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APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education

Jasmine Beauty School is a private institution located at 5911 University Ave, Ste 318, San Diego, CA
92115. The school was granted institutional approval to operate by the Bureau of Private Post
Secondary Education (BPPE) and the California Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA). The Bureau’s
approval means that the institution and its operation comply with the minimum standards established
under the law for occupational instruction by private post secondary educational institutions. This
approval does not mean that: (1) the institution or its educational programs are endorsed or
recommended by the state or by the bureau. Nor that (2) the approval to operated indicates that the
institution exceeds minimum state standards as set forth in this chapter. The institution is currently
approved to conduct the following courses: COSMETOLOGY 1600 CLOCK HOURS, BARBERING 1500
CLOCK HOURS, MANICURING 400 CLOCK HOURS, MANICURING 102 600 CLOCK HOURS,
ESTHETICIAN/SKIN CARE 600 CLOCK HOURS, MASSAGE THERAPY 700 CLOCK HOURS, COSMETOLOGY
CROSSOVER 300 HOURS, BARBERING CROSSOVER 200 HOURS, MICROBLADING 24 HOURS.

Course Clock Hours Months Weeks Award

Barbering 1500 11.26 50 Diploma

Cosmetology 1600 12 54 Diploma

Esthetician 600 7 30 Diploma

Manicuring 400 5 20 i Diploma

Manicuring 600 2 30 Diploma

Massage Therapy | 700 7 30 Diploma

Cosmetology 300 2.5 10 Diploma

Crossover

Barbering 200 2 8 Diploma

Crossover

Microblading 24 3 days 3 days Diploma

Course Cip SOC O NET Occupations -

Cosmetology 12.0401 39-5012 39-5012.00 Hairdressers, Hairstylists and
Cosmetologists

Barbering 12.0402 39-5011 39-5011.00 Barbers _

Esthetician 12.0409 39-5094 39-5094.00 Skin Care Specialists

Manicuring 12.0410 39-5092 39-5092.00 Manicurists and Pedicurists

Massage Therapy | 51.3501 31-9011 31-9011.00 Massage Therapists

Microblading 12.0411 39-9099 39-9099.00 Microblading Specialist

CIP Codes: U.S. Department of Education regulations as of July 1, 2011, require the institution to
identify programs by Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) Code, with links to the U.S.
Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration’s Occupational Information network.
For more information on CIP codes, please visit https://nces.ed.gov/pubs2002/cip2000/index.asp.




SOC Codes: The Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) system is used by Federal statistical
agencies to classify workers into occupational categories. For more information regarding SOC codes,
please visit https://www.bls.gov/soc/2018/major groups.htm.

O NET: The O NET program is the nation’s primary source of occupational information. Central to the
project is the O NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occu pation-
specific descriptors. Utilizing the SOC Codes, O NET provides easy to read career reports that include
the most critical on-the-job tasks and skills. Job seekers can also find local salary information and
training opportunities. For more information regarding O NET, please visit
https://www.onetcodeconnector.org/find/family/title#39.

California statute requires that a student who successfully completes a course of study will be awarded
an appropriate diploma or certificate verifying their completion of such course.

Instruction takes place in residence with facility occupancy level accommodating 100 students at any
one time. Prospective enrollees are encouraged to visit the physical facility of the school and to discuss
personal, educational and occupational plans with school personnel prior to enrolling or signing
enroliment agreements. Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been
satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to —

The Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA
95834, www.bppe.ca.gov, (916) 574-8900 or by fax (916) 263-1897.

At the time of this publication, Jasmine Beauty School is not accredited by an accrediting agency
recognized by the United States Department of Education.

Financial Aid Programs

This school currently does not have available sponsored programs, government or otherwise, to provide
grants or to pay for portions of tuition and fees. We do not participate in Federal and/or State Financial
Aid Programs at this time.

The following state bureaus, departments or agencies set minimum standards for your program of
studies.

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

The student must complete the requirements of the State of California, Department of Consumer
Affairs, and Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. The mailing address of the Board of
Barbering and Cosmetology is P.O. Box 944226, Sacramento, CA 94244-2260. The street
address is 400 R Street, Sacramento, CA 95814. Phone number is (916)323-9020.

Allinformation in the contents of this school catalog is to be true and correct, certified by: Mr. Hung Vi
La - President



Housing

Currently, our school does not offer any type of housing nor do we offer any type of housing assistance,
such as housing referral, location assistance or financial housing assistance. The school does not have a
dormitory facility under our control. There is housing available within the immediate school facility that
varies in cost from $500.00 to $2,500.00 depending on the number of residents per apartment or home
to be acquired.

The combination of the school catalog and enrollment agreement represents a legal and binding
document. All pages of this catalog are part of your contract with the school. As a prospective
student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are
also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to
signing an enrollment agreement.



FACULTY AND STAFF
JASMINE BEAUTY SCHOOL

Director & President/CFO/CEQ
Mr. Hung Vi La

General Manager
Minh Tam Kieu

Admission: Jenny Hoang

Academic & Accounting: Jenny Hoang

Receptionist: Sandy Le

General Manager: Minh Tam Kieu

Instructors: Trung Duc Nguyen/CAO, TinaT. Le, Cindy Wong, Dominic The Pham, Heidy Sassady, Adrian
Hill, YenMinh Le, Alina Pham

FACULTY QUALIFICATION LIST

Trung Duc Nguyen Instructor
Manicurist Instructor 10 Years
TinaT. Le Instructor
Cosmetology Instructor 23 Years
Dominic The Pham Instructor
Licensed Massage Therapist 12 Years
Cindy Wong Instructor
Cosmetology Instructor 12 Years
Adrian Hill Instructor
Barbering Instructor 1 Year
Heidy Sassady Instructor
Esthetician Instructor 1 Year
YenMinh Le Instructor
Esthetician Instructor 12 Years
Alina Pham Instructor
Esthetician and Microblading Instructor 1Year



MISSION STATEMENT/EDUCATIONAL GOALS AND OBJECTIVES

Welcome to Jasmine Beauty School. We thank you for choosing us to assist you in obtaining your
desired cosmetology training. Jasmine Beauty School strives to work with you, the students, in order
that they may find success and fulfill their dream as a true professional in the cosmetology industry.

The mission of Jasmine Beauty School is to provide students with quality educational programs, and to
provide appropriate instruction that will prepare them for employment in the Cosmetology arts and
sciences, and/or other related fields. At the same time, we will continually to monitor the profession to
be updated with the current trends, designs, and techniques required by employers.

Our primary objectives at Jasmine Beauty School are:

1. Provide educational programs to those who are seeking a fulfilling career in the Cosmetology
profession.

2. To teach Cosmetology related subjects including barber, hair and scalp treatments, manicuring,
facials, styling, and all related theories.

3. To prepare our students to become successful in the Cosmetology industry by providing them
with the necessary information and education to pass the California Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology examinations for proper licensing.

4. To teach students certain aspects of Cosmetology professionalism and smart business practice.

Instructional Facilities

Jasmine Beauty College occupies about 3,968 square feet, which is divided into reception area, theory
and practical classrooms, clinic, student lounge, library and office, and restrooms. The school is located
at 5911 University Ave, Ste 318, San Diego, CA 92115. Manicuring tables and stools, dryers,
mannequins, mirrored stations, and other equipment are furnished for the benefit of students.
Educational classroom equipment consists of TV and DVD equipment, visual aids, and teaching machine
which are for the use of students. A kit consisting of all equipment necessary to complete the course is
to be purchased by the students. Facilities for the handicap can be discussed with the school
administrator before enroliment.

Libraries and other learning resources

The library will hold copies of approved books textbooks and studying materials for temporary lease by
the students. Students who borrow textbooks must sign in and return them to the library the next day.
Educational classroom equipment consists of TV and VCR equipment, computers, visual aids, teaching
machine and tape records, which are for the use of students. For students who do not receive
classroom instruction due to various legitimate reasons such as illness, or leave of absence, and
computer file will be saved for each lesson taught. Each file will also be printed out on paper. Students
can access those files upon request to the school Administrator. We will also provide internet access to
students who wish to perform additional research on-line on the subject matter that they are learning.
Resume assistance tool will be available to graduates who wish to take advantage of it.

Bankruptcy

Jasmine Beauty School does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in
possession, has not filed a petition within the preceding five years, or has not had a petition in
bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Cha pter
11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code.



Non-Discrimination Statement

The school does not discriminate in its employment, admission, instruction, or graduation policies based
on sex, age, race, color, religion, or ethnic origin. The school does not recruit students already attending
another school offering the same courses of study.

Physical Demands and Safety Requirements

The professional in the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy fields must be in good physical health for
he/she will be working in direct contact with customers. In most aspects of the Cosmetology and
Massage Therapy fields, there is a great deal of standing, walking, bending, and repetitive hand motions.
A person must consider his/her physical limitations in terms of making a career choice that involves
extensive training. The professional must also be aware of the many chemicals he/she will be in direct
contact on a daily basis. Wearing protective gloves and appropriate clothing is necessary, Knowledge of
and proper handling of hazardous materials is a must. Please be aware of any allergies you may have
with chemicals and/or latex before entering into the fields of Cosmetology and Massage Therapy.

ENROLLMENT & CLASS SCHEDULE

Enrollment should be completed the week prior to the desired start date. Students who enroll and
complete the necessary paper work early will receive priority for enrollment in the event their desired
class is filled.

School Calendar
Day Classes begin every Tuesday

Class Schedules
Day Classes are held Tuesday through Saturday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Full Time Class: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Part Time Class: 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Night Classes are held Monday through Friday
4:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m., and Sunday 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.



ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

The school requires that each student enrolling in any of its offered programs must:

A)
B)

C)

D)

E)

F)

Complete an application for enroliment

A student must provide a copy of his/her High School Diploma, GED, or its equivalent. Jasmine
Beauty School will verify the authenticity of the diploma prior to enroliment. If we cannot verify
the diploma, we will request the student to provide a final high school transcript.

If the student does not possess a High School Diploma, and are over 18 years old, he/she must
have at least completed the 10" grade to be admitted as a regular student and meet the
school’s Ability-to-Benefit (ATB) requirements.

Ability-to-Benefit (ATB) requirements require that students admitted under these criteria to
pass one of the Ability-to-Benefit tests approved by the U.S. Department of Education
administered by an independent proctor. Our school will use the CELSA Ability-to-Benefit test.
The school employee will provide students with additional information as to how to arrange for
the Ability-to-Benefit test. All Ability-to-Benefit students must take and pass the test prior to
being admitted to the school. The passing score is 97 for Form 1 or Form 2. If the student fails
the first exam, re-testing is available after one week waiting period and the independent proctor
will explain and provide her/him with the re-testing procedures.

For students who are taking the class in Vietnamese language, we will administer the LPAT-V
Ability-to-Benefit test. A minimum score of 17 is require on the Reading test, and a minimum
score of 14 is required on the Math test. If the student fails the first exam, re-testing is available
after one week waiting period and the independent proctor will explain and provide her/him
with the re-testing procedures.

For Microblading class taken at our branch institution, student is required to obtain a
practitioner permit with the San Diego County before being able to practice as a Certified
Microblading Specialist.

Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetician, Manicuring, Massage Therapy, and all CrossOver courses are taught
in English and Vietnamese. Our school hires instructors who are fluent in the English and Vietnamese
languages. The school Catalog, School Performance Fact Sheet and Enrollment Agreement are in
English and Vietnamese.

GED Programs: For information on obtaining a General Education Diploma (GED), please refer to the
Community Colleges and Adult School location in your area.

Policy for Transfer Students
A) Students previously enrolled in an accredited school of Cosmetology may submit their academic

records to Jasmine Beauty School for review and possible transfer of credit. If the academic
records are from Cosmetology school of other states, only the California Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology may grant those students credit of hours and operations. The school will only
accept credit hours from another state with proper documentation from the California Board of
Barbering and Cosmetology.

Jasmine Beauty School will not accept students for enrollment in the following courses for any
hours less than:

Barbering 400, Cosmetology 400, Esthetician 300, and Manicuring 200. This includes students
with state credits and a letter of recommendation from the Barbering and Cosmetology
Program. All out of state applicants must first request and receive a “Letter of Evaluation” from

7



the California Barbering and Cosmetology Program. Our school does not guarantee that we will
accept any of the applicant’s prior hours. Copies of all of the above documents shall be retained
in the student files upon enrollment. Jasmine Beauty School will only accept prior credit hours
from another accredited California Cosmetology School or a letter of recommendation from the
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. The school does not accept any experiential
learning hours (hours received through experience working in the field.

B) Charges for tuition, fees and equipment for Transfer Students
Tuition will be based on the current hourly rate times the amount of hours needs to complete
the course. Student will only be charged for the amount of hours needed to complete the
program. Students must have all equipment as listed in the school’s current kit list or purchase
the kit from the school. Students requiring more than 300 hours of education will be required
to purchase the schools education kit.
Itis at the discretion of the school Director, prior to enroliment, to determine that all remaining
hours of instructions and operations will be completed by the transfer student in the time frame
allotted. A transfer student may be required to complete additional hours at the schools
discretion.

C) “NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR
SCHOOL
The transferability of credits/hours you earn at Jasmine Beauty School is at the complete
discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the diploma or
certificate you earn in Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetician, Manicurist, Manicurist 102, Massage
Therapy, Cosmetology Cross Over, Barbering Cross Over, and 3D Microblading is also at the
complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the diploma or
certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you seek to
transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For
this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your
educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer
after attending Jasmine Beauty School to determine if your diploma or certificate will transfer.”

D) The institution has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other
college or university.

English as a Second Language

The school does not provide instruction for English as a Second Language, and neither does it provide
services for obtaining visa. Although classes will be conducted in bilingual (English and Vietnamese), all
students must be English proficient. The school catalog and all required disclosures including the school
Enroliment Agreement will be provided in English and Vietnamese. Students from foreign countries and
students that do not possess a high school diploma must meet the school’s Ability-To-Benefit
requirements.

Ability-to-Benefit (ATB) requirements require that students admitted under these criteria to pass one of
the Ability-to-Benefit tests approved by the U.S. Department of Education administered by an
independent proctor. Our school will use the CELSA Ability-to-Benefit test. The school employee will
provide students with additional information as to how to arrange for the Ability-to-Benefit test. All
Ability-to-Benefit students must take and pass the test prior to being admitted to the school. The
passing score for the CELSA test is 97 for Form 1 or Form 2. If the student fails the first exam, re-testing
is available after one week waiting period and the independent proctor will explain and provide her/him
with the re-testing procedures.



For students that are from Vietnam, the school will administer the LPAT-V Ability-to-Benefit test. A
minimum score of 17 is require on the Reading test, and a minimum score of 14 is required on the Math
test.

Freshman-Class Enrollment

The freshman curriculum for each of the courses requires a specific number of hours of classroom
lectures, demonstrations, and student practice. (See Curriculums sta rting on page 12). The freshman
class teaches you from the beginning and introduces the basics for those areas that you will need to
know to pass licensing examinations. From this initial introduction, students will learn all the
fundamentals that are the basic foundation for their future careers. The hours spend in the freshman
class are as follows: Cosmetology 200-400 hours. Barbering 200-300 hours. Esthetician 60-100 hours.
Manicuring 40-70 hours, and Massage Therapy 60-200 hours.

Textbooks and Supplies

Textbooks and kits will be issued at the beginning of the freshman class. All needed supplies and
equipment will be maintained in the freshman classroom. You may elect to purchase your books and
kits elsewhere, and you must obtain a complete kit checklist from the administrative office and your kit
must be complete within the first seven days of classes. The kit contains the equipment necessary for
satisfactory completion of the course. Students are expected to maintain the kit by replacing lost or
broken articles. The school is not responsible for a student’s equipment, either lost or stolen. Students
must learn to be responsible for the tools of their trade.

Orientation Class

Orientation classes for all students are held on Friday morning of each week from 8:30 a.m. to 10:00
prior to any new class starting. All new students, transfers and re-enrollment students are required to
attend prior to admission.

Disclosure of Education Records

Adult students, parents of minor students, have the right to inspect, review, and challenge information
contained in their education records. However, a school official must be present. Education records are
defined as files, materials, and documents which contain information directly related to the student and
are maintained by the institution. School will maintain institutional and student records for five years.
Students’ transcripts are maintained indefinitely. Students are not entitled to inspect the financial
records of their parents. Written consent is required from the student (or their guardian if the student
is a dependent minor) before education records may be disclosed to third parties with the exception of
accrediting commissions or governmental agencies that are authorized by law. Please refer to
Notification of Right under FERPA.

Notification of Right under FERPA
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) afford students certain rights with respect to
their education records. These rights include:

1) The right to inspect and review the student’s education records within 45 days from the
time the school receives a request for access. A student should submit to the appropriate
official of the school a written request that identify the record or records the student wishes
to inspect. The school office will make arrangements for access and notify the student of
the time and place where the records may be inspected. If the records are not maintained
by the School official to whom the request was submitted, that official shall advise the
student of the correct official to whom the request should be addressed.
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2) The right to request the amendment of the student’s education records that the student
believes to be inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise in violation of the student’s privacy
rights under FERPA. A student who wishes to request the school to amend a record should
write the school official responsible for the record, clearly identify the part of the record
that the student want changed, and specify why it should be changed. If the school decides
not to amend the record as requested, the school will notify the student in writing of the
decision and the student’s right to a hearing regarding the request for amendment.
Additional information regarding the hearing procedures will be provided to the student
when notified of the right to a hearing.

3) The right to provide written consent before the school discloses personally identifiable
information from the student’s education records, except to the extent that FERPA
authorizes disclosure without consent. The school discloses education records without a
student’s prior written consent under the FERPA exception for disclosure to school officials
with legitimate educational interests. A school official is a person employed by the school in
an administrative, supervisory, academic or research, or support staff position (including law
enforcement unit personnel and health staff); a person or company with whom the school
has contracted as its agent to provide a service instead of using school employees or officials
(such as an attorney, auditor, or collection agent); a person serving on the Board of
Trustees; or a student serving on an official committee, such as a disciplinary or grievance
committee, or assisting another school official in performing his or her tasks. A school
official has a legitimate educational interest if the official needs to review an education
record in order to fulfill his or her professional responsibilities for the school.

Upon request, the school also discloses education records without consent to officials of
another school in which a student seeks or intends to enroll.

4) The right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged
failures by the school to comply with the requirements of FERPA. The name and address of
the Office that administers FERPA is:

Family Policy Compliance Office
U.S. Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202-5901

STUDENT SERVICES AND PLACEMENT

Job placement assistance is provided to graduates and students at no additional charge. While the
school cannot guarantee employment for graduates, the school does make every effort to help them
obtain employment. The school maintains a network of relationships with professionals and employers
throughout the San Diego County who are frequently seeking our graduates. Please call our registrar for
job opportunities and career counseling.

HOLIDAY AND EMERGENCY CLOSURES
The school is closed every Sunday and on the following Holidays:
e New Year's Day
¢ Christmas Day
e Thanksgiving Day
¢ Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day

L]
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Holidays of religious beliefs are respected and allowed. They are part of the additional time given
students on their enrollment contracts. In the case the school must close for an emergency or
unexpected reason, students will either be notified by a notice posted on the front door of the school or
telephones.

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE: It is the palicy of this institution to handle grievances in the Following
manner:

1. Fill out the grievance form and list all grievances

2. Deliver all forms to your immediate instructor

3. Ifyou are unable to deliver the form to the instructor, you may mail it to the Director/President:
Mr. Hung Vi La, Address- 5911 University Ave, Ste 318, San Diego, CA 92115

4. All grievances regardless of the nature will be turned over to the owner and reviewed

5. The owner will evaluate the grievance and set up an appointment with the person/student
within five days from receipt of the grievance form. If the grievance is an emergency, it will be
addressed within 24 hours.

6. Astudent or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling the toll free number (888)370-7589 or by
completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s Internet website below.
Also any question a student may have regarding this catalog that has not been satisfactorily
answered by the institution may be directed to BPPE: California Department of Consumer
Affairs, Private Postsecondary Education, and P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-
0818. Website: www.bppe.ca.gov Email: bppe@dca.ca.gov and Fax (916)263-1897. Or
NATIONAL ACCREDITING COMMISSION OF CAREER ARTS & SCIENCES, 4401 Ford Ave., suite
1300, Alexandria, VA 22302, and (703)600-7600.

7. ltis highly recommended but not mandatory to bring all complaints first to the attention of the
institution. In most cases this will resolve the complaint faster and produce a satisfactory result.
We suggest that students use this internal process first, but that it is not required, and they may
contact the Bureau at any time.

ACCOUNTING OF STUDENT HOURS AND OPERATIONS

Full time: Any student scheduled to attend 40 hours or more per week are considered to be full-time
student. Part-time enrollment is defined as at least 32 but less than 40 hours per week. Less than 20
hours per week is less than half time. Half time enrollment requires a minimum of 20 hours per week.
All students are responsible for the accuracy of their time sheets. Students must clock in and out at the
required times and record all hours of classroom attendance and operations completed on the time
sheet in the appropriated space. The student must present the completed time sheet to an instructor
for verification of accuracy and a signature by the instructor at the end of each day of class. If the time
sheet is not sign by an instructor, the student will not receive credit for the days of operation. Students
are not to remove time sheets from the school premise at any time. Forged or altered time cards are
grounds for immediate expulsion.

All time clock hours, classroom hours, and operations hours are posted weekly using the school’s
computerized attendance system. The time sheets are then filed in the student’s time sheet folder.
Students wishing to review their time sheets with the school Director must make their requests in
writing. An appointment to review the time sheets will be scheduled within five days.
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Student Clock Hour Policy

The California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology will only recognize time-clock punched hours of
attendance. As a result of this requirement, the school can only give clock hour credit to students who
record their attendance by using the time clock to punch in and out at the start and end of their class
day and lunch period. You will be given up to seven minutes to clock in and receive credit for the
quarter (1/4) hour. This seven minute period applies to starting of the class day only. If you do not
arrive and clock in by 8:38 a.m., you may not clock in for the day without excused permission. Students
who are habitually tardy, (four times in one month), will be counseled and if the tardiness continues, the
student may be suspended or be placed on probation until the tardiness ceases. A 30 minute lunch
break shall be taken for students who attend a six hour class day or more. If you are attending less than
a 6 hour class day and desire to take a 30 minutes lunch break, then the 30 minutes shall be deducted
from your daily total hours and you must clock in and out on your time card for the lunch break. Once
classes have started, no one from outside will be admitted to the classroom. Instructors may not sign a
student in or out. If an error is made on the student time card, the instructor must draw a line
through the error and make the appropriate correction. The student and instructor must initial the
change.

You must clock in and out for the lunch break, and you must leave your time card in the designated area.
Failure to clock in and out for lunch break will be subject to disciplinary action. If a student is unable to
take his/her lunch break at the designated time (11:15 a.m. — 12:15 p.m.), he/she must report to the
instructor to be assign a different lunch time. The time card must be signed by the student and
instructor daily.

Time Card Credit

The following is a guideline for the instructor to issue credits:

Each theory credit must be initialed in the proper category. If that category is complete, the instructor
may issue credit in a comparative category. The portion of the time card reflecting hours are in the
theory hours earned and any classes the instructor has taught. The portion of the time card concerning
operations is to be applied efforts of the students, as they manually perform a practical subject.
According to the students, some practical operations may take longer to perform. Note the following
time frame the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology gives for each operation: Shampoo/set = 1 %
hours, Scalp Treatment = % to 1 hour, Permanent Wave = 2 to 2 % hours, Facial =1 % to 2 hours,
Manicure =% hours, and Hair cut = % to 1 hour. Using the given examples, it is understandable if the
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology would not consider a student capable of performing more than
three Permanent Waves per day.

ATTENDANCE POLICY

Absences are considered excused under the following circumstances: illness, birth or death in the
immediate family, and other valid reasons. Excused however, does not mean you will receive hours for
the time you were gone from class. Excused only means you will be allowed to come back to school. All
excused absences are to be in writing, and will be approved at the discretion of the school Director. If a
student need to attend a special event, please provide in writing a two week notice. If a student is
absent from school for 21 consecutive calendar days, he/she will be dropped from the program on the
21 day.
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Leave Of Absence (LOA)

If a student finds it necessary to be absent from school for three weeks or more, he/she must first
obtain permission from the school Director. Only one Leave of Absence will be allowed per twelve-
month period. A Leave of Absence will be granted for a minimum of 21 consecutive calendar days and a
maximum of 120 consecutive calendar days. Tuition payments are still due on time to avoid any late
fees during the time of the student’s Leave of Absence.

To make up work or classes missed, please check the Class Schedule for the next available date class will
be given on the subject you have missed, and request permission from the school Director to attend the
specific class. Students are required to make up any missed lessons or exams due to his/her absence. It
is the responsibility of the student to schedule for missed work.

Tardy
Any student late for class by 15 minutes will not be permitted to clock in for that day.

Change of Status

If a student finds that he/she is unable to attend his/her scheduled hours (full time or part time), then
the student must a request a change of status from the school Director prior to attending more or less
hours. A $35.00 processing fee will be added to the student’s tuition account for any change of status.

Curriculum for Cosmetology Course (1,600 Clock Hours)

The curriculum for students enrolled in a cosmetologist course shall consist of sixteen hundred (1,600)
clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of
cosmetology pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. Technical instruction
means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination. Practical
operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or
mannequin. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:

THEORY SUBJECT HOURS
HAIRSTYLING: Shall include, but is not limited to: Hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin 65
curling, comb outs, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons and blower [

styling.

PERMANENT WAVING & CHEMICAL STRAIGHTENING: Shall include, but is not limited to: Hair 40

analysis, acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening including the use of sodium
hydroxide and other base solutions.

HAIR COLORING AND BLEACHING: Shall include, but is not limited to: Hair analysis, predisposition 60
and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, high and low lights, and the
use of dye removers. Types of color will include the use of permanent, semi-permanent, demi-
permanent, and temporary colors.

HAIRCUTTING: Shall include, but is not limited to: Use of scissors, razor (shaper), electrical 20
clippers/trimmers, and thinning (tapering) shears for wet and dry cutting.

LAWS AND REGULATIONS 20

Health and Safety Considerations — Shall include, but is not limited to: Cosmetology chemistry 90
including the chemical composition and purpose of cosmetic, nail, hair and skin care preparations.
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Elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels and chemical and physical changes of matter.
Hazardous substances including training in chemicals and health in establishments, protection from
hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, ergonomics, theory of electricity in
cosmetology, bacteriology, communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, and staph and
Material Safety Data Sheets.

ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY: Shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Human Anatomy, 20
Human Physiology.

DISINFECTION/SANITATION & SAFETY: Shall include the following procedures: Proper procedures to 50
protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. Proper disinfection

procedures for equipment used in establishments. Disinfection procedures will be emphasized

throughout the entire training period and will be performed before the use of all instruments and

equipment.

Board Approved Health & Safety Course 15
ESTHETICS: MANUAL, ELECTRICAL AND CHEMICAL FACIALS 25
Shallinclude, but is not limited to the following techniques and procedures: Manual Facials including

cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks. Electrical Facials include the use of electrical

modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes; however,

machines capable of producing an electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as to contract,

or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body or face. Chemical Facials include chemical

skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the non-living, uppermost

layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis, may be removed, and only for the purpose of

beautification. B
EYEBROW BEAUTIFICATION & MAKE-UP 25
The subject of Eyebrow Beautification shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues:

Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal, including the use of wax, tweezers, electric or manual, and

depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair.

The subject of Makeup shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: skin analysis,

complete and corrective makeup, the application of false eyelashes, and lash and brow tinting, if a

product exists that is not disapproved, prohibited or banned by the U.S. Food and Drug

Administration, the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, or the U.S. Environmental

Protection Agency.

MANICURING & PEDICURING: Shall include, but are not limited to: Water and oil manicure, including 10
nail analysis, and hand/foot and arm/ankle massage.

ARTIFICIAL NAILS & WRAPS: Artificial nails including acrylic: liquid and powder brush-ons, artificial 25
nail tips and nail wraps and repairs.

SALON MANAGEMENT, BUSINESS ETHICS 25
TOTAL THEORY HOURS 490
PRACTICAL OPERATIONS

HAIRSTYLING 240
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PERMANENT WAVING & CHEMICAL STRAIGHTENING 120
HAIRCUTTING 90
HAIR COLORING AND BLEACHING 70
BOARD APPROVED HEALTH & SAFETY COURSE 10
ESTHETICS: MANUAL, ELECTRICAL, AND CHEMICAL FACIALS 50
EYEBROW BEAUTIFICATION & MAKE UP 40
MANICURING AND PEDICURING 30
ARTIFICIAL NAILS AND WRAPS 125
TOTAL PRACTICAL OPERATIONS 775

Performance Objective
1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmological establishments’
practices
2. Acquire knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails
3. Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology,
chemistry and theory
4. Acquire business management techniques common to cosmetology

Skills to Be Developed

Learn the proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services. Acquire the knowledge of
analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine any disorders. You will learn the
procedures and terminology used in performing all cosmetology services; learn the application of
daytime and evening make-up to include the application of individual and strip eyelashes; learn the
proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and pedicuring and learn the
application of brush-on nails, nail wraps and nail tips.

Attitudes and Appreciations to Be Developed

Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology, possess a positive attitude towards
the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in
dealings with patrons and colleagues.

Requirements for Satisfactory Completion of Course
A student shall have completed Theory and Operations required by the California Board of Barbering &
Cosmetology with a grade average of “C" (70%) or better.

Progress Policy

The school always considers the varied learning capacities of individual students; some may progress
from one phase of training to another at a faster pace. However, all students must satisfactorily
complete all subject matter prior to graduation unless credit has been allowed for previous training or
experience in a particular subject area. Successful graduates will be awarded an appropriate diploma
upon completion of their training program.
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Graduation Requirements

When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical operations in Cosmetology with
a grade average of “C” (70%) or better and all fees are paid in full, he/she will be awarded a diploma
certifying his/her graduation. Students are assisted in completing the necessary documents to file for
the appropriate Cosmetology Examination.

Licensing Requirements
To obtain a Cosmetology license in California, applicants must;
1) Be 17 years of age or older
2) Have completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalent
3) ACosmetology license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has
successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetology course as described above and
passed the licensing exam with an overall average of 75%
4) Have committed no acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480
of the Business and Professional Code.

Grounds For Denial Of A License
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology may deny a license regulated by Section 1203.4 of the
Penal Code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following;

a. Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or
verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Under the provisions of
Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code, any action which a Board is permitted to take following the
establishment of a conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the
judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, or when an order granting probation is
made suspending the imposition of sentence.

Curriculum for Esthetician/Skin Care Course (600 Hours)

The curriculum for students enrolled in the Esthetician/Skin Care course shall consist of six hundred
(600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practical aspects of Skin
Care, pursuant to Section 7354 of the Cosmetology Act. For the purpose of this section, technical
instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination.
Practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another
person. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include

PRACTICAL OPERATIONS

MANUAL, ELECTRICAL AND CHEMICAL FACIALS 150
EYEBROW BEAUTIFICATION 50
MAKE-UP 40
BOARD APPROVED HEALTH & SAFETY COURSE 10
TOTAL OF PRACTICAL OPERATIONS 250
THEORY INSTRUCTION CLOCK HOURS
LAWS AND REGULATIONS 20
Shallinclude, but is not limited to, the following issues: The Barbering and Cosmetology Act

and the Board’s Rules and Regulations.

MANUAL, ELECTRICAL AND CHEMICAL FACIALS 70
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Shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and procedures: Manual Facials
including cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks. Electrical Facials include the
use of electrical modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for facials and skin care
purposes; however, machines capable of producing an electrical current shall not be used
to stimulate so as to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body or
face. Chemical Facials include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall
emphasize that only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis,
may be removed, and only for the purpose of beautification.

HEALTH AND SAFETY CONSIDERATIONS 100
Shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Training in
chemicals and health in establishments, material safety data sheets, protection from
hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies,
communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B. Chemical composition and
purpose of cosmetic and skin care preparation. Elementary chemical makeup, chemical
skin peels, physical and chemical changes of matter. Electrical current, principles of
operating electrical devices, and the various safety precautions used when operating
electrical equipment.

DISINFECTION & SANITATION 40
Shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Procedures to
protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. Proper disinfection
procedures.

Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be
performed before use of all instruments and equipment.

ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY 20
Shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Human Anatomy, Human
Physiology, Bacteriology, skin analysis and conditions.

BOARD APPROVED HEALTH & SAFETY COURSE 15

EYEBROW BEAUTIFICATION 25
Shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: Eyebrow shaping and hair removal
techniques, hair analysis, waxing, tweezing, manual or electrical depilatories

MAKE-UP 20
Shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: Skin analysis, basic and corrective
application, application of false eyelashes.

PREPARATION

Shall include, but not be limited to the following issues: Client consultation, intake
procedures, contraindications, professionalism, client record keeping, pre and post
operative care, CPR/AED, salon and spa skills 15

TOTAL THEORY HOURS 325

Performance Objective

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California Cosmological establishing practices, acquire
the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of skin, acquire the knowledge of
general theory relative to Esthetics including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory and acquire
business management technigues common to Esthetics.
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Skills to Be Developed

Learn the proper use of implements relative to all Esthetician/Skin Care services, acquire the knowledge
of analyzing the skin prior to all services to determine any skin disorders; learn the procedures and
terminology used in performing all Esthetician/Skin Care services; learn the application of daytime and
evening make-up to include the application of individual and false strip eyelashes; and learn the proper
procedure of plain and electrical facials.

Attitudes and Appreciations to Be Developed

Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to Esthetic/Skin Care, possess a positive attitude
towards the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality
in dealings with patrons and colleagues.

Requirements for Satisfactory Completion of Course
A student shall have completed Theory and Operations required by the California Board of Barbering &
Cosmetology with a grade average of “C” (70%) or better.

Graduation Requirements

When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical operations in Esthetic/Skin Care
with a grade average of “C” (70%) or better and all fees are paid in full, he/she will be awarded a
diploma certifying his/her graduation, Students are assisted in completing the necessary documents to
file for the appropriate Barbering/Cosmetology Examination.

Licensing Requirements
To obtain an Esthetician license in California, applicants must:
1) Be 17 years of age or older
2) Have completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalent
3) An Esthetician license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has
successfully completed and graduated from the Esthetician course as described above and
passed the licensing exam with an overall average of 75%
4) Have committed no acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480
of the Business and Professional Code.

Grounds For Denial Of A License

California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology may deny a license regulated by Section 1203.4 of the

Penal Code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following:

b. Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or

verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Under the provisions of
Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code, any action which a Board is permitted to take following the
establishment of a conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the
judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, or when an order granting probation is
made suspending the imposition of sentence.
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Curriculum for Manicuring Course (400 Clock Hours)

The curriculum for students enrolled in a manicurist and pedicurist course shall consist of four hundred
(400) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a manicurist
and pedicurist. Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom
participation, or examination. Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of a
complete service on another person.

Performance Objective

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California Cosmological establishing practices,
understand sterilization procedures, acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to manicuring,
including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory and acquire business management techniques
common to manicurists.

The subject of Manicures and Pedicures shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques
and procedures: Water and Oil manicures including hand and arm massage, complete pedicure
including foot and ankle massage, application of artificial nails including liquid, gel, and powder brush-
ons, nails tips, nail wraps and repairs, and nail analysis

MINIMUM SPECIFIED PRACTICAL OPERATIONS HOURS
DISINFECTION AND SANITATION 10
MANICURES OPERATIONS 60
PEDICURES OPERATIONS 180
PROFESSIONALISM 15
Provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship,

decorum, record-keeping, client service record cards, basic tax responsibilities related to independent
contractors, booth renters, employees, and employers

BOARD APPROVED HEALTH & SAFETY COURSE 10
TECHNICAL SUBJECTS

Laws and Regulations 10 |
Board Approved Health & Safety Course 15
Health and Safety Considerations, (Training in chemicals and health in establishments, material safety 40
data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals, and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety

laws and agencies, ergonomics, communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B)

Disinfection and Sanitation (shall include procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer 25
as well as the technician. The ten required minimum operations shall entail performing all necessary

functions for disinfecting instrument and equipment as specified. Disinfection should be emphasized
through-out the entire training period and must be performed before use of all instruments and

equipment

Bacteriology, Anatomy, and Physiology 10 |
Manicures and Pedicures 60

Skills to Be Developed

Use of proper implementation relative to all manicuring, pedicuring, and artificial nails. Develop the
knowledge to recognize various skin conditions and disorders. Acquire knowledge of analyzing the
hands and feet prior to all services to determine any disorders. Develop the knowledge of safety
precautions in use of manicuring, pedicure and artificial nails.
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Attitudes and Appreciations to Be Developed

Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to nails care, possess a positive attitude towards the
public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in dealings
with patrons and colleagues.

Requirements for Satisfactory Completion of Course
A student shall have completed Theory and Operations required by the California Board of Barbering &
Cosmetology with a grade average of “C” (70%) or better.

Graduation Requirements

When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical operations in Manicuring with a
grade average of “C” (70%) or better and all fees are paid in full, he/she will be awarded a diploma
certifying his/her graduation. Students are assisted in completing the necessary documents to file for
the appropriate Barbering/Cosmetology Examination.

Licensing Requirements
To obtain a Manicurist license in California, applicants must:
1) Be 17 years of age or older
2) Have completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalent
3) A Manicurist license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has
successfully completed and graduated from the Manicuring course as described above and
passed the licensing exam with an overall average of 75%
4) Have committed no acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480
of the Business and Professional Code.

Grounds For Denial Of A License
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology may deny a license regulated by Section 1203.4 of the
Penal Code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following:

c. Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or
verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Under the provisions of
Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code, any action which a Board is permitted to take following the
establishment of a conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the
judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, or when an order granting probation is
made suspending the imposition of sentence.
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Curriculum for Manicuring 102 (600 Clock Hours)

The curriculum for students enrolled in a manicurist and pedicurist course shall consist of four hundred
(400) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a manicurist
and pedicurist. An additional of (200) hours of intensive training in spa treatments so students will have
the confidence and expertise to perform spa services. Technical instruction means instruction by
demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination. Practical operation means the actual
performance by the student of a complete service on another person.

Performance Objective

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California Cosmological establishing practices,
understand sterilization procedures, acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to manicuring,
including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory and acquire business management technigues
common to manicurists.

The subject of Manicures and Pedicures shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques
and procedures: Water and Oil manicures including hand and arm massage, complete pedicure
including foot and ankle massage, application of artificial nails including liquid, gel, and powder brush-
ons, nails tips, nail wraps and repairs, and nail analysis

MINIMUM SPECIFIED PRACTICAL OPERATIONS HOURS
DISINFECTION AND SANITATION 10
MANICURES OPERATIONS 60
PEDICURES OPERATIONS 180
PROFESSIONALISM 15
Provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship,

decorum, record-keeping, client service record cards, basic tax responsibilities related to independent
contractors, booth renters, employees, and employers

BOARD APPROVED HEALTH & SAFETY COURSE 10
TECHNICAL SUBJECTS

Laws and Regulations 10
Board Approved Health & Safety Course 15
Health and Safety Considerations, (Training in chemicals and health in establishments, material safety 40
data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals, and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety

laws and agencies, ergonomics, communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B)

Disinfection and Sanitation (shall include procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer 25
as well as the technician. The ten required minimum operations shall entail performing all necessary

functions for disinfecting instrument and equipment as specified. Disinfection should be emphasized
through-out the entire training period and must be performed before use of all instruments and

equipment

Bacteriology, Anatomy, and Physiology 10
Manicures and Pedicures 60

Additional Instruction and Training = 200 Hours

We will incorporate the following training procedures throughout the program:
1. Milady Online Licensing Preparation
2. Milady DVD which focus on practical aspects of manicuring and pedicure
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3. Externships
4. Professional Ethics, include training in business and communication skills
5. Training in salon decorum, record keeping, and client service records

Skills to Be Developed

Use of proper implementation relative to all manicuring, pedicuring, and artificial nails. Develop the
knowledge to recognize various skin conditions and disorders. Acquire knowledge of analyzing the
hands and feet prior to all services to determine any disorders. Develop the knowledge of safety
precautions in use of manicuring, pedicure and artificial nails.

Attitudes and Appreciations to Be Developed

Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to nails care, possess a positive attitude towards the
public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in dealings
with patrons and colleagues.

Requirements for Satisfactory Completion of Course
A student shall have completed Theory and Operations required by the California Board of Barbering &
Cosmetology with a grade average of “C” (70%) or better.

Graduation Requirements

When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical operations in Manicuring with a
grade average of “C” (70%) or better and all fees are paid in full, he/she will be awarded a diploma
certifying his/her graduation. Students are assisted in completing the necessary documents to file for
the appropriate Barbering/Cosmetology Examination.

Licensing Requirements
To obtain a Manicurist license in California, applicants must:
1) Be 17 years of age or older
2) Have completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalent
3) A Manicurist license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has
successfully completed and graduated from the Manicuring 102 course as described above and
passed the licensing exam with an overall average of 75%
4) Have committed no acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480
of the Business and Professional Code.

Grounds For Denial Of A License
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology may deny a license regulated by Section 1203.4 of the
Penal Code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following:

d. Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or
verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Under the provisions of
Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code, any action which a Board is permitted to take following the
establishment of a conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the
judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, or when an order granting probation is
made suspending the imposition of sentence.
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Curriculum for Massage Therapy Course (700 Clock Hours)

The student enrolled in a massage therapy course shall consist of seven hundred (700) clock hours of
technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a massage therapist specialist.

Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or

examination. Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of a complete service on

another person:

SUBJECT OF TECHNICAL INSTRUCTION

| HOURS

ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY
Physiology is the study of the function of body parts and the body as a whole.
Anatomy is the study of body parts visible to the naked eye, such as the heart or bones.

Relationship of Anatomy and physiology to massage body work, disease, stress, pain,
spasm, pain cycle, healing mechanism of the body, infection, inflammation, the wellness
model, medical and anatomical terminology, levels of complexity of living matter, cells,
enzymes, tissue, the anatomical position of the body, the atomic terms and meanings of
body cavities and organs, the regions of the human body. The structure of the human body
and the 10 systems:
1. Muscular — The muscular system produces motion in body parts and our viscera
(internal organs.)
2. Skeletal - Provides the structural support for the body, protection for internal
organs, and generates all blood cells.
3. Circulatory/Immune System — Involved in the transport of nutrients, water, gases,
hormones, blood, and cells; provides for protect from invading organisms.
4. Nervous —Allows the body to respond to both external and internal stimuli.
Regulates and coordinates the body.
5. Integumentary — Prevents excess water loss and regulates the temperature
6. Digestive — Functions to break down food through release of enzymes to allow easy
uptake of absorbable nutrients.
7. Respiratory — Allows for exchanges of gases.
8. Urinary = Remove bodily waste from bloodstream and regulates homeostasis
9. Reproductive — Production of sex cells.
10. Endocrine — Regulates the growth of body via hormone secretion.

100

ETHICS AND PROFESSIONALISM

Boundaries, Code of ethics, ethical touch, the therapeutic relationship, ethical touch
supervision, ethical business practices, communication skills, building a professional image,
business scope of practice, licenses, education requirements, health requirements for
practitioners, Licenses versus certification.

60

PATHOLOGY: The disease of the 10 systems. Physical changes during the disease

50

KINESIOLOGY is the exploration of human movement and integrates three disciplines:
musculoskeletal anatomy (form), neuromuscular physiology (function) and biomechanics.
Kinesiology is that area in which these three disciplines intersect. An introduction to
Kinesiology as related to the upper/lower body. The course will explore the origin,
insertion and action of the upper/lower body muscles related to massage therapy.
Palpation of the muscles will be demonstrated and practiced

50
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MASSAGE THEORY AND TECHNIQUES: Massage theory: effects/benefits, indications and 300
contraindications, equipment and products, sanitary and safety practices, consultation and
documentation, classical massage movements, application of massage techniques,
procedures for whole body massage, hydrotherapy, massage in the spa, clinical massage
techniques, lymph massage, therapeutic procedure athletic, sport massage, massage for
special population, massage in medicine, additional therapeutic modalities.

PRACTICAL OPERATIONS

UNPAID AND SUPERVISED CLINICAL OR INTERNSHIP EXPERIENCE (100 HOURS) 140
-Sanitation, sterilization

-Reflexology: hand and foot massage

-Swedish

-Sport massage

-Classification of massage movements

-Application of massage strokes

-The six major categories: Touch, Gliding, Kneading, Friction, Percussion, Joint movements

Disclosure Regarding 700 Clock Hours:

In California, a 600 Clock Hour Massage Therapy program is sufficient to prepare students for state
certification and gainful employment as Massage Therapists upon graduation from the program. Plus,
students who have successfully completed 600 Clock Hour Massage Therapy will meet the requirements
to be able to obtain the California Massage Therapy Council’s Massage Therapist Certification and to sit
for the National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage. We, at Jasmine Beauty School, feel that is
it to the advantage and benefits for students at our school to complete a 700 Clock Hour Massage
Therapy program because they will be able to learn more than the fundamental massage skills, and
master the most in-demand advanced modalities. In addition, the 700 Clock Hour Massage Therapy
program will allow students to not only gain a successful Massage Therapy career in California, but in
other states as well.

Additional Training Will Be Given In the Following Subject Matter

Salon Management, communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum,
record keeping, client service record cards, preparing a resume, employment development, modeling,
desk and reception, and care and other subjects relating to the field.

Performance Objective

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California Massage Therapy practices, understand
sterilization procedures, acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to Massage Therapy, including
anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory relative to practical procedures, and acquire business
management techniques common to massage therapists.

Skills to Be Developed

Use of proper implementation relative to all massage procedures. Develop the knowledge to recognize
various skin conditions and disorders. Acquire knowledge of analyzing the hands and feet prior to all
services to determine any disorders
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Attitudes and Appreciations to Be Developed

Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to massage therapy, possess a positive attitude
towards the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality
in dealings with patrons and colleagues.

Requirements for Satisfactory Completion of Course
A student shall have completed Theory and Operations with a grade average of “C” (70%) or better.

Graduation Requirements

When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical operations in Massage Therapy
with a grade average of “C” (70%) or better and all fees are paid in full, he/she will be awarded a
diploma certifying his/her graduation.

Licensing Requirements

At this time, completion of this course does not lead to licensure in the State of California. The
California Massage Therapy Council issues voluntary certifications to massage professionals that meet
the requirements in the California State Law. Certification is voluntary. CAMTC Certification is not
required by State Law in order for a massage professional to practice their profession in the State.
However, some cities and counties locally require CAMTC Certification for massage professionals.
Jasmine Beauty School is not approved by CAMTC and the education completed at the school cannot be
used to satisfy any of the requirements for CAMTC certification as a massage therapist or massage
practitioner in which you wish to practice. Local permits may be needed for each city or county where
you practice unless you are CAMTC Certified. If you are in an unincorporated area, please check with
the county.

Grounds For Denial Of A License
The California Massage Therapy Council may deny a license regulated by Section 1203.4 of the Penal
Code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following:

a. Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or
verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Under the provisions of
Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code, any action which CAMTC is permitted to take following the
establishment of a conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the
judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, or when an order granting probation is
made suspending the imposition of sentence.
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Curriculum for Barbering Course (1,500 Clock Hours)

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Barbering course shall consist of fifteen hundred (1,500) clock

hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of Barbering. Technical

instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination.

Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a complete service on another
person or mannequin. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:

techniques and procedures: The use of scissors, razor (shaper),
electrical clippers/trimmers, and thinning shears (tapering) for
wet and dry cutting

SUBJECT Hours of Minimum
Technical Practical
instruction Operations

Laws and Regulations 20 0

Health and Safety Considerations = Shall include training in 90 0

chemicals and health in establishments, material safety data

sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals, preventing

chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies,

bacteriology and preventing diseases including HIV/AIDS and

Hepatitis

Disinfection and Sanitation — Shall include the following 50 0

procedures: Proper procedures to protect the health and safety

of the consumer as well as the technician. Proper disinfection

procedures for equipment used in establishments. Disinfection

procedures will be emphasized throughout the entire training

period and will be performed before the use of all instruments

and equipment

Anatomy and Physiology — Shall include but not limited to the 20 0

studies of Human Anatomy, and Human Physiology

Board Approved Health & Safety Course 15 10

Hairstyling = Shall include but not limited to hair analysis, 65 280

shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs,

straightening, waving, curling with hot combs, hot curling irons

and blow styling

Permanent waving and Chemical straightening — Shall include 40 115

but not limited to, hair analysis, acid and alkaline permanent

waving, chemical straightening, including the use of sodium

hydroxide and other base solutions

Hair Coloring and Bleaching — Shall include but not limited to 60 60

hair analysis, predisposition strand testing, safety precautions,

formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, high and low lights, and the

use of dye removers. Types of color will include the use of

permanent, semi-permanent, demi-permanent, and temporary

colors

Hair Cutting — Shall include but not limited to the following 20 160
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Shaving Preparation and Performance — Shall include but not 100 55
limited to the following techniques and procedures: Preparing
the client’s hair for shaving, assessing the condition of the
client’s skin, performing shaving techniques, applying after-
shave antiseptic following facial services, massaging the client’s
face and rolling cream massages.

Professionalism — Shall include but not limited to the salon 10 5
business and what to expect. Opening salon business yourself,
Managing your clients and building a client base. Seeking
Employment = Preparing students for licensure and
employment. Job resume preparation

Hours spent on clinic floor 490 1010
Total Required Hours 1500

Performance Objective

The objective of the Barbering Course is to develop in the student the practical skills, theoretical
knowledge, and professional attitudes necessary for success in the profession, and to qualify and equip
the student to pass the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. After the
graduate has successfully passed his/her state examination, they are qualified to work as a licensed
barber in any licensed facility in the state of California.

Skills to Be Developed

The Barbering program trains the students to properly shave and trim facial/neck hair and beards, cut
and dress hair, fit hairpieces, give facial and scalp massages, apply cosmetic treatments, and prepares
the students for licensure as professional barbers at various levels.

Attitudes and Appreciations to Be Developed

Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to barbering, possess a positive attitude towards the
public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in dealings
with patrons and colleagues.

Requirements for Satisfactory Completion of Course
A student shall have completed Theory and Operations required by the California Board of Barbering &
Cosmetology with a grade average of “C” (70%) or better.

Graduation Requirements

When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical operations in Barbering with a
grade average of “C” (70%) or better and all fees are paid in full, he/she will be awarded a diploma
certifying his/her graduation. Students are assisted in completing the necessary documents to file for
the appropriate Barbering/Cosmetology Examination.

Licensing Requirements
To obtain a Barbering license in California, applicants must:
1) Be 17 years of age or older
2) Have completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalent
3) A Barbering license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has
successfully completed and graduated from the Barbering course as described above and passed
the licensing exam with an overall average of 75%
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4) Have committed no acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480
of the Business and Professional Code.

Grounds For Denial Of A License
California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology may deny a license regulated by Section 1203.4 of the
Penal Code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following:

e. Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or
verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Under the provisions of
Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code, any action which a Board is permitted to take following the
establishment of a conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the
judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, or when an order granting probation is
made suspending the imposition of sentence.

Barbering Crossover:

To qualify for the barber examination a cosmetologist or an individual that has completed the
cosmetology course would need to complete 200 hours as followings:

Subject Minimum Minimum Total
Hours of Practical Hours of
Technical Operations | Study
Instruction

Shaving Preparation and Performance — Shall include but not
limited to the following techniques and procedures: Preparing the
client’s hair for shaving, assessing the condition of the client’s skin, 100 40
performing shaving techniques, applying after-shave antiseptic
following facial services, massaging the client’s face and rolling
cream massages.

200

Licensing Requirements
To obtain a Barbering license in California, applicants must:
1) Be 17 years of age or older
2) Have completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalent
3) Holds a license as a Cosmetologist in the State of California
4) A Barbering license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has
successfully completed and graduated from the Barbering Crossover course as described above
and passed the licensing exam with an overall average of 75%
5) Have committed no acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480
of the Business and Professional Code.

Grounds For Denial Of A License

California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology may deny a license regulated by Section 1203.4 of the
Penal Code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following:

Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or verdict of
guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Under the provisions of Section 1203.4 of the
Penal Code, any action which a Board is permitted to take following the establishment of a conviction
may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the judgment of conviction has bheen affirmed on
appeal, or when an order granting probation is made suspending the imposition of sentence
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Cosmetology Crossover:

To qualify for the cosmetology examination a barber or an individual that has completed the barbering
course would need to complete 300 hours as follows:

Subject

Minimum
Hours of
Technical
Instruction

Minimum
Practical
Operations

Total
Hours of
Study

200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in
Esthetics

ESTHETICS: MANUAL, ELECTRICAL AND CHEMICAL FACIALS

Shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and
procedures: Manual Facials including cleansing, scientific
manipulations, packs, and masks. Electrical Facials include the use
of electrical modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for
facials and skin care purposes; however, machines capable of
producing an electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as
to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the
body or face. Chemical Facials include chemical skin peels, packs,
masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the non-
living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis,
may be removed, and only for the purpose of beautification.

25

50

110

EYEBROW BEAUTIFICATION & MAKE-UP

The subject of Eyebrow Beautification shall include, but is not
limited to, the following issues: Eyebrow Arching and Hair
Removal, including the use of wax, tweezers, electric or manual,
and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair.

The subject of Makeup shall include, but is not limited to, the
following issues: skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup,
the application of false eyelashes, and lash and brow tinting, if a
product exists that is not disapproved, prohibited or banned by
the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, the Occupational Safety
and Health Administration, or the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency.

25

40

90

100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in
Manicuring and Pedicuring

MANICURING & PEDICURING: Shall include, but are not limited to:
Water and oil manicure, including nail analysis, and hand/foot and
arm/ankle massage.

10

25

40

ARTIFICIAL NAILS & WRAPS: Artificial nails including acrylic: liquid
and powder brush-ons, artificial nail tips and nail wraps and
repairs

25

120
Nails

60
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Licensing Requirements
To obtain a Cosmetology license in California, applicants must:
1) Be 17 years of age or older
2) Have completed the 10™ grade in a public school or its equivalent
3) Holds a license as a barber in the State of California
4) A Cosmetology license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has
successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetology Crossover course as described
above and passed the licensing exam with an overall average of 75%
5) Have committed no acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480
of the Business and Professional Code.

Grounds For Denial Of A License

California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology may deny a license regulated by Section 1203.4 of the
Penal Code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following:

Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or verdict of
guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Under the provisions of Section 1203.4 of the
Penal Code, any action which a Board is permitted to take following the establishment of a conviction
may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the judgment of conviction has been affirmed on
appeal, or when an order granting probation is made suspending the imposition of sentence

Curriculum for Microblading Course (3 Days, 24 Hours)

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Microblading course shall consist of twenty four (24) clock
hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a Microblading specialist.
Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or
examination. Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of a complete service on
another person.

SUBIJECT Hours of Hours of
Technical Practical
instruction Operations

Day 1 2 6

Overview of Microblading

Consultation

Proper handling of devices, needles, and pigments
Eyebrow Measurement

Day 2 2 6
Color and Pigment Theory
Setup Work Station
Disinfection and Sterilization
Day 3 1 7
Hands on Procedure, Step by Step

Afer Care and Healing Process — Post Procedure
Maintenance of Post Procedure

Common Mistakes to Avoid

Before and After Pictures
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Performance Objective

Upon completion of the microblading program, students will understand the color theory, skin
undertone, pigments, and how they will appear once they are healed underneath the skin. In addition,
students will thoroughly know of eyebrow design, symmetry, and placement.

Skills to Be Developed

The Microblading program trains the students with the skills to consult clients, properly handle
microblading devices such as needles, and measure eyebrow. Students will gain the knowledge of color
and pigments preparation and mixing. In addition, students will learn the proper techniques for
disinfection and sterilization of equipment.

Attitudes and Appreciations to Be Developed

Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to Microblading, possess a positive attitude towards
the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in
dealings with patrons and colleagues.

Requirements for Satisfactory Completion of Course
A student shall have completed Theory and Practical Operations with a grade average of “B” (80%) or
better.

Graduation Requirements

When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical operations in Microblading with
a grade average of “B” (80%) or better and all fees are paid in full, he/she will be awarded a diploma
certifying his/her graduation.

Licensing Requirements

Applicant must be 18 years of age or older and have completed the 10" grade. A Microblading Specialist
diploma will be granted only after the student has successfully completed and graduated from the
Microblading course as described above with an overall average of 80%. In addition, the student must
obtain a Blood Borne Pathogen certificate and a Health Permit to Operate in his/her county.
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EXTERNSHIPS

A)

B)
C)

D)
E)

F)
G)
H)

Students must complete at least 60% of their programs: Cosmetology — 960 hours, Esthetician
- 360 hours, Barbering — 900 hours, Manicuring — 240 hours, Manicuring 102 — 360 hours
Students tuition payments must in current and good status

Students must wear a photo ID at all time during the externship as required by California State
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

It is the student’s responsibility to be aware of theory and operational hours needed to graduate
Jasmine Beauty School may deny a student’s eligibility for demonstrating unethical behavior
during externship

Students must remain in good standing with the salons they signed up for the externship
Participation in the externship program is unpaid and voluntary for students and salons

In accordance with the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, externship program hours may not
exceed 10% of the total course hours. Externship clock hours may not exceed: 160 for
Cosmetology, 60 for Esthetician, 150 for Barbering, 40 for Manicuring, and 60 for Manicuring
102.
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15

TUITION POLICY

Tuition Charges

Tuition is disclosed and agreed upon at the time of enroliment. All terms and obligations are reflected in

the enrollment agreement. The schedule of total charges for a period of attendance and an estimated
schedule of total charges for the entire educational program are the same.

PROGRAM TUITION * | REGISTRATION | BOOKS STRF FEE | TOTAL WEEKS

FEE AND

SUPPLIES

COSMETOLOGY | $11,250.00 | $75.00 $675.00 $0.00 $12,000.00 | 40-100
BARBERING $8,275.00 | $75.00 $650.00 $0.00 $9,000.00 | 40-97
ESTHETICIAN $2,550.00 | $75.00 $575.00 $0.00 $3,200.00 | 15-38
MANICURING | $1,775.00 | $75.00 $350.00 $0.00 $2,200.00 | 10-16
MANICURING | $2,775 $75.00 $350 $0.00 $3,200.00 | 15-38
102
MASSAGE $5,375.00 | $75.00 $550.00 $0.00 $6,000.00 | 15-44
THERAPY
COSMETOLOGY | $2,925.00 | $75.00 $0.00 $0.00 $3,000.00 | 8-10
CROSSOVER
BARBERING $1,925.00 | $75.00 $0.00 $0.00 $2,000.00 | 6-8
CROSSOVER
MICROBLADING | $1,625.00 | $75.00 $500 $0.00 $3,000.00 | 3 DAYS

*ONLY TUITION IS REFUNDABLE
*Registration Fee is non-refundable after attendance at the first class session or the seventh day after
enrollment, whichever is later.,

If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to
repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund. If the student has received
federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal
student financial aid program funds. If the student defaults on a federal or state loan, hoth the following
may occur: (a) The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the
student, including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance
owed on the loan. (b) The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at
another institution or other government financial assistance at another institution until the loan is
repaid.

Collection of Tuition

Students are expected to contribute from their own financial resources toward their cost of attendance.
At the student’s option, the school may accept a full payment for tuition and fees after the student has
been accepted and enrolled in a Manicuring course. For students who are enrolled in Cosmetology,
Barbering, Esthetician, or Massage Therapy courses, the financial officer will develop a personalized
payment program, and they will have the option to pay using the following payment schedules: weekly,
monthly, and/or quarterly.
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Scholarships

Jasmine Beauty School does not award any scholarship. Occasionally, the school may have promotional
incentives, and will announce them via advertisement or the school website. Students experiencing
undue financial hardship may consult the financial aid office to inquire of possible assistance that may
be available to them.

Method of Payments
The school accepts cash, debit/credit card, money order, and check.

Extra Instruction Charges

Students are expected to complete their training within the maximum time scheduled as specified in the
Enroliment Agreement. If the student exceeds the expected schedule graduation date as outlined in the
enroliment agreement, an extra instruction charge will be made for the balance of the hours required
for the completion of the course. An addendum to the enrollment contract will reflect the hours to
complete and rate per hour as follows: Cosmetology - $6.00/hr, Barbering - $6.00/hr, Esthetician -
$6.00/hr, Manicuring - $4.00/hr, Massage Therapy - $6.00/hr.

Brush-Up

Students requiring preparation for the licensing exam will be billed at the course hourly rate, depending
on which license they are applying for, and a registration fee of $75.00. Students must furnish their own
equipment. A minimum number of hours will be required and must be approved by the school Director
prior to enrollment.

THE SCHOOL RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE THE TUITION AND FEES AND MAKE SUBJECT CHANGES
WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE WHEN NECESSARY. ANY CHANGE WILL NOT AFFECT THE ATTENDING
STUDENTS.

Right to withhold Transcripts and Grades for Non-Payment of Tuition

An institution may withhold a student’s transcript or grades if the student is in default on a student
tuition contract. If the course of study consists of only one course, the institution may withhold the
grades or the transcript until the tuition is paid in full. CEC. Section 94828 per BPPVE Reform Act
January 1, 1998. Jasmine Beauty School does not use collection correspondence such as banks,
collection agencies, lawyers or any other third parties representing the school.

Pre-Application for Licensing Exam

Students will be allowed to pre-apply for the licensing exam provided they have paid their account in full
at the appropriate pre-application clock hours and provided they have maintained a 90% attendance
throughout their program of study and have not received any suspension. Out of state and transfer
students will not be allowed to pre-apply.
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STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND DISCLOSURES

“The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate
economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a
California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the
institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you
must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program,
and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment,

if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.”

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts,
or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF
may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400,
Sacramento, CA 95833, (916)431-6959 or (888)370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid
tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of
the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was
closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the
Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before
the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program
within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the
closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the
institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of
the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as
required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of
tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court,
based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been
unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and
have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date
of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.
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A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non collection may,
at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise
been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made
the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original
four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer
identification number.”

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 94923,
Education Code,
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WITHDRAWAL AND REFUND POLICY

Student’s Right to Cancel

The student has the right to cancel the enroliment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid
through attendance at the first class session (first day of classes), or the seventh day after enroliment
(seven days from the date when enrollment agreement was signed), whichever is later. All funds paid
will be returned if the student is rejected for enrollment. Cancellation shall occur when you give written
notice of cancellation at the institution’s address. You can do this by mail or hand delivery. The written
notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, will be accepted when it is deposited in the mail and properly
addressed with prepaid postage. The written notice of cancellation need not take on any particular
form, however expressed; it will be accepted only when submitted directly to the Financial Office stating
that you no longer wish to be bound by the enrollment agreement. A withdrawal may also be
effectuated by the school due to the student’s conduct, including, but not necessarily limited to, a
student’s lack of attendance.

Refund Policy

After the cancellation period, the institution provides a pro rata refund of all funds paid for tuition
charged to students who have completed 60% or less of the period of attendance. When more than
60% of the enrollment period in the course has incurred (including absences), there will be no refund to
the student. A registration fee of $75.00 is a non-refundable item. Equipment, books, supplies, tools,
uniforms, kits and any other items issued and received by the student are not returnable. Once received
by the student, they are the property of the student and will represent a liability to the student. If you
cancel the agreement, the school will refund any money that you paid, less any deduction for
registration fee and equipment received. If you withdraw from school after the cancellation period, the
refund policy described above will apply. If the amount that you have paid is more than the amount
that you owe for the time you've attended, then a refund will be made within 45 days of the official
withdrawal. If the amount that you owe is more than the amount that you have already paid, then you
will have to pay for the remaining difference owed. Official withdrawal date is on the student’s
notification or school’s determination

* Books, Uniforms and Tool Kits will be provided after the cancellation period, and shall be non-refundable
if used or removed from packing

Determination of withdrawal from school
The withdrawal date shall be the last date of recorded attendance. The student would be determined to
have withdrawn from school on the earliest of;
The date you notify the Financial Office of your intent to withdraw.
The date the school terminate your enrollment due to academic failure or for violation of its rules and
policies stated in the catalog
The date you fail to attend classes for a two week period, and fail to inform the school that you are
not withdrawing
The date you failed to return as scheduled from an approved leave of absence. The date of the
determination of withdrawal will be the scheduled date of return from leave of absence

Course Cancellation

If a course is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before enrollment and before instruction
in the course has begun, the school shall at its option: 1. Provide a full refund of all money paid; or 2.
Provide for completion of the course at schools in the neighborhood.
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Withdrawal Calculations
This is a calculation mandated by the state agency, and the institution itself. The formula takes into
account the percentage of the course completed and it applies that percentage to the school charges to
determine how much the school earned of those charges, how much was paid toward those charges and
the amount owed, if any, by the student to the school
The following table outlines the refund due based on percentage of training completed, using scheduled
hours (including absences):

Total Tuition Less Registration | Less Books and Less STRF Fee Tuition Cost
Fee Supplies

$12,000.00 §75.00 $675.00 $0.00 $11,250.00

Tuition Course Hourly Fee | Tuition Hours Tuition Refund

Cost Hours Paid Attended Owed Due

$11,250.00 | 1600 $7.03/hr $11,250.00 | 700 $4,921.00 $6,329.00
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SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP) POLICY
Jasmine Beauty School expects all students to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as
established by this institution, the student must:

A. Maintain a cumulative academic average of “C”" (70%) or better on all exams, work projects
(operations), and other required course work.

B. Maintain a cumulative average attendance level of at least two-thirds (2/3) (67%) of the
scheduled hours indicated on their enrollment contract. For example, a student scheduled to
complete 33 hours per week would have to maintain an average weekly attendance of at least
22 hours per week (2/3 X 33 = 22),

Regardless of the average level of attendance, students who have more than two consecutive
weeks of absences (14 calendar days) will be dismissed. This standard shall apply to all students
except those on an approved Leave Of Absence. Students who expect to be absent 14 or more
days up to 180 days are encouraged to request a Leave Of Absence. In addition to attendance
standards relating to SAP, students are also required to adhere to certain general institutional
policies relating to attendance and tardiness.

Complete the course within one and a half times (150%) the length of the course as defined in
the catalog. For example, a student who enrolls in a 600 hour/30 week long Esthetician
program must complete the program within 45 weeks. For the purpose of determining the
maximum time frame, transfer hours from another institution that are accepted toward the
student’s educational program are counted both as attempted and completed hours.

C. Students must meet minimum academic and attendance requirements for each evaluation
period of the course to be considered as making satisfactory academic progress until the next
scheduled evaluation.

Evaluation Periods

Students are evaluated for Satisfactory Academic Progress as follows:
* Cosmetology: When a student is scheduled to complete 450, 900, 1250, and 1600 hours
* Barbering: When a student is scheduled to complete 450, 900, 1250, and 1500 hours

Esthetician: When a student is scheduled to complete 300 and 600 hours

Manicuring: When a student is scheduled to complete 200 and 400 hours

Manicuring 102: When a student is scheduled to complete 300 and 600 hours

Massage Therapy: When a student is scheduled to complete 350 and 700 hours

Grading System

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical, and clinical work. The evaluations are
measured on a standard percentile basis which equates to a letter grade. All copies of evaluation forms
are issued to students upon completion of each increment of the course hours as explained above for
students’ review. This evaluation form reflects the overall Attendance and Academic progress of the
student. Students must maintain a minimum of “C” (70%) cumulative grade average or practical
evaluation to maintain satisfactory academic progress status. Numerical grades are considered
according to the following scale:

90% - 100% A.....Excellent

80% -89% B.....Above Average

70% -79% C...Average

60% - 69% D....Unsatisfactory

00% -59% F....Fail
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Academic Probation

Students who meet the minimum requirements for attendance and academic performance are
considered to be making satisfactory academic progress until the next scheduled evaluation. Students
who fail to meet the SAP standards during a given evaluation period will be placed on SAP probation for
one additional evaluation period. If the student successfully appeal the negative progress
determination, and the school determines that SAP can be met by the end of the subsequent evaluation
period or the school develops an academic plan for the student ensuring that he/she is able to meet the
school’s SAP requirement by a specific point within the maximum time frame established for the
individual student.

For the students under SAP probation, satisfactory academic progress will be reinstated only after the
student has re-established SAP in accordance with the attendance and grading standards stated in
Standards A,B, C, & D of SAP, (see page 27 of the school catalog). Probationary students who meet SAP
by the conclusion of the probationary period will be removed from academic probation and will be
considered making SAP. Probationary students who fail to meet SAP by the conclusion of the
probationary period will be deemed not to be making satisfactory academic progress, and his/her
enrollment may be terminated at the discretion of the school. In the event a student enrollment is
terminated due to not making the Satisfactory Academic Progress, all policies regarding the school
refund policy will apply.

Re-establishment of Satisfactory Academic Progress
Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress by meeting the minimum attendance and
academic requirements by the end of the probationary period.

Interruptions, Course Incompletes, Withdrawals

If an enrolliment is temporarily interrupted due to a Leave of Absence, the student will return to school
in the same progress status as prior to the Leave of Absence. Hours elapsed during a Leave of Absence
will extend the student’s contractual period, and the maximum time frame by the same number of days
taken in the Leave of Absence, and will not be included in the student’s cumulative attendance
percentage calculation. Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course, and wish to re-enroll
in the school will return in the same Satisfactory Academic Progress status as at the time of the
withdrawal.

Appeal Procedure

Students who wish to appeal the decision that they are not making Satisfactory Academic Progress must
submit a written request to the school’s administrator. The written request should be received within
ten calendar days of the school’s determination. The written request must describe why the student
failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along with supporting and verifiable
documentation of the reasons why the school determination should be reversed. Some of the reasons
for which students may appeal a negative progress determination are death of a relative, or an injury or
iliness of the student. Not all appeals will be approved. Appeals will only be considered for
circumstances that were beyond the control of the student. This information should also include what
has changed about the student’s situation that will allow him/her to achieve Satisfactory Academic
Progress by the next evaluation period. Appeal documents/written request will be reviewed, and a
decision will be made and reported to the student within 30 calendar days. The appeal and decision
documents will be retained in the student file. If the student prevails upon the appeal, the Satisfactory
Academic Progress determination will be reversed. If an appeal result in a denial and the original
determination is uphold, the student will be unable to take further action.
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GRADUATION AND LICENSING REQUIREMENTS
These are the criteria for students being eligible for graduation:
¢ Students who maintain a “C” or 70% grade point average
e Students have developed a professional attitude
* Students show competency in practical procedures, and have completed all required clock
hours of both practical and theory training
e Students have completed all other requirements/assignments set by the school in their course
of study
Upon graduation, a certificate of completion will be awarded to the students. The certificate or diploma
certifies that the students has successfully completed the requirements for the course for which they
were enrolled in.
Upon receiving the diploma, the student is now eligible to apply and take the State Licensing Exam. The
State will schedule an examination date for the student. Please note that if a student possess a Federal
Offense, the State could deny him/her a State License. If the student has been convicted of a Federal
Offense, the State will request additional information from the student and will take that information
into consideration in making a decision to issue the student a license. A license will be issued through
the State for applicants who successfully passed the examinations. The school will help each student to
apply for their State examination. All graduates must hold a valid State license prior to entering the job
field.

Applying for the State Exam
The school will help each student to apply for their State examination. Students must meet certain
requirements prior to the school submitting the completed application to the State Board.
Students must demonstrate the following:
Completed all hours and operations
Completed All school requirements
Completed All requirements for each required “Check List”
Have a zero balance owed to the school
e Hassubmitted all required documents to the school Financial Office
Students may pre-apply for their State license once they have completed the required 75% of the course
hours. Please see the school registrar for additional rules and requirement.

STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITES

Student Rights
You have the right, and should ask the school the following questions:

e The names of its accrediting and licensing organizations

e About its program, laboratory, other physical facilities, and its faculty

e What is the cost of attending, and the refund policy for students who drop out
Gainful employment statistics
Can the school credits transfer hours to another school?
How much of your financial need, as determined by the school, has been met
Does the school offer a Work-Study program?
How does the school determine whether you are making Satisfactory Academic Progress, and
what happens if you are not?
® What special facilities and services are available to the handicapped?

41



e The availability of GED programs, if the school admits students who do not have a high school
diploma or the equivalent.

Student Responsibilities
Itis the student’s responsibility to:
* Review and consider all the information about the school program before enrolling
* Toread and understand the school Catalog in its entirety
* Read, understand, and follow all school policies and procedures, including those on attendance
and maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress
* Notify the school of changes in name, address, or attendance status (full time or part time)
® Understand the school’s refund policy
e Understand and comply with the enroliment status, financial charges, financial terms, time
allowed to complete a course, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the
enrollment agreement you will be asked to sign

SCHOOL GUIDELINES AND DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

School Rules
Schools and businesses rely on standards and rules in order to operate successfully. To comply with the
expectations from the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, and to be professional.

Attendance
School hours: Monday — Saturday, 8:30 a.m.—9:30 p.m. Sunday: 9:00 a.m. —5:30 p.m.
Student must be prompt, and attend class on time. To be considered enrolled, students must attend
class full time, three quarter (3/4) or half time. Students will receive credit for properly documented
time only.
1) Students time cards must be legible
2) Clocked in will be rounded to the next % hour, and clocked out will be rounded to the last %
hour
3) Students must clock own time cards, and report absence on a daily basis
4) Students who are not clocked in by 8:37 a.m. will not be allowed to clock in until 10:00 a.m
5) Students must clock out for lunch except for those who attend six hours or less of class
6) Doctors’ excuses are required for absences due to illness. Students with an excess of three un-
excused absences or tardy within 30 days will be counseled
7) More than three counseling in three months may result in probation, suspension, or termination
from the program

Appearance
1) Clean white uniform coat is required with black or blue pants or skirt (knee length or longer)
2) Must have closed toes shoes, no high heel shoes
3) Students must furnish their own equipment and implements for the practical operations
4) No gum chewing, smoking, food, coffee or soda at stations, or in classroom

Equipment

Supplies for personal services must be furnished by all students. Kits and equipment must be kept in
sanitary condition at all times according to California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology guidelines.
Mirrors and stations must be kept clean by students.
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Immediate Withdrawal

1)
2)
3)
4)
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)

Perpetration of theft of any object belonging to another student, customer, and school
Clocking another student time card or have another student does the same for you
Forging any information on the time cards

Use of or being under the influence of drugs or alcohol in school

Causing class disruption after being warned for the same infraction in the past

Physical or vulgar abuse of another individual committed on campus grounds

Willfully not following school rules or guidelines

Possessed, sold or furnished firearm, or other dangerous weapons

Offered, arranged or negotiated to sell any controlled substance, alcoholic beverage or
intoxicant of any kind

10) Had unlawful possession of, or unlawfully offered, arranged or negotiated to sell any drug

paraphernalia

11) Caused or attempted to cause damage to school or private property

12) Knowingly received stolen school or private property

13) Committed or attempted to commit a sexual assault or committed a sexual battery

14) Harassed, threatened or intimidated a person who is a complaining witness or is otherwise

involved in a school disciplinary proceeding

15) Committed sexual harassment

16) Engaged in harassment, threats or intimidation of school or individuals

17) Made terrorist threats against school officials or school property

18) Any other misconduct the school deem as deserving of immediate withdrawal
One Week Suspension

1)
2)
3)
4)
5)

Leaving school grounds without supervisar permission

Failure to come to school without the necessary equipment

Not following class/floor instructor directions

Use of foul language, ethnic, racial, or sexual slurs

Use of products, services not charged on service ticket, or using any product not carried by the
school

Carrying any time card off school grounds

Smoking or eating outside a designated area

Spreading gossip about another student or staff member

Violations leading to One Week Suspension

1)
2)
3)
4)
5)

Improper Attire (uniform), or using unauthorized uniform substitutes
Practice of improper sanitation and sterilization measures

Failure in daily clean up of work area and assigned duty at the end of the day
Failure to clock in and out in the proper manner

Being late to class or leaving class/clinic without proper authorization

In general, three suspensions constitute sufficient cause for withdrawal from the school. The above
guidelines do not encompass all violations that may occur, and they are not all inclusive and/or limit any
action by the school in any way.

Students must comply with all instructions, directions, and orders given by school personnel relative to
school activities. Insubordination, drugs or alcohol usage on campus will not be tolerated. All
assignments, tests, and homework must be made up for excused absences. Any deviation from the
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policy must be in writing from the office and signed by a member of the administrative staff. Absence of
three days or more without notification shall be cause for suspension. Any student absent for more
than 21 days without notifying the school Director will be automatically terminated from enrollment.
These guidelines maybe revised at anytime as the school administrator deems necessary to meet
internal, state, and federal standards.

DRUG AND ALCOHOL ABUSE PREVENTION

In accordance with the Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988 (P.L. 100-690), The Drug-Free Schools and
Communities Act of 1989 (P.L. 101-226) and 34 Code of Federal Regulation Part 85, Subpart F, this
institution is committed to maintaining a drug-free workplace and a drug-free school. Drug and
alcohol abuse can lead to liver, heart, and other chronic diseases, such as low birth weight, birth
defects, infant mortality in expectant mothers and death. The unlawful manufacture, distribution,
dispensing, possession or use of drugs, alcohol or other controlled substances at this institution is
strictly prohibited. Students and employees are required, as a condition of enrollment and/or
employment, to abide by this policy.

To the extent allowed by local, state and federal laws, this institution will impose disciplinary action
against any employee for violating these standards of conduct. These actions may include
suspension, expulsion and termination of employment, referral for prosecution and/or required
completion of a drug and alcohol rehabilitation (or similar) program.

This institution, as required by federal regulation (34 CFR 85.635 and Appendix C), will report all
employees convicted of a criminal drug offense occurring in the workplace to the U.S. Department
of Education. Consistent with these same regulations employees, as a condition of employment,
are required to provide a written notice to this institution of their conviction for a criminal drug
offense occurring in the workplace within 5 days after that conviction. In addition, students
receiving Pell Grants who are convicted of a criminal drug offense during the period of enrollment
for which the Pell Grant was awarded are required by federal regulation to report that conviction in
writing to the:

Director of Grants and Services United States Department of Education

400 Maryland Ave. SW.
Room 3124, GSA Regional Office Bldg. # 3 Washington, DC 20202-4571

The report must be made within 10 days after the conviction. In addition to institutional sanctions,
students and employees convicted of the unlawful possession or distribution of illicit drugs or
alcohol could face local, state and federal legal penalties which include the loss of eligibility for
federal financial aid, fines, imprisonment, and the seizure of drug related assets. Drug awareness
programs, counseling, treatment, rehabilitation and other related services are available on an
ongoing basis to students and employees of the institution through:

Alcohol & Drug Abuse Hotline 800-237-6237

Students and employees seeking assistance in overcoming a drug or alcohol related problem are
encouraged to contact this organization.

This institution continues to make a good faith effort to provide a school and workplace free from
the illicit use, possession or distribution of drugs and alcohol.
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