

# California Institute of Emergency Medical Training

Main campus 2669 Myrtle Ave #201-203 Long Beach CA 90755

Wilson campus 13933 Crenshaw Blvd. Hawthorne CA 90250

# (562) 989-1520 www.ciemt.com **Course Catalog** January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2023-Dec 31<sup>st</sup> 2023

Emergency Medical Technician Programs------Pages 2-16

EMT Continuing Education-----Pages 17-20

24 hour Refresher Course-----Pages 21-24

American Heart Association Classes------Page 24-27

Mission statement: CIEMT is dedicated to offering the highest level of education and training to Emergency Medical Technicians, Healthcare Providers, and the general public. CIEMT's goal is simple. After successful completion of our EMT program we expect our EMT students to be able to pass the NREMT exam. In addition, we expect all our students to be able to treat and care for patients in the field at the highest possible level and expertise of which they were trained.

As a prospective student you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

CIEMT is a private institution that is approved to operate by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education and the Los Angeles County EMS Agency. Approval means CIEMT is in compliance with the California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009

This institution does not provide English-as-a- second language instruction

# California Institute of Emergency Medical Training - Enrollment Agreement Instruction will be provided at these locations: 2669 Myrtle Ave. # 201-203 Long Beach, CA 90755 (Main Campus) 13933 Crenshaw Blvd Hawthorne CA 90250 (Satellite Campus)

This program consist of twenty one (21) classroom sessions (seven hours per session) and is designed to give the student the skills and knowledge to function as a working Emergency Medical Technician at a basic level and to facilitate the passing of the National Registry Exam. The student will learn how to manage, assess and treat patients with both medical and traumatic injuries. This will include both wound care and proper administration of medication. All equipment required for the course of study such as stethoscopes, blood pressure cuffs, splinting devices and spinal boards will be provided by the school at no cost to the student. The program is intended for those who want to gain employment as a firefighter, emergency care technician at a hospital, as an ambulance driver or attendant. It is also for those individuals who are planning on attempting to obtain a higher level of medical training such as RN, PA or MD as an enhancement for the competitive application process for those professions. U.S. Department of Labor's Standard Occupational Classification code 29-2042.

Certification Program for Emergency Medical Technician (EMT):

Didactic & Skills (21 classes)	126 Hrs
Clinical	24 Hrs
CIEMT On-Line	2 <u>0 Hrs</u>
Total Class	170 Hrs

### **Cancellation and refund policy:** STUDENT'S RIGHT TO CANCEL

Students are required to submit a two hundred dollar and fifty (\$250.00) registration fee as a condition of registration for the Initial Certification Program for EMT-Basic. Cancellation of attendance in this program will allow the student a full refund only if cancellation is made Ten (10) working days prior to the start date of the class in which the student has registered. If cancellation is made less than ten working days prior to the start date of the course, the registration fee is considered non-refundable. Cancellation is defined as sending a date verifiable e-mail to the CIEMT course program directors e-mail address. If the provisions of cancellation described herein are not met the **registration fee is considered non-refundable**. (Matthew Goodman CIEMT Program Director, 562 989-1520, Admin@CIEMT.COM)

#### Student Services:

Student services at the CIEMT consist of both a reference library and online web access at the school, to broaden student research options. If necessary, academic counseling will be provided at no cost to the student at the start of the second week and third week of the Initial Certification Program for Emergency Medical Technician course. The need for counseling and subsequent tutorial recommendations will be determined by a thorough review of both academic grades on daily quizzes and practical skills performance evaluation. Tutoring will be available for a nominal fee (\$15 per Hour) by qualified CIEMT instructors, approved and designated by the program director. All other required material including the EMS policies guide to Los Angeles County scope of practice will be provided by the CIEMT at no additional cost to the student.

**The CIEMT refund policy for the unused portion of tuition fees:** Students who withdraw from the Initial Certification Program for EMT and have completed 60 percent or less of the course a refund shall be calculated as follows: (if the student has attended more than 60 percent of the course no refund will be due.)

1. A registration fee of \$250 dollars will be deducted from the total tuition.

2. The remaining figure will be divided by the number of hours in the program.

3. The sum arrived at through the calculations of #2 is the hourly charge for the program.

4. The amount owed by the student for the purposes of calculating a refund is derived by multiplying the total hours of instruction by the hourly charge for instruction plus the amount of the registration fee.

5. The refund shall be any amount in excess of the figure derived in #4 that was paid by the student.

6. If the student has attended greater then 60% of the CIEMT EMT-Basic course tuition will not be refunded.

7. The student must exercise his or her right to cancel or withdraw before attending skills day 2. For your EMT program the date will be 20

Example: If a student withdraws from the CIEMT EMT course after attending 75 hours of program, the refund of tuition would be calculated as follows:

1. \$1110.00 Course Fee - \$2.50 STRF - \$250.00 Registration Fee =\$857.50

2. 857.50 divided by the number of hours in the program 146 Hrs = 5.87 an hourly charge for the program.

3. The amount owed by the student would be the hours in which the student attended the course 75 hours X the hourly charge \$5.87 = \$440.25 plus the registration fee of \$250.00 equaling a student owed amount of \$690.25

4. The amount in excess and refund to the student would be tuition amount \$1110.00 - \$690.25 the amount owed by the student, which would equal a refund amount paid to the student of \$419.75.

If the institution sent the first lesson and materials before an effective cancellation notice was received, the institution shall make a refund within 45 days after the student's return of the materials.

### **Student Tuition Recovery Fund**

"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."

(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the following statement in its school catalog: "It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery.

If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number."

If the Student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. Cancellation or withdraw from the program is defined as ether directly speaking to the CIEMT course program director or sending a date verifiable e-mail to the CIEMT course program directors e-mail address. If the provisions of cancellation described herein are not met the deposit is considered non-refundable. (Matt Goodman, CIEMT Program Director, 562 989-1520, ADNIN@CIEMT.COM)

If the student is eligible for a student loan and the student defaults on a <u>federal or state</u> loan, both of the following may occur: The federal or state government or loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan. The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other government assistance until the loan is repaid. If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount any refund. CIEMT does not participate in any federal or state financial aid programs.

# NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at CIEMT is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the completion certificate you earn in the CIEMT EMT-Basic program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the completion certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your course work at the institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending CIEMT to determine if your completion certificate will transfer.

CIEMT is a private school and has not entered into an articulation or transfer of credit agreement with any college or university. **The course does not provide the student with any collage credits towards any degree.** This includes any credit for prior "experiential learning". As a prospective student you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing this enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. These documents contain important policies and performance data for this institution. This institution is required to have you sign and date the information included in the School Performance Fact Sheet relating to completion rates, placement rates, certification exam passage rates, and salaries or wages, and the most recent three year cohort default rate, if applicable, prior to signing this agreement.

# Student's initials

I certify that I have received/obtained the catalog, School Performance Fact Sheet and information regarding completion rates, placement rates, certification exam passage rates, and salaries or wages information, and the most recent three year cohort default rate, if applicable, included in the School Performance Fact Sheet, and have signed, initialed, and dated the information provided in the School Performance Fact Sheet. Complaints: A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the **Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education** by calling 1 (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's internet Web site at www.bppe.ca.gov

# THE FULL AMOUNT OF <u>\$1195 (ONE THOUSAND ONE HUNDRED AND NINETY FIVE DOLLARS)</u> IS THE TOTAL CHARGE TO ATTEND THE INITIAL CERTIFICATION PROGRAM FOR EMT AND IS DUE IN FULL NO LATER THEN THE FIRST DAY OF INSTRUCTION OF THE COURSE.

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND FEE	\$2.50 (non-refundable)
CERTIFICATION PROGRAM FOR EMT	\$857.50 +
REGISTRATION FEE	\$250.00 (non-refundable within 10 working days of course)
TEXTBOOK FEE	<u>\$85.00</u>

TOTAL EMT COURSE TUITION

YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS AMOUNT. IF YOU GET A STUDENT LOAN, YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR REPAYING THE LOAN AMOUNT PLUS ANY INTEREST.

\$1195.00

TOTAL TUITION FOR THE CURRENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE:	<u>\$1195.00</u>
ESTIMATED TOTAL TUITION FOR THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM:	<u>\$1195.00</u>
THE TOTAL TUITION THE STUDENT IS OBLIGATED TO PAY UPON ENROLLMENT:	<u>\$1195.00</u>
OPTIONAL TUTORING	<u>\$15.00/Hr.</u>
PREREQUISITE: AHA BLS COURSE FEECIEMT STUDENT \$40OTHER ENTITY	<u>\$60-\$70</u>

I understand that this is a legally binding contract. My signature below certifies that I have read, understood, and agreed to my rights and responsibilities, and that the institution's cancellation and refund policies have been clearly explained to me.

STUDENT SIGNATURE DATE
------------------------

This agreement is a legally binding instrument when signed by the student and accepted by the school.

# CIEMT PROGRAM DIRECTOR SIGNATURE

CIEMT does not provide services or documents for English as-a-second-language students

The name of your Period cove	• 0	s enrollment agreement	
Your Program Start Date	2023	Your Program End Date	2023

An enrollment agreement shall be written in language that is easily understood. English proficiency is determined by a student's ability to pass an AHA CPR/AED exam. If English is not the student's primary language, and the student is unable to understand the terms and conditions of the enrollment agreement, the student shall have the right to obtain a clear explanation of the terms and conditions and all cancellation and refund policies in his or her primary language.

Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement or catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste. 225, Sacramento California 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento CA 95833-0818 Ph (888) 370-7589 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 Ph (916) 431-6959 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov

### **Attendance Standards Policies**

This is an accelerated course and course content is cumulative in nature, there is little room for tolerance when it comes to students being absent. CIEMT allows a student to be absent for only one (1) course class, with the condition that that class is made up by the student. **There are (6) classes which attendance are mandatory (all skills classes and review days).** Make-up classes will be given by approved CIEMT tutors only, the cost of which will be paid by the student (\$35.00 per hour) at the time the makeup class is given. **The second absence or missing any mandatory days will be cause for dismissal from the course.** If you are more than **one hour late** for a lecture class it will be calculated as if you had missed the entire class and must be made up in full at the students own expense. If you are more than **<u>15 min</u> <u>late for a skills</u>** day you must make up the skills you missed with private tutoring. More than <u>**30 min late for a skills**</u> day is cause for dismissal from the program. Use of cell phones or text messaging during class time is strictly prohibited. If you are caught using your cell phone you will be asked to leave immediately. If one of the above infractions occurs during one of the 6 mandatory days of course attendance it is cause for dismissal from the course. There is no probation period for any of the dismissal infractions. After dismissal from the course to violence and make payment for another available course at any time. CIEMT is a no tolerance school when it comes to violence and sexual harassment. Any violence or documented sexual harassment directed toward instructors or students is cause for dismissal.

### Leave-of-absence Policy

Due to the accelerated nature of the course and that it is mandated by the state that the student attend a minimum amount of class time, students are not allowed a leave-of –absence from the course.

#### **Dismissal Policies**

If a student is absent for one of the six mandatory days they will be dismissed from the program at that time. If the absence occurs prior to the 60% of the course (the refund cut off percentage) the student will be issued a prorated refund. If the absence occurs after the refund cut off day, no refund will be issued. If the student is dismissed for using a cell phone during class time or for documented violence and/or sexual harassment the above refund policy will apply. An absence will be defined as being more than one hour late for a mandatory lecture day and more than thirty minutes late for a skills day.

### **Grading Policy for the EMT Basic Course**

**Pass/Fail Standards on Quizzes:** All students will be required to achieve a cumulative score of 80% on all quizzes in order to qualify to take the final exam. All students must complete the FEMA ICS 100 and 700 and hand in a completion certificate by skills day 2 of the course.

**Pass/Fail Standard on Final Written Test:** All students will be required to score an 80% or higher to qualify for a completion certificate.

**Pass/Fail Standards on Skills Examinations:** All students must have passing marks on all skills in order to qualify to take the final skills exam. The skills course evaluation sheets must be signed and dated by an Associate Instructor or Program Director for each skill attempted. Passing or failing marks on skills are evaluated by the student's cognitive understanding of the skills and achievement of the skills psychomotor objectives. All students will be required to pass the final skills examinations with 100% proficiency. The standard of 100% proficiency will be graded by evaluation and monitoring of skill time limits and critical criteria for each skill. The student will be allowed 10 minutes to successfully complete each skill. Critical criteria are a list of action that must be avoided in order for the student to pass his/her final skills exam. Critical criteria for each skill will be based on the critical criteria outlined in NREMT-B Skills evaluation sheets.

**Makeup Procedures for Quizzes and Tests:** All students will be allowed 5 (five) makeup quizzes. Makeup's are only for quizzes that were graded below the 80% pass requirement. Quiz makeups will be given 0.5 Hrs before class begins on any day prior to day 19 (final written testing). Only one quiz can be taken on any given day. All students will be allowed 1 (one) makeup final exam. The makeup final written exam will not be re-administered on the same day as the failed final exam. The written final makeup exam must however, be taken no later than 7 days after the original failed final exam was administered. In order to graduate and receive a completion certificate from the CIEMT for the EMT-

Basic course each student of record must pass the practical skills final exam described above, score a 80% or better on the final written exam and complete 24 hours clinical time.

### **Student Housing**

CIEMT does not offer any student housing facilities on or off campus. There are no dormitory facilities under CIEMT's control and is not responsible to find or assist a student in finding housing. There are however numerous hotels in the area which charge anywhere from \$52-\$119 a night.

## **Student Complaint Procedure**

The CIEMT has designated the school program director, Matthew Goodman EMT-P, as the person to receive and resolve student complaints. A student may lodge a complaint by communicating orally or in writing to any teacher, administrator, admissions personnel, or counselor. The recipient of the complaint shall transmit it as soon as possible to the person authorized to resole complaints. The designated person shall have the authority and duty to do all of the following:

1. Make an appropriate entry in the log of student complaints.

2. Investigate the complaints thoroughly, which may include interviewing all people and review of any documents related to or potentially related to the complaint.

3. Reject, compromise, or resolve the complaint in any reasonable manner after an investigation has been completed.

4. Record a summary of the complaint, its disposition, and reasons; place a copy of the summary, along with any other related documents, in the student's file and make an appropriate entry in the log of student complaints.

The student's participation in the complaint procedure and the disposition of a student's complaint shall not limit or waive any of the student's rights or remedies.

### **Placement Services**

CIEMT does not offer any placement services.

# Language Proficiency & English-as-a second language

There is no specific level of English proficiency required to take an EMT course. However, it is highly recommended that the student have a minimum of a 9<sup>th</sup> grade reading level. This is because most EMT text books are written to approximately a 9<sup>th</sup> grade reading level. CIEMT does not offer ESL instruction at the present time. All instruction is in English. English proficiency is determined by a student's ability to pass an AHA CPR/AED exam.

### Visa Students from other Countries

CIEMT does not admit students on visa from other counties

### **Distance Education**

CIEMT offers an EMT distance education course. The course is available through our web site <u>www.ciemt.com</u>. After receipt of student lessons by the institution the elapse time of response will be approximately 7 days or less.

### **Retention of Records**

CIEMT shall maintain student records for each student for five years after the date of the student's graduation, withdrawal, or termination. Theses course records will be kept whether or not the student completes the educational service. Transcripts for students are maintained permanently.

CIEMT is a private school and has not entered into an articulation or transfer of credit agreement with any college or university. **The course does not provide the student with any collage credits towards any** 

**degree.** This includes any credit for prior "experiential learning". CIEMT does not accept credit from other institutions towards the CIEMT EMT certification course. Admission to CIEMT is open to all students to attend an EMT-Basic course. Registration for all courses can be done on line at <u>www.ciemt.com</u>

# **Eligibility for State Certification**

After taking an approved EMT training program and passing NREMT exam (the state certification exam) the student is <u>not</u> a certified EMT. In order to become a certified EMT the student must make application to the State of California. This can be done by submitting an application to any local area EMS agency in the State of California. The student will need a completion certification from an approved EMT program, the NREMT card sent to the student after passing the state exam and a current AED/CPR card. The student will also need a live computer figure print scan for a DOJ and FBI background investigation. State certification can be denied if the student has been convicted of specific legal offences. The list of these offences may be found on the State of California EMS Authority web site.

CIEMT is an approved EMT training institution by the State of California EMS Authority and Los Angeles County EMS agencies. CIEMT is not accredited by any "accrediting" agency recognized by the United States Department of Education.

# NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at CIEMT is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the completion certificate you earn in the CIEMT program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the completion certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution meets your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending CIEMT to determine if your completion certificate will transfer. CIEMT has not entered into any articulation agreement with any college or university.

# **CIEMT Facilities:**

<u>2669 Myrtle Ave #201 Signal Hill CA 90755 (Main Campus)</u> is 2760 Sq. Ft. consisting of a main lecture area, 3 skills training rooms, a lunch room with 2 vending machines, skills equipment room, library and school computer reception area and administration office.

<u>13933 Crenshaw Blvd. Hawthorne CA 90250 (Satellite Campus)</u> is 2065 Sq. Ft. consisting of a main lecture area, 3 skills training rooms, a break room, skills equipment room, bathroom and administration office.

# Type of equipment used during the EMT course:

Stethoscopes, blood pressure cuffs, pen lights, Pulse Oximetry, splinting devices, spinal boards, bleeding control gear, suctioning equipment, BLS Airway adjuncts, drug administration devices, glucometer and Oxygen administration devices. All of the above equipment will be provided by the school at no cost to the student.

# Library holding and procedures:

The library holdings consist of both current and previously published editions of EMT training texted books by two of the top publishers Jones & Bartlett and Brady. The most current American Heart Association manuals. Several text books on EKG analysis and drug administration. Anatomy, physiology and medical terminology text books. Medical

dictionaries and a Merck manual. Several different publishers of both EMR and Paramedic text books. Five copies of the most current Emergency Response Guide Book. All holding are available at to students at any time while they are at the school without any check out requirements. If however, the student would like to take a text book home he/she must make written request to administration for permission to do so and have an exact date of return.

### **CIEMT Faculty:**

**Matthew Goodman** BA NREMT-P------ Program Director, Clinical Coordinator, Principal Instructor Mr. Goodman is a graduate from the University of Southern California, a National Registry Paramedic and has successfully completed the National Association of EMS Educators course *Foundations of EMS Educators*. Mr. Goodman started working in EMS education in June of 1999 for the UCLA Center for Prehospital Care. He progressed through the ranks to become a Senior Clinical Instructor II. In June of 2000 he started working at the School of EMT and became the Principal Instructor at that institution in 2001. He is a long time member of the Los Angeles County Department of Health Services EMS Agency-Skills Advisory Committee, which formulates practical skill procedure for the entire County of Los Angeles. He is currently the President of The California Counsel of EMS Educators and member of the Los Angeles County EMS Task Force.

**Mike Wilson** EMT------ Principal Instructor Mr. Wilson began his career in EMS in the mid 1970's as a lifeguard, swimming/diving instructor and a first aide/cpr instructor. He continued his training and worked as a volunteer firefighter from 1980 thru 1983 during which time he also became an EMT and worked in a first in area as an Emergency Medical Technician. He became certified as a Paramedic in June of 1983 and worked full time as a Paramedic until late 1989 at which time he began teaching Emergency Medical Technicians at College of Oceaneering in southern California. Since leaving College of Oceaneering in 1999 he continued to teach EMT's as a contract instructor for the UCLA Center for Prehospital Care as well as privately. He also, has successfully completed the National Association of EMS Educators course *Foundations of EMS Educators*.

**Shaun Aderholt** EMT------Assistant Skills Coordinator Shaun first became certified as an EMT-IA in 1994 through Kern County. After spending over 20 in other careers, Mr. Aderholt became a Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician and a certified EMT-B in California with accreditation in Los Angeles, Orange, and San Diego Counties in 2017. In that same year, Mr. Aderholt started working for AmbuServe Ambulance Service doing BLS, ALS and CCT Interfaculty transports. He is currently a member of a dedicated Critical Care Stroke Transport Team in the South Bay. Mr. Aderholt started to train with National Ski Patrol as a volunteer member of Big Bear Ski Patrol in 2017. In July 2018, he was given the opportunity to become a Skills Instructor at CIEMT.

**Tawny Calvo** EMT------Skills Instructor Tawny has a Master's degree in sports management. She has successfully completed a one month training program at CIEMT and has been working as an EMT instructor since April of 2018.

**Biliet Ngang** EMT------Skills Instructor Biliet became an EMT in 2015 and worked several years for Care Ambulance. Working as EMT opened a door to possibilities Biliet has always wanted to achieve. The exposure she had was enlightening and it encouraged me to become an EMT instructor. Driven by the desire to continue helping others, she had the opportunity to give back to her community in Bamenda, Cameroon by teaching and sharing many resourceful EMS skills that she learned and horned over the past few years.

### Admission Policies

The only prerequisites for the EMT-Basic course are that the student has a current American Heart Association CPR/AED Healthcare Provider card. (CIEMT will gladly provide the AHA certification at a reduced cost for students currently enrolled in the CIEMT EMT-Basic Course. This course is given right after Rules and Regulations on the start date of each program.)

Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement or catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste. 225, Sacramento California 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento CA 95833-0818 Ph (888) 370-7589 or by Fax (916) 263-1897Ph (916) 431-6959 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov

The Office of Student Assistance and Relief is available to support prospective students, current students, or past students of private postsecondary educational institutions in making informed decisions, understanding their rights, and navigating available services and relief options. The office may be reached by calling (888) 370-7589, option #5, or by visiting osar.bppe.ca.gov."

# HYBRID COURSE INFORMATION

# BELOW IS IMPORTANT INFORMATION YOU WILL NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THIS COURSE.

# PLEASE READ THIS ENTIRE DOCUMENT AND FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS.

This course consists of Online work (both reading and doing assignments in an online EMT manual or "E-Text"), as well as weekly "Live" Classroom sessions, and on site Skill Days spaced throughout the course. The "Live Classroom Sessions" will be "live streamed" on the GoToTraining platform so you will need to have internet access, a microphone, and an internet camera to participate in these sessions. The weekend before the course begins you will be emailing the information needed to attend the Monday "Live" E Classroom sessions.

During your first Monday "Live" E classroom you receive a link and be given your program COURSE CODE so that you can purchase the E-Text and start the on line course work. You will be buying this manual directly from the publisher. The cost of this E-book is NOT included in your tuition.

In addition to the E-book and the Live Classroom Sessions there will also be a total of 6 Skill Days where you will have to travel to one of our campuses for skill training and testing. Your online coursework, live classroom sessions, and Skill Days work closely together and are "*paced*" meaning that to succeed you will need to keep up with assigned course work, attend the live sessions, AND attend the Skill Days.

# Prerequisites

# HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA OR EQUIVALENT

The state bureau of post-secondary schools (one of our regulatory bodies) requires that all students have a High School Diploma or its equivalent in order to be enrolled in one of our EMT programs. Please obtain and print out a copy for your file. (More information will be provided on the first Live On-line Session.) A copy of your college degree is also sufficient to meet this requirement.

# **CPR FOR HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONALS**

CPR for "Healthcare Providers," or "Professional Rescuers" is a PREREQUISITE for this course. You need to obtain this certification prior to the first "in house" skills day of the course. Our Main Campus can provide this training for you at a discounted rate if you do not already have it. Contact them at <u>admin@ciemt.com</u> for more information and to arrange training.

# NOTE:

A packet will be emailed to you containing documents that we will go over with you on the first night of class. Please PRINT THE DOCUMENTS OUT and be ready to go over when we begin our first "Live Classroom Online Session" which is the "Start Date" for the class you are enrolled in.

# THE FIRST LIVE ONLINE SESSION WILL BE AT 6pm WEST COAST TIME ON THE START DATE OF YOUR CLASS. BE PREPARED TO LOG IN ABOUT 15 MINUTES EARLY TO MAKE SURE YOU CAN CONNECT.

### SEE YOU THEN!

The Office of Student Assistance and Relief is available to support prospective students, current students, or past students of private postsecondary educational institutions in making informed decisions, understanding their rights, and navigating available services and relief options. The office may be reached by calling (888) 370-7589, option #5, or by visiting osar.bppe.ca.gov."

# California Institute of Emergency Medical Training - Hybrid Enrollment Agreement Skills instruction will be provided at these locations: 2669 Myrtle Ave. # 201-203 Long Beach, CA 90755 (Main Campus) 13933 Crenshaw Blvd Hawthorne CA 90250 (Satellite Campus)

This program consists of a combination of Online work and classroom sessions (for practical skill training, skill testing and final written testing) and is designed to give the student the skill and knowledge needed to function as a working Emergency Medical Technician and to facilitate passing the National Registry Exam. The student will learn how to manage, assess and treat patients with both medical and traumatic injuries. This will include both wound care and proper administration of medication. All equipment required for the practical skills such as stethoscopes, blood pressure cuffs, splinting devices and spinal boards will be provided by the school at no cost to the student. The program is intended for those who want to gain employment as a firefighter, emergency care technician at a hospital, as an ambulance driver or attendant. It is also for those individuals who are planning on attempting to obtain a higher level of medical training such as RN, PA or MD as an enhancement for the competitive application process for those professions. U.S. Department of Labor's Standard Occupational Classification code 29-2042.

# Initial Certification Program for Emergency Medical Technician (EMT):Didactic & Skills179 HrsClinical24 HrsTotal Class203 Hrs

The first lesson and any materials will be transmitted to any student within seven days after the institution accepts the student for admission. The institution shall transmit all lessons and materials to the student if the student has fully paid for the educational program. If the institution transmits the balance of the materials as the student requests, the institution shall remain obligated to provide the other educational services it agreed to provide, but shall not be obligated to pay any refund after all of the lessons and materials are transmitted.

# **Cancellation and refund policy:** STUDENT'S RIGHT TO CANCEL

Students are required to submit a two hundred dollar and fifty (\$250.00) registration fee as a condition of registration for the Hybrid for EMT Program. Cancellation will provide the student a full refund only if cancellation is made before the first lesson and material are received. If cancellation is made after the first lesion and materials are received for the course, the registration fee (\$250.00) is considered non-refundable. Cancellation is effective on the date written notice of cancellation is sent. You may send a date verifiable e-mail to the CIEMT course program directors e-mail address. If the provisions of cancellation described herein are not met the **registration fee is considered non-refundable**. (Matthew Goodman CIEMT Program Director, 562 989-1520, Admin@CIEMT.COM)

### Student Services:

If necessary, academic counseling will be provided at no cost to the student at the start of the second week and third week of the Initial Certification Program for the Hybrid Emergency Medical Technician course. The need for counseling and subsequent tutorial recommendations will be determined by a thorough review of both academic grades on daily quizzes and practical skills performance evaluation. Tutoring will be available for a nominal fee by qualified CIEMT instructors, approved and designated by the program director. It is the student's responsibility to seek assistance and or tutoring when he/she feels it may be needed.

**The CIEMT refund policy for the Hybrid EMT Program**: Students who withdraw from the Hybrid EMT Program prior to the 60 percent point (prior to the start of Skills Session # 2) of the course will receive a prorated refund calculated as follows.

1. A registration fee of \$250 dollars will be deducted from the total tuition.

2. An electronic textbook fee of \$157.17 is non-refundable if the access code has been used. The code, once used, belongs to the student and is valid for 12 months on the JBL platform (not course).

3. The remaining figure will be divided by the number of expected hours spent in the program. Each "Section" of the Hybrid EMT Program will be assigned a number of hours based upon estimated time needed to complete each section. The course consists of 183 hours of instruction over a 10-week period. You will spend on average 18.3 hours per week or 2.61 hours per day.

4. The sum arrived at through the calculation of #2 is the cost per hour for the training.

5. The amount owed by the student is derived by multiplying the total expected hours spent in the Hybrid program by the hourly charge for instruction plus the amount of the registration fee and materials fee.

6. The refund shall be any amount in excess of the figure derived in #4.

7. The student must exercise his or her right to cancel or withdraw before 60% of the Hybrid EMT Program is completed.

8. The student must exercise his or her right to cancel or withdraw before attending skills day 2. For your EMT program the date will be \_\_\_\_\_\_20

Example: A student withdraws from the CIEMT HYBRID EMT course on Friday of Week 5 in the course. This is day 33 of the course or 86.1 hours into the course. The refund of tuition would be calculated as follows:

Example: A student withdraws from the CIEMT HYBRID EMT course on Friday of Week 5 in the course. This is day 33 of the course or 86.1 hours into the course. The refund of tuition would be calculated as follows:

1. \$1158.53 Course Fee - \$2.50 STRF - \$250.00 Registration Fee =\$906.53

2. \$906.53 divided by the number of hours in the program 179 Hrs. = \$5.06 per hour.

3. The amount owed by the student would be 86.1 hours X the hourly rate of 5.06 = 435.66 plus the registration fee of 250.00 equaling a student owed amount of 685.66

4. The amount in excess and refund to the student would be tuition amount 1158.53 - 685.66 the amount owed by the student, which would equal a refund amount paid to the student of 472.87

**Note**: Students that reach the 60 percent point (by the start of Skill Session #2) in the Hybrid EMT Program will receive no refund. To officially withdraw from the course the student MUST send date verifiable e-mail to the CIEMT course program directors e-mail address <u>admin@ciemt.com</u>.

### **Student Tuition Recovery Fund**

"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."

(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the following statement in its school catalog: "It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery.

If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number."

If the Student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. Cancellation or withdraw from the program is defined as ether directly speaking to the CIEMT course program director or sending a date verifiable e-mail to the CIEMT course program directors e-mail address. If the provisions of cancellation described herein are not met the deposit is considered non-refundable. (Matt Goodman, CIEMT Program Director, 562 989-1520, ADNIN@CIEMT.COM) If the student is eligible for a student loan and the student defaults on a **federal or state** loan, both of the following may occur: The federal or state government or loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan. The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other government assistance until the loan is repaid. If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount any refund.

# NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at CIEMT is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the completion certificate you earn in the CIEMT EMT-Basic program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the completion certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer. CIEMT has not entered into any articulation agreement with any college or university.

# CIEMT is a private school and has not entered into an articulation or transfer of credit agreement with any college or university. **The course does not provide the student with any collage credits towards any degree.** This includes any credit for prior "experiential learning".

Prior to signing this enrollment agreement, you must be given a catalog or brochure and a School Performance Fact Sheet, which you are encouraged to review prior to signing this agreement. These documents contain important policies and performance data for this institution. This institution is required to have you sign and date the information included in the School Performance Fact Sheet relating to completion rates, placement rates, certification exam passage rates, and salaries or wages, and the most recent three year cohort default rate, if applicable, prior to signing this agreement.

# Student's initials

I certify that I have received/obtained the catalog, School Performance Fact Sheet and information regarding completion rates, placement rates, certification exam passage rates, and salaries or wages information, and the most recent three year cohort default rate, if applicable, included in the School Performance Fact Sheet, and

have signed, initialed, and dated the information provided in the School Performance Fact Sheet. Downloadable from our web site at ciemt.com

Complaints: A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the **Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education** by calling 1 (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's internet Web site at www.bppe.ca.gov

# THE FULL AMOUNT OF <u>\$1295 (TWELVE HUNDRED AND NINETY FIVE DOLLARS)</u> IS THE TOTAL CHARGE TO ATTEND THE INITIAL CERTIFICATION PROGRAM FOR EMT AND IS DUE IN FULL NO LATER THEN THE FIRST DAY OF INSTRUCTION OF THE COURSE.

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND FEE	\$2.50 (non-refundable)
INITIAL CERTIFICATION PROGRAM FOR EMT	\$906.03 +
REGISTRATION FEE	\$250.00 (non-refundable within 10 working days of course)
E-TEXTBOOK FEE FROM JONES & BARTLETT	<u>\$136.47 (non-refundable if opened)</u>

TOTAL COURSE CHARGE\$1295.00YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS AMOUNT. IF YOU GET A STUDENT LOAN, YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR<br/>REPAYING THE LOAN AMOUNT PLUS ANY INTEREST.

TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE CURRENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE:	<b>\$1295.00</b>

ESTIMATED TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM: \$1295.00

THE TOTAL CHARGES THE STUDENT IS OBLIGATED TO PAY UPON ENROLLMENT: \$1295.00

I understand that this is a legally binding contract. My signature below certifies that I have read, understood, and agreed to my rights and responsibilities, and that the institution's cancellation and refund policies have been clearly explained to me.

STUDENT SIGNATURE\_\_\_\_\_DATE\_\_\_\_\_

This agreement is a legally binding instrument when signed by the student and accepted by the school.

# CIEMT PROGRAM DIRECTOR SIGNATURE\_

CIEMT does not provide services or documents for English as-a-second-language students

The name of your p Period covered	0	s enrollment agreement	
Your Program Start Date	2023	Your Program End Date	2023

An enrollment agreement shall be written in language that is easily understood. If English is not the student's primary language, and the student is unable to understand the terms and conditions of the enrollment agreement, the student shall have the right to obtain a clear explanation of the terms and conditions and all cancellation and refund policies in his or her primary language.

Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement or catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste. 225, Sacramento California 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento CA 95833-0818

Ph (888) 370-7589 or by Fax (916) 263-1897

Ph (916) 431-6959 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov

### California Institute of Emergency Medical Training Attendance/Testing Standards/Rules and Regulations <u>Hybrid Course</u>

This is a Hybrid course and content is cumulative in nature. To succeed, students must keep up with the online course work and attend all assigned Skill Days and Online classroom sessions. While online work can be done at the students chosen time, attendance for all of the Skill Days and Online classroom sessions is MANDATORY! Students MUST ARRANGE THEIR SCHEDULE TO ATTEND THESE MANDATORY SESSIONS.

- A. Missing any of the Skill Days will result in being dismissed from the course. Being more than 30 minutes late for a Skill Day is considered missing the entire day and will result in dismissal from the Hybrid EMT Program.
- B. Use of cell phones or text messaging during class time is strictly prohibited. Using a cell phone during Instructional time on either the Skill Days (except at scheduled breaks) will result in you being dropped from the Hybrid EMT Program.
- C. CIEMT is a no tolerance school when it comes to violence and sexual harassment. Any violence or documented sexual harassment directed toward instructors or students is cause for dismissal.

**Leave-of-absence Policy:** Because of the nature of the course, students are not allowed a leave-of –absence. If something occurs and the student is not able to complete the course they are enrolled in, they can drop the class and receive their pro-rated refund if they drop before the 60% point in the course. Under certain circumstances, and only at the discretion of the Program Director and the Hybrid EMT course Instructor, a student in the Hybrid EMT Course may be allowed to "roll out" of the class they are in and apply their refund to a future class (within 6 months of the course the student dropped). They can then "enroll" in that future course restarting where they left off at the time they rolled out and receive credit for the time already spent in the prior course. Should a student choose this option there will be a \$250.00 "Registration Fee" when they re-enroll. All skills session for the new course must be attended as part of this agreement.

**Dismissal Policies:** If a student is absent for one of the Skill Days they will be dismissed from the program. If the absence occurs prior to the 60% of the course the student will be issued a prorated refund. If the absence occurs after the refund cut off day, no refund will be issued. If the student is dismissed for using a cell phone during class time, documented violence and/or sexual harassment, the above refund policy will apply. An absence will be defined as being more than 30 minutes late for a Skill Day.

# **Grading Policy for the Hybrid EMT Course**

**Pass/Fail Standards on Quizzes:** All students will be required to have at least an 80% quiz average in order to qualify to take the Final Written Exam. All quizzes are online in the Hybrid EMT Course and can be retaken multiple times in order to pass them. Section Tests are also online and only 1 retake is allowed on each Section Test.

**Pass/Fail Standard on Final Written Test:** All students will be required to score 80% or higher on the Final Written test (held at one of the CIEMT campuses) AND successfully pass the Final Practical exam to receive a Certificate of Completion for the Hybrid EMT Course.

**Pass/Fail Standards on Skills Examinations:** All students will be required to pass the final skills examinations with 100% proficiency. The standard of 100% proficiency will be graded by evaluation and monitoring of skill time limits and critical criteria for each skill. The student will be allowed 10 minutes to successfully complete each skill. Critical criteria are a list of actions that must be performed in order for the student to pass his/her final skills exam. Critical criteria for each skill will be based on the critical criteria outlined in Los Angeles County EMS Skills evaluation sheets.

**Makeup Procedures for Quizzes and Tests:** All students will be allowed 1 (one) retake on the Final Written Exam. The makeup Final Written Exam will not be re-administered on the same day as the failed Final Written Exam. The Final Written Exam must however, be taken no later than 7 days after the date they failed the original Final Written Exam. There is a \$75.00 Retake fee for the Final Written Exam.

# EMT Basic Refresher

This course enables EMT certified students to obtain the 24 hours of continuing education and to take the practical skill exam required by the County of Los Angeles EMS Agency and the State of California for renewal of EMT certification. The course objective is to refresh didactic knowledge and practical skills the EMT student learned in their initial certification course. The student will be refreshed on how to manage, assess and treat patients with both medical and traumatic injuries. This will include both wound care and proper administration of medication. Also, any updates on standards and protocols enacted by the State of California or Los Angeles County EMS Agency will be reviewed and trained. Equipment required for the course of study such as stethoscopes, blood pressure cuffs, splitting devices and spinal boards will be provided by the school at no cost to the student.

The course of instruction fee is thirty dollars per seven-hour block of course content. Students needing continuing education are not required by CIEMT to take a full twenty four (24) hours of CE. Students are required to attend seven (7) hours minimum at one time to receive seven (7) hours worth of CE. If the student requires a practical skills exam the fee is eighty-five dollars for the Skills Review class (6) hours worth of CE and includes one re-test if necessary.

Up to 6 months expired or current you will require for renewal: 24hrs CE and a skills review/validation

# TOTAL CHARGES FOR 24 HOUR CE WITH SKILLS REVIEW------\$200.00

6mo-12mo expired: 36hrs CE plus the skills review/validation.

### TOTAL CHARGES FOR 36 HOUR CE WITH SKILLS REVIEW------\$270.00

12mo or more expired: 48hrs CE plus a skills review/validation, and you will need to retake the NREMT exam

### TOTAL CHARGES FOR 48 HOUR CE WITH SKILLS REVIEW------\$320.00

### **CIEMT Faculty:**

Matthew Goodman BA NREMT-P------ Program Director, Clinical Coordinator, Principal Instructor Mr. Goodman is a graduate from the University of Southern California, a National Registry Paramedic and has successfully completed the National Association of EMS Educators course *Foundations of EMS Educators*. Mr. Goodman started working in EMS education in June of 1999 for the UCLA Center for Prehospital Care. He progressed through the ranks to become a Senior Clinical Instructor II. In June of 2000 he started working at the School of EMT and became the schools Principal Instructor in 2001. He is a long time member of the Los Angeles County Department of Health Services EMS Agency-Skills Advisory Committee, which formulates practical skill procedure for the entire County of Los Angeles.

**Vincent Conte** EMT------ Principal Instructor, Skills Coordinator Vincent came through the program at the Wilson campus in spring 2012, and has approximately 4 years of field experience ranging from IFT, 911 and standby EMS at sporting events. He has been an instructor at CIEMT since 2015, starting as skill instructor and now is a lecturer at both campuses. He has been a BLS CPR instructor for the AHA since 2016, took the NAEMSE Level 1 Instructor Course in 2017.

Shaun Aderholt EMT------Assistant Skills Coordinator Shaun first became certified as an EMT-IA in 1994 through Kern County. After spending over 20 in other careers, Mr. Aderholt became a Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician and a certified EMT-B in California with accreditation in Los Angeles, Orange, and San Diego Counties in 2017. In that same year, Mr. Aderholt started working for AmbuServe Ambulance Service doing BLS, ALS and CCT Interfaculty transports. He is currently a member of a dedicated Critical Care Stroke Transport Team in the South Bay. Mr. Aderholt started to train with National Ski Patrol as a volunteer member of Big Bear Ski Patrol in 2017. In July 2018, he was given the opportunity to become a Skills Instructor at CIEMT.

**Ramon Maldonado** EMT------ Skills Instructor Ramon became an EMT in 2018. He has completed a one month training program at CIEMT. Works for Grayback Forestry as a wildland firefight and field medic. Has completed both CFM S-212 and Firefighter 1 training

# **Attendance Policy**

Students are eligible for CE hours for classes in which the student was present and attended a full lesson and passed the required written skills exam.

# **Cancellation and refund policy: STUDENTS RIGHT TO CANCEL**

Students who require CE hours or a practical skills exam must pay in full by the first day of instruction. Cancellation of a registered CE class or practical skills exam can be made anytime. <u>If you decide to cancel</u> any 7 hour CE class or a practical skills exam the payment is considered non-refundable. You are allowed one reschedule of CE Hours or practical skills exam within the calendar year. <u>You must notify us 24 hours prior to a scheduled class if you to cancel and reschedule</u>: Program Director Matthew Goodman. (562) 989-1520 mg@ciemt.com

# **Student Services:**

Student services at the CIEMT consist of both a reference library and online web access at the school, to broaden student research options. If necessary, academic counseling will be provided at no cost to the student.

### **Grading Policy**

The student may attend any four (4) lectures given as part of the CIEMT initial certification course to satisfy the required 24 hours of continuing education. The student may then attend a once a month practical skills exam (if necessary) to complete the County of Los Angeles EMS Agency and the State of California requirements for re-certification. The student must take a 25 question written exam for each didactic class attended to complete the County of Los Angeles EMS Agency requirement for re-certification. All students will be required to score 76% or higher on the written exams and pass the practical skills exam (if necessary) to qualify for a completion certificate.

### Makeup Procedures for Tests

All students will be allowed 1 (one) makeup of the written exam for each class attended.

# Pass/Fail Standards on Skills Examinations:

All students will be required to pass the final skills examinations with 100% proficiency. The standard of 100% proficiency will be graded by evaluation and monitoring of skill time limits and critical criteria for each skill. The student will be allowed 10 minutes to successfully complete each skill. Critical criteria are a list of action that must be avoided in order for the student to pass his/her final skills exam. Critical criteria for each skill will be based on the critical criteria outlined in LA County Skills evaluation sheets.

# **Student Tuition Recovery Fund-Disclosure**

"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."

(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the following statement in its school catalog: "It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery.

If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number."

# Student Complaint Procedure

The CIEMT has designated the school program director, Matthew Goodman EMT-P, as the person to receive and resolve student complaints. A student may lodge a complaint by communicating it orally or in writing to any teacher, administrator, admissions personnel, or counselor. The recipient of the complaint shall transmit it as soon as possible to the person authorized to resolve complaints. The designated person shall have the authority and duty to do all of the following:

1. Make an appropriate entry in the log of student complaints.

2. Investigate the complaints thoroughly, which may include interviewing all people and review of any documents related to or potentially related to the complaint.

3. Reject, compromise, or resolve the complaint in any reasonable manner after an investigation has been completed.

4. Record a summary of the complaint, its disposition, and reasons; place a copy of the summary, along with any other related documents, in the student's file and make an appropriate entry in the log of student complaints.

The student's participation in the complaint procedure and the disposition of a student's complaint shall not limit or waive any of the student's rights or remedies.

# English-as-a second language

CIEMT does not offer ESL instruction at the present time.

Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement or catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste. 225, Sacramento California 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento CA 95833-0818 Ph (888) 370-7589 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 Ph (916) 431-6959 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov

The Office of Student Assistance and Relief is available to support prospective students, current students, or past students of private postsecondary educational institutions in making informed decisions, understanding their rights, and navigating available services and relief options. The office may be reached by calling (888) 370-7589, option #5, or by visiting osar.bppe.ca.gov."

# EMT-Basic 24 Hr. Refresher 4 day Course

This course enables EMT certified students to obtain the 24 hours of continuing education and to take the practical skill exam required by the County of Los Angeles EMS Agency and the State of California for renewal of EMT certification. The course objective is to refresh didactic knowledge and practical skills the EMT student learned in their initial certification course. The student will be refreshed on how to manage, assess and treat patients with both medical and traumatic injuries. This will include both wound care and proper administration of medication. Also, any updates on standards and protocols enacted by the State of California or Los Angeles County EMS Agency will be reviewed and trained. Equipment required for the course of study such as stethoscopes, blood pressure cuffs, splitting devices and spinal boards will be provided by the school at no cost to the student.

The student must attend all four (4) days of the refresher course. Each student will be given a refresher guidebook designed by the CIEMT and required for the refresher course. There are not textbooks for this course. The students will be required to take a written and practical skills test at the end of the course to complete the County of Los Angeles DHS requirements for re-certification.

EMT 24 Refresher 4 day Course Total Charges		\$210.00
Final Written Exam Re-Take Fee (If needed)		\$40,00
Potrochan Course Une		
<u>Refresher Course Hrs.</u> Didactic	18.0 Hrs	
Practical Skills	6.0 Hrs	
Total Course Hrs	24.0 Hrs	
Practical Skills Testing	0.75 Hrs each student	
Written Exam	2.5 Hrs	
CIEMT Faculty:		
Principal Instructor	N	fike Wilson EMT

Mr. Wilson began his career in EMS in the mid 1970's as a lifeguard, swimming/diving instructor and a first aide/cpr instructor. He continued his training and worked as a volunteer firefighter from 1980 thru 1983 during which time he also became an EMT and worked in a first in area as an Emergency Medical Technician. He became certified as a Paramedic in June of 1983 and worked full time as a Paramedic until late 1989 at which time he began teaching Emergency Medical Technicians at College of Oceaneering in southern California. Since leaving College of Oceaneering in 1999 he continued to teach EMT's as a contract instructor for the UCLA Center for Prehospital Care as well as privately. He also, has successfully completed the National Association of EMS Educators course *Foundations of EMS Educators*.

**Vincent Conte** EMT------ Principal Instructor, Skills Coordinator Vincent came through the program at the Wilson campus in Spring 2012, and has approximately 4 years of field experience ranging from IFT, 911 and standby EMS at sporting events. He has been an instructor at CIEMT since 2015, starting as skill instructor and now is a lecturer at both campuses. He has been a BLS CPR instructor for the AHA since 2016, took the NAEMSE Level 1 Instructor Course in 2017.

Shaun Aderholt EMT------Assistant Skills Coordinator Shaun first became certified as an EMT-IA in 1994 through Kern County. After spending over 20 in other careers, Mr. Aderholt became a Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician and a certified EMT-B in California with accreditation in Los Angeles, Orange, and San Diego Counties in 2017. In that same year, Mr. Aderholt started working for AmbuServe Ambulance Service doing BLS, ALS and CCT Interfaculty transports. He is currently a member of a dedicated Critical Care Stroke Transport Team in the South Bay. Mr. Aderholt started to train with National Ski Patrol as a volunteer member of Big Bear Ski Patrol in 2017. In July 2018, he was given the opportunity to become a Skills Instructor at CIEMT.

# **Attendance Policy**

Students must attend every class of this four-day course in order to receive twenty four (24) hours of continuing education.

# **Cancellation and refund policy: STUDENTS RIGHT TO CANCEL**

Students who require the EMT-Basic Refresher Course must pay in full by the first day of instruction of the class. Cancellation of a registered EMT-Basic Refresher Course can be made anytime. If you decide to cancel the 24 hours Refresher the payment is considered non-refundable. You are allowed one reschedule of the 24 hour Refresher within the calendar year. You must notify us 24 hours prior to a scheduled class if you to cancel and reschedule: Program Director Matthew Goodman. (562) 989-1520 mg@ciemt.com

The student has the option to use the payment as a credit for future EMT-Basic Refresher Course. <u>If</u> <u>cancellation is made of the EMT-Basic Refresher Course the payment is considered non-refundable.</u> Program Director Matthew Goodman. (562) 989-1520 admin@ciemt.com

# **Student Services:**

Student services at the CIEMT consist of both a reference library and online web access at the school to broaden student research options. If necessary, academic counseling will be provided at no cost to the student.

# **Grading Policy**

**Pass/Fail Standard on Tests:** All students will be required to score an 76% or higher to qualify for a completion certificate.

# Pass/Fail Standards on Skills Examinations:

All students will be required to pass the final skills examinations with 100% proficiency. The standard of 100% proficiency will be graded by evaluation and monitoring of skill time limits and critical criteria for each skill. The student will be allowed 10 minutes to successfully complete each skill. Critical criteria are a list of action that must be avoided in order for the student to pass his/her final skills exam. Critical criteria for each skill will be based on the critical criteria outlined in L.A. County Skills evaluation sheets.

# Makeup Procedures for Written Final Tests

All students will be allowed 1 (one) makeup final exam. The makeup final written exam will not be readministered on the same day as the failed final exam. The written final makeup exam must however, be taken no later then 14 days after then original failed final exam was administered. The Fee to retake the final is \$40 per student.

# **Student Tuition Recovery Fund-Disclosure**

"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."

(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the following statement in its school catalog: "It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery.

If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number."

# **Student Complaint Procedure**

The CIEMT has designated the school program director, Matthew Goodman EMT-P as the person to receive and resolve student complaints. A student may lodge a complaint by communicating orally or in writing to any teacher, administrator, admissions personnel, or counselor. The recipient of the complaint shall transmit it as soon as possible to the person authorized to resolve complaints. The designated person shall have the authority and duty to do all of the following:

1. Make an appropriate entry in the log of student complaints.

2. Investigate the complaints thoroughly, which may include interviewing all people and review of any documents related to or potentially related to the complaint.

3. Reject, compromise, or resolve the complaint in any reasonable manner after an investigation has been completed.

4. Record a summary of the complaint, its disposition, and reasons; place a copy of the summary, along with any other related documents, in the student's file and make an appropriate entry in the log of student complaints.

The student's participation in the complaint procedure and the disposition of a student's complaint shall not limit or waive any of the student's rights or remedies.

# English-as-a second language

CIEMT does not offer ESL instruction at the present time.

Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement or catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste. 225, Sacramento California 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento CA 95833-0818 Ph (888) 370-7589 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 Ph (916) 431-6959 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov

The Office of Student Assistance and Relief is available to support prospective students, current students, or past students of private postsecondary educational institutions in making informed decisions, understanding their rights, and navigating available services and relief options. The office may be reached by calling (888) 370-7589, option #5, or by visiting osar.bppe.ca.gov."

# <u>American Heart Association</u> <u>CPR/AED Healthcare Provider Course</u>

The educational objectives of American Heart Association CPR/AED Healthcare Provider Course class is to teach the students the fundamentals and skills required for basic life support in the hospital and prehospital setting. The student will learn the proper procedure for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for patients in cardiac arrest, patients who have pulse but not breathing and conscious and unconscious patients who are chocking. The Healthcare Provider CPR/AED class is a prerequisite of any initial EMT-basic certification class in the State of California and a requirement of employment for many hospital staff personnel.

### American Heart Association- Full Classes Total Charges

CPR/AED Healthcare Provider	\$65.00
CPR/AED Healthcare Provider (Discount)	
(Students currently enrolled in the EMT course)	\$40.00

# American Heart Association Course Hrs. & Total Charges

CPR/AED Healthcare Provider	7 Hours
TOTAL CHARGES FOR CPR/AED HEALTHCARE PROVIDER	\$65.00

CPR/AED Healthcare Provider (Students enrolled in the EMT course)7 HoursTOTAL CHARGES FOR CPR/AED HEALTHCARE PROVIDER------\$40.00

TOTAL CHARGES FOR ALL------\$40.00-\$65.00

The Course of instruction fee is for a single American Heart Association class. The fee is per student per class. Course fee's may be higher if private or semi-private classes are required.

## **CIEMT Faculty:**

**Matthew Goodman** BA NREMT-P------ Program Director, Clinical Coordinator, Principal Instructor Mr. Goodman is a graduate from the University of Southern California, a National Registry Paramedic and has successfully completed the National Association of EMS Educators course *Foundations of EMS Educators*. Mr. Goodman started working in EMS education in June of 1999 for the UCLA Center for Prehospital Care. He progressed through the ranks to become a Senior Clinical Instructor II. In June of 2000 he started working at the School of EMT and became the schools Principal Instructor in 2001. He is a long time member of the Los Angeles County Department of Health Services EMS Agency-Skills Advisory Committee, which formulates practical skill procedure for the entire County of Los Angeles.

**Vincent Conte** EMT------- Principal Instructor, Skills Coordinator Vincent came through the program at the Wilson campus in spring 2012, and has approximately 4 years of field experience ranging from IFT, 911 and standby EMS at sporting events. He has been an instructor at CIEMT since 2015, starting as skill instructor and now is a lecturer at both campuses. He has been a BLS CPR instructor for the AHA since 2016, took the NAEMSE Level 1 Instructor Course in 2017.

**Ramon Maldonado** EMT------ Skills Instructor Ramon became an EMT in 2018. He has completed a one month training program at CIEMT. Works for Grayback Forestry as a wildland firefight and field medic. Has completed both CFM S-212 and Firefighter 1 training Shaun Aderholt EMT------Assistant Skills Coordinator Shaun first became certified as an EMT-IA in 1994 through Kern County. After spending over 20 in other careers, Mr. Aderholt became a Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician and a certified EMT-B in California with accreditation in Los Angeles, Orange, and San Diego Counties in 2017. In that same year, Mr. Aderholt started working for AmbuServe Ambulance Service doing BLS, ALS and CCT Interfaculty transports. He is currently a member of a dedicated Critical Care Stroke Transport Team in the South Bay. Mr. Aderholt started to train with National Ski Patrol as a volunteer member of Big Bear Ski Patrol in 2017. In July 2018, he was given the opportunity to become a Skills Instructor at CIEMT.

# **Cancellation and refund policy: STUDENTS RIGHT TO CANCEL**

Individual Students who have enrolled in any of the American Heart Association classes may cancel at any time before the start of the class the student has enrolled. There are no advance deposits taken for individual students who wish to take an American Heart Association class

# **Grading Policy**

**Pass/Fail Standard on Tests:** All students will be required to score an 85% or higher to qualify for a completion certificate.

# Makeup Procedures for Tests

All students will be allowed 1 (one) makeup exam.

# **Student Tuition Recovery Fund-Disclosure**

"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."

(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the following statement in its school catalog: "It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery.

If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law. However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number."

### **Student Complaint Procedure**

The CIEMT has designated the school program director, Matthew Goodman EMT-P as the person to receive and resolve student complaints. A student may lodge a complaint by communicating orally or in writing to any teacher, administrator, admissions personnel, or counselor. The recipient of the complaint shall transmit it as soon as possible to the person authorized to resolve complaints. The designated person shall have the authority and duty to do all of the following:

1. Make an appropriate entry in the log of student complaints.

2. Investigate the complaints thoroughly, which may include interviewing all people and review of any documents related to or potentially related to the complaint.

3. Reject, compromise, or resolve the complaint in any reasonable manner after an investigation has been completed.

4. Record a summary of the complaint, its disposition, and reasons; place a copy of the summary, along with any other related documents, in the student's file and make an appropriate entry in the log of student complaints.

The student's participation in the complaint procedure and the disposition of a student's complaint shall not limit or waive any of the student's rights or remedies.

### English-as-a second language

CIEMT does not offer ESL instruction at the present time.

Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement or catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste. 225, Sacramento California 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento CA 95833-0818 Ph (888) 370-7589 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 Ph (916) 431-6959 or by Fax (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov

This institution does not have any pending petition in bankruptcy, in not operating as a debtor in possession and have not filed a petition within the last five years or has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code.