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A Message from the Director

Thank you for taking the time to review our catalog. We started this school with the goal of
training members of our community that are interested in becoming Professional Truck, Tractor
or Trailer drivers. For more than a decade now, we have welcomed students from all walks of
life, providing quality driving instruction at an affordable price by offering Tractor & Trailer
Driving Courses.

In California, Truck Drivers must have a Class A driver’s license to drive heavy trucks. All
applicants for a class A license or for those that are renewing their license, must meet the
following minimum requirements: have a good driving record; be at least 18 years old for
driving within the state, or 21 years old to transport out-of-state cargo; plus they must pass a
medical examination that requires good hearing, 20/40 vision, with or without glasses, normal
use of arms and legs (unless one gets a waiver) and normal blood pressure. All drivers must pass
written exams and road driving tests, and must meet the state licensing and driving requirements
for the truck being driven.

Our training programs are stress safety through knowledge of Federal Department of
Transportation (DOT) rules and regulations. Candidates will be given necessary knowledge and
classroom training to help them meet the stringent requirements of the national commercial
driver’s license examination.

I believe that you will find that the Skyway Trucking School offers a kind of short-term and
medium-term programs for anyone interested in entering the trucking industry or for those that
need to upgrade their employment skills.
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Catalog is updated annually

The catalog is available to prospective students if they visit our campus. We also will send a
copy of the catalog to anyone who requests a copy. Each person that comes to enroll receives a
copy of the catalog as part of the enrollment process.

Class sessions are held at 16934 Smoke Tree Street, Hesperia, CA 92345.

Skyway Trucking School is a private institution that is approved to operate by the Bureau for
Private Postsecondary Education. Approval means that the institution is in compliance with the
California Private Postsecondary Act of 2009.

Bankruptcy

This institution has not had a pending petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in
possession and has not filed a bankruptcy petition within the preceding five years nor has had a
petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization
under chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code.

Review Documents prior to Signing

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an
enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet,
which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Mission, and Objectives

Our mission at Skyway Trucking School is to provide our students with the knowledge and skills
required to become professional Truck or Tractor/Trailer Drivers by fostering competence,
professionalism, and exceptional safety practices and through by the trucking industry with
specialized, well-trained and safety conscious individuals.

Objectives

The school provides its students with the finest driving instructors from varied backgrounds. Our
programs are designed to provide the most up to date training and hands-on instruction while
preparing the students to become qualified truck drivers.

Our objectives include: creating and sustaining quality educational offerings, while helping to

change peoples' lives and to serve the trucking industry by sustaining an irrefutable reputation by
providing high-quality drivers.

This is accomplished by professional faculty, a well-qualified administration and knowledgeable

support staff. Students are accepted on their ability to benefit without regard for race, color, or
creed.



Our programs are designed with a combination of classroom instruction and practical hands-on
training in a work stimulated environment that prepares individuals for career opportunities in
the trucking industry.

Facilities and Equipment

All class sessions are held at 16934 Smoke Tree Street, Hesperia, CA 92345. The space is
divided into a reception area, one administrative office and classrooms with a restroom. There is
a large parking and driving area by the school where students receive practical training.
Instruction is in the residence with a facility occupancy level that will accommodate 20 students
at any one time.

Skyway Trucking School provides instruction for its programs with up to date equipment such as
commercial tractor trailer vehicles, computers and instruction manuals. All of this equipment is
owned.

Library

Copies of the following books are kept at the office: Bumper to Bumper Text, DMV Booklet,
The Interstate Truck Driver’s Handbook, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulation Handbook
(D.O.T. Safety Regulations) and Log Book. A copy of all of these are kept at the school facility
for the student if they need to use them. Students may ask for a copy at the office anytime.

Questions ’

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily
answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento California, 95833, www.bppe.ca.gov toll free
Number 888-370-7589, Telephone Number 916-431-6959, FAX 916-263-1897.

Complaint

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling toll free 888-370-7589 or by completing
a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s Internet Web site www.bppe.ca.gov.

Notice Concerning transferability of credits and credentials earned at our institution

"The transferability of credits you earn at Skyway Trucking School is at the complete discretion
of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the diploma you earn in the
Tractor/Trailer Course program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you
may seek to transfer. If the diploma that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the
institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your
coursework at that institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at
this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to
which you may seek to transfer after attending Skyway Trucking School to determine if your
diploma_will transfer.



ADMISSIONS

Statement of non-discrimination

Skyway Trucking School does not discriminate in its enrollment practices on the basis of race,
religion, national origin, gender or ethnicity.

Admission

Required Statements
“A student shall enroll solely by means of executing an enrollment agreement. The enrollment
agreement shall be signed by the student and by an authorized employee of the institution.”

Students who studied in a language, other than English at the secondary school level or whose
native language is not English must take the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)
examination to determine if the student has sufficient English language skills to satisfactorily
complete the institution’s programs. Students must have a minimum total score of 500 paper-
based, 173 Computer-based 61-internet based.

The school director or admissions officer will discuss the pros and cons of becoming a
professional truck driver so candidates have all the relevant information to make an informed
career decision. We believe it is important that candidates understand what it takes to become a
professional truck driver before they get into the profession. You will be given a catalog. The
student is encouraged to review the catalog and school performance fact sheet before enrolling.

During the discussion we will discourage candidates with bad driving records to enroll in the
course. During the interview, we will point out the consequences of bad driving such as
excessive citations and DUI violations when trying to obtain and maintain employment within
the trucking industry. Again, we will emphasize safe and defensive habits are critical to the
success of professional drivers.

To be accepted for training, applicants must be able to:
e Have a high school diploma or GED
Submit current driver’s license
Submit Social Security card
Pass a DOT physical & Drug Screening
Provide a DMV printout
Completed application form
Personal interview(in person or via telephone)
Completed enrollment agreement and a non-refundable $250 registration fee

All students that attend S.kyway Trucking School must be at least 18 years of age. State and
federal law has set the minimum age of 18 for commercial driving for the State of California.
Interstate drivers must be at least 21 years of age.

If you do not havg a high school transcript or equivalent, you must take the Wonderlic Basic
Skills Test™" This must be arranged with an independent test administrator. No further progress
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in the enrollment process can proceed until the results of the Wonderlic Basic Skills Test™ are
received. You may not proceed further until the results of this exam have been received by the
school. A graduate of a non-accredited high school, who is at least 18 years of age, or a transfer
from a non-accredited collegiate institution, may be admitted if the Executive or designee
determines the student is capable of profiting from the instruction offered at Skyway Trucking
School and they successfully pass the Wonderlic Basic Skills Test™. A minimum Verbal
score of 200 and a minimum Math score of 210 are required. If the prospective student fails the
second test V-8 2, then she/he may take the test again with a sixty-day waiting period from the date
the first/second test was taken in order to take V-S 1 or V-S 2 test again. If the prospective student
fails the third test, she/he may take the V-S 1/ V-S 2 test within 12 months period. If admitted, you
will be on a provisional status and thereafter must comply with all school rules and regulations
and remain in good standing as a condition of remaining enrolled at Skyway Trucking School.
Upon completion of 50 hours of work at Skyway Trucking School with a minimum grade-point
average of 2.0, full status will be granted.

DOT Physical examination

Each student will need to get a DOT physical examination, before being accepted as a student.
The DOT physical examination must be performed by an approved M.D., D.0, P.A, N.P. The
physical examination is required by DOT to determine, whether it ever is physically fit to drive a
truck. Every student is responsible for paying the fee for the DOT physical exam. The price
ranges from $40-$75. If a student fails a DOT physical test he/she cannot get their “A” licenses
and therefore will not be accepted as a student

DMYV Driving Record Printout

Every student will be informed that a DMV printout is required by CHP to drive trucks during
the training. DMV usually charges five dollars for such a printout. Which must be paid by the
applicant, DMV wants to make sure, trucking school students have a valid class “C” license.
Any applicant, who cannot obtain a DMV driving record for now, that confirms his or her valid
class “C” license, will not be accepted as a student.



Transfers

Skyway Trucking School does not have any articulation agreements and does not accept any
transfers of credit from any other school

Skyway Trucking School does not accept any prior experiential Learning.

VISA

1. No visa service is provided.

2. Students who studied in a language, other than English at the secondary school level or
whose native language is not English must take the Test of English as a Foreign
Language (TOEFL) examination to determine if the student has sufficient English
language skills to satisfactorily complete the institution’s programs. Students must have
a minimum total score of 500 paper-based, 173 Computer-based 61-internet based.

No English services are provided.
3. Instruction is conducted in English only.

Course Description

The Tractor/Trailer Course (Class A) will include in-depth study of DOT safety rules and
regulations. All students must be prepared for vigorous study of the material and homework

assignments. Students will be taught with various types of Tractor Trailer combinations and will

be given defensive driving techniques and skills, required for emergencies procedures during
driving. All students will drive on the open road, on the freeway, highway and city traffic
conditions. We will put heavy emphasis in defensive driving skills, backing the trailer and
emergency procedures. The issuance of the diploma is designated to reflect the student’s ability
to successfully pass the DMV driving skills test.

The Tractor/Trailer course consists of 160 hour of training over a period of four weeks of both
actual driving and observation time. No externship or internship is required.
SOC# 53-3032 Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers

Module Name Description Classroom | Practice
Hours Hours
Module I Description: 20 30
. ¢ Vehicle Inspection Truck/Bus, Basic Controls, DMV
Basic . . . .
Operation preparations, Map Reading, Trip Planning, Log Books

(ELD), Hours of Service Requirements, Vehicle

Operations, Shifting, Defensive Driving, Professional

Skills.

Objectives:

e Student will be able to perform a pre-trip inspection
Truck/Bus, understand the basic truck controls, read a
US road atlas, know the hours of service for a
commercial driver. Operate a commercial truck.




Operate a 10 speed transmissions. Drive a commercial
vehicle defensively and prepared for Module 11

Module II

Range Driving
Skills

Description:
e Entry & Exit Procedures, Vehicle Inspections Pre-trip
& Post Trip, Vehicle backing Skills,
e Docking, Paralleled Parking, Off-Set, Straight line.
Objectives:
¢ Students will be able to enter and exit Commercial
vehicles Truck/Bus without injury, be able to perform
Commercial inspections, perform vehicle backing
procedures and prepare for Module II1

10

50

Module III

Street Driving
Skills.

Description:
Vehicle Motion Control, Shifting, Turns, Rural

Roads, Steep Grades, Freeway/City Driving traffic, Defensive

Driving.

Objectives

¢ Students will be able control a commercial vehicle

Truck/Bus while in motion, properly shift a
commercial vehicle over different terrain, properly
trun, climb mountains and maintain control in
city/freeway conditions, while maintaining a defensive
driving posture. After the completion of module III
students are prepared for entry into the commercial
trucking industry.

10
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Graduation Requirements

To graduate from Skyway Trucking School, a student must successfully complete all of the courses
by achieving an average grade of 70% (GPA of 2.0) or more and be prepared, based on teacher
evaluations, to pass the written and driver sections of the Department of Motor Vehicles driving
exam. The student must also meet the attendance policy and thereby maintain an overall attendance
rate of 70%. Student must have fulfilled all financial arrangements as stated on the

ENROLLMENT AGREEMENT.

To apply for a commercial permit, you will need to:
e Visita DMV Office (make an appointment for faster service)

e Complete application form DL 44 (An original DL 44 form must be submitted. Copies

will not be accepted.
Give a thumb print
Have your picture taken
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Provide verification of your social security number, It will be verified with the Social
Security Administration while you are in the office.

Verify your birth date and legal presence (you may use your California Driver License)
Pay the $78 application for a 5 year license. (included in the tuition)

Pass a vision exam

Submit a completed Medical Examination Report form DL 51 (An original DL 51 form
must be submitted. Copies will not be accepted.) Effective October 1, 2004, DMV will
accept only a Medical Examination Report (DL 51) with a revision date of 2/2004 or
later, or a current medical form (containing new blood pressure guidelines) approved by
the Federal Highway Administration or the Federal Aviation Administration.

Pass the traffic laws and signs tests for the class of vehicle you will drive. You have three
chances to pass the test.

To apply for your commercial driver license you will need to:

Call a DMV CDL office and make an appointment (driving test appointments cannot be
made online) (School will make the appointment)

Bring the type of vehicle for the class you want to drive (We supply all vehicles for
testing)

Pass a pre-trip inspection. (You have three chances to pass the pre-trip)

Pass a skills and driving test (You have three chances to pass the skills and driving test)

After you pass your driving test you will be issued an interim license valid for 60 days until you
receive your new photo license in the mail.

Skyway Trucking School is not accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United
States Department of Education.

Requirements for Eligibility for Licensure

All of the educational services offered lead to occupations that require licensure as a Class A driver
in the State of California.

Be at least 18 years of age
Pass a drug test

Get a permit from DMV
Pass a physical exam
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FEES AND EXPENSES

Total Charges:

Tuition: $4,749.00

Registration Fee (Non-Refundable): $ 250.00

STRF - (Non-Refundable) $  0.00 (S0 for each $1,000 institutional charges)
Tractor/Trailer Course

Total charges for current period of attendance $4,999
Estimated total charges for the entire educational program $5,192

Students are responsible to secure the following documents at their expense
e Physical Exam & Drug Test: $80.00
e DMV Permit and behind the wheel test (one time) $78
e DMV State Exam: $35.00 behind the wheel retest

Other fees
e Bounced check fee  $35
e Transcript fee $25 (two copies)

Note: No grades or documents will be released if there is an outstanding balance. The institution
may refuse any type of service to students who have an outstanding balance. The institution may
also refuse re-admission to a student who has left the institution with an outstanding balance that
has not been paid in full.

Tutorial Assistance

Skyway Trucking School does not have a formal tutorial assistance program. Students who are
in need of additional assistance on a topic are asked to contact their instructor, who will attend to
their need.

Student Tuition Recovery Fund

“The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate
economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or
was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student
enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the
obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on
your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are
enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF
assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.”

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts,
or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the
STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive,
Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.
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To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program,
prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as
a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution
was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the
Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before
the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program
within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the
closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the
institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of
the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program
as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of
tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court,
based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been
unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and
have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the
date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of no collection may,
at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise
been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made
the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original
four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer
identification number.

STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL

The student has the right to cancel under which it is explained that the student has the right to
cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at the
first class session, or the seventh day after the enrollment, whichever is later.

Refund Policies

The institution shall refund 100 percent of the amount paid less a reasonable deposit or
application fee not to exceed two hundred and fifty dollars (8250) if notice of cancellation is
made through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after the enrollment,
whichever is later. The refund policy for students who have completed 60 percent less of the

period of attendance shall be pro rata refund. The institution shall pay refunds within 45 days of
a student’s cancellation or withdrawal.
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ACADEMIC INFORMATION
Faculty

‘Skyway Trucking School instructors are required to have completed a minimum of three years
over the road experience. Instructors must meet minimum requirements of health, licensing, and
driving records.

Each of the members of the faculty is authorized, by the California Department of Motor Vehicles,
to work as a driving instructor for students seeking Class A Licensure.

Jagtar Sandhu- License number C1162049 ISS date 11-4-2015
15 years’ experience driving and training drivers.

Avtar Bhangu- License number D7495360 ISS date 06/20/2014
20 years’ experience driving and training drivers.

Skyway Trucking School does not currently participate in any form of Federal or State financial
aid programs.

If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have to repay the
full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student
receives federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the money not
paid from federal financial aid funds.

The institution does provide financial aid directly to its students in the form of a monthly
payment plan. 14.9% interest is charged and late fees apply. An installment payment plan for any
Skyway Trucking School program will incur a finance fee on the tuition balance due.

LATE CHARGES: If any payments is more than 10 days late you will be charged 5% of the
payment of $5.00 whichever is less, but in no event less than $1.00.

PREPAYMENT: If you pay off early you may be entitled to a refund of part of the finance
charge.

Buyer is entitled to pay in advance the remaining unpaid balance due hereunder and receive a
refund of the Finance Charge compound in accordance with appropriate California state statues.
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Student Achievement

Grading Skyway Trucking School utilizes letter grades. Grades are reported to students in

writing from the administrative office. Grade reports are issued to students at the completion of

each schedule level or module. Grades are based on the quality of work shown by written tests,
ractical work and projects as indicated on the course syllabus. The grading scale is as follows:

Letter Grade Quality Points Percentage Indicator
A 4.0 100-90% Excellent
B 3.0 89-80% Good
C 2.0 79-70% Average
D 1.0 69-60% Below Average
F 0.0 Below 60% Failure
I 0.0 Incomplete
w Withdrawn

Application of Grades:

The chart above describes the impact of each grade on a student’s progress. For calculating the
rate of progress, grade of F (failure), W {withdrawn), and I (incomplete) are counted as hours
attempted, but are not counted as hours successfully completed. A W. will not be awarded after
reaching 60% of the term. Withdrawal after reaching 60% of the term will result in the students
receiving an F. The student must repeat any required course for which a grade of F. or W. is
received. Students will only be allowed to repeat courses in which they received a D. or below.
In the case of a D. or F., the higher of the two grades is calculated into the CGPA.

Full tuition will be charged for any portion of a course that is retaken. To receive an incomplete,
the student must petition, by the last week of the module, for an extension to complete the
required course work. The student must be satisfactorily passing a course at the time of the
petition. Incomplete grades that are not completed within two weeks after the end of the module
will be converted to an F. and will affect the students GPA. The school reserves the right to
extend the time needed to make up an incomplete grade.

Academic Probation and Drop Policies

At the end of the schedule module or level, a grade is assigned to each student based on the
teacher's evaluation of the students in class performance and test results. If student’s grade is
below 70% the student will be automatically placed on academic probation, and is informed of
this fact in writing.

This probationary status is removed and student repeats the module or level and completes the
level or module by receiving a grade of C. (70%) or higher. The student on academic probation
is allowed only one opportunity to earn the required grade by receiving a grade of 70% or higher,
and may not repeat the program segment a second time. If the student's grade point average has
not returned to a “C”." (70%) or higher, the student is dropped from the program. A student is
allowed only one academic probation during the scheduled length of a program. If the student
succeeds in having this probation status removed in accordance with the above policy and if the

stu(:)ent has earned 75% of the total grades, the student will be allowed a secondary academic
probation.
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Graduation:

Students who successfully complete their course with a grade C or better will be eligible for
graduation,

School Drop Policy

Students may be dropped by the School from a program for any of the following: unsatisfactory
academic performance (below a “C”) after given a probationary period; insufficient lesson
responses, failure to complete program within the maximum timeframe allowed; medical excuse
from physician; failure to adhere to Student Code of Conduct; failure to pay charges when due;
breach of the school’s ENROLLMENT AGREEMENT. Students may be readmitted to their
program of study only upon approval of the Director.

Termination, Appeal, and Reinstatement;

Students find it necessary to discontinue their training, they should arrange to meet with the
school Director to discuss that situation and submit written notification of the request. Students
shall be terminated for failure to...

* Meet minimum standards for academic progress,

* Meet the minimum conduct standards of the school, or

* Fulfill their financial obligations according to their agreement with the school.

Whether termination of the student is voluntary or involuntary, students should realize that they
will remain obligated for the amount of tuition and fees due the school based on the refund
policy. Students have the right to appeal dismissal decisions made by the school of
administration by submitting a written request to the school Director describing any
circumstances or conditions, which warrant special consideration. If the appeal is accepted, the
student may be reinstated according to special terms and conditions stipulated by the School
Director. Apart from registration fee of $75 there are no other administrative costs associated
with withdrawal or termination.

Unofficial Withdrawal

If the student fails to attend school for more than 10 consecutive days, the school will consider
this student a drop and automatically withdraw him/her from the program.

Automatic Withdrawal

A student will automatically be withdrawn from the program for the following reasons:
e Failure to attend school for 10 consecutive class days.

Failure to return from an approved leave of absence on the scheduled return date

Failure to maintain satisfactory progress for two consecutive modules.

Failure to fulfill financial agreements

Failing any course in the program twice during the one enrollment
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Appeal

Suspended or terminated students may appeal the school's decision in writing to the school
director. The school must receive the appeal from the student with in three business days of
being notified of the dismissal. All appeals will be responded to within ten (10) business days of
receipt by the school.

Attendance Policies

Students are required to attend 70% of the scheduled sessions throughout the entire program.
Students who arrive to class more than 10 minutes after the class is scheduled to commence will
receive an unexcused absence for that class period, subject to review by the instructor.

It is essential that each student learns the discipline of regular and prompt attendance as well as
the skills involved in the trucking industry. Due to short-term nature of some of the courses, a
regular attendance is very important during the training program. If student is absent from the
course even once or twice, the student may not be able to graduate on time unless the student
makes an effort to make up missed training. We encourage all students to let us know if they
cannot attend a class in advance due to sickness or family emergency and will make other
arrangements to make up for lost school time. Students are expected to maintain good
attendance. Students should strive to attend consistently in order to master the required skills in
the time allowed. Failure to attend regularly and progress satisfactorily may result in loss of
desired attendance schedule or possible dismissal from the program

Absence:

An absence will be considered as "excused" under the following conditions: Sickness, death or
birth in the immediate family. All excused absences must be in writing and will have the
discretion of the lead instructor and/or the school director. All other absences will be considered
"unexcused".

Tardiness:

Tardiness is a disruption of a good learning environment and is strongly discouraged. We believe
that punctuality is very important not only during the course also in the trucking profession as a
whole. Students who arrived more than 20 minutes late for class time during any given class are
recorded as incomplete and considered absent for that class hour. Tardiness without good reason
on three occasions will be considered "unexcused".

Makeup work:

Only excused absences will qualify for makeup work. Students must schedule makeup work with

the instructor only. All incomplete work must be made up before a student can graduate from the
course.

Leave of Absence:

Students are entitled to take only one leave of absence during any academic year. The duration of
tl}e leave of absem.:e may not .e{(ceed 15 days. Requests for leave must be submitted to the school
director and must include anticipated return date and be signed by the student. Failure to return
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to school as scheduled without prior written notification to and approval from the school director
will result in immediate dismissal. The school Director may grant leaves of absence and/or
waive. Interim satisfactory standards for circumstances of poor health, family crisis, or other
significant occurrences outside the control of the student It must be demonstrated that the
circumstances had or will have an adverse impact on students satisfactory progress in the
program. No waivers will be provided for graduation requirements. Time for an approved leave
of absence will not be included in the calculation of a student’s maximum program length.

Students Rights

Students have the right to review their own academic records.

e Fair and effective teaching and grading at the advertised grade level
e Due process and an impartial hearing in any disciplinary matter
e Information privacy

e Fair and effective teaching and grading at the advertised grade level

Student Grievance Procedure

From time to time, differences in interpretation of school policies will arise among students,
faculty, and/or the administration. Persons seeking to resolve problems or compliance should
first contact the instructor in charge.

Requests for further action may be made to the school director. When such differences arise,
usually a miscommunication or misunderstanding is a major contributing factor. For this reason,
we urge both students and staff to communicate any problems that arise directly to the individual
(s) involved. If the problem cannot be resolved in this manner, the school director should be
contacted. Normally, in formal procedure of discussing the difference (5) will resolve the
problem. In addition to compliance previously stated and appeals an academic nature a student
has a right to complain to the institution. If a student wishes to file a written complain, they may
do so. All written complains will be resolved within 10 days and will be sent to the student in
writing.

Drug and Substance Abuse Policy

The Skyway Trucking School is committed to maintaining a comfortable and safe environment
in which our employees can work and our students can pursue their academic objectives. Our
commitment to helping to promote healthy lifestyles for our students and staff has resulted in the
creation of a program designed to prevent the abuse of illicit drugs and alcohol. We are
concerned for you, as an individual, as well as for the well-bejng of those around you. We
strongly encourage you to participate in this program if you or someone close to you is
experiencing a problem with substance abuse, or if you simply wish to become better educated
regarding the various drug and health hazards they pose and possible legal consequences of
participating in drug related activities. Any inquiries regarding this program can be made
confidentially to the school director.
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STUDENT SERVICES

Placement

Skyway Trucking Schools does not and will not guarantee a student that they will be placed with
a specific company, in a specific time frame or that they will be earning the desired salary upon
graduation. The demand for licensed truck drivers is such that minimal placement assistance is
needed by students. The school maintains a list of contacts with area trucking companies and
monitors local newspapers for truck driving positions appearing in classified ads. The school
makes this information readily available to the graduates by means of posting on a bulletin board
and through personal contacts with the graduates. Skyway Trucking School does provide all
graduates with assistance regarding placement opportunities, resume preparation, job search
assistance, and interview counseling and advising. Skyway Trucking School is required under
California law to track placement of its graduates for a period of up to six months upon
completion of their program and to verify after employment.

This assistance consists primarily of educating students in developing the ability to successfully
perform these tasks as they begin to seek employment:

Preparing resumes

Developing job interviewing skills

Identifying job position openings

Following up with employers after interviews

Negotiating wages and benefits

Maintaining employment once hired

Securing opportunities for advancement once hired

Developing and utilizing a network of professional contacts who can aid the job search
effort

A successful job search is dependent upon the confidence, willingness, and preparedness of the
applicant Students and graduates are encouraged not to place restrictions on their job search
endeavors regarding location, starting salary, and specific benefits. Any employment students or
graduates may obtain through the institutes assistance will, in all probability and likelihood, be
an entry-level position.

Library Resources

Copies of the following books are kept at the office: Bumper to Bumper Text, DMV Booklet, The
Interstate Truck Driver’s Handbook, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulation Handbook (D.O.T.
Safety Regulations) and Log Book. A copy of all of these are kept at the school facility for the
student if they need to use them. Students may ask for a copy at the office anytime.

English as a second language statement

The school does not offer English as a second language "ESL" training.
Visa Services

Skyway Trucking School does not provide any visa services and does not vouch for student
status and any associated charges.
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Housing

Our institution does not operate a dormitory or other housing facility, Housing in the immediate
area is available in one and two story walkup and garden apartments. Monthly rent for a one
bedroom unit is approximately $1,000 a month, (www.apartmentguide.com.) The institution
does not assist students in locating adequate housing near the campus.

Student Records Policy

An official student record will be kept for each student who is admitted to our program. Each
student file will include information on enrollment, grades, skill level, attendance, advising and
placement. Each student’s financial record about the tuition fees, payments, refund will be kept.
All records will be confidential and permanent records will be kept permanently. In the event of
school closure, student records would be maintained by the appointed custodian of records as
required under California education code. A student at his/her request may review their academic
or financial records with the campus administrative in accordance with the F amily Right and
Privacy Act of 1974, public Law 93.380 as amended. Students have a right to access to records
anytime that the Institution is open during normal business hours. Students desiring to view their
records may request to see their records in the school office during normal business hours or may
schedule a time to review records that is convenient to both the student and school
administration. All transcripts of training will be kept for a period of at least 50 years upon
completion or withdrawal of the student financial payment documents will be kept for a period
of at least 5 years after completion or withdrawal of the student the institution reserves the right
to issue transcripts for training for which the student has paid tuition. The institution reserves the
right to refuse to issue transcripts for training for which the student has not paid.

Records Retention Policy

The records shall be maintained in this state. All records are stored in fire resistant file cabinets
with additional electronic storage kept at a location outside the school. In addition to
permanently retaining a transcript as required by section 94900(b) of the Code, the institution
shall maintain for a period of 5 years the pertinent student records described in Section 71920
from the student's date of completion or withdrawal. The institution shall maintain records
relating to federal financial aid programs as provided by federal law.

A record is considered current for three years following a student's completion or
withdrawal. A record may be stored on microfilm, microfiche, computer disk, or any
other method of record storage only if all of the following apply: B ‘

(1) The record may be stored without loss of information or legibility for the period
within which the record is required to be maintained by the Act; -

(2) For a record that is current, the institution maintains functioning devices that can
immediately reproduce exact, legible printed copies of stored records. The devices
shall be maintained in reasonably close proximity to the stored records at thf:
institution's primary administrative location in California. For a re'cord tl}at isno
longer current, the institution shall be able to reproduce exact, legible printed copies

within two (2) business days.
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(3) The institution has personnel scheduled to be present at all times during normal
business hours who know how to operate the devices and can explain the operation of
the devices to any person authorized by the Act to inspect and copy records; and

(4) Any person authorized by the Act or this chapter to inspect and copy records shall be
given immediate access to the document reproduction devices for the purpose of
inspecting and copying stored records and shall, upon request, reimburse the
institution for the reasonable cost of using the institution's equipment and material to
make copies at a rate not to exceed ten cents ($0.10) per page.

(d) The institution shall maintain a second set of all academic and financial records required
by the Act and this chapter at a different location unless the original records, including
records stored pursuant to subdivision (b) of this section, are maintained in a manner
secure from damage or loss. An acceptable manner of storage under this subsection
would include fire resistant cabinets.

(e) All records that the institution is required to maintain by the Act or this chapter shall be
made immediately available by the institution for inspection and copying during normal
business hours by the Bureau and any entity authorized to conduct investigations.

(P If an institution closes, the institution and its owners are jointly and severally responsible
to arrange at their expense for the storage and safekeeping in California of all records
required to be maintained by the Act and this chapter for as long as those records must be
maintained. The repository of the records shall make these records immediately available
for inspection and copying, without charge except as allowed under subdivision (c)(4) of
this section, during normal business hours by any entity authorized by law to inspect and
copy records.

Skyway Trucking School does not offer or intend to offer any programs as distance
education?
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