

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 431-6959 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



# CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE, ORDER OF ABATEMENT AND ORDER OF RESTITUTION

To: Frank J. Tu, Owner California Technology University 1030 Taraval Street San Francisco, CA 94116

**INSTITUTION CODE: None - Unapproved CITATION NUMBER: 1213006** CITATION ISSUANCE DATE: 10/18/12 DUE DATE: 11/17/12 FINE AMOUNT: \$50,000.00

Connie Bouvia issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine, Order of Abatement and Order of Restitution (Citation) in her official capacity as Enforcement Chief of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

#### CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to Frank J. Tu, owner of California Technology University located at 1030 Taraval Street, San Francisco, CA 94116; and 638 Webster Street, Oakland, CA 94607 in accordance with Section 148 and of the Business and Professions; Section 94944 of the California Education Code; and Section 75020 of the California Code of Regulations for the violations described below.

### VIOLATION

# California Education Code § 94886 – Approval to Operate Required

The institution did not obtain an approval to operate a private postsecondary educational institution from the Bureau. This law prohibits a person from opening, conducting, or engaging in a business as a private postsecondary education institution in this State without obtaining an approval to operate from the Bureau.

You are hereby notified that you are in violation of Section 94886 of the California Education Code and cause for issuance of a citation and assessment of an administrative fine exists.

# PENALTY - ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with Cal. Ed. Code section 94944; and California Code of Regulations section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders the issuance of a Citation order and the assessment of a fine in the amount of \$50,000.00 for operating an institution without proper approval to operate issued by the Bureau.

#### ORDER OF ABATEMENT

The Bureau orders that you cease operating as a private postsecondary educational institution at any and all California Technology University locations. You must submit within <u>30 days</u> of the date of this Citation order evidence of compliance and a declaration, under penalty of perjury, that the violation has been complied with. This means you must stop enrolling students, and cease all instructional services, advertising (including Web sites), programs, and/or operations.

# ORDER OF RESTITUTION

Pursuant to Education Code section 94941(d), within <u>30 days</u> of the date of this citation, you are ordered to pay restitution by refunding all monies (tuition and fees) to all students that were enrolled at California Technology University after January 1, 2010.

You must also provide a complete list of all students who have been enrolled after January 1, 2010 until present. The list shall include the names of the students, contact information, amount of tuition they paid, amount you refunded, and evidence that you refunded each student.

#### APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the enclosed 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. <u>If you do not</u> request an administrative hearing within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation, you will *not* be able to request one at a later time. Deliver or mail your written request to:

Janel Quayle, Discipline – Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you or on behalf of California Technology University and delivered to the Bureau by **November 17, 2012** you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to an administrative hearing in this matter.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION AND FINE ASSESSMENT

If you do not request a hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **October 18, 2012.** The order of abatement and payment are due by **November 17, 2012**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall <u>not</u> constitute an admission of the violation charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until a final order is entered against you.

#### PAYMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE FINE

Payment of the administrative fine must be made to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by check or money order. Please include the Citation number on the payment of the fine assessment. Payments may be mailed to:

Janel Quayle, Discipline – Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833

### CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Janel Quayle, Enforcement Analyst, at (916) 431-6940 or Janel.Quayle@dca.ca.gov.

Connie Bouvia Enforcement Chief

tober 18, 2012

Date

Enclosures

- > Applicable Laws
- Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- > Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- > Payment of fine Wavier of Appeal
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First Class Mail