

#### Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



# **CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT**

To: Carmen Morgan, Owner Skin City Permanent Cosmetic Academy 305 Petaluma Blvd. S. Petaluma. CA 94952

INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved CITATION NUMBER: 2122003

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: July 15, 2021

**DUE DATE: August 14, 2021 FINE AMOUNT: \$ 25,000.00** 

**ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED:** Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager for the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

#### **CITATION**

A Citation is hereby issued to Carmen Morgan, Owner of Skin City Permanent Cosmetic Academy (Institution) located at 305 Petaluma Blvd. S., Petaluma, CA 94952 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9 and 149; California Education Code (CEC) section 94944; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violation(s) described below.

## **BACKGROUND**

On March 26, 2021, the Bureau received a complaint alleging that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval. Through the course of the investigation and evidence obtained, it was determined that the Institution is operating without Bureau approval or a valid exemption.

## VIOLATION(S)

# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

# 1. **Violation:**

# **CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required**

"Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter."

# CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved

"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."

#### CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public

"To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."

# **CEC Section 94869. To Operate**

"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."

On March 26, 2021, the Bureau received a complaint alleging that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval.

On April 5, 2021, Bureau staff reviewed the Institution's website and found the following courses being offered:

• Full Permanent Cosmetic Course: \$6,200.00

• 2-Day Microblading Course: \$2,700.00

4-Day Brow Course: \$3,300.00Eyeliner Course: \$2,500.00

• Lips Course: \$2,500.00

• Corrective & Medical Tattoo Course: \$2,500.00

• One-on-One Training Course: \$1,500.00

Between April 5, 2021, and May 4, 2021, the Bureau attempted to reach Institution staff by phone and/or email, however all attempts were unsuccessful. Bureau staff left voicemails and sent emails requesting a response.

On May 5, 2021, Bureau staff reviewed the Institution's website and found that it was updated with the following courses being offered:

- Permanent Makeup Training Course: -\$6,900.00 with a \$300.00 student discount for the starter kit
- Three (3) Day Microblading Course: \$3,500.00
- Four (4) Day Brow Class: \$4,200.00
- Ombre Brows & Microblading Course: \$4,200.00

On May 14, 2021, the Institution's Owner responded to email correspondence sent by Bureau staff, and stated the following:

- They are a small business that conducts one-on-one trainings;
- The Institution's Owner is a representative for SofTap and they mostly conduct skin care with facial treatments and permanent cosmetics;
- They are regulated by Environmental Health and Safety and have all permits;
- The Institution does not have catalogs, nor SofTap brochures of pigments and needle configuration.

Bureau staff responded to the Institution's email correspondence and inquired about the following:

Prices listed on the Institution's website;

- If the website was up-to-date and accurate;
- Whether the Institution requires students to sign enrollment agreements upon enrollment at the Institution.

On May 19, 2021, the Institution respondent to Bureau staff's email inquiry with the following information:

- The website that was active at that time is the old site and the Institution is in the process of having a new website set up;
- The pricing on the website is for four (4) different separate courses:
  - 1. Brow/Microblading
  - 2. Lip
  - 3. Eyeliner
  - 4. Camouflage
- Kits of pigments and needles cost an extra \$500.00-\$1,000.00;
- The Microblading Course is \$2,500.00;
- The Institution has not taught courses since 2018 and has not been actively training due to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Bureau staff determined that the Institution had been operating without Bureau approval or a valid exemption.

#### **Order of Abatement:**

The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary educational institution, unless the Institution qualifies for an exemption under CEC section 94874. The Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including https//skincitybycarmen.com, and any other websites not identified here that are associated with the Institution, until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers including, but not limited to, (707) 766-9903 that are associated with the Institution until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. The Institution must provide a roster of each student currently enrolled at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.

#### **Assessment of Fine**

The fine for this violation is \$25,000.00

# **TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$25,000.00**

## **ASSESSMENT OF A FINE**

In accordance with CEC section 94944; and 5, CCR section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of a fine in the amount of \$25,000.00 for the violations described above. Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

#### COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of 5, CCR section 75020 (b) the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. In accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 149, the Bureau may disconnect any telephone service numbers used by an unapproved Institution. Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

## **APPEAL OF CITATION**

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. *If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.* 

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **August 14, 2021,** you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION**

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **July 15**, **2021**. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **August 14**, **2021**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Gabriella Perez, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

#### **CONTACT INFORMATION**

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Gabriella Perez, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8969 or Gabriella.Perez@dca.ca.gov.

"Original signature on file"	"7/15/2021"
Christina Villanueva	Date
Discipline Manager	

# Enclosures

- > Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- > Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail