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APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 
UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC is a private Profit Corporation established in the state of 
California at 3419 West 43rd Place, Los Angeles, CA 90008.  It was approved to operate under 
section 94802 subdivision (b) from the Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education. The 
Bureau's approval means that the Institution and its operations comply with minimum standards 
established under the law for occupational instruction by private post-secondary institutions and 
does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the State or by the Bureau. Institutions 
approved by the Bureau must be re-approved every three years and are subject to continuous 
review. Approved courses for UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. are: Cosmetology 1000 
Clock Hours, Instructor Training 600 Clock Hours. 
 
Our school currently has the following government sponsored programs to provide grants or to 
pay for portions of tuition and fees: FEDERAL PELL GRANT and FEDERAL SUPPLEMENTAL 
EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANT.  
 
NOTE: This Institution is approved to participate in The Federal Student Loan Program but has 
chosen not to do so. 
 
The CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY is the agency which sets 
minimum standards for our programs of study. 
 
ACCREDITATION 
UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY is accredited by the NATIONAL ACCREDITING COMMISSION 
FOR CAREER ARTS AND SCIENCES (NACCAS). The address is 3015 Colvin Street, Alexandria, 
Virginia 22314 (703) 600-7600.  NACCAS is an accredited agency recognized by the United States 
Department of Education for Cosmetology accreditation.  As an accredited institution, qualified 
students may apply for and receive financial assistance for tuition and other educational costs. 
 
As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 
enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, 
which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 
 
A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau 
for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a 
complaint form which can be obtained on the Bureau's website at www.bppe.ca.gov.  
 
GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 
It is the policy of this institution to handle grievances in the following manner: 

 Complete the grievance form and list all grievances 

 Deliver the form to the school Director Jasmine Williams 

 The Director will then evaluate the grievance and schedule an appointment with the 
complainant within 5 days of receipt of the grievance. If the grievance is an emergency, it 
will be addressed within 24 hours of receipt. 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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 If the complainant is unable to deliver the forms, they can mail them to KENNETH J. 
WILLIAMS, President/CEO/Owner of Universal College of Beauty, Inc. located at 3419 
W. 43rd Place Los Angeles, CA 90008 (323) 298-0045. 

 All grievances, regardless of the nature will be reviewed by KENNETH J. WILLIAMS. 

 If there is a grievance that cannot be resolved with Universal College of Beauty, Inc., the 
complainant may call the Bureau toll free or complete a complaint form, which can be 
obtained on the Bureau's website: BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 
1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834 (888) 370-7589 Fax: (916) 263-
1897, www.bppe.ca.gov 

 The complainant may pursue the complaint further with NACCAS, only after they have 
exhausted the school's internal complaint policy. This grievance can be sent to: NACCAS, 
3015 Colvin Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 

 Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that has not been satisfactorily 
answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834, www.bppe.ca.gov. 
Toll free telephone number (888)370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897. 

 
All Information in the contents on this school catalog is certified and approved as true and correct 
by KENNETH J. WILLIAMS, President/CEO/Owner. This school does not have any pending 
petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, has not filed a petition within 
the preceding five years, nor has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding 
five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et. seq. 
(Ed.Code#94909(a)(12))X 
 
INSTITUTION BUSINESS HOURS 
General Business hours: 9:00am to 2:30pm Tuesday and Wednesday; 9:00am to 4:00pm 
Thursday through Saturday.  
 
HOUSING 
This institution does not have dormitory facilities. Housing is located near the facility. However, 
the institution does not offer housing nor does it assist students with locating housing. 
 
PLACEMENT: This institution does not guarantee placement to any student. However, limited job 
placement assistance is provided to graduates at no additional costs. Upon graduation, the 
student's name is recorded in a placement register for the follow-up process. Institution records 
State Board Pass/Fail results. Students that failed are encouraged to return to our school for 
assistance and guidance for subsequent attempts to pass the exam. Placement assistance is 
provided and students are referred for interviews, results are recorded in the placement register. 
The school may show prospective students this register and state or federal agencies if 
requested. 
 
  

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov./


 

Page | 3 

 

UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC 

WELCOME FROM THE PRESIDENT 
 
Dear Student, 
 
Welcome to UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. and thank you for selecting us to assist you in 
obtaining your Cosmetology and Instructor training. You are now entering into a field that will 
provide you with the opportunity for a successful future in the beauty industry. 
At UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. we offer you the basic Cosmetology training coupled 
with hands on experience to assist you in passing the Cosmetology examination. We place 
emphasis on how to become successful in the beauty industry and how to make your chosen 
career personally and financially rewarding. You will practice beauty shop management; learn 
business concepts and psychology of personal success. 
 
It is a pleasure to have you join us at UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. Our GOAL is to help 
you discover your ability to transform your life and others lives through training. The degree of 
your success will depend upon the time and effort you are willing to apply during the entire 
course of your training. Our professional and committed Instructors are dedicated to helping you 
achieve your dream. 
 
Best wishes from our staff as you embark upon your new career in Cosmetology and/or Instructor 
Training. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
KENNETH J. WILLIAMS 
President/CEO 
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HISTORY OF UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. 
On, March 22, 1930, Mrs. Hazel D. Williams founded the HENRIETTA BEAUTY SCHOOL in Los 
Angeles, CA. Mrs. Williams had applied for admission to numerous Cosmetology schools in the 
Los Angeles area but was denied admission because of racial discrimination. She and her spouse, 
John C. Williams, Sr., decided to open their own school and name it HENRIETTA BEAUTY SCHOOL, 
after a friend, Henrietta Kent who had given them financial assistance. The HENRIETTA BEAUTY 
SCHOOL was the first school west of the Rocky Mountains to develop a course of study specifically 
designed to meet the hair care needs of African-Americans. Many of the minority Cosmetologists 
in Los Angeles graduated from the HENRIETTA BEAUTY SCHOOL. 
 
In 1956, Mrs. Williams and her spouse, John C. Williams decided to retire. Prior to the closure of 
Henrietta's Beauty School, their son John, Jr. a graduate of Henrietta's and his spouse Joneal, also 
a graduate of Henrietta Beauty School, continued Mama Williams' legacy by opening up their 
own school at Vermont and Manchester. They renamed it UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. 
[Vermont] which became the main campus for all of the other branches. The demand by the 
community for quality Cosmetology education prompted John and Joneal to open UNIVERSAL 
COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. [Leimert Park] located at Vernon and Crenshaw in August, 1985. In 
1988, Mrs. Hazel Williams passed. However, in the spirit of continuing the family tradition, John’s 
son Kenneth Williams joined the family business as Director of the Vermont Campus. 
 
Joneal Williams was a native of Charlotte, NC and it had been her dream to open a Cosmetology 
School in her home town to serve the educational needs of her community. Her dream became 
reality in October, 1988 with the opening of UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY [Charlotte, NC] 
which was dedicated in memory of Mrs. Hazel Williams. 
 
The family’s cosmetology schools continued to grow and thrive graduating many Cosmetologists. 
Unfortunately, on February 7, 1993 John's spouse, Joneal and their son “Chip" were tragically 
killed in an automobile accident in Charlotte. The family was devastated, but in the Williams’ 
family tradition of surviving adversity and to keep Mrs. Hazel Williams and now Joneal's dreams 
alive, Kenneth's spouse Belinda Williams joined the family business as the Director of the Leimert 
Campus. The schools continued to graduate successful Cosmetologists. 
 
In, August, 1997 another family dream was realized with the opening of UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF 
BEAUTY, INC [Compton, CA]. Subsequently, in November 1998, Loretta C. Williams, spouse of 
John C. Williams joined the family business as Chief Administrative Officer and later became 
School Director of the Compton Campus. The Charlotte, N.C. campus was closed in May 2005. 
 
Following 15 years of service to students and residents of Compton, the Compton campus 
permanently closed on June 30, 2012. 
  
Following 50 years of service, our Vermont location closed in August 2015. We planned to open 
a new campus in the city of Inglewood, CA in 2018 and did so in 2019.  That location recently 
closed due to the 2020 pandemic. 
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Unfortunately, on April 9, 2019 John C. Williams, Present/CEO passed away. His son, Kenneth J. 
Williams is now the President/CEO of Universal College of Beauty. 
 
"What you do speaks so loud; I can't hear what you say" - Mrs. Hazel D. Williams 
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MISSION STATEMENT/EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES 

To inspire, motivate, educate and graduate the next leading professionals in the Cosmetology 
Industry. 

Our primary objective at UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. is to offer training that prepares 
the successful student to pass the Cosmetology State Board examination and become an 
effective Instructor. In the process, our secondary objective is to maximize the personal growth 
and development of each student to discover his/her potential to become a future 
Cosmetologist, Instructor and Entrepreneur. 
 
Our prime vocational objective is to train and produce graduates sufficiently and knowledgeably 
to seek and find employment within the beauty industry. The successful student should be able 
to function effectively in one of the many specialty areas such as hair stylist, hair color, make- up 
artist, Beauty Salon Owner / Manager, Cosmetology Instructor, Supervisor or School Owner. 
 
The daily training operations of the UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC are directed by 
qualified Directors, KENNETH J. WILLIAMS and JASMINE WILLIAMS. They bring many years of 
managerial, administrative and practical experience within the beauty industry and they believe 
in continuing their education to keep abreast of the vast changes in the Industry. 
 
The resultant education program and the teaching and training at UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF 
BEAUTY, INC represent the spectrum of Cosmetology knowledge and experience of our 
President, Directors and Staff. We present a challenging teaching and learning environment 
designed to maximize the student's preparation and opportunity for success in one of today’s 
most exciting and rewarding fields - the beauty industry. 
 
The unique and exceptionally talented qualities of UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. faculty 
are exhibited daily in the classroom and on the clinic floor. Our staff supplements our training 
program on a regular basis through seminars and classes in Cosmetology training. These sessions 
are held with successful, sometimes world-renowned guest artists, lecturers, motivational 
trainers and sometimes graduates of our school. These exciting activities are conducted in an 
environment that is characterized by; 

 Spacious, well-lighted, remodelled facility as needed to meet our school needs. 

 Salon-type equipment especially designed to enhance student training. 

 An educational philosophy that demands student's adherence to exemplary professional 
conduct and standards. 

 An instructional methodology that provides continued individualized instruction during 
the complete tenure of student training. 

 A Media Center with books, periodicals, DVD's and supplemental materials to enhance 
student's knowledge, and computers with samples of the State Board exam to further 
enhance the student's ability to pass the exam. 
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Students gain skill and confidence from training on quality equipment in comfortable 
surroundings. The strict observance of high professional standards enhances their future 
opportunities for higher paying vocational employment. The constant utilization of these 
qualities help students develop skills to their fullest capacities.  
 
ADMISSION PROCEDURES 
Prospective students are required to call and schedule a “tour/interview” with the Administrative 
office. The purpose of the tour is to discuss your interest in the field, personal education and 
career plans to ensure this is a good fit for both you and the school. The school has the right to 
deny a student enrollment if they see fit. 
 
ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS: COSMETOLOGY AND INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 
The school accepts applicants for admission as regular students once the following criteria have 
been met: 

 Provide a copy of their valid U.S. High School Diploma or its equivalent, GED. 

 A valid Social Security Card 

 A valid government issued photo identification card or driver's license. 

 All students must pass an admissions test - the Scholastic Level Exam, (SLE) with a 
minimum score of 20 or higher as stated in the test publisher's guidelines. Currently, our 
school is using the WONDERLIC TEST that is approved by the Department of Education. 
 

ATB STUDENTS 
As of July 1, 2012 Ability to Benefit students are no longer eligible for Title IV funding through the 
U.S. Department of Education unless the student was formerly admitted and enrolled in a Title 
IV eligible institution and is considered to be "grandfathered" under the criteria specified by the 
Department of Education. This means that a student must have enrolled and attended a Title IV 
eligible postsecondary institution prior to July 1, 2012 regardless of whether or not the student 
received Title IV funding. THIS SCHOOL DOES ACCEPT ATB STUDENTS if they were previously 
enrolled as an ATB student under the criteria specified by the Department of Education.  We also 
accept the CESLA ATB test for cash paying students who lack a high school diploma.  The passing 
score required is 97 and the test is administered by a third-party examiner.  The cost of the test 
is $120 and a date can be arranged with the Director for the test to be taken. 
 
For students that have immigrated to the United States, a high school diploma must be provided. 
The institution will obtain the services of independent academic evaluators (an outside agency) 
to get an English translation of the document along with confirmation that the education 
received is equivalent to a U.S. high school diploma. Self-certification of a high school diploma or 
its equivalent is not allowed by the Institution’s accrediting agency (NACCAS). 
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INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 
Applicant must have a High School diploma or its equivalent in addition to a valid Cosmetology 
license, valid social security card and valid government photo identification card or driver's 
license and a minimum of three years of experience in the Cosmetology industry. 
 
NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR 
INSTITUITION 
 
The transferability of credits earned at an institution from which the student is transferring is at 
the complete discretion of the institution to which the student may seek to transfer. Acceptance 
of the diploma the student earned in the educational program is also at the complete discretion 
of the institution to which student may seek to transfer.  lf the diploma that the student earned 
at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which the student seeks to transfer the 
student may be required to repeat some or all of their course work at that institution. For this 
reason the student should make certain that attendance at this institution will meet their 
educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which student may seek to 
transfer after attending Universal College of Beauty, Inc. to determine if the hours or diploma 
will transfer. This institution does not have an articulation or transfer agreement with any other 
college. Our school does not recruit any student currently attending another Cosmetology school. 
 
RE-ENTRY POLICY 
All former Universal College of Beauty, Inc. students who withdraw may re-enter into the 
program of Cosmetology at the discretion of the School Director. Returning students will not be 
assessed any additional charges for tuition but will be charged a $75 re-enrollment fee. The 
transcript will be evaluated and student will retain all credit for clock hours. The school will 
maintain permanent transcripts on all students. 
 
STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION Universal College of Beauty, Inc. does not discriminate 
on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, financial status, age, ethnic origin, area of 
origin or residence in its admissions, instruction or graduation policies. 
 
FACILITY 
The Leimert Campus is a two story modern spacious 5600 square feet building.  It is air-
conditioned with many benefits for our staff and students. Our school simulate salon conditions 
to help our students 'learn by doing" with modern equipment and a variety of supplies that help 
enhance the student's product knowledge. A student lounge or break area is provided for student 
to use with facilities for eating and taking breaks. Each student is assigned a daily locker in which 
their personal items will be stored for the day. Our Instructor Trainees are taught to manage the 
reception desk by logging in patrons, answering the telephone and more. They are then assigned 
on a daily basis to actually practice this task. They learn how to do inventory control and assist in 
operating the school's supply system. Our objective is to help the student to become “salon 
ready''. 
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This campus maintains a media center which includes videos, handouts and other resource 
materials a student may need to enhance their knowledge. A check out system is utilized. The 
media center includes a Computer Lab for all of our students to practice taking sample State 
Board exams. 
 
HANDICAPPED STUDENTS 
Access for handicapped students to the institution's facilities is not available at this institution 
and does not offer special facilities or programs for the handicapped. 
 
FRESHMAN CLASS ENROLLMENT 
The freshman curriculum for each of the courses requires a specific number of hours of classroom 
lectures, demonstration and student practice. The freshman class introduces the basics for those 
areas that the student will need to know to pass the State Board Cosmetology examination. From 
this initial introduction, the student will learn all fundamentals that are the basics for the 
student's future and career. The hours spent in the freshman class are up until 500 hours. 
UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. considers the freshman classes to be the foundation of 
the student's future in Cosmetology. 

 
CALENDAR/HOLIDAYS 
The academic year is 900 clock hours and 26 weeks.  The college is closed on Sundays, Mondays 
and the following holidays: New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday, Memorial Day, 
Fourth of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and the Friday after Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and 
the next business day after Christmas. A "special” holiday may be declared for emergencies by 
the Administration for special reasons. Holy Days of all religious beliefs are respected and 
allowed. 
 
CLASS SCHEDULE  
Classes for Cosmetology and Instructor training courses begin on Tuesday of each week (Subject 
to change depending on the schedule of the school). 
 
ORIENTATION CLASS 
Orientation classes for new students are held the first Tuesday of every month.  All new students, 
transfers and re-enrolled students are required to attend prior to starting classes. The orientation 
includes the introduction of the staff, learning about school policies, expectations, student 
services, financial aid and receive all required documents and information prior to starting the 
first day of class. 
 
 
COURSES OF STUDY 
The courses of study shall consist of the following clock hours which also include technical 
instruction and practical operations 

 Cosmetology 1600 hours - CIP#12-040 I, DOT #331-674-0 I0,soc #39-5012 

 Instructor Training 600 hours - CIP#12-0413, DOT#075-l 27-0 I0, SOC#25- ll94 

 All courses of study are designed to prepare students for the state licensing examination 
and become financially independent. 
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HEALTH AND PHYSICAL CONSIDERATIONS 
Generally, the professional in the beauty field must be in good physical health for he/she will be 
working in direct contact with patrons. This related field of study requires a great deal of standing, 
walking, pushing, bending and stretching for extended periods of time. A person must consider 
his/her physical limitations in terms of making a career choice that involves extensive physical 
demands. We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations if these students 
(their parents or physician) believe they can full fill the training demands. 
 
DRUG ABUSE PREVENTION PROGRAM 
The following information is available for all Universal College of Beauty staff, students and 
Instructors: Anyone seeking information, counselling or assistance regarding Drug Abuse 
Prevention can call the following agency: Los Angeles Drug and Alcohol Treatment Center 
California-drug-treatment-center.com 2202 South Figueroa Street Los Angeles, CA (213) 344-
8804. 
 
ATTENDANCE POLICY 
Attendance must be maintained at an average of 67% of the scheduled attendance if the student 
is expected to complete the course of study within the 1.5 times of the period of time stated in 
the enrollment agreement. An absence may be excused by calling in the same day prior to the 
beginning of class or with appropriate documentation. Students are required to make-up the 
lessons and exams missed due to absenteeism. Excessive tardiness and or absenteeism will be 
reviewed by the Director to determine possible corrective action. Absence of three (3) days or 
more without notification may be considered cause for suspension. Any student absent more 
than the fourteen (14) consecutive days without notifying Instructor or Director may be 
withdrawn if the behaviour continues it may result in suspension or dismissal. Full time students 
are required to be enrolled and attend a minimum of 31 hours per week. 
 
STUDENT CLOCK HOUR POLICY 
The California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology will only recognize time clock punched 
hours of attendance. Although students are clocked in daily hours are determined by our 
attendance roster. The timecard must be signed by the student and the Instructor and turned in 
each Tuesday. 
 
The attendance personnel must be able to read the timecards so that the hours are correctly 
transferred to the roster. 
 
The timecards are the property of Universal College of Beauty and must always remain on the 
school premises. After a student clocks in, they are required to maintain applied effort. Personal 
grooming, without instructor's permission, leaving the building and reading material not related 
to Cosmetology and Instructor Training is not tolerated, if this occurs the student will be asked 
to stop such activity or to punch out for the remainder of the day. Continued activities of this 
nature could result in a student's termination. 
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The following is a guideline for the instructor to issue credits: 

 Each theory must be initialled in the proper category. If that category is complete, the 
instructor may issue credit in a comparative category. 

 The portion of the timecard reflecting hours are in Theory hours earned and any classes 
the Instructor has demonstrated. 

 The portion of the time reflecting operations are to be applied efforts of the students as 
they manually perform practical subjects. 

 Some practical operations may take longer to perform according to the student's pace 
and ability. 

 
NOTE: The following time frame is given by the State board for each operation: 
Shampoo Set = 1 hour, Scalp treatment = ½ to 1 hour, Permanent wave = 2 to 3 hours, Facial = 1 
to 2 hours, Manicure = 1 hour, Hair cut = ½ to 1 hour. 
 
LEAVE OF ABSENCE POLICY 
Occasionally, students may experience extended personal, medical or other problems that make 
it difficult to attend class. During the leave of absence, the student is not considered withdrawn 
and no refund calculation is required if: 

 The institution has a formal policy regarding “Leave of Absence” (LOA). 

 The student is to follow the institution's policy in requesting a “LOA”. 

 LOA must be submitted in advance in writing unless unforeseen circumstances prevent 
the student from doing so. For example, if a student becomes injured in a car accident 
and needed a few weeks to recover before returning to institution, the student would not 
have been able to request the LOA in advance. 

 An institution may grant an LOA to a student who did not provide the request prior to the 
LOA due to unforeseen circumstances if the institution documents the reason for its 
decision and collects the request from the student at a later date. In this example the 
beginning date of the approved LOA would be determined by the institution to be the 
first date the student was unable to attend the institution because of the accident. 

 Include the reason for the student's request and include the student's signature and must 
be approved by the School Director. 

 There must be a reasonable expectation that the student will return from the LOA. 
 
An LOA Request Form must include the start and end date of the “leave-of-absence” and it must 
not exceed 180 days in 12 months. It must extend student’s contract period by same number of 
days taken in the LOA. All changes to the enrollment agreement must be initialled by all parties 
or an addendum must be signed by all parties. Students should not request a Leave of Absence 
unless they absolutely need to be off school for a period of more than 20 days consecutively. 
 
For Financial Aid recipients LOA’s are limited to a total of 180 days within a 12 month period, 
these 12 months initiate from the first day the student goes on the first leave). Students on LOA's 
will not be assessed any additional charges of tuition and will retain all credit for clock hours and 
work projects completed and will be returned to the academic progress status they held prior to 
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the start of the leave of absence. Students who fail to return from a LOA will be considered 
dismissed as of the last class day of attendance. 
 
The refund calculation will be based on the student's last day of attendance. All refunds due will 
be issued to the student or appropriate agencies and paid within 30 days of the last day of 
attendance. 
 
TUITION AND FEE SCHEDULE: 
The tuition and fees are recorded on the enrollment agreement at the time the student enrolls 
in the course. 

 

 Tuition, Fees, Books and Kit 
COURSE TUITION REG. FEE* STRF FEE* BOOKS* KIT & SUPPLIES TOTAL TOTAL WEEKS  

Cosmetology  $16,000 $175 $8.50 $300 $570 $17,045.50 76 

Cosmetology 
1000 hour 

$15,000 $175 
$8.50 

$270 $979.05 $16,433 49 

Instructor 
Training 

$3,900 S175 
$2.50 

$500 NA $4,577.50 20-30 

*Non-refundable: Due to sanitary reasons the kit & supplies are not 
refundable once the student receives it. The kit prices also include 
sales tax. 
THE COLLEGE RESERVES THE RICHT TO CHANGE THE TUITION AND 
FEES AND MAKE CURRICULUM CHANGES WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE 
WHEN NECESSARY. ANY CHANGE WILL NOT AFFECT STUDENT'S 
CURRENTLY ATTENDING SCHOOL. 
 
An iPad, e-book, uniform; smock and apron, and a binder will be 
issued once a student begins school. Students will be able to rent 
tools and will be responsible for any lost, stolen or damaged items 
that they rent. Students can purchase mannequin heads/stands 
from the school or they can purchase from another venue as long 
as it is school approved. THE COLLEGE IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR 
STUDENT'S EQUIPMENT, EITHER LOST OR STOLEN. Students must 
learn to be responsible for the tools of their trade. 
 
TUITION AND FEES POLICIES 
Institutional charges for the tuition charges are posted to the 
student account on the basis of payment period. However, 
registration fees, for the entire course will be assessed and posted 
in the student’s account with the first payment period, the kit, 
books and supplies will be prorated over payment periods. Our 
cosmetology course is charged at $15 per hour and our instructor 
trainee course is $10 per hour. Subsequent charges will be posted. 
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SCHOLARSHIPS 
Universal offers scholarships but are not obligated to do so. Students must meet the following 
criteria to be considered for eligibility; Academic – student must maintain a 70% GPA on theory 
and/or practical exams.  Attendance – student must maintain 70% attendance with no unexcused 
absences. Professionalism – student must be dressed in uniform daily, hair done, mannerism 
towards fellow students, staff and customers. Philanthropy – student must participate in events 
in-house and public events, charity events, etc.  
 

INSTITUTIONAL CHARGES BY PAYMENT PERIOD & ESTIMATED PAYMENTS 

Cosmetology 

Payment period 1st 2nd 3rd 4th Totals 

Tuition $4,500 $4,500 $3,500 $3,500 $16,000 

Reg. Fee (Non-refundable) $175 0 0 0 $175 

Books. Kit. Supplies (Non-refundable) $244.69 $244.69 $190.31 $190.31 $870 

STRF (Non-refundable) $8.50 0 0 0 $8.50 

Totals 4,928.19 4,744.69 3,690.31 3,690.31 17,053.50 

 

Instructor Training 

Payment period 1st 2nd Totals 

Tuition $1,950 $1,950 $3,900 

Reg. Fee (Non-refundable) $175 0 $175 

Books (Non-refundable) $500 0 $500 

STRF(Non-refundable) $2.50 0 $2.50 

Totals $2627.50 $1950 $4,577.50 

 

INSTITUTIONAL CHARGES BY PAYMENT PERIOD & ESTIMATED PAYMENTS 

Cosmetology 1000 

Payment period 1st 2nd 3rd 4th Totals 

Tuition $3,700 $3,700 $3,700 $3,700 $15,000 

Reg. Fee (Non-refundable) $175 0 0 0 $175 

Books. Kit. Supplies (Non-refundable) $1250 0 0 0 $1250 

STRF (Non-refundable) $8.50 0 0 0 $8.50 
 
 
METHOD OF PAYMENT 
Students are expected to contribute from their own family resources toward the students cost 
of attendance. Payment plans are available from this institution. Students may make payments 
by cash, check or money order. Federal student financial aid is available to those who qualify to 
cover educational expenses. Financial aid may be in the form of grants (no repayment required) 
and student loans (THIS INSTITUTION CHOOSES NOT TO PARTICIPATE IN THE STUDENT LOAN 
PROGRAM). It is the policy of this institution to request from the student whenever possible, to 
contribute toward their school charges by utilizing the institution's credit slip policy or making 
monthly or weekly payments in accordance to their means. All estimates of available funds from 



 

Page | 14 

 

UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC 

financial aid will be first used to cover institutional charges; if funds remain available, they will be 
disbursed directly to the student. For information on the aid programs, please contact the 
financial aid office. The entire education expenses need to be included in planning the student's 
ability to meet those expenses. All school charges must be paid in full before graduation. 
 
BRUSH-UP 
Students requiring preparation for the State Board exam will be billed at the course hourly rates, 
depending on which license they are applying for and a registration fee of $175. Students must 
furnish their own equipment. 
 
SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY (SAP) 
STANDARDS: This policy is applied consistently to ALL students (Title IV and non-Title IV 
recipients) enrolled in a specific program and schedule. Information regarding the SAP guidelines 
is provided to students during Orientation. 
 
Only students who maintain satisfactory progress are eligible to receive Title IV assistance. The 
student must: 
 
1. Maintain a cumulative academic average of “C" (70%) or better at the end of each 

evaluation period, per the grading scale below: 
 

Grade       Letter Equivalent Level 
90-100% A ..................... Excellent 

80-89% B .................... Above average 
70-79% C..................... Average  
60-69% D ..................... Unsatisfactory (below average) 
59% and below F ..................... Fail 
 

2. Maintain a cumulative average attendance level of at least 2/3 (67%) of the scheduled 
hours indicated on their enrollment contract at the end of each evaluation period. This 
ensures that there will be completion of the student's program within 150% of the 
scheduled course length which is the maximum time frame in which a student must 
complete the course.  For example, a student scheduled to complete 30 hours per week 
would have to maintain an average weekly attendance of at least 20 hours per week (2/3 
x 30 = 20). Regardless of the average level of attendance, students who have more than 14 
days of absences will be dismissed. 

3. This standard shall apply to all students except those on an approved Leave of Absence 
(LOA) Ref: LOA policy on page 13. An LOA will extend the contract period and maximum 
time frame by same number of days taken in the LOA. 

4. Students meeting the minimum requirements for attendance and academic progress at any 
evaluation point will be considered making Satisfactory Academic Progress until the next 
evaluation period. 
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EXTRA CREDIT: Students may receive extra credit for attending and participating in Beauty/Trade 
Shows and community activities BUT must be under the supervision of an Instructor for all hours 
awarded. 
 
MAXIMUM TIME FRAME: 
The maximum time frame, which does not exceed 150% of the course length allowed for students 
is as follows: 
 

Maximum Time Frame 

100% Completion  
Hours Weeks Hours 

Course: Cosmetology 

Cosmetology 1600 55 1600 

Cosmetology 1000 35 1000 

Instructor Training 600 20 600 

 

Maximum Time Frame 

150% Completion  
Hours Weeks Hours 

Course: Cosmetology 

Cosmetology 1600 80 2400 

Cosmetology 1000 60 1500 

Instructor Training 600 30 900 

 
EXTRA INSTRUCTION CHARGES 
Each student has a scheduled completion date within an allotted time frame. A grace period of 
14 days has been added to the calculated completion date for each program. If a student does 
not graduate within the contract period, additional training will be billed at the rate of $15 per 
hour for Cosmetology students and $15 per hour for Instructor Training students, or any part 
thereof, payable in advance until graduation. Students will not be allowed to clock in until 
applicable weekly payments are made. Students are expected to complete their training within 
the time frame allowed as specified in the enrollment agreement. Students will receive progress 
reports and will be expected to maintain a 70% GPA and 67% attendance. This policy applies to 
students who surpass their scheduled completion date. 
 
NOTE: Length of time in course depends on number of hours the student is contracted for on a 
monthly basis as specified in the enrollment agreement. 

 
ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATIONS 
The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a system of numerical grades as 
determined by academic learning. Academic learning is evaluated after each subject is 
completed. Practical skills are evaluated according to practical skills criteria as adopted by the 
institution and may be used toward course completion if satisfactory or better. If unsatisfactory, 
the skill will not be used and will be repeated. The first evaluation must occur no later than the 
mid-point of the course/program, whichever is sooner.  
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NOTE: All evaluations must be completed within 7 business days following the established 
evaluation points. 
 
EVALUATION PERIODS 
Evaluation periods are similar in length whether in clock hours, weeks or months. 
Satisfactory Academic Progress will be assessed at the following benchmarks of actual attended 
hours: 
 

Cosmetology: 450 and 900 hours 

Instructor Training: 300 and 600 hours 

 
DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS 
Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation 
point are considered to be making Satisfactory Academic Progress until next scheduled 
evaluation. Students in Satisfactory Academic Progress will be eligible to receive Title IV funds. 
Students will receive a hard- copy of their Satisfactory Progress Determination at the time of each 
of the evaluation periods. 
 
WARNING PERIOD 
Students not considered meeting minimum standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress will be 
placed on warning status but are still deemed to be in Satisfactory Academic Progress and will 
continue to receive Title IV assistance for that one payment period. Financial aid status is 
assigned without an appeal or other action by that student. If at the end of the warning period, 
the student meets both the attendance and academic requirements, they will re-establish 
Satisfactory Academic Progress and eligibility for Title IV assistance will continue. 
 
 
 
PROBATION: 
Probationary status for students who are not meeting minimum standards for satisfactory 
academic progress may be allowed according to the following;  
 

 The institution evaluates the student's progress and determined that the student did not 
make satisfactory academic progress during the warning or previous evaluation period; 
and 

 The student prevails upon appeal of a negative progress determination prior to being 
placed on probation; and 

 The institution determines that satisfactory academic progress standards can be met by 
the end of the subsequent evaluation period; or 

 The institution develops an academic plan for student that, if followed, will ensure that 
the student is able to meet the institution's satisfactory academic progress requirements 
by a specific point within the maximum timeframe established for the individual student. 
Students who are on probation may continue to receive Title IV funds during that 
payment period if the institution approves the appeal. 
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If the student meets the minimum attendance and academic requirements by the end of the 
probationary period, satisfactory progress will be re-established and Title IV funds will be 
disbursed for the next payment period. If the student has not met the minimum attendance and 
academic requirements by the end of the probationary period and if the institution has 
determined that the student did not meet the requirements specified in the academic plan for 
the student, the student will not be in Satisfactory Academic Progress, will not be eligible to 
receive Title IV funds and will be subject to termination. 
 
 
APPEAL PROCEDURE 
If a student is determined to not be making Satisfactory Academic Progress when placed on 
probation, the student may appeal the determination. The student must submit a written appeal 
to the school on the SAP appeal form with supporting documentation as to reasons why the 
determination should be reversed. This information should include what has changed about the 
student's situation, i.e. death in family, and injury or illness or any other circumstance that will 
allow them to achieve Satisfactory Academic Progress by the next evaluation point. Appeal 
documents will be reviewed by School Director and an Instructor and a decision will be made and 
reported to the student within 15 calendar days. The appeal and decision documents will be 
retained in the student file. If the student prevails upon appeal, the Satisfactory Academic 
Progress determination will be reversed and Title IV aid will be reinstated. 
 
 
INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS 
If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence (LOA), the student will return to 
school in the same progress status as prior to the Leave of Absence. Hours elapsed during a Leave 
of Absence will extend the student's contract period by the same number of days taken in the 
Leave of Absence and will not be included in the student's cumulative attendance percentage 
calculation. Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will 
return in the same Satisfactory Academic Progress status as at the time of withdrawal. 

 
NONCREDIT AND REMEDIAL COURSES 
Non-credit and remedial courses do not apply to this institution. Therefore, these items have no 
effect upon the school's Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) standards. 
 
TRANSFER HOURS 
Appropriate credit will be granted for prior training in Cosmetology and Instructor Training upon 
review by college officials of its validity under the Cosmetology Act and regulations of California 
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. Transfer hours from another institution that are accepted 
toward the student's educational program are counted as both attempted and completed hours 
for the purpose of determining when the allowable maximum time-frame has been exhausted. 
SAP evaluation periods are based on actual contracted hours at the institution. 
 
DISCLOSURE OF EDUCATION RECORDS 
Universal College of Beauty, Inc. complies with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act 
(FERPA). This act protects the privacy of education and establishes a student's and/or 
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parent/guardian of a dependent minor's right to inspect and review their educational record, 
under the supervision of a staff member. Students or their parent/guardian, if the student is a 
dependent minor, may have access to their own files by contacting staff for an appointment. The 
school may require advance notice of up to 48 hours and an appointment for review of these 
files. Students, or their parent/guardian, if the student is a dependent minor, may not remove 
these records from the campus. 
 
This institution requires prior written consent from the student or guardian, each time, before 
releasing any student information in response to a third party request unless the school is 
required to do so by law by a government agency or the school’s accrediting agency. Educational 
records are defined as files, materials, and documents that contain information directly related 
to the student's period of enrollment that is maintained by the institution. This institution will 
keep these records for five (5) years from the last day of attendance. After this period all records 
EXCEPT the official transcript are destroyed. The students are not entitled to inspect the financial 
records of their parents. 
 
The school must keep a record of each request for access and each disclosure of personally 
identifiable student information. The record must identify the parties who requested the 
information and their legitimate interest in the information. This record must be maintained in 
the student's file as long as the educational records themselves are kept. 
 
CAREER ADVISING /PERSONAL ATTENTION 
Students are advised individually, as often as necessary, but at least on a quarterly basis to review 
the student's progress and adjustment. Successful Salon Owners and Stylists are scheduled to 
visit the school regularly to give demonstrations and discuss career goals, etc. with the students. 
Students may request additional advising sessions at any time, however, referral for professional 
assistance is available upon request. Students are given personal attention assistance at every 
stage of training from the first day of enrollment to the day of graduation. At predetermined 
intervals, measuring instruments are utilized to evaluate the rate and quality of the student and 
remedial assignments are made when required. Particular attention is given to preparation for 
the California State Board Barbering and Cosmetology examination. 
 
EXTERNSHIP 
This institution allows students to complete 10% of the cosmetology course through Externship.  
The Director must approve the externship therefore a student is required to schedule an 
appointment to meet and discuss the possibility of participating in such a program.  Student 
eligibly for externship is up to the school’s discretion. Students must maintain an 80% GPA or 
higher, 90% attendance, exude professional attitude/appearance and comply with all school 
rules and regulations. 
 
ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE 
This institution does not offer English as a Second Language (ESL) course. All prospective students 
that are accepted for enrollment must be proficient in the English Language. All documents are 
written in English. 
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GENERL SCHOOL RULES AND REGULATIONS (Rev. 5/2022) 
The following are UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC. rules and regulations which ALL of our 
students are expected to follow; 
 

1. School hours are Tuesday and Wednesday from 9:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. and Thursday 
through Saturday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. SATURDAYS ARE MANDATORY. Any 
student who misses a Saturday will be suspended for three (3) days. 

2. Time cards must be legible and STUDENTS MUST USE TIME CLOCK TO CLOCK IN AND 
OUT. 

3. In case of illness or emergency on any day, the student must call the school at (323) 
298-0045 to report his/her absence before 8:00 a.m. that morning. 

4. Students are required to be in class for roll call promptly between 9:00 a.m. and 9:15 
a.m. in a clean uniform. No hats allowed and head scarves must be approved by the 
Director. 

5. Any student appearing in school with their hair not set and neat will be clocked out. 
Personal Grooming is a must and will be approved by an Instructor. 

6. TARDY POLICY - Any student who is tardy (9:15 A.M.) will not be allowed in class 
and will be sent home, unless approved by Instructor. 

7. Students will take lunch between 11:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. (the exact time and length 
of lunch period will be determined by the School Director) and must be cleared by the 
Instructor. If a student has not had lunch by 2:00 p.m. this should be reported to the 
Instructor. Taking a lunch break is the student's responsibility and must be staggered. 

8. A student must use the time clock to punch “IN" when entering and “OUT" when 
leaving. Students failing to do so will only receive credit for hours indicated by the 
time clock. 

9. No student is allowed to clock out during college hours without permission from the 
Instructor. 

10. NO STUDENT MAY CLOCK IN OR OUT FOR ANOTHER STUDENT. This rule is strictly 
enforced and may be grounds for disciplinary action. Smoking is not allowed in the 
building and no gum chewing is allowed on the Clinic area at any time. 

11. STUDENTS CAN NOT REFUSE TO GIVE SERVICE TO A PATRON NOR LEAVE A PATRON 
WITHOUT FINISHING THE SERVICE (EVEN IF IT IS PAST 4:00PM) UNLESS EXCUSED BY 
AN INSTRUCTOR. FAILURE TO FOLLOW THIS RULE MAY BE GROUNDS FOR 
SUSPENSION AND LOSS OF TUITION CREDIT SCHOLARSHIP. 

12. No visitors are permitted in the classrooms or student lounge unless approved by the 
Director or Instructor. 

13. College business telephones may not be used for personal calls. However, incoming 
calls regarding an EMERGENCY CALL for students will be allowed. 

14. The use of cell phones, IPods or any other listening device is strictly prohibited while 
working on a patron. 

15. Rigid adherence to the rules and regulations of sanitation, disinfecting and personal 
hygiene is required at all times. 

16. Students must keep their work stations, in class or on the clinic floor, clean and 
sanitary at all times. 
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17. A minimum of 30 minutes of sanitation must be completed by the student daily. All 
kits must be in a sanitized condition at the end of the day. 

18. All students serving the public must be courteous and pleasant. If difficulty arises with 
a patron, the student is to call an Instructor. Students that exhibit rude behaviour 
towards a client is grounds for suspension.  

19. No student may leave a patron while doing a perm or hair color service, except in an 
emergency and is excused by an Instructor. 

20. Students are not allowed to give services or materials other than what is called for on 
the service ticket. Students are not to take tickets from the receptionist desk UNLESS 
authorized by an Instructor. Students are not to exchange tickets UNLESS authorized 
by an Instructor. Students violating this rule will be disciplined accordingly. 

21. Students will pay in advance for supplies for personal services such as permanents, 
tints, bleaches. 

22. Students are responsible for the return of college materials or equipment loaned to 
them. Students must not borrow equipment from each other. Each student is solely 
responsible for their personal belongings and materials. All unreturned rented school 
property will be charged to the student’s account accordingly. 

23. Students must not gather or congregate around the Receptionist desk, in the offices 
or visit with a student who is working on a patron. 

24. Students are required to attend school TUESDAY THROUGH SATURDAY unless the day 
is designated as a Holiday. However, attendance on SATURDAY is MANDATORY. The 
college reserves the right to terminate a student if this rule is violated. A student may 
be required to produce documentation for absences. 

25. Students have the right to request confidential counselling from a staff member of 
the college regarding a personal issue or other issues, including referral for 
professional assistance, if necessary. The school maintains a record of student 
referrals. 

26. The college positively reserves the right to suspend or expel a student who gossips, 
steals school equipment, supplies or products, uses vulgar language, fights on school 
grounds, makes threats toward staff/students or causes any other kind of discord. 

27. The college will not tolerate the use of alcohol or drugs at any time. No student will 
be admitted to class who is apparently under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If this 
occurs the student will be automatically expelled. 

28. Students must keep a record of hours and services for each day as required on the 
student daily record of applied effort. Weekly timecards will be audited by the 
institution. Cosmetology credit will be given for applied effort only if the student is 
continuously engaged in training and study of the course for which a student is 
enrolled. 

29. AII students will be expected to maintain an average of “C” (70%) in theory and in all 
practical subjects and 67% attendance. 

30. Only products furnished by the college may be used unless otherwise approved by the 
instructor. Products brought in by the students to use, must be approved by an 
instructor. 
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31. Students must comply with all instructions, directions, orders, etc. given by personnel 
related to school activities. Insubordination will not be tolerated. 

32. Students will not solicit, encourage or recruit students (i.e. unlicensed operators) for 
employment in salons, spas or any establishment offering hair or skin care services. 
This conduct will be grounds for immediate termination from the program. This 
conduct violates the rules of the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and 
Universal College of Beauty, Inc. 

33. All services will be paid for at the receptionist desk. Students are not allowed to solicit 
additional payment for services. 

34. Students must comply with college policy, Department of Education and State agency 
rules and regulations. 

35. In case of absences, all assignments, tests and homework may be made up. Any 
deviation from the policy must be in writing from the office and signed by a member 
of the administrative staff. 

36. Notify office immediately of any name, address or telephone change. 
37. STUDENTS ARE REQUIRED TO BRING THEIR TEXTBOOKS AND SUPPLIES TO SCHOOL 

EACH DAY. The School is not responsible for student’s lost, damaged or stolen items.    
38. Absence of THREE days or more without notification shall be considered cause for 

suspension. Any student absent for more than fourteen (14) days without notifying 
the Instructor or School Director may be considered for termination. 

39. Time slips are school property and must remain in the school at all times - removal of 
these slips will be grounds for suspension. 

40. All unexcused absences that cause a student to go past their contracted end date 
will be charged by the hour. Any student that is suspended will be charged for each 
day of the suspension. This balance must be paid before a student can graduate. 

41. These rules are designed to form excellent work habits and attendance, and to aid in 
the students completing the course as soon as possible so that they may become 
employed as a Cosmetologist or Instructor. 
 

ENFORCED GROUNDS FOR TERMINATION: In regards to the above rules, the school reserves 
the right to terminate any student who fails to achieve SAP, gossips, steals school equipment 
or products or steals from other students, uses vulgar language, fights on school grounds, 
makes threats toward staff, is under the influence or alcohol or drugs or causes any other kind 
of discord or is insubordinate. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
COLLECTION OF TUITION 
For all students who receive Pell Grants, tuition is paid directly to the school at designated 
intervals. If students are private pay, they are required to pay tuition on a quarterly basis. At the 
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time of enrollment, students are required to make an advance payment that shall not exceed 
one term or four months (quarterly). However, once the student has completed 50% of the 
program, the institution may require full payment. As an alternative, a student has the option to 
pay the institution in full for tuition and fees, including funds received through institutional loans, 
after the student has been accepted and enrolled and the date of the first-class session is 
disclosed on the enrollment agreement. Ed. Code #94899.S (e) 
 
BPPE Student Withdrawal, cancellation and refund policies (Ed.Code#94919-94922) 
 
STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF): 
The state of California created the Student Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve of mitigate economic 
losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled 
in a residency program attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education. You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF if all of the 
following applies to you:  

1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled 
in a residency program, and prepays all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed 
student loans or personal loans 

2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government 
program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. 
You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF 
assessment, if either of the following applies:  

a. You are not a California resident.  
b. Your total charges are paid by a third-party, such as an employer government 

program or other payer and you have no separate agreement to repay the third 
party. You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled 
in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF assessment, suffered an 
economic loss as a result of any of the following:  

i. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.  
ii. The school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a 

third party for license fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment 
or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the 
closure of the school. 

iii. The school's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally 
guaranteed student loan program as required by law or to pay or 
reimburse proceeds by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and 
other costs 

iv. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 
30 days before the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier 
than 30 days prior to closure, the period determined by the Bureau.  

v. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on 
judgment against the institution for a violation of the Act. However, no 
claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a 
taxpayer identification number. Each qualifying institution shall collect an 
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assessment of fifty cents ($0.50) per one thousand dollars ($1000) of 
institutional charges, rounded to the nearest thousand dollars, from each 
student in an educational program who is a California resident or is 
enrolled in a residency program. For institutional charges of one thousand 
dollars ($1000) or less, the assessment is fifty cents ($0.50). 
 

Withdrawal Policy 
Student will be advised that a notice of cancellation shall be in writing, and that a withdrawal 
may be effectuated by the student’s written notice or by the student's conduct, including but not 
necessarily limited to, a student's lack of attendance. 

1. Student (and in the case of a student under legal age, his/her parent or guardian) has the 
right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through 
attendance at the first class session (first day of class) or the seventh day after enrollment 
(seven days from the date when enrollment agreement was signed) whichever is later 

2. If a student is absent for three consecutive weeks and is not on an approved leave of 
absence, the student will be deemed as a withdrawal even though he/she did not indicate 
that they were withdrawing. 

3. Student failed to return on schedule from approved leave of absence. 
 

Refund policy: 
This institution utilizes the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education refund policy (Ed. Code 
71750). 
 
Applies to all terminations for any reason. A pro rata refund shall be no less that the total amount 
owed by the student for the portion of the educational program provided subtracted from the 
amount paid by the student, calculated as follows: (I) The amount owed equals the daily charge 
for the program (total institutional charge, divided by the number of days or hours in the 
program, multiplied by the number of days student attended, or was scheduled to attend, prior 
to withdrawal (2) Except as provided for in subsection (a)(3) of this section, all amounts in excess 
of what is owed as calculated in subdivision (a)(l) shall be refunded. (3) All amounts that the 
student has paid shall be subject to refund unless the enrollment agreement and the refund 
policy outlined in the catalog specify amounts paid for an application fee or deposit not more 
than $250, books, supplies or equipment, and specify whether and under what circumstances 
those amounts are non-refundable. Except when an institution provides a 100% refund, any 
assessment paid is non-refundable. (4) Refund calculations are based on actual hours or 
scheduled hours. The institution shall pay or credit refunds within 45 days of a student’s 
cancellation or withdrawal. 
 
A registration fee of no more than $175 is non-refundable item. Equipment, books, supplies, tools 
uniforms, kits and any other items issued and received by the student would not be returnable. 
Once received by the student, these items will belong to the student and will represent a liability 
to the student. 
 
Cancellation policy: 
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If student cancels the agreement, the school will refund any money that student paid, less any 
deduction for registration fee and equipment received. If student withdraws from school after 
the cancellation period, the refund policy described above will apply. If the amount student has 
paid is more than the amount that student owes for the time student attended, then a refund 
will be made within 45 days of the official withdrawal date which is the students last day of 
attendance. If the amount that student owes is more that the amount student has already paid, 
then student will have to arrange with this institution to pay that balance. Official withdrawal 
date is student's last day of attendance. 
 
Academic credits earned but not paid for will not be released by the institution. 
 
Withdrawal Calculation: 
Once the student has been determined by the institution to have withdrawn from the course of 
study, the institution will determine if the student received or was entitled to receive Federal 
Funds from the Title IV Funds from the Title IV Financial aid program available at the institution 
during the payment period or enrollment period. If the answer is YES, the institution will conduct 
two distinctive and different calculations. 
 
Return of Title IV Funds: 
Special note to students receiving Unsubsidized/PLUS/Perkins loans, ACG/National 
SMART/Pell/SEOG grants or other aid, if you withdraw from school prior to the completion of the 
equivalent 60 % of the workload in any given payment period, a calculation using the percentage 
completed will be applied to the funds received or that could have been received that will 
determine the amount of aid the student earned. Unearned funds would be returned to the 
program in the order stated below by the school and /or the student. Student liability to loan 
funds will continue to be paid in accordance to the original promissory note terms. Funds owed 
by the student to the Grant programs are limited to 50% of the gross award per program 
received. 
 
Sample Calculation, completion of 25% of the payment period or enrollment period earns only 
25% of the aid disbursed or that could have been disbursed. If applicable, this would be the first 
calculation to determine that amount of aid that the student would be eligible for from the Title 
IV Financial Aid programs. A second calculation would take place to determine the amount 
earned by the Institution during the period of enrollment. If the student is eligible for a loan 
guaranteed by the federal or state government and the student defaults on the loan, both of the 
following may occur:  

1. The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the 
student, including garnishing any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to, to 
reduce the balance owed on the loan.  

2. The student may not be eligible to any other federal student financial aid at another 
institution or other government assistance until the loan is repaid. Amount owed, if any, 
by the student to the school or if there is an amount due from the institution as a refund 
to the Title IV aid program. Those refunds will be paid to the program funds in accordance 
to the order listed above, limited to the amount of funds that came from each aid 
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program. Any monies due a student who withdraws from the institution shall be refunded 
within forty-five (45) days of a determination that a student has withdrawn, whether 
officially or unofficially. 
 

Refunds 
If any refunds are due based on the Return of Title IV calculation QL based on the institutional 
refund policy calculation, any refunds will be made as soon as possible but not later than 45 days 
from determination of withdrawal date in the order stated in section CFR 34 section 668.22. The 
order of payment of refunds is: 

1. Unsubsidized Loans from FFLEP or Direct Loan 
2. Subsidized Loans from FFELP or Direct Loan 
3. Perkins Loans 
4. PLUS (Graduate Students) FFELP or Direct Loan 
5. PLUS (Parent) FFELP or Direct Loan 
6. Pell Grant 
7. Academic Competitiveness Grant (ACG) 
8. National SMART Grant 
9. Federal SEOG 
10. Other 

 
This order would apply in accordance with the aid programs available at the institution. 
 
 
Post Withdrawal Disbursement 
If the calculation shows that the received less aid than what the student earned within the 
payment period or enrollment period, than the student would be notified of the amount of Grant 
funds to be used to cover institutional charges incurred by the student, or the available amount 
from Grant funds for direct disbursement of the student for other educational expenses. If loan 
funds are involved in this calculation, the institution will notify the student or parent of the loan 
amount it wishes to utilize to cover educational charges, the financial aid program where the 
funds are coming from and the student will be reminded of the responsibilities involved in 
receiving loan funds. 
 
 
Policy for Financial Balances 

If a student has a FINANCIAL BALANCE, the school will notify the student within 10 to 21 
days of the student’s withdrawal or termination date. Once the balance is received by the 
school the student will be given a Proof of Training and the Record of Withdrawal. 

 
 
 
Hypothetical Refund Example according to the State Pro-rata policy 
Assume that a student upon enrollment in a 1600 clock hour course, pays $6,800 for tuition $75 
for registration and $400 documented cost to school, for equipment as specified in the 
enrollment agreement and withdraws after completing 600 hours without returning the 
equipment due to sanitary reasons. The pro rata refund to the student would be $4250 based on 
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the calculation below. If the student returns the equipment (if it was returnable) in good 
condition within 30 days following his/her withdrawal, the school would refund the charge for 
the equipment returned. 
 
SCHOOL CLOSURE/TEACH-OUT POLICY: 

1. If no closure of an institution or program has occurred, an accredited institution must 
submit to NACCAS the Teach-Out Agreement entered into with another institution not 
later than I 5 days after entering to such agreement. 

2. In the event of an unplanned closure of an institution or program, the Teach-Out Plan and 
Agreement must be submitted for approval not later than 15 days following the 
occurrence of a Teach-Out Event. 

3. In the event of the planned closure an institution or program, the Teach­Out Plan and 
Agreement must be submitted 30 days prior to the closure date. 

4. The closing school will submit to NACCAS a list of students who were enrolled at the time 
of closure and indicate the arrangements made for each affected student. 

5. If the school closes permanently and ceases to offer instruction after students have 
enrolled OR if a course is cancelled after students have enrolled and instruction has 
begun, students participating in Title IV student financial assistance programs the 
following policy will apply: 

a. Provide a pro rata refund for all students transferring to another school based on 
the hours accepted by the receiving school; or 

b. Provide a full refund of all monies paid; or 
c. Participate in a Teach-out Agreement 

 
 TEACH-OUT AGREEMENT 

1. The teach-out will be performed by previous agreement by an institution in the same 
geographic area as the original school which provided the course of study 

2. This school will place students in a Cosmetology school where they have a reasonable 
opportunity to resume and complete the cancelled course(s) of study or a similar course 
of study at a school that offers similar educational programs, has acceptable quality as 
evidenced by state approval; and have no business connections with the original 
institution. 

3. The Teach- Out school shall not charge the students an amount greater than that to which 
the original school would have been entitled for the period covered by the teach-out, and 
for which the student has not yet been paid. 

4. A copy of the enrollment agreement and catalog will be submitted to each institution that 
receives students 

5. A copy of the Teach-Out institution’s license issued by the state regulatory agency will be 
submitted and has the necessary experience, resources, and support services. 

6. This school shall arrange for individual notice to affected students of the availability of 
the Teach-Out Plan and diligently advertise such availability. The agreements among 
other schools of Cosmetology may provide that teach-out notices may be sent by the 
teach-out school. 
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7. If there is no provision for a teach-out, a full refund must be provided to each student 
enrolled at the time. 

8. The closing school complies with applicable state and/or federal laws regarding records 
maintenance. 

9. If the institution that is a party to a Teach-Out learns that another party to the Agreement 
plans to close, NACCAS must be notified. 

10. The Teach-Out Plan must be approved by the U.S. Secretary of Education. 
 
STUDENT'S RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
The student has the right to ask the school: 

• The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations 
• About its programs, its instructional laboratory, and other physical facilities, and its 

faculty 
• What the total cost of tuition and all fees and the policy on refunds on students who 

withdraw 
• What financial assistance is available, including information on all federal, state, local, 

private and institutional financial aid programs. 
• What the procedures and deadlines are for submitting application for each available 

financial aid program. 
• How it selects financial aid recipients 
• How it determines financial need 
• How much of the student's financial need, as determined by the school, has been met 
• To explain each type and amount of assistance in student financial aid package 
• What the interest rate is on any student loan the student has, the total that has to be 

repaid, when the repayment begins and what cancellation or deferment (postponement) 
provisions apply. 

• To reconsider the aid package, if the student believes a mistake has been made or if 
enrollment or financial circumstances have changed 

• How the school determines whether the student is making satisfactory progress and 
what happens if the student is not 

• What special facilities and services are available, if any, to the handicap. 
 
It is the student's responsibility to: 

• Review and consider all the information about the school program before enrolling 
• Review the Catalog and School Performance fact sheet prior to signing an enrollment 

agreement. 
• Pay special attention to the application for student’s financial aid, and complete it 

accurately, and submit it on time to the right place. Errors can delay or prevent the 
receipt of financial aid. 

• Know and comply with all deadlines for applying and re-applying for aid. 
• Provide documentation, corrections, and/or new information requested by either the 

financial aid officer or the agency to which you submitted the application. 
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• Notify the school of any information that has changed since you applied. 
• Read, understand, and keep copies of all forms that are signed. 
• Repay any student loan. When student signs a promissory note, they are agreeing to 

repay the loan. 
• Request an exit interview at the time you are leaving the school to determine the net 

balance of your account with the school as well as the net balance of any student loan. 
• Notify the school of any change in name, address, phone number or attendance status 

(full/part-time student). If you have student loans, you must notify your lender of these 
changes. 

• Understand the school’s policy. 
• Understand and comply with the enrollment status, financial charges, financial terms, 

time allowed to complete, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the 
enrollment contract you will be asked to sign. 

• Understand that it is the student's responsibility and their liability when errors are made 
and funds for which they are not eligible or are advanced to them or credited to their 
school account. 
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CURRICULUM FOR COSMETOLOGY COURSE (1000 Hours) 
(1000 Hours) CIP #12-0401- DOT# 331 674-010, SOC# 39-5012 
The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetology course shall consist of sixteen hundred 
(1,600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering at a minimum the state 
mandated subject hours listed below. In addition to these requirements, clock hour requirements 
are met with performance of clinic floor practical operations, and classes to enhance student's 
professional development. Instruction will cover all practices constituting the art of Cosmetology 
pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. Technical instruction means 
instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination. Practical 
operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person 
or a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. 
Students are not to receive any compensation for services performed on patrons. Such technical 
instruction and practical operations shall include: 
 

Technical Subject 
Minimum Hrs. 
Technical 

Practical 

SUBJECT 
 

MINIMUM 
REQUIRED 
TECHNICAL 
INSTRUCTION 
(HOURS) 

MINIMUM 
REQUIRED 
PRACTICAL 
OPERATIONS 
(ACTUAL 
OPERATIONS 
-NOT HOURS) 

1100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Dressing 

Hairstyling:  
The subject of hairstyling shall include, but is not 
limited to the following techniques and procedures: 
hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, 
comb outs, straightening, waving, curling with hot 
combs and hot curling irons and blower styling. 

65 240 

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening:  
The subject of Permanent Waving and Chemical 
Straightening shall Include, but is not limited to the 
following techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, 
acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical 
straightening including the use of sodium hydroxide 
and other base solutions. 

40 105 

Hair Coloring and Bleaching:  
The subject of hair coloring and bleaching shall 
include, but is not limited to, the following 
techniques and procedures including, the use of 
semi-permanent, demi-permanent and temporary 
colors are: Hair analysis, predisposition and strand 
tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, 

60 50 
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bleaching, high and low lights, and the use of dye 
removers. 

Cutting Hair: 
The subject of hair cutting shall include, but is not 
limited to, the following techniques and procedures: 
Use of scissors, razor (shaper), electrical 
clippers/trimmers, and thinning (tapering) shears for 
wet and dry cutting. 

20 80 

200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety 

Laws and Regulations: 
The subjects of Laws and Regulations shall include 
but not limited to the following issues: The Barbering 
and Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and 
Regulations. 

20  

Health and Safety Considerations: 
The subject of Health and Safety shall include, but is 
not limited to the following techniques and 
procedures: Cosmetology chemistry including the 
chemical composition and purpose of cosmetic, nail, 
hair and skin care preparations. Elementary chemical 
makeup, chemical skin peels and chemical and 
physical changes of matter. Hazardous substances 
including training in chemicals and health in 
establishments, protection from hazardous 
chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, 
ergonomics, theory of electricity in cosmetology, 
bacteriology. Communicable diseases. Including 
HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, staph and Material Safety Data 
Sheets. 

45  

Disinfection and Sanitation: 
The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall 
include, but is not limited to the following techniques 
and procedures: Disinfection and sanitation 
including proper procedures to protect the health 
and safety of the consumer as well as the technician, 
proper disinfection procedures for equipment used 
in establishments. 
Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the 
entire training period and must be performed before 
use of all instruments and equipment. 

20  

Anatomy and Physiology: 15  
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The subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall 
include, but is not limited to the following issues: 
Human Anatomy, Human Physiology. 

200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Esthetician 

Electrical and Chemical Facials: 
The subject of manual, electrical and chemical facials 
shall include, but is not limited to the following 
techniques and procedures: Manual Facials including 
cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and 
masks. Electrical Facials include the use of electrical 
modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus, 
for facials and skin care purposes; however, 
machines capable of producing an electrical current 
shall not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or for 
the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body 
or face. Chemical Facials include chemical skin peels, 
packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize 
that only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial 
skin, known as the epidermis may be removed, and 
only for the purpose of beautification. All practical 
operations must be performed in accordance with 
Section 992 regarding skin peeling. 

25 40 

Eyebrow Beautification and Make-up: 
The subject of Eyebrow Beautification shall include, 
but is not limited to, the following issues: Eyebrow 
Arching and Hair Removal, including the use of wax, 
tweezers, electric or manual, and depilatories for the 
removal of superfluous hair. 
The subject of Makeup shall include, but is not 
limited to the following issues: skin analysis, 
complete and corrective makeup, the application of 
false eyelashes, and lash and brow tinting, if a 
product exists that is not disapproved, prohibited or 
banned by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 
the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, 
or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

25 30 

100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring 

Manicuring and Pedicuring: 
The subject of Manicuring and Pedicuring shall 
include, but are not limited to, the following issues: 
Water and oil manicure, including nail analysis, and 
hand/foot and arm/ankle massage. 

10 25 

Artificial Nails and Wraps: 25 120 Nails 
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Artificial nails including acrylic: liquid and powder 
brush-ons, artificial nail tips and nail wraps and 
repairs. 

 
In addition to the above minimum requirements, clock hour requirements are met with 
performance of clinic floor practical operations, classes in communication skills, career 
development, professional ethics, decorum, human relations, compensation package, payroll 
deductions, record keeping, client service records, licensing requirements and regulations, 
additional training i.e. field trips and participation in beauty industry trade shows and events. 
 
COSMETOLOGY PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVE 

1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating practices in California's Cosmetology 
establishments. 

2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin 
and nails. 

3. Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to Cosmetology including anatomy, 
physiology, chemistry and theory. 

4. Acquire business management techniques common to Cosmetology. 
 
SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED 

1. Learn the proper use of implements relative to all Cosmetology services. 
2. Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face and hands prior to all services to 

determine any disorders. 
3. Will learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all Cosmetology services. 
4. Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of false 

strip eyelashes. 
5. Will learn the proper procedures of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and 

pedicuring. 
6. Will learn the application of brush-on nails, nail wraps and nail tips. 

 
DEVELOP THE FOLLOWING ATTITUDES AND PERSONAL TRAITS 

1. Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to Cosmetology. 
2. Maintain a respectful and courteous attitude toward the public and co-workers. 
3. Strive towards enhancing traits of honesty and integrity. 

 
GRADING SCALE 

 

90-100%    A ......Excellent 

80-89% B......... Above Average 

70-79% C ........ Average 

60-69% D ........ Unsatisfactory (Below Average) 

59% and below F ......... Fail 
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GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: A student that has successfully completed a prescribed course of 
study will receive a diploma of completion if they have accomplished the following:  

1. Completed the number of hours required for the chosen course of study within the 
maximum time frame.  

2. Maintained a minimum academic average of 70% or better on both theory and practical 
work and 67% attendance.  

3. Completed all requirements as discussed with staff. 
4. Paid all financial obligations. 

 
LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed high 
school or its equivalent. A Cosmetology license will be granted by the Barbering and Cosmetology 
Program only after the student has successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetology 
course described above and passed the Barbering and Cosmetology Examination. (Ed. Code 
#94909(a)(6) 
 
EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES: 
Hairstylist, color technician, shampoo assistant, braiders, salon owners/managers and platform 
artist. 
 
CURRICULUM FOR INSTRUCTOR TRAININC COURSE (600 Hours) 
CIP #12-0413, DOT #075 127-010, SOC #25-1194 
NOTE: Per State Board - Instructor Trainees no longer have to obtain a license to teach Cosmetology. 
However, this institution still requires Instructor trainees to complete the 600 hour course 
requirements. 
 
The curriculum for students enrolled in an Instructor Training course shall consist of six hundred 
(600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations. Technical instruction means 
instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination. Practical operation 
shall mean the actual performance by the Instructor trainee of teaching techniques and principles. 
Additionally, students are not to receive compensation for any services performed on patrons. 
 

TECHNICALSUBJECT MINIMUM 
MINIMUM 

HOURS OF 
INSTRUCTION 

OPERATIONS 
 

1 
The Cosmetology Act and the Program's Rules 

and Regulations 
20  

2 Preparatory Instruction 

 

(A) Instructional techniques: 

Methods of instruction, lecture, demonstration, 
performance, communication skills; 
instructional aids, student motivation and 
learning 

100 100 

 
(B) Organization techniques: 4 step teaching 

method. Performance objectives; and 
40 25 
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learning domains. 

 
(C) Lesson planning: Subject, title, outlines, 
development; and visual aids, etc. 

40 25 

 
(D) Techniques of evaluation: Purpose of tests, 
types of tests, test administration; scoring and 
grading, Academic advising to students 

  

3 

Conducting classroom and technical instruction 
and demonstrations for three (3) or more 
students on all practices of Cosmetology 
including The Barbering and Cosmetology 
Program's rules and regulations shall be 
conducted under the supervision of a licensed 
Instructor) 

25 100 

4 

Supervising and Training of Students while they 
are practicing the art of Cosmetology on a live 
person or mannequin in a classroom or 
laboratory. 

25 100 

In addition to the above requirements clock hour requirements are met with performance of 
practical operations, classes in communication skills, career development, professional ethics, 
decorum, human relations, compensation package, payroll deductions, record keeping, client 
service records, licensing requirements and regulations. 
 
INSTRUCTOR TRAINEE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES 

Develop the ability to: 

1. Teach related information, manipulative operations and techniques 
2. Use various teaching aids, such in instruction sheets, visual aids and tests 
3. Provide information on specific teaching techniques used by the Instructor in a Vocational 

School 

ATTITUDES AND PERSONAL TRAITS 

1. The necessity for constant attitudes towards achievement of professional competency as 
an Instructor 

2.  The importance of developing personal characteristics that contributes to success in 
teaching 

 



 

Page | 35 

 

UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC 

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED 

1. Development occupational experiences and personal characteristics that will improve and 
enhance the Cosmetology and Barbering profession by providing the highest quality of 
instruction to students. 

2. Development on plans, outlines, procedures and tests that will ensure student 
comprehension and will motivate all students to want to learn. 

3. Development of a course content reflecting a comprehensive and correlative unit of study 
4. Development of instructional materials that will facilitate set-up and preparation of classes 
5. Development of a variety of supplemental teaching aids that will motivate students to 

want to learn the art of Cosmetology and Barbering. 
 

GRADING SCALE 
 

90-100%    A......Excellent 

80-89% B ........ Above Average 

70-79% C ........ Average 

60-69% D ........ Unsatisfactory (Below Average) 

59% and below F ......... Fail 

 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: A student that has successfully completed a prescribed course 
of study will receive a diploma of completion if they have accomplished the following: 

1. Completed the number of hours required for the chosen course of study within 
the maximum timeframe. 

2. Maintained a minimum academic average of 70% or better on both theory and 
practical work and 67% attendance. 

3 Completed any and all requirements as discussed with staff 
4. Paid all financial obligations 

 
As per State Board, Instructor Trainees no longer have to obtain a Cosmetology license to 
teach. However, this school still offers the Instructor trainee course and requires that they 
have a valid Cosmetology license and 3 years’ experience as a Cosmetologist (Hairstylist) 
Ed. Code #94909(a)(6) 
 

CURRICULUM FOR HYBRID COSMETOLOGY COURSE (1600 Hours)  
CIP #12-0401- DOT# 331 674-010, SOC# 39-5012 Currently we do not provide this Course 
The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetology course shall consist of sixteen hundred 
(1,600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering at a minimum the state 
mandated subject hours listed below. In addition to these requirements, clock hour requirements 
are met with performance of clinic floor practical operations, and classes to enhance student's 
professional development. Instruction will cover all practices constituting the art of Cosmetology 
pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. Technical instruction means 
instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation via online platform of ZoomTM 
or examination in-person. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a 
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complete service on another person or a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes 
to perform a practical operation. Students are not to receive any compensation for services 
performed on patrons. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 
 

Technical Subject 
Minimum Hrs. 
Technical 

Practical 

SUBJECT 
 

MINIMUM 
REQUIRED 
TECHNICAL 
INSTRUCTION 
(HOURS) 

MINIMUM 
REQUIRED 
PRACTICAL 
OPERATIONS 
(ACTUAL 
OPERATIONS 
-NOT HOURS) 

1100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Dressing 

Hairstyling:  
The subject of Hairstyling shall include, but is not 
limited to, the following techniques and procedures: 
Hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, 
comb outs, straightening, waving, curling with hot 
combs and hot curling irons and blower styling. 

65 240 

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening:  
The subject of Permanent Waving and Chemical 
Straightening shall Include, but is not limited to, the 
following techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, 
acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical 
straightening including the use of sodium hydroxide 
and other base solutions. 

40 105 

Hair Coloring and Bleaching:  
The subject of Hair Coloring and Bleaching shall 
include, but is not limited to, the following 
techniques and procedures (including, the use of 
semi-permanent, demi-permanent and temporary 
colors: Hair analysis, predisposition and strand tests, 
safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, 
bleaching, high and low lights, and the use of dye 
removers. 

60 50 

Cutting Hair: 
The subject of Hair Cutting shall include, but is not 
limited to, the following techniques and procedures: 
Use of scissors, razor (shaper), electrical 
clippers/trimmers, and thinning (tapering) shears for 
wet and dry cutting. 

20 80 

200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety 
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Laws and Regulations: 
The subjects of Laws and Regulations shall include 
but is not limited to, the following issues: The 
Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Board's 
Rules and Regulations. 

20  

Health and Safety Considerations: 
The subject of Health and Safety shall include, but is 
not limited to, the following techniques and 
procedures: Cosmetology chemistry including the 
chemical composition and purpose of cosmetic, nail, 
hair and skin care preparations. Elementary chemical 
makeup, chemical skin peels and chemical and 
physical changes of matter. Hazardous substances 
including training in chemicals and health in 
establishments, protection from hazardous 
chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, 
ergonomics, theory of electricity in cosmetology, 
bacteriology. Communicable diseases. Including 
HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, and staph and Material Safety 
Data Sheets. 

45  

Disinfection and Sanitation: 
The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall 
include, but is not limited to the following techniques 
and procedures: Disinfection and sanitation 
including proper procedures to protect the health 
and safety of the consumer as well as the technician, 
proper disinfection procedures for equipment used 
in establishments. 
Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the 
entire training period and must be performed before 
use of all instruments and equipment. 

20  

Anatomy and Physiology: 
The subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall 
include, but is not limited to the following issues: 
Human Anatomy, Human Physiology. 

15  

200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Esthetics 

Electrical and Chemical Facials: 
The subject of manual, electrical and chemical facials 
shall include, but is not limited to the following 
techniques and procedures: Manual Facials including 
cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and 
masks. Electrical Facials include the use of electrical 
modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus, 

25 40 
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for facials and skin care purposes; however, 
machines capable of producing an electrical current 
shall not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or for 
the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body 
or face. Chemical Facials include chemical skin peels, 
packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize 
that only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial 
skin, known as the epidermis may be removed, and 
only for the purpose of beautification. All practical 
operations must be performed in accordance with 
Section 992 regarding skin peeling. 

Eyebrow Beautification and Make-up: 
The subject of Eyebrow Beautification shall include, 
but is not limited to, the following issues: eyebrow 
arching and hair removal, including the use of wax, 
tweezers, electric or manual, and depilatories for the 
removal of superfluous hair. 
The subject of makeup shall include, but is not 
limited to the following issues: skin analysis, 
complete and corrective makeup, the application of 
false eyelashes, and lash and brow tinting, if a 
product exists that is not disapproved, prohibited or 
banned by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 
the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, 
or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

25 30 

100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring 

Manicuring and Pedicuring: 
The subject of Manicuring and Pedicuring shall 
include, but are not limited to, the following issues: 
Water and oil manicure, including nail analysis, and 
hand/foot and arm/ankle massage. 

10 25 

Artificial Nails and Wraps: 
Artificial nails including acrylic: liquid and powder 
brush-on, artificial nail tips and nail wraps and 
repairs. 

25 120 Nails 

 
In addition to the above minimum requirements, clock hour requirements are met with 
performance of clinic floor practical operations, classes in communication skills, career 
development, professional ethics, decorum, human relations, compensation package, payroll 
deductions, record keeping, client service records, licensing requirements and regulations, 
additional training i.e. field trips and participation in beauty industry trade shows and events. 
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THEORY TRAINING / MINDTAP (e-book) 

Mindtap is an online training class which allows a student 24/7 access to their theory 
grades. All technical instruction, 370 hours based upon the above listed curriculum, will 
be attended via Zoom platform in Real-Time by the student with his/her 
computer/tablet camera on so that the instructor can see that the student is physically 
attending class online.  Supplemental theory activities and hours can be accumulated by 
logging into Milady MindTap platform and completing instructor-approved activities 
which supplement technical and practical instruction. 

Practical training will first be taught in-person, on campus; practicing learned skills is 
allowed online via Zoom platform during class hours under the supervision of the 
Instructor.   

All technical and practical assessments must be performed in-person on the Universal 
College of Beauty campus.  

A maximum amount of 750 clock hours can be accumulated online via Zoom platform 
and logging on to complete assigned MindTap activities.  

 
COSMETOLOGY PERNORMANCE OBJECTIVE 

1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating practices in California's Cosmetology 
establishments.2 

2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin 
and nails. 

3. Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to Cosmetology including anatomy, 
physiology, chemistry and theory. 

4. Acquire business management techniques common to Cosmetology. 
 
SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED 

1. Learn the proper use of implements relative to all Cosmetology services. 
2. Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face and hands prior to all services to 

determine any disorders. 
3. Will learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all Cosmetology services. 
4. Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of 

false strip eyelashes. 
5. Will learn the proper procedures of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and 

pedicuring. 
6. Will learn the application of brush-on nails, nail wraps and nail tips. 

 
 
DEVELOP THE FOLLOWING ATTITUDES AND PERSONAL TRAIT 

1. Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to Cosmetology. 
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2. Maintain a respectful and courteous attitude toward the public and co-workers. 
3. Strive toward enhancing traits of honesty and integrity. 

 
GRADING SCALE 
   

90-100%    A ..... Excellent 

80-89% B......... Above Average 

70-79% C ........ Average 

60-69% D ........ Unsatisfactory (Below Average) 

59% and below F ......... Fail 

 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: A student that has successfully completed a prescribed course of 
study will receive a diploma of completion if they have accomplished the following:  

1. Completed the number of hours required for the chosen course of study within the 
maximum time frame.  

2. Maintained a minimum academic average of 70% or better on both theory and practical 
work and 67% attendance.  

3. Completed all requirements as discussed with staff.  
4. Paid all financial obligations. 

 

Upon completion of all curriculum requirements, the student must pass a comprehensive 
Academic and Practical final exam which will be administered   on-campus to include any 
applicable competencies required by the State licensure agency prior to graduation from the 
program. All transcripts or other documents (official or unofficial) listing academic attainment 
received will identify the distance education components. 

 
LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed high 
school or its equivalent. A Cosmetology license will be granted by the Barbering and Cosmetology 
Program only after the student has successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetology 
course described above and passed the Barbering and Cosmetology Examination. (Ed. Code 
#94909(a)(6) 
 
EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES: 
Hairstylist, color technician, shampoo assistant, braiders, salon owners/managers and platform 
artist. 

 
 
DISTANCE EDUCATION POLICY – based on NACCAS and California Requirements 

1. Distance Education will not be utilized as a method of delivery of clinical instruction in 

which the student is to perform practical applications on a live model and/or client.  

2. The interaction with the instructor must be validated by regular measurable participation 

(clock hour based) in the academic programs. Participation must be documented within 

a log of all student activity comprised of (at a minimum) a record of regular and 

substantive interaction between student(s) and instructor(s).  
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3. A Distance Education Assessment, which is a portion of the Mock State Board Exam, the 

student performance must be conducted on-campus by a qualified Instructor at least 

once a month with respect to any distance education completed within the preceding 

month.  

4. Upon completion of all curriculum requirements, the student must pass a comprehensive 

Academic and Practical final exam (which shall be administered on-campus) to include 

any applicable competencies required by the State licensure agency prior to graduation 

from the program.  

5. All transcripts or other documents (official or unofficial) listing academic attainment 

received must identify the distance education component. 

6. Prior to enrollment, students are provided with a disclaimer that academic achievement 

earned via distance education may not be accepted for reciprocity or eligible for licensure 

in other states. A signed and dated copy of this disclosure must be found in the student 

file. 

7. Students must provide his/her computer/tablet and purchase Milady Mind Tap for 

Cosmetology in addition to the required textbook. 

8. Distance Learning at Universal College of Beauty will take place in Real Time via Zoom 

platform on computers/tablets. 

9. Attendance and interactions with Instructors during Zoom presentations will be validated 

by Instructors as clock hours and assigned Mind Tap activities. 

10. Student must have all kit and supplies available during in-person and online classes. 

11. All assessments that will be used for calculating a student’s grade must be completed 

while the student is physically on campus. 

12. Should the school be closed, due to city, county or state order, assessments will take place 

during Zoom lessons and student’s written tests will be completed on the MindTap 

platform which will be accessed by Instructors. Results will be given to each student 

within 5 school days, practical assessment will be performed during Zoom lessons and 

results will be emailed to each student within 5 school days. 

13. The student will participate in learning activities while physically present at least once 

every 5 school days for the length of a scheduled class day, 6 clock hours, as outlined in 

the enrollment agreement. 

 
 

 
 
KENNETH J. WILLIAMS – President / CEO 
JASMINE WILLAMS - Director 
Admissions - Aisha Miragna 
Financial Aid Officer - Aisha Miragna 
Placement - Kenneth J. Williams 

UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY ORGANIZATIONAL CHART 



 

Page | 42 

 

UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC 

 
 

EDUCATIONAL FACULTY QUALIFICATION LIST 

LEIMERT CAMPUS 

VERONICA 
RAMIREZ 

INSTRUCTOR DORIS MOSLEY INSTRUCTOR 

License 
Cosmetologist 

30 Years 
Licensed 

Cosmetologist 
19 Years 

Instructor 26 Years Instructor 18  Years 

 

JASMINE WILLIAMS SUBSTITUTE AISHA MIRAGNA SUBSTITUE  

License 
Cosmetologist 9 Years 

Licensed 
Cosmetologist 12 Years  

Instructor 8 Years Instructor 11 Years  

(Rev. 6/2022) 
 
 
FINANCIAL AID SECTION 
 

FINANCIAL AID - CONSUMER INFORMATION 
This institution participates in the Federal Pell Grant program (FPELL) and the Federal Supplemental 
Education Opportunity Grant Program (SEOG). NEITHER OF THESE PROGRAMS REQUIRES 
REPAYMENT. 
 
THIS INSTITUTION IS APPROVED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE FEDERAL LOAN PROGRAM, BUT HAS 
CHOSEN NOT TO DO SO. 
 
If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility 
to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund and that, if the 
student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the 
monies not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. 

 
Financial Aid Disclosures: 
In an effort to assist the student in making a more educated decision about enrolling, this institution 
provides the following disclosures pursuant to federal and state financial aid programs: 

• California State — Institutional Performance Fact Sheet 
• Federal Disclosures 

o Right-to-Know Act. 
o Gainful employment 
o Admissions Disclosure 
o Crime Statistics report and procedures — Cleary Act 
o Drug and alcohol abuse policy 
o FERPA (Release of Information Authorization) 
o Textbook disclosure 



 

Page | 43 

 

UNIVERSAL COLLEGE OF BEAUTY, INC 

o GED Classes availability 
o Voting information 

 
Financial Aid Mechanism 
Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces the out-of-pocket costs that the student and/or parents 
must pay to obtain a specific postsecondary education. Presented differently. Financial aid is money 
made available to help students meet the cost of college attendance. Financial aid includes grants 
and loans.  Financial aid is awarded to students who have need”.  Need is the difference between 
the amount of money that the family will be expected to contribute to meet student costs and the 
cost of education at this school. 

 
Compliance Statement 
The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of his/her 
social security number is MANDATORY. The social security number is used to verify students’ 
identities to process the awarding of funds, the collection of funds and the tracing of individuals 
who have borrowed funds from federal, state or private programs. 

 
The U.S. Department of Education Title IV Student Financial Aid Program: 
This institution is approved for and does participate in the following USDE Title IV programs, 
intended to defray the costs of attending for those students eligible for financial aid considerations: 

o Federal PELL Grant Program (FPELL) $6,095 maximum annual limit (Does not 
require repayment) 

o Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant Program (FSEOG) (Does not 
require repayment) 

 
STUDENT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
To be eligible for financial aid, a student must: 

• Be admitted as a regular student 
• Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible program on at least half time basis 
• Be a citizen or an eligible non-citizen 
• Not owe a refund on a Pell Grant or SEOG at any school 
• Not be in default on Perkins Loan or Stafford Loan/SLS/PLUS at any school 
• Have financial need 
• Make satisfactory progress (as defined by the school’s policy in the course of study) 
• Be registered for selective service (if a male is born on or after January 1, 1960) 
• Have a signed statement of updated information 
• Have a high school diploma, GED, or have demonstrated the ability-to-benefit 
• Agree to use any federal student aid received solely for educational purposes 
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FINANCIAL AID PRINCIPLES 
1. This institution will work with schools, community groups, and other educational 

institutions in support of the national goal of equality of educational opportunities. 
2. This institution expects parents to contribute financially according to their means. 

Students are also expected to contribute from their own earnings and assets, including 
borrowing against future earnings. 

3. Financial aid will be offered after determining whether the family’s resources are 
insufficient to meet the student's educational expenses. The amount of financial aid will 
not exceed the amount needed to meet the difference between the student’s total 
educational expenses and family’s resources. 

4. In awarding funds to eligible students, the amount and type of self-help will be related the 
circumstances of the student and the highest amount of grant assistance will be offered to 
students with the least ability to pay. 

 
This institution does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, creed, color, nationality, sex, 
ethnic origin or age in their admission policies or in access to employment or administration of their 
programs. 
 
APPLICATION PROCEDURES 
Financial Aid applications for this institution consist of the following: 
Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Forms and assistance in completing them are 
available at this institution during school hours. This form needs to be completed as instructed on 
the form. Documentation to substantiate the date entered on the form may be required by the 
Financial Aid Office. In addition to the FAFSA, the institution requires a series of forms that apply to 
the individual student aid program and to the student’s individual family circumstances. 
 
Federal PELL Grant Program 
Funds received under this program ARE NOT subject to repayment from the student. 
 
DEADLINE: FAFSA applications must be received by June 30 of the award year, for which the 
application is intended for. SAR or ISIR must be submitted to the financial aid office by September 
29 of the award year from which aid is requested, or the student’s last day of enrollment in 2019-
2020 whichever comes first. A valid ISIR required signatures of student, spouse and/or parents, 
when the ISIR has been corrected 
RENEWAL PROCESS: A FPELL Grant award received for one award year, (July 1 to June 30 of the 
following year) is not automatically renewed for the next award year. Student’s must re-apply for 
the FPELL Grant and submit a copy of the new SAR or ISIR to the Financial Aid office.  
MAXIMUM ANNUAL AWARD: $6,095. 
DISBURSEMENT/ISSUANCE Made on the basis of per payment period via a check payable to the 
student and direct credit to the student's tuition account. 
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Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) 
Funds received under this program ARE NOT subject to repayment from the student DEADLINE: 
Made on the basis of per payment period via a check to the student or via the students tuition 
account. Priority for FSEOG funds will be given to those students with the lowest expected family 
contribution who will receive FPELL Grants. Because of this institution's policy of year round 
enrollment, funds will be allocated on a first-come, first serve basis for those individuals meeting 
this criteria. Professional judgment may be used for certain exceptions based on extenuating 
circumstances with appropriate documentation. Please refer to FSEOG the following selection 
criteria: 
The institutional participation in the FSEOG is limited to the amount of funds given to the institution 
for an entire award year (July 1 to June 30). Since the funds are limited it is practically impossible to 
award FESOG to all students who apply for aid. Therefore, the institutional policy to select FSEOG 
recipients is as follows: 

1. Students are selected from a group of students starting in school on the same starting date. 
This institution has a continuing enrollment process in which students may start school each 
TUESDAY of each month, subject to change depending on the school's schedule. In order to 
ensure a fair distribution of funds throughout the entire aware year, the institution will 
make SEOG awards using data from the year preceding the current year. 

2. As of July I, 2000, the first selection of SEOG recipients will be made from student's with 
“exceptional need", which are defined as student's that have an Expected Family 
Contributed (EPC) of zero and that would otherwise be eligible for the FPELL Grant Program 
during the same year. 

3. If enrollment figures change, and/or additional funds become available to the institution, a 
second selection will be made from those students’ eligible for the FPELL Grant Program 
with lowest Expected Family Contribution that enrolled during the last quarter of the award 
year. 

All of the selections will be made from student's whose file has been completed with no issued 
pending regarding the student's eligibility for Federal Aid. Incomplete files will not be considered in 
the selection criteria due to possible lack of documentation. Awards will be made as long as funds 
are available throughout the award year. 
 
Determining Need: 
The information student reports on the FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) when 
applying for aid, is used in a formula established by U.S. Congress which calculates the students' 
Expected Family Contribution (EFC). This institution utilizes the FAFSA for students applying for aid. 
This form will be processed by a contractor of the U.S. Department of Education at no cost to the 
student. The results will be provided in the form of an Electronic Student Aid Report (SAR) with the 
calculation of the EFC. 
 
Cost of Attendance: 
This institution uses the annual budgets published by the CALIFORNIA STUDENT AID COMMISSION. 
They estimate the amount it will cost a student to go to school during an academic year of 
approximately 9 months as stated below: 

Elements included in the budget Tuition Actual cost 
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Registration Fee Actual cost $175 

Books & Supplies Actual cost $1250 

Living cost allowance (monthly figures) Student living 

 With Parents Off Campus 

Room and Board $4,347 $ I 0,063 

Transportation 1,071 1,206 

Personal/misc. 3,114 2,853 

(The cost of uniforms are included in the personal allowance) 

 
Award Concept, Selection of Recipients & Packing Criteria: 

 
The institution does not receive enough Campus-Based funds to satisfy all of the student financial 
needs. Therefore, the school emphasizes the SELF-HELP CONCEPT of student financial assistance. 
The SELF-HELP CONCEPT is on a first-come, first served basis when awarding eligible applicants. The 
SELF-HELP CONCEPT lists types of financial assistance in the following order: 

1. Family contribution 
2. Other resources 
3. Federal Pell Grant 

The institution awards from the Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grants in accordance 
with the following policy: The institution participation in the FSEOG is limited to the amount of 
funds given to the institution for an entire award year (July 1 to June 30). 
Due to limited amount of funds available to the institute, it is literally impossible to award FSEOG 
to all students applying for aid. Therefore, the institutional policy to select FSEOG recipients is as 
follows: 
This institution has a continuing enrollment process in which students may start each Tuesday of 
each month (subject to change depending on schedule of the institution.) In order to ensure a fair 
distribution of funds through the entire award year, the institution will make SEOG awards using 
data from the year presiding the current year by using student enrollment, EFC and Pell Grant date 
to determine how to distribute the SEOG funds available. 
Based on last year's date, the institution expects an enrollment of 70 new students meeting the 
“exceptional need" criteria to be enrolled during the 7/01/18 to 6/30/19 period. Therefore, the 
awards to those students will be $200.00 through the entire period. As of July 2, 2019, the first 
selection of SEOG recipients will be made from students with “exceptional need". Students with 
“exceptional need" are defined by this institution as student that have an expected family 
contribution (EFC) of zero (00000) that will otherwise be eligible for the FPELL Grant Program during 
the same award year. If enrollment figures change, and/or additional funds become available to the 
institution, a second selection will be made from those students ineligible for FPELL Grant Program 
with lowest EFC that enrolled during the last quarter of the award year (March-June). 
 
Both selections will be made from students, whose file has been completed, with no issues pending 
regarding the student's eligibility for Federal Aid. Incomplete files will not be considered in the 
selection criteria due to possible lack of documentation. Awards will be made long as funds are 
available throughout the award year. 
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DEFINITIONS: The following definitions correspond to some common terms used within the 
financial aid terminology. 
 
ACADEMIC YEAR: A period of not less than 26/30 weeks of instructional time with a minimum of 
900 clock hours of instruction for a full time student. The midpoint of the academic year shall be a 
minimum of 13/15 weeks and at least 450 clock hours. In effect all students enrolled in courses with 
an academic year scheduled to be completed in less than 26/30 weeks, regardless of the number 
of clock hours would have aid eligibility reduced in proportion to the number of weeks and hours 
in the course of study in relation to the academic year. 
 
CLOCK HOUR: A period of 50 to 60 minutes of supervised instruction during a 60 minute period 
COST OF ATTENDANCE: Institutional charges for tuition, fee, books and supplies in addition to an 
estimated cost to the student for living allowances as room, board, transportation and personal 
combined compose the cost of attendance for an academic year or less as the cost of attendance 
or educational budget. 
 
CREDIT BALANCE: A credit balance occurs when tuition payments using Title IV funds have been 
received by the institution in excess of the amount of charges assessed to the student. Credit 
balances are paid within 14 business days from the day the credit balance was generated. Students 
must be responsible for budgeting their own funds and for securing that the funds are used for 
education related expenses. FSA regulations refer to the amount of aid that exceeds the allowable 
charges as a credit balance. 
 
DEPENDENT STUDENT: She/he is an individual that does not meet the independent student criteria. 
This student is required to submit with his/her, student and parent's income an application, student 
and parent's income and assets information. Parent information relates to the parent that provides 
the majority of the student support when parents are separated or divorced. 
 
DEPENDENT: He/she is an individual other than the spouse that has been supported and will 
continue to be supported (50% or more of the individual personal expenses) by the student and/or 
spouse. If that individual is and will continue to be supported by the student's parent(s), that 
individual would be a dependent of the parent (s) NOT a dependent of the student. 
EXPECTED FAMILY CONTRJBUTION (EFC) is the application of the U.S. Congressional formula to the 
student's family income and assets entered in the FAFSA and used as the calculated amount that a 
family is expected to contribute to offset the student cost of attendance. 
 
FINANCIAL AID ELIGIBILITY CITIZEN/NON CITIZEN: The student must be one of the following to 
receive Federal Student Aid: 

1. U.S. Citizen 
2. U.S. National 
3. U.S. permanent resident who has an 1-151 or 1-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card- Green 

Card) 
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4. Departure Record (l-94) from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing 
one of the following designations: 

5. Refugee 
6. Asylum Granted 
7. Parole for a minimum of one year that has not expired 
8. T-Visa holder (T-1, T-2, T-3 etc) 
9. Cuban-Haitian entrant, Status Pending 
10. Holder of a valid certification or eligibility letters from the Department of Human Services 

showing a designation of "Victim of Human Trafficking". 
 
IF YOU ARE IN THE U.S. UNDER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS, YOU ARE NOT EILGIBLE FOR 
FEDERAL AID: 

1. FI or F2 student visa 
2. JI or J2 exchange visitor visa 
3. G series visa ( pertaining to international organizations) 

DEPENDENT STUDENT: An individual who meets one of the following criteria: 
1. Were you born before January I, 1995 
2. As of today, were you married? 
3. As of July l, 2019 will you be graduate or professional student? 
4. Is currently serving on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces 
5. Are you a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces? 
6. Do you have children whom you support? 
7. Do you have dependents (other than your children or spouse)? 
8. Parents Deceased/Student Ward of Court? In Foster Care? 
9. Emancipated Minor 
10. In Legal Guardianship? 
11. Student homeless or at risk of being Homeless 
12. Student an Unaccompanied Homeless Youth as Determined by High School/Homeless 

liaison 
13. Student an Unaccompanied Homeless Youth as determined by HUD? 
14. Student an Unaccompanied Homeless Youth as Determined by Director of Homeless Youth 

Center 
 
PARENT(S): For the purpose of the financial aid programs, a “parent" is mother and/or father or 
adoptive parents, stepparent or legal guardian - not foster parents. 
 
PAYMENT PERIOD: 450 hours and 13 weeks for courses of 900 hours and 26 instructional weeks or 
more. It is the midpoint of the program for courses of less than 900 hours and 26 weeks. 
 
NEED: Financial need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution 
from your cost of attendance. 
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WITHDRAWALS: Students are officially withdrawn on date of notification, date terminated by the 
institution, date of three consecutive weeks of absences or date when the student failed to return 
from an approved leave of absence. 
 
RECOVERIES 
Recoveries resulting from unearned Title IV funds are due from the student and must be paid in 
accordance to the terms stated in the promissory note of the student loans. If funds from the grans 
programs still due from the student, those funds are payable at the rate of 50%. Grant funds due 
from the student must be repaid within 45 days from the student's withdrawal date. Students may 
make repayment arrangements with the U.S. Department of Education within the 45 days and 
present proof of such arrangements to the institution. If no repayment is received nor 
arrangements are presented, the institution will refer the debt to the U.S. Department of Education. 
The student will no longer be eligible for aid until I informed by the U.S. Department of Education. 
 
REFUNDS 
If any refunds are due based on the Return of Title IV calculation or the institutional refund policy 
calculation, any refunds will be made as soon as possible but not later than 45 days from the 
determination of withdrawal dare in the order stated in section CFR34 section 668.2 2. The order 
of refunds is:  
(1) Unsubsidized Loans from FFELP or Direct Loan,  
(2) Subsidized Loans from FFELP or Direct Loan,  
(3) Perkins Loans  
(4) PLUS (Graduate Students) FFELP or Direct Loans,  
(5) PLUS (Parent) FFELP or Direct Loan,  
(6) Pell Grant,  
(7) Academic Competitiveness Grant (ACG) 
(8) National SMART Grant 
(9) Federal SEOG. This order would apply in accordance to the aid programs available at the 
institution. 
 
If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility 
to repay the full amount of loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and if the student has 
received student federal aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid from 
federal student financial aid program funds. 
 
TRANSNER STUDENT (FINANCIAL AID TRANSCR1PT REQUIRED): 
A student, who attended a Post-secondary institution before enrollment at this institution, is 
required to provide a Financial Aid history from each of the institutions attended within the last six 
months before the enrollment at this institution. If a financial aid history is required, no aid may be 
advanced from the loan proceeds. Aid from other programs may be advanced to cover the first 
payment period. No additional will be available to the student until all Financial Aid history are 
received by this institution. 
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STUDENT TRANSNER REQUESTS: 
When a student requests a transfer to another school, the institution will prepare all of the 
academic and financial documentation requested by the student FOR A CHARGE NOT TO EXCEED 
$15. 
 
VERICIFATION PROCESS: 
Federal regulations 34 C.F.R., Part 668, Subpart E, and dated March 14, 1986 executing legislation 
20 U.S.C. I 094 governing Title IV programs require schools to verify applicant reported data. These 
regulations require schools to develop written policies for verification. The school is required to 
make these policies available to all applicants for financial aid, as well as prospective students upon 
request. This procedure is part of the Admissions and Counselling process. 
To follow the regulations and achieve consistency governing this process, the following verification 
policies apply to all applicants for Title IV programs. Under the regulations, the school will not 
disburse FPELL or Campus-Based aid nor certify Stafford/PLUS loan applications, until completion 
of the verification process. 
 
WHO MUST BE VERIFIED: The policy of this school is to verify those students by CPS (USDE 
contractor processing the FAFSA and calculating the EFC) as shown in the ISIR or SAR comment 
section indicated with an (*) next to the EFC. The institution's Financial Aid Office (FAO) may opt to 
select an applicant for verification even though it is not selected by CPS. 
 
VERIFICATION EXCLUSIONS: Applicants excluded from verification include: 

• Death of the student 
• Not an aid recipient 
• Applicant verified by another institution. Student's FAFSA data must be the same as it was 

at the previous institution, and the prior institution must provide a letter to this institution 
stating that it verified student's application and providing the same transaction number of 
the pertinent valid ISIR. 

• Post enrollment. If student was selected for verification after ceasing to be enrolled at this 
institution and all (including late) disbursements were made. 

 
REQUIRED VERIFICATION ITEMS: Different data items apply to different applicants depending upon 
student dependency status and the Title IV programs used. Data items include: 
 
For all applicants: 

• Household size 
• Number in college 
• Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP, formerly food stamps) 
• Child support paid For non-tax filers 
• Income earned from work For tax filers 
• Adjusted gross income (AGI) 
• US income tax paid 
• Education credits 
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• Untaxed IRA distributions 
• Untaxed pensions 
• IRA deductions 
• Tax exempt interest 

 
 
DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED: 
AGI, taxes paid and other tax data 
 
The Department encourages students and parents to use the IRS Data Retrieval process to import 
date from their tax return and not change it. It is the fastest, easiest, and most secure method of 
meeting verification requirements. 
 
For the retrieved data to be acceptable documentation of tax data, it is necessary that neither 
students nor parents change the data after it is transferred from the IRS - if the data is changed, the 
student/parent will need to provide other documentation as explained below. 
If students cannot or will not use IRS Data Retrieval, either at initial FAFSA filing or through the 
FOTW correction process, they must document AGI, taxes paid and untaxed income by providing 
an IRS tax return transcript. 
 
There are a few ways to request a tax transcript online at www.irs.gov by calling 1 -800-908- 9946 or 
by mailing or faxing the paper form 4506T-EZ which can be printed out from the IRS website. 
 
Students or parents who file an amended return cannot use the IRS Retrieval process. Instead they 
must request a tax return transcript, but because that document only contains the information on 
the original return they must also request a tax account transcript, which contains only the data 
that was altered. Both documents together can then be used to complete verification. If the tax 
filer chooses to order them on paper, they must use IRS form 4506T rather than Form 4506T-EZ. 
 
Also students and parents are required to complete and sign the verification worksheets developed 
by the Department which serve as signed statements and as verification of household size, number 
in college, receipt of SNAP benefits, child support paid, and income earned from work for non-tax 
filers. There are two distinctive verification forms. One is for independent students where student 
and spouse (if applicable) data is required. The second form is for dependent students where 
student and parental data is required. 

 
Household size: 
To document the household size (see instructions on FAFSA questions 72 and 93), the student needs 
to provide a statement signed by them and, if dependent, at least one parent that gives the name, 
age, and relationship to the student of each person in the household. If the student completed the 
Department’s verification worksheet, no further documentation for this item is required. 

 
Number in college: 

http://www.irs.gov,/
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Student can document this item (see instructions on FAFSA questions 73 and 94) with a statement 
signed by the student (and if they are dependent, at least one parent) that gives the name and age 
of each person in the household who is enrolled at least half time in an eligible college (excluding 
the parents of dependent students). The statement must also give the name of each college, and it 
can be written to document household size as well. Completion of the Department’s sample 
verification worksheet will satisfy the requirements for both items. 

 
SNAP Benefits (food stamps) 
IF the ISIR indicated that someone in the parents or students’ household received SNAP benefits, 
the student must provide signed statement indicating receipt of the benefit. A completed 
verification worksheet from the Department does this. The institutional FAO at their option may 
require the student to show documentation to satisfy this requirement. 

 
 
Child support paid: 
If the ISIR indicated that the student or parent paid child support the student will need to provide 
a statement signed by the student, or, if they are dependent, either parent and giving the annual 
amount of the support, the names of those who paid it and whom it was paid to and the name(s) 
of the child(ren) it was paid for. A completed verification worksheet accomplishes this. 

 
TIME PERIOD FOR PROVIDING DOCUMENTATION: 
Applicants must provide the required documentation to the School’s financial aid office within 90 
days from the ISIR processing date. 
 
APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES: To be able to receive Title lV funds we require applicants to provide 
requested information during the time period(s) specified in these policies. 
 
Applicants must certify that the following data items are correct as listed on the original application; 
of if not correct, must update the data items, as of the date of verification: 

• Number of family members in the household 
• Number of family members in the household now enrolled as at least halt-time students 

on postsecondary institutions 
• Change in dependency status 

Federal aid applicants of any Federal Student Aid program, whose dependency status changes 
during the Award Year must file a correction application. This process does not apply is the change 
occurs due to marriage. However, if the institutional FAO determines that an update due to 
marriage is required to better represent the student’s ability to pay for college, the data must be 
updated changing all applicable elements on the FAFSA. 
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CONSEQUENCES OF FAILULRE TO PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION WITHIN THE 
SPECIFIED TIME PERIOD(S): 

If the student cannot provide all required documentation within 90 days from the ISIR processed 
date, the school cannot complete the verification process. The school would advise the applicants 
via regular mail or by email that the student is no longer eligible for the preliminary financial aid 
awards offered to the student. The school then gives the applicants the following options: 

• The student may continue training on a cash payment basis 
• The student may withdraw, or 
• The student may make other financial arrangements to cover the school cost. 

 
INTERIM DISBURSEMENTS: 
The school may not make any interim disbursements. The Student must complete verification 
before disbursement of any Title IV funds. 
 
TOLERANCES: Any discrepancy greater than $25,000 MUST be resolved. 
 
NOTIFICATION OF RESULTS OF VERIFICATION: The school shall notify the applicant of the results 
of the verification process within 30 days of the student's submission. The notification will take 
place using a new, if changed, award letter stating the awards by aid program amounts and 
expected disbursement dates. On this document the student and the parent has an opportunity to 
cancel all or part of the award from any loan program. 
 
REFERRAL PROCEDURE: The school shall forward the U.S. Secretary of Education, a referral of 
discovered fraud cases. 
 
EXTERNSHIP POLICY: Students enrolled in this institution may, upon completion of a minimum of 
60% of the clock hours required for graduation in the course, work as an unpaid extern in a 
cosmetology establishment participating in the educational program of the institution. 

 
 
 

UPDATES (REV. 8/2022) 
 
STRF 
*STRF will be charged in addition to the above prices at $2.50 per $1,000 of all fees and rounded 
downward/upward to the nearest thousand. NOTE: STRF is non-refundable. 76215. Student 
Tuition Recovery Fund Disclosures.  
 
The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate 
economic losses suffered by students in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who 
is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the 
enrolled in the institution prepaid tuition, and suffered and economic loss. Unless relieved of the 
obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid 
on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or 
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are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. You are not eligible 
for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not 
a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.  
 
To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, 
prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic 
loss as a result of any of the following: 1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an 
educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not 
choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen 
teach-out plan approved by the Bureau. 2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the 
institution within the 120-day period before the closure of the institution, or location of the 
institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the 
program was discontinued. 3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution 
more than 120 days before the closure of the institution, or location of the institution, in an 
educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was 
significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure. 4. 
The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so. 5. The 
institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds, under a federal student loan program 
as required by law or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess 
of tuition and other costs. 6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary 
award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or 
representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution. 
7. You have sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student 
loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student 
loan or loans.  
 
To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from 
the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. A student 
whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-collection may, at 
any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would otherwise be 
eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made 
the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the 
original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law. However, 
no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or taxpayer identification 
number. It is important that you keep copies of the enrollment agreement, financial aid papers, 
receipts or any other information that documents the monies paid to the school.  
 
Questions regarding STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at: 
Physical Address – 1747 N Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 Mailing Address – PO 
Box 980818 West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 Phone (888) 370-7589/(916) 574-8900 Fax (916) 
263-1897 Website: www.bppe.ca.gov. 
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RETEST / MAKE-UP POLICY 
 
A student has 10 days to make up an exam in order to receive a higher score. If a student missed 
an exam, they must request an exam date within 3 days with their Instructor. All chapter exams 
must be completed before completing their course.  


