

ADVANCE SCHOOL OF DRIVING

CATALOG

July 1, 2021 – Sept 30, 2022

13946 JurupaAvenue, Fontana, CA 92337 P. (909) 349-2585 | (800) 635-0147 | F. (909) 349-2852 https://www.advanceschoolofdriving.com/ *Revised: July 1, 2021*

Table of Contents

MISSION	2
APPROVAL	2
ADMISSIONS	2
TRAINING PROGRAMS	6
TUITION AND FEES	9
CANCELLATION & REFUND POLICY	11
POLICIES & PROCEDURES	13
STUDENT SERVICES	18
MANAGEMENT, STAFF & FACULTY	20
CHANGES	21

MISSION

Advance School of Driving instructors provide students with the knowledge and skills to pass the DMV Commercial Driver License Test (Class-A and Class B) required for entry-level employment in the Commercial Truck Driving Industry. We provide truck driver education services that emphasize driver safety and responsibility. Our graduates serve the communities that need commercial driving services, both locally and cross country.

OBJECTIVES

- To train students to become drivers in the commercial truck driving industry
- To maintain an academic environment leading to student growth and development
- To observe standards of behavior that support learning and mutual respect among our students, instructors, staff, and the community
- To observe academic policies and procedures consistent with state and Federal regulations within the trucking driving industry
- To serve the Trucking Industry by providing trained and professional drivers

APPROVAL

Advance School of Driving is a private institution approved to operate by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Approval to operate means the institution is compliant with the minimum standards contained in the California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009 (as amended) and Division 7.5 of Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations.

ADMISSIONS

POLICY

A prospective student must:

- Have a high school diploma or equivalent. Advanced School of Driving will accept as a
 recognized equivalent of secondary education a GED, passing score on the California
 High School Proficiency Exam, a DD214 that indicates high school equivalency, a degree
 issued to the student that indicates the high school graduation, documentation of
 completion of a bachelor's degree or pass a California Commercial Class-A Permit exam
 (approved as an <u>alternative</u> to an ability-to-benefit exam by the Bureau of Private
 Postsecondary Education as of December 30, 2013).
- Be 21 years of age for interstate driving or 18 years of age for intrastate driving.
- Pass a D.O.T. physical examination and D.O.T. drug screen.
- Make available for review all personal documents required to present at a CA DMV to obtain a CDL license.

PROCEDURE

Admission procedures include meeting with an Admissions representative to review goals, training programs offered, school policies and procedures, the school performance fact sheet, catalog, and graduation requirements.

Applicant will:

- Schedule an appointment with a school representative
- Complete a questionnaire that includes education, employment history, driving record, and health status.
- Participate in a personal interview with a school representative; discuss educational plans and financial arrangements
- Tour the facilities
- Receive and review copy of the School Catalog and the School Performance Fact Sheet
- Provide documentation of:
 - o Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
 - Being 21 years of age for interstate driving or 18 years of age for intrastate driving.
 - o Passing the D.M.V. written examination
 - o Passing a D.O.T. physical examination
 - o Commercial driver's license (CDL) learner's permit
- Review and Complete Enrollment Agreement

Prior to acceptance the applicant's driving background and overall suitability for the trucking industry will be reviewed. Each applicant is assessed on an individual basis.

INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS AND ENGLISH LANGUAGE SERVICES

Advanced School of Driving does not offer visa services to prospective students from other countries or English language services. Advanced School of Driving does not offer English as a Second Language instruction. All instruction occurs in English. English language proficiency is documented by:

- 1. the admissions interview / activities; and
- 2. receipt of prior education documentation as stated in the admissions policy.

FOREIGN TRANSCRIPT EVALUATION

All foreign transcripts and degrees must be evaluated and translated to meet U.S. equivalency.

The following is a sample of foreign transcript and degree evaluators. Advance School of Driving does not endorse any evaluators.

- Foreign Consultants: http://www.foreignconsultants.com/
- Educational Credential Evaluators: http://www.ece.org/
- Educational Perspectives: http://www.educational-perspectives.org/

- International Consultants of Delaware: http://www.icdel.com/
- International Research Foundation, Inc.: http://www.ierf.org/
- World Education Services: http://www.wes.org/

TRANSFER OF CREDIT

Advance School of Driving does not accept hours or credit through transfer of credit, challenge examinations, achievement tests, or experiential learning.

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at the Advance School of Drivingis at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in the educational program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek transfer. If the credits or certificate that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Advance School of Driving to determine if your credits or certificate will transfer.

ARTICULATION AGREEMENTS

Advance School of Driving has not entered into transfer or articulation agreements with any other college or university.

FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT

Advance School of Driving coursework takes place at: 13946 Jurupa Avenue, Fontana, CA 92337.

Advance School of Driving has a 3,000 square feet facility comprising lecture rooms, labs, library, a lounge area for students, and the school administrative office.

From Monday to Friday between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m., students have library access to check out training DVD's and additional study materials relevant to school coursework.

Hands-on sessions are held on our 3-acre facility and various local range sites in the community where docking, backing, parking, and other truck driving maneuvers are taught and practiced.

The local area allows for city, open highway, freeway and mountain practice. This facilitates students with valuable experience driving under various conditions.

The facility accommodates up to 75 students.

The average class size for our training sessions fluctuates - from 3 to 12 students. The student to instructor ratio for road instruction is 4 students to 1 instructor.

This institution, the facilities it occupies and the equipment it utilizes, fully complies with any and all federal, state, and local ordinances and regulations, including those requirements for fire, safety, and sanitation standards.

Instructional Equipment:

Advance School of Driving has all the necessary equipment for lecture, laboratory, and demonstration activities including a library consisting of training manuals and DVD's. Behind-the-wheel, range, and street driving training equipment include a variety of tandem and single-axle trailers in assorted styles and lengths.

The following is a partial list of the equipment:

Classroom Equipment
Two (2) television sets w/internet access
Training DVD's and Internet videos
Chalkboards
Charts
Displays
Training Publications
Maps
Tables and Chairs
Student Manuals

Driving Trailers	Quantity
53 Foot Trailer	One
45 Foot Van	Six
40 Foot Van	Three
27 Foot Doubles	Two
48 Foot Flatbed	One

Power Units	Quantity
2013-2017 Late Model Casca dia /Colombia: freightliner conventional cabs, 3 –axle,	Eleven
10 - Auto/Manual speed transmission, twin screw, 60 series engine, condo-size	
sleeper.	
Yard/Conventional freightliners: 3-axle, 60 series Detroit engine, 70" sleepers.	Four
Yard/International: conventional cab, 3-axle, 1 Detroit engine, 60" sleeper	One
2008 Bus: 35 passenger, Mercedes engine.	One
2009 Ford Van: 15 passenger	One

HOURS OF OPERATION

Office Hours: 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

Instructional Hours		
Day Classes	Mon. / Tues. / Wed. / Thurs. / Fri.	6:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday	Mon. / Taes. / Wea. / Thais. / Th.	0.50 u.m. to 2.50 p.m.
Night Classes*	Mon. / Tues. / Wed. / Thurs. / Fri.	2:20 n m to 7:00 n m
Monday through Friday	Woll. / Tues. / Wed. / Thurs. / Fil.	2:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Saturday Day Classes *	Saturday	6:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
*Please contact the school to inquire about Night Classes and Saturday Day Classes availability.		

SCHEDULE AND CALENDAR

Classes are scheduled Monday-Friday between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m.

Graduation occurs following completion of course requirements as described in the curriculum section of the catalog. Classes are not scheduled on the following holidays: Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Day, and New Year's Day.

A special holiday may be declared for emergency or extraordinary purposes. Classes start every Monday except for observed holidays that fall on a Monday. In that case class will begin Tuesday.

TRAINING PROGRAMS

<u>Professional Truck Driving - (Class currently not being offered)</u>

SOC Code 53-3032.00 – Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers

Length:80 Hours

Day Classes: Two Weeks

Program exceeds any minimum California DMV licensing CDL requirements

Class Schedule:		
Day Classes Monday through Friday	Mon. / Tues. / Wed. / Thurs. / Fri.	6:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
Night Classes * Monday through Friday	Mon. / Tues. / Wed. / Thurs. / Fri.	2:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Saturday Day Classes *	Saturday	6:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
*Please contact the school to inquire about Night Classes and Saturday Day Classes availability.		

Award:

Students who pass both the written and hands-on driving cumulative final test assessments issued by Advance School of Driving will receive a certificate.

Description:

The Professional Truck Driving certificate session provides basic training in the principles and skills of commercial truck operations. The period includes 80 hours of classroom, lab, and driving instruction presented over two weeks.

The Professional Truck Driving course trains students for Class "A" Commercial Driving License examination.

Throughout the course, students learn about safety, integrity, responsibility, and professionalism for the occupation.

Upon graduation, students must pass a CDL Test administered by the Department of Motor Vehicles to be eligible for an entry-level over-the-road or in-town truck driver. Use of the Advance School of Training truck for the DMV California State Licensing Road Exam is included.

Objective:

CIP #49.025

This course/program is designed to prepare the student to get working in the transportation industry as quickly as possible without sacrificing the quality of training or the standards of the trucking industry.

Professional Truck Driving Classes				
Subject	Lecture Hours	Practicum Hours	Total Hours	
Proficiency Development		20	20	
Pre-Trip/Air System	10	12	22	
Drop/Hook	1	1	2	
Defensive Driving	1	3	4	
Job Placement	1		1	
DMV Preparation		8	8	
Backing		23	23	
TOTAL HOURS 80				

Complete Professional Truck Driving

SOC Code 53-3032.00 – Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers

Length: 160 Hours

Class Sessions:Four Weeks

Program exceeds any minimum California DMV licensing CDL requirements

Class Schedule:		
Day Classes	Mon. / Tues. / Wed. / Thurs. /	6:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday	Fri.	1

Award:

Students who pass both the written and hands-on driving cumulative final test assessments issued by Advance School of Driving will receive a certificate

Description:

The Complete Professional Truck Driving training session is designed to prepare students for the Commercial Driving License (CDL) Skills Test required to secure a Class-A Commercial Truck Driver's License with optional endorsements (doubles/triples, tankers and hazardous materials)

T – Double/Triples: "T" endorsement is required if the vehicle being driven requires a Class A CDL and is towing more than one trailer.

X – Hazardous Material and Tank, Combined: "X" endorsement is required if the vehicle being driven is transporting hazardous materials via a tank.

This comprehensive training highlights safety, pre-trip inspection, air brake checks, vehicle maintenance procedures, and defensive driving techniques. Use of the Advance School of Training truck for the DMV California State Licensing Road Exam is included.

Objective:

CIP #49.025

The course/program is designed not only to give the student the required knowledge to earn a Class A Commercial Truck Driver's License with endorsements (doubles/triples, tankers and hazardous materials) but is a comprehensive course that provides the student with the substantial knowledge and practical skills necessary to become one of today's premier entry-level truck drivers.

Instruction time consists of a combination of classroom, lab and practical training. Use of our truck at DMV for your State Licensing Road Exam is included along with career services assistance.

Complete Professional Truck Driving			
Subject	Lecture Hours	Practicum Hours	Total Hours
DOT/ Rules-Regulations	2		2
Pre-Trip/Air Systems	20	20	40
Permit Study w/Endorsements	16		16
Backing		40	40
Vehicle Systems		12	12
Defensive Driving	5	4	9
Proficiency Development		35	35
Drop/Hook	1	1	2
DMV Preparation		3	3
Job Placement Assistance	1		1
		TOTAL HOURS	160

TUITION AND FEES

Course/Program	Registration Fee Non-Refundable	*Student Tuition Recovery Fund	Tuition	**Total Costs
		Non-Refundable		
Professional Truck Driving	\$250.00	\$0	\$ 2,745.00	\$2,995.00
Complete Professional Truck Driving	\$250.00	\$0	\$ 4,745.00	\$4,995.00

^{*} Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) = \$0 for every \$1000 of tuition, rounded to the nearest \$1,000.

Additional Fees Payable to a Third Party		
DMV License- Commercial Class A or B \$83.00		
Medical (DOT Physical Examination)* Drug \$100.00		
Screen		
DMV Driving Record Printout** \$5.00		
DMV Retest Fee (if applicable)	\$38.00	

^{*}DOT Physical Examination: To apply for a Commercial Driver License, students will need to provide DMV a Medical Report and Drug Screen.

Payment

All tuition and fees are payable as follows. 50 percent is due and payable at the start of class. Final balance due by midpoint of training.

The school participates in state third-party payer programs, such as rehabilitation payment programs. If a student receives a loan to pay for the educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund.

^{**}Estimated charges for current period of attendance and the entire program.

^{**}DMV Driving Record Printout required in order to drive trucks during the training. DMV requires that trucking school students have a valid Class-C License.

Payment Types Accepted

Cash, Money Order, Cashier's Check, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover (no personal checks accepted).

DRIVER'S LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Residents of California are required to have a class "A" driver's license to drive a tractor trailer. School graduates must pass a California Department of Motor Vehicles driving examination at a location specified by the department. This examination is based on the federal Commercial Driver's License examination which is accepted by most states. The examination is a state requirement and is not part of the course of study. The courses/programs offered by the school will assist the student in preparing for this examination. At no additional cost to its graduates, the school will set an appointment as soon as possible after graduation and provide a tractor trailer and licensed employee for the purpose of testing. In the event a person fails, the school will set one additional appointment for re-testing. Appointments for initial testing take priority.

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND(STRF)

"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."

(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the following statement in its school catalog:

"It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd. #225, Sacramento, CA 95798-0818. (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589. To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

- 1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.
- 2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.
- 3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.
- 4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

- 5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.
- 6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.
- 7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number."

CANCELLATION & REFUND POLICY

STUDENT'S RIGHT TO CANCEL

- 1. Students have the right to cancel their agreement for a program of instruction, without any penalty or obligations, through attendance at the first class session or the seventh calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later. At the end of the cancellation period, students may withdraw from the school and receive a pro rata refund if they have completed 60 percent or less of the scheduled hours in the current payment period in their program through the last day of attendance. The refund will be less the Registration Fee not to exceed \$250.00if the student has completed more than 60% of the period of attendance for which the student was charged, the tuition is considered earned and the student will receive no refund.
- 2. Cancellation may occur when the student provides a written notice of cancellation at the following address: 13946 Jurupa Avenue, Fontana, CA 92337. This can be done by mail or by hand delivery.
- 3. The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly addressed with proper postage.
- 4. The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is effective if it shows that the student no longer wishes to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement.
- 5. If the Enrollment Agreement is cancelled, the school will refund the student any money he/she paid, less the Registration Fee not to exceed \$250.00 and less any deduction for

equipment not returned in good condition within 45 days after the notice of cancellation is received.

WITHDRAWAL FROM THE PROGRAM

Students may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described above) and receive a pro rata refund if they have completed 60 percent or less of the scheduled hours in the period of attendance in their program through the last day of attendance. The refund will be less the Registration Fee not to exceed \$250.00. If the student has completed more than 60% of the period of attendance for which the student was charged, the tuition is considered earned and the student will receive no refund.

For the purpose of determining a refund under this section, a student may be deemed to have withdrawn from a program of instruction when any of the following occurs:

- The student notifies the institution of the student's withdrawal or as of the date of the student's withdrawal, whichever is later.
- The institution terminates the student's enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory progress; failure to abide by the rules and regulations of the institution; absences in excess of maximum set forth by the institution; and/or failure to meet financial obligations to the School.

For the purpose of determining the amount of the refund, the date of the student's withdrawal shall be deemed the last date of recorded attendance. The amount owed equals the hourly charge for the program (total institutional charge, minus non-refundable fees, divided by the number of hours in the program), multiplied by the number of hours scheduled to attend, prior to withdrawal. For programs beyond the current period of attendance if you withdraw prior to the next payment period, all charges collected for the next period will be refunded.

If any portion of the tuition was paid from the proceeds of a loan or third party, the refund shall be sent to the lender, third party or, if appropriate, to the state or federal agency that guaranteed or reinsured the loan. Any amount of the refund in excess of the unpaid balance of the loan shall be first used to repay any student financial aid programs from which the student received benefits, in proportion to the amount of the benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to the student. If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of monies not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.

Chapter 33 (The Post 9/11 GI Bill) Disclosures

The veteran is responsible for any overpayment incurred as a result of not completing courses. In the event a veteran does not complete a course, schools should follow their established student refund policy. The VA will work with student to resolve overpayment.

Schools are required to report, without delay, the enrollment, interruption, and termination of attendance for each person enrolled in an educational assistance program administered by VA.

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs | 810 Vermont Avenue, NW Washington DC 20420

In addition to reporting any changes in enrollment status, schools will be held responsible for refunding payments as appropriate. The following list explains when a school will be responsible for refunding VA:

- The student never attended classes for which he/she was certified (regardless of the reason for non-attendance).
- The student completely withdraws on or before the first day of the term. (If a student reduces, the debt shall be assessed to the student.)
- The school received a payment for the wrong student.
- The school received a duplicate payment.
- The school submitted an amended enrollment certification and reported reduced tuition and fee charges, reduced Yellow Ribbon amount, or both.
- The student died during the term, or before the start of the term.
- VA issued payment above the amount certified on the enrollment certification that was used to process the payment (VA data entry error).
- All other overpayments will remain the responsibility of the student.

POLICIES & PROCEDURES

Policy of Nondiscrimination

In the administration of its policies and programs, Advance School of Drivingdoes not discriminate against students or applicants for admission, or employees or applicants for employment, on the basis of sex, race, color, creed, age, or national or ethnic origin. An otherwise qualified individual shall not be excluded from admission, employment or participation in educational programs and activities solely by reason of his or her handicap. So too, the facilities provide wheelchair access for handicap students and faculty.

Nondiscrimination is consistent with the principles and practices of Advance School of Drivingand is in compliance with regulations of the Internal Revenue Service, Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972 and regulations adopted pursuant thereto, by Title VI and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended.

Class Size

The average class size for our training program is approximately three to twelve students. The student to instructor ratio for road instruction is 4 students to 1 instructor.

Attendance

Students are expected to attend all scheduled classes. To complete a successful module of training, the ratio of absences or tardies must not exceed 20% of the module time. Attendance evaluation will occur on the first day of class each week. Students not meeting this requirement will be placed on attendance probation. In addition, a student who is absent three (3) consecutive days will be subject to dismissal or attendance probation.

Students are encouraged to schedule personal appointments after school hours and to notify the school in advance when an absence is going to occur. If you are unable to attend class you must call the school to inform us of your absence.

Tardiness

Tardiness is a disruption of the learning process. Two incidents of tardiness, or of leaving school early without a legitimate excuse, will be considered as one absence. Tardiness exceeding two days will result in the student being placed on attendance probation.

Leave of Absence

Written requests for leave of absence will be considered and may be granted at the discretion of the school administration. The standard leave of absence may not exceed 30 days during a program. If more than 30 days are needed as a result of illness, the leave of absence may be extended up to 100 days if requested in writing by the student's physician. Only one leave of absence is allowed. Students may re-enter at a less advanced level.

Statement of Satisfactory Academic Progress

Students are evaluated on a regular basis, on theory and practical driving skills. The evaluations are measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade. Students must maintain a "C" average to maintain satisfactory academic status. The system detailed below is the grading system utilized in this school. Students must have good coordination, show an aptitude for trucking, and possess the ability to learn the various phases of truck driving.

Students must maintain a grade average of at least 70%. The grading scale is shown below:

90%-100%	Α	Excellent
80%-89%	В	Above Average
70%-79%	С	Satisfactory
60%-69%	D	Unsatisfactory
50%-below	F	Failing

The school uses a Student's progress report to record students' progress. Instructors give tests weekly. 70% is the minimum-passing grade certifying completion.

General Statement

The Higher Education Act mandates that institutions of higher education establish minimum standards of "SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS' for students receiving financial aid. The school applies these standards to all students regardless of whether or not they are financial aid recipients.

Satisfactory academic progress is defined as meeting acceptable standards as defined by pre-determined objectives of the institution. These objectives are directly correlated with the performance standards set by the school.

The Elements of Satisfactory Academic Progress Are:

- 1) Students are graded as they complete units of the curriculum. Grades are determined as a compilation of examination scores (written and practical) and such other criteria and observations as the school deems appropriate in the training of technical personnel.
- 2) To maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress a student's cumulative grade point average must not fall below 70%.
- 3) To maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student attending on a full time basis has maximum time frames in which to earn their graduation certificate. These maximum time frames are as follows:

Course: Professional Truck Driving - 80 Hours		
Day Term Average Length	2 Weeks	
Day Term Maximum Length	3 Weeks	
Night Term Average Length	3 Weeks	
Night Term Maximum Length	5 Weeks	

Course: Complete Professional Truck Driving - 160 Hours		
Average Length	4 Weeks	
Maximum Length	6 Weeks	

These time frames are based upon full time attendance in the day or night classes and the students start date and will be adjusted on a pro-rata basis, in the event that the student changes from one curriculum or schedule to another.

