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BPPE 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
P.O. Box 980818 
West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 

SCHOOL CLOSURE PLAN FORM 

This form is being provided for your convenience only.  Some of the information requested is 
helpful to the Bureau but is not required. Other forms of written notice that includes the closure 
plan information required by California Education Code section 94926 and Title 5 California Code 
of Regulations Section 76240 (5CCR 76240) will be accepted by the Bureau. 

Which location is closing? 
Main  Branch  Satellite  
(If more than one location is closing, please include separate document listing each location’s 
school code, physical address, and the information for that site.) 

1. INSTITUTION

Name: ________________________________________ School Code: ________________ 

Physical Address: ___________________________________________________________ 

City: ___________________________ State: ______ Zip: __________________________ 

Mailing Address (if different from above): ______________________________________ 

City: __________________________ State: ______ Zip: ___________________________ 

Phone Number: _____________________ Fax Number: ___________________________ 

Email Address: ____________________________________________________________ 

Web Address: _____________________________________________________________ 

2. EXACT DATE AND REASON FOR CLOSURE

Exact Date of Closure: _________________  

Last Date of Instruction for Each Educational Program: ______________________ 

Reason for Closure: 
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3. CONTACT PERSON FOR SCHOOL CLOSURE INFORMATION 

Name/Title: ________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:_________________________________________________________  

City: ___________________________ State: ________ Zip: ________________________ 

Phone number: _______________________ Email: _______________________________ 

4. STUDENT INFORMATION 

Please provide the Bureau with student information in either electronic or hard copy format. 

a. How many students will be enrolled on school’s closure date:  ____________________ 

b. Please provide a list of students who were enrolled at any time during the 60 days prior to 
closure. 

c. For all students enrolled at any time during the 120 days prior to the school’s closure, please 
provide: (1) student identification number (2) first and last names (3) email address (4) local or 
mailing address (5) address at time of enrollment (6) home address (7) date enrollment agreement 
signed (8) courses and course costs (9) amount of STRF assessment collected (10) quarter in 
which the STRF assessment was remitted to the Bureau (11) third-party payer identifying 
information (12) total institutional charges charged and (13) total institutional charges paid (See, 
record-keeping requirements per Title 5 California Code of Regulations Section 76140.) 

If list is not attached please indicate reason: 

d. Provide the institution’s plan to notify students of a) the pending closure, b) student rights and 
options under the California Private Postsecondary Act of 2009 and related regulations,  c) if any 
students will not be provided complete educational services or programs, information regarding 
the Student Tuition Recovery Fund and the Bureau’s physical address and website and d) if the 
institution participates in federal student financial aid programs (including but not limited to Title 
IV funding), information concerning those programs and institutional closures. 

If a plan is not attached, please indicate reason: 

e. Provide a copy or draft of the correspondence to students notifying them of the institution’s 
pending closure, and student rights and options as indicated above.   

If student letter is not attached, please indicate reason: 
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□ □ 

□ □ 

□ □ 

□ 
□ □ 

5. TEACH-OUTS AND/OR TRANSFERS

An institution is in default of the enrollment agreement when an educational program is 
discontinued or canceled, or the institution closes prior to completion of the educational program.  
When an institution is in default, student institutional charges may be refunded on a pro rata basis 
if the Bureau determines that the school has made provision for students enrolled at the time of 
default to complete a comparable educational program at another institution at no additional 
charge to the students beyond the amount of the total charges in the original enrollment agreement. 
(also known as “Teach Outs”.) If the institution does not make that provision, a total refund of all 
institutional charges shall be made to students. (Education Code section 94927) 

Teach Outs: Per the above: Upon the Bureau’s approval of a teach-out plan, the institution may 
be authorized to provide pro-rata refunds. Is there a plan for teach-outs, including any agreements 
with other institutions? 

Yes No 

a.) If there is a teach-out or transfer plan, provide the institution’s proposed teach-out or transfer 
plan.  

Yes   No   Teach-out or transfer plan is attached.  (If no, indicate reason) 

b.) For students who do not wish to participate in a teach-out or transfer, or if no teach-out or 
transfer is planned, have arrangements been made for refunds within 45 days from the date of 
closure? 

Yes No (If no, indicate reason)  

OR, for students who do not wish to participate in a teach-out or transfer, or if no teach-out or 
transfer is planned, and the Institution is a participant in federal student financial aid programs, 
have arrangements been made for making refunds and returning of these funds? 

* Institution did not offer federal student financial aid

(If no, indicate reason)        Yes No 
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□ □ 

6. CUSTODIAN OF RECORDS 

Institutions are required to retain student transcripts permanently in the State of California. 

Have you arranged to provide the Institution’s custodian of records the following 
information and documents? 

• The name, address, email address and telephone number for each student; 
• The degree or certificate granted and the date on which that degree or certificate was granted 

for each student; 
• The course and units on which the certificate of degree was based for each student; and 
• The grades earned by the student in each of those courses for each student. 

Yes  No     (If no, indicate reason) 

Please be aware that: 
• An institution must maintain all student records required by law and the records must be 

maintained in this state. 
• An institution must maintain for a period of 5 years the pertinent student records described in 

Title 5 California Code of Regulations §71920 from the student’s date of completion or 
withdrawal. 

• An institution and its owners are jointly and separately responsible to arrange at their expense 
for the storage and safekeeping in California of all student records required to be maintained. 

• An institution shall make these records immediately available for inspection and copying, 
without charge, except as provided for in Title 5 California Code of Regulations §71930(c)(4), 
during normal business hours by any entity authorized by law to inspect and copy records. 

Please provide the Institution’s Custodian of Records information below: 

Name of Custodian of Records:  ____________________________________________________ 

Address:  __________________________City: __________________ State: CA Zip: _________ 

Email Address:  ____________________________________________ 

Telephone number: ______________________ 

  Fax number: __________________________ 
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7. SIGNATURE 

• owner of the institution, or authorized person. 

School Name: _________________________________________________________________ 

School Code: ____________________ 

Signature: _________________________________________ Date ____________________ 

Owning ______% Member * Board of Directors_____* General Partner _____* Chief Executive Officer _____ 

Signature: _________________________________________ Date ____________________ 

Owning ______% Member * Board of Directors_____* General Partner _____* Chief Executive Officer _____ 

At any time during the closure process, staff from the Bureau’s Closed Schools Unit / Office of 
Student Assistance (OSAR) is available to meet with you and /or the school’s students.  The 
Bureau’s participation and assistance can answer questions or alleviate any concerns you or the 
students may have about the closure process.  For the most effective assistance, please provide the 
Bureau at least 48 hours notification for this service. 

The Office of Student Assistance website address is www.OSAR.bppe.ca.gov. Additionally, they 
can be contacted by email at OSAR@dca.ca.gov, or at 888-370-7589, option 5. 

If you have questions or require clarification contact the Bureau’s Closed Schools Unit at the 
letterhead address, through our website (www.bppe.ca.gov), or at 916-574-8996. 

For references, see the Closed School Applicable Laws and Regulations. 

Mail this completed form to:    BPPE
     Closed School Unit
     P.O. Box 980818 
     West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 
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Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
Applicable Laws and Regulations to Closed Schools 

California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009 
California Education Code 

ARTICLE 15. Orderly Institutional Closure and Teach-outs 
Article 15 Added by Stats. 2009, Ch. 310, §6. (AB 48) 

94926. Procedures Prior to Closing, Teach-Out Plans 
At least 30 days prior to closing, the institution shall notify the bureau in writing of its intention to close. 
The notice shall be accompanied by a closure plan, which shall include, but not necessarily be limited to, 
all of the following: 

(a) A plan for providing teach-outs of educational programs, including any agreements with any other 
postsecondary educational institutions to provide teach-outs. 

(b) If no teach-out plan is contemplated, or for students who do not wish to participate in a teach-out, 
arrangements for making refunds within 45 days from the date of closure, or for institutions that 
participate in federal student financial aid programs arrangements for making refunds and returning 
federal student financial aid program funds. 

(c) If the institution is a participant in federal student financial aid programs, it shall provide students 
information concerning these programs and institutional closures. 

(d) A plan for the disposition of student records. 

Added by Stats. 2009, Ch. 310, §6. (AB 48) 

94927. Institutions in Default of Enrollment Agreement 
An institution shall be considered in default of the enrollment agreement when an educational program 
is discontinued or canceled or the institution closes prior to completion of the educational program. 
When an institution is in default, student institutional charges may be refunded on a pro rata basis if the 
bureau determines that the school has made provision for students enrolled at the time of default to 
complete a comparable educational program at another institution at no additional charge to the 
students beyond the amount of the total charges in the original enrollment agreement. If the institution 
does not make that provision, a total refund of all institutional charges shall be made to students. 

Added by Stats. 2009, Ch. 310, §6. (AB 48) 

94927.5. Provision of Records to Bureau Prior to Closing 
(a) Prior to closing, an institution shall provide the bureau with the following: 

(1) Pertinent student records, including transcripts, as determined by the bureau, pursuant to 
regulations adopted by the bureau. 

(2) If the institution is an accredited institution, a plan for the retention of records and transcripts, 
approved by the institution’s accrediting agency, that provides information as to how a student may 
obtain a transcript or any other information about the student’s coursework and degrees completed. 
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(b) Subdivision (a) applies to all private postsecondary institutions, including institutions that are 
otherwise exempt from this chapter pursuant to Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874). 

Added by Stats. 2009, Ch. 310, §6. (AB 48) 

ARTICLE 18. Compliance, Enforcement, Process, and Penalties 
Article 18 Added by Stats. 2009, Ch. 310, §6. (AB 48) 

94932. Enforcement Authority 
The bureau shall determine an institution’s compliance with the requirements of this chapter. The bureau 
shall have the power to require reports that institutions shall file with the bureau in addition to the annual 
report, to send staff to an institution’s sites, and to require documents and responses from an institution 
to monitor compliance. When the bureau has reason to believe that an institution may be out of 
compliance, it shall conduct an investigation of the institution. If the bureau determines, after completing 
a compliance inspection or investigation, that an institution has violated any applicable law or regulation, 
the bureau shall take appropriate action pursuant to this article. 

Added by Stats. 2009, Ch. 310, §6. (AB 48) Amended by Stats. 2016, Ch. 593, § 

California Code of Regulations 
Division 7.5 Private Postsecondary Education 

Chapter 3. Institutional Operating Standards 

Article 3. Maintenance and Production of Records. 

71920. Student Records. 
(a) The institution shall maintain a file for each student who enrolls in the institution whether or not the 
student completes the educational service. 

(b) In addition to the requirements of section 94900, the file shall contain all of the following pertinent 
student records: 

(1) Written records and transcripts of any formal education or training, testing, or experience that are 
relevant to the student's qualifications for admission to the institution or the institution's award of credit 
or acceptance of transfer credits including the following: 

(A) Verification of high school completion or equivalency or other documentation establishing the 
student's ability to do college level work, such as successful completion of an ability-to-benefit test; 

(B) Records documenting units of credit earned at other institutions that have been accepted and applied 
by the institution as transfer credits toward the student's completion of an educational program; 

(C) Grades or findings from any examination of academic ability or educational achievement used for 
admission or college placement purposes; 

(D) All of the documents evidencing a student's prior experiential learning upon which the institution and 
the faculty base the award of any credit; 
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(2) Personal information regarding a student's age, gender, and ethnicity if that information has been 
voluntarily supplied by the student; 

(3) Copies of all documents signed by the student, including contracts, instruments of indebtedness, and 
documents relating to financial aid; 

(4) Records of the dates of enrollment and, if applicable, withdrawal from the institution, leaves of 
absence, and graduation; and 

(5) In addition to the requirements of section 94900(b) of the Code, a transcript showing all of the 
following: 

(A) The courses or other educational programs that were completed, or were attempted but not 
completed, and the dates of completion or withdrawal; 

(B) Credit awarded for prior experiential learning, including the course title for which credit was awarded 
and the amount of credit; 

(C) Credit for courses earned at other institutions; 

(D) Credit based on any examination of academic ability or educational achievement used for admission or 
college placement purposes; 

(E) The name, address, website address, and telephone number of the institution. 

(6) For independent study courses, course outlines or learning contracts signed by the faculty and 
administrators who approved the course; 

(7) The dissertations, theses, and other student projects submitted by graduate students; 

(8) A copy of documents relating to student financial aid that are required to be maintained by law or by a 
loan guarantee agency; 

(9) A document showing the total amount of money received from or on behalf of the student and the 
date or dates on which the money was received; 

(10) A document specifying the amount of a refund, including the amount refunded for tuition and the 
amount for other itemized charges, the method of calculating the refund, the date the refund was made, 
and the name and address of the person or entity to which the refund was sent; 

(11) Copies of any official advisory notices or warnings regarding the student's progress; and 

(12) Complaints received from the student. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803 and 94877, Education Code. Reference: Sections 94885, 94900 and 
94927.5, Education Code. 
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71930. Maintenance of Records. 
(a) An institution shall maintain all records required by the Act and this chapter. The records shall be 
maintained in this state. 

(b)(1) In addition to permanently retaining a transcript as required by section 94900(b) of the Code, the 
institution shall maintain for a period of 5 years the pertinent student records described in Section 71920 
from the student's date of completion or withdrawal. 

(2) Notwithstanding (b)(1), the institution shall maintain records relating to federal financial aid programs 
as provided by federal law. 

(c) A record is considered current for three years following a student's completion or withdrawal. A record 
may be stored on microfilm, microfiche, computer disk, or any other method of record storage only if all 
of the following apply: 

(1) The record may be stored without loss of information or legibility for the period within which the 
record is required to be maintained by the Act; 

(2) For a record that is current, the institution maintains functioning devices that can immediately 
reproduce exact, legible printed copies of stored records. The devices shall be maintained in reasonably 
close proximity to the stored records at the institution's primary administrative location in California. For a 
record that is no longer current, the institution shall be able to reproduce exact, legible printed copies 
within two (2) business days. 

(3) The institution has personnel scheduled to be present at all times during normal business hours who 
know how to operate the devices and can explain the operation of the devices to any person authorized 
by the Act to inspect and copy records; and 

(4) Any person authorized by the Act or this chapter to inspect and copy records shall be given immediate 
access to the document reproduction devices for the purpose of inspecting and copying stored records 
and shall, upon request, reimburse the institution for the reasonable cost of using the institution's 
equipment and material to make copies at a rate not to exceed ten cents ($0.10) per page. 

(d) The institution shall maintain a second set of all academic and financial records required by the Act and 
this chapter at a different location unless the original records, including records stored pursuant to 
subdivision (b) of this section, are maintained in a manner secure from damage or loss. An acceptable 
manner of storage under this subsection would include fire resistant cabinets. 

(e) All records that the institution is required to maintain by the Act or this chapter shall be made 
immediately available by the institution for inspection and copying during normal business hours by the 
Bureau and any entity authorized to conduct investigations. 

(f) If an institution closes, the institution and its owners are jointly and severally responsible to arrange at 
their expense for the storage and safekeeping in California of all records required to be maintained by the 
Act and this chapter for as long as those records must be maintained. The repository of the records shall 
make these records immediately available for inspection and copying, without charge except as allowed 
under subdivision (c)(4) of this section, during normal business hours by any entity authorized by law to 
inspect and copy records. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803 and 94877, Education Code. Reference: Sections 94885, 94900 and 
94900.5, Education Code. 
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Chapter 6. Student Tuition Recovery Fund 

Article 2. STRF Assessments 

76140. Record-Keeping Requirements. 
(a) A qualifying institution shall collect and maintain records of student information to substantiate 
the data reported on the STRF Assessment Reporting Form and records of the students' eligibility 
under the Fund. Such records shall include the following for each student: 

(1) Student identification number,  

(2) First and last names, 

(3) Email address,  

(4) Local or mailing address,  

(5) Address at the time of enrollment, 

(6) Home address, 

(7) Date enrollment agreement signed, 

(8) Courses and course costs,  

(9) Amount of STRF assessment collected, 

(10) Quarter in which the STRF assessment was remitted to the Bureau, 

(11) Third-party payer identifying information,  

(12) Total institutional charges charged, and 

(13) Total institutional charges paid. 

(b) The qualifying institution shall maintain the data required under this section in an electronic 
format that is readily available and open to inspection by the Bureau upon request. The institution 
shall make the records immediately available to a Bureau representative conducting a site 
inspection or, upon written request, shall provide a copy within 14 calendar days of the request. 
All records shall be provided to the Bureau in an intelligible and orderly manner and in an 
electronic format. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 
94923, Education Code. 
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Article 4. Orderly Closure and Teach-Outs 

76240. Required Notices and Teach-Out Plan. 
All institutions, including those exempt from Bureau regulation pursuant to the Code, shall do the 
following prior to closing: 

(a) At least 30 days prior to closing, the institution shall notify the Bureau in writing of its intention to close 
and provide a closure plan. The closure plan shall include: 

(1) The exact date and reason for the closure. 

(2) The last date of instruction for each educational service or program. 

(3) A list of students who were enrolled at any time during the 60 days prior to closure. 

(4) If any student will not be provided complete educational services or the educational program, the 
institution shall provide: 

(A) A plan for providing teach-outs or transfers, including the details of any agreements with other 
institutions. 

(B) If no teach-out is contemplated, or for students who do not wish to participate in a teach-out, 
arrangements for making refunds within 45 days from the date of closure, or for institutions that 
participate in federal student financial aid programs arrangements for making refunds and returning 
federal student financial aid program funds. 

(5) A plan for the disposition of student records. 

(6) A plan to notify students of their rights and options under the Act and this chapter. 

(b) The institution shall notify the students of the following: 

(1) If the institution is a participant in federal student financial aid programs, it shall provide students 
information concerning those programs and institutional closures. 

(2) If any student will not be provided complete educational services or the educational program, 
information regarding the Student Tuition Recovery Fund and the Bureau's physical and Internet 
addresses. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803 and 94877, Education Code. Reference: Sections 94874.5, 94909, 
94911, 94926, 94927 and 94927.5, Education Code. 
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