

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 431-6959 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: Mohindar Janda A-1 Truck Driving School 2977 Baumberg Ave Hayward, CA 94601

INSTITUTION CODE: 0106221 CITATION NUMBER: 1314012 CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: July 29, 2014 DUE DATE: August 28, 2014 FINE AMOUNT: \$ 34,362.00 ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES

Yvette Johnson issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Enforcement Chief of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

<u>CITATION</u>

A Citation is hereby issued to Mohindar Janda, Owner of A-1 Truck Driving School located at 2977 Baumberg Avenue, Hayward, CA 94601 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5 CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below.

VIOLATION

#	The California Education Code (CEC) and the California Code of Regulations (CCR). Below you will find the code section(s) of law you are charged with violating.
1.	Violation: CEC 94894 (e) - Substantive Change "The following changes to an approval to operate are considered substantive changes and require prior authorization: a) A sharped of location "
	 e) A change of location." Institution failed to obtain Bureau approval prior to moving from Hayward to Oakland. The change in location is more than 10 miles and requires the filing and approval of an application.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution cease operations at 4901- A Coliseum Way as this location has not been approved by the Bureau. Submit an application for change of location authorization.

	Assessment of Fine: The fine for this violation is \$2501.00
2.	Violation: CEC 94900 (a) - Required Student Records "(a) An institution shall maintain records of the name, address, e-mail address, and telephone number of each student who is enrolled in an educational program in that institution."
	The Institution failed to maintain records of the required student information to substantiate the data reported on the STRF Assessment Reporting Form and records of the student's eligibility under the Fund.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will maintain student information records in the future and submit evidence of this policy to the Bureau.
	Assessment of Fine The fine for this violation is \$501.00
3.	Violation:CEC 94900.5 (a)(b) - Required Institutional Records"An institution shall maintain, for a period of not less than five years, at its principal place of businessin this state, complete and accurate records of all of the following information:(a) The educational programs offered by the institution and the curriculum for each.(b) The names and addresses of the members of the institution's faculty and records of the educationalqualifications of each member of the faculty."
	Institution failed to maintain records of the educational programs and curriculum for each program offered, records of faculty qualifications, and faculty contact information.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will maintain these records in the future and submit evidence of this policy to the Bureau.
	Assessment of Fine The fine for this violation is \$501.00
4.	 Violation: CEC 94902 (a)(b)(1)(3)(c) - General Enrollment Requirements "(a) A student shall enroll solely by means of executing an enrollment agreement. The enrollment agreement shall be signed by the student and by an authorized employee of the institution. (b) An enrollment agreement is not enforceable unless all of the following requirements are met: (1) The student has received the institution's catalog and School Performance Fact Sheet prior to signing the enrollment agreement. (3) Prior to the execution of the enrollment agreement, the student and the institution have signed and dated the information required to be disclosed in the Student Performance Fact Sheet pursuant to subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, of Section 94910. Each of these items in the Student Performance Fact Sheet and the student. (c) A student shall receive a copy of the signed enrollment agreement, in writing or electronically, regardless of whether total charges are paid by the student."

	Institution failed to complete student enrollment agreements for all students, failed to provide School Performance Fact sheets in student files, and failed to provide completed enrollment agreements to students after signing.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will maintain these procedures in the future and submit evidence of this policy to the Bureau.
	Assessment of Fine The fine for this violation is <u>\$2501.00</u>
5.	Violation: CEC 94909 (a) - Minimum Requirements for School Catalog "a) Prior to enrollment, an institution shall provide a prospective student, either in writing or electronically, with a school catalog"
	Institution failed to provide prospective students with a copy of school catalog.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will ensure all students receive a copy of a current school catalog, in the future, and submit evidence of this policy to the Bureau.
	Assessment of Fine The fine for this violation is <u>\$501.00</u>
6.	Violation: CEC 94910 - Minimum Requirements for School Performance Fact Sheet "Prior to enrollment, an institution shall provide a prospective student with a School Performance Fact Sheet containing, at a minimum, the following information, as it relates to the educational
	 program: (a) Completion rates, as calculated pursuant to Article 16 (commencing with Section 94928). (b) Placement rates for each educational program, as calculated pursuant to Article 16 (commencing with Section 94928), if the educational program is designed to lead to, or the institution makes any express or implied claim related to preparing students for, a recognized career, occupation, vocation, job, or job title.
	(c) License examination passage rates for programs leading to employment for which passage of a state licensing examination is required, as calculated pursuant to Article 16 (commencing with Section 94928).
	(d) Salary or wage information, as calculated pursuant to Article 16 (commencing with Section 94928).
	(e) If a program is too new to provide data for any of the categories listed in this subdivision, the institution shall state on its fact sheet: "This program is new. Therefore, the number of students who graduate, the number of students who are placed, or the starting salary you can earn after finishing the educational program are unknown at this time. Information regarding general salary and placement statistics may be available from government sources or from the institution, but is not equivalent to actual performance data."
	 (f) All of the following: (1) A description of the manner in which the figures described in subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, are calculated or a statement informing the reader of where he or she may obtain a description of the manner in which the figures described in subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, are calculated. (2) A statement informing the reader of where he or she may obtain from the institution a list of the
	Page 3 of 13

	 employment positions determined to be within the field for which a student received education and training for the calculation of job placement rates as required by subdivision (b). (3) A statement informing the reader of where he or she may obtain from the institution a list of the objective sources of information used to substantiate the salary disclosure as required by subdivision (d). (a) The following statements:
	 (g) The following statements: (1) "This fact sheet is filed with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Regardless of any information you may have relating to completion rates, placement rates, starting salaries, or license exam passage rates, this fact sheet contains the information as calculated pursuant to state law." (2) "Any questions a student may have regarding this fact sheet that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at (address), Sacramento, CA (ZIP Code), (Internet Web site address), (telephone and fax numbers)." (h) If the institution participates in federal financial aid programs, the most recent three-year cohort default rate reported by the United States Department of Education for the institution and the percentage of enrolled students receiving federal student loans."
	Institution failed to provide prospective students with a copy of School Performance Fact Sheet.
	<u>Order of Abatement:</u> The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will provide all students with School Performance Fact Sheets and submit evidence of this to the Bureau.
	Assessment of Fine The fine for this violation is <u>\$2501.00</u>
7.	Violation: CEC 94929 (a) - Reporting of Completion Rate "(a) An institution shall annually report to the bureau, as part of the annual report, and publish in its School Performance Fact Sheet, the completion rate for each program. Except as provided in subdivision (b), the completion rate shall be calculated by dividing the number of graduates by the number of students available for graduation."
	Institution failed to provide the Bureau with its annual completion rates for 2010, 2011, and 2012.
	and
	 CEC 94929.5 (a)(1)(2)(3)(4) - Reporting of Student Performance Data "(a) An institution shall annually report to the bureau, as part of the annual report, and shall publish in its School Performance Fact Sheet, all of the following: (1) The job placement rate, calculated by dividing the number of graduates employed in the field by the number of graduates available for employment for each program that is either (1) designed, or advertised, to lead to a particular career, or (2) advertised or promoted with any claim regarding job placement. (2) The license examination passage rates for the immediately preceding two years for programs leading to employment for which passage of a state licensing examination is required, calculated by
	dividing the number of graduates who pass the examination by the number of graduates who take the licensing examination the first time that the examination is available after completion of the educational program. The institution shall use state agency licensing data to calculate license examination passage rates. If those data are unavailable, the institution shall calculate the license examination passage rate in a manner consistent with regulations adopted by the bureau. (3) Salary and wage information, consisting of the total number of graduates employed in the field and the annual wages or salaries of those graduates stated in increments of five thousand dollars (\$5,000).

(4) If applicable, the most recent official three-year cohort default rate reported by the United States Department of Education for the institution and the percentage of enrolled students receiving federal student loans."

Institution failed to provide the Bureau with its annual Student Performance Data for 2010, 2011, and 2012.

and

CEC 94929.7 (a)(1)(2)(b) - Documentation of Performance Data

"(a) The information used to substantiate the rates and information calculated pursuant to Sections 94929 and 94929.5 shall do both of the following:

(1) Be documented and maintained by the institution for five years from the date of the publication of the rates and information.

(2) Be retained in an electronic format and made available to the bureau upon request.

(b) An institution shall provide a list of employment positions used to determine the number of graduates employed in the field for purposes of calculating job placement rates pursuant to this article."

The institution failed to document and to maintain the information to substantiate Student Performance Data.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the institution provide the completed annual reports for the years indicated. Furthermore, the Bureau orders that the institution provide information on how the institution plans to document and maintain this information in the future.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is <u>\$2550.00</u>

8. Violation:

CEC 94930.5 (d)(1)(A) - Fee Schedule

"An institution shall remit to the bureau for deposit in the Private Postsecondary Education Administration Fund the following fees, in accordance with the following schedule: (d) (1) In addition to any fees paid to the bureau pursuant to subdivisions (a) to (c), inclusive, each institution that is approved to operate pursuant to this chapter shall remit both of the following: (A) An annual institutional fee, in an amount equal to three-quarters of 1 percent of the institution's annual revenues derived from students in California, but not exceeding a total of twenty-five thousand dollars (\$25,000) annually."

Institution failed to submit the required annual fee to the Bureau for 2010, 2011 and 2012.

and

CEC 94931 (b) - Late Payment

"(b) A fee that is not paid on or before the 90th calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee."

Institution failed to submit and pay penalty fees by the 90th calendar day after the due date for the payment.

and

	CCR 74006 (a)(b)(c) - Annual Fee "a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original approval.
	 (b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees. (c) The annual institutional fee is based on the institution's annual revenue. For purposes of this article, annual revenue is annual gross revenue."
	Institution failed to submit to the Bureau the annual fees due for 2010, 2011 and 2012 by the due date established.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution submit the required annual fee to the Bureau for years 2010, 2011, and 2012. Additionally, the Bureau orders that the institution pay all late and penalty fees for 2010, 2011, and 2012.
	<u>Assessment of Fine</u> The fine for this violation is <u>\$2550.00</u>
9.	Violation:CEC 94934 (a)(1-9) - Annual Report"(a) As part of the compliance program, an institution shall submit an annual report to the bureau,under penalty of perjury, signed by a responsible corporate officer, by July 1 of each year, or anotherdate designated by the bureau, and it shall include the following information for educational programoffered in the reporting period:(1) The total number of students enrolled by level of degree or for a diploma.
	 (2) The number of degrees, by level, and diplomas awarded. (3) The degree levels and diplomas offered. (4) The Student Performance Fact Sheet, as required pursuant to Section 94910. (5) The school catalog, as required pursuant to Section 94909. (6) The total charges for each educational program by period of attendance. (7) A statement indicating whether the institution is, or is not, current in remitting Student Tuition Recovery Fund assessments. (8) A statement indicating whether an accrediting agency has taken any final disciplinary action
	against the institution. (9) Additional information deemed by the bureau to be reasonably required to ascertain compliance with this chapter."
	Institution failed to submit to the Bureau the Annual Report for 2010, 2011 and 2012 by the due date established.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution submit the required documents from 2010, 2011 and 2012.
	Assessment of Fine The fine for this violation is <u>\$2501.00</u>
10.	Violation: CCR 71660 - Notification of Non-Substantive Change "An institution shall notify the Bureau of a non-substantive change including: change of location of less than 10 miles; addition of a program related to the approved programs offered by the institution; addition of a new branch five miles or less from the main or branch campus; addition of a satellite; an

	change of mailing address. All such notifications shall be made within 30 days of the change and sent to the Bureau, in writing, to the address listed in section 70020."
	Institution failed to notify the Bureau of new location change of less than 10 miles. 2977 Baumberg Ave, Hayward to 27910 Industrial Blvd, travel less than 10 miles.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution properly notify the Bureau, in writing of its change of location to 27910 Industrial Blvd.
	Assessment of Fine: The fine for this violation is \$50.00
11.	Violation: CCR 71735 (b) Facilities and Equipment "(b) An institution's facilities, including heating and cooling, ventilation, lighting, classrooms, laboratories, and campus environs, shall be well-maintained. The institution shall maintain all valid permits required by any public agencies relating to the health and safety of the institution's facilities and equipment on file, and such permits shall be available to the Bureau upon request."
	Institution did not have a well maintained facility with proper heating or air conditioning. The Business permit was expired at the time of the investigation. A current Business permit was retrieved for the 2977 Baumberg Avenue Location from the City of Hayward Business License Permit Unit, but none has been found for the 27910 Industrial Blvd. location.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution repair the heating and air conditioning units and provide copies of maintenance invoices and receipts. In addition, the Bureau orders the institution to submit copies of valid equipment and required facility permits.
	<u>Assessment of Fine:</u> The fine for this violation is <u>\$2500.00</u>
12.	Violation: CCR 71760 - Self-Monitoring Procedures "Each institution shall develop and maintain adequate procedures used by the institution to assure that it is maintained and operated in compliance with the Act and this Division."
	Institution failed to develop and maintain adequate procedures to assure it's maintained and operated in compliance with CEC.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will maintain these procedures in the future and submit evidence of this policy to the Bureau.
	Assessment of Fine: The fine for this violation is <u>\$501.00</u>
13.	Violation: CCR 71770 (a)(1) - Admissions Standards
	"a) The institution shall establish specific written standards for student admissions for each educational program. These standards shall be related to the particular educational program. An institution shall not admit any student who is obviously unqualified or who does not appear to have a

_	reasonable prospect of completing the program. In addition to any specific standards for an
	educational program, the admissions standards must specify as applicable that: (1) Each student admitted to an undergraduate degree program, or a diploma program, shall possess a high school diploma or its equivalent, or otherwise successfully take and pass the relevant
	examination as required by section 94904 of the Code."
	Institution failed to verify High School Diploma, GED or its equivalent prior to enrolling students.
	Order of Abatement:
	The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will ensure students are properly admitted, in the future, and submit evidence of this policy to the Bureau.
	Assessment of Fine: The fine for this violation is \$501.00
14.	Violation:
	CCR 71810 (a) - Catalog "(a) Each institution shall provide a catalog pursuant to section 94909 of the Code, which shall be updated annually. Annual updates may be made by the use of supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog. If changes in educational programs, educational services, procedures, or policies required to be included in the catalog by statute or regulation are implemented before the issuance of the annually updated catalog, those changes shall be reflected at the time they are made in supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog."
	Institution failed to maintain a catalog pursuant to section 94909 that includes annual updates.
	Order of Abatement:
	The Bureau orders that the institution maintain a catalog pursuant to section 94909 including annual updates. Submit evidence to the Bureau.
	Assessment of Fine:
	The fine for this violation is <u>\$501.00</u>
15.	<u>Violation:</u> CCR 71920 (A) - Student Records
	"(A) The institution shall maintain a file for each student who enrolls in the institution whether or not the student completes the educational service."
	Institution failed to maintain records for each student enrolled.
	Order of Abatement:
	The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will maintain these procedures in the future and submit evidence of this policy to the Bureau.
	Assessment of Fine:
16.	The fine for this violation is <u>\$501.00</u> Violation:
2.01	CCR 71930 (a)(b)(1)(c)(4) - Maintenance of Records
	"(a) An institution shall maintain all records required by the Act and this chapter. The records shall be
	maintained in this state. (b)(1) In addition to permanently retaining a transcript as required by section 94900(b) of the Code,

the institution shall maintain for a period of 5 years the pertinent student records described in Section 71920 from the student's date of completion or withdrawal.

(c) A record is considered current for three years following a student's completion or withdrawal. A record may be stored on microfilm, microfiche, computer disk, or any other method of record storage only if all of the following apply:

(4) Any person authorized by the Act or this chapter to inspect and copy records shall be given immediate access to the document reproduction devices for the purpose of inspecting and copying stored records and shall, upon request, reimburse the institution for the reasonable cost of using the institution's equipment and material to make copies at a rate not to exceed ten cents (\$0.10) per page."

Institution failed to retain student transcripts as a permanent record. Institution failed to retain student records for 5 years.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will maintain these procedures in the future and submit evidence of this policy to the Bureau.

Assessment of Fine:

The fine for this violation is \$5,000.00

17. Violation:

CCR 74110 (a)(c)(d) - Annual Report

"(a) The annual report required by Section 94934 of the Code shall include the information required by section 94934 for all educational programs offered in the prior calendar year.

(c) An institution shall file its annual report by September 1st. The Bureau may extend the period for filing if the institution demonstrates evidence of substantial need but in no case longer than 60 days. The institution shall not change the date of its filing its annual report because of a change in the fiscal year without the Bureau's approval.

(d) The annual report shall be electronically filed by submitting the information required by section 94934 of the Code via the Bureau's website, electronically attaching, as directed, the School Performance Fact Sheet and the school catalog. An institution without the capability to submit the information electronically shall inform the Bureau not less than 45 days prior to the date the information is required by subdivision (c), and receive direction on alternative means of submission."

Institution failed to submit the annual report by the due date for 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the annual reports for 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Assessment of Fine:

The fine for this violation is \$2,501.00

18. <u>Violation:</u> CCR 74140 - Retention of Advertisements *"Every institution shall retain, for a minimum of five years, copies of all advertising, including*

(a) flyers, brochures, newspaper, and other print advertisements,

(b) scripts for, and audio and video recordings of, broadcast advertisements, and

(c) internet content, and

(d) scripts for telephone solicitations.

The institution shall make these records immediately available for inspection and copying during

	normal business hours to site visit teams and the Bureau."
	Institution failed to maintain all advertisements for a minimum of five years.
	<u>Order of Abatement:</u> The Bureau orders that the institution retain all advertisements according to CCR 74140. Provide evidence to the Bureau of how the institution will comply with the requirement.
	<u>Assessment of Fine:</u> The fine for this violation is <u>\$50.00</u>
19.	Violation: CCR 76120 (a) - Amount of STRF Assessments "(a) Each qualifying institution shall collect an assessment of fifty cents (\$.50) per one thousand dollars (\$1,000) of institutional charges, rounded to the nearest thousand dollars, from each student is an educational program who is a California resident or is enrolled in a residency program. For institutional charges of one thousand dollars (\$1,000) or less, the assessment is fifty cents (\$.50)."
]	Institution failed to assess STRF for all enrolled students at A-1 Truck Driving School.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution assess STRF accordingly for each qualified student. Provide detailed information of how the institution will comply with this requirement in the future.
	Assessment of Fine: The fine for this violation is \$2550.00
20.	 Violation: CCR 76130 - Collection and Submission of Assessments "(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student pays the institutional charges in increments. (b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows:
	 (1) April 30 for the first quarter, (2) July 31 for the second quarter, (3) October 31 for the third quarter, and (4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau.
	If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. (c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information: (1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the reporting period; and
	 (2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the reporting period; and (3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period,
-	were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and (4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting

Page 10 of 13 Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement Mohindar Janda Owner/Operator of A-1 Truck Driving School

	 and (5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the nearest \$1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting period; and (6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and (7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the form and any attachments are true and correct. (d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within seven days following the cessation of instruction. (e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal." Institution failed to submit STRF assessments to the Bureau for 2010, 2011, 2012 and QTR-1 of 2013 Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the institution collect and submit STRF assessments according to CCR 76130 and pay the delinquent STRF for 2010, 2011, 2012 and QTR-1 of 2013. In addition the Bureau orders that the institution pay all future STRF assessments in a timely manner.
	Assessment of Fine:
	The fine for this violation is <u>\$2550.00</u>
21.	 Violation: CCR 76140 - Record Keeping Requirements "(a) A qualifying institution shall collect and maintain records of student information to substantiate the data reported on the STRF Assessment Reporting Form and records of the students' eligibility under the Fund. Such records shall include the following for each student: (1) Student identification number, (2) First and last names, (3) Email address, (4) Local or mailing address, (5) Address at the time of enrollment, (6) Home address, (7) Date enrollment agreement signed, (8) Courses and course costs, (9) Amount of STRF assessment collected, (10) Quarter in which the STRF assessment was remitted to the Bureau, (11) Third-party payer identifying information, (12) Total institutional charges paid. (b) The qualifying institution shall maintain the data required under this section in an electronic format that is readily available and open to inspection by the Bureau upon request. The institution shall make the records immediately available to a Bureau representative conducting a site inspection or, upon written request, shall provide a copy within 14 calendar days of the request. All records shall be provided to the Bureau in an intelligible and orderly manner and in an electronic format."
	<u>Order of Abatement:</u> The Bureau orders that the institution maintain student records that substantiate the STRF

assessments and invoice submitted to the Bureau.

Assessment of Fine: The fine for this violation is \$550.00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$34,362.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5 CCR Sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of fine in the amount of **\$34,362.00** for the violations described above. **Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within** <u>**30 days**</u> from the date of service of the Citation.

ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of CEC Section 94936 and 5 CCR Section 75020 the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. **Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.**

BACKGROUND

On August 3, 2011 the Bureau received a complaint that A-1 Truck Driving School is operating at unapproved locations. Through the course of the investigation, the above mentioned violations were confirmed.

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. *If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.*

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **August 28, 2014**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **July 29, 2014.** Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **August 28, 2014.** Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Renee Campos, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Renee Campos, Enforcement Analyst, at (916) 431-6940 or Renee.Campos@dca.ca.gov.

Amon ohnson

July 29, 2014 Date

Enclosures

Enforcement Chief

- Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- Payment of fine Waiver of Appeal
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First Class Mail