

#### Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



# **CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT**

To: Gang Reduction Intervention Team, Owner Inland Empire Healthcare Training Institute 1910 Orange Tree Lane, Suite 360 Redlands CA, 92374

INSTITUTION CODE: 13317315 CITATION NUMBER: 2122005

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: July 21, 2021

DUE DATE: August 20, 2021 FINE AMOUNT: \$6,050.00

**ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED:** Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

## **CITATION**

A Citation is hereby issued to Gang Reduction Intervention Team, Owner of Inland Empire Healthcare Training Institute (Institution) located at 1910 Orange Tree Lane, Suite 360, Redlands CA, 92374, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) sections 94936 and 94932; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below.

## **BACKGROUND**

Between October 29, 2020 and February 8, 2021, the Bureau received complaints alleging that the Institution cancelled the phlebotomy class prior to completion of the program, due to COVID-19, and failed to provide refunds to students. In addition, Bureau staff found that the Institution's Director held a phlebotomy class at his home address. Through the course of the investigation Bureau staff found potential violations.

Additionally, all institutions are required to submit a Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) Assessment Reporting Form to the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter.

Pursuant to CEC section 94923(a) The Student Tuition Recovery Fund relieves or mitigates economic loss suffered by a student while enrolled in an institution not exempt from this article pursuant to Article 4 (commencing with section 94874), who, at the time of his or her enrollment, was a California resident or was enrolled in a California residency program, prepaid tuition, and suffered economic loss.

The Bureau sends notifications/reminders to all approved institutions 30 days prior to close of each quarter.

As of July 21, 2021, the Institution has not submitted the STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the  $3^{rd}$  quarter of 2015 and the  $1^{st}$  quarter of 2021.

Lastly, all institutions are required to pay annual fee within 30 days of the date on which the Institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original approval. An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.

Pursuant to CEC section 94930.5 (g). effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus described in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount equal to 0.55 percent of that campus' total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars (\$60,000) for each campus.

As of July 21, 2021, the Bureau has not received the annual fee for the 2021 calendar year from the Institution.

#### **VIOLATION**

# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

#### 1. Violation:

# 5, CCR Section 71660 - Notifications of Non-Substantive Changes

An institution shall notify the Bureau of a non-substantive change including: change of location of less than 10 miles; addition of a program related to the approved programs offered by the institution; addition of a new branch five miles or less from the main or branch campus; addition of a satellite; and change of mailing address. All such notifications shall be made within 30 days of the change and sent to the Bureau, in writing, to the address listed in section 70020.

The Institution's Director sent students an email stating that the phlebotomy class were going to be held at his home address that is 6.6 miles away from the Institution. The Institution failed to submit a non-substantive change notification within 30 days of the change of location.

#### **Order of Abatement:**

The Bureau orders the Institution to submit a non-substantive change notification if classes will be held at a location that is less than 10 miles from the Institution. The Institution shall submit proof of notification, or a written response stating why the notification has not been submitted.

#### **Assessment of Fine:**

The fine for this violation is \$1,000.00

#### 2. Violation:

# **CEC Section 94927 - Institutions in Default of Enrollment Agreement**

"An institution shall be considered in default of the enrollment agreement when an educational program is discontinued or canceled or the institution closes prior to completion of the educational program. When an institution is in default, student institutional charges may be refunded on a pro rata basis if the bureau determines that the school has made provision for students enrolled at the time of default to complete a comparable educational program at another institution at no additional charge to the students beyond the amount of the total charges in the original enrollment agreement. If the institution does not make that provision, a total refund of all institutional charges shall be made to students."

On November 13, 2020, the Institution's Director sent students an email stating that the program was on hold pending a response from the Institution's Administration on whether they could continue classes.

On December 8, 2020, the Institution's Director sent students an email stating that the Institution would allow students to retake the class at no cost once the Institution re-opened and to check the website for updates.

Bureau staff found that the Institution ceased all instruction prior to allowing enrolled students to complete their program and failed to issue refunds to students.

#### **Order of Abatement:**

The Bureau orders the Institution to submit a student roster, provide refunds to all students who were enrolled during the time the program was cancelled, and provide proof of refunds to the Bureau.

#### **Assessment of Fine:**

The fine for this violation is \$5,000.00

#### 3. **Violation:**

## 5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e) - Collection and Submission of Assessments

- "(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student pays the institutional charges in increments.
- (b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows:
- (1) April 30 for the first quarter,
- (2) July 31 for the second quarter,
- (3) October 31 for the third quarter, and
- (4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau.
- If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau.
- *(c)* The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information:
- (1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the reporting period; and
- (2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the reporting period; and
- (3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and
- (4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period; and
- (5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the nearest \$1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting period; and
- (6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and
- (7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the

form and any attachments are true and correct.

- (d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within seven days following the cessation of instruction.
- (e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal."

The Institution has failed to submit STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the following quarters:

- Third Quarter for 2015
- First Quarter for 2021

On September 22, 2020, the Institution was notified via email at, <a href="mailto:Bigjrrn1@msn.com">Bigjrrn1@msn.com</a>, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3<sup>rd</sup> quarter of 2015 was due.

On February 5, 2021, the Institution was notified via email at, <a href="mailto:Bigjrrn1@msn.com">Bigjrrn1@msn.com</a>, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3rd quarter of 2015 was due. As of July 14, 2021, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On March 24, 2021, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1910 Orange Tree Lane, Suite 360, Redlands, CA 92374, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1st quarter of 2021 was due.

On May 18, 2021, the Institution was notified via email at, <a href="mailto:Bigjrrn1@msn.com">Bigjrrn1@msn.com</a>, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1st quarter of 2021 was due.

On May 19, 2021, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1910 Orange Tree Lane, Suite 360, Redlands, CA 92374, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1st quarter of 2021 was due. As of July 21, 2021, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

## Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Forms with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the quarters listed above. The information provided shall comply with "Record Keeping Requirements" Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140.

# **Assessment of Fine**

The fine for this violation is \$50.00

#### 4. **Violation:**

#### 5, CCR Section 74006(a) and (b) - Annual Fee

"(a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original approval. (b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.

#### CEC Section 94930.5 (g)- Fee Schedule

(g) Notwithstanding subdivision (d), effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus described in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount equal to 0.55 percent of that campus' total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars (\$60,000) for each campus.

#### **CEC Section 94931(a)- Late Payment**

"(a) A fee that is not paid on or before the 30<sup>th</sup> calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee."

The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee for calendar year 2021.

On April 1, 2021, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900357256, via mail at, 1910 Orange Tree Lane, Suite 360, Redlands, CA 92374, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2021 was due on May 1, 2021.

On June 15, 2021, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900358052, via mail at, 1910 Orange Tree Lane, Suite 360, Redlands, CA 92374, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2021 was due on May 1, 2021.

As of July 21, 2021. the Bureau has not received the annual fee from the Institution.

#### **Order of Abatement:**

The Bureau orders the Institution to submit its annual fees for calendar year 2021 in accordance with 5, CCR section 74006(a)(b) and CEC section 94930.5(g). In addition, the Institution must pay all late payment penalty fees.

#### **Assessment of Fine**

The fine for this violation is \$00.00

# **TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$6,050.00**

## ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of fine in the amount of \$6,050.00 for the violations described above. Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

#### COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. **Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days** from the date of service of the Citation.

#### **APPEAL OF CITATION**

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. *If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.* 

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **August 20, 2021**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION**

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **July 21**, **2021**. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **August 20**, **2021**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

# Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Cheryl Lardizabal, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

#### CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Cheryl Lardizabal, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8968 or <a href="mailto:cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov">cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov</a>.

"Original signature on file"	"7/21/2021
Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager	Date

#### **Enclosures**

- ➤ Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- > Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First- Class Mail