BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY • GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833
P (916) 431-6959 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



APPEAL OF CITATION INFORMAL CONFERENCE DECISION: CITATION MODIFIED

October 8, 2019

Union University of California Inc., Owner Union University of California 14200 Goldenwest Street Westminster, CA 92683

Date of Issuance	Citation Number	Institution Code
August 27, 2019	1920056	3009321

On October 4, 2019, an informal telephone conference was held in the matter of Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement No. 1920056 (Citation) against Union University of California, Inc., Owner of Union University of California (Institution). In attendance were Leeza Rifredi, Deputy Bureau Chief and Son Xuan Nguyen, Chief Operating Officer.

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code, section 125.9; California Education Code, section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations, section 75020 and section 75040, the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) renders the following decision relative to your appeal of the Citation No. 1920056.

It is the decision of the Deputy Bureau Chief that on October 4, 2019, Citation No. 1920056 is modified and makes the following change(s):

VIOLATION CODE SECTIONS

#	Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the Californ		
	Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.		

1. **Violation:**

CEC Section 94935(b)(h) Notice to Comply

- (b) An institution that receives a notice to comply shall have no more than 30 days from the date of inspection to remedy the noncompliance.
- (h) If an institution fails to comply with a notice to comply within the prescribed time, the bureau shall take appropriate administrative enforcement action.

The Institution failed to comply with the NTC within the prescribed time of 30 days. The institution was unable to submit proof of compliance with the following laws and regulations:

5, CCR Section 76120(a) – Catalog Collection of STRF assessment. 5, CCR Section 71930(b)(1) – Catalog Records Retention

Order of Abatement:

The Institution shall submit proof of compliance with the NTC violations listed above. See attached Notice to Comply.

<u>Reason for modification</u>: New substantive facts were presented at the conference. The Order of Abatement has been satisfied.

Assessment of Fine:

The fine for this violation is: \$501.00

The administrative fine for this violation has been modified from \$501.00 to \$250.00.

TOTAL MODIFIED ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$250.00

PENALTY - ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

Payment of the administrative fine is due within 30 days from the date of this decision. Please complete the Payment of Fine form. Payment must be made to the Bureau by check, or money order. Please include the citation number on the payment of the fine assessment. Payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged and shall be represented as satisfactory resolution of the matter for purposes of public disclosure. Payments may be mailed to:

Gabriella Perez, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833

APPEAL OF CITATION

You *do not* have the right to request another Informal Conference to appeal this modified Citation. If you did not initially request an Administrative Hearing within 30 days from when the original citation was issued, you can no longer request one.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION AND FINE ASSESSMENT

This modified Citation is effective on October 8, 2019. The Payment is due by **November 7, 2019**.

Failure pay the administrative fine within the time allowed is grounds for denial of an application for an approval to operate or discipline. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce the Modified Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding	ng this decision or desire further infor	mation, please contact
Gabriella Perez, Citation Analyst, at ((916) 621-2593 or Gabriella.Perez@dca.o	ca.gov.
,		S
Christina Villanueva	Date	
Discipline Manager		
Enclosures		
D		

- > Payment of Fine
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail