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A LETTER FROM OUR DIRECTOR

Dear Student,

Welcome to American Beauty College (referred to as ABC, for most of this catalog) and thank you for
selecting ABC to help you in obtaining your desired professional goals. You are now entering a training
that will give you the education and the opportunity for a successful future in the beauty or barbering
industries.

At American Beauty College, a private institution, we assist students with the basic training necessary to pass
the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology examination. We place emphasis on how to be successful
using the theory and practical applications you learned at the school to earn a professional license. This means
hard work and dedication on your part. You will practice business management, business concepts, and the
psychology of personal success, along with all of the prescribed requirements set forth by the California State
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. American Beauty College is approved to operate by the Bureau for
Private Post Secondary Education. Additionally, American Beauty College is fully accredited by the National
Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS).

It is a pleasure to have you join us at American Beauty College. The goal of the staff at ABC is to help you
discover all the talents you possess. We hope that with your training at ABC and subsequent licensure, you
will have the ability to transform your life and the lives of those you care about. The degree of your
success will depend upon the effort you are willing to apply during the entire course of your training and
the amount of preparation time you allow for the state board examination.

I certify that all contents of this catalog are current, true and correct to the best of my

knowledge.

Sincerely,

Juana Roman

Owner



Approval Disclosure Statement

We are a private post-secondary Institution. The (BPPE) Bureau’s approval means compliance with state
standards as set forth in the CEC and 5, CCR.

The California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology has approved the following courses offered by ABC:
The Bureau of Private Post-Secondary Education has approved the following course offered by ABC:

Course: Program.Length. Number of Clock Hours: | Clock Hours required by State
(approximate)
Cosmetology 31-52 weeks 1000 Clock Hours 1000 Clock Hours
Barber 31-52 weeks 1000 Clock Hours 1000 Clock Hours
Teacher Trainee 20-30 weeks 600 Clock Hours 600 Clock Hours
Manicuring 13-26 weeks 400 Clock Hours 400 Clock Hours
Esthetics 18-20 weeks 600 Clock Hours 600 Clock Hours

Instruction is provided within a 8,000 square foot facility. Prospective enrollments are required to visit the physical
facilities of the school and to discuss personal, educational and occupational plans with school personnel before enrolling,
attending class or signing enrollment agreements. ABC participates in some Title IV Programs to assist student to meet
educational expenses. For information on those programs, see the financial aid section of this catalog.

The following agencies set minimum standards for our program of studies in accordance with their
individual requirements:

The State of California Department Consumer Affairs- Board of Barbering and Cosmetology provides
licenses to graduates upon successful passing the Board’s examinations.

California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology: P.O. Box 944226, Sacramento, CA 94244- Ph. (800)952-
5210 Fax (916)575-7281- Website: www.barbercosmo.ca.gov

ABC is recognized by the Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education (BPPE) as an eligible institution for Adult
Education.

BPPE: P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798 - Ph. (916)431-6959 Fax (916) 263-1897- Website: www.bppe.ca.gov

ABC is nationally accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Careers Arts and Sciences. (NACCAS)

NACCAS: 3015 Colvin St. Alexandria, Virginia 22314- Ph. (703) 600-7600 Fax (703) 379-

220 Website: www.naccas.org.

ABC is recognized by the United States Department of Education (USDE) as an eligible institution to participate
in the Federal PELL Grant Program, Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant and the William D. Ford
Federal Direct Loan Program.

ABC has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other school.

Mission Statement and Educational Objectives

At American Beauty College (ABC), our mission and prime objective is to offer our students the training
knowledge and skills necessary to pass the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology examination required for
a state license. Our vocational objective is to train and produce knowledgeable graduates able to seek and find entry-level
employment in the beauty industry.

Accreditation
American Beauty College is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences, Inc.;
The National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS) is recognized by the United
States Department of Education as a national accrediting agency for post-secondary schools and departments of
cosmetology arts and sciences, and massage therapy. NACCAS may be reached at 3015 Colvin Street, Alexandria, VA
22314. Ph. (703) 600-7600 Fax. (703)379-2200 - Website: www.naccas.org

Administration Business Hours and Clinic Hours

The school administrative office is open for business Tuesday — Friday 10:00AM - 6:00PM. For issues related to
admissions, academics, financial aid, accounting, and placement, please make an appointment or visit the offices within their
business hours. The administrative office may be reached at 652 S. Sunset Ave. West Covina, CA 91790 Ph. (626)472-7402
Fax (626)472-7495.

Student Salon Hours: Wednesdays & Fridays 10:30AM — 9:00PM(Last client is at 9:00 PM) Hair- color/Chemical
services are by appointment only.


http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/
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Admissions Policy
The school does not discriminate in its employment, admission, instruction, or graduation policies on the basis of sex, age, race, color, religion,

or ethnic origin nor does it recruit students already attending or admitted to another school offering similar programs of study. The school
requires that each student enrolling:

A. Provide proof of secondary education such as a high school diploma, a GED certificate, an official transcript showing secondary
school completion, California State Proficiency Test (High School Diploma equivalent) or a state certification of home-school
completion. Should an enrolling student provide a foreign high school diploma, the institution will work with the student to
obtain an English translation of the document along with confirmation that the education received is equivalent to a U.S. high
school diploma. This documentation must come from an outside agency.

B. ATB Students (Ability-to-benefit students) may be accepted ONLY if they apply for Financial Aid and were studying at a
Vocational Career College, Community College or University that accepted ATB Students; the student must have PASSED an
ATB Test, before the deadline date of June 30,2012. ATB testing may be allowed to NON FINANCIAL AID students.

C. Have a valid Social security card (tax identification number),be a California resident, be either a U.S. Citizen or Permanent
Resident, and provide proof of income for Financial Aid/Title IV Applicants.

D. Teacher Trainee applicants must have a valid license before being admitted into the program.

Transfer Hours and Experiential Learning Credit

College officials will grant appropriate transfer hours for prior training upon review, and verification of validity under
the Cosmetology Rules, Acts & Regulations by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.
American Beauty College does not allow award of clock hours for prior experiential learning. Occasionally, student’s acceptance
by the college will depend entirely on the evaluation conducted by the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.
Before enrolling, it is the student’s responsibility to obtain the state’s evaluation. There is a possibility that no such transfer hours
will be granted.

Freshman Class: The freshman curriculum for each of the course requires a specific number of hours of classroom lectures,
demonstrations and student practice. The freshman class teaches and introduces the basics of those areas that the student will need
to know to pass the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology examination. From this initial introduction, the student
will learn the entire fundamental basics of his/her future career. The minimum hours spent in the freshman class are approximately
250 hours for the cosmetology and barber course, 50 hours for the Manicuring course and varying hours for Teacher Trainee. ABC
considers the freshman classes to be the foundation for the students learning process.

Re- Entry Policy
All students who withdraw in good standing may re-enter into the course of study without the loss of credit for prior hours

and operations earned during the prior enrollment. If the student transferred to another institution and then returned to ABC, those
hours and operations earned (pending review and validation) at that institution would also be credited to the student for the new re-
enrollment. A re-entry, re-enrollment fee of $100.00 will be charged and the student will start at the new contract hourly rate. This
fee is due in full before the student can attend classes and receive educational hours. Each re- entry is treated on an individual basis.
At the discretion of ABC’s Management, they reserve the right to refuse re-entry to a prior student that has withdrawn or
been removed from the school. Student’s accepted for re-entering into the program of study will be placed under the same
satisfactory progress status prevailing at the time of the prior withdrawal.

Facilities-WEST COVINA CAMPUS

ABC location is located in a spacious 2 Story 8,000 sq ft, air conditioned building with many benefits for our staff and students. Our
facility simulates salon and barber shop conditions to help our students learn by hands on applications/procedures, with modern
equipment, and a variety of supplies that help enhance the students’ product knowledge.

Facilities-PALMDALE CAMPUS

ABC location is located in spacious 10,000 + sq ft, air conditioned building with many benefits for our staff and students. Our facility
simulates salon and barber shop conditions to help our students learn by hands on applications/procedures, with modern equipment, and a
variety of supplies that help enhance the students’ product knowledge.

School Library
The reference library, which consists of appropriate texts and reference books to assist students and staff in each program of study, is

located on each campus. Additional exam reviews and practice guides are available along with audio visual aids upon request to be
checked out. Students and staff can check out any of these books and reference materials while in school and to be returned to the
school when not needed. They are accessible to students at any time upon proper request. Additionally students and instructors have
unlimited access online which consists of all related learning material.

History and Ownership
ABC has been an operational business in the City of Bellflower since its establishment in 1957. As of November 2009, the

school moved to 646 S. Sunset Ave, West Covina, CA. 91790. Additional school space was acquired in 2017 at 652

S. Sunset Ave. West Covina, CA 91790. A second Campus was opened in 2018 at 641 W. Palmdale Blvd. Palmdale, CA 93551. The
Palmdale Location has been operational since August 2018.

The corporation and current owners are: CERT Institute of Cosmetology, LLC DBA American Beauty College, since August 2005.
Juana Roman as a sole owner for CERT Institute of Cosmetology, LLC. She possesses a valid California Cosmetology license,
Designated Subjects Teaching Credentials, and numerous certificates and awards.

Orientation Class
New Student Orientation takes place every 4 weeks, before the appropriate Tuesday start date. Orientation is held prior to any

class starting.



ABC does not recruit students already attending or admitted to another school offering similar program(s) of study.

Class Schedule
Day class hours are Tuesday-Friday 8:30am to 5:00pm (full time/8 hour per day program).
Evening classes are held from Tuesday-Friday 5:30pm to 10:30pm (part time /5 hours per day
program). ABC may be opened on weekends in order for students to make up any additional
necessary hours.
Starting dates for enrollment are: Every 4 weeks.Enrollment dates are subject to change however each student must attend
A New Student Orientation held prior to the students first day of class.

The College is closed for the following holidays 2023: New Year’s Day (01/01), Martin Luther King Day (01/16),
Presidents Day (02/20), Good Friday (04/07) Memorial Day (05/29), Independence Day (07/04), Labor Day (09/04),
Halloween (10/31),Thanksgiving (11/23-11/27), &Winter Break (12/19/2023 - 1/1/2024). Classes Resume on
01/02/2024.

The College is closed for the following holidays 2024: New Year’s Day (01/01), Martin Luther King Day (01/15),
Presidents Day (02/19), Good Friday (04/07) Memorial Day (05/29), Juneteenth (06/19/2024) Independence Day
(07/04-07/05), Labor Day (09/02), Halloween (10/31),Thanksgiving (11/25-11/30), &Winter Break (12/21/2024 -
01/06/2025). Classes Resume on 01/07/2025.

round holldazs Holtdazs of all rellglous bellets are resgected and allowed A

Handicapped (Wheelchair Access)

Access for handicapped students to the intuitions facilities is available. The institution does not offer special
facilities beyond what the city ordinance mandate or any other offering of special programs for the handicapped.

Health and Physical Considerations
Generally a professional in the beauty field must be in good physical health since he/she will be working in direct

contact with patrons. In most aspects of the beauty field, there is a great deal of standing, walking, pushing, bending, and
stretching for extended periods of time. A person must consider his/her physical limitation in terms of making a career
choice that involves extensive physical demands. We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitation or
disabilities if these students (their parents or physicians) believe they can fulfill the training demands.

School Promotions and Fee Waiver Policy
When applicable, ABC has an institutional promotion (scholarship) program that may or could be awarded

based on set criteria upon completion of the program.*(set criteria usually has an expiration deadline). ABC does not
offer a fee waiver.

S f Non-Discriminati

ABC does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, financial status, age, ethnic
origin, or residence in its admissions, staffing, instruction, and/or graduation policies.

Statement of Bankruptcy disclosure

ABC does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, or operating as a debtor in possession; we have not filed
a petition within the preceding five years, or has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five
years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S. C. Sec. 1101 e

seq.).

Grievance Policy
In the event a student has a grievance which cannot be resolved to his/her satisfaction with the student’s

immediate instructor, lead instructor, or director, the student is to make his/her grievance know to the Institution’s
Owner, Juana Roman, at 652 S. Sunset Ave, West Covina, CA 91790 (626)472-7402. All grievances must be presented
in writing. The school will conduct an investigation of the complaint and provide a corresponding written response
within 30 days. If the matter is not resolved to satisfaction, or if the student wishes to submit a direct Grievance, a
student may contact one of the agencies listed below:

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology: P.O. Box 944226, Sacramento, CA 94244- Ph. (800)952-5210 Fax (916)575-
7281 Website: www.barbercosmo.ca.gov
BPPE: P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798 - Ph. (916)431-6959 Fax (916) 263-1897- Website: www.bppe.ca.gov

NACCAS: 3015 Colvin Street., Alexandria, Virginia 22314- Ph. (703) 600-7600 Fax (703) 379-220- Website:
WWWw.naccas.org


http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.naccas.org/

Age Discrimination Grievance procedure and Policy can be found at: https://americanbeautycollege.edu/wp-
content/uploads/2023/09/09-19-2405-Age-Discrimination-Greivance-FINAL-2023.pdf

Campus Security and Title IX Policy can be found at: https://americanbeautycollege.edu/wp-
content/uploads/2022/04/2021-Campus-Safety-and-Title-IX-policy-10.01.2021-1.pdf

Student Services

Career Advising: The school advises students individually as often as necessary. Advising takes place such as monitoring
a student progress as scheduled for the period of enrollment. Salon owners and stylist are invited to the school regularly to
give demonstration and discuss career goals with the students. This activity supplements the daily advising carried out by
the instructors and director.

Placement: ABC does not guarantee placement to any student. However, limited job placement assistance is provided to
graduates at no additional charge. Upon graduation, the student’s name is recorded in a graduate/placement registrar via in-
house binder/log and email for the follow-up process. Results from the California State Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology license examination are recorded as passed or failed. Students that failed the exam are encouraged to return to
ABC for assistance and guidance for subsequent attempts to pass the exam at no additionalcharge.

Drug Abuse Prevention Advisement: The College makes the following information available to its students, staff, and
instructors. Any individual associated with ABC who is seeking information, counseling, or assistance concerning drug abuse
prevention may call or visit the following agency:

Tarzana Treatment Centers 44447 10t Street West. Lancaster, CA 93534 (661) 726-2630

Voter Registration: Students and staff may access voter registration information from the
school offices and at website: www.sos.ca.gov/nvre/fedform/

Housing: American Beauty College does not offer housing facilities and does not locate or assist in locating housing for
students. There are housing options available near our school location and rent ranges approximately between $750 to
$3500.

Constitution Day: ABC meets all requirements pertaining to Constitution Day.(September 17)

English proficiency:
English proficiency is that of the equivalent to a High school Completion, which is verified by the actual High school

diploma or its equivalent.

Attendance Status

Full-time students are required to be enrolled and attend a minimum of 30 clock hours per week. Part-time
student enrollment requires a minimum of 20 clock hours per week. Less than 12 clock hours per week is defined as less
than half- time enrollment status.

Attendance and Tardy Policy

Each student’s presence is important to American Beauty College. Thus, daily attendance is essential to the success
of each student as they are preparing for excellence in their programs and later in the Beauty industry. Tardiness is considered
unexcused time, as it portrays unprofessional behavior.

All American Beauty College Students are to be seated in their assigned classroom, clocked in, in uniform and
ready to begin with their class work when roll-call is in place. If the student is not physically present in the classroom
during their regular scheduled hours , the student will be considered tardy. This includes remaining on campus until
their scheduled hours have come to an end.

Every students attendance, including tardiness is monitored closely in order for the student to maintain and
comply with the school’s satisfactory progress requirements.

Attendance must be maintained at an average of 67% of the scheduled attendance. The student may be expected to
complete the course of study within the 150% of the period of time stated in the enrollment agreement. If the student is
absent 14 consecutive scheduled school days, the school will withdraw him/her unless a Leave of Absence (LOA) has been
granted. The attendance registrar will review excessive tardiness and/or absences with the student to determine possible
corrective action. Student hours and operations once properly earned by the student will not be taken away from the
student’s records based on disciplinary actions by the school.

All students are expected to be in class every day. In the event that an absence is necessary, a student must call the
school to report the absence that same day and prior to beginning of class. Providing documentation for an
absence ,such as an emergency or medical condition should be provided.
A student is both in class and at school, or they are absent. If a student is found to be off campus for more than their
allotted break time they will be clocked out for any excessive time. It is highly advisable for all students to strive for an
attendance average above 67% and academic achievement above 70%.

Theory and practical hours are daily. There is a (5) minute allowance for unexpected tardy(s). If a student arrives after
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8:06am or 5:36pm, that student will not be allowed in the classroom or able to clock in until one hour after their start
Notices of non-compliance with the attendance/tardy policy may be in a form of an advising/counseling report given when a
student is in jeopardy of exceeding the percentage of prescribed hours for successful completion of the student’s program.
(*see SAP Policy for clarification)
Day class students are allowed (2) 10 minute breaks, and (1) 30 min lunch at the Instructors approved time.
Night class students are allowed (2) 10 minute breaks at the Instructors approved time.

Make-up Policy

ABC does have a set attendance make-up policy. Students may make up hours on a predetermined date/time
by the school. Make-up tests are taken on a date assigned by class instructors or management, if a student is missing
or failing a test.

Class and Practice Hours- Credit Procedure

Students at ABC record their attendance hours on the school’s Finger Print System which is used to clock IN
at the start of the day and OUT at the end of the class day. This system is also used to clock IN and OUT for
breaks/lunch. Students at ABC record their theory and practical procedures on operation cards that must be signed by
the student and an Instructor at the end of each day. Students who fail to adhere to this policy may risk losing hours at
the discretion of theinstructor.
Students receive credit for each hour they spend in the class or practical assignment verified by an instructor.
Students receive credit for operations and/ or completed projects verified by an Instructor. The daily hours and
operations earned are recorded on the weekly operations card. A report is posted every week with the accumulative
clock hours for each student. At the end of the week, a new weekly operations card is prepared by using data fromthe
prior weeks’ operations card. ABC is a clock hour school; no credit units can be applied orearned.
Operations cards must remain in the school at all times. A student cannot take an operations card out of the school.

Graduation and Diploma
Graduation Requirements: When a student has completed the (1) required clock hours, (2) theory hours, (3) practical operations,

(4) senior project for his/her course of study with a grade of “C” (70%) or better, (5)passed final exams , (6) all tuition and fees
have been paid in full, or made satisfactorily arrangements, and (7) graduation list has been fulfilled he/she will receive a
diploma certifying his/her graduation of the appropriate course of study. In addition, the school may assist students in
completing the necessary documents to file for the appropriate California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Examination.

Leave of Absence Policy (“LOA”): Students may request a Leave of Absence (LOA) for reasons not limited to, illness, death
in the family, or other emergency circumstances. A student must make a request following this institutions policy for an LOA in
advance, and in writing outlining the circumstances, duration of leave, and documentation, unless unforeseen circumstances
prevent the student from doing so. Request must be in writing, stating the reason of the request for the LOA, and have the
students signature. Written requests are reviewed on an individual basis and must be approved by the Financial Aid Officer. The
institution may grant an LOA to a student who did not provide the request prior to the LOA due to unforeseen circumstances in
which the institution will document the reason for its decision, collect the request form from the student at a later date, and the
LOA start date will be the date the student originally was unable to attend.

A denial of an LOA request may occur if the Financial Aid Officer determines that the request has unrealistic expectations for
return of the student. LOA requests for medical purposes require medical documentation. A LOA will not be granted if the
LOA, together with additional LOAs previously granted , exceed a total of 180 calendar days in a 12-month period. A LOA may
only be granted once the student has been enrolled for at least 90 days (3 months), unless mitigating circumstances exist.
Students will not be assessed any additional charges as a result of an approved LOA.

A Student granted an LOA that meets this criteria is not considered to have withdrawn, and no refund calculation is required at
that time.

The students contracted period will be extended by the same number of calendar days taken in the LOA. Changes will be
initialed by both parties on the Enrollment Agreement, or an addendum to the enrollment agreement must be signed by all
parties.

Failure To Return From a LOA: The student will be withdrawn if he/she takes an unapproved LOA or does not return by the
expiration date of an approved leave of absence. The students withdrawal date, for the purpose of calculating a refund will be
the students last day of attendance. Students who have received Federal Student Loans must be made aware that failure to
return from an approved LOA, depending on the length of the LOA, may have an adverse impact on the student’s loan
repayment schedule. Students will only be eligible for Federal Pell Grant while on LOA. Students will not be eligible for any of
their student loans while on a LOA.

Federal Loan programs provide students with a grace period which delays the student obligation to begin repaying their loan
debt for up to 6 months (180 days) from the last day of attendance. If a student takes a lengthy LOA and fails to return to school
after its conclusion, some, or all of the grace period may be exhausted forcing the borrower to begin making payments
immediately.




Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy (SAP

STANDARDS: This institution expects all students to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as
established by this institution under the guidelines of the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and
Sciences and the US Department of Education. Student’s receive notice of SAP prior to enrollment and is applied
consistently to all students. To meet Satisfactory Academic Progress, all students must:

1. Maintain a cumulative academic average of “C” (70%) or better at the end of each of the evaluation periods.
2. Maintain a cumulative average attendance level of 67% of the scheduled hours indicated on their
enrollment contract at the end of each of the evaluation periods.

Complete the course within a maximum time frame of one and one-half (1.50) times the length of the course

as stated in the enrollment agreement. Students who exceed the maximum time frame shall be terminated

from the program. Students thereafter may be permitted to re-enroll in the program on a cash paying basis in a
Manner consistent with the re-enrollment provisions of the institutions admissions policy.
3. Students meeting the minimum requirement for attendance and academic progress at any evaluation

point will be considered to be making satisfactory progress until the next evaluation.
4. The Satisfactory Academic Progress is evaluated by actual hours completed.

Students returning from a Leave of Absence will have their contract period and maximum time frame
extended by the number of days taken in the leave of absence.

Grading System: Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical/ clinical work. The evaluations are
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage converted to a letter grade. Evaluation forms are issued to the
students at the completion of actual clock hours as per the chart below. The evaluation form reflects the overall attendance
and academic progress of the student. Students must maintain a “C” (70%) average to maintain satisfactory academic
status in both their theory classes and practical applications. Students must maintain a cumulative average attendance level
of 67% of the scheduled hours indicated on their enrollment contract at the end of each of the evaluation periods.

This grading system detailed above is the system utilized in the school combining both theory and practical applications. This
is achieved by the quantitative and qualitative measuring of the theory and practice done by the student. Both are equally
important to successful completion of the program and future licensure. This applies to all students.

Grading Criteria:
Average 100%-90% 89%-80% 79%-70% 69%-60%
Letter Grade A B C D F

below 60%

Evaluation Periods

ABC'’s academic year is 900 clock hours and 26 weeks.Student’s compliance with the Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy
is divided into evaluation periods and is assessed at each Evaluation period ofthe course.Evaluation periods are based on actual
hours completed. The institution shall evaluate students (academic and attendance) Satisfactory Academic Progress at each

evaluation period. Students will be informed whether they are meeting Satisfactory Academic Progress, or not. The student’s

first evaluation for Satisfactory Academic Progress occurs at the midpoint of the academic year or the program, whichever occurs

sooner. The following table represents the Actual Hours for the scheduled evaluation:

EVALUATION PERIOD EVALUATION PERIOD EVALUATION PERIOD EVALUATION PERIOD
PROGRAM ACTUAL HOURS (1) ACTUAL HOURS (2) ACTUAL HOURS (3) ACTUAL HOURS (4)
16C()((;Scl\]/ngc(1)<L}(1)ggRs 450 (approx. 14 - 23 900 (approx. 28 - 45 1250 (approx. 39 - 63 1600 (approx. 50 - 80
Academic Weeks ) Academic Weeks) Academic Weeks) Academic Weeks)
1500 CBL%%BKEII}OURS 450 (approx. 14 -23 900 (approx. 28 - 45 1250 (approx 39 - 63 1500 (approx. 47 - 75
Academic Weeks) Academic Weeks) Academic Weeks) Academic Weeks)
Mclf\ggglggg;g 0 200 (approx. 12.5 400 (approx. 25 N/A N/A
Academic Weeks) Academic Weeks)
E%Q%Eg}é;%ggg 300 (approx. 9.5 Academic 600 (approx. 19 N/A N/A
Weeks) Academic Weeks)

*Transfer Students- Midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods, whichever comes first.

Student’s Access to SAP Evaluation Results: After the student has been evaluated, they will sign the Satisfactory
Academic Progress report and receive a copy. The institution will notify students of any evaluation that impacts the students
eligibility for Financial Aid. This applies to all students.

Determination of Progress Status: The students meeting the minimum requirement for academic and attendance at the evaluation
point are considered to be making satisfactory academic progress until the next scheduled evaluation. A student will receive a hard

copy of their Satisfactory Academic Progress Determination at the time of each of the evaluations.
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Students who do not achieve the minimum standards of Satisfactory Academic Progress are no longer eligible for
Title IV funds, if applicable, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal of the determination that
has resulted in the status of probation. This applies to all students.

Warning Period: Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for satisfactory academic progress are
placed on a warning status and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress during the warning
period. The student will be advised in writing on the actions required to obtain Satisfactory Academic Progress
by the next evaluation. If at the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both the attendance and
academic requirements required for satisfactory academic progress he/she will be determined as NOT making
satisfactory academic progress and will be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV funds. This applies to all
students.

Probation: Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress during the warning
period, or previous evaluation period will be placed on probation, and considered to be making satisfactory academic
progress during the probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and prevails upon appeal. Additionally,
only students who have the ability to meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy standards by the end of the
evaluation period may be placed on probation. Students placed on an academic plan must be able to meet requirements
set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next evaluation period. Students who are progressing according to their
specific academic plan will be considered making Satisfactory Academic Progress. The student will be advised in
writing of the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If, at the end of the
probationary period, the student has still not met both the attendance and academic requirements required for
satisfactory academic progress or by the academic plan, he/she will be determined as NOT making satisfactory
academic progress and, if applicable, students will not be deemed eligible to receive Title IV funds. This applies to all
students.

Re-Establishment Of Satisfactory Academic Progress: Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress
and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting minimum attendance and academic requirements by the end of the warning
or probationary period. This applies to all students.

The Institution Academic Plan: For the student who is not meeting Satisfactory Academic Progress, the following plan is:
A. For improving attendance the student must attend school additional hours beyond their scheduled hours (make-up
hours).
B. For improving academic grades, a student can re-take a test and/or do additional extra creditassignments.
Completing either A or B or both, will bring a student’s Satisfactory Academic Progress status back to eligibility for financial aid.
This applies to all students.

Interruptions,Course Incompletes, and Withdrawals: If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of
Absence, the student will return to school in the same progress status as prior to the leave of absence. Hours elapsed
during a leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and maximum time frame by the same number of
days taken in the leave of absence and will not be included in the student's cumulative attendance percentage
calculation. Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will return in the same
satisfactory academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal. A Leave of Absence and/or failure to return from a
Leave of Absence may affect your loan interest rates and/or repayment timeline. Please see your Financial Aid
representative for more information. This applies to all students.

Appeal Procedure: If a student is determined to not be making satisfactory academic progress, the student may
appeal the determination within ten calendar days. Reasons for which students may appeal a negative progress
determination include death of a relative, an injury or illness of the student, or any other allowable special or
mitigating circumstance. The student must submit a written appeal to the school on the designated form describing
why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along with supporting documentation of the reasons
why the determination should be reversed. This information (documents) should include what has changed about the
student’s situation that will allow them to achieve Satisfactory Academic Progress by the next evaluation point.
Appeal documents will be reviewed and a decision will be made and reported to the student within 30 calendar days.
The appeal and decision documents will be retained in the student file. If the student prevails upon appeal, the
satisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal financial aid will be reinstated, if applicable.
This applies to all students.

Noncredit, Remedial Courses, Repetitions: Noncredit, remedial courses, and repetitions do not apply to this
institution. Therefore, these items have no effect upon the school's satisfactory academic progress standards. This
applies to all students.

Transfer Hours: With regard to Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student’s transfer hours will be counted as both attempted and
completed hours for the purpose of determining when the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted. SAP evaluation
periods are based on actual contracted hours at the institution.
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Notification of Rights under FERPA for Post-secondary Institutions
American Beauty College complies with The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)which affords eligible students,

and parents or guardians of dependent minors certain rights with respect to their education records.These rights include:

1. The right to inspect and review the student's education records within 45 days after the day the institution receives a request
for access. A student should submit to the registrar, dean, head of the academic department, or financial aid officer a written
request that identifies the record(s) the student wishes to inspect. The school official will make arrangements for access and
notify the student of the time and place where the records may be inspected. If the records are not maintained by the school
official to whom the request was submitted, that official shall advise the student of the correct official to whom the request
should be addressed.

2. The right to request the amendment of the student’s education records that the student believes is inaccurate, misleading, or
otherwise in violation of the student’s privacy rights under FERPA.

A student who wishes to ask the institution to amend a record should write the institutions Financial Aid Officer, and clearly
identify the part of the record the student wants changed, and specify why it should be changed.

If the institution decides not to amend the record as requested, the institution will notify the student in writing of the decision
and the student’s right to a hearing regarding the request for amendment. Additional information regarding the hearing
procedures will be provided to the student when notified of the right to a hearing.

3. The right to provide written consent before the institution discloses personally identifiable information (PII) from the
student's education records, except to the extent that FERPA authorizes disclosure without consent.

The institution discloses education records without a student’s prior written consent under the FERPA exception for disclosure
to school officials with legitimate educational interests. A school official typically includes a person employed by the
institution in an administrative, supervisory, academic, research, or support staff position; NACCAS (National Accrediting
Commission of Career Arts and Sciences) representatives; BPPE (Bureau of Private Post-Secondary Education)
inspector/analyst; BBC(Board of Barbering and Cosmetology) inspector/official.

Upon request, the school also discloses education records without consent to officials of another school in which a student seeks
or intends to enroll.

4. The right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged failures by the institution to comply
with the requirements of FERPA. The name and address of the office that administers FERPA is:

Family Policy Compliance Office
U.S. Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202

*The Institution does not release any information known as Directory Information.

FERPA permits the disclosure of PII from students’ education records, without consent of the student, if the disclosure meets certain
conditions found in § 99.31 of the FERPA regulations. Except for disclosures to school officials, disclosures related to some judicial
orders or lawfully issued subpoenas, disclosures of directory information, and disclosures to the student, § 99.32 of FERPA
regulations requires the institution to record the disclosure. Eligible students have a right to inspect and review the record of
disclosures. A postsecondary institution may disclose PII from the education records without obtaining prior written consent of the
student —

) To other school officials, including teachers, within [School] whom the school has determined to have legitimate educational
interests. This includes contractors, consultants, volunteers, or other parties to whom the school has outsourced institutional
services or functions, provided that the conditions listed in § 99.31(a)(1)(1)(B)({) - (a)(1)(i)(B)(3) are met. (§99.31(a)(1))

) To officials of another school where the student seeks or intends to enroll, or where the student is already enrolled if the
disclosure is for purposes related to the student’s enrollment or transfer, subject to the requirements of § 99.34. (§99.31(a)(2))

) To authorized representatives of the U. S. Comptroller General, the U.S. Attorney General, the U.S. Secretary of Education,

or State and local educational authorities, such as a State postsecondary authority that is responsible for supervising the

university’s State-supported education programs. Disclosures under this provision may be made, subject to the requirements of
§99.35, in connection with an audit or evaluation of Federal- or State-supported education programs, or for the enforcement of
or compliance with Federal legal requirements that relate to those programs. These entities may make further disclosures of PII
to outside entities that are designated by them as their authorized representatives to conduct any audit, evaluation, or
enforcement or compliance activity on their behalf. (§§ 99.31(a)(3) and 99.35)
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In connection with financial aid for which the student has applied or which the student has received, if the information is
necessary to determine eligibility for the aid, determine the amount of the aid, determine the conditions of the aid, or enforce the
terms and conditions of the aid. (§ 99.31(a)(4))

To organizations conducting studies for, or on behalf of, the school, in order to: (a) develop, validate, or administer predictive
tests; (b) administer student aid programs; or (c¢) improve instruction. (§ 99.31(a)(6))

To accrediting organizations to carry out their accrediting functions. (§ 99.31(a)(7))

To parents of an eligible student if the student is a dependent for IRS tax purposes. (§ 99.31(a)(8))

To comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued subpoena. (§ 99.31(a)(9))

To appropriate officials in connection with a health or safety emergency, subject to § 99.36. (§ 99.31(a)(10))
Information the school has designated as “directory information” under § 99.37. (§ 99.31(a)(11))

To a victim of an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence or a non-forcible sex offense, subject to the requirements of§
99.39. The disclosure may only include the final results of the disciplinary proceeding with respect to that alleged crime or
offense, regardless of the finding. (§ 99.31(a)(13))

To the general public, the final results of a disciplinary proceeding, subject to the requirements of § 99.39, if the school
determines the student is an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence or non-forcible sex offense and the student has committed
a violation of the school’s rules or policies with respect to the allegation made against him or her. (§99.31(a)(14))

To parents of a student regarding the student’s violation of any Federal, State, or local law, or of any rule or policy of the
school, governing the use or possession of alcohol or a controlled substance if the school determines the student committed a
disciplinary violation and the student is under the age of 21. (§99.31(a)(15))

STUDENT RECORDS/RIGHTS OF PRIVACY
The Federal Right of Privacy Act of 1964 enables all students to review their academic records, including grades,
attendance, and advising/counseling reports. Student records are confidential and only such agencies or individuals authorized
by law are allowed access without written permission of the student. As of January 1, 2010, state law mandates that schools
are to permanently maintain transcripts. (94900. Required Student Records). Students may request a review of their records
by writing to the Director of the School. All such reviews will be scheduled during regular school hours under appropriate
supervision. We retain student transcripts permanently.
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Courses of Study

All theory classes at ABC are taught i in Enghsh Demonstratlons are prov1ded in English. Classes on the
clinic floor are conducted in English.

ABC utilizes Pivot Point Teaching Methodology and Online Platform, in theory & practical. Workbooks for
the following courses: Cosmetology; Barber; Manicuring. The Teacher Trainee course has a theory/workbook about
teaching as the main reference and instructional guides. Each student is provided with a written program and/or course
outline during the first day of orientation. All academic and practical learning in each course precedes any student
working in the salon/barber area or engaged in any clinic activity. Students in any program cannot be asked to leave a
theory class to work on a client.

Level of occupation for which training is provided for each course offered: Our vocational objective is to train
and produce knowledgeable graduates able to seek and find entry-level employment in the beauty and barber industry.
The successful students should be able to function effectively at an entry level position in one of the many areas for

which training and licensure was earned. This criterion is for all courses offered below.

Course: Program
8 Number of Clock Hours .
Length: . — Clock Hours required by State:
) Required by Institution:
(approximately)
Cosmetology 31-52weeks 1000 Clock Hours 1000 Clock Hours
Barber 31-52 weeks 1000 Clock Hours 1000 Clock Hours
Teacher Trainee 20-30 weeks 600 Clock Hours 600 Clock Hours
Manicuring 13-26 weeks 400 Clock Hours 400 Clock Hours
Esthetics 18-20 weeks 600 Clock Hours 600 Clock Hours

14




COSMETOLOGY COURSE OUTLINE

1000 HOURS

DESCRIPTION: The primary purpose of the Cosmetology Course is to train the student in the basic manipulative skills, safety
judgments, proper work habits, and desirable attitudes necessary to pass the state board examination and for competency in job
entry level positions in cosmetology or related career field. All classes are taught in English.

OBJECTIVES: Upon completion of the course requirements, the determined graduate will be able to:

Project a positive attitude and a sense of personal integrity and self-confidence.

Practice proper grooming and effective communications skills and visual poise.

Understand employer-employee relationships and respect the need to deliver worthy service for value received.

Perform the basic manipulative skills including hair styling, shaping, coloring, lightening, chemical reformation, scalp/hair

conditioning, skin care, and nail care.

5. Perform the basic analytical skills to determine proper makeup, hairstyle, and color application for the client's best overall
look.

6.  Apply the theory, technical information and related matter to assure sound judgments, decisions, and procedures.

bl

To ensure continued career success, the graduate will continue to learn new and current information related to techniques, trends,
fashions, and methods for career development in cosmetology and related fields.

INSTRUCTIONAL METHODS: The clock-hour education is provided through a sequential set of learning steps that
address specific tasks necessary for state board preparation, graduation, and entry-level job skills. Student salon equipment,
implements, and products are comparable to those used in the industry. Each student will receive instruction that relates to the
performance of useful, creative, and productive career-oriented activities. The course is presented through comprehensive
lesson plans that reflect effective educational methods. Subjects are presented by means of interactive lecture, demonstration,
and student participation. Audio-visual aids, guest speakers, field trips, projects, activities, and other related learning methods
may be incorporated throughout the course of study.

REFERENCES: Students follow Milady Standard: Cosmetology. A comprehensive resource center of references, periodicals,
books, texts, and DVD’s and online resources are available to support the course of study and supplement the students'
training.

GRADING PROCEDURES: Students are assigned academic learning units and a minimum number of practical experiences
required for course completion. Academic learning is evaluated after each unit of study. Practical skills learning is evaluated as
completed and counted toward course completion only when rated as satisfactory or better. Practical skills are evaluated
according to text procedures. Students must maintain a written grade average of 75 percent or higher and pass a final written and
practical exam prior to graduation. Students must make up failed or missed tests.

90 - 100 EXCELLENT

80-89 VERY GOOD

70-79 SATISFACTORY

60-69 NEEDS IMPROVEMENT
Below 60 UNSATISFACTORY
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HOURS SUBJECT - UNIT

100

100

200

250

150

50

100

50

1000

HEALTH AND SAFETY: Health and Safety: Including instruction on hazardous substances, chemical safety, safety
data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and regulations,
and preventing communicable diseases. Board Approved Health & Safety Course (B&P 7389(a)): Including
instruction on hazardous substances, basic labor laws, and physical and sexual assault awareness.

DISINFECTION &SANITATION, GENERAL SCIENCES: General sciences shall include, but is not limited to,
the following theory, techniques and procedures. Disinfection and Sanitation, principles of infection control,
preventing the spread of disease, salonsafety, general anatomy and physiology, properties of the hair and scalp,
disorders of the hair and scalp, hair andscalp analysis, basics of chemistry and basics of electricity.

CHEMICAL HAIR SERVICES:Including instruction on coloring, texture , such as straightening, waving, bleaching,
hair analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, and the use of dye removers.
-HAIRCOLORING: Haircoloring shall include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures, the
use of semi-permanent, demi-permanent and temporary colors): Hair analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety
precautions, temporary color, semi-permanent color, demi-permanent color, permanent color, lightening, formula mixing,
high and low lights, and the use of dye removers.
-TEXTURE SERVICES: Texture Service shall include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and
procedures: Hair analysis, acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening including the use of sodium
hydroxide, and other base solutions.

HAIRSTYLING SERVICES: Including instruction on arranging, blow drying, cleansing, curling, dressing, hair

analysis, shampooing, waving, and non-chemical straightening, and hair cutting, including the use of shears, razors,
electrical clippers and trimmers, and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting.

-HAIRSTYLING AND DESIGN: Hairstyling shall include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and
procedures: Principles of design, hair analysis, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs, thermal straightening, thermal
straightening, and blow-dry styling.

-SHAMPOO, RINSES, AND SCALP TREATMENTS: Shampooing, rinses and scalp treatments shall include, but is not
limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures. Hair analysis, hair and scalp treatments and manipulations,
hair brushing, shampoo selection, chemistry of shampoos, pH Scale, types of shampoos and conditioners, draping, and
shampoo procedure.

-HAIRCUTTING: Haircutting shall include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures: Use
of scissors, razor (shaper), electrical clippers/trimmers, and thinning (tapering) shears for wet and dry cutting

SKIN CARE: Including instruction on chemical and manual facials and massaging, stimulating, exfoliating, cleansing, or
beautifying the face, scalp, neck, or body by the use of hands, esthetic devices, cosmetic products, antiseptics, lotions,
tonics, or creams that do not result in the ablation or destruction of the live tissue.

Skin Care shall also include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures.

Anatomy of the skin, nutrition and skin health, diseases and disorders of the skin, skin analyses, skin type, skin care

products, facial massage, basic facials, facial equipment, electrotherapy and light therapy makeup, and face shapes.

HAIR REMOVAL AND LASH AND BROW BEAUTIFICATION: Including instruction on tinting and perming eyelashes
and brows and applying eyelashes to any person, and includes removing superfluous hair from the body of

any person by use of depilatories, tweezers, sugaring, nonprescription chemicals, or waxing, or by the use of devices and
appliances of any kind or description, except by the use of lasers or light waves, which are commonly known as rays.

MANICURE AND PEDICURE/NAIL CARE: Including instruction on water and oil manicures, hand and arm massage,
foot and ankle massage, nail analysis, and artificial nail services, including, but not limited to, acrylic, liquid and powder
brush-ons, dip, tips, wraps, and repairs.

Shall also 1 include, but is not limited to, nail diseases and disorders, structure of the natural nail, nail anatomy, nail

growth, manicuring, pedicuring, polish application, light cured gel nails, tools, implementsand products.

PROFESSIONAL / BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT: Professional and business development shall include, but is not
limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures. Orientation, school rules and regulations, state laws and
regulations, history, career opportunities, life skills, professional image, communication skills, preparing for licensure
and employment, interviewing, money management, selling, customer service, client consultations,

TOTAL HOURS
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Theory and clinical/practical evaluations will be based on; performance, attendance and behavior. A student

must meet the objectives in theory and clinical applications.

A satisfactory grade of “C” (70%) or better must be achieved to pass the class. Students who fail a class/subject must
repeat the class/subject.

Educational Goals:

Performance Objective
1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating the established California’s cosmetology practices.
2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails.
3. Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology,
chemistry, and theory.
4. Acquire business management techniques common to cosmetology.

1. Learn the proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services.

2. Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands before all services are done,

to g}ﬂermine any disgrders. ) ) ) )
3. Will learn the procedures and term1n010§y used in performing all cosmetologyservices. ]
4. Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of false strip eyelashes.
5
6

Will learn the proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and pedicure.
Will learn the application of brush-on nails, nail wraps, and nail tips.

1. Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology.
2. Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers.
3. Appreciate honesty and integrity.

4. Have improved personality in dealing with patrons andcolleagues.

Licensing Requirements: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A
Cosmetology license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed
and graduated from the Cosmetology course as described.
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BARBER COURSE OUTLINE

1000 HOURS

DESCRIPTION: The primary purpose of the Barber Course is to train the student in the basic manipulative skills, safety
judgments, proper work habits, and desirable attitudes necessary to pass the state board examination and for competency in job
entry level positions in cosmetology or related career field. All classes are taught in English.

OBJECTIVES: Upon completion of the course requirements, the determined graduate will be able to:

c)  Projecta positive attitude and a sense of personal integrity and self-confidence.

d)  Practice proper grooming and effective communications skills and visual poise.

e)  Understand employer-employee relationships and respect the need to deliver worthy service for value received.

f) Perform the basic manipulative skills including hair styling, shaping, coloring, lightening, chemical reformation, scalp/hair
conditioning, skin care, nail care, shaving and beard shaping.

g)  Perform the basic analytical skills to determine proper hairstyle, color application, haircut for the client's best overalllook.

h)  Apply the theory, technical information and related matter to assure sound judgments, decisions, and procedures.

To ensure continued career success, the graduate will continue to learn new and current information related to techniques, trends,
fashions, and methods for career development in cosmetology and related fields.

INSTRUCTIONAL METHODS: The clock-hour education is provided through a sequential set of learning steps that
address specific tasks necessary for state board preparation, graduation, and entry-level job skills. Student salon equipment,
implements, and products are comparable to those used in the industry. Each student will receive instruction that relates to the
performance of useful, creative, and productive career-oriented activities. The course is presented through comprehensive
lesson plans that reflect effective educational methods. Subjects are presented by means of interactive lecture, demonstration,
and student participation. Audio-visual aids, guest speakers, field trips, projects, activities, and other related learning methods
may be incorporated throughout the course of study.

REFERENCES: Students follow Milady Standard: Barbering. A comprehensive resource center of references, periodicals,
books,texts, and DVD’s and online resources are available to support the course of study and supplement the students' training.

GRADING PROCEDURES: Students are assigned academic learning units and a minimum number of practical experiences
required for course completion. Academic learning is evaluated after each unit of study. Practical skills learning is evaluated as
completed and counted toward course completion only when rated as satisfactory or better. Practical skills are evaluated
according to text procedures. Students must maintain a written grade average of 75 percent or higher and pass a final written and
practical exam prior to graduation. Students must make up failed or missed tests.

90 - 100 EXCELLENT

80-89 VERY GOOD

70-79 SATISFACTORY

60-69 NEEDSIMPROVEMENT
Below 60 UNSATISFACTORY
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HOURS SUBJECT - UNIT

100

100

200

250

200

100

50

1000

HEALTH AND SAFETY: Health and Safety: Including instruction on hazardous substances, chemical safety, safety
data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and regulations,
and preventing communicable diseases. Board Approved Health & Safety Course (B&P 7389(a)): Including
instruction on hazardous substances, basic labor laws, and physical and sexual assault awareness.

DISINFECTION &SANITATION, GENERAL SCIENCES: General sciences shall include, but is not limited to,
the following theory, techniques and procedures. Disinfection and Sanitation, principles of infection control,
preventing the spread of disease, salonsafety, general anatomy and physiology, properties of the hair and scalp,
disorders of the hair and scalp, hair andscalp analysis, basics of chemistry and basics of electricity.

CHEMICAL HAIR SERVICES:Including instruction on coloring, texture , such as straightening, waving, bleaching,
hair analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, and the use of dye removers.
-HAIRCOLORING: Haircoloring shall include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures, the
use of semi-permanent, demi-permanent and temporary colors): Hair analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety
precautions, temporary color, semi-permanent color, demi-permanent color, permanent color, lightening, formula mixing,
high and low lights, and the use of dye removers.
-TEXTURE SERVICES: Texture Service shall include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and
procedures: Hair analysis, acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening including the use of sodium
hydroxide, and other base solutions.

HAIRSTYLING SERVICES: Including instruction on arranging, blow drying, cleansing, curling, dressing, hair

analysis, shampooing, waving, and non-chemical straightening, and hair cutting, including the use of shears, razors,
electrical clippers and trimmers, and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting.

-HAIRSTYLING AND DESIGN: Hairstyling shall include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and
procedures: Principles of design, hair analysis, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs, thermal straightening, thermal
straightening, and blow-dry styling.

-SHAMPOO, RINSES, AND SCALP TREATMENTS: Shampooing, rinses and scalp treatments shall include, but is not
limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures. Hair analysis, hair and scalp treatments and manipulations,
hair brushing, shampoo selection, chemistry of shampoos, pH Scale, types of shampoos and conditioners, draping, and
shampoo procedure.

-HAIRCUTTING: Haircutting shall include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures: Use
of scissors, razor (shaper), electrical clippers/trimmers, and thinning (tapering) shears for wet and dry cutting.

SHAVING AND TRIMMING OF THE BEARD: Including instruction on preparing the client’s hair for
shaving, assessing the condition of the client’s skin, performing shaving techniques, applying aftershave
antiseptic following facial services, and massaging the face and rolling cream massages.

SKIN CARE: Including instruction on chemical and manual facials and massaging, stimulating, exfoliating, cleansing, or
beautifying the face, scalp, neck, or body by the use of hands, esthetic devices, cosmetic products, antiseptics, lotions,
tonics, or creams that do not result in the ablation or destruction of the live tissue.

Skin Care shall also include, but is not limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures.

Anatomy of the skin, nutrition and skin health, diseases and disorders of the skin, skin analyses, skin type, skin care
products, facial massage, basic facials, facial equipment, electrotherapy and light therapy makeup, and face shapes.

PROFESSIONAL / BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT: Professional and business development shall include, but is not
limited to, the following theory, techniques and procedures. Orientation, school rules and regulations, state laws and

regulations, history, career opportunities, life skills, professional image, communication skills, preparing for licensure
and employment, interviewing, money management, selling, customer service, client consultations,

TOTAL HOURS
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Theory and clinical/Practical evaluations will be based on; performance, attendance and behavior. A
student must meet the objectives in theory and clinical applications.

e A satisfactory grade of “C” (70%) or better must be achieved to pass the class. Students who fail
a class/subject must repeat the class/subject.

Educational Goals: Performance Objective

1.
2.
3.
4,

kill
1.
2.

3.
4.

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules’ regulating the established California’s barberingpractices.

Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, andnails.

Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to barbering including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, andtheory.
Acquire business management techniques common to barbering.

1 .
Learn the proper use of implements relative to all barberingservices

Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands before all services are done,to
determine any disorders.
Will learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all barbering y services

Will learn the proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oilmanicure.

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed:

1.

2.
3.
4.

Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to barbering.
Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers.
Appreciate honesty and integrity.

Have improved personality in dealing with patrons and colleagues.

Licensing Requirements: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Barber license will be
granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and graduated from the Barber course as

described
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Manicuring Course (400 Clock Hours)

Manicuring Course Curriculum

(a) The curriculum for students enrolled in a manicuring course consist of 400 clock hours of technical instruction and practical
operations covering all practices of a manicurist, pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. The program
length for a full time schedule student is approximately 14 weeks, and approximately 26 weeks for part time schedule students.

(b) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or
examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or on a
mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. Technical instruction and
practical training shall include the following hours:

(1) 300 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Nail Care

The required subjects of instruction in Nail Care shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and
practical operations for each subject matter as follows:

Manicures and Pedicures - 300 hours(Including at a minimum- 60 hours of Technical Instruction, 60 Practical Operations = 90 hours, and
180 nails = 150 hours(Distance Education = 150 hours if applicable ))

The subject of Manicures and Pedicures shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures:
Water and oil manicures including hand and arm massage, complete pedicure including foot and ankle massage,
application of artificial nails including liquid, gel, and powder brush-ons, nail tips, nail wraps and repairs, and nail analysis.

(2) 100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Health and Safety

The required subjects of instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum number of hours of
technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

Laws and Regulations {Including at a minimum- 15 hours of Technical Instruction(Distance Education = 7.5 hours if applicable )}

The subject of Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: The Barbering and
Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations.

Health and Safety Considerations {Including at a minimum - 30 hours of Technical Instruction(Distance Education = 15 hours if applicable )}

The subject of Health and Safety shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Chemistry
pertaining to the practices of a manicurist including the chemical composition and purpose of nail care preparations.

Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances, including training in chemicals and health in establishments, material safety data
sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, ergonomics,
and communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B.

Disinfection and Sanitation 40 hours {Including at a minimum - 20 hours of Technical Instruction, and 10 Practical Operations= 20 hours (Distance
Education = 20 hours if applicable )}

The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures:
Procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician.

The ten required minimum operations shall entail performing all necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment
as specified in Sections 979 and 980. Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be
performed before use of all instruments and equipment, with special attention given to pedicure foot spa and basin disinfection
procedures detailed in Sections 980.1, 980.2 and 980.3.

Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology {Including at a minimum - 15 hours of Technical Instruction (Distance Education = 7.5 hours if
applicable )}

The subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Bacteriology, anatomy, physiology,
and nail analysis and conditions.

1) The Board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, client
record-keeping, decorum, basic tax information relating to booth renters, independent contractors, employees, and employers. This Additional Training
shall include salon management, professional ethics, communication skills, salesmanship, personal hygiene, grooming, decorum, record keeping, client
customer service, seeking employment, preparing a resume, interview preparation, payroll deductions modeling, reception desk training, care and
styling of wigs and other matters related to the cosmetology field. Training may also include field trips such as Industry/Student Expos. Date, time, and
description of the field trip shall be recorded.
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d) Distance Education(DE) : Up to 50% of each program may be completed via distance education. Distance education
technology includes the use of Pivot Point LAB learning portal online, and ZOOM call access. Students who participate in DE
are required to have devices larger than 9inches in dimension, and home internet/sufficient Wi-Fi access.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 73635, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316(c)(2)), 7326(d)(1), 7362, 7365 and 7389,
Business and Professions Code.

GRADING CRITERIA:

GRADING PROCEDURES: Students are assigned academic learning units and a minimum number of practical experiences required for
course completion. Academic learning is evaluated after each unit of study. Practical skills learning is evaluated as completed and counted
toward course completion only when rated as satisfactory or better. Practical skills are evaluated according to text procedures. Students

must maintain a written grade average of 75 percent or higher and pass a final written and practical exam prior to graduation. Students must
make up failed or missed tests.

90-100 EXCELLENT

80-89 VERY GOOD

70-79 SATISFACTORY

60-69 NEEDS IMPROVEMENT
Below 60 UNSATISFACTORY

o Theory and clinical evaluations will be based on; performance, attendance and behavior. A
student must meet the objectives in theory and clinical applications.

o A satisfactory grade of “C” (70%) or better must be achieved to pass the class. Students who fail
a class/subject must repeat the class/subject.

Educational Goals:

Performance Objective

1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California Cosmetology establishment practices.
2. Understand sterilization procedures.
3. Acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to manicuring, including anatomy,

physiology, chemistry, and theory relative to practical procedures performed.
4. Acquire business management techniques common to manicurist.

1. Use of proper implements relative to all manicuring, pedicuring, and artificialnails.
2. Develop the knowledge to recognize the various skin conditions and disorders.

3. Acquire practical knowledge in manicuring and pedicuring.
4. Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in use of manicuring, pedicure and artificial nails.

1. Be able to appreciate good workmanship common tomanicuring.
2. Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellowworkers.
3. Appreciate honesty and integrity.

4. Have improved personality in dealing with patrons andcolleagues.

Licensing Requirements: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Manicurist license

will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and graduated from the Manicuring
course as described
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Teacher Trainee (600 Clock Hours)Course Description: (D.O.T. # 075.127-010, CIP # 13.1399)

The Teacher Trainee course consists of 600 clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations
in teaching the art of Cosmetology as mandated by the California State Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. The program length for a full
time scheduled student is approximately 20 weeks, and approximately 30 weeks for part time schedule
students.

The course is designed to prepare the student to obtain the knowledge and skills needed for an entry-level
position as an instructor in the beauty field and to pass the California State Barbering and Cosmetology
Bureau licensing examination. Passing the exam is a requisite in order to obtain a Teacher Trainee License.
The Teacher Trainee license is one of the approved documents required to work as a Teacher Trainee in any
of the State of California Community Colleges, some vocational/ adult schools and some private institutions.
As of 12/04 there is no longer an examination or licensing for a Teacher Trainee Licensure. This is in review.

Course Format: The curriculum for students enrolled in a Teacher Trainee shall consist of 600 clock hours
of technical instruction and practical operations as mandated by the California State Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom
participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean the actual performance of the Teacher Trainee
of teaching techniques and principles.

GRADING CRITERIA:

GRADING PROCEDURES: Students are assigned academic learning units and a minimum number of practical experiences required for
course completion. Academic learning is evaluated after each unit of study. Practical skills learning is evaluated as completed and counted
toward course completion only when rated as satisfactory or better. Practical skills are evaluated according to text procedures. Students
must maintain a written grade average of 75 percent or higher and pass a final written and practical exam prior to graduation. Students must
make up failed or missed tests.

90-100 EXCELLENT

80-89 VERY GOOD

70-79 SATISFACTORY

60-69 NEEDS IMPROVEMENT
Below 60 UNSATISFACTORY

Educational Goals :

Teacher Trainee Performance Objectives To help develop the ability to:

1. Teach related information, manipulative operations, and techniques.

2. Use various teaching aids, such as instruction sheets, visual aids and tests to provide
information about specific teaching techniques used by the vocational teacher in the
working area and in the classroom.

1. The necessity for constant effort towards achievement of professional competency asateacher.
2. The importance of developing personal characteristics that contributes to success inteaching.

1. Develop occupational experiences and personal characteristics that will upgrade
the cosmetology profession by producing quality students.

2. Develop lesson plans, outlines, procedures and tests that will insure student
comprehension and will instill the will to learn in even the most difficult student.

3. Development of a course content reflecting a comprehensive, correlated unit of study.

4. Development of instructional materials that will facilitate set-up and preparation of class.
5. Development of supplemental teaching aids that will give the student a variety
of ideas from which to draw and maintain motivation.
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Course Contents: The curriculum for students enrolled in a Teacher trainee course shall consist of six hundred (600)
clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations in teaching the art of cosmetology shall include:

Minimum .
Subject: Hours of Dlinimut
Technical ractical
Instruction Operations:
1) The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Department’s Rules and 20 n/a
Regulations
2) Preparatory instruction:
a) Instructional techniques, method of instruction, lecture,
demonstration, performance, communication skills, instructional aids, a) 40 a) n/a
and use of questions to promote learning. b) 30 b) 50 = 50 hours
b) Organization Technique, four (4) step teaching method, performance Z; ?(()) Z; fl (/)a: 50 hours

objectives and learning domains, etc.

¢) Lesson planning, subject, title, outlines, development and visual aids etc.

d) Techniques of evaluation, purpose of test, types of test, test administration,
scoring and grading, etc.

3) Conducting classroom and technical instructions and demonstrations for three

(3) or more students on all practices of cosmetology, including the 140 n/a

Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Rules and Regulations: (shall be conducted
under the supervision of a licensed instructor

4) Supervising and Training of students while they are practicing the art of
cosmetology on a live person or mannequin in a classroom or laboratory. A
student enrolled in the 600 hour instructor training course may not engaged in
the school in a complete service connected with any practice or combination | 100 n/a
of practices of cosmetology upon a patron who is paying for services or
materials and shall not be permitted to enroll in a second course except
following examination failure after the precedingcourse.

Additional training: This Additional Training shall include salon management,
professional ethics, communication skills, salesmanship, personal hygiene,
grooming, decorum, record keeping, client customer service, seeking
employment, preparing a resume, interview preparation, payroll deductions
modeling, reception desk training, care and styling of wigs and other matters 100 n/a
related to the cosmetology field. Training may also include field trips such as
Industry/Student Expos. Date, time, and description of the field trip shall be
recorded.

Disclaimer for licensing requirements for Teacher Trainee: A/l course costs are only estimates
The California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology does not license Instructors/Teachers in the State of California.
Upon competition of this course, the graduate will receive a diploma of completion of the 600-hour Teacher Trainee
program for which they enrolled. In order to be hired as an Instructor/Teacher most schools will continue to require the
completed 600- hour Instructor/Teacher Trainee course, but it is not necessary. Experience will count towards being
able to teach.
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Esthetics Course (600 Clock Hours)

ESTHETICS COURSE OUTLINE

The curriculum for students enrolled in an Esthetics program shall consist of six hundred (600) clock hours of technical

instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of esthetics pursuant to Section 7354 of the
Barbering and Cosmetology Act. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation,
or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or
mannequin. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:

Subject: Minimum Minimum
FACIALS Minimum Technical Hours Practical Practical
350 HOURS REQUIRED Operations Hours
Manual/ Chemical Facials 60 80 80
Electrical Facials 60 80 80
Makeup 30 40 40
HEALTH & SAFETY 200
HOURS REQUIRED
Laws and Regulations 20 - ----
Chemistry 20 — S
Health and Safety/Anatomy 30 — —
Electricity 5 - -—--
Infection Control/Mircrobiology 25 - -—--
Disinfection and Sanitation 20 80 80
HAIR REMOVAL & LASH &
BROW BEAUTIFICATION

50 HOURS REQUIRED

Eyebrow Beautification 15 35 35

Esthetics Performance Objectives

A.Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California's Esthetics establishments' practices.

B. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of skin.

C. Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to Esthetics including anatomy, physiology, chemistry,
and theory.

D. Acquire business management techniques common to Esthetics.

Skills to be Developed

Learn the proper use of implements relative to all skin care services. Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the skin prior to all
services to determine any disorders. You will learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all esthetics services,
learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of individual and strip eyelashes, learn the
proper procedure of manual, chemical and electrical facials

Attitudes and Appreciations to be Developed
Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to esthetics, possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers,
appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in dealings with patrons and colleagues.
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INSTRUCTIONAL METHODS: The clock-hour education is provided through a sequential set of learning steps that address specific
tasks necessary for state board preparation, graduation, and entry-level job skills. Student salon equipment, implements, and products are
comparable to those used in the industry. Each student will receive instruction that relates to the performance of useful, creative, and
productive career-oriented activities. The course is presented through comprehensive lesson plans that reflect effective educational
methods. Subjects are presented by means of interactive lecture, demonstration, and student participation. Audio-visual aids, guest
speakers, field trips, projects, activities, and other related learning methods may be incorporated throughout the course of study

GRADING CRITERIA:

GRADING PROCEDURES: Students are assigned academic learning units and a minimum number of practical experiences required
for course completion. Academic learning is evaluated after each unit of study. Practical skills learning is evaluated as completed and
counted toward course completion only when rated as satisfactory or better. Practical skills are evaluated according to text procedures.
Students must maintain a written grade average of 75 percent or higher and pass a final written and practical exam prior to graduation.
Students must make up failed or missed tests.

90-100 EXCELLENT

80-89 VERY GOOD

70-79 SATISFACTORY

60-69 NEEDS IMPROVEMENT
Below 60 UNSATISFACTORY

o Theory and clinical evaluations will be based on; performance, attendance and
behavior. A student must meet the objectives in theory and clinicalapplications.

« A satisfactory grade of “C” (70%) or better must be achieved to pass the class. Students who
fail a class/subject must repeat the class/subject.

Educational Goals:

Performance Objective
5. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California Cosmetology establishment practices.
6. Understand sterilization procedures.
7. Acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to manicuring, including
anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory relative to practical procedures
performed.
8. Acquire business management techniques common to manicurist.

5. Use of proper implements relative to all manicuring, pedicuring, and artificialnails.
6. Develop the knowledge to recognize the various skin conditions and disorders.

7. Acquire practical knowledge in manicuring and pedicuring.
8. Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in use of manicuring, pedicure and artificial nails.

5. Be able to appreciate good workmanship common tomanicuring.
6. Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellowworkers.
7. Appreciate honesty and integrity.

8. Have improved personality in dealing with patrons andcolleagues.

Licensing Requirements: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Manicurist

license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and graduated from the
Manicuring course as described
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TUITION CHARGES

COURSE TUITION REGISTRATI BOOKS KIT & OTHER STRF FEE HOURLY TOTAL
ON FEE (NON | SUPPLIES (NON | CHARGES (NON- (NON- RATE CHARGES
REFUNDABL REFUNDABLE) REFUNDABLE) REFUDABLE)
E)

COSMETOLOGY $18,000.00 | $100.00 $1,900.00 $125.00 $50.00 $18.00 $20,175.00
BARBER $18,000.00 | $100.00 $1,900.00 $125.00 $50.00 $18.00 $20,175.00
MANICURING $3,000.00 $100.00 $800.00 $110.00 $10.00 $7.50 $4,107.50
TEACHER TRAINEE $6,000.00 $100.00 $250.00 $0.00 $15.00 $10.00 $ 6,360.00
ESTHETICS $9,600.00 $100.00 $1,900.00 $125.00 $30.00 $16.00 $ 11,755.00

*Extra Tuition will be charged for those students who exceed the term of their contract.

Extra Institutional Charges: Students whose training is extended beyond the calculated completion date due to absences
or accumulated tardies from school will be required to pay an extra additional tuition charge at their individual contracted
hourly rate depending on the enrolled program of study.

Hourly rates for each program are as follows: (1) $7.50 per hour for the Manicuring program, (2) $10.00 per hour for the
Teacher Trainee program, (3)$11.00 per hour for the Cosmetology program, and (4) $12.00 per hour for the Barber program.
American Beauty College may work out payment arrangements accordingly.

Example Calculation of Extra Tuition/Extra Institutional Charges for a Cosmetology Student who has exceeded the term
of their contract:

40 absent hours (hours behind) x $11.00 per hour (cosmetology hourly rate) = $440.00 in Extra Tuition/Extra Institutional
Charges.

Please Note: Students will not be considered a graduate, until all contracted obligations are fulfilled, or satisfactory
arrangements made.

TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE CURRENT

PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE COSMETOLOGY BARBER MANICURING  [TEACHER TRAINEE ESTHETICS
Tuition $18,000.00 $18,000.00 | $3,000.00 $6,000.00 $9,600.00
Registration (Non-Refundable) $100.00 $100.00 $100.00 $100.00 $100.00
Books, Kit & Supplies (Non-Refundable) $1,900.00 $1,900.00 $800.00 $250.00 $1,900.00
Other Charges (Non-Refundable) $125.00 $125.00 $200.00 $0.00 $125.00
STRF (Non-Refundable) $50.00 $50.00 $7.50 $10.00 $30.00
EEIE;IATED Total Charges for Entire )0 17500 | $20,175.00 | $4,107.50 | $6,360.00 | $11,755,00

BOOKS / Learning Resources

Cosmetology:
Pivot Point Salon Fundamental Cosmetology English ISBN: SFO1E3 2015 3 978-1-940593-26-5

Barber:
Pivot Point Fundamentals: Barbering English ISBN: FUNBSET-SSG 2018 1 978-1-940593-96-8

Manicuring:
Pivot Point Fundamentals: Nails English ISBN: FUNNSET-SSG 2022 1 978-1-957642-09-3

Teacher Trainee:
Master Educator TEXTBOOK ISBN-13: 9781133693697
Master Educatore Digital ISBN: 9781337398848

Esthetics:
Pivot Point Fundamentals: Esthetics English ISBN: FUNESET-SSG 2020 1 978-1-951862-29-9
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TUITION AND FEES POLICY

As of 01/01/15, ABC charges the full tuition, which is discussed individually in the admissions
and financial aid process. A registration fee is charged prior to the start of the course. Books, equipment
and supplies are a separate charge that will be assessed and posted in the student’s tuition account within
the first payment period. Please refer to “payment period definition.”

Textbooks, Equipment and Supplies: The PIVOT POINT LAB Interactive Learning Platform, and
Course Study Guide will be used for students theory and practical studies. A complete kit for each

course may be purchased by the student from the school. Students are required to maintain their own
kit supplies and equipment necessary for a successful completion of any course of study. It is the
student’s responsibility to replace any lost or broken articles in the kit. The school is not responsible for
any student equipment that is lost, stolen or broken.

Due to sanitary reasons, the equipment once issued and accepted by the student, is not returnable
to the school for any reason. The kit contents, therefore, becomes the property and responsibility
of the student. The books, equipment and supplies are not returnable once issued due to the
sanitary condition upon arrival.

Method of Payment: Federal student aid is available to those that qualify to cover educational
expenses. Financial aid may be in a form of a frant (no repayment required), or student loans. Cash
paying students may arrange an individualized payment plan that is agreed upon signing of an
enrollment agreement with the Institution.

Note: Should a student complete the program earlier than the estimated time frame stated in the contract, the
students financial aid package may blé recalculated which may result in liabilities owed by the student and/or
the institution, if applicable.

Request for School Paperwork

Students requesting copies of any paperwork from the school, will be charged a $50.00 processing fee.
This request will be made available within a reasonable amount of time and given to the student after the
fee has been paid. This processing fee is subject to change at the discretion of ABC at any time.

ABC Offers:

Federal Pell Grants, Federal SEOG, Direct loan subsidized, unsubsidized and Plus Loans
Students are expected to contribute from their own family resources toward the complete cost of the
selected course of study if they do not qualify or take advantage of student loans. It is the policy of this
institution to request from the student tuition fees by making monthly and or weekly installments in

accordance to individual contracts. Students may be subject to a $25 monthly/weekly penalty
charge for any late payments or non-payments that the student did not fulfill. Additionally, ABC

may request that a student not return to their course of study until all payments including late fees are
up-to-date. These penalty charges are subject to change at any time at the discretion of ABC.
All estimates of available funds from financial aid will be first used to cover institutional charges; if
funds remain available, they will be disbursed directly to the student. The entire educational
expense must be include and considered in planning the student's ability to meet all school expenses.
For further financial aid information, please see the financial aid officer oradministrator
NOTE:
If a student obtains and accepts a student loan to pay for an education program, the student will be responsible to repay the
full amount of the loan plus interest, less any amount of any refund.
If student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from
federal student financial aid program funds.
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REFUND POLICY:
This refund policy applies to all terminations for any reason, by either party, including student decision, course or program
cancellation, or school closure.

STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL.:

You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction and receive a full refund through attendance at the
first class session, or the seventh calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later.

1. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time; and you have the right to receive a
pro-rata refund if you have completed sixty (60) percent or less of the program. Changes to programs, i.e. Drops and/or Adds,
can only be made during the first 7 calendar days of the program.

2. Cancellation may occur when the student provides a written notice of cancellation to American Beauty College 646 S.

Sunset Ave. West Covina , CA 91790. This can be submitted by mail, FAX, email, or by hand delivery.

3. The cancellation date will be determined by the postmark on the written notification, or the date the written notification is
delivered to American Beauty College in person.

4. The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form , and however expressed, it is effective if it shows that the
student no longer wishes to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement.

5. If the Enrollment Agreement is canceled, within 45 days after the notice of cancellation is received, American Beauty

College will refund the student any money he/she paid, less a registration or administration fee not to exceed $150.00, and

less any deduction for equipment that the student has received and signed for.

REMEMBER THAT YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING. Students do not have the right to cancel by telephoning, or not
coming to class.

The student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class
session (first day of classes)( ), or the seventh day after enrollment (seven days from the date when enrollment
agreement was signed) (), whichever is later.

A registration fee of $ 100.00 is a non- refundable item. Equipment, books, supplies, tools, uniforms, kits and any other items
issued and received by the student would not be returnable. Once received by the student it will belong to the student and will
represent a liability to the student.

WITHDRAWAL FROM THE PROGRAM:

You may withdraw from American Beauty College at any time after the cancellation period (described above) and receive a pro-
rata refund within 45 days of withdrawal if you have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance, based on scheduled
hours. American Beauty College will refund the student any money he/she paid, less a registration or administration fee not to
exceed $150.00, and less any deduction for equipment that the student has received and signed for.

For the purpose of determining a refund under this section, a student shall be deemed to have withdrawn from a program

when the following occurs:

®  The student notifies the institution of the student’s withdrawal in writing.

® The institution terminates the student’s enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory progress; failure to abide by the rules
and regulations of the institution; absence in excess of maximum set forth by the institution; and/or failure to meet financial
obligations to American Beauty College.

®  The student has failed to attend class for fourteen (14) calendar days, as determined by monitoring clock hour attendance
at least every thirty (30) days.

®  Failure to return from a leave of absence. The date of the student’s withdrawal shall be the earlier of the scheduled date of
return from the leave of absence, or the date the student notifies the institution that the student will not be returning.

All refunds are calculated based on the student’s last date of attendance.

For students who enroll and begin classes, but withdraw prior to course completion (after seven business days of signing the
contract), the following schedule of tuition earned by the school applies. All refunds are based on scheduled hours:

Percent of Scheduled Time Enrolled to Total Program Total Tuition School Shall Retain
0.01% to 60% Prorated based on percentage of scheduled attendance
60.01% and over 100%
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HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE ACCORDING TO THE STATE PRORATA POLICY:
Assume that a student, upon enrollment in a 1,600 hour course, pays $6,800.00 for tuition, $75.00 for registration, and
$525.00, (documented cost to the school) for equipment as specified in the enrollment agreement, and withdraws after 600
hours into the course (this includes class days not attended by the student) without returning (due to sanitary reasons) the
equipment he/she obtained. The pro-rata refund to the student would be $4,250.00 based on the calculation stated below:

Total Paid: $7,400.00 | Tuition Cost: $6,800.0 | Paid for Instruction: $6,800.00
Less registration fee (non-refundable): $75.00 Hours in the course: 1,600 Hours attended: 600

Less cost of non- returnable equipment: | $525.00 | Hourly Charge: $4.25 Tuition owed: 600 X $4.25| $2,550.00
Equal amount paid for instruction: $6,800.00 Refund due: $4,250.00

Determination of Withdrawal from School: The withdrawal date shall be the last date of recorded attendance. The student
would be determined to have withdrawn from school on the earliest of:
The date you notify the Financial Aid Office of your intent to withdraw. Only the Financial Aid Office would be
authorized to accept a notification of your intent to withdraw.
The date the school terminates your enrollment due to academic failure or for violation of its rules and policies stated in the
catalog.
The date you fail to attend classes for a two-week period (14 calendar days) and fail to inform the school that you
are not withdrawing.
For California Schools: If you are absent for three consecutive weeks and are not on an approved leave of absence, you
will be deemed a withdrawal even though you have indicated that you were not withdrawing.
The date you failed to return as scheduled from an approved leave of absence. The withdrawal date shall be the last date of
recorded attendance.
For students on an approved LOA, the date of the determination of withdrawal will be the scheduled date of
return from LOA.

Return of Title IV Funds: This formula determines the percentage of time that the student completed of the payment
period or enrollment period in a course at the time of the student’s withdrawal. This percentage is then applied to the
amount of Federal Funds from the Title IV programs that the student received or could have received in the same
payment period or enrollment period. The result of this calculation is defined as earned funds. If the student received
more than the earned amount, the over payment is called unearned funds and must be returned to the programs in the
following order:

1 Unsubsidized Loans from FFELP or Direct Loan
2 Subsidized Loans from FFELP or Direct Loan

3 Perkins Loans

4. PLUS (Graduate Students) FFELP or Direct Loan
5. PLUS (Parent) FFELP or Direct Loan

6. Pell Grant

7. Academic Competitiveness Grant (ACG)

8 National SMART Grant

9.  Federal SEOG

10. Other

If the calculation shows that the student owes funds to the loan programs, the repayment of those funds will be in
accordance to the terms on the promissory note of the respective loans.

If the calculation shows that the student owes funds to the grant programs, the liability of the student is limited to the
amount by which the original grant over payment amount exceeds half of the total Title IV grant funds received by
student. A student does not have to repay a grant over payment of $50 or less per program.

These funds are due from the student within 45 days. If not paid in that time and if the student has not made arrangements
with the Department to pay that amount, the student will be referred to NSLDS, a central system that will show the
student ineligible for aid until the matter is taken care of by the student.

NOTE: If the institution was required by this calculation to return to the programs some of the funds it has
collected as tuition payment, the student’s tuition account would be adjusted accordingly. Therefore, if the
tuition was paid in full, but if the institution returned funds to the programs, the tuition account will show that
the student owes that amount returned by the institution to the programs. Those refunds will be paid to the
program funds in accordance to the order listed above, limited to the amount of funds that came from each
aid program within 45 calendar days from the determination of withdrawal from schooldate.

Post Withdrawal Disbursement: If the calculation shows that the student received less aid than what the student earned

within the payment period or enrollment period, then the student would be notified by the institution of the amount of
Grant
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funds used to cover institutional charges incurred by the student, or the available amount from Grant funds for direct
disbursement to the student for other educational related expenses. If loan funds are involved in this calculation, the
institution will notify the student or parent of the loan amount it wishes to utilize to cover educational charges, the
financial aid program where the funds are coming from and the student will be reminded of the responsibilities
involved in receiving loan funds. The student or parent in the case of PLUS will be given 14 days to respond and
accept or reject part or all of the loan funds available. The institution will honor late acceptances only at the
institutional discretion.

Once this calculation is finalized, the institution will then perform a second and different calculation using the net funds
retained (original tuition payments minus amounts refunded) to determine the amount of institutional charges earned
by the
institution during the payment or enrollment period. That calculation is known as the institutional refund policy calculation.

If any portion of the tuition was paid from the proceeds of a loan or third party, the refund shall be sent to the lender, third party or,
if appropriate, to the state or federal agency that guaranteed or re insured the loan. Any amount of the refund in excess of the unpaid
balance of the loan shall be first used to repay any student financial aid programs from which the student received benefits, in
proportion to the amount of benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to the student.

If a course is canceled subsequent to a student’s enrollment, and before instruction in the course has begun, the school shall provide
a full refund of all monies paid.

If the school cancels a program and ceases to offer instruction after students have enrolled, and instruction has begun, the school
shall at its option:

®  Provide a pro-rata refund for all students transferring to another school based on the hours accepted by the receiving school; or
®  Provide completion of the program; or

®  Participate in a Teach-Out Agreement; or

®  Provide a full refund of all monies paid

In the event the school closes permanently and ceases to offer instruction after students have enrolled, and instruction has begun,
the school will make arrangements for students to attend an alternate institution through participation in a Teach-Out Agreement.
Should the student elect not to attend the alternate institution, a pro-rata refund of tuition will be made in accordance with the
refund policy outlined above. Any monies due are refunded within 45 days. When situations of mitigating circumstances are in
evidence, the school may adopt a policy wherein the refund to the student may exceed the minimum requirements.

Accrediting Commission Formula:
This institution is required to follow the California State refund formula in calculating refunds. Therefore, since the
calculations under the state refund
policy results at all times more favorable to the student than the calculations under the accrediting commission refund policy
formula, the accrediting
commission refund policy formula is not followed by this institution.

For further information, contact:

Office of Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

PO Box 980818 West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818

Telephone (916) 574-7720 Fax (916) 574-7796 - E-mail: bppe@dca.ca.gov
Refunds: If any refunds are due based on the Return of Title IV calculation or based on the institutional refund policy calculation,
any refunds will be made as soon as possible but not later than 45 days from the determination of withdrawal date in the order
stated in section CFR 34 section 668.22.
The order of payment of refunds is, 1) Un subsidized Loans from FFELP or Direct Loan, 2) Subsidized Loans from FFELP or
Direct Loan, 3) Perkins Loans, 4) PLUS (Graduate Students) FFELP or Direct Loan, 5) PLUS (Parent) FFELP or Direct Loan,
6) Pell Grant, 7)Academic Competitiveness Grant (ACG), 8) National SMART Grant, 9) Federal SEOG, 10) Other. This order
would apply in accordance to the aid programs available at the institution.

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND:

“The State of California establish the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss
suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident, while
enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an
economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it
must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled
in a residence program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.” You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you
are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency
program.

To be eligible for STRF,you must be a California Resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid

for deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or
discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a

chosen tech-out plan approved by the Bureau.
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L. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the
closure of the instruction or location of the institution, or were enrolled in a educational program within the 120
day period before the program was discontinued.

2. You were enrolled at an intuition or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the
institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in a n educational program within the 120 day period before
the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution of=r a location of the institution more than 120 days before the
closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as
to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more
than 120 day before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by
law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. Youhave been awarded restitution,a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a

violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the

award from the institution.
7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an

invoice for services render and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.
To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event
that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.
A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been
more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written
application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number, of a taxpayer identificationnumber.”
"Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be
directed to the Bureau for Private Post secondary Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 or
P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, www.bppe.ca.gov, (888) 370- 7589 or by fax (916)263-1897"
"A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Post
secondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's
internet web site (www.bppe.ca.gov)."

It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, and/or any other
information that documents the amount paid to the school.

Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Post secondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive,
Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number.

Course Cancellation: If a course is canceled subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction in the course has
begun, the school shall at its option:

1) Provide a full refund of all money paid; or

2) Provide for completion of the course at schools in the neighborhood.

School Closure: If the school closes subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction in the course has begun, the
school shall at its option:

1) Provide a full refund of all money paid; or

2) Provide for completion of the course at schools in the neighborhood.

TRANSCRIPTS

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION: The transfer-

Ability of credits you earn at AMERICAN BEAUTY COLLEGE is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer.
Acceptance of the diploma you earn in the course is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the
diploma that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some, or all of your
coursework at the institution you are transferring. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational
goals.This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending AMERICAN BEAUTY COLLEGE to determine if your
diploma will transfer.

*If institution offers more than one educational program, only the program in which the student is enrolling must

be listed. Note: Academic transcripts will not be released until all tuition and charges are paid in ful or satisfactory

arrangements made.

Placement: This school does not guarantee placement. However, limited job placement assistance by providing referrals to graduates is
available.
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FINANCIAL AID

Consumer Information: Based on a combination of approvals, authorization, and accreditation, our students are
eligible to apply for and receive tuition aid and financial assistance while attending the college. Lists of these
programs include: Federal PELL Grant: Does not require repayment (FPELL).

General Information: If you wish to apply for financial aid or you have questions, or you need sections of the
handbook clarified, contact the financial aid office at the school. Additional information regarding the student aid
programs available may be found in “The Student Guide” and the “Free Application for Federal Student Aid”
published by the U.S. Department of Education. Additional information may be obtained by calling the Federal
Student Aid Information Center between 9:00am and 5:00pm (Eastern Time) Monday through Friday (800) 433-3243.
or at http:/federalstudentaid.ed.gov

Compliance Statement: The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of
his/her social security number is mandatory. The social security number is used to verify students’ identities, to process
the awarding of funds, the collection of funds, and the tracing of individuals who have borrowed funds from federal,
state or private programs.

Financial Aid Mechanism: Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces out-of-pocket costs that the student and/or
parents must pay to obtain a specific post-secondary education. Presented differently, financial aid is money made
available to help students meet the cost of college attendance. Financial aid includes grants and loans. Grants do not
have to be repaid. Loans usually have low interest rates and a student must repay in accordance to the individual loan
program terms. Most of the loans can be arranged to require payment after a grace period of several months upon
graduation, or upon the student’s termination from the program or if a student’s attendance falls below half time.
Financial aid is awarded to students who have “need”.

Need is the difference between the amount of money that the family will be expected to contribute to meet student costs
and the cost of education at this school.

The U.S. Department of Education Title IV Student Financial Aid Programs: ABC is approved for,
and does participate in the following USDE Title IV programs intended to defray the costs of attending for
those students eligible for financial aid considerations:

Federal PELL Grant Program (FPELL)

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant

Program (FSEOGQG)

Federal Direct Loan

Application for Aid, Procedures and Forms: A financial aid application for this institution consists of the following:
Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) this form needs to be completed as instructed on the form.
Documentation to substantiate the data entered on the form may be required by the financial aid office. Forms and
assistance in completing them are available at this school during school hours.

Federal Pell Grant Program: Funds received under this program are not subject to repayment from the student.

Deadline: FASFA applications must be received by June 30 in the year on which the application is intended for. SAR or
ISIR must be submitted to the financial aid office by September 30, of the award year from which aid is requested from,
or your last day of enrollment in 2018-19, whichever comes first. A valid ISIR requires signatures of student, spouse
and/or parents, when the ISIR has been corrected.

Renewal Process: A FPELL Grant award receive for one award year (July 1 to June 30 of the following year), and

it is not automatically renewed for the next award year. Students must re-apply for the FPELL Grant and submit a
copy of the new SAR or ISIR to the financial aid office.

Disbursement: They are made based on per payment period via a check payable to the student or via a direct
credit to the student’s tuition account.

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG): Funds received under this program are not
subject to repayment from the student.

Deadline: You may apply during the enrollment process, using the FAFSA form. The school will provide you a letter
listing the amount and types of financial aid you will be awarded, including the FSEOG award.
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Disbursement: Made based on per payment period via a check payable to the student or via a direct credit to the
student’s tuition account. Priority for FSEOG funds will be given to students eligible for Pell Grant. This institution
has a year-round enrollment. Therefore, funds will be awarded in a manner that funds would be available to students
enrolling throughout the entire year. If SEOG funds still available, a second priority will be given to Non Pell recipient
students with the lowest Expected Family contributions enrolled during the last three months.

Direct Loan: Accepting a loan listed in the award letter involves some additional steps, which vary depending on the
type of loan you’re receiving. Saying yes is as simple as signing a promissory note (a contract between you and the
U.S. Department of Education (USDE) that specifies terms and conditions of the loan). By signing the promissory note,
you are promising to repay your student loan. The financial aid office will guide you through the paperwork or direct
you to www.studentloans.gov to sign the online Master Promissory Note (MPN). The MPN is a legal document in
which the borrower promises to repay the loan and any accrued interest and fees to the U.S. Department of Education.
The MPN can cover multiple academic years. Contact the financial aid administrator at your school if you need more
information or have any questions about your award letter. For additional information on Federal Financial Aid
programs, request “The Student Guide” published by USDE.

Determining Need: The information you report on the FAFSA form when you apply for aid is used in a formula
established by U.S. Congress that calculated your Expected Family Contribution. Utilizes the Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) a contractor of the U.S. Department of Education at no cost will process this form to
the student. The results will be provided in the form of an Electronic Student Aid Report with the calculation of the
Expected Family Contribution.

Cost of Attendance: The total amount it will cost a student to go to school.

This institution uses the annual budgets published by the CALIFORNIA STUDENT AID COMMISSION.

Elements included in thebudget:
Tuition (actual cost)
Registration Fee (actual cost)
Books and Supplies (actual cost)

Living cost allowance (monthly figures): S:;gsgt living with Student living off campus
Room and Board $272.00 $808.00

Transportation $82.00 $92.00

Personal/ Misc. (cost of uniforms is included in personal) $172.00 $186.00

Award Concept, Selection of Recipients and Packaging Criteria: This institution does not receive
enough Campus-Base funds to satisfy all the student financial needs. Therefore, the school emphasizes the
SELF-HELP CONCEPT of student financial assistance. The SELF-HELP CONCEPT is on a first-come, first-
served basis when awarding eligible applicants. If the student does not wish to assume the combined debt of two

or more loans, they may decline any loans offered by the school. ALL LOANS MUST BE REPAID.

The SELF-HELP CONCEPT lists types of financial assistance in the following order:
1. Family contributions

2. Other resources

3. Federal PELL Grant

4. Self Help (Stafford and/or, PLUS Loans)

The school awards from the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants in accordance with the following policy:
The institutional participation in the Federal Educational Opportunity Grant is limited to the amount of funds given
to the institution for an entire award year. (July 1 to June 30). Federal SEOG funds are disbursed on a per payment
period basis, via a check payment made payable to the student or via a direct credit to the student tuition account.
Priority for SEOG funds will be given to students eligible for Pell Grants. This Institution has an open enrollment;
therefore, funds will be awarded to a student enrolling throughout the whole year. Amount Awarded varies on a
student per student basis.
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Definitions: The following definitions correspond to some common terms used within the financial aid terminology:

Academic Year: A period of not less than 26 weeks of instructional time with a minimum of 900 clock hours of
instruction for a full time student. The midpoint of the academic year shall be a minimum of 13 weeks and at least 450
clock hours. In effect, all students enrolled in courses with an academic year schedule to be completed in less than 26
weeks, regardless of the number of clock hours offered, would have aid eligibility reduced in proportion to the number
of weeks and hours in the course of study in relation to the academic year.

Clock Hour: 60 minutes of supervised instruction or theory class during a one hour period.

Credit Balance: A credit balance occurs when tuition payments have been received by the institution in excess of
the amount of charges assessed to the student. Credit balances are paid within 14 business days from the day the credit
balance was generated. Students must be responsible for keeping track of their own funds and for securing that the
funds are used for education related expenses.

Dependent Student: He/She is an individual that does not meet the independent student criteria. This student is
required to submit with his/her application, student and parents’ income and assets data.

Independent Student: He/She are an individual other than the spouse that has been supported and will continue to
be supported (50% or more of those individual personal expenses) by the student and/or spouse. If that individual is and
will continue to be supported by the student parent(s), that individual would be a dependent of the parent(s) NOT a

dependent of the student.
Family Contribution (EFC): The calculated amount that a family contributes to offset the student cost of attendance.

To be eligible for financial aid, a student must:

Be admitted as a regular student;

Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible program on at least a half timebasis;

Be a citizen or an eligible non-citizen;

Not owe a refund on a FPELL Grant or FSEOG at any school;

Not be in default on a Perkins Loan or Stafford Loan/SLS/PLUS/Direct Loan at anyschool;

Have financial need;

Be making satisfactory progress (as defined by the school’s policy) in the course ofstudy;

Be registered for selective service (if a male born on or after January 1, 1960);

Have signed a statement of educational purpose;

Have signed a statement of updated information;

Have a High school diploma (or its equivalent), a GED, or have attended another institution and received Title
IV funding through the ability-to-benefit (student is required to complete 250 hours as a cash paying student
before they may be able to receive Title IV funding).If an ATB student; he/she must have PASSED such test
before July 1, 2013 and provide proof of Satisfactory PASSING or it.

« Agree to use any federal student aid received solely for educational purposes.

Financial Aid Eligibility Citizen/ Eligible Non-Citizen: You must be one of the following to receive student aid:
U.S. Citizen

U.S. National

US. permanent resident who has an I-151 or [-551 (Alien Registration receipt card)

Departure Record (I-94) from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing one of the
following designations:

Refugee

Asylum

Granted

Indefinite Parole and/or

Humanitarian Parole Cuban-

Haitian Entrant

If you are in the US under one of the following conditions, you are not eligible for federal aid:
F1 or F2 student visa
J1 or J2 exchange visitor visa only

Independent Student: An individual who meets one of the following criteria:
1. Was born before January 1, 1993
. A graduate or professional student
. Is Married (Separated but not divorced)
. An individual with legal dependents other than a spouse. (As defined above)
. An orphan or ward of the court up to the age of18
. A veteran of the armed forces of the United States

N AW
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Parent(s): For the purposes of the financial aid programs, “a parent” is the mother and/or father or adoptive parents,
stepparent or legal guardian not Foster Parents. The school will not discuss any personal or professional information
with any parent or legal guardian of a student that is at least 18 years of age. If the student gives permission for the
school personnel to speak with a particular person regarding their personal or academic progress, that student will fill
out the appropriate paperwork giving that permission.

Payment Period:

450 hours and 13 weeks for courses of 900 hours or more. It is the mid-point of the program for courses of less than
900 hours and 26 weeks.

Need:
Financial need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution from your cost of attendance.

Withdrawals:

Students are officially withdrawn on date of notification, date terminated by the institution, date of two consecutive
weeks of absences or date when the student failed to return from an approved leave of absence.

Professional Judgment:
This will be process on an individual basis, and it will be solely at the complete discretion of the Financial Aid Officer.

Dependency Override:

This will be process on an individual basis, if merit, and it will be solely at the complete discretion of the
Financial Aid Officer.

Recoveries:

Recoveries resulting from unearned Title IV funds due from the student must be paid in accordance to the terms stated
in the promissory note of the student loans. If funds from the grants programs still due from the student, those funds are
payable at the rate of 50%. Grant funds due from the student must be repaid within 45 days from the student's
withdrawal date. Students may make repayment arrangements with the

US. Department of Education within the 45 days and present proof of such arrangements to the institution. If no
repayment is received nor arrangements are presented, the institution will refer the debt to the U.S. Department of
Education. The student will no longer be eligible for aid until informed by the U.S. Department of Education.

Transfer Students:

A student, who attended a Post-secondary institution before the enrollment at this school, is required to inform &
submit a proof of training document to the admissions representative & financial aid officer of the schools attended
to receive credit hours. Specifically, if the student's attendance at the prior institution occurred between July 1,
through June 30th, of the subsequent year and the financial aid was advanced from the prior institution, the aid
available at this institution will be adjusted.

Verification Process for the 2023-2024 Award Years:

Federal regulations 34 C.F.R. Part 668, Sub-part E, dated March 14, 1986 April 29, 1994, November 29, 1994 -
executing legislation 20 U.S.C. 1094 governing the title IV programs require schools to be sure of certain applicant-
reported data.

These regulations require schools to develop written policies and procedures for verification.

The school is required to make these policies available to all applicants for financial aid, as well as prospective students
upon request. This procedure is part of the Admissions and Counseling process.

To follow the regulations and achieve consistency governing this process, the following verification policies apply to
all applicants for Title IV programs. Under the regulations, the school will not disburse FPELL or Campus-Based aid,
nor certify Stafford/PLUS or Direct Loan applications, until completion of verification process.

Who must be verified: The policy of this school shall be to verify those students selected by the need analysis (ISIR)
system for verification.

Verification Exclusions: Applicants excluded from verification include:
o Death- Applicant dies during the award year or before the deadline for completing theverification.
o Incarceration- Applicant is incarcerated at the time the verification is to beperformed.
o  Certain immigration status- Applicant arrived in the U.S. during calendar years 2018 and2019.
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o  Certain spouse/parent status: - Spouse or parent information is not required to be verified if the
spouse or the parent is deceased, or physically incapacitated, or residing in a country other thanthe
United States and cannot be contacted by normal means, or cant be located because the address is
unknown and cannot be obtained by the applicant.

« Completed verification- If the student completed the verification at another institution prior to
transferring to this school if all the following documents are provided from that school:

1. Letter stating that the verification process was completed

2. Copy of the application data that was verified, andsigned

3. If the student was awarded FPELL Grant, a copy of the signed SAR/ISIR.
4. A completed Financial Aid transcript.

« Pacific Island residency status- Legal residents of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Guam,
Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. To qualify for this exclusion the
parents of a dependent student must also be legal residents of one of these territories. Citizens ofthe
Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia or the Republic of Palau. To
qualify for this exclusion the parents of a dependent student must also be citizens of one of these
territories. To document the basis for this exclusion, the applicable permanent mailing address

« No funds disbursed- The applicant will not receive federal aid funds

Required Verification Items: Examine the data items listed in 34 C.F.R. 668.56. Different data items apply to
different applicants depending upon student dependency status and the Title IV programs used.
Data items include:
Total number of persons in the household.
The number of members of household enrolled at least half-time students in post-secondary educational institutions.
Adjusted gross income (AGI) or adjusted gross family income (AGFI) for the base year (2017).
U.S. income tax paid for the base year (2017).
Certain untaxed income and benefits for the base year if certain conditions would apply include:

1. Social Security benefits.
Child support
Untaxed payments to IRA or Keogh
Foreign income
Earned income credit
. Interest on tax free bonds

The school shall resolve inconsistent application information for all applicants, in agreement with requirements of 34

C.F.R. Part 688.16(f).
Documentation Required: Student, spouse and/or parents (as applicable) signed income tax forms (IRS 1040, 1040A,
or 1040EZ and W-2 forms). Applicants shall complete the appropriate sections of the Verification Worksheet 2019-
2020. There are two different worksheets: One for dependent students and one for independent students. Use the
worksheets to update and for verification of data. Applicants shall follow the instructions in the Verification Worksheet.
The school’s financial aid officer may require/provide other appropriate forms. Other documentation may be required.
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Time Period for Providing Documentation: Applicants must provide the required documentation within 60 days
from the last day of attendance or August 31, 2021 whichever is earlier.

CONSEQUENCES OF FAILURE TO PROVIDE DOCUMENTING WITHIN THE SPECIFIED TIME PERIOD(S):
If the student cannot provide all required documentation, the school cannot complete the verification process within 60

days from the date of the request. The school must then advise applicants that they are not eligible for financial aid funds.
The school then gives the applicants the following options:

The student may continue training on a cash payment basis.

The student may withdraw, and re-enroll at no additional charge. There will be no loss of credit earned, when the

student provides all proof, and verification is complete.

The applicant must repay any over award or any award for which he/she was not eligible, discovered during verification.

Applicant Responsibilities: To be eligible to receive Title IV funds, we require applicants to provide requested
information during the time period(s) specified in these policies. Applicants must certify that the following data items
are correct as listed on the original application; or, if not correct, must update the data items, as of the date of

verification: . .
* Number of family members in the household
* Number of family members in the household now enrolled as at least half-time students on post-secondaryinstitutions.

* Change in dependency status.

Federal PELL Grant applicant whose dependency status changes during the Award Year must file a correction
application. This process does not apply if the change occurs due to marriage. Campus-based applicants whose
dependency status
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changes during the Award Year must have their FC re-calculated. This process does not apply if the change occurs due
to marriage.

The applicant must repay any over award, or any award, discovered during verification, for which he/she was
not eligible.

Interim disbursements: The school may not make any interim disbursements. The student must complete verification

before disbursement of any Title IV funds.

Tolerances: If there are non-dollar errors and if the errors in dollar items total less the $400, there is no requirement to

recalculate the students EFC.

Notification of Results of Verification: The school shall notify the applicant of the results of the verification process

within 30 days of the student’s submission.

Referral Procedure: The school shall forward to the Secretary of Education, or Attorney General, all referral of fraud cases.
Student Dress Code

Students must wear ALL BLACK attire, no logos, no prints, no color.

Bottoms must be neat black pants, (black jeans, black slacks, dress pants, or black scrub pants only)

No athletic wear (no leggings, no jogger pants, no shorts)

All clothing worn to campus must be all black, in good repair, not faded, not torn, not ripped, pinned or taped.
All black, closed toed shoes must be worn at all times. Think safety and comfort.

Name badges must be worn at all times while on the school premises.

Sweaters and jackets worn inside of the classroom or on school premises must be ALL black. No other logos than American Beauty College logo, are
allowed.

No sunglasses, hats or beanies may be worn inside of a classroom or on the clinic floor.

Students appearing in school not dressed in a clean and proper uniform or appearing improperly groomed, such as hair not combed or neat, will be required to
correct appearance.

Makeup must be appropriate for day-wear. Individual appearance needs to be completed on the students own time, before or after school.

® Accessories must not be offensive or get in the way of any practical assignment or client service.

No hats, beanies or sunglasses may be worn inside the classrooms or on the clinic floor.

*If a student does not meet the dress code requirements they will receive a written advising report, and additionally may be asked to clock
out and leave the premises, or may be suspended at the discretion of any staff, instructor, or administrative staff. *

When/IF necessary, dress code can, and may be changed at the discretion of ABC. Failure to observe and comply with the above rules and regulations may
subject the student to a suspension, and/or termination from school.

School Rules and Regulations

1. School hours are: Tuesday- Friday for day classes 8:30am - 5:00pm 8 hours per day) and the evening classes are: Tuesday- Friday from 5:30pm -10:30 pm (5
hours per day). (school hours subject to change)

In case of illness or emergency, the student must call (626)472-7402 or e-mail in to report his/her absence during the course of the day when the
absence occurs. email: erika.freeman@americanbeautycollege.com

2. Students are required to be in class for roll call at the start of the scheduled class in a clean prescribed uniform. See “dress code” regulations.

3. A student who is tardy later than (8:45am=tardy, 5:45PM = Tardy)or with excessive tardiness or absences will be advised. In addition they may be suspended
or be placed on probation until attendance improves. If there is no improvement in poor attendance a student may be withdrawn from the program.

4. Part Time (5 hour per day) students are entitled to a two 10 minute break. Full time (8 hour per day) students are entitled to (2) 10 minute breaks and 30 min.
Lunch

5. A student must use the finger scan system to clock IN and OUT to record the time arriving to the school and departing from school. Student's and Instructor’s
signatures are required on the document to verify proof of practical and theory completed by student.. The instructor's signatures are also required to confirm the
student's attendance.Students failing to do so will only receive credit for hours clocked in the computerized system. Students may also be required to clock in
and out for breaks extended beyond the allowable time.

6. No student is allowed to clock out during school hours without permission from the Instructor. No student may clock in or out for another student. Any time a
student leaves the building; the student must clock out and leave his/her operations card with an Instructor.

7. Operation cards and school property may never leave the school premises.

8. No visitors are permitted in the classroom unless approved by management.
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9. The school’s business phones are for emergency calls only. Students are not permitted to leave a client to answer the phone. Cell phones are permitted on
break /lunch or outside of the building-only.

10. Any computer that a student has been allowed to use by ABC, or their instructor must be used in a professional manner and with respect for the school’s
property. Social network sites can be used to do research and retrieve information for the student’s education.

11. Rigid adherence to the rules of sanitation and disinfection and personal hygiene is required at all times. A minimum of }2 hour of sanitation must be
completed by each student daily. All kits/items must be in a sanitized condition at the end of each day.

12. Must keep workstation in class or on the clinic floor clean and sanitary at all times.

13. All students serving the public must be courteous and pleasant. If difficulty arises, please call an instructor. Students must take all appointments assigned to
the student. Refusal to accept a client/patron for a client service is grounds for dismissal for that day.

14. No student may leave a patron/client while performing any service, except in an emergency and, if he/she is excused by an instructor.

15. Students are not allowed to give services or materials other than what is called for on the service ticket. Students violating this rule will be disciplined
accordingly.

16. Students will pay in advance for supplies on personal services such as permanents, tints, bleaches, etc.

17. Students are responsible for the return of college materials or equipment loaned to them. Students should not borrow equipment from each other. Each
student is solely responsible for his/her personal belongings and materials.

18. Students must not gather around the receptionist desk, congregate in the office, or visit with another student who is busy with a patron. All appointment must
be made by the receptionist/Instructor and no changes are to be made by students.

19. Students must keep a record of hours and services each day as required on the student weekly record of applied effort. Weekly cards will be audited by the
school administrators and by authorized governing agencies. Credit will be given for applied effort continuously engage in training and study of the branch of
cosmetology the student is enrolled. All work must be checked by an instructor or credit will not be given. Recording of hours and operations on the time card
must be clear and readable. No other marks, coloring, drawings or white-out is acceptable on a student’s card.

20. Only products furnished by the college may be used unless otherwise approved by the instructor.
21. Students must comply with all instructions and directions given by authorized personnel relative to school activities. No insubordination will be tolerated.

22. Due to absences all assignments, tests and homework must be made up if required by the instructor in charge of the individual class missed by the student. At
the discretion of an Instructor, TESTS may have a specific time frame as to when the test(s) will be available for make ups.

23. Personal Services: Students will have the opportunity to use the services of another student for their own services. Therefore, students on the clinic floor
must first complete the operations assigned by their instructors before obtaining authorization for their own services. Clients always come first therefore student
may be asked to stop a personal service to work on a client, and finish their personal service later.

24. It is required that students be assigned and complete a minimum number of operations at different levels of their course.

25. Models: Students that bring their own models must be approved and scheduled by their instructor. Models must be in reception area or in client chair. They
must not be socializing or outside of these areas.

26. Assignments: Our goal is to encourage students to gain speed in the completion of operations. In the beauty industry, a Cosmetology/cosmetologist is
expected to be efficient and work with speed when taking care of his/her clients. Students may be assigned to provide more than one operation to the same
patron/client. This simulates the working demands at a beauty salon/ barber shop. Students may not refuse assignments, or client services. All students must
receive an equal opportunity to work with patrons/clients.

27. All client services must be paid for at the front desk with the receptionist or institution/ school staff member.

28. Fire/Emergency drills: During this time, students are considered in class even though they may be outside for a few minutes during the drill. This rule
applies to students, faculty, and staff.

29. Students must notify the administrative office immediately of any name, address or telephone change. We must always be able to maintain communication
between students and staff.

30. Students Are to park only in the area designated by the Institution .

31. Reconciliation of hours: Students that need to have their hours reviewed for accuracy need to make an appointment to have their time cards reviewed by their
instructor.
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32. Any change in a student schedule (i.e., full time to part time) may result in an adjustment of payment dollar amounts and the payment structure. Please see
the financial aid officer / administrator to make any changes to your attendance schedule.

33. Students must comply with all instructions and directions given by authorized personnel relative to school activities. No insubordination will be tolerated.

34. Food and Beverage are not allowed in classrooms or clinic floor. Only water and sealed beverages are allowed in class and must be put away out of sight
while not in use.

35. No gum chewing is allowed in the college at any time.
36. Smoking/ Vaping is not allowed on the school premises, do not bring any smoking/vaping devices on to school campus.
37. The parking lot is a part of campus. Loitering, or socializing in the parking lot is not allowed.

38. Students are not permitted to sell anything or invite others to sell any product, service, or class on the campus or during school time.

39. Breaks and lunches are taken either in the assigned student break room or completely off school premises (including off of the school campus parking lot)
40. Students must comply with all of ABC’s policies, the State Board rules and regulations, city and county.
41. Individual Instructor’s may have additional rules and regulations that are specific to their classrooms, assignments, projects, etc.

42. All valuables should be Left at home or locked in the student’s car. American Beauty College is not responsible for any personal items that are stolen,
misplaced, damaged or left unsupervised and unsecured.

SCHOOL POLICY FOR A VIOLATION OF ANY RULE, REGULATION OR POLICY:

Violation of any institution rule and/or policies stated in the catalog will subject a student to disciplinary action, including suspension, and/or
termination/expulsion from the program. Student is responsible for making up any suspended hours, which  may result in overtime charges at the students scheduled
end date/completion of program.

Such Violations may include:
® Not complying with the student dress code, school rules, and regulations.
® Unprofessional behavior.
® Excessive Tardiness or Absences. It is required to be punctual every day. Babysitter, work scheduling, and not getting enough sleep are not excuses for being
tardy. It is required to be in school every day. There are no excuses for being absent. *see the “leave of absence” policy if an extended amount of time off

from school becomes necessary.

® Not bringing the required equipment, not being prepared for any theory, practical class or client service. Any literature, book, magazine, computer research
must be about the beauty industry, culture or a specific subject in the beauty industry.

® Not respecting diversity in regards to other students, staff and administration.
® [Inappropriate cell phone or technology use.

® Eating at the stations and/or chewing gum in a classroom. Consumption of food and beverages shall remain in the students break room during their assigned
break times.

® Not participating in daily disinfection and sanitation duties.
® Use of any profanity, abusive and/or vulgar language. Such is unprofessional and not allowed.

® Refusing a client service. In addition students who become argumentative with an Instructor about performing a service will be immediately clocked out and
sent home and may also be suspended.

® Insubordination to any staff or instructor.

® (3)tardies in (1) month. It is required to be punctual every day. Babysitter, work scheduling, not gettingenough sleep are not excuses for being tardy. It is
required to be in school everyday.

[ Excessive absences. There are no excuses for being absent. *see the “leave of absence” rule if an extended
amount of time off from school becomes necessary.
® Not bringing the required equipment, not being prepared for any theory, practical class or client service. Any literature, book,

magazine, computer research must be about the beauty industry, culture or a specific subject in the beauty industry.
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Any music that is played loud enough for others to hear must not include offensivelanguage.

All students must respect all diversity in regards to other students, staff andadministration.

Students are not permitted to sell anything or invite others to sell any product, service or class on the ABCproperty.
Students must follow the cell phone usage rules. Including sending and receiving text messages and answering the phone.
Students listening to music must only use (1) ear piece.

Eating at the stations, or in a classroom is not permitted. Consumption of food and beverages shallremain in the students

break room.

All students must participate in disinfection and sanitation duties.

Chewing gum is not permitted inside the school at any time.

Use of any profanity, abusive and/or vulgar language will not be tolerated.

Sleeping in class is not permitted.

Students who refuse a client service or argue with an Instructor about performing a service willresult in disciplinary action.
Fighting, pushing, slapping, threatening, or causing a fight.
Gossiping or causing animosity.
Any behavior with malice intent towards another student, faculty, employee, visitor, or the Institution of American Beauty College.

Malice intent is defined as any (1) desire to cause pain, injury, or distress to another; an attack motivated by pure malice, (2) intent to commit
an unlawful act or cause harm without legal justification or excuse.

Repeated and extreme subordination to another classmate, administration, instructor, or aclient.

Continual negative attitude and not wanting to cooperate with staff andinstructions.

Willfully defacing or injuring any property belonging to ABC.

Cheating, dishonesty, or falsification of exams, operations cards or any other schoolrecords.

Stealing from another student, ABC, a guest speaker,artist, or aclient.

Persistent tardiness or absences.

Failing theory (below 70%) and/or practical (below 70%). Failing to comply with the school’sacademic requirements.
Possession or the use of pornographic material (including on-line), graphic pictures or literature while on the school premises.
Possession of alcohol, narcotics, drugs (including Marijuana) on or near the school premises.

Being under the influence of any drug or alcohol substance while on the school premises.

Unprofessional conduct.

Using any social network to misrepresent ABC or falsify any content of ABC.

Using any social network to on or off campus to harass staff members or students ofAmerican Beauty College which could

include inappropriate pictures orlanguage.

Repeated excuses for not applying effort throughout the course ofstudy.

Student Rights and Responsibilities

The Student has the right to ask the school:

The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations.

About its programs; laboratory, and other physical facilities; and its faculty.

What the cost of attending is and the policy on refunds to students who dropout.

What financial assistance is available: including information on all federal, state, local, private and institutional
financial aid programs.

What the procedures and deadlines are for submitting application for each available financial aidprogram.
How it selects financial aid recipients.

How it determines financial need.

How much of your financial need, as determined by the school, has been met.

To explain each type and amount of assistance in your financial aid package.

What the interest rate is on any student loan you have, the total amount you must repay, whenyou

must start repaying, and what cancellation or deferment (postponement) provisionsapply.

To reconsider your aid package, if you believe a mistake has been made, or if your enrollment or financial
circumstances have changed.

How the school determines whether you are making satisfactory progress and what happens if you arenot.
What special facilities and services are available to the handicapped

It is the student’s responsibility to:

Review and consider all the information about the school program beforeenrolling.

Pay special attention to the application for student financial aid, complete it accurately, and submit it on
time to the right place. Errors can delay or prevent your receiving aid.

Know and comply with all deadlines for applying and reapplying for aid.

Provide all documentation, corrections, and/or new information requested by either the financialaid
officer or the agency to which you submitted the application.

Notify the school of any information that has changed since youapplied.

Read, understand, and keep copies of all forms you are asked to sign.

Repay any student loan. Read and sign that you Understand your school’s refundpolicy.

Understand and comply with the enrollment status, financial charges, financialterms, time allowed to
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complete, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the enrollment contract you wil
be asked to sign.

o Understand that it is your responsibility and your liability when errors are made and funds for whichyou
are not eligible or are advanced to you or credited to your school account.

o Ifyou have a promissory note, you are agreeing to repay your loan.

« Request an exit interview at the time you are leaving the school to determine the net balance of your account
with the school as well as the net balance of any studentloan.

LICENSURE ELIGIBILITY FOR ALL. COSMETOLOGY PROGRAMS

ALL STUDENTS at ABC, in any of the Cosmetology Programs (Cosmetology, Barber, Teacher Trainee, and Manicurist
Courses) must complete all required operations (practical) and theory for the course of study, and have passed all tests with a
minimum of 70% or “C” and had an attendance of over 67% and have paid all Tuition and fees in full to the College or have
made arrangements for satisfactory payment.

QTHER FACTORS:;

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

In addition to the general requirements, an applicant for a cosmetology license is entitled to the license if the applicant:

1. Is at least 17 years of age;

2. Supplies proof of successful completion of the 10th grade in California or its equivalent and;

3. Has done any of the following:

a. Completed a course in cosmetology from a school approved by the board or;

b. Practiced cosmetology, as defined in this chapter, outside of California for a period of time equivalent to the study and
training of a qualified person who has completed a course in a cosmetology from a school the curriculum of which complied
with requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of
training of qualification under paragraph (1) of this subdivision or;

c. Holds a license as a barber in California and has completed a cosmetology crossover course in a school approved by the boardor;
d. Completed a barbering course in a school approved by the board and has completed a cosmetology crossover course in a
school approved by the board, or; e. Completed the apprenticeship program in cosmetology specified in Article 4
(commencing with section 7332)

GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OF ALICENSE
1. A board may deny a license regulated by this code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following:

a. Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or verdict of guilty or a
conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Any action which a board is permitted to take following the Establishment of
a conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal,
or when an order granting probation is made suspending the imposition of sentence, irrespective of a subsequent order under
the provisions of Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code.

b. Done any act involving dishonesty, fraud or deceit with the intent to substantially benefit himself or another, or
substantially injure another; or; done any act which if done by a licentiate of the business or profession in question, would be
grounds for suspension or revocation of license. The board may deny a license pursuant to this subdivision only if the crime
or act is substantially related to the qualifications, functions or duties of the business or profession for which application is
made.

2. Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, no person shall be denied a license solely on the basis that he has been
convicted of a felony if he has obtained a certificate of rehabilitation under Section 4852.01 and following of the Penal Code
or that he has been convicted of a misdemeanor if he has met all applicable requirements of the criteria of rehabilitation
developed by the board to evaluate the rehabilitation of a person when considering the denial of a license under subdivision (a)
of Section 482.

3. A board may deny a license regulated by this code on the ground that the applicant knowingly made a false statement of
fact required to be revealed in the application for suchlicense.
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STATE LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

These courses are designed to lead to a position in the cosmetological field (Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetician and
Manicuring), which requires licensure by the state.

COSMETOLOGY:

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetology course shall consist of 1600 clock hours of technical instruction
and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology. Technical instruction will be by
demonstration, lecture, classroom participation and examination. Practical operation shall mean the actual performance
by the student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Practical operations shall mean the time it
takes to perform a practical operation. To become a licensed Cosmetologist, a person must pass an examination given
by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. Both a written examination and a practical demonstration of the
candidate's ability are required. To qualify for the examination, a candidate must pay the required fee, be at least 17
years of age, completed the 10th grade in public school or its equivalent, committed no act or crimes constituting
grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480 of the California Barbering and Cosmetology Act Business and
Professions code, and completed the 1600 hour requirements as listed above in an approved California Cosmetology
school. A Social Security Number OR Tax ID Number is required to take the Cosmetology Test with the California
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. State board examinations are given in Fairfield and Glendale and the Board
notifies the student of their expected examination date. The candidate for examination must pass the written and
practical tests to receive a license. A candidate passing the written and practical examination and Board receipt of a
‘Proof of Training” document issued by the school entitles the examinee to issuance of a statelicense.

BARBER:

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Barbering course shall consist of 1500 clock hours of technical instruction and
practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of barbering. Technical instruction will be by
demonstration, lecture, classroom participation and examination. Practical operation shall mean the actual performance
by the student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Practical operations shall mean the time it
takes to perform a practical operation. To become a licensed Barber, a person must pass an examination given by the
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. Both a written examination and a practical demonstration of the
candidate's ability are required. To qualify for the examination, a candidate must pay the required fee, be at least 17
years of age, completed the 10th grade in public school or its equivalent, committed no act or crimes constituting
grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480 of the California Barbering and Cosmetology Act Business and
Professions code, and completed the 1500 hour requirements as listed above in an approved California Cosmetology
school. A Social Security Number OR Tax ID Number is required to take the Barbering Test with the California Board
of Barbering and Cosmetology. State board examinations are given in Fairfield and Glendale and the Board notifies the
student of their expected examination date. The candidate for examination must pass the written and practical tests to
receive a license. A candidate passing the written and practical examination and Board receipt of a ‘Proof of Training’
document issued by the school entitles the examinee to issuance of a state license.

MANICURING:

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Nail Care (Manicurist) course shall consist of 400 or 600 clock hours of
technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of Nair Care. Technical
instruction will be by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation and examination. Practical operation shall mean
the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Practical operations
shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. To become a licensed Manicurist, a person must pass an
examination given by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. Both a written examination and a practical
demonstration of the candidate's ability are required. To qualify for the examination, a candidate must pay the required
fee, be at least 17 years of age, completed the 10th grade in public school or its equivalent, committed no act or crimes
constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480 of the California Barbering and Cosmetology Act
Business and Professions code, and completed the 400 or 600 hour requirements as listed above in an approved
California Cosmetology school. A Social Security Number OR Tax ID Number is required to take the Manicurist Test
with the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. State board examinations are given in Fairfield and Glendale
and the Board notifies the student of their expected examination date. The candidate for examination must pass the
written and practical tests to receive a license. A candidate passing the written and practical examination and Board
receipt of a ‘Proof of Training” document issued by the school entitles the examinee to issuance of a state license
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WEST COVINA ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF AND FACULTY:

Chief Executive Officer
Chief Operating Officer
Chief Financial Officer

Chief Academic Officer

School Director /Administrator

Financial Aid Officer

INSTRUCTORS:
Erika Freeman

Lupe Munoz

Heather Hurtado
Elizabeth Almurtada
Franchesca Rodriguez
Melissa Alanis

Juana Roman
Juana Roman
Jennifer Roman
Jennifer Roman
Angelyne Roman
Vanessa Astorga

PALMDALE ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF AND FACULTY:

Chief Executive Officer
Chief Operating Officer
Chief Financial Officer

Chief Academic Officer

School Director /Administrator

Financial Aid Officer

INSTRUCTORS:
Darwin Marroquin
Tiffany Jones

Monica Velasquez
Melanie Balestas Rojas
Yesica Metcalf
Glorika Briley
Danyele Pruitt
Guadalupe Rightmyer
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ADMINISTRATION:

Juana Roman Chief Executive Officer, Chief Operating Oficer:

California Designated Credential Subjects, Cosmetology License, numerous certificates and awards.
Cosmetology Instructor for over 35 years.

Jennifer Roman Chief Financial Officer, Chief Academic Officer School Director:

BS Degree in Social Sciences; California Cosmetologist License. Experience in customer service and
management for over 14 years.

Angelyne Roman - Administrator/School Director:

16 years of experience in management and customer service, 8 years with private vocational schools .
Verenice Vite -Financial Aid Officer Financial Aid Officer with over 15 years of experience in Financial Aid
for private post secondary institutions. Numerous seminar and workshop certifications.

SUBSTITUTE INSTRUCTORS;

In order to accommodate any absence day and evening instructors alternate schedules as needed. Substitute instructors meet all
necessary state and licensing requirements in order to teach our programs.

Note: American Beauty College employs full and part time Instructors, Instructional Aids, clerical staff, and specialists in different
disciplines. All staff at ABC has the necessary and appropriate certificates, licenses, degrees and education that is required by all
governing agencies in the State of California

AT THE DISCRETION OF THE MANAGEMENT, ALL MATERIAL., POLICIES AND PROCEDURES IN THIS
CATALOG ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE. STAFF AND STUDENTS WILL BE NOTIFIED AND MADE AWARE
OF ANY CHANGES AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.
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