance interview (if required), and submission of verification items (if
required).

You must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), Renewal FAFSA or FAFSA online
at https://fafsa.ed.gov. Prior to applying you must establish an FSA ID by going onto the website;
https://fsaid.ed.gov. If you are considered to be a dependent student, the Parent must also establish an
FSA Id. If you need assistance with either of the above items please make an appointment with the
Financial Aid office.

WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?2

Once you have submitted the FAFSA or FOTW, you will be sent a Student Aid Report (SAR or e-SAR). The
SAR or e-SAR should be checked for accuracy. Contact the school immediately in case you think
corrections are needed. Once the SAR or e-SAR has been determined to be complete, a financial aid
award letter will be given to you which will state the student need (the cost of your education), family
contribution, amount of grants awarded, and the amount of loans needed. If you are chosen for
verification or have a C code, you must complete the verification process within the first payment
period. An inferim Pell Disbursement can be made prior to completion of verification however no Direct
Loans will be disbursed until verification has been completed. Any funds that you are not eligible for due
to a verification correction will be returned to the appropriate Title IV Program. Students who do not
complete verification by the required deadline will have all Title IV funds disbursed returned back to the
appropriate program. This could result in loss of some Financial Aid Eligibility. In order to receive
Subsidized, Unsubsidized, or PLUS loan funds, an Entrance Counseling and Master Promissory Note (MPN)
must be completed online at https://studentloans.gov.

Funds are then disbursed by the Administrative office and a receipt will be given. Award and loan funds
are typically disbursed after 30 days for the first-year students and within two weeks for second year
students.

Upon graduation you will have an exit interview which will cover the schedules of repayment, terms of
repayment, as well as loan exit counseling.
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COMPLIANCE STATEMENT

The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be nofified that the disclosure of their social
security number is mandatory. The social security number is used to verify students’ identities, to process
the awarding of funds, the collection of funds, and the fracing of individuals who have borrowed funds
from federal, state or private programs.

FINANCIAL AID PHILOSOPHY

This college believes that the talents, hopes, and ambitions of all people are among our nation’s most
valued possession. With this thought in mind, this college continues to promote scholarship, grant and
loan opportunities for qualified, deserving students who must find funds to attend college. The
fundamental purpose of this college’s financial aid programs is, therefore, fo make it possible for students
who would normally be deprived of a college education because of inadequate funds, fo attend
college. The following principles have been adopted for our financial aid program.

PRINCIPLES

1. This college will work with schools, community groups, and other educational institutions in
support of the national goal of equality of educational opportunities.

2. The expected family contributions affect the student’s cost of education. This school expects
parents to contribute financially, according to their means, taking info account, their incomes,
assets, number of dependents, and other relevant information. Students are also expected to
conftribute from their own earnings and assets, including borrowing against future earnings.

3. Financial aid will be offered after determining whether the family’s resources are insufficient to
meet the student’'s educational expenses. The amount of aid offered will not exceed the
amount needed to meet the difference between the student’s total educational expenses and
the family's resources.

4. In awarding funds to eligible students, the amount and the type of self-help will be related to the
circumstances of the individual and the largess amount of grant assistance will be offered to
students with the least ability to pay.

FINANCIAL AID MECHANISM

Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces out of pocket costs those students and/or parents must pay to
obtain a specific Post-Secondary education. Presented differently, financial aid is money made
available to help students meet the cost of college attendance. Financial aid includes grants, loans, or
part time work. Grants do not have to be repaid. Loans usually have low interest rates and must be
repaid in accordance to the individual loan program terms. Most of the loans can be arranged to
require payment after a grace period of several months upon graduation, or upon the student’s
fermination form the program or if a student’'s attendance falls below half time. Financial aid is awarded
fo sfudents who have “need.” Need is the difference between the amount of money that the family will
be expected to confribute to meet student costs and the cost of education at this school.

STUDENT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
e To be eligible for financial aid, a student must:
Be admitted as a regular student.
Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible program on at least a half time basis.
Be a citizen or an eligible non-citizen
Not owe arefund on a Pell Grant or SEOG at any school
Not be in default on a Perkins Loan or Stafford Loan / SLSL/ PLUS at any school.
Have financial need.
Be making satisfactory progress (as defined by the school’s policy) in the course of study.
Be registered for selective service (if a male born after January 1, 1960).
Have signed a statement of educational purpose.
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¢ Have signed a statement of updated information.
¢ Have a high school diploma, a GED, completion of a home-schooling secondary program.
e Agree to use any federal student aid received solely for educational purposes.

THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS
NACOB and ABCOT are approved for, and does participate in the following programs intended to
defray the costs of attending for those students eligible for financial aid considerations;

e Federal Pell Grant Program (PELL)

e Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant Program (FSEOG)

e Direct Federal Educational Loan Programs

APPLICATION PROCEDURES AND FORMS
Financial aid applications for this institution consist of the following:

STUDENT QUESTIONNAIRE

e Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). This form needs to be completed as instructed
on the form. Documentation to substantiate the data entered on the form may be required by
the Financial Aid Office.
Enrollment contract.
Statement of Educational purpose.
Statement regarding prior financial aid. Neither defaulted loans, nor refunds due are outstanding.
Statement of Registration compliance.
Statement of Utilization of funds and disbursement procedures.
Verification process if selected by the Federal Student Aid Commission includes documentation
regarding income, assets, and statfus.

UNSUBSIDIZED DIRECT LOANS & DIRECT PARENT PLUS
These loans expand the ability of students to receive loan funds. These loans carry many of the same
terms and conditions associated with subsidized loans with the following two exceptions:

1. Unsubsidized Direct loans are not based on need. Students may borrow up to $25,000, not to
exceed annual loan limits.

2. There are no interest subsidies by the Federal Government on the loans, therefore while the
student is enrolled or during periods of deferment, interest must either be paid or capitalized. l.e.
added to the principle balance.

3. Student will pay interest based on credit reliability and co-signers credit reliability. Students may
apply for and receive more than one unsubsidized direct loan provided the combined amount
borrowed does not exceed applicable loan limits.

*Unsubsidized Direct Loans are need based up to $6000, Direct Parent PLUS loans are need based up to
remaining need.

If a student obtains a loan to pay for a educational program, the student will have the responsibility to
repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student
received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid
from the federal student financial aid program funds.

DEADLINES: FAFSA deadline for the academic year is June 30 of each year.

DISBURSEMENT: Lenders issued checks payable to the student only or co-payable to the college and the
student. It is the student’s responsibility to submit all forms and documentation fo the
financial aid office in accordance with the deadlines applicable to each loan program
from which aid is being requested. It is the student’s responsibility to comply with all
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obligations involved in the receipt of federal and/or state aid. For more information about
these programs, including application procedures, eligibility, rights and obligations
pertaining to each program, please refer to the U.S.D.O.E. Student Guide. Loans are
certified for institutional charges only.

FEDERAL SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANT (SEOG)
Funds received under this program are not subject to repayment by the student.

DEADLINE: You may apply during the enrollment process, using the college’s forms and procedures.
Each school sets it own deadlines for receiving applications; however, since the government limits these
funds, the school awards them on a first come, first served basis. The school will provide you a letter listing
the amount and types of financial aid you will get, including the SEOG award.

DISBURSEMENT: On the basis of per payment period via a check payable to the student or via a direct
credit fo the student’s tuition account. Priority for SEOG funds will be given to those students with the
lowest expected family contribution who will receive Pell Grants. Because of this institution’s policy of
year-round enrollment, funds will be allocated on a first come, first served basis for those individuals
meeting this criteria. Professional judgment may be used for certain exceptions based on extenuating
circumstances with appropriate documentation. Please refer to FSEOG selection criteria.

For additional information on each of the Federal Financial Aid programs described above, review, “The
Student Guide” published by the United States Department of Education. This publication is available at
the college and at public libraries.

DETERMINING NEED

The information you report when you apply for aid is used in a formula, established by Congress, which
calculates your Expected Family Contribution. NACOB and ABCOT utilizes the Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for students applying for aid. This form will be processed by a contractor of
the U.S. Department of education at no cost to the student. The results will be provided in the form of an
Electronic Student Aid Report with the calculation of the Expected Family Conftribution.

DEFINITIONS
The following terminology corresponds with common terms used within financial aid definitions.

ACADEMIC YEAR

30 scheduled weeks of instructional fime with a minimum of 200 scheduled clock hours of instruction for a
full-fime student. The midpoint of the academic year shall be a minimum of 15 weeks and at least 450
clock hours. In effect, all students enrolled in courses with an academic year schedule to be completed
in less than 30 weeks, regardless of the number of clock hours offered, would have aid eligibility reduced
in proportion to the number of weeks and hours in the course of study in relation to the academic year.

CLOCK HOUR
50 to 60 minutes of supervised instruction during a 60-minute period.

DEPENDENT STUDENT:

A dependent student is an individual that does not meet the independent student criteria. This student is
required to submit with their application, student, spouse (if applicable), and parents’ income and assets
data.

FAMILY CONTRIBUTION (EFC)
The amount that has been calculated as family contribution fo offset the student cost of attendance.
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FINANCIAL AID ELIGIBILITY / CITIZEN / Eligible NON-CITIZEN:
You must be one of the following to receive Federal Student Aid:
U.S. Citizen
U.S. Natfional
U.S. Permanent resident who has an |-151 or I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card)
Departure Record (I-94) from the US Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing one of
the following designations:
a) Refugee
b) Asylum Granted
c) Indefinite parole and/or Humanitarian Parole
d) Cuban - Haitian entrant, status pending
e) Conditional Entrant (valid only if issued before April 1980)
f)  An approval form [-797
g) 1-688 with valid expiration date.

IF YOU ARE IN THE US UNDER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS, YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR FEDERAL
AID:

e F1 or F2 student visa

e J1 or J2 exchange visitor visa only

e [-688 q, -688 b, or I-688 c (Amnesty Applicant)

INDEPENDENT STUDENT:
An individual who meets one of the following criteria:
1.) Meets Federal Age requirement
2.) An orphan or ward of the court
3.) A Veteran of the U.S. Armed forces
4.) Anindividual with legal dependents other than a spouse.
5.) A married individual
6.) A graduate or professional student.

PARENT(S): For the purposes of the financial aid programs, “parent” is mother and/or father or
adoptive/step parents or legal guardian, not foster parents.

PAYMENT PERIOD: 450 hours and a minimum of 15 weeks for courses of 200 hours or more. Midpoint of the
program for courses of less than 900 hours and 30 weeks.

NEED: Financial need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution from your
cost of attendance.

RECOVERIES

Recoveries resulting on funds paid to students for personal expenses which exceed the amount needed
(based on the months attended times the monthly budget allowance) will be due from the student to
the Title IV Programs. Students will be required to pay for recoveries to the program in this prescribed
order, First FEDERAL PELL GRANTS and Second to FEDERAL SEOG Granfs.

REFUNDS

In a case where a refund is due to the Title IV Programs, the application of the refund will be made as
follows: Direct, PLUS, FPELL, and FSEOG. This order will be applied providing the student received funds
from that program and in amounts not to exceed the amounts originally paid from each program.
Refund due to the lender or the aid programs account will be made within 45 days. When a student
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requests a fransfer to another school, NACOB or ABCOT may charge a reasonable fee, not fo exceed
$25.00 for preparation of academic and financial documentation requested by the student.

TRANSFER STUDENT

A student who attended a post-secondary institution prior to the enrollment at NACOB or ABCOT, is
required to provide a Financial Aid transcript from each of the institutions attended if requested on the
student’s ISIR. The institution utilizes USDOE's ED Express Software for processing of financial aid, and the
NSLDS system, this allows us to check a student’s attendance so that less overpayment situations occur.

VERIFICATION PROCESS

Federal regulations 34 C.F.R. Part 668, Subpart E, dated March 14, 1986, executing legislation 20 U.S.C.
1094 governing the Title IV programs require schools to be sure of certain applicant reported data. These
regulafions require schools to develop written policies and procedures for verification. The school is
required to make these policies available to all applicants for financial aid, as well as prospective
students upon request. This procedure is part of the Admissions and Counseling process. To follow the
regulations and achieve consistency governing this process, the following verification policies apply to all
applicants for Title IV programs. Under the regulations, the school will not disburse Pell or Campus based
aid until verification is completed.

WHO MUST BE VERIFIED:

The policy of this school shall be to verify those students selected by the need analysis (SAR or ISIR) system
for verification. In the absence of conflicting documentation, applicants excluded from verification
include:

e Legal Residents of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Guan, Samoa, and the Marianna
islands. This includes dependent students whose parents are also legal residents of one of these
islands.

e Dependent students whose parents are residing in a country other than the United States. This
applies to other than the United States and only if the student cannot contact the parents by
normal means.

e Dependent students whose parents are dead or are physically or mentally ill, or whose parents

address is unknown.
Immigrants who arrived in the United States during either the calendar year or Award Year.
Those submitted for an Award Year if the applicant dies during the Award Year.
Those submitted for an Award year if the applicant is imprisoned at the fime of verification.
Those submitted when the applicant does not receive financial assistance for reasons other than
their failure to confirm information on the application.
e Other exclusions, on a documented individual case basis, af the discretion of the financial aid
officer. An applicant need not document spouse information or provide a spouse’s signature if:
a. The spouse is residing in another country and the student cannot contact the spouse
by normal means of communication.
b. The student cannot locate the spouse because their address is unknown.
c. The spouse is dead, or mentally or physically ill.

VERIFICATION ITEMS:
Examine the data items listed in 34 C.F.R. 668.56. Different data items apply to different applicants
depending upon student dependency status and the Title IV programs used. Data items include.
e Adjusted gross income (AGI) or adjusted gross family income (AFGI) for the base year.
e U.S.income tax paid for the base year.
e Total number of family members in the household, if that number is greater than two dependent
students and one for independent students.
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e The number of family members in the household now enrolled as at least half-time students in
postsecondary educational institutions.
e The factors relating to an applicant’s independent student status.
e Untaxed income and benefits for the base year including:
o Social Security benefits
o Child Support, if the student has information regarding child support or has reason to
believe the student received support.
o Income tax deduction for a payment made to an Individual Retirement Account or
Keogh account.
The following other untaxed income and benefits:
o Untaxed dividends and capital gains.
o Foreign income omission, if the school has information regarding the omission or has
reason to believe the student omitted foreign income.
o Earnedincome credit.

The school shall resolve inconsistent, application information for all applicants, in agreement with
requirements of 34 C.F.R. Part 688.16(f).

