
 

  
 

Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency– Governor Gavin Newsom 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 
P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 
P (916) 574-8900  F (916) 263-1897   www.bppe.ca.gov  

 
MODIFIED CITATION: 
ASSESSMENT OF FINE  

 
To:  Permatech Makeup, Inc., Owner 
        Permatech Makeup Inc. 
        1350 E. Los Angeles Ave., #201 
        Simi Valley, CA 93063 
 
INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved 
CITATION NUMBER: 1920086 
MODIFIED CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE:  February 9, 2021   
MODIFIED DUE DATE: March 11, 2021  
 

FINE AMOUNT: $ 2,000.00 
ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: NO 
 
Christina Villanueva issues this Modified Citation: Assessment of Fine (Citation) in her official 
capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the 
California Department of Consumer Affairs. 
 

CITATION 
 

A Modified Citation is hereby issued to Permatech Makeup, Inc., Owner of Permatech Makeup, Inc. 
(Institution) located at 1350 E. Los Angeles Ave., #201 Simi Valley CA, 93063, pursuant to Business 
and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) sections 94936 and 94932; and 
Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below. 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

The Bureau previously issued Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement No. 1920086 to 
the Owner of the Institution on September 19, 2019, which was appealed by the Institution and 
subsequently withdrawn without prejudice on February 2, 2021.  
 

VIOLATION 
 

# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code 
of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating. 

1. Violation: 
CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required 
“Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the 
transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, 
conduct, or do business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without 
obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter.” 
 
CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved  
“Approved to operate” or “approved” means that an institution has received authorization 
pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational 
programs.” 
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CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public  
“To offer to the public” means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit.” 
 
CEC Section 94869. To Operate  
“To operate” means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or 
from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided.” 
 
On February 21, 2019, Bureau staff reviewed the Institution’s website 
(https://permatechmakeup.com) and found that the Institution advertises the following 
programs with their respective tuition costs: A1 Microblading for $2,800; A1 Natural Look for 
$2,800; A1 Paramedical for $2,800; A1 Scalp Pigmentation for $2,800; A1 Master Courses for 
$1,000; and Hands On Workshop for $875. 
 
Through the course of this investigation and evidence obtained, it was substantiated that the 
Institution is currently operating as a private postsecondary institution and offering 
educational programs to the public requiring Bureau approval as the A1 Microblading; A1 
Natural Look; A1 Paramedical; and A1 Scalp Pigmentation educational programs with tuition 
costs of $2,800 exceed the $2,500 threshold within CEC section 94874(f). 
 
Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary 
educational institution, unless the Institution qualifies for an exemption under CEC section 
94874. The Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all 
instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including 
https://permatechmakeup.com, and any other websites not identified here that are 
associated with the Institution, until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the 
Bureau.  The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers including, but not 
limited to, (805) 578-9137, that are associated with the Institution until such time as an 
approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the 
Institution must submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education 
Code section 94926. The Institution must provide a roster of each student currently enrolled 
at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the students, their contact 
information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in 
which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.  
 
Reason for modification: New substantive facts were presented at the conference. The Order of 
Abatement has been satisfied. 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $2,500.00 
 
The administrative fine for this violation has been modified from $2,500.00 to $2,000.00. 

 TOTAL MODIFIED ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE:   $2,000.00 
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ASSESSMENT OF A FINE 
 
In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby 
orders this assessment of fine in the amount of $2,000.00 for the violations described above.  
 

Payment must be made to the Bureau by March 11, 2021. 
 

PAYMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE FINE 
 

The Institution shall pay the civil penalty in the amount of $2,000.00 by way of cashiers’ 
check or money order. The payment shall be mailed to: 

  
Cheryl Lardizabal, Discipline Citation Program 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

 
The civil penalty must be paid to the Bureau by March 11, 2021.  Payment of an 

administrative citation is not an admission of guilt or liability. 
 
The Institution gives up the right to an administrative hearing and all other rights accorded by the 
California Administrative Procedure Act and other applicable laws.  The Institution’s failure to pay 

the Modified Citation civil penalty pursuant to the terms of this settlement will result in denial of an 
application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education may file an Amended Modified Citation for the failure 

of conditions required of the Institution. 
 
 

CONTACT INFORMATION 
 

If you have any questions regarding this Modified Citation, or desire further information, please 
contact Cheryl Lardizabal, Citation Analyst, at Cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov. 
 
 
“Original signature on file”     “2/9/2021”         
__________________________________________________          _________________________________ 
Christina Villanueva      Date 
Discipline Manager 
 
 
 
 
Enclosure 
 
 Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail 
 Payment of Fine 
 Citation Payment Plan Form  

 

mailto:Cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov
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