

Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency– Governor Gavin Newsom

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



# **CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT**

 To: California Barbering and Cosmetology Apprenticeship Learning Center, Inc., Owner California Barbering and Cosmetology Apprenticeship Learning Center, Inc. 4206 Power Inn Road Sacramento, CA 95826

INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved CITATION NUMBER: 1920261 CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: March 25, 2020 DUE DATE: April 24, 2020 FINE AMOUNT: \$ 50,000.00 ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager for the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

## **CITATION**

A Citation is hereby issued to California Barbering and Cosmetology Apprenticeship Learning Center, Inc., Owner of California Barbering and Cosmetology Apprenticeship Learning Center, Inc. (Institution) located at 4206 Power Inn Road, Sacramento, CA 95826 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9 and 149; California Education Code (CEC) section 94944; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violation(s) described below.

### BACKGROUND

On May 10, 2019, the Bureau received an anonymous complaint alleging that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval. Through the course of the investigation and evidence obtained, the allegation was substantiated that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval and is not exempt under any provision of the Private Postsecondary Act of 2009.

### VIOLATION(S)

#	Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.
1.	Violation:
	CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required
	"Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter."

## CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved

"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."

### CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public

"To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."

## **CEC Section 94869. To Operate**

"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."

On January 14, 2019, the Bureau received an application from the Institution for verification of exempt status.

On March 12, 2019, the Bureau notified the Institution that they did not qualify for exempt status under CEC section 94874(a).

On May 15, 2019, Bureau staff contacted the Institution to verify the pricing for the educational programs offered. The Institution representative confirmed that the Institution charges \$4,000 for both the Barbering and Cosmetology Apprenticeship Programs. The Institution representative confirmed that the pre-apprenticeship hours (39 required hours) was also included with the cost of the program. Students are required to pay an additional \$1,000 for the required kit. The Institution representative also stated that the programs are on a promotional pricing and that the regular price for the programs are \$6,000 plus \$1,000 for the kit. Bureau staff reviewed the California Board of Cosmetology's (BBC) approved apprenticeship programs sponsors and committees and located the Institution as approved.

On June 17, 2019, Bureau staff reviewed the school website and found that the Institution is offering the following educational programs:

- Cosmetology Course \$4,000 (promotional price, regular price \$6,000)
- Barbering Course \$4,000 (promotional price, regular price \$6,000)
- Master Educator Course \$4,000 (promotional price, regular price \$6,000)
- Training Site \$4,000 (promotional price, regular price \$6,000)
- Dress Code, Books, and Kit \$1,000 (supplies only, not an educational program)

The Master Educator Course and Training site fall outside of the scope of any apprenticeship programs and would require Bureau approval.

# Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary educational institution, unless the Institution qualifies for an exemption under CEC section 94874. The Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including <u>www.cbcalci.com</u>, and any other websites not identified here that are associated with the Institution, until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers including, but not limited to,

(916) 395-4218, that are associated with the Institution until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. The Institution must provide a roster of each student currently enrolled at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.

# <u>Assessment of Fine</u>

The fine for this violation is <u>\$50,000.00</u>

# TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$50,000.00

# ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94944; and 5, CCR section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of a fine in the amount of **\$50,000.00** for the violations described above. **Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within** <u>**30 days**</u> from the date of service of the Citation.

# **COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT**

In accordance with the provisions of 5, CCR section 75020 (b) the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. In accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 149, the Bureau may disconnect any telephone service numbers used by an unapproved Institution. **Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.** 

# APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. *If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.* 

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **April 24, 2020**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION**

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **March 25, 2020.** Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **April 24, 2020**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

Page 3 of 4 Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement California Barbering and Cosmetology Apprenticeship Learning Center, Inc., Owner, of California Barbering and Cosmetology Apprenticeship Learning Center, Inc. Institution Code: Unapproved If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

#### Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Gabriella Perez, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

#### **CONTACT INFORMATION**

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Gabriella Perez, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8969 or <u>Gabriella.Perez@dca.ca.gov</u>.

"Original signature on file"

"3/25/2020"

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager Date

Enclosures

- Applicable Laws Violated
- Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- > Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- > Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail