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Coast Health Educational Centers, Inc. 
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Anaheim, CA 92804  
 

Date of Issuance Citation Number Institution Code 
June 10, 2021 2021120  3009811 

   
 
On December 10, 2020, an informal telephone conference was held in the matter of Citation: 
Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement No. 2021120 (Citation) against Coast Health 
Educational Centers, Inc., Owner of Coast Health Educational Centers, Inc. (Institution). In 
attendance were Beth Scott, Enforcement Chief, Oscar de Jesus, Administrator, and Ria Bitun, 
Administrative Assistant. 
 
Pursuant to Business and Professions Code, section 125.9; California Education Code, section 
94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations, section 75020 and section 75040, the 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) renders the following decision relative to 
your appeal of the Citation No. 2021120. 
 
It is the decision of the Enforcement Chief that on May 25, 2021, Citation No.2021120 is modified 
and makes the following change(s): 
 

VIOLATION CODE SECTIONS 
 

# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of 
Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating. 

1. Violation: 
CEC Section 94911 (e)(1) – Minimum Requirements for Enrollment Agreements 
“An enrollment agreement shall include, at a minimum, all of the following: 
(e)(1) A disclosure with a clear and conspicuous caption, “STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL,” under 
which it is explained that the student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a 
refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after 
enrollment, whichever is later.” 
 
Bureau staff reviewed enrollment agreements and found that the documentation contained the 
following statements (pages 2, 3) that contradict the above disclosure and are therefore non-
compliant: 
 

• “If you enroll after the commencement of the term, you may cancel at any time before your 
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first scheduled class session after your enrollment.” 
• “The student has the right to cancel the agreement and receive a full refund before the first 

lesson and materials are received.” 
• “Cancellation must occur prior to the receipt of the first lesson and materials, which will 

occur within seven days after the institution accepts the student for admission.” 
 
Order of Abatement:  
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit a policy, of procedure, or how the Institution will 
maintain future compliance with CEC section 94911.  
 
New Modified Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit to the Bureau an updated/corrected enrollment 
agreement for review and approval. 
 
Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $1,000.00 
 
The administrative fine has been modified from $1,000.00 to $100.00. 

2. Violation: 
CEC Section 94909 (a)(2)(6)(8)(B) – Minimum Requirements for School Catalog 
“(a) Except as provided in subdivision (d), prior to enrollment, an institution shall provide a 
prospective student, either in writing or electronically, with a school catalog containing, at a 
minimum, all of the following: 
(2) Except as specified in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a statement that the institution 
is a private institution and that it is approved to operate by the bureau. 
(6) If the educational program is designed to lead to positions in a profession, occupation, trade, or 
career field requiring licensure in this state, a notice to that effect and a list of the requirements for 
eligibility for licensure. 
(8) A detailed description of institutional policies in the following areas: 
(B) Cancellation, withdrawal, and refund policies, including an explanation that the student has the 
right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at 
the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. The text shall also include 
a description of the procedures that a student is required to follow to cancel the enrollment agreement 
or withdraw from the institution and obtain a refund consistent with the requirements of Article 13 
(commencing with Section 94919).” 
 
CEC Section 94897 (l)(1)(2) – Prohibited Business Practices  
“An institution shall not do any of the following: 
(l) Use the terms “approval,” “approved,” “approval to operate,” or “approved to operate” without 
stating clearly and conspicuously that approval to operate means compliance with state standards as 
set forth in this chapter. If the bureau has granted an institution approval to operate, the institution 
may indicate that the institution is “licensed” or “licensed to operate,” but may not state or imply either 
of the following:  
(1) The institution or its educational programs are endorsed or recommended by the state or by the 
bureau.  
(2) The approval to operate indicates that the institution exceeds minimum state standards as set 
forth in this chapter.” 
 
CEC Section 94920 (a-e) – Mandatory Cancellation, Withdrawal, and Refund Policies  
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“An institution that does not participate in the federal student financial aid programs shall do all of the 
following:  
(a) The institution shall advise each student that a notice of cancellation shall be in writing, and that a 
withdrawal may be effectuated by the student’s written notice or by the student’s conduct, including, 
but not necessarily limited to, a student’s lack of attendance.  
(b) Institutions shall refund 100 percent of the amount paid for institutional charges, less a reasonable 
deposit or application fee not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250), if notice of cancellation is 
made through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is 
later.  
(c) The bureau may adopt by regulation a different method of calculation for instruction delivered by 
other means, including, but not necessarily limited to, distance education.  
(d) The institution shall have a refund policy for the return of unearned institutional charges if the 
student cancels an enrollment agreement or withdraws during a period of attendance. The refund 
policy for students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance shall be a pro 
rata refund.  
(e) The institution shall pay or credit refunds within 45 days of a student’s cancellation or 
withdrawal.” 
 
Violation: CEC Section 94909 (a)(2) and CEC Section 94897 (l)(1)(2): Bureau staff reviewed the 
Institution’s catalog and found that the following statement is non-compliant: 
“The approval to operate meant that the Bureau determined and certified that the institution met 
the standards for integrity, financial stability, and educational quality, including the offering of bona 
fide instruction by qualified faculty and the appropriate assessment of students’ achievement prior 
to, during, and at the end of its programs.” 
 
In addition, the Institution failed to use the terms “approval,” “approved,” “approval to operate,” or 
“approved to operate” in compliance with CEC Section 94909 and 94897. 
 
Violation: CEC Section 94909 (a)(2): Bureau staff reviewed the Institution’s catalog and found 
that the ‘Eligibility for Licensure’ information listed on pages 5 and 17 does not include all elements 
listed for the licensure requirements. Furthermore, the catalog is missing the licensure requirement 
of obtaining a criminal record clearance.  
 
Violation: CEC Section 94909 (a)(8)(b) and CEC Section 94920 (a-e): Bureau staff reviewed the 
Institution’s catalog and found that the catalog failed to include cancellation, withdrawal, and 
refund policies that are compliant with CEC section 94909 and 94920.  
 
Violation: CEC Section 94920 (a-e): Bureau staff reviewed the Institution’s catalog and found that 
pages 26 and 27 of the catalog contain information inconsistent with CEC Section 94920 which 
states that the student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of 
charges paid through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, 
whichever is later, as well as a pro rata refund after that point up to and including 60% of the 
program.  
 
Order of Abatement:  
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit a policy, of procedure, or how the Institution will 
maintain future compliance with CEC sections 94897, 94909 and 94920.  
 
New Modified Order of Abatement: 
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The Bureau orders the Institution to submit to the Bureau an updated/corrected school catalog for 
review and approval. . 
 
Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $3,000.00 
 
The administrative fine has been modified from $3,000.00 to $100.00. 

3. Violation: 
5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e)– Collection and Submission of Assessments  
“(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program 
at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The 
assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student 
pays the institutional charges in increments. 
(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit 
it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the 
last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows: 
(1) April 30 for the first quarter, 
(2) July 31 for the second quarter, 
(3) October 31 for the third quarter, and 
(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal 
holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended 
to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
(c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information: 
(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the 
reporting period; and 
(2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational 
programs during the reporting period; and 
(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period, 
were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and 
(4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting 
period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period; 
and 
(5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the 
nearest $1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting 
period; and 
(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and 
(7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the 
form and any attachments are true and correct. 
(d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within 
seven days following the cessation of instruction. 
(e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal.” 
 
The Institution has failed to submit STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the following quarter:  
 

• First Quarter of 2020 
 

On March 24, 2020, the Institution was notified via mail at 12 Harveston, Mission Viejo, CA 92692, 
that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1st quarter of 2020 was due. As of October 15, 
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2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution. 
 
Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Form 
with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the quarter listed above. The information 
provided shall comply with “Record Keeping Requirements” Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140.  
 
New Modified Order of Abatement: 
New Substantive facts were presented at the informal conference. The Order of Abatement has been 
satisfied. 
 
Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $50.00 
 
The administrative fine has been modified from $50.00 to $00.00. 

4. Violation: 
5, CCR Section 74006 (a) and (b) - Annual Fee 
“(a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the institution originally 
receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original 
approval. (b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.”  

CEC Section 94930.5 (g)- Fee Schedule 
“(g) Notwithstanding subdivision (d), effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus described 
in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount equal to 0.55 
percent of that campus’ total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than 
two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars ($60,000) for 
each campus.” 
 
CEC Section 94931(b)– Late Payment  
 “(b) A fee that is not paid on or before the 90th calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee 
shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee.”  
 
The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee for calendar year 2019.  
 
On June 3, 2019, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900342004, via mail at 12 Harveston, 
Mission Viejo, CA 92692, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2019 was due on July 1, 2019. 
 
On August 15, 2019, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900343985 via mail at 12 Harveston, 
Mission Viejo, CA 92692, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2019 was due on July 1, 2019. 
 
On October 15, 2019, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900343985, via mail at 12 Harveston, 
Mission Viejo, CA 92692, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2019 was due on July 1, 2019. 
 
As of October 15, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee or late payment penalty fee from 
the Institution.  
 
Order of Abatement:  
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit its annual fees for calendar year 2019 in accordance 
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with 5, CCR section 74006(a)(b) and CEC section 94930.5(g).  In addition, the Institution must pay 
all late payment penalty fees.   
 
Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $00.00  

 TOTAL MODIFIED ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE:   $200.00 
 
        ORDER OF ABATEMENT 
 
The Bureau orders that you comply with the orders described in the ‘Violation Code 
Sections’ of this document and submit evidence of compliance within 30 days from the date 
of this decision. 
 

PENALTY – ASSESSMENT OF A FINE 
 

Payment of the administrative fine is due within 30 days from the date of this decision. 
Please complete the Payment of Fine form. Payment must be made to the Bureau by check, or 
money order. Please include the citation number on the payment of the fine assessment. Payment of 
the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged and shall be 
represented as satisfactory resolution of the matter for purposes of public disclosure.  Payments 
may be mailed to: 
 

Gabriella Perez, Discipline Citation Program 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

    1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 
           Sacramento, CA 95834 
 

APPEAL OF CITATION 
 

You do not have the right to request another Informal Conference to appeal this modified Citation. If 
you did not initially request an Administrative Hearing within 30 days from when the original 
citation was issued, you can no longer request one.    
 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION AND FINE ASSESSMENT  
 
This modified Citation is effective on June 10, 2021. The Order of Abatement and payment are due 
by July 10, 2021. 
 
Failure to abate the violation or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed is grounds 
for denial of an application for an approval to operate or discipline. The Bureau will promptly take 
all appropriate action to enforce the Modified Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed 
therein or found to be due after a hearing. 
 

CONTACT INFORMATION 
 

If you have any questions regarding this decision or desire further information, please contact 
Gabriella Perez, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8969 or at Gabriella.Perez@dca.ca.gov.  
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“Original signature on file”    “6/10/2021” 
___________________________________________   _______    
Christina Villanueva    Date 
Discipline Manager 
 
Enclosures 
 

 Payment of Fine – Waiver of Appeal Rights  
 Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail 
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