DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833
P (918) 431-6959 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bope.ca.gov



# APPEAL OF CITATION INFORMAL CONFERENCE DECISION: CITATION MODIFIED

August 19, 2019

IO Music Academy, Inc., Owner IO Music Academy 1550 N. Gower Street Los Angeles, CA 90028

Date of Issuance	Citation Number	Institution Code
August 19, 2019	1819175	Unapproved

On July 25, 2019, an informal telephone conference was held in the matter of Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement No. 1819175 (Citation) against IO Music Academy, Inc., Owner of IO Music Academy (Institution). In attendance were Yvette Johnson, Administration Chief, and Andrew Caldwell, Owner.

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code, section 148; California Education Code (CEC), section 94944; and Title 5 of California Code of Regulations (5, CCR), section 75020 and section 75040, the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) renders the following decision relative to your appeal of the Citation No. 1819175.

It is the decision of the Administration Chief that on August 9, 2019, Citation No. 1819175 is modified and makes the following change(s):

## VIOLATION CODE SECTIONS

## # Below youwill find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California . Code of Repulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

#### 1. Violation:

## **CEC Section 94886.** Approval to Operate Required

"Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter."

#### CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved

"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."

#### CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public

"To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."

#### CEC Section 94869. To Operate

"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."

On January 23, 2019, Bureau staff conducted online research by completing a google search and located an active website, www.iomusic.academy.

During the review of the Institution's website, Bureau staff found the Institution was advertising a 12-month educational program consisting of four (4) levels. The educational cost for this program is listed as one payment of \$3,500 plus \$250 registration fee, or 10 monthly payments of \$375 (\$3,750 total) plus \$250 registration fee. The Institution also advertised an 11-week course (level one of the full programs) for one payment of \$1,000 plus \$250 registration fee.

The Institution's website also advertised 2019 programs beginning January 4, 2019 (winter session) and April 4, 2019 (spring session).

On February 6, 2019, Bureau staff completed a search of the Bureau's internal database, Schools Automated Information Link (SAIL), and did not find a record of the Institution having an approval to operated or having submitted an application for approval.

#### Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary educational institution, unless the Institution qualifies for an exemption under CEC section \$4874. The Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including <a href="https://www.iomusic.academy">www.iomusic.academy</a> and any other websites not identified here that are associated with the Institution, until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers including, but not limited to (323) 694-6410, that are associated with the Institution until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. The Institution must provide a roster of each student currently enrolled at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.

<u>Reason for Modification:</u> New facts presented at the informal conference. Order of Abatement has been satisfied.

#### **Assessment of Fine:**

The fine for this violation is \$5,000.00

The administrative fine for this yiolation has been modified from \$5,000.00 to \$500.00

TOTAL MODIFIED ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$500.00

#### PENALTY - ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

Payment of the administrative fine is due within 30 days from the date of this decision. Please complete the Payment of Fine form. Payment must be made to the Bureau by check, or money order. Please include the citation number on the payment of the fine assessment. Payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged and shall be represented as satisfactory resolution of the matter for purposes of public disclosure. Payments may be mailed to:

Cheryl Lardizabal, Discipline Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833

#### **APPEAL OF CITATION**

You *do not* have the right to request another Informal Conference to appeal this modified Citation. If you did not initially request an Administrative Hearing within 30 days from when the original citation was issued, you can no longer request one.

### EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION AND FINE ASSESSMENT

This modified Citation is effective on **August 19, 2019**. The payment is due by **September 18, 2019**.

Failure to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed is grounds for denial of an application for an approval to operate or discipline. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce the Modified Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

#### **CONTACT INFORMATION**

If you have any questions regarding this decision or desire further information, please contact Cheryl Lardizabal, Citation Analyst, at (916) 621-2591 or at Cheryl Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov.

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager

Data

**Enclosures** 

- > Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal Rights
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail