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AS A PROSPECTIVE STUDENT:  
You are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to 
review the School Performance Fact Sheet which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment 
agreement.  
 
Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the 
institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at: 
 
Physical Address:  1747 N Market St, Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 
Mailing Address:  PO Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818  
Phone:             1(888) 370-7589 FAX (916)263-1897  
Website:     www.bppe.ca.gov 
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APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 
 

Shasta School of Cosmetology, a private institution, is located at 678 N. Market St. Redding, CA 96003 and is 
granted approval to operate from the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education and Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology pursuant to California Education Code Section 94802. The Board’s approval to operate means 
compliance with minimum state standards and does not imply any endorsement or recommendations by the 
State. Approved is/are the following course/courses: 
 

DICTIONARY OF OCCUPATIONAL                             CIP CODE 
        Cosmetology  - 1600 hours               12.0401         
        Cosmetology  - 1000 hours               12.0401 
               Barbering   - 1500 hours       12.0402      
        Barbering   - 1000 hours       12.0402      
        Manicuring   -  400 hours               12.0410    
        Esthetician   -  600 hours               12.0409  
          Barber Crossover -  200 hours       12.0402      
 
Instruction (Class sessions) are held in residence at 678 N Market Street, Redding, CA with facility occupancy 
level accommodating 138 students at any one time: Estimates per course, which are subject to change, are 100 
Cosmetology/Barbering/Barber Cross-Over students, 12 Manicuring students, and 18 Esthetician students. 
 
California statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study, be awarded an 
appropriate diploma or certificate verifying the fact. This institution awards a diploma. Prospective enrollees are 
required to visit the physical facilities of the school and to discuss personal educational and occupational plans 
with school administrative personnel prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements. This school currently 
has available sponsored programs, government or otherwise, to provide grants or to pay for portions of tuition 
and fees. They are as follows: 
 
    Regional Occupational Program ~ Siskiyou Training & Employment Program ~ 
        Smart Business Resource Center ~ Veterans Administration ~ State Department of 
    Rehabilitation ~ Social Security Administration ~ Bureau of Indian Affairs ~  
    Department of Education ~ Health Education and Welfare. 
 
In consideration of the Regional Occupation Program (ROP), this program is not a part of the licensing process of 
the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology program. The Cosmetology program sets minimum standards for your 
program of studies and minimum number of classes or class hours or minimum criteria necessary for licensure.  
 
Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first contact the instructor in charge. Requests for 
further action may be made to David Hambelton, Director. A student or any member of the public may file a 
complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education by calling 1-888-370-7589 
or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s Internet web site at 
www.bppe.ca.gov. All information in the content of this school’s catalog is current and correct and is so certified 
as true by David Hambelton.  
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Mission Statement 
 

 
 

The Mission of Shasta School of Cosmetology 
is to provide a safe and exciting 
educational environment that 

is learner-centered and discovery-oriented. 
 

To equip graduates to successfully the pass 
State licensure exam. 

 
To offer placement services for students 

that they may obtain employment in 
entry-level positions leading toward a successful 

career in the field of Cosmetology, Barbering, Manicuring, 
Esthetician or related career path. 
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GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
HISTORY  
Shasta School of Cosmetology was established to provide quality education in the field of beauty and 
cosmetology.  Shasta School of Cosmetology has been owned by Hambelton Beauty Colleges, Inc. since 1973. 
The school has been in the Hambelton family for over 45 years. 
 
ADMINISTRATION  
Shasta School of Cosmetology is a private institution owned by Hambelton Beauty Colleges, Inc. 
 
APPROVALS  
“Approval to operate” means compliance with minimum state standards as set forth in the Education Code and 
does not imply an endorsement or recommendation by the state or by the Bureau. 
  
Shasta School of Cosmetology, a private institution, is “licensed to operate” by both:  
 Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education  AND The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
 1747 N Market St, Ste 225 Sacto, CA 95834   P.O. Box 944226 
 PO Box 980818, W Sacramento, CA 95798-0818       Sacramento, CA 94244-2260  
 PHN (888)370-7589 FAX (916)263-1897    PHN (800)952-5210 
               
Shasta School of Cosmetology is accredited by: 
 National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences 
 3015 Colvin Street 
 Alexandria, VA 22314 
 (703) 600-7600 
   In accordance with CEC§94909(a) (16): The National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts &    
   Sciences is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a national agency for the institutional  
   accreditation of postsecondary schools and departments of cosmetology arts and sciences, and    
   massage therapy. 
   
   In accordance with NAACAS policy on Advertising: The National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts  
   & Sciences is recognized by the United States Department of Education as a national accrediting    
   agency for postsecondary schools and departments of cosmetology arts and sciences and massage   
   therapy. 
 
Please Note: Accreditation documentation is available for review upon request. 
 
Shasta School of Cosmetology is recognized as an eligible institution to participate in Federal Financial Aid 
Programs by: 
 The United States Department of Education 
 400 Maryland Avenue, SW 
 Washington, D.C. 20203 
 
Shasta School of Cosmetology is approved for the training of veterans and eligible persons under Title 38 of U.S. 
Code by:    
 California State Approving Agency of Veterans Education 
 1625 North Market Blvd Suite 209 
 Sacramento, CA 95834 
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MEMBERSHIPS - AFFILIATIONS APPROVALS (Revised Feb 17, 2021) 
California Cosmetology Association ● California Department of Vocational Rehabilitation ● U.S. Department of 
Education, Division of Eligibility ● U.S. Veterans Administration ● National Foundation of Independent Business 
National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences ● Redding Chamber of Commerce 
North Valley Employer Advisory Council 
 
BANKRUPTCY DISCLOSURE NOTICE 
Shasta School of Cosmetology has no pending petition for bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, 
has not filed a petition within the preceding five years nor has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within 
the preceding five years that has resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy 
Code (11 U.S.C. Sec 1101 et seq.). 
 
ADMINISTRATION BUSINESS HOURS 

Career Planning: Applicants may secure information during regular school operating hours. Students may 
contact administrative office for an appointment.  
 
Financial Aid: Applicants or students may secure financial aid information during regular school operating hours. 
Contact administrative office for an appointment.  
 
Job Placement Assistance: Students may secure job placement information during regular school operating 
hours.   
 
Contact the administrative office for an appointment. All Shasta School of Cosmetology administrative offices 
may be reached at the following:  
Phone (530) 243-7990 (530) 243-7991 Fax: (530) 243-0632  
 
EMAIL: contact.shastaschoolofcosmetology@gmail.com.com 
 
FACULTY/STAFF (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 
The faculty of Shasta School of Cosmetology believes that cosmetology is a continual learning experience; 
therefore, they attend seminars and classes in professional techniques and teaching methods throughout the 
year to keep abreast of the latest trends. 
 
NAME                        TITLE/CREDENTIALS 
David Hambelton -  Director; Instructor 
        CA Teaching Credential#030169048; Cosmetology #KK344710  
        Esthetician #Z78321; Barber #B101103, Instructor Training Certificate 
        Title IV Certification 
 
Carinn Hambelton  - Assistant Director, Instructor  
        Cosmetology #KK440214; Esthetician #Z78244; Instructor Training Certificate                
 
Terry Hambelton   - Financial Director 
        Title IV Certification 
 
Wendy Jerome   - Financial Aid Administrator  
        Master’s in Business Administration; Bachelor of Arts-Accounting 
        Title IV Certification, Teaching Certificate 
 
Lionella Alford   - Instructor 
        Cosmetology #KB56671; CA Teaching Credential 
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Lori Bokovich   - Instructor - Cosmetology #KK62909 
 
Stacia Brandon   - Instructor - Cosmetology #KK235510, Barber #B102920 
 
DeazmondPaul Lerner - Instructor – Cosmetology #KK497625, Barber #105575 
 
Saylor Cassell   - Instructor – Cosmetology #KK598065 
 
FACILITIES (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 

Shasta School of Cosmetology is located at 678 North Market Street, Redding, CA  96003. The school occupies a 
6400 square feet building for classrooms, offices, and clinics. Rooms are spacious, well-lit and air conditioned.  
The school facilities were specifically designed to provide students with an ideal environment for learning the 
profession of the beauty industry. This institution can accommodate 100 cosmetology/barbering/barber 
crossover students, 12 manicuring students, and 18 estheticians. All equipment is standard salon equipment and 
required equipment as per the Board of Barbering & Cosmetology include 60 locking stations, 12 portable 
manicuring stations, 10 shampoo bowls, 8 portable esthetician beds, 2 dryer chairs + 1 portable dryer, 4 hand 
washing stations, 40 student lockers, and 2 barber chairs. 
 
STUDENT HOUSING 
Shasta School of Cosmetology does not have dormitory facilities. Housing is available near the institution’s 
facilities. Estimated costs for nearby housing can range anywhere between $500 and $1500 per month. This 
institution takes no responsibility to find or assist in finding potential or current student housing. 
 
HEALTH AND PHYSICAL CONSIDERATIONS 
Generally, the professional in the beauty field must be in good physical health because working in this 
profession requires direct physical contact with the clients. In most aspects of the beauty culture, there is a 
great deal of standing, walking, pushing, bending, and stretching sometimes for long periods of time. A person 
must consider their own physical limitations in terms of making a career choice that involves extensive training. 
We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations or disabilities if such students believe they can 
fulfill the training demands. If a student, while enrolled, sustains an injury deemed by the college to impair their 
ability to fulfill all educational requirements, both practical and theoretical, the student may be required to take 
a Leave of Absence until given a full medical release by their physician.  
 
LEARNING DISABILITIES  
If you have any known learning disabilities, please notify Administration prior to enrollment. This will help 
ensure that you may receive proper attention to complete your course. The school does not provide individual 
tutoring. 
 
STUDENT SERVICES (Revised Feb 17, 2021) 
Library: Located in the administrative office and the front desk area. The library includes resources such as 
Chromebooks, DVD’s, videos, and books. Students may check out resources by leaving their timecard with an 
instructor. They get their timecard back when the resource is returned.  
 
Learning Software: As part of their education, students have access to learning software (CIMA and MINDTAP) 
specific to their course which encompasses an e-textbook, tests, and other learning information and activities. 
Students receive key codes to gain access to their software. 
 
Financial Aid Assistance: (Revised Jan 1, 2022)  
Full time staff is available in the administrative office to assist students with financial aid. Additionally, Shasta 
School of Cosmetology now uses the assistance of a third-party servicer (FatStaf) for financial aid needs. 
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VACCINATIONS 
Shasta School of Cosmetology requires no information regarding vaccinations from potential students to attend 
school. 
 
SCHEDULES AND CALENDAR (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 
Classes are scheduled to begin every eight to ten weeks approximately.  
For 2022, classes are scheduled to begin on January 11, Feb 22, Apr 19, Jun 14, Aug 23, and Oct 11. (Refer to 
website for more information)  
 
These dates will be posted on the school website. All dates and schedules are subject to change. Changes will 
be posted on the school website as needed.  
 
Class schedules are available as follows:     

 
Cosmetology  
1.) Tue-Fri, 8:30am – 2:30pm (6 hrs. per day/24 per wk.) 
 Note: When available, students may be able to add additional hours. 
 
Barbering 
1.) Tue-Fri, 8:30am – 2:30pm (6 hrs. per day/24 per wk.) 
 Note: When available, students may be able to add additional hours. 
 
Barber Cross-Over 
Week #1 – Monday 8:30a – 5:00p 
Week #2 – Monday 8:30a – 5:00p 
Week #3 – Minimum 8-hr per week until complete 
 
Esthetician/Manicuring 
8:30am – 5:00pm (3-8hr days/24 hrs. per week) Schedule subject to change 
 
Note: After the freshman portion of the course is complete, the student may opt to add additional hours. Please 
see administration for available schedules. 
 
Current High School ROP Schedule  
Tuesday – Friday 8:30am – 2:30pm 
 
*Adding or decreasing hours is optional, not required. 
*Only students with an 85% overall attendance record will be allowed to add hours to their schedule. 
 
It is the responsibility of the student to ensure they choose a schedule that will accommodate their needs from 
beginning to end of enrollment. Schedule changes will only be made under extenuating circumstances and must 
be approved by the school Director. Students may opt to increase their hours per week when available and if 
they are financially qualified. Only students with 85% attendance or better will be approved to add additional 
hours to their schedules. Schedule changes may not be available due to student population. In the case of size or 
extenuating circumstances, the school reserves the right to cancel any class deemed necessary. 
 
Entrance into these classes is scheduled according to opening availability. Our classes usually run small for better 
student-teacher relationships and more thorough freshman instruction. Graduation occurs following completion 
of state and school requirements of the student’s training program. Course start dates are listed on our website, 
or you may contact the admissions office. 
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The school is closed every Sunday and the following holidays: Memorial Day, the week of July 4th, Labor Day, 
Thanksgiving week, and 2 weeks for Christmas/New Years. Federal law mandates that the school also recognize 
Constitution Day (September 17) of each year; however, the school is not necessarily closed. Special holiday may 
be declared for special or emergent situations. 
 
SCHOOL PERFORMANCE FACT SHEET  
Fact Sheet information is posted on our web site at www.ShastaSchoolofCosmetology.com. Also, a supplemental 
handout is given to each student prior to signing an enrollment agreement.    
 
SOCIAL MEDIA PRIVACY POLICY 
In accordance with Senate Bill 1349, Chapter 619, Statutes 2012, Shasta School of Cosmetology, its employees, 
and any representatives will not request a student, prospective student, or student group to (1) disclose a 
username or password for accessing social media; (2) access personal social media in the presence of the 
institution’s employees or representatives; and (3) divulge any personal social media information.  Furthermore, 
Shasta School of Cosmetology, its employees and any representatives will not suspend, expel, discipline, or 
threaten to take any of these actions, or otherwise penalize a student, prospective student, or student group in 
any way for refusing to comply with a request or demand that violates the aforementioned prohibitions.  
 
Institutions are not prohibited from: (1) exercising rights and obligations to protect against and investigate 
alleged student misconduct or violations of applicable laws and regulations; or (2) taking any adverse action 
against a student, prospective student, or student group for any lawful reason. 
 
DRUGS/ALCOHOL-FREE WORKPLACE STATEMENT, NOTICE TO ALL STUDENTS AND EMPLOYEES   
1. It is the policy of SHASTA SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY (hereafter referred to as “this institution”) to maintain 
 a DRUG/ALCOHOL-FREE WORKPLACE. All students and employees are hereby notified that unlawful 
 manufacturing, distribution, dispensing, possession or use of a controlled substance or alcohol is prohibited 
 in this institution. The workplace for this institution is defined in paragraph 2 below. 
2. In compliance with the DRUG/ALCOHOL-FREE WORKPLACE ACT OF 1988, this institution’s workplace is 
 located at: 678 North Market St., Redding, CA  96003. 
3. NON-COMPLIANCE WITH THE TERMS IN PARAGRAPH 1 (above) will result in the following action   
 being taken by this institution: 
 a. TAKING APPROPRIATE PERSONNEL ACTION AGAINST SUCH A STUDENT/EMPLOYEE, UP TO AND     
  INCLUDING TERMINATION. 
 b. REQUIRING SUCH STUDENT/EMPLOYEE TO PARTICIPATE SATISFACTORILY IN A DRUG/ALCOHOL ABUSE   
  ASSISTANCE OR REHABILITATION PROGRAM APPROVED FOR SUCH PURPOSES BY THE FEDERAL, STATE, OR 
  LOCAL HEALTH LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY. 
4. All students and employees must read, understand, and sign the following statements: 

➢ I understand that as a condition of my enrollment/employment at this institution, I must abide by the 
terms of paragraph 1 above. 

➢ I must notify Shasta School of Cosmetology of my criminal drug/alcohol statute convictions for a 
violation occurring in the workplace not later than five days after such conviction. 

➢ I understand that this institution has established a drug/alcohol-free awareness program to inform 
students and employees about: 
a. The dangers of drug/alcohol abuse in the workplace 
b. This institutions policy of maintaining a drug/alcohol-free workplace 
c. Any available drug counseling, rehabilitation, and student/employee assistance programs and 
d. The penalties that may be imposed upon students/employees for drug/alcohol abuse violations   
  occurring in the workplace (see paragraph 3 above). 

 If needed, students shall be referred to: 
  Shasta County Alcohol/Drug Programs-Outpatient 
  2640 Breslauer Way Redding, CA 96001 Phone:(530)225-5240 Fax: (530)225-5245 
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POLICY CHANGES 
Shasta School of Cosmetology reserves the right to change policies and procedures at any time without notice 
by announcing, emailing, posting (or any combination of the three) with said changes. 

 
ADMISSION POLICIES 

 
TEMPORARY DISTANCE LEARNING – As needed 

Due to COVID-19, Shasta School of Cosmetology may offer (contingent upon approval) temporary distance 
learning in accordance with guidance set forth by our accreditor (NACCAS), the Department of Education and 
the State of California. 
 

• Interaction between student and instructor is conducted via continuous Zoom meetings. Instructors take roll 
at least once per hour and randomly in between. Time is calculated in ¼ hour increments. No student shall 
receive more than 50% of their hours or operations via distance learning. 

• Testing sheets & written tests will be administered while student is physically on school campus. 
Note: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the following modifications have been made in accordance with the 

guidance set forth by NACCAS: Practical and written tests can be administered via the ZOOM app. When 

regular school resumes, the school will validate the students’ understanding of material assessed via 

distance learning. 

• All Students must attend school ‘on campus’ at least one full scheduled class day every 10 business days--
one day every two weeks.  
Note: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, State and local governments have enacted a self-quarantine order 

thus students need to stay home and not be on campus. NACCAS is exempting Policy VI.02 criteria 3 until 

such time as students are allowed to come back to campus. 

• All distanced hours & operations will be noted on evaluations, timecards, and transcripts. 

• Prior to enrollment, Students are provided with a disclaimer that academic achievement earned via distance 
education may not be accepted for reciprocity or eligible for licensure in other states. A signed and dated 
copy of this disclosure is in each student file.  

 
WRITTEN APTITUDE TEST (PLACEMENT TEST)  
Effective for admission to the June 2020 classes and all classes thereafter – The written aptitude test must be 
passed with a 70% or better. Students will have two chances to pass the aptitude test, if not passed by the 
second time, student must wait 30 days to take it again. 
 
The test will be administered under the following criteria: 

• Time limit - None 

• Only one answer per question will be graded. 

• No dictionary or calculator of any kind may be used. 

• Mobile phone use is not allowed. 

• No interpreter or person who is not actively taking the test is allowed in the testing area. 

• Passing is a score of 70 or higher out of a total of 25 questions. 

• Any score below 70 is considered failure and will not be eligible to enroll until test is passed. 

• A re-enroll student does not have to take the test again upon re-enrollment as long as we have record of 
the previously taken test. 

 
Note: Applicants must begin their course within one year of successfully completing the Placement Test.  
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ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS (Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetician, Manicuring) 
Applicants are admitted to this institution based upon the following criteria:  
(a) must provide proof of high school completion (diploma, GED or equivalent is acceptable) Ability to Benefit is 

not accepted at this institution. 
(b) must complete an entrance interview prior to enrollment 
(c) must pass a written placement test with a 70% or better. An administrative staff member will administer the 
 aptitude test to applicants prior to enrollment. Shasta School of Cosmetology does not offer ability-to-benefit 
 admission. High school students interested in enrollment are to contact their high school career specialist for 
 admissions information. 
(d) must complete Milady’s Infection Control online course prior to starting classes   
 (https://www.miladytraining.com/courses/infection-control) 
(e) must complete sexual harassment/discrimination course (https://www.dfeh.ca.gov/shpt/) 

(f) V. A. students must provide all college transcripts prior to enrollment  
 
(Barber Crossover) (Revised Feb 17, 2021) 
(a) Must provide proof of high school completion (diploma, GED or equivalent is acceptable) Ability to Benefit is  

not accepted at this institution. 
(b) must provide proof of having completed 1000 Cosmetology course hours or a valid Cosmetology license. 
(c) must complete an entrance interview prior to enrollment. 
(d) must pass a written placement test with a 70% or better. 
(e) must complete Milady’s Infection Control online course prior to starting classes      

 (https://www.miladytraining.com/courses/infection-control) 
(f) must complete sexual harassment/discrimination course (https://www.dfeh.ca.gov/shpt/) 
 
VALIDITY OF A HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA 
Regulation 34 CFR 668.16 (p) requires Title IV schools to establish policies and procedures to confirm the 
authenticity of high school diplomas in the event that the school or the Secretary of the U.S Department of 
Education has reason to question the validity of a student’s high school diploma. The school may require further 
documentation in the form of a certified copy of final high school transcripts for the high school in question or 
information from a company that evaluates foreign diplomas (in the case of a foreign diploma) and translate 
them into English. Shasta School of Cosmetology will then confirm that the student is eligible for Postsecondary 
instruction. Student self-certification is not considered sufficient proof of validity. In addition to checking online 
for further information about the school issuing the diploma and its accreditation, the school may also contact 
the Department of Education in the state in which the diploma was issued to determine if the school listed on 
the diploma is on the state list of recognized schools. 
 
The school maintains a list of known diploma mills for the admissions staff to check when receiving a diploma 
from an unknown and questionable source. It is understood that this list may not be all inclusive as there are 
hundreds of diploma mills—some known and some not currently known. It is also understood that the list of 
schools in the FAFSA drop down box online does not guarantee that a high school is legitimate. The school 
makes every reasonable effort to verify the validity of questionable high school diplomas. 
 
NOTE:  Foreign high school diplomas must be translated into English, evaluated, and verified that it is the    
   equivalent of a United States High School Diploma. (Notary is not acceptable.) Please see school admin  
   office for acceptable verification companies. 
 
NOTE:  GED Testing information is available through the SMART Business Resource Center, 1201 Placer Street,  
   Redding, 96001 (530)246-7911. 
 
NOTE:  This institution does not admit students from other countries, does not provide VISA services, and does  
              not vouch for student status or any associated charges. 
 

https://www.miladytraining.com/courses/infection-control
https://www.dfeh.ca.gov/shpt/
https://www.miladytraining.com/courses/infection-control
https://www.dfeh.ca.gov/shpt/
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CLASS CANCELLATION 
If there are not at least two people to start a scheduled class, Shasta School of Cosmetology reserves the     
right to cancel the class. 
 
TRANSFER STUDENTS (Revised Mar 1, 2022) 
The transferability of credits you earn from another institution or from another course at this institution is at the 
complete discretion of this institution to which you may seek to transfer. Prior to applying for admission to this 
institution, a student wishing to transfer from another institution must provide documentation of prior training 
hours or a letter from the State of California with granted prior hours and technical instruction. The institution 
administration will evaluate prior training hours and operations to determine how many hours the student will 
need to complete the course satisfactorily. 
A. Transfer students will be required to complete freshman class and pass the written and practical examination 
 with 90% comprehension.  
B. Transfer students must have state technical requirements equal to the percentage of clock hours completed. 
C. A minimum of two evaluations will be administered during the enrollment period. They will be administered 
 in equal increments of time based upon the number of hours the student has left to complete the chosen 
 course. 
 
Please note that there is a $150 non-refundable administrative charge (conversion fee) to evaluate and calculate 
transfer credit. Shasta School of Cosmetology will only accept a maximum of 800 hours for the Cosmetology or 
Barbering programs, 500 hours for the Esthetician program, and 300 hours for the Manicuring program. 
Presently, this institution does not have articulation or transfer agreements with any other colleges or 
universities. 
 
RE-ENROLL STUDENTS (Revised Mar 1, 2022) 
The transferability of credits you earn from this institution is at the complete discretion of this institution. Prior 
to applying for re-admission to this institution, a student wishing to re-enroll must provide documentation of 
prior training hours. The institution administration will evaluate prior training hours and operations to 
determine how many hours the student will need to complete the course satisfactorily.  
 
Note: Any prior balance due from a former student must be paid prior to re-enrolling. 
 
A. Re-enroll students will be required to complete freshman class and pass the written and practical 
 examination with 90% comprehension. If a former student re-enrolls within 90 days from date of withdraw, 
 they do not  have to repeat freshman class. 
B. Re-enroll students must have state technical hour requirements equal to the percentage of clock hours 
 completed. 
C. A minimum of two evaluations will be administered during the enrollment period. They will be administered 
 in equal increments of time based upon the number of hours the student has left to complete the chosen 
 course. 
D. Depending on class size and availability, potential re-enroll students may be placed on a wait list. 
 
Please note for students that are enrolling from a previous 1600 or 1500 course, there is a $150 non-refundable 
administrative charge (conversion fee) to evaluate and calculate re-enroll credit. Shasta School of Cosmetology 
will only accept a maximum of 800 hours for the Cosmetology or Barbering programs, 500 hours for the 
Esthetician program, and 300 hours for the Manicuring program. 
 
NOTE: If a high school student has been withdrawn from their prospective course and wishes to re-enroll later, 
they (after high school graduation) will not be re-enrolled into the high school program, but the adult program. 
Additionally, financial aid is available for those who qualify. 
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NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED FROM OUR INSTITUTION  
The transferability of credits you earn at Shasta School of Cosmetology is at the complete discretion of the 
institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the diploma or certificate you earn in the 
Cosmetology, Barbering, Barber Cross-Over, Manicuring or Esthetician course is also at the complete discretion 
of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the diploma or certificate that you earn at this institution 
is not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all your 
coursework at that institution. For this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution 
will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer 
after attending Shasta School of Cosmetology to determine if your hours, credits, diploma, or certificate 
(whichever is applicable) will transfer. (Please Note: This institution will maintain a written record of the previous 
education and training of veterans and eligible persons. Records will indicate that credit has been granted, if 
appropriate, with the training period shortened proportionately and student notified accordingly.) 
 
EXPERIENCIAL CREDIT 
Shasta School of Cosmetology does not award credit for prior experiential learning. 
 
EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVE 
Graduates of each course (Cosmetology, Barbering, Barber Crossover, Esthetician, or Manicurist) will have 
successfully completed the educational hours and skills (practical and behavioral) and the theory knowledge to 
pass the required State Board Examination. The progress of each student is measured by practical (hands on) 
work and theory classes. Students are tested regularly and evaluated on their progress within the scope of the 
State and school requirements. 
 
LANGUAGE 
All recruitment, enrollment agreements, disclosures and statements to students are conducted in English. If a 
potential student’s primary language is not English, they have the right to obtain a clear explanation of all terms 
and conditions and all cancellation and refund policies in their primary language at their own expense. This 
institution does not offer bilingual instruction, nor provides interpreters for those that do not understand 
English. All classes are taught in English, and students need to be proficient (measured by a passing score of 70% 
or better on the placement test) in English to understand their coursework. Additionally, this institution does 
not provide English-as-second-language instruction. 
 
STUDENT’S RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
The student has the right to ask the school: 

• The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations. 

• About its programs: instructional, laboratory, physical facilities, and faculty. 

• What the cost of attending is and the policy on refunds to students who drop out. 

• What financial assistance is available including information on all federal, state, local, private, and 
institutional financial aid programs? 

• What the procedures and deadlines are for submitting applications for each available financial aid program. 

• How it selects financial aid recipients. 

• How it determines financial need. 

• How much of your financial need, as determined by the school, has been met? 

• To explain each type and amount of assistance in your financial aid package. 

• To reconsider your aid package, if you believe a mistake has been made, or if your enrollment or financial 
circumstances have changed. 

• How the school determines whether you are making satisfactory progress and what happens if you are not. 

• What special facilities and services are available to the handicapped? 
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It is the student’s responsibility to: 

• Review and consider all the information about the school program before enrolling. 

• Pay special attention to the application for student financial aid, and complete it accurately, and submit it on 
time to the right place. Errors can delay or prevent your receiving aid.  

• Know and comply with all deadlines for applying and reapplying for aid. 

• Provide all documentation, corrections, and/or new information requested by either the financial aid officer 
or the agency to which you submitted the application. 

• Notify the school of any information that has changed since you applied. 

• Read, understand, and keep copies of all forms you were asked to sign. 

• Request an exit interview at the time you are leaving the school to determine the net balance of your 
account with the school.  

• Notify the school of a change in your name, address, phone number, or attendance status (full/part time 
student).  

• Understand your school’s refund policy. 

• Understand and comply with the enrollment status, financial charges, financial terms, time allowed to 
complete, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the enrollment contract you will be 
asked to sign. 

• Understand that it is your responsibility and your liability when errors are made and funds for which you are 
not eligible or are advanced to you or credited to your school account. 

 
ORIENTATION (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 
Attending orientation is mandatory. Orientation is two to four hours and is held prior to the first day of class. 
The student will be notified of the date and time of orientation prior to class start date. Orientation sets the 
tone for a pleasant educational experience. During orientation, incoming students are provided with a student 
handbook and are made aware of their responsibilities by understanding the policies and procedures of the 
college, sanitation aspects, rules and regulations, student expectations, timecards, using the time clock and 
parking on campus, and the expectations of the teaching staff. This class will acquaint students with their 
specific instructional program, course goals, personnel, and student services. Any papers, documentation, 
payments, or verification that you need to complete for the office must be done prior to attending the 
orientation sessions. 
 
NON-DISCRIMINATION CLAUSE 
No person will be denied admission, graduation nor any other rights and privileges of the school due to race, 
sex, age, creed, color, religion, or ethnic origin. 
 
SEXUAL HARASSMENT POLICY 
It is the policy of Shasta School of Cosmetology to provide an educational, employment, and business- 
environment free of unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical 
conduct or communications constituting sexual harassment as defined and otherwise prohibited by state and 
federal law. Sexual harassment is against the law. It is also a violation of this School’s policy for anyone who is 
authorized to recommend or take personal or educational action affecting an employee or student, or who is 
otherwise authorized to transact business or perform other acts or services on behalf of the Shasta School of 
Cosmetology, to engage in sexual harassment as defined in the School’s Non-Discrimination policy.   
 
ADA COMPLIANCE 
Shasta School of Cosmetology complies with the provisions of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and 
no person is excluded from enrolling in a course of instruction due to their disability. Students must be able to 
perform all school and state requirements for program completion. Shasta School of Cosmetology admits those 
individuals whose disabilities would (1) not create a safety hazard to themselves or their classmates, (2) would 
not interfere with their ability to benefit from the training offered through their classroom performance 
capabilities and have reasonable placement potential following graduation.  
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CODE OF ETHICS 
1.   Shasta School of Cosmetology has as its principle objective to provide training to qualify students to give the 
 best possible service to clients. 
2.   Shasta School of Cosmetology strives to continuously improve its operation to keep abreast with the ever-
 changing business climate and new techniques in all areas of the beauty industry. 
3.   Shasta School of Cosmetology encourages its instructors to keep abreast of the latest teaching methods in 
 Cosmetology by reading educational books and attending teacher refresher or advance courses, workshops, 
 and other trade shows. 
4.   Shasta School of Cosmetology takes part in educational conferences and regional meetings to advance the 
 Cosmetology profession. 
5.   Shasta School of Cosmetology makes use of acceptable teaching techniques and training aids, such as 
 textbooks, workshops, role playing, round table discussions, team training, videos, DVDs, and other audio-
 visual aids to provide the best possible training for students. 
6.   Shasta School of Cosmetology purchases only high-grade standard equipment, cosmetics, and supplies with 
 well-known trade names to be used for the instruction of its students and use upon its clients. 
7.   Shasta School of Cosmetology maintains a fair and honest relationship with staff, students, clients, state and 
 federal agencies and other colleges. 
8.   Shasta School of Cosmetology advertises truthfully and makes honest representations to its clients and 
 future professionals. 
9.   Shasta School of Cosmetology does not recruit students already attending or admitted to another college 
 offering a similar program of study. 
10. Shasta School of Cosmetology observes the standards of the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts 
 & Sciences.  
 
CRIMINAL HISTORY & BACKGROUND CHECKS 
The State, employers and various other agencies may require criminal background checks before students can 
take professional licensing, certification, or registration exams. Students who have prior felony convictions or 
serious misdemeanors may be denied the opportunity to take professional licensing, certification, or exams, or 
may be denied a license or certification to practice in some states, even if the exam is taken and successfully 
completed. Students are responsible for inquiring with the appropriate agencies about current requirements 
prior to enrolling in the program of their choice. 
 
FERPA (SAFEGUARDING CUSTOMER INFORMATION) 
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA) 
The FERPA is a federal law designed to protect the privacy of a student’s educational records. The law applies to 
all schools that receive funds under an applicable program from the U.S. Department of Education. The FERPA 
gives certain rights to parents regarding their children’s educational records. These rights transfer to the student 
or former student who has reached the age of 18 or is attending any school beyond the high school level. 
Students and former students to whom the rights have transferred are called eligible students. Parents or 
eligible students have the right to inspect and review all the student’s educational records maintained by the 
school. Parents or eligible students must send a written request to the school and identify the records 
requested. The school will notify the parents or eligible students about the date and time the records will be 
available. This will be done within 45 days of the receipt of the request. Records will be maintained by the school 
for five years. Schools are not required to provide copies of materials in education records unless, for reasons 
such as great distance, it is impossible for parents or eligible students to inspect the records personally. The 
school will charge a fee for copies. 
 
Parents and eligible students have the right to request that a school correct records believed to be inaccurate or 
misleading. If the school refuses to change the records, the parent or eligible student then has the right to a 
formal hearing. After the hearing, if the school still refuses the correction, the parent or eligible student has the 
right to place a statement in the records commenting on the contested information in the records. Generally, 
the school must have written permission from the parent or eligible student before releasing any information 
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from a student’s record. An appointment must be made with the admissions office to review the files in their 
presence. The law allows schools to disclose records without consent to the following parties: 
 

• School employees who have a need to know. 

• Other schools to which a student is transferring. 

• Parents when a student over 18 is still dependent. 

• Certain government officials in order to carry out lawful functions. 

• Appropriate parties in connection with financial aid to a student. 

• Accrediting organizations. 

• Individuals who have obtained court orders or subpoenas. 

• Persons who need to know in cases of health and safety emergencies. 

• State and local authorities to whom disclosure is required by state laws adopted before November 19, 1974. 
 
Schools may also disclose without consent, directory type information such as a student’s name, address, 
telephone number, date and place of birth, honors and awards, and dates of attendance. However, the school 
must tell the students of the information that is designated as directory information and provide a reasonable 
amount of time to allow the parent of eligible students the school will disclose that information about them. If 
you have any questions about the FERPA, or if you have problems in securing your rights under this Act, you may 
call (202) 410-2057 or write to: Family Policy Compliance Office, Department of Education, 400 Maryland 
Avenue, S.W., Room 3017, Washington D.C. 20202-4605. 
 
Definitions 
Customers - are prospective students who apply to attend the colleges above and apply for private or 
government grants to finance their education. 
 
Nonpublic personal information - is information which is not publicly available on: 

• Your name, address, and social security number, 

• Name of your financial institution, account number, 

• Information provided on your application to enroll in the colleges above, 

• Information provided on your application for a grant or loan, 

• Information provided on a consumer report, 

• Information obtained from a website. 
 

Nonpublic Personal Information Policy 
Shasta School of Cosmetology is committed to implementing a comprehensive information security program, 
consistent with the size and complexity of this institution and the nature of its educational activities, to maintain 
and safeguard your nonpublic personal information against damage or loss. The policy covers all student records 
in whatever format (hard copy, electronic). 
 
The director shall be responsible to coordinate the school’s information security program. The coordinator shall, 
at least once every three years, assess foreseeable internal and external risks to the security, confidentiality, and 
integrity of customer information that could result in the unauthorized disclosure, misuse, alteration, 
destruction, or other compromise of the information. The risk assessment shall cover every relevant area of 
school operations including: 
 

• Employee training and management 

• Network and software design, information processing, storage, transmission, and disposal 

• Ways to detect, prevent, and respond to attacks, intrusions, or other system failures. 
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The coordinator shall design and implement safeguards to control identified risks and shall monitor the 
effectiveness of them, recommending changes when warranted. Records for prospective students who are not 
accepted or who do not enroll in the college shall be held for one year, and then destroyed in a secure manner. 
Records of students shall be maintained in accordance with federal and state law and accreditation 
requirements. Students shall receive an initial notice of this policy at the time they submit a signed application 
for enrollment. All currently enrolled students shall receive a notice by January 2 annually. Shasta School of 
Cosmetology shall only enter servicing agreements with service providers who also maintain appropriate 
safeguards for customer’s nonpublic personal information. 
 

 
COST OF ATTENDANCE  

Revised May 1, 2022 

 
Cost factors included in the budget are tuition, registration fee, STRF, books and supplies. Average cost of living 
allowances for the Redding area include housing, transportation, personal/misc. and daycare. 

 
1. Includes all mandatory fees           
2. The breakdown for this category is actual course cost for books and supplies. It does not include costs 
 associated with the purchase of a personal computer.           
3. Includes food, snacks, and meals           
4. Includes rent and utilities. This institution does not have on campus housing.           
5. Includes travel to and from parent's residents and transportation costs to and from classes (e.g., bus fare, 
 gasoline, tolls, parking).           
6.  Includes clothing, laundry and dry-cleaning, personal care, gifts, recreation, medical, etc.       
  

STUDENTS LIVING WITH PARENTS 

  
Cosmetology Barbering Esthetician Manicuring 

Barber 
Crossover 

Course Months  11.46 11.46 6.88 4.58 5.75 

Tuition1  $13,000 $13,000 $7,200 $4,000 $2,000 

Books/Supplies 
(Kit)2 

 
$1,300 $1,500 $1,000 $1,000 $575 

Fees  

Application 
Fee $150 
Registration 
Fee $100 

$250 $250 $250 $250 $250 

STRF*  $37.50 $37.50 $20.00 $12.50 $7.50 

Food3 1009/mo $11,563.14 $11,563.14 $6,941.92 $4,621.22 $5,801.75 

Housing4 
Included 
w/Food 

-- -- -- -- -- 

Transportation5 111/mo $1,272.06 $1,272.06 $763.68 $508.38 $638.25 

Personal/Misc6 364/mo $4,171.44 $4,171.44 $2,504.32 $1,667.12 $2,093.00 

Child/Dependent 
Care 

Reasonable expenses with adequate documentation provided by the student 
depending upon age and number of children. 

Loan Fees For student loan borrowers, actual or average loan origination and insurance 

Total Estimated 
Cost of 
Attendance 

 
$31,594.14 $31,794.14 $18,679.92 $12,059.22 $11,365.50 
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*STRF – Student Tuition Recovery Fund fee as required by the State of California is currently $2.50 per $1000. 
   
NOTE: The expense budgets shown on this table are based upon average expenses reported by students at the 
University of California, California State University, California independent institutions and California Community 
Colleges in the 2018 Student Expenses and Resources Survey (SEARS), adjusted for inflation with the 2021-2022 
CCPI.           
 

 
1. Includes all mandatory fees           
2. The breakdown for this category is actual course cost for books and supplies. It does not include costs 
 associated with the purchase of a personal computer.           
3. Includes food, snacks, and meals           
4. Includes rent and utilities. This institution does not have on campus housing.           
5. Includes travel to and from parent's residents and transportation costs to and from classes (e.g., bus fare, 
 gasoline, tolls, parking).           
6. Includes clothing, laundry and dry-cleaning, personal care, gifts, recreation, medical, etc. 
7. Student Tuition Recovery Fund fee as required by the State of California  
 
*STRF – Student Tuition Recovery Fund fee as required by the State of California is currently $2.50 per $1000. 
          
NOTE: The expense budgets shown on this table are based upon average expenses reported by students at the 
University of California, California State University, California independent institutions and California Community 
Colleges in the 2018 Student Expenses and Resources Survey (SEARS), adjusted for inflation with the 2021-2022 
CCPI.           

 

STUDENTS LIVING OFF CAMPUS 

  
Cosmetology Barbering Esthetician Manicuring 

Barber 
Crossover 

Course Months  11.46 11.46 6.88 4.58 5.75 

Tuition1  $13,000 $13,000 $7,200 $4,000 $2,000 

Books/Supplies 
(Kit)2 

 
$1,300 $1,500 $1,000 $1,000 $575 

Fees 

Application 
Fee $150 

Registration 
Fee $100 

$250 $250 $250 $250 $250 

STRF*  $37.50 $37.50 $20.00 $12.50 $7.50 

Food3 619/mo $7,093.74 $7,093.74 $4,258.72 $2,835.02 $3,559.25 

Housing4 1298/mo $14,875.08 $14,875.08 $8,930.24 $5,944.84 $7,463.50 

Transportation5 102/mo $1,168.92 $1,168.92 $701.76 $467.16 $586.50 

Personal/Misc6 427/mo $4,893.42 $4,893.42 $2,937.76 $1,955.66 $2,455.25 

Child/Dependent 
Care 

Reasonable expenses with adequate documentation provided by the student 
depending upon age and number of children. 

Loan Fees For student loan borrowers, actual or average loan origination and insurance 

Total Estimated 
Cost of 
Attendance 

 
$42,618.66 $42,818.66 $25,298.48 $16,465.18 $16,897.00 
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TUITION AND FEE SCHEDULE 
(Revised May 1, 2022) 

                                         
    * Registration fee $100 (non-refundable unless within the cancellation period) and Application fee $150 

(non-refundable). 
  ** Kit equipment is not required to be purchased from the school.  However, if a student does not purchase 
   the kit equipment from the school, they will be required to supply their own kit equipment at their own  
  cost. A minimum requirement list will be given to the student prior to enrollment. 
***     A Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) non-refundable fee is imposed per the State of California    
  currently at a rate of $2.50 per $1000. 
 
Other possible fees include:  
Insufficient funds fee - $25, state testing fees $125 (Cosmetology/Barbering), $115 (Esthetician) and $110 
(Manicuring), Credit Card Fee 3%, Conversion fee $150 (Effective May 1, 2022 – Application fee $150) 
 
Note: Books are nonrefundable if they cannot be re-sold as new books. Equipment (Kits) is nonrefundable due  
  to sanitary reasons. 
Note: Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) is only applied as needed for students paying out-of-pocket monies  
  towards tuition. 
 
ALL FEES AND TUITION MUST BE PAID BEFORE A STUDENT’S GRADUATION DOCUMENTS WILL BE RELEASED. 
 
COSMETOLOGY 
Students may pay tuition at $1,458.77 per month for ten (10) months. Prior arrangements must be made at the 
office for payments. 
 
BARBERING 

Students may pay tuition at $1,478.78 per month for ten (10) months. Prior arrangements must be made at the 
office for payments. 
 
BARBER CROSSOVER 

Students may pay tuition at $566.50 per month for five (5) months. Prior arrangements must be made at the 
office for payments. 
 
ESTHETICIAN 
Students may pay tuition at $1,694.00 per month for five (5) months. Prior arrangements must be made at the 
office for payments. 
 
 
 

Course Tuition *Fees Kit** Books STRF*** Total 24 Hr. 
Wks. 

        

Cosmetology $13,000.00 $250 $830.24 $469.76 35.00 $14,587.50 41.67 

Barbering $13,000.00 $250 $1,060.03 $439.97 37.50 $14,787.50 41.67 

Esthetician $  7,200.00 $250 $477.28 $522.72 20.00 $8470.00 25 

Manicuring $  4,000.00 $250 $591.27 $408.73 12.50 $5262.50 16.67 

      At minimum schedule 

Barber Cross-over $ 2,000.00 $250 151.12 423.88 7.50 $2832.50 23/wks 
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MANICURING 
Students may pay tuition at $1315.63 per month for three (4) months. Prior arrangements must be made at the 
office for payments. 
 
Notice to Student – Should the student complete the program earlier than the estimated timeframe stated in 
the contract, the student’s financial aid package may be recalculated which might result in liabilities owed by the 
student and/or the institution. Additionally, any balance due must be paid prior to receiving proof of training 
paperwork. 
 
Allowed Missed Time  
Students are allowed 10 percent of their total program (Cosmetology, Barbering, Barber Crossover, Manicuring 
and Esthetician) for absences to complete the program (Example:  A 1000 clock hour course = 100 hours of 
allowed missed time). If a student exhausts their allowed 10% for absences, a fee of $20.00 per hour will be 
charged thereafter to complete their program. Payments for hours attended past actual graduation date, as 
stated on the enrollment agreement, are to be made one week in advance until completion. The school reserves 
the right to change tuition and fees; and make subject changes, when necessary, in kits that are required. A 
notice of 10 days will be given by the school. Any changes in fees will not affect currently attending students. 
 
ALL TUITION AND FEES ARE PAYABLE IN ADVANCE (Revised 9-1-2021) 
Shasta School of Cosmetology accepts payments in the form of credit/debit card, cash, check, money order, 
cashier’s check. There will be a 3% fee incurred for credit/debit card transactions.  
 
Tuition is defined as payment for scheduled clock-hour instruction. Charges are assessed and posted in the 
student’s tuition account in accordance with the costs incurred in each payment period. For “Payment Periods” 
please refer to the contract for private pay students and financial aid documents for financial aid students.  
 
ADDITIONAL INCIDENTAL COSTS 
The following applies to all courses: 

• Basic school supplies i.e., binders, pens, pencils, note paper, uniform clothes, products for student practice, 
sanitary containers, etc. 

• Computer with video capability, internet access and headphones 
 
TUITION FEE FOR RE-ENROLLED/TRANSFER STUDENTS  
The hourly tuition charges for transfer or re-enrolled students who have prior hours are charged the current 
hourly rate per course. Any prior balance due by a re-enrolling student must be paid prior to re-enrollment. 
 
TUITION FEE FOR ADDITIONAL TRAINING 
To encourage good punctuality and attendance, students who exceed more than one hundred and ten (110%) 
percent to complete the course will be charged $20.00 per hour. Payments for overtime will be made one week 
in advance after expected scheduled date of graduation. This fee ($20.00/hr.) will be charged for all hours that 
have elapsed beyond the contract date until the student has completed the prescribed course. Once the student 
has consumed the additional hours allowed within the contract time frame, the student then must immediately 
make financial arrangements with the administration office to satisfy the debt incurred by excess absences. 
Arrangements must be made to have these additional missed hours paid for prior to the student clocking back 
into school. For Example: A student is contracted to complete training on April 10th. If, as of April 10th, the 
student still has 48 clock hours remaining to complete the course. The student would then have additional 
training charges (48 hours x $20.00 cost per course hours) payable weekly in advance beginning as per contract 
completion date.  
 
Note:  Students must abide by all school rules and regulations concerning absences. Tardiness is counted as an 
absence.  
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FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS (Revised 9-1-2021) 

All students must keep financial obligations current each month. Payments are due on the 1st or 15th of each 
month as per contract. Payments are delinquent after the 5th or 20th of each month as per contract. Any 
student not making their monthly payment by the 5th or the 20th of the month will not be able to clock in until 
the payment is current. Any exceptions must be authorized by the director of this school. Missed payments 
could be cause for withdrawal from school. All students must be current on regular and overtime tuition 
payments. If not current on the day of graduation or withdraw, the student will not be processed. No Proof of 
Training will be released unless financial obligations are fulfilled.  
 
STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (Revised April 1, 2022) 
This institution will assess Student Tuition Recovery Fund fees as per the Private Post-Secondary regulations 
(Article 2-76120). Currently the fee is $2.50 per $1000. 
 
Student Tuition Recovery Fund Disclosures 
(a) A qualifying institution shall include the following statement on both its enrollment agreement and school 
catalog: “The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate 
economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a 
California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the 
institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must 
pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an 
educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part 
of your tuition. You are not eligible for protection from the STRF, and you are not required to pay the STRF 
assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.” (b) In addition to 
the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the following 
statement in its school catalog:  
1. “It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any 
other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed 
to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, 
(916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589. To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a 
residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an 
economic loss as a result of any of the following:  
 1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was 
closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did 
not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.  
 2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120-day period before the 
closure of the institution or location of the institution or were enrolled in an educational program within the 
120-day period before the program was discontinued.  
 3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure 
of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which 
the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days 
before closure.  
 4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.  
 5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as 
required by law or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and 
other costs.  
 6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on 
a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect 
the award from the institution.  
 7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have 
an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans. To qualify for 
STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event 
that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt 
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collector after a period of non-collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for 
the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the 
action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery 
within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.  
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification 
number.”  
Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 94923, 94924 and 
94925, Education Code. 
 
NOTICE OF STUDENT RIGHTS 
1. You have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through 
 attendance at the first, class session, or the seventh (7) business day after enrollment, whichever is later. If 
 you cancel any payment, you have made or any negotiable instrument by you will be returned to you within 
 45 days following the school’s receipt of your cancellation notice.  
2. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time, and you 
 have the right to receive a refund for the part of the scheduled course not taken. Your  refund rights are 
 described in the contract. 
3.  If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund. Contact the address and phone 
 number below for information.  
4.  If you have any complaints, questions, or problems which you cannot work out with the school, write, or call 
 the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at the address or phone number listed below. Read the 
 Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and responsibilities. If you have lost 
 your Notice of Cancellation form, ask the school for a sample copy, or write to:  Bureau for Private 
 Postsecondary Education, 1747 N Market, Ste 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, PO Box 980818, West 
 Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, Phone: 1(888) 370-7589 Fax: (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov. 
 
CANCELLATION, WITHDRAWAL, AND REFUND RIGHTS (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 

The following policy will apply to all terminations for any reason, by either party, including student decision, 
course, or program cancellation: 
1. You have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through 
 attendance at the first, class session, or the seventh (7) day after enrollment, whichever is later.  Cancellation 
 occurs when you give written notice of cancellation at school address shown on the front page of the 
 enrollment agreement. You can do this by mail, email, in person, or FAX attention to the school director 
 listed on front of this agreement. The notice of cancellation, if mailed, is effective by postmarked date. This 
 notice need not take any particular form; it needs only to state you wish to cancel the agreement. You will be 
 given two Notice of Cancellation forms on the first day of class. If you cancel this agreement within the 
 seven-day time period, any money that you paid will be refunded within 45 days after your notice is 
 received. If School has distributed books to you, you shall return them upon cancellation. If you fail to return 
 the books in good condition, you will be charged the kit list cost of books,  
2. You have the right to withdraw from school at any time. A withdrawal may be effectuated by the student’s 
 written notice, or the student’s conduct, including, but not necessarily limited to, a student’s lack of 
 attendance. Any student who finds it necessary to withdraw must notify the Admissions Office promptly, in 
 person or in writing, of their intent to discontinue classes, stating their reasons in full. If you withdraw from 
 the course of instruction after the cancellation period as in Par. 1, the school will remit a refund less the 
 registration fee ($100.00) within 45 days following your withdrawal. You are obligated to pay only for 
 scheduled educational services and for received and accepted equipment. Equipment purchased through the 
 school is not refundable due to State sanitation and disinfection regulations. The refund shall be the amount 
 you paid for  instruction multiplied by a fraction—the numerator of which is the scheduled number of hours 
 of instruction which you have not received but for which you have paid, the denominator of which is the 
 total number of scheduled hours of instruction for which you have paid. If the amount you have paid is 
 more than the amount that you owe, then a refund will be made within 45 days of withdrawal. If the 
 amount that you owe  is more than the amount that you paid, then you will have to arrange to pay it. 
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3. Any monies due a student who unofficially withdraws from the institution shall be refunded within 45 days of 
 a determination by the institution that the student has withdrawn without notifying the institution. To 
 determine unofficial withdrawals, the school monitors student attendance--at minimum--once a week (every 
 7 days). A student who fails to attend classes for 14 consecutive calendar days without notifying the school 
 and has not requested a Leave of Absence will be determined as to have unofficially withdrawn and 
 withdrawal and refund processes will begin.  
4. Federal policy prescribes that a percent of scheduled hours be calculated by totalling the number of hours 
 the student was scheduled to attend between the first and last day of actual attendance divided by the 
 length in hours of the payment period course times 100. If this percentage is less than 60%, the school may 
 only keep that percent of Title IV funds that were disbursed or could have been disbursed. If the percentage 
 is 60% or greater, the school may keep 100% of the funds that were disbursed or could have been disbursed. 
 The amount that can be retained is the same whether it is applied to tuition, fees, kit and books or any other 
 institutional charge.  
5. The school policy uses the same percentage calculation as above but applies the percentage to the total 
 amount of tuition charges only and allows all other charges to be retained by the school without regard to 
 the calculated percentage. A student’s pro rata refund will be based on scheduled hours. 
 
 HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE:  The following table outlines the refund due based on percentage of 
 training completed, assuming you paid the following: 
 
                Total             Less Fees for                  Less                     Tuition 
              Contract           Registration                Supplies                     Fee        
                 $8100                $100                           $2000                  $6,000   
 
                    Completed                                              Refund Due   
                  10%           $5400 
                  25%                                   $4500 
                  50%           $3000 
 
 
6. For the purpose of determining the amount you owe, you shall be deemed to have withdrawn from 
 the course when any of the following occurs: (a) You notify School of your withdrawal or the actual date of 
 withdrawal; (b) school terminates your enrollment; (c) You fail to attend classes for 14 consecutive calendar 
 days without notifying the school; (d) You fail to return from a leave of absence. In this case, the date of 
 withdrawal shall be deemed to be the last date of recorded attendance. 
7. If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of 
 monies not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. If any portion of your tuition was paid 
 from loan proceeds, the refund will be sent to the lender or agency that guaranteed the loan. Any remaining 
 refund amount will first be used to repay any student financial aid programs from which you received 
 benefits, to the extent of benefits received. Any remaining amount will be paid to you. 
8. Students cannot be dismissed by an instructor. Such dismissals are to be sanctioned only by the 
 administrators of the school or by state or federal counselors.  
9. If the course is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment, the School shall at its option provide a refund 
 of all monies paid or provide completion of the course. 
10. Students who do not complete the program within the maximum time allowed (not to exceed 143% of the 
 course length) will be automatically withdrawn from the program. 
 
*The preceding cancellation, withdrawal and refund rights policy is present on the enrollment agreement and 
signed by the student upon enrollment. 
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RETURN OF TITLE IV FUNDS (Revised & Effective May 1, 2020) 

There are two elements to the matter of determining refunds and return of Title IV funds that need to be clearly 
understood. The Department of Education has regulations that outline the amount of Title IV funds, both loans 
and grants, that may be retained on behalf of a student who does not complete their contracted program.  The 
school is permitted to have a refund policy that is different from this federal calculation. It is possible that a 
student can comply with the Federal Return of Title IV funds policy yet still owe additional funds to the school 
based on the number of hours the student was scheduled to attend between the first and last day of actual 
attendance. Additionally, being absent or tardy can create a difference between actual attendance and 
scheduled attendance that can cause a student to owe more tuition than they have actually earned.  
 
The Federal policy prescribes that a percent of scheduled hours be calculated by totalling the number of hours 
the student was scheduled to attend between the first and last day of actual attendance divided by the length in 
hours of the payment period course times 100. If this percentage is less than 60%, the school may only keep that 
percent of Title IV funds that were disbursed or could have been disbursed. If the percentage is 60% or greater, 
the school may keep 100% of the funds that were disbursed or could have been disbursed. The amount that can 
be retained is the same whether it is applied to tuition, fees, kit and books or any other institutional charge.  
 
Determination of official and unofficial withdrawal from school is as follows: 
 
Official withdrawal from school: 
A student may cancel enrollment or voluntarily terminate his/her enrollment by advising the school 
administrator/owner in writing and/or in person. This is considered an official withdrawal from school. 
 
Unofficial withdrawal from school: 
When a student is absent from school for 14 continuous calendar days, the student will be withdrawn from 
school unless they are on an approved leave of absence. Efforts will be made by the school to determine why 
the student is not attending.  If a student fails to return to school within 30 days from their last date of 
attendance or from a leave of absence, Title IV financial aid funds not earned by the student will be returned to 
the Government by the 45th day from determination of the last day of attendance. 
 
In either event, calculations as to percentages of attendance completed or attempted will use the last day of 
recorded attendance as the end date. 
 
Order of how funds are returned: 
In the instance of a student’s withdrawal from a program and a return of Title IV funds is due, funds are 
returned in the following order: (1) Unsubsidized Direct Loans, (2) Subsidized Direct Loans, and (3) Pell Grant. 
 
REFUND POLICY (Revised & effective May1, 2020) 

The school policy uses the same percentage calculation as above but applies the percentage to the total amount 
of tuition charges only and allows all other charges to be retained by the school without regard to the calculated 
percentage. A student’s pro rata refund will be based on scheduled hours. 
 
HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE:  The following table outlines the refund due based on percentage of training 
completed, assuming you paid the following: 
 
            Less 
                        Total    Registration  Less           
                      Contract   Fee    Supplies  Tuition                        
                     $8100              $100                  $2000  $6,000   
 
                           Completed     Refund Due   

                          10%       $5400 
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                       25%                         $4500 
                        50%       $3000 

 
Third Party Payers  
In accordance with California State law for students receiving tuition assistance, any tuition refunds will be made 
first to any lender up to the amount of such disbursement; any additional refunds will next be made to other 
funding source accounts or any other sponsoring source up to the amount of such disbursement; any additional 
refunds due will be made to the student or sponsor. Any overpayment of monies distributed for non-tuition 
educational expenses will be based on the credits completed over the total time in that payment period. The 
student will be responsible for the repayment of any such overpayment. The refund for non-tuition education 
expenses, if any, will be made to the appropriate agency account or individual.  
 
Refund Time Limits 
In accordance with the California State law, all refunds will be made within 45 days from the date of cancellation 
or determination of withdrawal. If a student does not return from an approved leave of absence period as 
stated in school catalog, refunds will be made within 45 days from the end of the leave of absence period. 
However, such leave of absence may never exceed the maximum time allowed (Please see section entitled 
“Leave of Absence”). If you have any questions regarding these calculations, please see Administration. 
 
Discontinuation of Program 
A full refund of tuition and fees will be made in the event the school discontinues a program and this prevents 
the student from completing.  
 
Registration Fee Refund Policy 
This fee is nonrefundable except within the cancellation period. If the applicant cancels his/her enrollment 
agreement by midnight of the seventh day after the first class the applicant attends, the school will refund any 
money that you paid within 45 days after your notice is received. 
 
Please Note – If a student obtains a loan, the student will have to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, 
less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student receives federal aid funds, the student is entitled to a 
refund of the money not paid from federal financial aid funds.  

 
FINANCIAL AID 

(Revised Jan 1, 2022) 

 
Financial aid is available to those who qualify. For more information on tuition assistance and the application 
process, please contact your financial aid office. Shasta School of Cosmetology is approved for and participates 
in the federal financial aid programs, which is intended to defray the costs of attendance for those students 
eligible for financial aid. 
 
FINANCIAL AID MECHANISM 
Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces out of pocket costs those students and/or parents must pay to obtain 
a specific postsecondary education. In other words, financial aid is money made available to help students meet 
the cost of college attendance. Financial aid includes grants, which do not have to be repaid, and student loans, 
which do have to be paid back. Financial aid is awarded to students who have “need”. Need is the difference 
between the amount of money that the family will be expected to contribute to meet student costs and the cost 
of education at their school. 
 
FINANCIAL AID PHILOSOPHY 
Shasta School of Cosmetology believes that the talents, hopes, and ambitions of all people are among our 
nation’s most valued possession. As such, this school continues to promote scholarship and grant opportunities 
for qualified, deserving students who must find funds to attend college. The fundamental purpose of this 
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school’s financial aid programs is, therefore, to make it possible for students who would normally be deprived of 
a college education because of inadequate funds to attend college. The following principles have been adopted 
for our financial aid program: 
This college will work with schools, community groups, and other educational institutions in support of the 
national goal of equality of educational opportunities. 
 
1. Expected family contribution (EFC) affects the student’s cost of education. This school expects parents to 
 contribute financially according to their means considering their incomes, assets, number of dependents, and 
 other relevant information. Students are also expected to contribute from their own earnings and assets, 
 including borrowing against future earnings. 
2.  Financial aid will be offered after determining whether the family’s resources are insufficient  enough to meet 
 the student’s educational expenses. The amount of aid offered will not exceed the amount needed to meet 
 the difference between the student’s total educational expenses and the  family’s resources. 
3.  In awarding funds to eligible students, the amount and the type of self-help will be related to the 
 circumstances of the individual and the largest amount of grant/loan assistance will be offered to students 
 with the least ability to pay. 
 
STUDENT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
To be eligible for financial aid, a student must: 
 a. Be admitted as a regular student 
 b. Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible program on at least a half time basis. 
 c.  Be a citizen or an eligible non-citizen 
 d.  Not owe a refund on a Pell Grant or SEOG at any school 
 e.  Not be in default on a student loan at any school 
 f.  Have financial need 
 g.  Be making satisfactory progress (as defined by the school’s policy) during study 
 h. Be registered for selective service (if a male born after January 1, 1960) 
 i. Have a high school diploma, GED, completion of an approved home-schooling secondary program.    
  Foreign high school diplomas must be translated into English, evaluated, and verified that it is the    
  equivalent of a United States High School Diploma. (Notary is not acceptable.) Please see school  admin  
  office for acceptable verification companies. 
 j. Agree to use any federal student aid received solely for educational purposes.  
 
FINANCIAL AID CONSUMER INFORMATION 
Students apply for and receive (if eligible) tuition aid and financial assistance while attending our college. To 
determine if you are eligible for financial aid, you must complete the application process, meet academic 
progress standards, and be enrolled more than part time. To establish and maintain financial aid eligibility, 
students must apply each year by filling out a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Shasta School of 
Cosmetology participates with state, federal and private agencies that provide financial assistance for qualifying 
students. 
 

• Federal Pell Grant Program - this grant is an important source of aid for students who demonstrate financial 
need. It is dependent upon determination of eligibility, enrollment status, cost of attendance and a payment 
schedule issued by the U.S. Department of Education. A grant does not have to be repaid. 

• Student loans – are an important source of aid for students who demonstrate financial need. It is dependent 
upon determination of eligibility, enrollment status, cost of attendance and a payment schedule issued by 
the U.S. Department of Education. Loans have to be repaid. 

• Other financial assistance options may include, but not limited to: 

• Veterans Administration – contact your VA office. 

• Bureau of Indian Affairs or individual tribes – contact them directly. 

• Department of Rehabilitation – contact them directly. 
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• Smart Business Resource Center (Shasta County) – contact them directly. 

• Siskiyou Training & Employment Program (Siskiyou County) - contact them directly. 

• Red Bluff Job Training Center –contact them directly. 

• Chafee (contact your foster agency) 

• Scholarships (Some links are listed on our website, but feel free to look online as there are lots of 
scholarships out there.) 

• Cal-Works (sometimes will assist with kit costs and registration fee)  

• In-house school payment plan (0% interest, no fees) depending on chosen course. Inquire in the financial aid 
office.  

• On occasion, Shasta School of Cosmetology may offer in-house scholarships—contact the administration 
office for further information. 

 
VETERAN ADMINISTRATION STUDENTS (V.A.) 

In accordance is Title 38 of United States Code Section 3679(e), effective August 1, 2019 – the State approving 
agency, or the Secretary when acting in the role of the State approving agency, shall disapprove a course of 
education provided by an education institution that has in effect a policy that is inconsistent with the hours 
below:  
 
NOTE: A covered individual is any individual who is entitled to educational assistance under chapter 31, 
Vocational rehabilitation and Employment, or chapter 33, post-9/11 GI Bill® benefits. 
 
* Any covered individual to attend or participate in the course of education during the period beginning on the 
date on which the individual provides to the educational institution a certificate of eligibility for entitlement to 
education assistance under chapter 31 or 33 (a “certificate of eligibility” can also include a “Statement of 
Benefits” obtained from the Department of Veterans Affairs’ (VA) website – eBenefits, or a VAF 28-1905 from 
for chapter 31 authorization purposes) and ending on the earlier of the following dates: 
 

1. The date on which payment from VA is made to the institution. 
2. 90 days after the date the institution certified tuition’ and fees following the receipt of the certification of 

eligibility. 
 

* Students attending this institution are ensured that no penalty will be imposed, including the assessment of 
late fees, the denial of access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities, or the requirement that a 
covered individual borrow additional funds, on any covered individual because of the individual’s inability to 
meet his or her financial obligations to the institution due to the delayed disbursement funding from VA under 
chapter 31 or 33.  
 
GENERAL FINANCIAL AID INFORMATION  
Full-time financial aid advisors are available to assist you in obtaining the financial assistance required to meet 
your educational needs. You may apply for financial aid by contacting a financial aid advisor to discuss the 
process and timelines to apply for aid and completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The 
FAFSA helps determine the amount of assistance for which you are eligible. This analysis considers factors such 
as income, assets, number of family members in your household, and the number of your family members 
enrolled in college. 
 
WHEN TO APPLY: You must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), Renewal FAFSA or 
FAFSA on the Web (FOTW) worksheet. You should apply for financial aid as soon as you decide to enroll at 
Shasta School of Cosmetology. Your financial aid advisor will advise you of the necessary items for the 
application process. Student financial aid information (FAFSA data, verification items, disbursement information, 
etc.) is maintained in individual student files. This institution recommends that students keep a financial aid file 
at home to help ensure a smooth financial aid process and timely receipt of financial aid funds. 
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WHAT HAPPENS NEXT? Once you have submitted the FAFSA or FOTW, you will be sent a Student Aid Report 
(SAR or e-SAR). The SAR or e-SAR should be checked for accuracy. Contact the school immediately in case you 
think corrections are needed. Once the SAR or e-SAR has been determined to be complete, a financial aid award 
letter will be sent to you which will state the student need (the cost of your education), family contribution, and 
the amount of the grant awarded. The Department of Education requires verification of a percentage of all 
students. If selected, you must complete the verification process before disbursements will take place. Funds are 
then distributed by the financial aid personnel. 
 
Compliance Statement 
The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of their social security 
number is mandatory. The social security number is used to verify student’s identity, to process the awarding of 
funds, the collection of funds, and the tracing of individuals who have borrowed funds from federal, state, or 
private programs. 
 
Application Procedures and Forms 
Financial aid applications for this institution consist of the following: 
1. Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). This form needs to be completed as instructed on the form. 
 Documentation to substantiate the data entered on the form will be required by the Financial Aid Office as 
 per the policy of this institution. 
2. Enrollment contract 
3. Signed Student Aid Report 
4. Verification information which includes documentation regarding income, assets, and status. 
5. Other federal loan requirements 
 
Determining Need 
The information you report when you apply for aid is used in a formula, established by Congress, which 
calculates your expected family contribution (EFC). Shasta School of Cosmetology utilizes the Free Application 
for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for students applying for aid. The results will be reported on the electronic 
student aid report (SAR) with the calculation of the expected family contribution. 
 
Award Concept, Selection of Recipients and Packaging Criteria 
Schools frequently do not receive enough campus-based funds to satisfy all the student financial needs. 
Therefore, the school emphasized the self-help concept of student financial assistance. The self-help concept is 
on a first come, first served basis when awarding eligible applicants. The SELF-HELP CONCEPT lists types of 
financial assistance in the following order (1) Family Contributions, (2) Other resources, (3) Pell Grant, (4) Self 
Help (lenders). 
 
Financial Aid Definitions 
The following terminology corresponds with common terms used within financial aid definitions. 
 
Academic Year – Twenty-six weeks of instructional time with a minimum of 900 clock hours of instruction for a 
full-time student. The midpoint of the academic year shall be a minimum of 13 weeks and at least 450 clock 
hours. In effect, all students enrolled in courses with an academic year schedule to be completed in less than 26 
weeks, regardless of the number of clock hours offered, would have aid eligibility reduced in proportion to the 
number of weeks and hours during study in relation to the academic year. 
 
Clock Hour - 50 to 60 minutes of supervised instruction during a 60-minute period. 
 
Dependent Student - An individual that does not meet the independent student criteria. This student is required 
to submit with their application, student, spouse (if applicable), and parents’ income and assets data. 
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Expected Family Contribution (EFC) - The amount that has been calculated as family contribution to offset the 
student cost of attendance. 
 
Financial Aid Eligibility/Citizen/Non-Citizen - You must be one of the following to receive federal student aid: (1) 
U.S. Citizen, (2) U.S. National, (3) U.S. Permanent resident who has an I-151 or I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt 
Card), (4) Departure Record (I-94) from the US Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) that shows one of 
the following designations: (a) Refugee, (b) Asylum granted, (c) Indefinite parole and/or Humanitarian Parole, (d) 
Cuban - Haitian entrant, status pending, (e) Conditional entrant (valid only if issued before April 1980), (f) an 
approval form (I-797), (g) I-688 with valid expiration date. IF YOU ARE IN THE UNITED STATES UNDER ONE OF 
THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS, YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR FEDERAL AID: (1) F1 or F2 student visa, (2) J1 or J2 
exchange visitor visa only, (3) I-688 a, I-688 b, or I-688 (Amnesty Applicant). 
 
Independent Student - An individual who meets one of the following criteria: (1) meets federal age requirement, 
(2) an orphan or ward of the court, (3) a veteran of the U.S. armed forces, (4) An individual with legal 
dependents other than a spouse, (5) A married individual, or (6) A graduate or professional student.  
 
Need – Financial need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution from your cost 
of attendance. 
 
Parent(s) – For the purposes of the financial aid programs, “parent” is mother and/or father or adoptive/ 
stepparents or legal guardian, not foster parents. 
 
Recoveries - Recoveries resulting on funds paid to students for personal expenses which exceed the amount 
needed (based on the months attended times the monthly budget allowance) will be due from the student to 
the Title IV Programs. Students will be required to pay for recoveries to the program in this prescribed order: 1st 
- FEDERAL PELL GRANTS. 
 
Refunds - In a case where a refund is due to the Title IV programs, the application of the refund will be made as 
follows: PELL. This order will be applied providing the student received funds from that program and in amounts 
not to exceed the amounts originally paid from each program. Refund due to the lender or the aid programs 
account will be made within 45 days.  
 
Transfer Student - A student who attended a post-secondary institution prior to enrollment at Shasta School of 
Cosmetology. A transfer student is required to provide transcripts from each of the prior institutions attended 
and proof of training records. 
 
VERIFICATION POLICIES (Revised 1-1-2022) 
It is the policy of Shasta School of Cosmetology to provide in a timely manner to students a clear explanation of 
their role regarding their financial aid and verification, including what documents they must submit, the 
deadlines they must meet, and the consequence of failing to meet them. Federal regulations 34 CFR 668, 
Subpart E, governing the Title IV programs require schools to be sure of certain applicant reported data. These 
regulations require schools to develop written policies and procedures for verification. The school is required to 
make these policies available to all applicants for financial aid, as well as prospective students, upon request. 
This procedure is part of the admissions and counseling process. To follow the regulations and achieve 
consistency governing this process, the following verification policies apply to all applicants for Title IV 
programs: 
 

It is the policy of this institution to verify students who have applied for financial aid via FAFSA and been flagged 
for verification. Additionally, in agreement with requirements of 34 CFR Part 688.16(f), this institution shall 
resolve inconsistent application information for all enrolled students. 
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TIME PERIOD IN WHICH STUDENTS MUST SUBMIT VERIFICATION DOCUMENTATION  

• For first award year, verifications must be completed by the end of the class cancellation period.  

• For the second award year, verification must be completed by July 1st. Please note: In the instance that a 
student drops out of school before their second verification process is complete, the student will have 30 
days from their drop date to provide to the Financial Aid office any requested documentation needed to 
ensure proper qualification for financial aid. Upon expiration of the 30-day period, if the student has not 
provided all requested documentation for verification, financial aid funds (if any has been disbursed) will be 
returned to Title IV and the student will be billed for any money owed to the school.  

 
CONSEQUENCES FOR FAILING TO SUBMIT FINANCIAL AID DOCUMENTS ON TIME 
Funds will not be disbursed until the verification process is complete. 
 
METHOD WE WILL USE TO NOTIFY STUDENTS IF THEIR EFC AND TITLE IV AID AMOUNTS CHANGE 
If a student’s EFC and Title IV aid amounts change, the student will be notified in by the financial director within 
five (5) school days either in person, by phone, mail, or email. 
 
PROCEDURES WE OR STUDENT(S) WILL FOLLOW TO CORRECT FAFSA DATA. 
During the verification process, FAFSA data is reviewed for errors and any corrections needed are completed by 
the student, financial director, the third-party servicer. 
 
PROCEDURE WE WILL FOLLOW TO REFER A STUDENT TO THE OFFICE OF INSPECTOR GENERAL 
The Office of Inspector General is a clearinghouse for receiving and handling allegations regarding fraud, waste, 
abuse, mismanagement, or misconduct affecting Department of State programs and operations. If you suspect 
that a student, employee, or other individual has misreported information or altered documentation to 
fraudulently obtain federal funds, you should report your suspicions and provide any evidence to the Office of 
Inspector General. All information needed to make such a report is available on the website of the Office of 
Inspector General at www.oid.state.gov.  
 
Verification Exclusions: 
In the absence of conflicting information, exclusions from verification include: (a) An incarcerated student, (b) a 
recent immigrant who arrived in the United States during the calendar years, (c) spouse is unavailable - as in 
deceased or mentally or physically incapacitated, residing in a country other than the United States and can’t be 
contacted by normal means, can’t be located because his or her address is unknown and the student can’t 
obtain it, (d) parent(s) is/are unavailable - as in deceased or mentally or physically incapacitated, residing in a 
country other than the United States and can’t be contacted by normal means, can’t be located because his or 
her address is unknown and the student cannot obtain it, (e) death of a student, (f) applicant verified by another 
school, (g) pacific Island resident, and (h) not a financial aid recipient. 
 
Required Verification Items 

The following are required verification items for financial aid: household size, number enrolled college, adjusted 
gross income, income tax paid, various other untaxed income and benefits, and high school graduation status.  
 
Note: It is the policy of this institution to verify that a potential student has obtained an approved and valid high 
school diploma, GED, or the equivalent. Documentation for proof may include original high school diploma with 
graduation date, official transcript, original G.E.D. or Equivalent Certificate. Foreign high school diplomas must 
be translated into English, evaluated, and verified that it is the equivalent of a United States High School 
Diploma. (Notary is not acceptable.) Please see school admin office for acceptable verification companies. Self-
certification is not acceptable documentation. If this institution has reason to believe that a high school diploma 
is not valid or was not obtained from entity that provides valid secondary school education, this institution will 
require official documentation that can attest to the validity of a student’s graduation status.  
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Documentation Required 
A verification worksheet is to be filled out and signed by all appropriate parties. This worksheet is used to verify 
required verification items. If applicable, applicants shall provide the appropriate income tax information of the 
applicant, applicant’s spouse, and/or applicant’s parents by utilizing the IRS Data Retrieval Tool on the FAFSA 
website or by providing official tax return transcripts from the IRS. For non-tax filers, please refer to the financial 
aid office for appropriate documentation. 
 
Notification of Results of Verification 
The Financial Aid office shall notify and provide any additional forms to the applicant if additional information or 
documentation is needed for verification. The school shall notify the applicant of any change in the originally 
computed Pell Grant award. The school shall verbally notify the applicant when verification is complete and by 
obtaining the student’s signature and date on the student’s award letter. This is typically done in the financial 
aid office. 
 
Referral Procedure 
The school shall forward to the Secretary of Education the name, social security number, and other information 
on any applicant receiving funds. The school reports on possibly incorrect information after they make a 
reasonable effort to resolve the discrepancy. Under implementation of the regulation, the school shall refer to 
appropriate authorities the name, social security number, and other information about the applicant to satisfy 
34 CFR 668.1.4(g). 

ATTENDANCE POLICIES 
 

ATTENDANCE AND TARDY POLICY (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 
Each student is expected to attend all classes as scheduled. Absences from class can seriously affect the 
student's progress. Any student who is aware of an impending absence from school should advise the director 
verbally and in writing. If a student is receiving Title IV funds to attend this school, aid could be affected by 
absences. If for any reason the school is closed unexpectedly for extenuating circumstances, students will be 
notified by phone, or email. If the staff is unable to reach students by phone or email, a notice will be posted on 
the front door of the school. Hours allowed for absences are 10% contracted hours (for example--Cosmetology = 
100 hours, Barbering = 100 hours, Barber Crossover = 20 hours, Manicuring = 40 hours, Esthetician = 60 hours). 
Actual graduation date is figured according to total course hours + allowed absences for the course. 
 
ABSENCES DURING FRESHMAN PERIOD 
Students are limited to how much time they can miss during the freshman portion of their course. 
Cosmetology and Barbering can miss no more than 18 hours, Esthetician and Manicuring can miss no more than 
16 hours and Barber Crossover can miss no more than 8 hours. 
 

High school students missing more than 18 hours during freshman class will be withdrawn from the program. 
Exceptions approved by the Director only. 
 
Absences and Tardiness  
Absences: Regular attendance will be required at all times.  
 
Tardiness: Students more than 7 minutes late are not allowed to check into theory class. Checking in at all times 
disrupts classes.  
 
Class Cuts: No credit is given when daily timecards are not signed. Students must be checked in on biometric 
timeclock and checked out before leaving the building.  
 
Overtime  
If a student does not complete the course by the actual graduation date listed on their contract, the school will 
charge an additional $20.00 per hour according to their contract schedule until completion. Payment for hours 
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to be attended past actual graduation date will be made one week in advance until completion. Absences do not 
relieve the student of overtime charges. Students must maintain a 70% overall grade and attendance rate to 
maintain satisfactory progress.  
 
No Call-No Show Policy 
To train students to work in a salon or place of employment, any student missing any day must call prior to clinic 
start time to advise a STAFF MEMBER that they will either (1) be late or (2) not be at school that day. 
Additionally, any student leaving early must notify a STAFF MEMBER prior to leaving. Any student not following 
the above procedure will receive a demerit. 
 
CLASS AND PRACTICE HOURS (APPLIED EFFORT) 
Shasta School of Cosmetology will only recognize time clock-recorded hours of attendance. Students must clock 
in and out at the start and end of their class day, and in and out for their lunch period. After clocking in, you are 
required to maintain applied effort. Applied effort means that you are to be engaged in assigned practice 
activities, self-study activities authorized by your teacher, or participating in a class. In all cases, your activities 
while on the time clock must be related to training for your course of study. Personal grooming, listening to 
electronic devices, sleeping, leaving the building, reading magazines, etc. will not be tolerated.  
 

LEAVE OF ABSENCE POLICY (Revised January 1, 2022) 

The following policy applies to all students: 
A student can apply for a leave of absence by filling out a “Leave of Absence” form available in the 
Administrative Office. This form must be in writing and include the reason for the student’s request, signed by 
the student and approved PRIOR to taking Leave of Absence unless unforeseen circumstances prevent the 
student from doing so. For example, if a student were injured in a car accident and needed a few weeks to 
recover before returning to the institution, the student would not have been able to request the LOA in advance.  
 
An institution may grant a LOA to a student who did not provide the request prior to the LOA due to unforeseen 
circumstances if the institution documents the reason for its decision, collects the written request from the 
student at a later date, and establishes the start date of the approved LOA as the first date the student was 
unable to attend. In this example, the beginning date of the approved LOA would be determined by the 
institution to be the first date the student was unable to attend the institution because of the accident. 
 
Leave of absence will be granted for a minimum of 1 week not to exceed 6 weeks for Cosmetology and 
Barbering. For Esthetician, Manicuring and Barber Crossover, leave of absence will be a minimum of 1 week not 
to exceed 4 weeks. If you take a Leave of Absence during the freshman period of your course, you will be 
required to re-take the freshmen portion of your course. The LOA together with any additional leaves of absence 
must not exceed a total of 180 days in any 12-month period. There must be a reasonable expectation that the 
student will return from the LOA. If a student takes an unapproved LOA or does not return by the expiration 
date of an approved LOA, they will be withdrawn. As an institution required to take attendance, the withdrawal 
date for the purpose of calculating a refund is always the student’s last day of attendance. 
 

This institution does not assess additional institutional charges (overtime fees or otherwise) as a result of a 
student’s leave of absence. Additionally, a student granted a LOA that meets these criteria is not considered to 
have withdrawn, and no refund calculation is required at that time. 
 
This institution will extend the student’s contract period by the same number of days taken in the LOA. Changes 
to the contract period on the enrollment agreement will be initialed by all parties or an addendum will be signed 
and dated by all parties. 
 
Return from Leave of Absence:  Students returning from a Leave of Absence or other official interruption of 
training must return to school in the same satisfactory progress status they had prior to their departure. 
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SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY 
Revised August 1, 2022 

  
The Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy is consistently applied to all students (including V.A. students) 
enrolled at the school. It is printed in the catalog to ensure that all students receive a copy prior to enrollment. 
The policy complies with the guidelines established by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and 
Sciences (NACCAS) and the federal regulations established by the United States Department of Education. 
  
SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATION PERIODS  
 
Students are evaluated for Satisfactory Academic Progress as follows: 
Cosmetology (1600)      450, 900, 1350  actual clock hours 
Cosmetology (1000)      450, 900    actual clock hours 
Barbering (1500)            450, 900, 1350  actual clock hours 
Barbering (1000)            450, 900    actual clock hours 
Barber Crossover           100     actual clock hours 
Esthetician                    300     actual clock hours  
Manicuring                  200     actual clock hours 
  
V.A. Students are evaluated for Satisfactory Academic Progress as follows: 
Cosmetology (1000)      450, 900    actual clock hours 
Barbering (1000)            450, 900    actual clock hours 
Esthetician                    200, 400    actual clock hours  
Manicuring                  150, 300    actual clock hours 
 
*Transfer Students- Midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods, whichever comes 
first. 
  
Evaluations will determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for satisfactory academic progress. 
The frequency of evaluations ensures that students have had at least one evaluation by midpoint in the course. 
  
ATTENDANCE PROGRESS EVALUATIONS 
Students are required to attend a minimum of 70% of the hours possible based on the applicable attendance 
schedule in order to be considered maintaining satisfactory attendance progress. Evaluations are conducted at 
the end of each evaluation period to determine if the student has met the minimum requirements. The 
attendance percentage is determined by dividing the total hours accrued by the total number of hours 
scheduled. At the end of each evaluation period, the school will determine if the student has maintained at least 
70% cumulative attendance since the beginning of the course which indicates that, given the same attendance 
rate, the student will graduate within the maximum time frame allowed. 
  
MAXIMUM TIME FRAME  
The maximum time (which does not exceed 143% of the course length) allowed for students to complete each 
course at satisfactory academic progress is stated below: 
                                                               MAXIMUM 
COURSE                                                                                        TIME ALLOWED
                                                                                                              WEEKS        SCHEDULED HOURS 
Cosmetology              (Full time, 30 hr/wk)     - 1600 Hours     76 Weeks                     2288 
Cosmetology              (Full time, 24 hrs/wk)  - 1000 Hours     42 Weeks                   1430 
Barbering                    (Full time, 30 hrs/wk)  - 1500 Hours     71 Weeks                     2145 
Barbering                    (Full time, 24 hrs/wk)  - 1000 Hours     42 Weeks                     1430 
Estheticians               (Full time, 24 hrs/wk)      -  600 Hours      36 Weeks                   858 
Manicuring                 (Full time, 24 hrs/wk)      -  400 Hours     24 Weeks                  572 
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Barber Crossover      (Varies, 8-40 hrs/wk)    -  200 Hours      34 Weeks                     286 
  
The maximum time allowed for transfer students who need less than the full course requirements or part-time 
students will be determined based on 143% of the scheduled contracted hours. Students who have not completed 
the course within the maximum time frame will be withdrawn from the program. 
   
MAXIMUM TIME FRAME FOR VA STUDENTS 
VA benefits are paid for the approved program lengths only (not maximum time frames). 
  
ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATIONS  
The academic (qualitative) element used to determine academic progress: Theory written tests grades are 
determined by assigned academic learning. The practical portion of evaluations is derived from a minimum 
number of practical work from stamp sheets and testing sheets. Academic learning is evaluated after each 
evaluation period as described below. 
 
If the performance does not meet satisfactory requirements, the student is placed in warning status. Students 
must maintain a written grade average of 70% and pass the FINAL written exams with 90% or better prior to 
graduation. Numerical grades are considered according to the following scale: 

                  
A:      EXCELLENT                      = 90% - 100%                  = GPA   4.0-5         
B:      GOOD                               = 80% - 89%                     = GPA   3.0-3.9   
C:      SATISFACTORY              = 70% - 79%                     = GPA   2.0-2.9  
F:      UNSATISFACTORY          = 69% AND BELOW          =  GPA   1.9 AND BELOW  
  
EVALUATION PROGRESS PERIODS  
Evaluation of progress will be conducted as follows: 
  
  Cosmetology (1600 hrs)                                                   
  Evaluations will be conducted at actual hour intervals of 450, 900, and 1350. 
   
 Barbering (1500) 
  Evaluations will be conducted at actual hour intervals of 450, 900, and 1350. 
  
  Cosmetology (1000 hrs)                                                 
  Evaluations will be conducted at actual hour intervals of 450 and 900. 
  
  Barbering (1000) 
  Evaluations will be conducted at actual hour intervals of 450 and 900. 
  
  Esthetician (600 hrs) 
  Evaluations will be conducted at the actual hour intervals of 300. 
  
  Manicuring (400 hrs) 
  Evaluations will be conducted at the actual hour intervals of 200. 
  
  Barber Crossover (200 hrs) 
  Evaluations will be conducted at the actual hour intervals of 100. 
  
Satisfactory = Students with minimum of 70% or 2.0 GPA academically and 70% attendance. All evaluations will 
be generated within 5 days of completing their actual hours. Any evaluation that may impact the student’s 
eligibility for financial aid is notated, if applicable, on the evaluation. A copy of the evaluation is offered to the 
student and a copy kept in the file. 
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 DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS 
Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are 
considered to be making satisfactory academic progress until the next scheduled evaluation. Students will be 
offered a hard copy of their Satisfactory Academic Progress Determination at the time of each of the 
evaluations. Students deemed not maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress may have their Title IV Funding 
AND/OR Veteran benefits interrupted, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal resulting in 
a status of probation. 
 
WARNING 
Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress are placed on warning 
and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress during the warning period. The student will be 
advised in writing on the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If at 
the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both the attendance and academic requirements, 
he/she will be placed on probation and, if applicable, students will be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV funds 
and/or Veteran benefits. 
  
PROBATION  
Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress after the warning period 
will be placed on probation and student will be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV funds and/or VA benefits 
and may be withdrawn. If a student chooses to remain enrolled in school, they must become a cash-pay student 
for the remainder of the program. 
  
RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS 
Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting minimum 
attendance and academic requirements by the end of the warning or probationary period. 
  
APPEAL PROCEDURE 
This school does not offer an appeal procedure for warning or probation status. 
  
INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS 
If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence (Leave of Absence policy in attendance section), 
the student will return to school in the same progress status as prior to the leave of absence. Hours elapsed 
during a leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and maximum time frame by the same 
number of days taken in the leave of absence and will not be included in the student's cumulative attendance 
percentage calculation. Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will 
return in the same satisfactory academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal. 
  
WITHDRAWALS 
Any student who withdraws from their contracted course or fails to complete their training will have a notice 
placed in their student file as to their progress at the point of withdrawal. A student making satisfactory 
progress at the point of withdrawal may apply for re-enrollment in the school and will be considered making 
satisfactory progress at the point of re-entry. A student failing to meet minimum satisfactory requirements at 
the point of withdrawal will be placed on warning status until first established scheduled evaluation if accepted 
for re-enrollment. 
  
NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSES, REPETITIONS 
Noncredit, remedial courses, and repetitions do not apply to this institution. Therefore, these items have no 
effect upon the school's satisfactory academic progress standards. 
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TRANSFER HOURS 
With regards to Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student’s transfer hours will be counted as both attempted 
and earned hours for the purposes of determining when the allowable maximum time frame has been 
exhausted. (Please see policy Requirements for Transfer Students.) 

 
SCHOOL RULES AND REGULATIONS 

  
PERSONAL STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE 
Student Standard of Performance Statement: 
As a student at Shasta School of Cosmetology, I will declare myself to secure my success and assure the 
prosperity of my industry. This formula starts with me projecting a positive mental attitude in efforts to achieve 
a cooperative atmosphere. My productive environment will consist of honesty, respect, integrity, fairness, 
responsibility, accountability, and effective communication through people skills, professionalism, and the 
incessant desire for continual knowledge. With these attributes, I will come to understand the value of 
teamwork and the importance of client satisfaction. Once these qualities are developed and practiced, I will 
have set forth on my mission to become a true professional. Shasta School of Cosmetology is founded on certain 
Standards of Performance. The following standards indicate how you can function according to the specific 
policies and procedures of the school. Your adherence to these policies directly affects the consistency and 
continuity of the image of Shasta School of Cosmetology presence in the marketplace. These guidelines by no 
means are intended to stifle your creativity. On the contrary, the Personal Standards of Performance statements 
and guidelines form a framework from which you can build on your success. The Standards of Performance, 
Policies and Procedures contained herein are by no means complete. However, they are the foundation of some 
of the most successful salons in the United States today.  
 
CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINE 
It is expected that all Shasta School of Cosmetology students are enrolled for serious educational pursuits. 
Hence, students will conduct themselves to preserve an appropriate atmosphere of positive learning. It is also 
expected that all students who enroll at Shasta School of Cosmetology are willing to assume the responsibilities 
of citizenship within the student body. While enrolled, students are subject to school policies, rules and 
regulations that includes the prerogative of dismissing those whose conduct is unfavorable to the aims of an 
institution of higher education. 
 
DISMISSAL POLICY  
The school may terminate a student prior to the completion of their program for one or more of the following: 
1) Insufficient academic progress, 2) Not fulfilling financial obligations to the school, 3) Failure to comply with 
the rules and regulations of the school, 4) Failure to comply with the Tardy/Attendance policy of the school, 5) 
Insubordination, 6) Failing to attend classes for 14 consecutive calendar days without notifying the school, or 7) 
If the student does not return on the documented date of return from a leave of absence. 
 
SCHOOL RULES VIOLATIONS  
Shasta School of Cosmetology will be on the following demerit, warning, probation, suspension, and possible 
expulsion system for violation of school rules. Hours missed by students for violation of Rules and Regulations 
will not be excused hours and will be charged against the student’s allowed missed time hours as per contract. 
 
A. Three demerits during any three-month period, student will be placed on warning status. 
B. Four demerits during any three-month period, student will be suspended for one school week. 
C. Eight accumulated demerits; student will be suspended for two school weeks and placed warning status. 
D. Twelve accumulated demerits; student will be withdrawn from the program. 
 
 
 
 



39 
 

SCHOOL RULES  

1.  Dress Code (Revised Jan 1, 2021) 
 All students must be in proper uniform prior to clocking in for the day. Proper uniform consists of the 
 following: 
 
  1. Tops 
   a. Black uniform shirt only w/school logo. 
   b. No modifications to uniform shirts are allowed 
   c. Undershirts may be worn – black, white, or grey with no pictures, letters, or logos 
  2. Lab coats/Aprons 
   a. Must be worn while in attendance at school.  
   b. Black lab jacket(s) are provided by SSC in kits. 
   c. Aprons must be black, white, or gray (or any combination thereof) 
   
   Note: If a student loses or ruins their lab coat/uniform shirt provided to them by SSC, they are    
   responsible for replacing them with new ones. Uniform shirts must be purchased from SSC and have  
   the school logo. 
 
  3. Bottoms 
   a. Black pants/dresses only (No gray, navy, faded black etc.) 
    Dress/skirt lengths must be BELOW KNEECAP even if pants under them. 
   b. No sweatpants 
   c. No sheer or see-through clothing    
   d. NO SHORTS or cutoffs 
   e. Any holes in pants must have solid black underneath – no skin showing 
   f. No pictures, letters, or logos 
   g. Cannot look like gym attire 
 
  4. Shoes 
   a. Closed-footed shoes only (No flip flops, sling-backs, sandals, open shoes, slippers, etc.)  
 
  5. Sweaters/Sweatshirts/Jackets 
   a. Only hoodies sold by school are allowed. 
 
  6. Head Adornment/Jewelry (Revised Jan 1, 2021) 
   a. Only hats and beanies sold by SSC are allowed. 
   b. Headbands may be worn – They must be black, gray, or white or any combination thereof) 
   c. Facial jewelry is okay. If infected, they must be removed. 
 
NOTE: The supervising instructor for the day can pass judgment on the cleanliness, neatness, and      
  appropriateness of a student's uniform and whether the student needs to be sent to the administration 
  office due to their  appearance. FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THE DRESS CODE COULD CAUSE DISMISSAL  
  UNTIL STUDENT IS IN  ACCEPTABLE UNIFORM! 
 
2. Freshman must wear a freshman badge until completion of freshman class. 
 
3. Timecards (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 

A. It is the student's responsibility to clock in and clock out. Forgetting to clock in or out equals  
forfeited hours. Timecards are not to be taken out of the building. Hours on lost timecards are forfeited 
unless they can be documented by appointment books and/or roll sheets. The Director is the only one 
who can verify and approve documented hours. Intentional falsifying of timecard is an automatic 12 
demerits which will cause a withdrawal from school. 
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B. Time allowed for school-approved trade shows is documented with original ticket from the show. 
Documentation must be submitted within 30 calendar days of the trade show’s end to receive credit. A 
maximum of 16 hours allowed.  

