
 

 

 

  

 

  

 

  

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 
  

  

 

 
 

 

  

  

 

  

  

 

  

 

 

  

  

 

  

   

 

   

 

 

  

 

 

ADVANCE NOTICE OF INTENT TO READOPT EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

This notice is sent in accordance with Government Code section 11346.1(a)(2) and Title 

1 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 52, which require State of California 

agencies to give five (5) working day advance notice of intent to readopt emergency regulations 

with the Office of Administrative Law (OAL). The Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

(BPPE) intends to file a request for readoption of Out-of-State Private Postsecondary Institution 

Registration regulations originally approved by OAL on May 30, 2017 and which became 

effective that same date. 

Pursuant to Title 1 CCR section 52(b)(1), the BPPE has made substantial progress and 

proceeded with diligence to comply with Government Code section 11346.1(e) by undertaking 

the following activities: 

• The emergency regulations were solely for the registration form. The full regulations 

include processes and procedures for the actual registration process, including denying 

and appealing a denial. 

• Also included is a new section for re-registration as the initial registration is good for 

only two (2) years. 

• Additionally, language was added regarding the specific Student Tuition Recovery Fund 

(STRF) requirements that would apply to the out-of-state registrants. 

• BPPE has evaluated the registration forms that have been coming from the emergency 

regulation form to address any clarity issues that have arisen. 

• BPPE has been working with DCA’s legal division regarding substantive questions and 

issues that have arisen by stakeholders since the registration form was adopted. 

• During the interim, Department of Finance has changed their procedures regarding the 

STD. 399. Therefore, with the assistance of DCA’s budget division, the STD 399 was 

reevaluated and updated to meet with these new changes from finance. 

• The regulatory package to make the emergency regulations permanent has been 

submitted by the BPPE for mandatory review by, first, the Department of Consumer 

Affairs and, second, by the Business, Consumer Services, and Housing Agency. 

• The anticipated date for the regulations to be published by OAL and the 45-day comment 

period to begin is December 1, 2017. 

• A public hearing is anticipated to be held approximately 46 to 48 days after the 

regulations are published by OAL. 



  

 

 

 

   

 

 

  

  

   

  

  

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

    

 

As required by Title 1 CCR section 52, there has been no change in emergency 

circumstance since the original adoption of the Out-of-State Private Postsecondary Institution 

Registration regulations by OAL. 

The BPPE hereby incorporates by reference the rulemaking record of OAL file number 

2017-0519-02E. 

The BPPE plans to file the readoption of the Out-of-State Private Postsecondary 

Institution Registration emergency regulation package with OAL at least five working days from 

the date of this notice. If you would like to make comments on the readoption of the Out-of-State 

Private Postsecondary Institution Registration regulations, they must be received by both the 

BPPE and OAL within five calendar days of the BPPE’s filing at OAL. 

Comments should be sent simultaneously to: 

Kent Gray, Regulatory/Legislative Analyst 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

P.O. Box 980818 

West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 

and 

Office of Administrative Law 

300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1250 

Sacramento, CA 95814 

If you have any questions, please contact Kent Gray at (916) 246-3907 or via email at 

Kent.Gray@dca.ca.gov. 
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