

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 431-6959 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



<u>CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT</u>

To: Fely Eguia, Owner PhiBrows Training by Fely Eguia 13565 Dix Toledo Road Southgate, MI 48195

INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved CITATION NUMBER: 1920055 CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: August 26, 2019 DUE DATE: September 25, 2019 FINE AMOUNT: \$50,000.00 ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager for the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

<u>CITATION</u>

A Citation is hereby issued to Fely Eguia, Owner of PhiBrows Training by Fely Eguia (Institution) located at 13565 Dix Toledo Road, Southgate, MI 48195, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9 and 149; California Education Code (CEC) section 94944; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violation(s) described below.

BACKGROUND

On February 23, 2019, the Bureau received a complaint alleging that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval. Through the course of the investigation and evidence obtained, it was determined that the Institution is operating without Bureau approval or a valid exemption.

VIOLATION(S)

#	Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.
1.	Violation:
	CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required
	"Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter."

CEC Section 94858. Private Postsecondary Educational Institution

"Private postsecondary educational institution" means a private entity with a physical presence in this state that offers postsecondary education to the public for an institutional charge.

CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved

"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."

CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public

"To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."

CEC Section 94869. To Operate

"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."

On February 13, 2019, Bureau staff found that the Institution was offering PhiBrows microblading training at Elite Lash Brow's studio located at 1715 W. Verdugo Ave, Burbank, CA 91506 for \$3500, creating a physical presence in California. The training class was scheduled for February 23 & 24, 2019.

On March 5, 2018, Bureau staff found that the Institution's website, <u>https://elitelashbrow.com/</u>, was offering a PhiBrows microblading 2-day course at their location "coming soon".

The Institution's website, <u>http://phibrowsmicrobladingeducation.com/</u>, states that the Institution's main office is in Southgate, Michigan. The website shows dates and locations in: Miami, Philadelphia, New York City, Detroit, Arizona and the Dominican Republic. Classes are also offered online. Although California is not listed on the website, the Institution has previously had, and will have on an upcoming date, a 2-day microblading course in California for \$3500.

The Institution is offering a microblading course for \$3500, which is over \$2500, and therefore does not meet the exemption of CEC section 94874(f).

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary educational institution, unless the Institution qualifies for an exemption under CEC section 94874. The Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including <u>www.elitelashbrow.com</u>,

www.phibrowsmicrobladingeducation.com, and any other websites not identified here that are associated with the Institution, until an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers that are associated with the Institution or any California institution until an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. The Institution must provide a roster of each student currently enrolled at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs. <u>Assessment of Fine</u> The fine for this violation is <u>\$50,000,</u>00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$50,000.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94944; and 5, CCR section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of a fine in the amount of **\$50,000.00** for the violations described above. **Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within** <u>**30 days**</u> from the date of service of the Citation.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of 5, CCR section 75020 (b) the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. In accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 149, the Bureau may disconnect any telephone service numbers used by an unapproved Institution. **Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.**

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within <u>30 days</u> from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one later.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **September 25, 2019**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **August 26**, **2019**. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **September 25**, **2019**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until **30** days after a final order is entered against you.

Page 3 of 4 Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement Fely Eguia, Owner of PhiBrows Training by Fely Eguia Institution Code: Unapproved Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Gabriella Perez, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Gabriella Perez, Citation Analyst, at 916 621-2395 or <u>Gabriella.Perez@dca.ca.gov</u>.

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager

8/26/19

Date

Enclosures

- > Applicable Laws Violated
- Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- > Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal Rights
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail