

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818

P (916) 431-6959 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: St. Andrew Missionary Baptist Church Private School Theological University Parent Corporation Prayer Clinic Robert Lacy, CEO/President, Owner 2624 West Street Oakland, CA 94612

INSTITUTION CODE: None - Unapproved

CITATION NUMBER: 1213001

FINE AMOUNT DUE: \$50,000.00

Laura Metune issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Bureau Chief of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to Robert Lacy, CEO/President and Owner of St. Andrew Missionary Baptist Church Private School Theological University Parent Corporation Prayer Clinic located at 2624 West Street, Oakland, CA 94612, in accordance with Section 148 and of the Business and Professions; Section 94944 of the California Education Code; and Section 75020 of the California Code of Regulations for the violations described below.

VIOLATION

California Education Code § 94858 – Private postsecondary Educational Institution

"Private postsecondary educational institution" means a private entity with a physical presence in the state that offers postsecondary education to the public for an institutional charge.

California Education Code § 94886 – Approval to Operate Required

The institution did not obtain an approval to operate a private postsecondary educational institution from the Bureau. This law prohibits a person from opening, conducting, or engaging in a business as a private postsecondary education institution in this State without obtaining an approval to operate from the Bureau.

You are hereby notified that you are in violation of Section 94886 of the California Education Code and cause for issuance of a citation and assessment of an administrative fine exists.

PENALTY - ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with Cal. Ed. Code section 94944; and California Code of Regulations section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders the issuance of a Citation order and the assessment of a fine in the amount of \$50,000.00 (fifty thousand dollars) for operating an institution without proper approval to operate issued by the Bureau.

ORDER OF ABATEMENT

The Bureau orders that you cease operating as a private postsecondary educational institution and submit evidence of compliance to the Bureau within thirty (30) days of the date of this order. This means you must stop enrolling students, and cease all instructional services, advertising (including Web sites), programs, and/or operations.

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the enclosed 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form within thirty (30) days from the date of service of the Citation. If you do not request an administrative hearing within thirty (30) days from the date of service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time. Deliver or mail your written request to:

Janel Quayle, Discipline – Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833

If you request an administrative hearing, further information regarding your rights to discovery and to request postponement of the hearing for good cause will be provided to you with the Notice of Hearing.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you or on behalf of St. Andrew Missionary Baptist Church Private School Theological University Parent Corporation Prayer Clinic and delivered to the Bureau by August 18, 2012 you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to an administrative hearing in this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION AND FINE ASSESSMENT

This Citation order and assessment of the administrative fine will become final on the next day following your last day within which to request a hearing. If you do not request a hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **July 19, 2012** and payment due by **August 18, 2012**. If a hearing is <u>not</u> requested, your payment of the administrative fine shall <u>not</u> constitute an admission of the violation charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until a final order is entered against you.

PAYMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE FINE

Payment of the administrative fine must be made to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by check or money order. Please include the Citation number on the payment of the fine assessment. Payments may be mailed to:

Janel Quayle, Discipline – Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Janel Quayle, Enforcement Analyst, at (916) 431-6940 or Janel.Quayle@dca.ca.gov.

Laura Metune

July 19, 2012

Date

Laura Metune Bureau Chief

Enclosures

- Applicable Laws
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- Payment of fine Wavier of Appeal
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First Class Mail