

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCYGAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNORDEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834P (916) 574-8900 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



## **NOTICE TO COMPLY** – CA-45567541-0422 (Ed. Code §94935 & 5, CCR §75010)

Institution Name:	CA Trade Academy	Institution Telephone:	(909) 704-7427
Institution Code:	90285787	Administrator Name:	Ramona Lawson, Owner
Street Address:	2409 S. Vineyard Ave, Suite #F Ontario, CA 91761	Date of Inspection:	4/13/2022

Nature and Facts of the Violation(s), Including a Reference to the Statute or Regulation Violated, and Manner in Which the Institution Must Correct the Violation to Achieve Compliance:

Item	Education Code (CEC)	Subsection, Description, and Required Correction	
		Subsection, Description, and Required Correction	
No.	or Regulation (5, CCR)		
1	CEC §94909(a)(9)	(a) Except as provided in subdivision (d), prior to enrollment, an institution shall provide a prospective student, either in writing or electronically, with a school catalog containing, at a minimum, all of the following:	
		(9) The schedule of total charges for a period of attendance and an estimated schedule of total charges for the entire educational program.	
		On pages 13 of its catalog contained the schedule of total charges for a period of attendance and an estimated schedule of total charges for the entire educational program.	
		However, the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) assessment rate fee is not listed as non-refundable. Also, effective April 1, 2022, the STRF fee has been updated to two dollars and fifty cents (\$2.50) per one thousand dollars (\$1,000) of institutional charges, rounded to the nearest thousand dollars, from each student in an educational program who is a California resident or is enrolled in a residency program. For institutional charges of one thousand dollars (\$1,000) or less, the assessment is zero dollars (\$0).	
		To remedy this deficiency, the institution shall list the STRF assessment rate fee as "non-refundable" and list the fee as two dollars and fifty cents (\$2.50) per one thousand dollars (\$1,000) of institutional charges, rounded to the nearest thousand dollars	
2	5, CCR §71800(a)	The enrollment agreement shall contain the following: (a) The name and address of the institution and the addresses where instruction will be provided.	
		Please Include the Name of the Institution on the top of page 1 of the Enrollment Agreement.	
3	5, CCR §71800(e)(11)	The enrollment agreement shall contain the following: (e) Itemization of all institutional charges and fees including, as applicable:	
L			

		(11) Student Tuition Recovery Fund fee (non-refundable);
		The institution contained the Student Tuition Recovery Fund fee (STRF) and listed it as (non-refundable) on page 1 of its enrollment agreement (EA). However, the institution failed to list the STRF fee as \$2.50 per one thousand dollars (\$1,000) of institutional charges.
		To remedy this deficiency, the institution shall list the STRF fee as \$2.50 per one thousand dollars (\$1,000) of institutional charges on page 1 of its EA.
4	5, CCR §76215(a)	(a) A qualifying institution shall include the following statement on both its enrollment agreement and school catalog:
		"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.
		You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."
		The institution included an outdated version of the STRF Disclosures on page 2 of its enrollment agreement (EA). Also, only disclosure (a) is required for the EA.
		To remedy this deficiency, the institution shall remove the outdated STRF Disclosure statement on page 2 of its EA and replace it with the following:
		"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.
		You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."
5	CEC §94911(e)(3) & CEC §94920(d)	An enrollment agreement shall include, at a minimum, all of the following:
		(3) The text shall also include a description of the procedures that a student is

		required to follow to cancel the enrollment agreement or withdraw from the institution and obtain a refund.
		CEC §94920(d):
		An institution that does not participate in the federal student financial aid programs shall do all of the following:
		(d) The institution shall have a refund policy for the return of unearned institutional charges if the student cancels an enrollment agreement or withdraws during a period of attendance. The refund policy for students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance shall be a pro rata refund.
		The institution failed to include in its enrollment agreement (EA) a refund policy for students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance shall be a pro rata refund.
		To remedy this deficiency, the institution shall include in its EA a refund policy for students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance shall be a pro rata refund.
6	CEC §94911(i)(1)(2)	An enrollment agreement shall include, at a minimum, all of the following:
		(i) (1) The following statement: "Prior to signing this enrollment agreement, you must be given a catalog or brochure and a School Performance Fact Sheet, which you are encouraged to review prior to signing this agreement. These documents contain important policies and performance data for this institution. This institution is required to have you sign and date the information included in the School Performance Fact Sheet relating to completion rates, placement rates, license examination passage rates, salaries or wages, and the most recent three-year cohort default rate, if applicable, prior to signing this agreement."
		(2) Immediately following the statement required by paragraph (1), a line for the student to initial, including the following statement: "I certify that I have received the catalog, School Performance Fact Sheet, and information regarding completion rates, placement rates, license examination passage rates, salary or wage information, and the most recent three-year cohort default rate, if applicable, included in the School Performance Fact sheet, and have signed, initialed, and dated the information provided in the School Performance Fact Sheet."
		The institution included the above statements on page 1 of its enrollment agreement (EA), but the statements are outdated.
		To remedy this deficiency, the institution shall remove the outdated statements on page 1 of its EA and replace it with the updated versions:
		"Prior to signing this enrollment agreement, you must be given a catalog or

		1
		brochure and a School Performance Fact Sheet, which you are encouraged to review prior to signing this agreement. These documents contain important policies and performance data for this institution. This institution is required to have you sign and date the information included in the School Performance Fact Sheet relating to completion rates, placement rates, license examination passage rates, salaries or wages, and the most recent three-year cohort default rate, if applicable, prior to signing this agreement."
		"I certify that I have received the catalog, School Performance Fact Sheet, and information regarding completion rates, placement rates, license examination passage rates, salary or wage information, and the most recent three-year cohort default rate, if applicable, included in the School Performance Fact sheet, and have signed, initialed, and dated the information provided in the School Performance Fact Sheet."
7	CEC §94911(j)(1)	An enrollment agreement shall include, at a minimum, all of the following:
		(j) The following statements:
		(1) "Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at (address), Sacramento, CA (ZIP Code), (Internet Web site address), (telephone and fax numbers)."
		Please update the BPPE Address and Phone Number on page 2 of the enrollment agreement to:
		1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 574-8900
8	CEC §94913(a)(2)	a) An institution that maintains an Internet Web site shall provide on that Internet Web site all of the following:
		(2) A School Performance Fact Sheet for each educational program offered by the institution.
		The institution failed to provide its 2019-2020 school performance fact sheet (SPFS) for each educational program offered by the institution on its website at <a href="https://www.ccarts.biz/">https://www.ccarts.biz/</a>
		To remedy this deficiency, the institution shall upload to its website its 2019- 2020 school performance fact sheet (SPFS) for each educational program offered by the institution on its website at <u>https://www.ccarts.biz/</u>
9	CEC §94913(a)(4)	(a) An institution that maintains an Internet Web site shall provide on that Internet Web site all of the following:
		(4) A link to the bureau's Internet Web site.
		The school failed to provide on its website at <u>https://www.ccarts.biz/</u> , a link to the bureau's Internet Web site ( <u>http://www.bppe.ca.gov</u> )

		To remedy this deficiency, the school shall upload on its website at <u>https://www.ccarts.biz/</u> , a link to the bureau's Internet Web site ( <u>http://www.bppe.ca.gov</u> )
10	CEC §94913(a)(5)	(a) An institution that maintains an Internet Web site shall provide on that Internet Web site all of the following:
		(5) The institution's most recent annual report submitted to the bureau
		The school failed to provide on its website at <u>https://www.ccarts.biz/</u> , its most recent annual report (2019 or 2020) submitted to the Bureau.
		To remedy this deficiency, the school shall upload on its website at <a href="https://www.ccarts.biz/">https://www.ccarts.biz/</a> , its most recent annual report (2019 or 2020) submitted to the Bureau.

## Only minor violations are listed on a Notice to Comply.

Inspector's Name	Miguel Garcia
Inspector's Signature	AL CONTRACTOR
Institution Administrator	Ramona Lawson
Name/Title:	$\frown$
Institution Administrator's	
Signature:	L'all ha

Education Code can be located at: <u>http://www.bppe.ca.gov/lawsregs/ppe\_act.shtml</u> Code of Regulations can be located at: <u>http://www.bppe.ca.gov/lawsregs/regs.shtml</u>

# RETURN THIS FORM WITHIN THE SPECIFIED TIME FRAME WITH EITHER: 1) VERIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE OR 2) A NOTICE OF DISAGREEMENT

### IMPORTANT COMPLIANCE NOTICE

California Education Code §94935 and California Code of Regulations §75010 provide that the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) shall issue a Notice to Comply for minor violations detected during a compliance inspection by the Bureau.

By no later than <u>30 days</u> from the date of the inspection, you must either: 1) Remedy the noncompliance item(s), sign the below declaration and submit this form to the Bureau, along with documentation describing how compliance was achieved; or 2) File with the Bureau a written notice of disagreement, specifying the minor violation(s) described in the Notice to Comply with which you disagree, and appealing it by requesting an informal office conference. If a written notice of disagreement is not timely filed with the Bureau, the right to appeal is deemed to have been waived.

Failure to timely remedy the noncompliance item(s) or file a written request for an informal office conference may result in the Bureau taking administrative enforcement action.

#### DECLARATION

Attached to this document is a list describing how compliance was achieved for each violation and supporting documentation. I declare under penalty of perjury that all violations identified in this Notice to Comply are corrected as described in the attachment.

Signature

Date

Print Name and Title

THIS DECLARATION OR A NOTICE OF DISAGREEMENT MUST BE SUBMITTED TO THE BUREAU BY May 13, 2022