C. Timecards are calculated in quarter hour increments. Example: If student clocks in at 8:37, time starts at 
8:30. If student clocks in at 8:38, time starts at 8:45 and is considered late. 

D. A student that is more than 7 minutes late on a theory day cannot clock in until theory is over. THEORY: 
According to individual class schedule.  

E. Timecards must be filled out and signed daily. 
F. Timecards must be turned in at the end of each scheduled week. 
G. All students must clock out for lunch at their scheduled time unless approved by the instructor in 

charge of area. Students should take a 30-minute lunch after 6 hours attendance. Non-compliance 
may result in dismissal for the day. 

H. All students must clock out for breaks on the back of their timecard using the manual timeclock unless in 
a classroom situation when all students are taking a break at the same time. Breaks must be taken at 
scheduled times according to class schedule.  If the student leaves break area (break area is defined as 
visible from the back door) during break, they must clock out utilizing the biometric time clock prior to 
leaving the building and clock back in when returning. This time is deducted due to leaving campus. All 
students must deduct clock hours when off of campus.  Students taking more than 10 minutes (on 
premises) will be required to clock out utilizing the biometric timeclock for the additional time and will 
receive a disciplinary demerit. Students must be in proper uniform prior to clocking in. NOTE: SMOKING 
WILL BE DONE OFF CAMPUS OR IN DESIGNATED AREA OUTSIDE ONLY. 

I. Students under 18 years old must notify instructor in charge when leaving school prior to regular clock-
out times and a parent must call prior to student leaving or the student will be market as truant. 

 

4. Completion of Assignments and Sign-off Sheets: (Revised Jan 1, 2022)  

A. It is a student’s responsibility to complete all assignments and sign off sheets at designated times (See 
grading policy).  

B. Theory tests will be assigned weekly and available on MindTap/CIMA. There will be a set timeframe in 
which you will be able to take the test. Students may retake the test during the open time frame. The 
student’s highest score for that test during the open timeframe will be recorded for grading purposes. If 
a student does not take test the recorded score will be zero (0). If a student fails to take a theory test 
during the open timeframe and wishes to take the test for a grade, they must submit a “request to re-
open theory test” form (located in the office) for approval. Only four (4) “Request to re-open theory test” 
forms will be approved per enrollment. Exceptions will be made by Director only. 

 
5. Work Area/Stations 
 Students will NOT have assigned workstations. Students with 90% attendance will have priority for available 
 workstations. Stations will be assigned as per the discretion of the school director. It is the student’s 
 responsibility to keep their work and surrounding area clean (chair, station, mirror, equipment, etc.), and any 
 other area a student may be working in must be maintained in a clean sanitary manner. Student may have 
 one free-standing 3x5 picture on their station. No other decorations are to be on or around work areas. The 
 student’s first name in holder can be placed on the mirror and no added decoration is allowed on the mirror. 
 
6. Use of School Equipment and Supplies 
 A. Unless used for modeling or sign-off sheet, students must pay for supplies used on themselves.  
 B. All clients and students must pay for services rendered prior to receiving service. 
 C. Wasting school products is prohibited. 
 D. Wasting towels is prohibited. 
 E. Student must leave their timecards at the front desk when checking out materials (reference books,   
  DVD’s, Chromebooks, etc.) from the school library. School library is in the administrative office.  
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7. General Rules (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 
 A. While in school, students must follow their procedure book when completing services. Students are not to 
  leave clients unattended while chemicals are being used. 
 B. All student’s work must be checked by an instructor prior to, during, and after services rendered. 
 C. Do not talk to other students while they are working on patrons in student salon area. 
 D. Do not talk to friends or relatives in the lobby while clocked in. 
 E. Students who refuse appointments, without permission, will be clocked out for the day. NOTE: If a    
  student has an issue with a client, a supervisor is to be notified immediately, not after the client is gone. 
 F. Disrupting theory or freshman class is prohibited i.e., talking, sleeping, walking out of class, etc. 
 G. Excessive noise is prohibited. 
 H. Profanity is prohibited! (AUTOMATIC 4 DEMERITS) 
 I. No student or employee will change appointments on the appointment books without the supervising   
  clinic instructor's approval. No booked appointment is to be moved to make room for a requested    
  appointment. 
 J. Tobacco Free Campus - Smoking is not permitted by students or employees on the school property,   
  except in designated area outside, at any time. Clients are not permitted to smoke in building. 
 K. Each student is responsible for the work assigned to them. 
 L. Only the theory book, student procedure book, hairstyling books and hairstyling magazines are to be read  
  during school while being a model. 
 M. All students must participate in sanitation at the end of the day. 
 N. Students can have beverages in student salon and classroom, but NOT while working on clients or    
  students. 
 O. When not working on a patron, students have the responsibility to fulfill requirements on the timecard  
  prior to course completion. Students WILL NOT be marked off the books at any time to work on these   
  requirements. Students are not allowed to work on themselves at any time. 
 P. Any student observed stealing by an instructor shall be dismissed from school. 
 Q. Only students assigned to work DESK or LAB shall be in these areas unless directed otherwise by an    
  instructor. 
 R. Student parking: Do not park in areas marked staff or client. Please drive slowly through the parking lot. 
 S. Videos, DVDs, or Chromebooks must be checked out, leaving timecard with instructor or front desk. 
 T. Due to Federal and State regulations, products not sold by the school and thus not having Material Data  
  Sheet on file will not be allowed on premises nor are they allowed to be used on clients or students.   
  Students not wishing to use school products designated for facials and makeup must supply their own   
  products. These products can only be applied to the owner; thus, the owner takes full responsibility for its 
  contents. Products must always be in sanitized condition and applied in accordance with State     
  regulations. School products are for clients, testing, and sign-off sheets only. 

U. Students may only study at school during scheduled theory time or assigned by an instructor. 
 
GRIEVANCE POLICY/CHAIN OF COMMAND  
What to do when you have a problem: 
Problems of all kinds occur in any school or business. If a problem should arise with an individual, try to resolve 
the matter with that person. If the problem cannot be resolved, you may request an appointment with the 
administrative office. The purpose is to have both parties discuss the issue at hand in a calm manner with the 
student affairs representative, student, and others present with a resolution. Should the problem become 
unresolved, it needs to be referred to the school Director for an investigation and resolution. Student grievance 
forms are available in the administrative office, if applicable. Additionally, records of complaints and their 
resolution, as applicable, are retained on file in the administrative office. This chain of command permits the 
proper flow of information and allows the system to function more efficiently and effectively, which may 
produce more positive results, quicker action, reaction, and consistency. If you have exhausted the entire chain 
of command toward a resolution and the organization is unable to assist you in your matter, seek Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 North Market, Ste 225, Sacramento, CA 95834. BPPE mailing address is 
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PO Box 980818, W. Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, Phone 1(888) 370-7589. See grievance procedures for 
additional information. 
 
This institution’s student affairs, Title IX representatives are David J. Hambelton, Director and Terry 
Hambelton, Finance Director. 
 
COUNSELING PROCEDURES/DISCIPLINARY PROCESS 
When a student is to be counseled for disciplinary problems, Shasta School of Cosmetology implements the 
positive approach, known as a WIN/WIN AGREEMENT. This agreement entails the action in question, desired 
results, resources, guidelines, accountability, and consequences (results of action, positive or negative). In 
conjunction with the WIN/WIN AGREEMENT, the following three-step procedures are outlined: 
A.  INTERVENTION - When a student is not maintaining satisfactory progress, grades, or displays a behavior 
 that is not conducive to the philosophy of the Shasta School of Cosmetology organization and/or the beauty 
 industry, they will be counseled by administrative personnel. Upon conclusion of the intervention, 
 appropriate steps will be outlined for the student’s continuation of their education. 
B.  ETHICS - At Shasta School of Cosmetology, we place a high value on the integrity and good judgment of every 
 individual associated with the school. Any deviation from high ethical standards can bring discredit not only 
 to the school but to the industry. We expect every student to exercise discretion and professionalism at all 
 times. Clients, staff members, and fellow students must be treated with respect and courtesy. Please keep 
 the school’s best interest in mind at all times. Conversation topics should be limited to  professional subjects 
 and not include subjects like religion, politics, sex, or personal problems. The school positively reserves the 
 right to suspend or expel a student who gossips, uses vulgar language, or causes any type of discord. Respect 
 must be shown at all times toward peers, customers, and staff. 
C.  COMPLIANCE - Students must comply with all instructions, directives, and orders given by school personnel 
 relative to school activities. Also, students must comply with the School’s Standards of  Performance Policies 
 and Procedures, and State of California’s Rules and Regulations.  
 
SERVING THE PUBLIC  
All students will be serving the public and must be courteous and pleasant. Students must take all appointments 
assigned to them. Students are to be prepared with all necessary equipment needed to complete the service. A 
student is not to leave a client during a service while a chemical is processing, during a facial peel, or while an 
electric apparatus is applied to the skin unless another student has been assigned by the teacher. Should a 
student leave a client with any of the above-mentioned work, they will face disciplinary actions as deemed 
appropriate. 
 
COSMETOLOGY, BARBERING, BARBER CROSSOVER, MANICURING & ESTHETICIAN SERVICE PROTOCOL 
1. When students are called to the reception desk for an appointment, they will pick up the work ticket, which 
 will indicate the type of service his/her client has scheduled. 
2. The student will greet the client in a professional manner and direct them to their assigned station. The work 
 ticket must be prominently displayed on the workstation. 
3. After completing the consultation process, it is necessary for the student to consult with the floor instructor 
 before the service begins. Additional services may be added, and a client charged accordingly. 
4. The work ticket must be presented before any product is dispensed. 
5. Throughout the service, educate the client as to what additional services may be required or retail products 
 that maintain the quality of service. 
6. Upon completion of the service, the student will walk the client to the reception desk to complete their 
 transaction, suggest any retail products, and book for their next appointment. 
 
DISPENSING OF EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS 
The staff is responsible for dispensing supplies to ensure inventory control. It will be necessary for the student to 
present the client work ticket before any supplies will be released. If a student is checking out an implement or 
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tool, they must provide their timecard. Upon return of the checked-out items, the student timecard will be 
released. 
 
RECEPTION DESK 
The school reception desk is not a gathering place for students. Standing at the desk is unsightly to clients 
entering the school and disrupts the duties of the school receptionist. Only the receptionist, instructors or 
assigned students are allowed behind the desk. All appointments are to be made by the receptionist, designated 
staff member, or assigned student(s). All personnel, including teachers, must follow this procedure to insure 
consistency, customer service and professionalism. 
 
Last Clinic Appointment Taken 
The last appointment taken should reflect the normal total time needed to complete the full service. If you have 
any questions, ask the supervising instructor. 
 
ADVERTISING 
Shasta School of Cosmetology is not responsible for any advertising created by students.  
 
PERSONAL SERVICES (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 
Personal services are subject to administrative approval and are not guaranteed. All students are paying for their 
education. Receiving services on themselves is not considered to be part of their education. Approved students 
may receive personal services by observing the following criteria: 
A. Students must be maintaining satisfactory progress. 
B. Services may be given ONLY by permission. 
C. Students must not be in warning status. 
D. Credit will be given as modeling and the time allotted will be customary for the service given. 
E. Students must pay for all personal services. 
F. Personal services may be stopped due to client needs. 
G. Students may be bumped from receiving services due to demand of increased clientele and stations.   
H. Personal service in the classrooms, under teacher’s supervision, may be allowed and subject to certain 

charges depending on materials and supplies used. 
 
STUDENT HEALTH AND SAFETY 
Your health and safety are important to Shasta School of Cosmetology. All requirements must be adhered to and 
the following are to be noted and/or followed by all students: 
A. All accidents or injuries must be reported on the day the incident occurs using an accident incident form. 
 Accident incident forms are in the administration office. 
B. Common sense is the most important safety rule of all. Please use it at all times. 
C. Horseplay in work areas will not be tolerated. 
D. Take all necessary precautions to maintain a safe environment. 
 
STUDENT PRICE LIST 
Students pay ½ prices for all chemical work or any work that uses products. Services not using chemicals or 
products are free. 
 
VISITORS  
All visitors must remain in school waiting area. No visitors are permitted in the classroom or on the clinic floor or 
break area (including outside break areas). 
 
GUM CHEWING  
Gum is a hair magnet. Chewing gum, while working on clients, does not look nor sound professional. It is also 
not sanitary. Therefore, gum chewing is not permitted on the premises. 
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TELEPHONE CALLS 
School phones may not be used for personal calls. The receptionist will not take messages for personal phone 
calls unless it is an emergency. Calls will be screened to determine if it is a true emergency. An emergency is 
defined as a spouse, child, sibling, or parent who is extremely ill or has been in an accident requiring emergency 
medical treatment. Use of personal cell phones is allowed during student breaks and in break areas only—not in 
front of the college. 
 
COMPUTER AND ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS POLICY (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 
During class hours, all personal electronic devices such as cell phones, iPods, GoPro’s, Apple watches, etc. must 
be kept off, on vibrate or silent mode and in locker. Listening to or watching videos on personal electronic 
devices are also not allowed unless approved by an instructor. No photographing, text messaging or recording is 
allowed. Should a student’s personal electronic device be discovered in use (texting, messaging, recording, 
etc.) in the classroom without permission, the student will be given the choice to (a) put device in the office 
for the day, or (b) go home for the day. Students will be dismissed from class when using a personal electronic 
device inside the building. When using a personal electronic device (cell phone, Apple watch, iPod, GoPro, etc.), 
students must be clocked out for lunch or on break and not in the classroom or student salon area. The only 
location a student may use a personal electronic device--even when out of class--is outside the back of the 
building, in the parking lot or in the break room—never in front of the college. Due to strict privacy laws, 
absolutely no camera phones can be turned on while inside the campus buildings. NOTE:  A STUDENT MAY TAKE 
A PICTURE OF THEIR WORK ONLY WITH PERMISSION FROM A SUPERVISING INSTRUCTOR; AND THE PICTURE 
MUST BE TAKEN UP AGAINST A WHITE WALL. 
 

Regarding college licensed software that support’s educational processes, students are not permitted to copy, 
remove, or install software. By using the computer equipment, software, and communications devices, all 
students knowingly and voluntarily consent to being monitored and acknowledge this institution’s right to 
conduct such monitoring. The equipment is intended for educational purposes only, and any other use by the 
students may result in discipline up to and including permanent dismissal from the college. 
 
COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT 
Copyright infringement is against the law and is prohibited at this school. Willful unauthorized distribution of 
copyrighted material, including unauthorized peer-to-peer file sharing, may subject the students to civil and 
criminal liabilities. Students who engage in illegal downloading or unauthorized distribution of copyrighted 
materials using the institution’s information technology system may be subject to expulsion and/or criminal 
liabilities. Additionally, willful copyright infringement can result in criminal penalties of up to five years and fines 
of up to $250,000 per offense. 
 
MEDICATION 
All students must inform the Administration Office of all medication ingested during business hours including 
prescription medication. If under 18 years old, student must have a note from their parents or guardian prior to 
taking medication. 
 
UNDER THE INFLUENCE 
Any student who possesses or who is determined to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs while at school 
will be subject to termination. If it is determined that you have been under the influence, you may be sent to get 
a drug test at your own expense within 24 hours.  
 
WEAPONS 
Any student who possesses or uses a weapon while at school will be subject to termination. 
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ANTI-FIGHTING POLICY (Effective March 2, 2022) 

Any student fighting with, provoking, or otherwise getting in a physical altercation with another student, staff 
member, customer, or guest will be withdrawn from their program immediately. Fighting anywhere on school 
property will not be tolerated and will be met with immediate disciplinary action. 
 
MODELS 
At times, the student will be asked to provide a model to perform services. There are no fees for models. Shasta 
School of Cosmetology will give the student a five-day minimum notice. Failure to bring in a model will adversely 
affect your grade, performance, and specialized personal training. As a part of the student’s learning experience, 
he or she will be responsible for receiving services administered by other students. If the student has a medical 
condition that prohibits them from receiving a service, they must submit supporting documentation from a 
certified physician. 
 
EQUIPMENT AND BELONGINGS 
Each student is responsible for their personal belongings and materials. For this reason, a locker or storage unit 
is provided during the freshman period. All bottles and containers must be labeled to identify its contents. 
Students may not borrow equipment from the school; further, they are responsible for the return of school 
materials and equipment issued to them. Any equipment/supplies issued from the school and not returned will 
be charged on their Shasta School of Cosmetology account. Backpacks and wheel packs are allowed, but not on 
the clinic floor or the classroom floor; they must fit into your locker/side station. The reason they are not 
allowed on the clinic floor, or the classroom floor, is because of fire safety and trip hazards. Any bags and lockers 
are subject to on-the-spot inspection along with the student tool kit. Personal kit belongings must be removed 
from the school daily. There will be no written notice given by the college to remove the student’s belongings 
from a locker or station. Should you have any concerns about possible loss of equipment and belongings, we 
recommend that you contact your insurance agent to determine whether your present policy would cover any 
such losses. If your present policy does not cover such losses, you may want to pay additional premiums to 
provide such coverage on your present policy. 
 
FIELD TRIP PARTICIPATION 
The management of Shasta School of Cosmetology believes that outside education and exposure to our industry 
is a vital part of our student’s development. In accordance with this belief, Shasta School of Cosmetology awards 
hours for attending school-approved trade shows.  
 
ANY VIOLATION OF THE ABOVE RULES IS, OR MAY BE, CAUSE FOR SUSPENSION OR DISMISSAL FROM THE 
SCHOOL. 
 
SHASTA SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE, DELETE, OR ADD TO RULES BY 
POSTING SUCH CHANGES.  
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GRADUATION POLICIES 
 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS (Revised Jan 1, 2022) 
Students must complete all: 
1. State requirements 
    a. State required course hours 
    b.  Technical hours of instruction 

In Cosmetology   12.0401 satisfactory completion of 1600 hours 
In Cosmetology   12.0401 satisfactory completion of 1000 hours 
In Barbering    12.0402   satisfactory completion of 1500 hours 
In Barbering    12.0402   satisfactory completion of 1000 hours 
In Manicuring   12.0410 satisfactory completion of   400 hours 
In Esthetician   12.0409 satisfactory completion of   600 hours 
In Barber Crossover 12.0402   satisfactory completion of   200 hours 

2. School completion requirements 
    a.  Theory test 
    b.  Goal sheets 
    c.  Scheduled testing sheets and evaluations 
    d.  Portfolio and Theory Workbook 
    e.  Exit Examinations—practical and written (passing with 90% or better) 
 f.  All financial obligations  
    g.  Exit Interview (includes final evaluation) 
 
STATE REQUIREMENTS  
Depending upon the course completed, graduates may be licensed as a Cosmetologist, Barber, Manicurist, or 
Esthetician if they are 17 years of age, have at least a 10th grade education and pass the State Board Exam.  
 

PLACEMENT AND COUNSELING  
Job placement depends on many factors. At Shasta School of Cosmetology, we enjoy an enviable reputation on 
the quality of training we offer our students. As a result, we are continually contacted by salons in the area and 
other job sources seeking graduates of our school. A list of current job opportunities is available to all graduating 
students at no charge; however, placement is not guaranteed. Advice on course selection and vocational goals is 
provided to all students before enrolling in school and at any subsequent time. Students may confer with the 
instructor or schedule a counseling appointment with the director. Students are scheduled for counseling 
appointments if academic or attendance rates fall below 70%. 
 
DISCLOSURE AND RETENTION OF EDUCATION RECORDS 
This institution will retain student transcripts and proof of training indefinitely on digital media. All other student 
records will be retained for a period of five (5) years in fire-resistant storage or format. The school follows 
policies that: 
a. Guarantee each student (parent/guardian if student is a dependent minor) access to his or her   
 student’s file. 
b.  Require written consent from the student (parent/guardian if applicable) for release of records in response 
 to each third-party request unless otherwise required by law. 
c. Before publishing and/or selling “directory information” for either the student (parent/guardian if 
 applicable) such as name, address, phone number and e-mail address (es) of student, date and place of 
 birth, major field of study, dates of attendance, degrees and awards received, date of graduation, previous 
 school attended, and/or date of graduation from previous school, we will allow student (parent/guardian) 
 to deny authority to publish one or more of the aforementioned items, 
d. Provide access to student and other school records as required for any accreditation process initiated by the 
 institution or by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS), or in response 
 to a directive of the Commission.  
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The college will maintain records as available until June 30 of the year that the student attended. After June 
30th each year, all records will be archived. NOTE: Students are not entitled to inspect the financial records of 
their parents. 
 
OCCUPATIONS AVAILABLE 

Potential occupations available graduates of our school may include--but not limited to--Cosmetologists, 
Barbers, Manicurists, Estheticians, beauty school Instructors, platform artists, sales representatives, and product 
educators. 
 
NATURE AND LEVEL OR OCCUPATION 

1. Cosmetology 
2. Barbering 
3. Instructor 
4. Manicuring 
5. Esthetician 
6. Salon Manager 
7. Manufacturer Representative 
8. Hairdresser on board ship 

 

 
 
 
 
 
CERTIFICATION STATEMENT 
This catalog and the contract shall be an agreement by the college and the student. 
 
I certify that the information and policies contained in this Consumer Guide and Catalog are true in content and 
policy. This college enforces such policies pertaining to the standards of progress and rules and regulations set 
forth by the college. 
 

 
 
David Hambelton 
Director 
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TRAINING LEVELS, GOALS, AND CREDIT EVALUATION 
(Revised January 1, 2022) 

COSMETOLOGY  
Beginning or freshman level - A minimum of 100 hours is devoted to the basics and fundamentals of 
cosmetology and hair styling. Classes for theory and application are conducted daily. Students then practice 
their newly learned skills on mannequins and models. A student must demonstrate a thorough understanding of 
the subject matter by a written and practical examination in order to progress to the senior level. Students may 
be required to complete homework assignments that cannot be completed during regular school hours. 
Students are required to pass with a 90% a final practical and written tests in freshman class before progressing 
to the next level. 
 
Advanced or senior level – Students should spend a minimum of three (3) hours per week in theory classes in 
addition to special styling classes and demonstrations. Senior students are expected to be able to perform all 
applications with 90% comprehension and pass all written and practical tests. It is the student’s responsibility to 
complete the State required hours during regular class time. Any extra time studying during school will take 
away from the time a student can practice a specific subject.  Students are expected to study at home. 
 
BARBERING  
Beginning or freshman level - A minimum of 100 hours is devoted to the basics and fundamentals of barbering 
and hair styling. Classes for theory and application are conducted daily. Students then practice their newly 
learned skills on mannequins and models. A student must demonstrate a thorough understanding of the subject 
matter by a written and practical examination to progress to the senior level. Students may be required to 
complete homework assignments that cannot be completed during regular school hours. Students are required 
to pass with 90% in final practical and written tests in freshman class before progressing to the next level. 
 
Advanced or senior level – Students should spend a minimum of three (3) hours per week in theory classes in 
addition to special styling classes and demonstrations. Senior students are expected to be able to perform all 
applications with 90% comprehension and pass all written and practical tests. It is the students responsibility to 
complete State required hours during regular class time. Any extra time studying during school will take away 
from the time a student can practice a specific subject. Students are expected to study at home. 
 
BARBER CROSSOVER 
Beginning or freshman level - A minimum of 20 hours is devoted to the basics and fundamentals of barbering 
and hair styling. Classes for theory and application are conducted daily. Students then practice their newly 
learned skills on mannequins and models. A student must demonstrate a thorough understanding of the subject 
matter by a written and practical examination to progress to the senior level. Students may be required to 
complete homework assignments that cannot be completed during regular school hours. Students are required 
to pass with 90% in final practical and written tests in freshman class before progressing to the next level. 
 
Advanced or senior level – Students should spend a minimum of three (3) hours per week in theory classes. 
Senior students are expected to be able to perform all applications with 90% comprehension and 70% on 
written and practical tests. Final exams to be completed with 90% comprehension. It is the students 
responsibility to complete State required hours during regular class time. Any extra time studying during school 
will take away from the time a student can practice a specific subject. 
 
MANICURING  
Beginning or freshman level – A minimum of 40 hours is devoted to the basics and fundamentals of manicuring. 
Classes for theory and application are conducted daily. Students then practice their newly learned skills on 
simulated fingers and models. A student must demonstrate a thorough understanding of the subject matter by a 
written and practical examination with at least 90% comprehension to progress to the senior level. 
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Advanced or senior level – Students should spend a minimum of three (3) hours per week in theory classes. 
Students will continue to attend classes in addition to special nail classes and demonstrations. Senior students 
are expected to be able to perform all applications with 90% comprehension and pass all written and practical 
tests. It is the student’s responsibility to complete State required hours during regular class time. Any extra time 
studying during school will take away from the time a student can practice a specific subject. 
 
ESTHETICIAN 
Beginning or freshman level – A minimum of 60 hours is devoted to the basics and fundamentals of skin care 
and makeup. Classes for theory and application are conducted daily. Students then practice their newly learned 
skills on mannequins and models. A student must demonstrate a thorough understanding of the subject matter 
by a written and practical application with at least 90% comprehension to progress to the senior level. 
 
Advanced or senior level – Students should spend a minimum of three (3) hours per week in theory classes 
Students will continue to attend special skincare classes and demonstrations. Senior students are expected to be 
able to perform all applications with 90% comprehension and pass all written and practical tests. It is the 
students responsibility to complete State required hours during regular class time. Any extra time studying 
during school will take away from the time a student can practice a specific subject. 
 

CURRICULA 
(Revised January 1, 2022) 

COSMETOLOGY - 1000 HOURS 
Graduates of this course will have acquired the knowledge and skills to pass the State Board examination and 
seek employment in a variety of beauty-oriented businesses as a cosmetologist/hairstylist.          
                                                                                                                                                                                                                    
     Minimum Requirements    (Technical and Practical)       Minimum Hours                                                                                                                                                                                                      

Health and Safety 100 

Disinfection and Sanitation 100 

Chemical Hair Services 200 

Hairstyling Services 200 

Skin Care 150 

Hair Removal and Lash/Brow Beautification 50 

Manicure and Pedicure 100 

Instructor Discretion 100 

 
 
BARBERING - 1000 HOURS 
Graduates of this course will have acquired the knowledge and skills to pass the State Board examination and 
seek employment in a variety of beauty-oriented businesses as a barber.                                                        
                                                                                                                              

Minimum Requirements (Practical and Technical)           Minimum Hours                                                                                                                                                                                   

Health and Safety 100 

Disinfection and Sanitation 100 

Chemical Hair Services 200 

Hairstyling Services 200 

Shaving and Trimming of the Beard 200 

Instructor Discretion 200 
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BARBER CROSSOVER – 200 HOURS 
Graduates of this course will have acquired the knowledge and skills to pass the State Board examination and 
seek employment in a variety of beauty-oriented businesses as a Barber.                                                                                    
                                                                                                                             Minimum Hours of            Minimum                                                                              
                                                                                                                               Technical Instruction   Practical Operation                               

Shaving Preparation and Performance 100 40 

Instructor Discretion 100  

 
MANICURING - 400 HOURS  
Graduates of this course will have the required skills and knowledge to pass the State Board examination and 
seek employment in a beauty salon as a nail technician.  
       
                                                                                                                                Minimum Hours of              Minimum                                                                              
                                                                                                                              Technical Instruction    Practical Operation                                               

 
ESTHETICIAN - 600 HOURS 
Graduates of this course will have the required skills and knowledge to pass the State Board examination and 
seek employment in a beauty salon or spa as an esthetician.                                                                
                                                   
                                                                                                             Minimum Hours of           Minimum                                                                              
                                                                                                  Technical Instruction  Practical Operation                               

Cosmetology Act and the Board’s Rules and Regulations          10  

Health and Safety Considerations: 
Includes chemical composition, electricity, and 
infectious diseases) 

40  

Disinfection and Sanitation 10  

Bacteriology, Anatomy, Physiology, Skin Analysis 
Conditions 

15  

Facials: 
A. Manual—includes skin analysis, cleansing, scientific 
manipulations, packs, and masks 
B. Electrical—includes the use of all electrical modalities 
and electrical apparatus including dermal lights for 
facials and skin care purposes 
C. Chemical—includes chemical skin peels, packs, and 
scrubs 

70 
 

140 

Eyebrow Beautification:  25 50 

Cosmetology Act and the Board’s Rules and Regulations          10  

Chemistry related to Manicuring 10  

Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances 15  

Disinfection and Sanitation 20 10 

Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology 10  

Water and Oil Manicures (including hand massage) 15 30 

Complete Pedicure (including foot and ankle massage) 10 30 

Application of Artificial Nails: 
   A.  Liquid and Powder brush-ons 
   B.  Nail Tips 
   C.  Gels 
   C.  Nail wraps and repairs 

  

15 70 nails 

15 50 nails 

5 30 nails 
30 nails 

Instructor Discretion 275  
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 Includes the use of wax, tweezers (manual or electrical), 
and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair 

Make-up: 
 Includes skin analysis, complete & corrective make-up, 
and the application of false eyelashes 

 
20 

 
40 

Preparation/Consultation/Record Keeping/CPR 15  

Instructor Discretion 395  

 
 
 

CLASS TIMES/BREAKS SCHEDULE 
 
This is an outline of the general schedule how students spend their time in school. This is just an example. Daily 
schedules are subject to change as needed by the school or instructor.  
 
         School days:  Monday through Saturday  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Tuesday (8 hr.day) 
8:30    Clock in/Class/Theory 
10:30  Break 
10:40  Clinic 
11:30  Lunch  
12:00  Clinic 
2:20    Break 
2:30    Clinic                              
4:45    Timecards/Sanitation 
5:00    Clock Out 

Wed, Thurs, Sat (8 hr. day) 
8:30     Clock in/Clinic 
10:30   Break 
10:40   Clinic 
11:30   Lunch  
12:00  Clinic 
2:20    Break 
2:30    Clinic                              
4:45    Timecards/Sanitation 
5:00    Clock Out 

Friday (8 hr.day) 
8:30    Clock in/Class/Theory 
9:30    Clinic 
11:30  Lunch  
12:00  Clinic 
2:20    Break 
2:30    Clinic                              
4:45    Timecards/Sanitation 
5:00    Clock Out 

Tuesday (6 hr. day) 
8:30     Clock in/Class/Theory 
10:30   Break 
10:40   Clinic 
12:00   Break 
12:10   Clinic 
2:15     Timecards/Sanitation 
2:30     Clock Out 

Wed, Thurs, Sat (6 hr. day) 
8:30     Clock in/Clinic 
10:30   Break 
10:40   Clinic 
12:00   Break 
12:10   Clinic 
2:15     Timecards/Sanitation 
2:30     Clock Out 

Friday (6 hr. day) 
8:30     Clock in/Class/Theory 
9:30      Clinic 
12:00   Break 
12:10   Clinic 
2:15   Timecards/Sanitation 
2:30     Clock Out 


