

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



APPEAL OF CITATION INFORMAL CONFERENCE DECISION: CITATION AFFIRMED

October 28, 2020

Kulwantbir (Kevin) Sandhu, Owner National Truck Driving School 24951 Huntwood Avenue Hayward, CA 94544

Date of Issuance	Citation Number	Institution Code
October 28, 2020	1920238	Unapproved

On October 16, 2020, an informal telephone conference was held in the matter of Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement No. 1920238 (Citation) against Kulwantbir (Kevin) Sandhu, Owner of National Truck Driving School (Institution). In attendance were Leeza Rifredi, Deputy Bureau Chief, and Kevin Sandhu, Owner.

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code, section 125.9; California Education Code, section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations, section 75020 and section 75040, the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) renders the following decision relative to your appeal of the Citation No. 1920238.

It is the decision of the Deputy Bureau Chief that on October 16, 2020, Citation No. 1920238 is <u>affirmed</u> for the following reason(s):

➤ No new substantive facts were presented at the conference.

VIOLATION CODE SECTIONS

#	Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California
	Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

1. Violation:

CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required

"Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter."

CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved

"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."

CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public

"To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."

CEC Section 94869. To Operate

"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."

On June 10, 2019, Bureau staff reviewed the Institution's website at http://www.truckdriving-schools.com/ and found that the Institution offers the following courses: both Class A and Class B California Driver's License courses.

Bureau staff contacted the Institution to inquire about the course tuition and spoke to the Owner who stated that the Class A course is \$1,900 and the class B course is \$1,600.

The Institution's website states that the Institution accepts various student financial aid, including but not limited to, Workforce Investment Act (WIA); State Department of Rehabilitation Vouchers; Workers Compensation Training Vouchers; Social Service Agency (SSA), and is approved by the Bureau.

The Institution's programs do not exceed the \$2,500 total charge limitation of CCR Section 94874(f). However, the Institution accepts financial aid which is not permitted under this exemption.

The Institution is not approved by the Bureau and is not operating as exempt Institution. The Institution accepts various student financial aid which is not permitted under Exempt Institutions-CEC Section 94874(f)- An institution that does not award degrees and that solely provides educational programs for total charges of \$2,500.00 or less when no part of the total charges is paid from state or federal student financial aid programs.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary educational institution, unless the Institution qualifies for an exemption under CEC section 94874. The Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including www.truckdriving-school.com, and any other websites not identified here that are associated with the Institution, until an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers including, but not limited to, (800) 567-0820 and (510) 352-1100, that are associated with the Institution until an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. The Institution must provide a roster of each student currently enrolled at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is \$25,000.00

TOTAL AFFIRMED ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$25,000.00

ORDER OF ABATEMENT

The Bureau orders that you comply with the orders described in the 'Violation Code Sections' of this document and submit evidence of compliance within <u>30 days</u> from the date of this decision.

PENALTY – ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

Payment of the administrative fine is due within 30 days from the date of this decision. Please complete the Payment of Fine form. Payment must be made to the Bureau by check, or money order. Please include the citation number on the payment of the fine assessment. Payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged and shall be represented as satisfactory resolution of the matter for purposes of public disclosure. Payments may be mailed to:

Gabriella Perez, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

APPEAL OF CITATION

You *do not* have the right to request another Informal Conference to appeal this affirmed Citation. If you did not initially request an Administrative Hearing within 30 days from when the original citation was issued, you can no longer request one.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION AND FINE ASSESSMENT

This affirmed Citation is effective on **October 28, 2020.** The order of abatement and payment are due by **November 27, 2020**.

Failure to abate the violation or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed is grounds for denial of an application for an approval to operate or discipline. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce the Affirmed Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this decision or desire further information, please contact Gabriella Perez, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8969 or at Gabriella.Perez@dca.ca.gov.

"Original Signature on File"	"10/28/2020"	
Christina Villanueva	Date	

Enclosures

- Payment of Fine
 Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail