

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY - GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS - BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 431-6959 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: L.E.N. Business and Language Institute, Owner L.E.N. Business and Language Institute 1254 Market St., Suite #200 San Francisco, CA 94102

INSTITUTION CODE: 3804651 CITATION NUMBER: 1920046

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: August 21, 2019

DUE DATE: September 20, 2019

FINE AMOUNT: \$4,000.00

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to L.E.N. Business and Language Institute, Owner of L.E.N. Business and Language Institute (Institution) located at 1254 Market St., Suite #200, San Francisco, CA 94102, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) sections 94936 and 94932; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below.

BACKGROUND

On December 16, 2016, the Bureau conducted an announced compliance inspection of the Institution. As a result, several material violations were found. Bureau staff collected evidence and information related to the material violations.

VIOLATION

Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

1. Violation:

5, CCR Section 74112(h) – Uniform Data - Annual Report, Performance Fact Sheet "(h)Completion Rates. Reporting of completion rates for an institution's Annual Report and Performance Fact Sheet shall include, for each educational program, the number of students who began the program as defined in subdivision (d)(1) of this section, the number of students available for graduation, number of on-time graduates, and completion rate(s). An optional table may be added to

include completion rate data for students completing within 150% of the published program length. For an institution reporting completion data pursuant to section 94929(b) of the Code, completion data shall be separately reported for each program and the Performance Fact Sheet shall disclose, if true, that the completion data is being reported for students completing within 150% of the published program length, and that data is not being separately reported for students completing the program within 100% of the published program length. Programs that are more than one year in length which are reporting 150% Completion Rate will provide four calendar years of data."

The Institution's 2014/2015 School Performance Fact Sheet (SPFS) included incorrect information. Bureau staff found that the Institution considered a student as graduated if employment was obtained, regardless of completion of the program.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to submit a policy, or procedure, of how the Institution will maintain future compliance with 5, CCR Section 74112.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is \$2,500.00

CEC Section 94902(a)(b)(3) - General Enrollment Requirements

- "(a) A student shall enroll solely by means of executing an enrollment agreement. The enrollment agreement shall be signed by the student and by an authorized employee of the institution.
- (b) An enrollment agreement is not enforceable unless all of the following requirements are met:
- (3) Prior to the execution of the enrollment agreement, the student and the institution have signed and dated the information required to be disclosed in the Student Performance Fact Sheet pursuant to subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, of Section 94910. Each of these items in the Student Performance Fact Sheet shall include a line for the student to initial and shall be initialed and dated by the student."

CEC Section 94912. Signature, Initials Required

"Prior to the execution of an enrollment agreement, the information required to be disclosed pursuant to subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, of Section 94910 shall be signed and dated by the institution and the student. Each of these items shall also be initialed and dated by the student."

The Institution's 2014/2015 SPFS supporting documentation indicated that some students who have already graduated never signed the enrollment agreement.

Additionally, the 2014/2015 SPFS supporting documentation indicated that other students did not sign their enrollment agreement prior to the commencement of educational courses.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to submit a policy, or procedure, that clearly states how prospective students will be provided the SPFS, and how both students and administrative staff will sign the SPFS as required by CEC sections 94910 and 94912.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is \$1,500.00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$4,000.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of fine in the amount of \$4,000.00 for the violations described above. Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **September 20, 2019**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **August 21, 2019**. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **September 20, 2019**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Ray Delaney, Discipline Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Ray Delaney, Citation Analyst, at (916) 431-6946 or Ray.Delaney@dca.ca.gov.

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager

Date

Enclosures

- Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- > Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail