

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: Vicki Nguyen, Owner
The Brows Academy
14266 Beach Blvd.
Westminster, CA 92683

INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved CITATION NUMBER: 2021211

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: March 25, 2021

DUE DATE: April 24, 2021 FINE AMOUNT: \$25,000.00

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager for the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to Vicki Nguyen, Owner, Owner of The Brows Academy (Institution) located at 14266 Beach Blvd., Westminster, CA 92683 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9 and 149; California Education Code (CEC) section 94944; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violation(s) described below.

BACKGROUND

On March 4, 2020, the Bureau received a complaint alleging that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval. Through the course of the investigation and evidence obtained, it was determined that the Institution is operating without Bureau approval or a valid exemption.

VIOLATION(S)

Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

1. **Violation:**

CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required

"Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter."

CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved

"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."

CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public

"To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."

CEC Section 94869. To Operate

"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."

On March 4, 2020, the Bureau received a complaint alleging that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval. The complaint also contained a printout of the Institution's website which advertised a 4-Day Microblading course for \$4,500.00.

On October 1, 2020, Bureau staff reviewed the Institution's website and found the following courses being offered for over \$2,500.00:

- Microblading for \$4,500.00
- Ombre Shading for \$4,400.00
- Microblading and Ombre Mastery for \$4,500.00
- Full Face Permanent Makeup Master for \$5,500.00

Furthermore, Bureau staff reviewed YELP's website and found the following comments pertaining to the Institution:

- On October 11, 2019, a comment was made stating that the person received hands on training from Institution Owner at the Institution.
- On October 14, 2019, the Institution Owner responded a message left on the site "one session is not enough to get the best results and that students receive one to five days of training and unlimited mentorship after completing the program."
- Between July 30, 2019 January 9, 2021, comments were left from individuals stating that they sat as a model for the Institution.

Additionally, Bureau staff conducted a search of the Institution Owner and found an additional website, bbrows.com, for booking microblading services. The website included the Institution's address and contact information for microblade training.

On Ianuary 15, 2021, Bureau staff emailed the Institution requesting a list of courses and pricing. On January 18, 2021, the Institution responded to the email and stated that there were available spots on February 5-8 and March 5-8 for the following courses:

- Microblading and Ombre Shading for \$3,500.00 (4 days)
- Full Face (Microblading, Ombre Shading, Lips, Eyeline for \$5,500.00 (5 days)
- Microblading for \$3,000.00 (3 days)
- Ombre Shading for \$2,500.00 (2 days)

On January 29, 2021, Bureau staff reviewed the Institution's social media page and found photos dated from September 2020 to January 2021 that included advertisements for class dates, students shown working on models, and students holding certificates of completion for courses.

As of March 25, 2021, the Institution is operating without Bureau approval or a valid exemption.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary educational institution, unless the Institution qualifies for an exemption under CEC section 94874. The Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including thebrowsacademy.com, and any other websites not identified here that are associated with the Institution, until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers including, but not limited to, (714) 501-8626, that are associated with the Institution until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. The Institution must provide a roster of each student currently enrolled at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is \$25,000.00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$25,000.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94944; and 5, CCR section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of a fine in the amount of \$25,000.00 for the violations described above. Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of 5, CCR section 75020 (b) the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. In accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 149, the Bureau may disconnect any telephone service numbers used by an unapproved Institution. Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **April 24, 2021,** you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **March 25**, **2021**. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **April 24**, **2021**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Nicole Mitchell, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Nicole Mitchell, Citation Analyst, at Nicole.Mitchell@dca.ca.gov.

"Original Signature on File"	"3/25/2021"
Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager	Date

Enclosures

- ➤ Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- > Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail