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DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
TITLE 5. BUREAU OF PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 

PROPOSED REGULATORY LANGUAGE 
EXPIRED APPROVALS 

California Code of Regulations 
Division 7.5. Private Postsecondary Education 

Chapter 2. Applications 
Article 6. Renewals 

Legend: Added text is indicated with an underline. 
Omitted text is indicated by (* * * *) 
Deleted text is indicated by strikeout. 

1. Amend Section 71475 of Article 6 of Chapter 2 of Division 7.5 of Title 5 
of the California Code of Regulations 

71475. Renewal of an Approval to Operate for a Non-Accredited Institution; 
Cancellation of an Approval to Operate 

(a) Unless renewed, an approval to operate shall expire at 12 midnight on the last day 
of the institution's term of approval to operate as granted pursuant to section 94802 or 
section 94889 of the Code. 

(* * * *) 

(hh) In addition to the f:ees required by subdivision (d) of this section: 

(1) /\n application for rene•,Nal that is received by the Bureau more than 30 days after 
the expiration of the approval to operate shall be submitted 'Nith the 25 percent late 
payment penalty fee required by section 94931 (a) of the Code. . 

(2) /\n application for renevi.ml that is received by the Bureau more than 90 days after 
the expiration of the approval to operate shall be submitted vvith the 35 percent late 
payment penalty fee required by section 94931 (b) of the Code. 

W Provided that a complete rene'.Nal application is received by the Bureau prior to the 
expiration of the approval, a valid approval to operate shall continue until the Bureau 
has acted upon the renewal application. 
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GD An approval to operate that has expired may be. rene1iA'ed at any time within 6 months 
after its expiration on filing of an application for renewal and, as a condition precedent to 
renev,al, payment of all accrued and unpaid rene111al fees, late payment penalty fees 
prescribed in subdivision (e) of this section, and any other fees that would have been 
due in order to rene1aiv timely. After an approval to operate has expired for more than 6 
months, the approval is automatically cancelled and the institution must submit a 
complete application pursuant to section 71100, meet all current requirements, and pay 
all fees that \\'ould have been due in order to timely renev.i', in order to apply for 
approval. Provided that a complete renewal application under CCR section 71475 is 
received by the Bureau on or before 30 calendar days after the expiration of the 
approval, a valid approval to operate shall continue until the Bureau has acted upon the 
renewal application. If a complete renewal application under CCR section 71475 is not 
received by the Bureau on or before 30 calendar days after expiration of the approval to 
operate, the institution's approval to operate shall terminate by operation of law on the 
31 st calendar day after the expiration of the approval to operate. An institution continuing 
to operate more than 30 calendar days beyond expiration will be subject to citation for 
operating without approval. 

(kkli) An incomplete application filed under this section will render the institution 
ineligible for renewal. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803 and 94891, Education Code. Reference: Sections 
94802, and 94889 and 94931, Education Code. 

2. Amend Section 71480 of Article 6 of Chapter 2 of Division 7.5 of Title 5 • 
of the California Code of Regulations 

71480. Renewal of an Approval to Operate for an Accredited Institution. 

(a) Unless renewed, an approval to operate shall expire at 12 midnight on the last day 
of the institution's term of approval as granted pursuant to section 94890(b) of the Code. 

(* * * *) 

(f) In addition to the fee required by subdivision (d) of this section: 

(1) An application for rene\val that is received by the Bureau more than 30 days after 
the expiration of the approval to operate shall be submitted with the 25 percent late 
payment penalty fee required by section 94931 (a) of the Code. 
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(2) An application for renewal that is received by the Bureau more than 90 days after 
the expiration of the approval to operate shall be submitted Vlith the 36 percent late 
payment penalty fee required by section 94931 (b) of the Code. 

-(fil Provided that a complete renewal application is received by the Bureau prior to the 
expiration of the approval, a valid approval to operate shall continue until the Bureau 
has acted upon the renewal application. 

(h-) An approval to operate that has expired may be renewed at any time 'Nithin 6 
months after its expiration on filing of an application for rene\val and, as a condition 
precedent to renevval, payment of all accrued and unpaid renewal fees, late payment 
penalty fees prescribed in subdivision (f) of this section, and any other fees that would 
have been due in order to renevl timely. After an approval to operate has expired for 
more than 6 months, the approval is automatically cancelled and the institution must 
submit a complete application pursuant to section 71390, meet all current requirements, 
and pay all fees that 'llould have been due in order to timely rene\v, in order to apply for 
approval. Provided that a complete renewal application under CCR section 71480 is 
received by the Bureau on or before 30 calendar days after the expiration of the 
approval, a valid approval to operate shall continue until the Bureau has acted upon the 
renewal application. If a complete renewal application under CCR section 71480 is not 
received by the Bureau ·on or before 30 calendar days after expiration of the approval to 
operate, the institution's approval to operate shall terminate by operation of law on the 
31 st calendar day after the expiration of the approval to operate. An institution continuing 
to operate more than 30 calendar days beyond expiration will be subject to citation for 
operating without approval. 

fit .(g). An incomplete application filed under this section will render the institution 
ineligible for renewal. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94890 and 94891, Education Code. Reference: 
Sections 94802, 94889, 94890, and 94930.5 and 94931, Education Code. 
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