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED:

To confirm adjusted gross income (AGI/AGFI), and income tax paid, applicants shall provide the
appropriate income tax tfranscripts (IRS 1040, 1040A, or 1040EX) of the applicant, applicant’s spouse,
and/or applicant’s parents. The student must provide a signed copy of the income tax transcript. For
non-tax filers, the school’s financial aid officer will request appropriate documentation. For all students
selected for verification, a verification worksheet is to be filled out and signed by all appropriate parties.
This worksheet will confirm the number of household members, number of household members in
college, and verification of income source.

APPLICANT'’S RESPONSIBILITIES:

To be eligible to receive Title IV funds, applicants are required to provide requested information during
the time period(s) specified in these policies. Applicants must certify that the following items are correct
as listed on the original application: or, if not correct, they must update the data items, as of the date of
verification.

e Number of family members in the household.

e Number of family members in the household now enrolled as at least half-time students on
Postsecondary educational institutions.

e Change in dependency status. Pell Grant applicants whose dependency status changes during
the Award year must file a correction application. This process does not apply if the change
occurs due to marriage. Campus based applicants whose dependency status changes during
the Award Year must have their EFC recalculated. This process does not apply if the change
occurs due to marriage, the applicant must repay any over award, or any award, discovered
during verification, for which the student was not eligible.

CONSEQUENCES OF FAILURE TO PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION WITHIN THE SPECIFIED TIME PERIOD(S):
If the student cannoft provide all required documentation, the school cannot complete the verification
process by the mid-point. The school must then advise applicants that they are not eligible for financial
aid funds. The school then gives the applicants the following options:
e The student may continue training on a cash payment basis, to be arranged through a new
contract.
¢ The student may withdraw and re-enroll, but must pay withdrawal fees and enrollment fees.
There will be no loss of credit earned when the student provides all proof, and verification is
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complete. The student may be accepted at the level of fraining in which they were withdrawn
depending on classroom space.

e The applicant must repay any over award or any award for which the student was not eligible as
discovered during the verification process.

TOLERANCES:

For the Pell SAR, with an original EFC (Expected Family Contribution) of zero, the school shall use the zero
EFC Charts to determine whether the applicant must resubmit their SAR because of a change in
information. The student must make appropriate corrections on Part 2 of the SAR. A new EFC is
computed when required as a result of comments on the SAR, and/or as a result of data item changes.
This occurs regardless of the absolute error amount

For the Campus based programs, the school shall recalculate an applicant’s EFC if:
e There are any errors in non-dollar items used to calculate the EFC, and/or;
e There is an absolute dollar error of $100.

NOTIFICATION OF RESULTS OF VERIFICATION:
The school shall notify the applicant of additional information or documentation needed for verification.
This occurs through contact with the financial aid officer or by mailing to the applicant’s resident address
the Verification Follow Up Form. This form indicates additional items needed. The school shall notify the
applicant of any change in the originally computed Pell Grant award. The student shall sign and date
the SAR certified for payment.
The school shall nofify the applicant when they complete verification by:

e Obtaining the student’s signature and date on the SAR certified for payment.

e Providing the student a receipt for any Campus based funds credited fo their fuition account.

REFERRAL PROCEDURE:

The school shall forward to the Secretary of Education, the name, social security number, and other
information, on any applicant receiving funds. The school reports on possibly incorrect information after
they make a reasonable effort to resolve the discrepancy. Under implementation of the regulation, the
school shall refer to appropriate authorities the name, social security number, and other information
about the applicant to satisfy 34 C.F.R. 668.1.4(g).

STUDENTS RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES
The student has the right o ask the school:
e The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations.
e Aboutits programs; it's instructional, laboratory, and their physical facilities; and its faculty.
e What the cost of attending is and the policy on refunds to students who drop out.
e What financial assistance is available; including information on all federal, state, local, private
and institutional financial aid programs.
What the procedures and deadlines are for submitting application for each available financial
aid program.
How it selects financial aid recipients.
How it determines financial need.
How much of your financial need, as determined by the school, has been met.
To explain each type and amount of assistance in your financial aid package.
What the interest rate is on any student loan you have, the total amount you must repay, when
you must start repaying, and what cancellation or dormant (postponement) provisions apply.
e Toreconsider your aid package, if you believe a mistake has been made, or if your enrollment or
financial circumstances have changed.
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How the school defermines whether you are making satisfactory progress and what happens if
you are not.
What special facilities and services are available to the handicapped.

It is the student’s responsibility to:

Review and consider all the information about the school program before enrolling.

Pay special attention to the application for student financial aid, and complete it accurately,
and submit it on time to the right place. Errors can delay or prevent your receiving aid.

Know and comply with all deadlines for applying and reapplying for aid.

Provide all documentation, corrections, and/or new information requested by either the financial
aid officer or the agency to which you submitted the application.

Notify the school of any information that has changed since you applied.

Read, understand, and keep copies of all forms you were asked fo sign.

Repay any student loan. When you sign a promissory note, you are agreeing to repay your loan.
Request an exit interview at the time you are leaving the school to determine the net balance of
your account with the school as well as the net balance of any student loan.

Notify the school of a change in your name, address, phone number, or attendance status
(full/part time student). If you have student loans, you must notify your lender of these changes.
Understand your school's refund policy.

Understand and comply with the enroliment status, financial charges, financial terms, time
allowed to complete, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the enrollment
confract you will be asked to sign.

Understand that it is your responsibility and your liability when errors are made and funds for which
you are not eligible or are advanced to you or credited to your school account.
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State Tuition Recovery Fund Disclosure

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate
economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a
California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the
institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you
must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program,
and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if
you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.”

(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall
include the following statement in its school catalog:

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or
any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may
be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 225,
Sacramento, California, 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid
fuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of
any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was
closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the
Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the
closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within
the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the
closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution
as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program
more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as
required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of fuition
and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court,
based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been
unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and
have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.
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To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of
the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection may,
at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been
eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the
student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4)
year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer
identification number.”

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Sections 94923,
94924 and 94925, Education Code.
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NOTIFICATION OF RIGHTS UNDER FERPA FOR POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTIONS
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) afford eligible students certain rights with respect
to their education records. (An “eligible student” under FERPA is a student who is 18 years of age or
older or who atftends a postsecondary instfitution.) These rights include:

1. Theright to inspect and review the student's education records within 45 days after the day the [Name
of postsecondary institution (“School”)] receives a request for access. A student should submit to the
registrar, dean, head of the academic department, or other appropriate official, a written request that
identifies the record(s) the student wishes to inspect. The school official will make arrangements for
access and notify the student of the time and place where the records may be inspected. If the records
are not maintained by the school official to whom the request was submitted, that official shall advise
the student of the correct official to whom the request should be addressed.

2. Theright to request the amendment of the student’'s education records that the student believes is
inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise in violation of the student’s privacy rights under FERPA.
A student who wishes to ask the school to amend a record should write the school official
responsible for the record, clearly identify the part of the record the student wants changed,
and specify why it should be changed.

If the school decides not to amend the record as requested, the school will notify the student
in writing of the decision and the student’s right to a hearing regarding the request for
amendment. Additional information regarding the hearing procedures will be provided to
the student when notified of the right to a hearing.

3. The right fo provide written consent before the university discloses personally identifiable information (Pll)
from the student's education records, except to the extent that FERPA authorizes disclosure without con-
sent.

The school discloses education records without a student’s prior written consent under the
FERPA exception for disclosure to school officials with legitimate educational inferests. A
school official is a person employed by the [School] in an administrative, supervisory,
academic, research, or support staff position (including law enforcement unit personnel and
health staff); a person serving on the board of frustees; or a student serving on an official
committee, such as a disciplinary or grievance committee. A school official also may include
a volunteer or contractor outside of the [School] who performs an institutional service of
function for which the school would otherwise use its own employees and who is under the
direct confrol of the school with respect to the use and maintenance of Pll from education
records, such as an aftorney, auditor, or collection agent or a student volunteering fo assist
another school official in performing his or her tasks. A school official has a legitimate
educational interest if the official needs to review an education record in order to fulfill his or
her professional responsibilities for the [School].

[Optional] Upon request, the school also discloses education records without consent to offi-
cials of another school in which a student seeks or intends to enroll. [NOTE TO
POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTION: FERPA requires a school to make a reasonable attempt to
notify each student of these disclosures unless the school states in its annual nofification that it
intends to forward records on request.]

4. The right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged failures by the
[School] fo comply with the requirements of FERPA. The name and address of the Office that administers
FERPA is:

Family Policy Compliance Office
U.S. Department of Education
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400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202

FERPA permits the disclosure of PIl from students’ education records, without consent of the student, if the
disclosure meets certain conditions found in §99.31 of the FERPA regulations. Except for disclosures to
school officials, disclosures related to some judicial orders or lawfully issued subpoenas, disclosures of
directory information, and disclosures to the student, §99.32 of FERPA regulations requires the institution to
record the disclosure. Eligible students have a right to inspect and review the record of disclosures. A
postsecondary institution may disclose PIl from the education records without obtaining prior written
consent of the student -

To other school officials, including teachers, within the [School] whom the school has determined to have
legitimate educational interests. This includes contractors, consultants, volunteers, or other parties to
whom the school has outsourced institutional services or functions, provided that the conditions listed in
§99.31(a)(1)(i)(B)(1) - (a)(1)(i)(B)(2) are met. (§99.31(a)(1))

To officials of another school where the student seeks or infends to enroll, or where the student is already
enrolled if the disclosure is for purposes related to the student’s enrollment or fransfer, subject to the
requirements of §99.34. (§99.31(a)(2))

To authorized representatives of the U. S. Comptroller General, the U. S. Attorney General, the U.S.
Secretary of Education, or State and local educational authorities, such as a State postsecondary
authority that is responsible for supervising the university's State-supported education

programs. Disclosures under this provision may be made, subject to the requirements of §99.35, in
connection with an audit or evaluation of Federal- or State-supported education programs, or for the
enforcement of or compliance with Federal legal requirements that relate to those programs. These
entities may make further disclosures of Pll fo outside entities that are designated by them as their
authorized representatives to conduct any audit, evaluation, or enforcement or compliance activity on
their behalf. (§§99.31(a)(3) and 99.35)

In connection with financial aid for which the student has applied or which the student has received, if
the information is necessary to determine eligibility for the aid, determine the amount of the aid,
determine the conditions of the aid, or enforce the terms and conditions of the aid. (§99.31(a)(4))

To organizations conducting studies for, or on behalf of, the schooal, in order to: (a) develop, validate, or
administer predictive tests; (b) administer student aid programs; or (c) improve instruction. (§99.31(a)(6))
To accrediting organizations to carry out their accrediting functions. ((§99.31(a)(7))

To parents or guardians of dependent minors of an eligible student if the student is a dependent for IRS
fax purposes. (§99.31(a)(8))

To comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued subpoena. (§99.31(a)(9))

To appropriate officials in connection with a health or safety emergency, subject to

§99.36. (§99.31(a)(10))

Information the school has designated as “directory information” under §99.37. (§99.31(a)(11))

To a victim of an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence or a non-forcible sex offense, subject to the
requirements of §99.39. The disclosure may only include the final results of the disciplinary proceeding
with respect to that alleged crime or offense, regardless of the finding. (§99.31(a)(13))

To the general public, the final results of a disciplinary proceeding, subject to the requirements of §99.39,
if the school determines the student is an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence or non-forcible sex
offense and the student has committed a violation of the school’s rules or policies with respect to the
allegation made against him or her. (§99.31(a)(14))

To parents of a student regarding the student’s violation of any Federal, State, or local law, or of any rule
or policy of the school, governing the use or possession of alcohol or a confrolled substance if the school
determines the student committed a disciplinary violation and the student is under the age of 21.
(§99.31(a)(15))
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North Adrian’s College of Beauty
NACOB and ABCOT of Tracy

POLICY FOR SAFEGUARDING CUSTOMER INFORMATION

Definitions:
Customers are prospective students and students who apply to attend the colleges above and apply for
private or government grants or loans to finance their education.

Nonpublic personal information is information which is not publicly available on
e Your name, address, and social security number.

Name of your financial institution, account number

Information provided on you application to enroll in the colleges above

Information provided on your application for a grant or loan

Information provided on a consumer report

Information obtained from a website

North Adrian’s College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy are committed to implementing a
comprehensive information security program, consonant with the size and complexity of these institutions
and the nature of its educational activities, to maintain and safeguard your nonpublic personal
information against damage or loss. The policy covers all student records in whatever format (hard
copy, electronic).

The Director shall be responsible to coordinate the school’s information security program. The
coordinator shall, at least once every three years, assess foreseeable internal and external risks to the
security, confidentiality, and infegrity of customer information that could result in the unauthorized
disclosure, misuse, alteration, destruction or other compromise of the information. The risk assessment
shall cover every relevant area of school operation, including:

e Employee training and management
e Network and software design, information processing, storage, tfransmission and disposal
e Ways to detect, prevent, and respond to attacks, infrusions or other system failures

The coordinator shall design and implement safeguards to control identified risks and shall monitor the
effectiveness of them, recommending changes when warranted.

Records for prospective students who are not accepted or who do not enroll in either of the colleges
shall be held for three months, and then destroyed in a secure manner. Records of students shall be
maintained in accordance with federal and state law and accreditation requirements.

Students shall receive an initial notice of this policy at the time they submit a signed application for
enrollment. All currently enrolled students shall receive an annual notice on January 3 of each year by
posting throughout the college and on the colleges’ website.

North Adrian’s College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy shall only enter into servicing

agreements with service providers who also maintain appropriate safeguards for customers’ nonpublic
personal information.
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North Adrian’s College of Beauty
NACOB and ABCOT of Tracy

NOTICE ON DISCLOSURE OF NONPUBLIC PERSONAL INFORMATION

We collect nonpublic personal information about you when you apply to attend our colleges and/or
when you apply for a private or government grant or loan. This information includes:
e Your name
Address
Social security number
Assets and income
Name of your bank and account number

We do not disclose this information to any person or institution except to the United States
Department of Education, loan guarantee agencies, and/or loan servicing agencies. We may also
disclose nonpublic personal information about you to non-affiliated third parties as permitted by law. For
example, accrediting agencies have access to any records we maintain on you pursuant to the Federal
Family Educational and Privacy Rights Act.

Your applications, containing the nonpublic personal information listed above, are maintained
and safeguarded against loss or damage. Access to them is restricted to designated employees.

You may “opt out” of disclosure of this information to parties other than those with a right fo it by
signing and refurning the attached coupon.

North Adrian’s College of Beauty
NACOB and ABCOT of Tracy

Consumer Nonpublic personal Information “Opt Out” Coupon

I hereby “opt out” of having my nonpublic personal information disclosed to any party that does not
have aright to it.

Signature Date

Print name
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CAMPUS CRIME SECURITY REPORT
See Addendum #3

STUDENT PERFORMANCE RATES
See Addendum #4. A Supplemental handout is given to each student prior to enrollment.

CERTIFICATION STATEMENT
This catalog and the contract shall be an agreement by the college and the student.

| certify that the information and policies contained in this Consumer Guide and Catalog are frue in
content and policy. This college enforces such policies pertaining to the standards of progress and rules
and regulations sef forth by the college.

Rebecca Abinales
Director

Revised: December 7, 2021
Calendar Year: 2021/2023
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Addendum #1 Added 11/24/2014
DISCRIMINATION GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

This process is infended for any student who believes that he or she has been discriminated against by
any member of the College community to file a complaint and have that complaint resolved by the
College. In accordance with the institution's mission statement, the school will make every attempt to
resolve any student complaint that is not frivolous or without merit. These procedures are available in the
College’s Catalog and Consumer Guide. Students should read these procedures to familiarize
themselves with the steps to follow should they want to file a complaint.

How to file a Complaint

A student who believes that he or she has experienced or withessed discrimination should promptly
report such incidents to their Educator. Students should complete the Discrimination Grievance Form
(“Complaint”) and submit it to the school Director at the student’s campus. If a Complaint is submitted
in another written format, such as a letter, the College may ask the student to complete the form but a
complaint will not be rejected because a form was not used. All complaints must be filed no later than
90 calendar days after the event giving rise to the incident. The time period for filing a Complaint may
be extended for good cause as determined by the school Director. A copy of the Complaint form can
be found in the Financial Aid Office at each campus. A student may choose to participate in an
Informal Process, or a Formal Process, described below.

1. Handling of a Complaint

1.1 After a Complaint is received, the Title IX Coordinator will either assign him or herself the role of
Investigator, or select an impartial faculty or staff member or third party investigator who has received
fraining in conducting an investigation and the laws regarding discrimination (the “Investigator”). In no
event will the Investigator be a person who is alleged to have engaged in the complained of behavior
(the “*Accused”), a person who reports to a person who is the Accused, is a relative of the Accused, or
otherwise has an actual or perceived conflict of interest in the process.

2. Optional Informal Process

Within two school days of receiving the Complaint, the Investigator shall nofify the student who filed the
Complaint (the Complainant) of the option to participate in an optional informal resolution process. The
Complainant is not required to participate in this process or meet directly with the Accused. This is an
optional process that the Complainant may terminate at any fime. During this optional process, the
Complainant and the Accused, along with the Title IX Coordinator or the Campus Student Affairs
Representative will attempt to resolve the dispute. The details of the Optional Informal Resolution Process
will be kept confidential by all parties involved. The Optional Informal Process will last no longer than 10
calendar days from the date of the Complaint, regardless of whether the matter is unresolved at the end
of the 10th calendar day, after which it will be referred for the Formal Process.

If a resolution is reached in the Optional Informal Process, the details of the resolution will be
memorialized in an Optional Informal Resolution Agreement that will be signed by the School Director
and the Complainant. The matter shall be considered closed and the Complainant is precluded from
filing a new complaint or an appeal concerning the same incident, except where the terms of the
resolution are violated or have been ineffective in stopping the discrimination.
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Evidence of final resolution of all Complaints will be retained in College files in order to determine the
frequency, nature, and patterns of complaints for the institution.

If the Complainant chooses to participate in this Optional Informal Process, the investigation into the
complaint will be suspended until the completion of the Optional Informal Process, or the Complainant
terminates the Informal Resolution Process. If NACOB and ABCOT determines during the Optionall
Informal Process that discrimination has occurred, it will take all appropriate steps to prevent the
recurrence of the discrimination and to correct the effects on the complainants and others, if
appropriate.

When informal dispute resolution is unsuccessful or not possible, a Complaint will be processed using the
Formal Process.

3. Formal Process

3.1 Investigation into Complaint.

The college will provide an adequate, reliable, and impartial investigation of complaints, including an
equal opportunity to present witnesses and other relevant evidence. In all cases, the individual who
plays a role in receiving, investigating, or otherwise processing of student complaints of discrimination will
not have any actual or perceived conflict of interest in the process. An investigation into a Complaint
will commence within five school days from receiving the complaint, unless Section 2 above is
applicable or the student withdraws the Complaint.

The Investigator will investigate the Complaint and document his or her efforts and findings. The
investigation shall include, but not be limited to, review of records, notes, or statements related to the
complaint; interviewing witnesses; interviewing the Complainant; and interviewing the Accused. Af no
fime will the Complainant and the Accused be interviewed together.

The investigation must be completed within 30 calendar days after receiving a Complaint or within 30
days from the date of the referral from the Informal Process. This time period maybe extended by the
school Director upon a showing of good cause that additional fime is necessary to conduct a fair
investigation. However, it is the College’s policy to make reasonable efforts to complete the
investigation within the 30-calendar-day time period. If an extension is needed, the school Director will
notify the Complainant and Accused in writing of the extension and the reason for the extension.

3.2 Written Report.

Within 10 calendar days after the completion of an investigation, the Investigator will provide a written
report of the investigation fo the school Director. The written report will include a summary of the
allegations, a description of the investigation, a description of the relevant information gathered, a
determination of whether or not the incidents alleged occurred and the specific evidence to support this
determination, and whether such incidents constitute discrimination. In determining whether or not the
incidents alleged occurred, the Investigator may take into account the following:

The statements made by the parties and all witnesses;

The details and consistency of each person’s account;

Evidence of how the Accused reacted to the incident and the Complaint;

The credibility of the evidence presented;

Evidence of any past instances of unlawful discrimination, harassment, or retaliation or
other misconduct; and

Any other information the Investigator finds as relevant.
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The decision of whether the incident(s) that occurred constitute prohibited discrimination must be
supported by a preponderance of the evidence. A preponderance of the evidence means that the
evidence presented shows that one result is more likely than not fo be frue.

3.3 Response to Complaint

Within seven calendar days after receiving the report from the Investigator, the school Director must
determine a response to the Complaint. In reaching a decision as to how to respond, the school
Director may take into consideration the following:

The report and recommendation of the Investigator;

The effect of the misconduct on the Complainant;

The type, frequency, and duration of the misconduct;

The relationship between the Complainant and Accused;

The number of people engaged in the alleged conduct;

The context of the alleged conduct;

Other incidents of alleged misconduct by the Accused;

Advice of legal counsel or other professionals;

Whether an Optional Informal Resolution Agreement was violated; and
Any other information the office Director deems as relevant.
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The decision of whether or not discrimination occurred must be supported by a preponderance of the
evidence. If the school Director determines that discrimination, the school Director will take all
appropriate steps to prevent the recurrence of the discrimination and to correct the effects on the
complainant and others, if appropriate.

Within eight calendar days after receiving the report from the Investigator, the school Director will
provide a written nofice to the Complainant (Complainant Nofice) concerning the outcome of the
investigation. The Complainant Notice shall state that an investigation was performed, the outcome of
the investigation, and any remedies provided to the Complainant. In order to maintain privacy rights,
the school Director is not required to disclose every detail about the nature of any corrective action
taken against the Accused. However, for complaints of discrimination, the Complainant Notice will
include the consequences imposed on the Accused that relate directly to the subject of the complaint,
such as requiring that the Accused stay away from the Complainant, prohibiting the Accused from
attending school for a period of time, or fransferring the Accused to other classes or another school.

The Complainant Nofice shall advise the Complainant that if he or she continues to experience or
witness discrimination, he or she should immediately report such incidents to the Investigator.

If the outcome of the investigation is that there was no discrimination, the Complainant Notice will also
include the Complainant’s right fo appeal the decision of the school Director within 15 calendar days of
the date of the Complainant Notice. The Complainant Notice will include the procedures for initiating
such an appeal.

Within eight calendar days after receiving the report from the Investigator, the school Director will send a
separate notice of the outcome to the Accused (Accused Notice). The Accused Notice shall state the
outcome of the investigation, whether the allegations were substantiated and what, if any, corrective
action will be taken to prevent recurrence of any discrimination and to correct its effects. The Accused
will have the opportunity to appeal any finding that he or she engaged in discrimination by filing an
appeal within 15 calendar days of the date of the Accused Notice. The Accused Notice will include the
procedures for initiating such an appeal.
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Should no request for an appeal be initiated within the time to appeal, the decision of the school
Director will be final and binding.

4, Appeal Process

To appeal a decision of the school Director, the appealing party must provide written notice (“Notice of
Appeal”) to the College President of his or her intent to appeal within 15 calendar days of the date of
the Complainant or Accused Notice. The Notice of Appeal must include the specific reasons for the
appeal and any evidence the appealing party would like considered as part of the appeal. Within
three school days of receiving the Notice of Appeal, the College President will provide notice to the non-
appealing party of the appeal and the basis for the appeal. The non-appealing party will have 15
calendar days to respond to the statements in the appeal.

The appeal process will be limited to determining (1) whether the decision as to a finding or no finding of
discrimination was supported by a preponderance of evidence; (2) whether the findings of the
Investigator as to whether or not the incidents occurred are supported by a preponderance of the
evidence; and (3) whether the investigation was conducted in a fair and impartial manner.

The appeal will be decided by the College President. The College President will receive and review the
Notice of Appeal, a copy of the investigation notes, the report by the investigator, and the Complainant
and Accused Notices. After the review, the College President will render a decision.

The written appeal decision by the College President shall include a summary of the issues raised on
appeal, a summary of the evidence considered, a decision as to the appeal, what evidence supports
the decision, and what additional remedies, if any, are necessary. The College President will provide a
writften appeal decision of its findings to the Complainant, the Accused, and the school Director within
50 calendar days of receipt of the Notice of Appeal.

The decision of the College President is final and will conclude the complaint process.
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Addendum # 2 Faculty List Updated 12/7/2021
NORTH ADRIAN'S COLLEGE OF BEAUTY ADMINISTRATION
Ownership: North Adrian's College of Beauty, Inc.
School Director: Rebecca Abinales
Financial Aid Director: Rebecca Abinales
Financial Aid Officer: Donovan Kim
Compliance Officer: Donovan Kim
Career Advisor: Rosella Nelson
Registrar: Chris Fore
Support Staff: Patricianne Printz, JoAnna Cooksey, Rita Robles

Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetics, and Manicuring Educators

Rebecca Abinales, Cosmetology Educator — Full Time
Licensed Cosmetologist

Adrian’s Scenic Beauty College, Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK145228

UC Berkeley, Designated Subjects Teaching Credential

Document # 170221184

Ms. Becky is the School Director, Financial Aid Director, and Educator at North Adrian’s College of
Beauty.

Chris Fore, Cosmetology Educator — Full Time

Licensed Cosmetologist

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate

Cosmetology License # KKé952

Ms. Chiris is the Registrar and Educator at North Adrian’s College of Beauty

Linda Sandoval, Cosmetology Educator — Full Time
Licensed Cosmetologist

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License #KK9298

Ms. Linda is a Day Program Cosmetology Educator.

Jany Bryant, Esthetician Educator — Full Time
Licensed Cosmetologist

Moro Beauty College, Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK3153

Ms. Jany is the Day Program Esthetician Educator.

Connie Armenta, Barbering Educator — Full Time
Licensed Barber

North Adrian's College of Beauty, Barbering Certificate
Barbering License # B96752

Licensed Cosmetologist

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK109995
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Connie Armenta (conft)

Licensed Esthetician

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Esthetician Certificate
Esthetician License # 7722205

Ms. Connie is the Day Program Barbering Educator.

Suelaine Spangler, Cosmetology Educator — Full Time
Licensed Cosmetologist

Delta Beauty College, Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK405231

Ms. Sue is the Night Program Salon Floor Educator

Mariah Spivey, Cosmetology Educator — Full Time

Licensed Cosmetology

North Adrian's College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK585673

Ms. Mariah is a PM Cosmetology educator.

Nicole Esparza, Cosmetology Educator — Part Time
Licensed Cosmetologist

Adrians Beauty College of Turlock, Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK321382

Ms. Nikkiis a AM Cosmetology floor educator

Joanna Cooksey, Esthetics Educator, Specialty Classes — Part Time

Licensed Estheftician

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Esthetics Certificate

Esthetics License # 77115402

Ms. Joanna is a substitute esthetics educator and teaches specialty classes such as job readiness.

Michelle Leisure, Cosmetology Educator

Licensed Cosmetologist

Rainbow Beauty College, Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK166180

Ms. Michelle L is the Day Program PivotPoint Phase 1 Educator
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Adrians Beauty College of Tracy

Ownership: North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Inc.
School Director: Rebecca Abinales

Financial Aid Director: Rebecca Abinales

Associate Director: Jennifer Campbell

Financial Aid Officer: Donovan Kim, Jennifer Campbell
Compliance Officer: Donovan Kim

Career Advisor: Marfina Torres

Registrar: Chris Fore

Support Staff: N/A

Jennifer Campbell, Cosmetology/Barbering Educator — Full Time
Licensed Barber

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Barbering Certificate
Barbering License # B97407

Licensed Cosmetologist

Trend Setters School of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate

Cosmetology License #KK483727

Ms. Jennifer is the Associate Director for the campus as well as the Barbering Educator.

Lacie Stonehouse, Cosmetology Educator — Part Time
Licensed Cosmetologist

Adrians Beauty College of Tracy, Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK540943

Ms. Lacie is the Salon Floor Educator.

April Heredia, Cosmetology Educator — Part Time
Licensed Cosmetology

Adrians Beauty College of Tracy, Cosmetology Certfificate
Cosmetology License # KK616358

Ms. April is the Intfermediate educator.

Nastassja Ortiz, Cosmetology Educator — Part Time
Licensed Cosmetologist

Adrians Beauty College of Tracy, Cosmetology Cerfificate
Cosmetology License #KK551654

Ms. Tasha is the Phase 1 educator.
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Addendum #3 Updated 9/30/2021
ANNUAL CAMPUS SECURITY REPORT
FOR THE 2020/2021 CALENDAR YEAR-North Adrian’s College of Beauty
This campus security report contains data for our college:
North Adrian’s College of Beauty Located at 124 Floyd Ave Modesto, CA 95350

NACOB and ABCOT is providing the following information in compliance with the proposed rules listed under section
668.48 in the July 1, 1992 Federal Register.

2018 2019 2020
On Public On Public On Public
Criminal Offenses Reported Campus Property Campus | Property | Campus Property
Murder/Non-negligent Manslaughtet 0 0 0 0 0 0
Negligent Manslaughter 0 0 0 0 0 0
Sex Offenses — Forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0
Sex Offenses — Non-forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0
Robbery 0 0 0 0 0 0
Aggravated Assault 0 0 0 0 0 1
Burglary ] 0 0 0 ] 0
Motor Vehicle Theft 0 0 0 0 0 0
Arson 0 0 0 0 0 0
Domestic Violence 0 0 0 0 0 0
Dating Violence 0 0 0 0 0 0
Stalking 0 0 0 0 0 0
Arrests Reported
Weapons Laws Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Liquor Law Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Referred for Disciplinary Action
Weapons Laws Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Liquor Law Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
2018: No hate crimes reported 2019: No hate crimes reported 2020: No hate crimes reported

The school has developed the information about your safety and well being. As you can see from the data, the campuses have a
relatively safe environment. However, it isimportant that you exercise good judgment and take appropriate precautions to
minimize your risk.

In the event that a student or employee of our institution is witness to a criminal offense on or near our campus, the following
procedure to report criminal actions or other emergencies that occur on campus are as follows.

For Non-Emergency Crimes:
1. Obtain from the floor supervisor.
2. Complete form and return to the floor supervisor
3. This form will be taken to the staff meeting and response will be returned to the victim with school’s recommendation.
4.  Any violator of a proven misdemeanor or felony on campus will be automatically expelled and/or reported to law
enforcement.
For Emergency Crimes:
1. The nearest staff member willimmediately call 911.
2. The above non-emergency procedures will be followed providing the perpetrator is a student.

There are no private security personnel at either campus, or are there any off campus student organizations. It is the practice of

the colleges to require each student to provide their own lock and the college provides a locker for all items of value. Students are
advised to lock their vehicles during any time.
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ANNUAL CAMPUS SECURITY REPORT
FOR THE 2020/2021 CALENDAR YEAR-TRACY

This campus security report contains data for our college: Adrians Beauty College of Tracy Located af 3000 W
Grantline Rd Tracy, CA 95304.

NACOB and ABCOT is providing the following information in compliance with the proposed rules listed under section 668.48 in the
July 1, 1992 Federal Register.

2018 2019 2020
On Public On Public On Public
Criminal Offenses Reported Campus Property Campus | Property | Campus Property
Murder/Non-negligent Manslaughtet 0 0 0 0 0 0
Negligent Manslaughter 0 0 0 0 0 0
Sex Offenses — Forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0
Sex Offenses — Non-Forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0
Robbery 0 0 0 0 0 0
Aggravated Assault 0 0 0 0 0 0
Burglary 0 0 0 0 0 0
Motor Vehicle Theft 0 0 0 0 0 0
Arson 0 0 0 0 0 0
Domestic Violence 0 0 0 0 0 0
Dating Violence 0 0 0 0 0 0
Stalking 0 0 0 0 0 0
Arrests Reported
Weapons Laws Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Liquor Law V Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Referred for Disciplinary Actions
Weapons Laws Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
Liquor Law Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0
2018: No hate crimes reported 2019: No hate crimes reported 2020: No hate crimes reported

*Although regulations do not require use to disclose anything other than the above offenses, The college would like to inform all entering students that the vehicle break-ins are
an on-going problem in the Grantline Avenue area. Adrians Beauty College of Tracy is not responsible for lost or stolen items in the school or parking loft.

The school has developed the information about your safety and well being. As you can see from the data, the campuses have a
relatively safe environment. However, it isimportant that you exercise good judgment and take appropriate precautions to
minimize your risk.

In the event that a student or employee of our institution is witness o a criminal offense on or near our campus, the following
procedure to report criminal actions or other emergencies that occur on campus are as follows.

For Non-Emergency Crimes:
5. Obtain from the floor supervisor.
6. Complete form and return to the floor supervisor
7. This form will be taken to the staff meeting and response will be returned to the victim with school's recommendation.
8. Any violator of a proven misdemeanor or felony on campus will be automatically expelled and/or reported to law
enforcement.

For Emergency Crimes:

3. The nearest staff member willimmediately call 911.

4. The above non-emergency procedures will be followed providing the perpetrator is a student.
There are no private security personnel at either campus, or are there any off campus student organizations. It is the practice of
the colleges to require each student to provide their own lock and the college provides a locker for all items of value. Students are
advised to lock their vehicles during any fime.
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VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN ACT

This document has been designed to inform all students and employees of the Violence Against Women
Act and outlines, North Adrian’s College of Beauty; Adrians Beauty College of Tracy’s commitment to the
health and safety of its students and employees This annual disclosure document is done each year by
contacting the local police department and the building management to compile the statistics used in
the report. This document explains the school’s policy regarding crime prevention, public safety, and
criminal reporting procedures. This document will be provided to all prospective students and staff and
will be reviewed with all students during orientation and with staff at the time of hire. The school will also
provide a yearly fraining each year when the new statistics are available .The fraining promotes
awareness and prevention of rape, acquaintance rape, domestic violence, dating violence, sexual
assault, and stalking, as well as outlines options for reducing the risk of such occurrences, the warning
signs of abusive behavior, and how to avoid potential attacks. The School's Campus Security Officer is
Patrick Campbell if you have any questions or concerns.

Each year the school brings in a local law enforcement official and a representative from the local crisis
center to review how to protect yourself against crime, how to be responsible for your own safety, and
how to protect yourself against sexual assault. North Adrian’s College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty
College of Tracy is committed to making your school a safe place.
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Addendum # 4 Updated 11/30/2021

Student Performance Rates

A supplemental handout is provided to the student or located on the Colleges website.
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Addendum #5 Updated 01/04/2021

2021 Class Start Dates

Cosmetology Nights
Modesto Campus — Cosmetology Only

1/4/2021
1/11/2021
1/25/2021
2/1/2021
2/8/2021
2/22/2021
3/1/2021
3/8/2021
3/15/2021
3/22/2021
3/29/2021
4/5/2021
4/12/2021
4/19/2021
4/26/2021
5/3/2021
5/10/2021
5/17/2021
5/24/2021
6/7/2021
6/14/2021
6/21/2021
6/28/2021
7/5/2021
7/12/2021
7/19/2021
7/26/2021
8/2/2021
8/9/2021
8/16/2021
8/23/2021
8/30/2021
9/13/2021
9/20/2021
9/27/2021
10/4/2021
10/18/2021
10/25/2021
11/1/2021
11/8/2021
11/15/2021
11/22/2021
11/29/2021
12/6/2021
12/13/2021
12/20/2021

Cosmetology/Esthetician/Barbering

Day
Modesto/Tracy

1/5/2021
1/12/2021
1/19/2021
1/26/2021
2/2/2021
2/9/2021
2/16/2021
2/23/2021
3/2/2021
3/9/2021
3/16/2021
3/23/2021
3/30/2021
4/6/2021
4/13/2021
4/20/2021
4/27/2021
5/4/2021
5/11/2021
5/18/2021
5/25/2021
6/1/2021
6/8/2021
6/15/2021
6/22/2021
6/29/2021
7/6/2021
7/13/2021
7/20/2021
7/27/2021
8/3/2021
8/10/2021
8/17/2021
8/24/2021
8/31/2021
9/7/2021
9/14/2021
9/21/2021
9/28/2021
10/5/2021
10/12/2021
10/19/2021
10/26/2021
11/2/2021
11/9/2021
11/16/2021
11/23/2021
11/30/2021
12/7/2021
12/14/2021
12/21/2021

Manicuring/Barber
Crossover/Teacher Training Day

Classes are scheduled on a rotating
bases and will be scheduled as
needed.
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Addendum # é Updated May 1, 2021
North Adrian's College of Beauty
Course Cost

Cosmetology Barbering
Tuition Hourly Rate $11.10 $ 17,760.00 Tuition Hourly Rate $11.10 $ 16,650.00
Registration Fee* $ 145.00 Registration Fee* $ 145.00
Kit plus Tax* $ 970.88 Kit plus Tax* $ 943.91
Books plus Tax* $ 755.12 Books plus Tax* $ 755.12
Subtotal $ 19,631.00 Subtotal $ 18,494.03
Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ 10.00 Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ 9.00
TOTAL $ 19,641.00 TOTAL $ 18,503.03
Esthetics Teacher Training

Tuition Hourly Rate $13.70 $ 8,220.00 Tuition Hourly Rate $13.75 $ 8,250.00
Registration Fee* $ 145.00 Registration Fee* $ 145.00
Kit plus Tax* $ 1,186.63 Kit plus Tax* $ -
Books plus Tax* $ 647.24 Books plus Tax* $ -
Subtotal $ 10,198.87 Subtotal $ 8.395.00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ 5.00 Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ -
TOTAL $ 10,203.87 TOTAL $ 8.395.00

Manicuring Barber Crossover
Tuition Hourly Rate $10.25 $ 4,100.00 Tuition Hourly Rate $13.50 $ 2,700.00
Registration Fee* $ 145.00 Registration Fee* $ 145.00
Kit plus Tax* $ 916.94 Kit plus Tax* $ -
Books plus Tax* $ 485.44 Books plus Tax* $ -
Subtotal $ 5,647.38 Subtotal $ 2,845.00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ 3.00 Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ -
TOTAL $ 5,650.38 TOTAL $ 2,845.00
* Non-Refundable
** Effective February 8, 2021, the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) assessment has changed from zero ($0) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) of
institutional charges to fifty cents ($.50) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) of institutional charges.
Barbering and Barber Crossover course will only be offered at North Adrian's College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy.
Effective May 1, 2021 Updated 12/7/2021
Catalog Supplemental Handout
San Joaquin Tax Rate 8.25%
Method of Payment: Cash, Credit Card (4% Fee), Sponsor/Funding Source, Check, Student Loan
Outside students (not an NACOB or ABCOT graduate) and/or any other students requiring remedial hours or hours required by the Board of Barbering
and Cosmetology are charged at a rate of $14.00 per hour plus registration fee and any materials or books required.
Online access is available for 24 months from registration date. Additional access may be purchased at an an additional cost.
Should a student complete their course of study earlier than the estimated timeframe stated on page one of your enrollment agreement, your
financial aid package may be recalculated and this may result in liabilities owed by the student and/or institution, if applicable.
Each course has been scheduled for completion within an allotted fime frame. This fime frame is your scheduled graduation date on your enrollment
agreement. There is no grace period for completion of your program. It is not realistic to expect to receive an education for free. The school has
reserved space, equipment, and licensed instructors for each student and course. If a student does not graduate within the contract period,
additional fraining will be billed at the rate as stated on your enrollment agreement, until graduation. Exira instructional charges or safisfactory
payment arrangements must be made prior to the completion of all graduation requirements and receiving your Proof of Training and Diploma.
Students have the option to purchase their student kit and books independently or thru the College. This added as an addendum to their Enroliment
Agreement and initialed and signed by the student.
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Adrians Beauty College of Tracy
Course Cost

Cosmetology Barbering
Tuition Hourly Rate $11.10 $ 17,760.00 Tuition Hourly Rate $11.10 $ 16,650.00
Registration Fee* $ 145.00 Registration Fee* $ 145.00
Kit plus Tax* $ 974.25 Kit plus Tax* $ 947.19
Books plus Tax* $ 757.75 Books plus Tax* $ 757.75
Subtotal $ 19,637.00 Subtotal $ 18,499.94
Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ 10.00 Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ 9.00
TOTAL $ 19,647.00 TOTAL $ 18,508.94
Esthetics Teacher Training
Tuition Hourly Rate $13.70 $ 8,220.00 Tuition Hourly Rate $13.75 $ 8,250.00
Registration Fee* $ 145.00 Registration Fee* $ 145.00
Kit plus Tax* $ 1,190.75 Kit plus Tax* $ -
Books plus Tax* $ 649.50 Books plus Tax* $ -
Subtotal $ 10,205.25 Subtotal $ 8.395.00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ 5.00 Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ -
TOTAL $ 10,210.25 TOTAL $ 8.395.00
Manicuring Barber Crossover
Tuition Hourly Rate $10.25 $ 4,100.00 Tuition Hourly Rate $13.50 $ 2,700.00
Registration Fee* $ 145.00 Registration Fee* $ 145.00
Kit plus Tax* $ 920.12 Kit plus Tax* $ -
Books plus Tax* $ 487.13 Books plus Tax* $ -
Subtotal $ 5,652.25 Subtotal $ 2,845.00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ 3.00 Student Tuition Recovery Fund ** $ -
TOTAL $ 5,655.25 TOTAL $ 2.845.00

* Non-Refundable

** Effective February 8, 2021, the Student Tutiion Recovery Fund (STRF) assessment has changed from zero ($0) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) of
institutional charges to fifty cents ($.50) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) of institutional charges.

Barbering and Barber Crossover course will only be offered at North Adrian's College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy.

Effective May 1, 2021 Updated 12/7/2021

Catalog Supplemental Handout

San Joaquin Tax Rate 8.25%

Method of Payment: Cash, Credit Card (4% Fee), Sponsor/Funding Source , Check, Student Loan

QOutside students (not an Adrian's graduate) and/or any other students requiring remedial hours or hours required by the Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology are charged at a rate of $14.00 per hour plus registration fee and any materials or books required.

Online access is available for 24 months from registration date. Additional access may be purchased at an an additional cost.

Should a student complete their course of study earlier than the estimated timeframe stated on page one of your enrollment agreement, your
financial aid package may be recalculated and this may result in liabilities owed by the student and/or institution, if applicable.

Each course has been scheduled for completion within an allotted time frame. This time frame is your scheduled graduation date on your enrollment
agreement. There is no grace period for completion of your program. It is not realistic to expect to receive an education for free. The school has
reserved space, equipment, and licensed instructors for each student and course. If a student does not graduate within the confract period,
additional fraining will be billed at the rate as stated on your enrollment agreement, until graduation. Extra instructional charges or satisfactory
payment arrangements must be made prior to the completion of all graduation requirements and receiving your Proof of Training and Diploma.

Students have the option to purchase their student kit and books independently or thru the College. This added as an addendum to their Enroliment
Agreement and initialed and signed by the student.

89




Addendum #7 Updated 8/1/2019

Pending Payment Compliance
Veterans Students Only

In accordance with Title 38 US Code 3679 subsection (e), this school adopts the following additional
provisions for any students using U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Post 9/11 G.I. Bill® (Ch. 33) or
Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Ch. 31) benefits, while payment to the institution is pending
from the VA. This school will not:

Prevent the student's enrollment;

Assess a late penalty to;

Require student secure alternative or additional funding;

Deny their access to any resources (access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities)
available to other students who have satisfied their tuition and fee bills to the institution.

However, to qualify for this provision, such students may be required to:

e Produce the Certificate of Eligibility by the first day of class;

e Provide written request to be certified;

e Provide additional information needed to properly certify the enrollment as described in other
institutional policies.
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