All students will be evaluated upon completion of each module of the stated course to determine if, on a percentage basis the student has made sufficient progress towards the course objectives, the obtaining of a certificate and the completion of the entire curriculum within the maximum time frame expressed in the prior paragraph.

4) To maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student may have absences (net of make-up time) of up to 20% of the total course length. Lost attendance time while a student is on an approved leave of absence will not be counted as absent time. Students will be given an opportunity, at the discretion of the Chief Academic Advisor and subject to the availability of space, to repeat, remediate or make up lost work. This work shall be given full standing credit with respect to the evaluation of the student's maintaining a satisfactory progress. A student not maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress will be placed on probation. If, at the end of the probationary period, the student shall be deemed ineligible for financial aid awards and may be subject to expulsion at the discretion of the Chief Academic Advisor.

A student placed on academic probation or deemed not to be making satisfactory academic progress may review the determination and may appeal the determination through the Chief Academic Advisor whose judgement in this matter shall be final, conclusive and binding.

Academic Review Procedures

- 1. Challenging the record for purposes of changing any of its contents must be requested in writing, stating fully the reason for challenge.
- 2. The Director, in consultation with the instructor will review all requests; and determination made to either retain the records intact or change them.
- 3. The student may meet with the Director and anyone he/she may designate to review the conclusions. The Director's determination is final.
- 4. Parental access to records is not permitted unless the student is a dependent, in which case all items in numbers 3 and 4 shall apply to parents.

Incomplete Subjects and Remediation

Students will be given an opportunity, at the discretion of the Chief Academic Advisor and subject to the availability of space, to repeat, remediate lost work. This work shall be given full standing and credit with respect to the evaluation of the student maintaining a satisfactory progress.

Withdrawal and Reinstatement

A student not maintaining satisfactory progress during the first 25% of the stated course period will be placed on academic probation for the next 25% of the course. If at the end the probationary period, the student has not corrected the progress of his deficiencies the student shall be deemed ineligible for financial aid awards and may be subject to expulsion at the discretion of the Chief Academic Advisor.

Completion/Graduation Requirements

To complete the course, a student must have a minimum overall grade point average of 70% or better and maintain an 80% attendance ratio, fulfill all other requirements stated in this catalog and be in good financial standing with the school. A certificate of completion is awarded once these requirements are fulfilled.

Grading System

90%-100%	(A)	4.0	Excellent
80%-89%	(B)	3.0	Above Average
70%-79%	(C)	2.0	Satisfactory
60%-69%	(D)	1.0	Unsatisfactory
50%-below	(F)	0.0	Failing

Student Conduct

Students attending Advance School of Driving are expected to act with courtesy and consideration toward instructors, staff, and other students. An important factor in the training process is the development of a professional attitude. Students are expected to observe proper etiquette and basic standards of social conduct. Improper conduct is sufficient cause for dismissal.

Student Dress Code

Students are preparing for a professional career while they are studying. Our dress code is based upon trucking industry standards. As a general rule it allows for casual attire with a clean, neat appearance. It is best while training or driving to wear comfortable clothing that you don't mind getting a little dirty. Although casual clothing is the industry standard this should not be an excuse to neglect proper hygiene. Appearance can be vitally important in successfully obtaining employment. Employers frequently visit the school and in doing so may evaluate the appearance of prospective employees.

Student Records

Students have access to their permanent records and transcripts, located in the Director of Training's office, Monday through Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. The review will be allowed under appropriate supervision. Requests must be made in writing to the Director of Training.

Transcripts and Records

Complete copies of records, reports, and grades are kept in each student's file. Copies of school records will be made available to students who are in good financial standing with the school. Receipt of written consent from the student is required before records may be released to a third party. Requests must be made in writing.

Right of Privacy

Student's records are confidential and only those agencies or individuals authorized by law are allowed access without written permission of the student. As an Advance School of Driving student you will be asked to give the school written permission to release both academic and placement related information to prospective employers.

Student records will be maintained at the school site for five years from the last date of attendance. Transcripts are maintained permanently

STUDENT SERVICES

Academic Advising

Academic advising may be initiated by school personnel or the student when the need is identified.

Housing

Advance School of Driving does not assume responsibility for student housing, does not have dormitory facilities under its control, nor offers student housing assistance. According to rentals.com for Fontana, CA rental properties start at approximately \$1,300.00 per month. Internet search results display Fontana hotel accommodation rates that fluctuate from \$100.00 to \$150.00 per night.

Library

Learning resources such as hand out materials are made available via request to your instructor.

Career Services

Career Services assistance is provided. However, it is understood that neither Advance School of Driving nor any of its agents, employees, or representatives can nor do promise or guarantee employment or a given level of income or wage rate to any student or graduate.

Career Services are helpful additions to your employment assessment, consideration and job search.

Advance School of Driving offers career assistance, which may include:

- Direct employer referrals (for students who successfully complete the program and receive their certificate)
- Information regarding job market and employment trends
- Assistance with Job Search research skills
- Advising Appointments (in person, phone): Schedule an appointment with a school administrator to discuss your professional needs.

Tuition payments must be current for career assistance services. Graduates may use job placement services upon request.

Drug Prevention Program

Advance School of Driving offers drug and alcohol prevention program information to all students.

Transportation

For those without transportation to the school, the L.A. Transit District and the Metro-Link rail system operate daily throughout the area with local stops near the school.

Student Grievance Procedures

In the case of a student complaint, the following procedures must be followed without exception:

- 1. Complaints directed at an individual instructor or staff member shall be discussed directly with the individual involved. This must be done at the time of the complaint during the current term.
- 2. If one-on-one discussions fail to result in a satisfactory resolution, a written complaint may be submitted to the Director of Training. Student must complete this step within one week of the incident.
- 3. Students may file a complaint about this institution with Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling 888.370.7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's Internet Web site, www.bppe.ca.gov

MANAGEMENT, STAFF & FACULTY

Executive Office

Glenn BitherPresident and Chief Academic

Officer

Kevin Bither

Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer

Charlie Di Fiore

Director of Training

Staff

Tiffany KrajcirVA Certification/Student

Services

DMV Prep Supervisor, 4 years

CDL Experience

Sylvia Di Fiore

Job Placement/ Student Services

Faculty

Jose Arias

Raul Nolasco

Transportation, 13 Years Experience Class A and B CDL

DOT Medical Examiner's Certificate

Crogg Wals

Transportation 21 Years Experience

Class A and B CDL

DOT Medical Examiner's Certificate

Gregg WalshTransportation, 22 Years Experience

DOT Medical Examiner's Certificate

Juan Sanchez-Training Supervisor Transportation, Diesel Mechanic, 25 Years'

Class A and B CDL

Class A and B CDL

DOT Medical Examiner's Certificate

DL-170

Experience

John Gray

Transportation
45 Years Experience
Class A and B CDL
DOT Medical Examiner's Certificate

Eric Edgar, 15 Years Experience

Class A and B CDL

DOT Medical Examiner's Certificate

DL-170

Gaudencio Alvarez

Transportation, 27 Years Experience

Class A and B CDL

DOT Medical Examiner's Certificate

Tommy Diaz

Transportation, Lab Instruction, 4 Years Experience

Class A and B CDL

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. #225, Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, www.bppe.ca.gov, toll-free telephone number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897.

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling 888.370.7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's Internet Web site, www.bppe.ca.gov.

Advance School of Driving is not accredited by an agency recognized by the United States Department of Education (USDE) and students are not eligible for federal financial aid programs.

Advance School of Driving has never filed for bankruptcy petition, operated as a debtor in possession or had a petition of bankruptcy filed against it under Federal law.

Advance School of Driving does not admit ability-to-benefit students.

CHANGES

Information about Advance School of Driving is published in this catalog that contains a description of policies, procedures, and other information about the College. Advance School of Driving reserves the right to change any provision of the catalog at any time. Notice of changes will be communicated in a revised catalog, an addendum or supplement to the catalog, or other written format with an effective date. Students are expected to read and be familiar with the information contained in the catalog, in any revisions, supplements and addenda to the catalog, and with all school policies. By enrolling in Advance School of Driving, the Student agrees to abide by the terms stated in the catalog and all Advance School of Driving policies.