

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY · GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS · BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 431-6959 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



# **CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT**

To: Cyber Insurance Group Corp., Owner Business and Insurance School 150 Paularino Avenue, Suite D 176 Costa Mesa, CA 92626

INSTITUTION CODE: 64494378 CITATION NUMBER: 1819162 CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: March 28, 2019 DUE DATE: April 27, 2019 FINE AMOUNT: \$ 5,050.00 ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

#### **CITATION**

A Citation is hereby issued to Cyber Insurance Group Corp, Owner of Business and Insurance School (Institution) located at 150 Paularino Avenue, Suite D176, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below.

#### BACKGROUND

In accordance with CEC section 94934 and 5, CCR section 74110 (c) and (d) an Institution shall file its annual report by December 1st of every year. As of March 26, 2019, the Bureau has not received an annual report for the 2016 calendar year from the Institution.

All institutions are required to submit a Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) Assessment Reporting Form to the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter.

Pursuant to CEC section 94923(a) the Student Tuition Recovery Fund relieves or mitigates economic loss suffered by a student while enrolled in an institution not exempt from this article pursuant to Article 4 (commencing with section 94874), who, at the time of his or her enrollment, was a California resident or was enrolled in a California residency program, prepaid tuition, and suffered economic loss.

The Bureau sends notifications/reminders to all approved institutions prior to close of each quarter. As of March 28, 2019, the Institution has not submitted the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1<sup>st</sup>, 3<sup>rd</sup>, 4<sup>th</sup> quarters of 2016, 1<sup>st</sup>, 3<sup>rd</sup>, 4<sup>th</sup> quarters of 2017, and 1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup>, 3<sup>rd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> quarters of 2018. All institutions are required to pay the annual fee within 30 days of the date on which the Institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original approval. An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.

Pursuant to CEC section 94930.5 (d)(1)(A). An institution shall submit an annual fee for each campus designated by the Institution as a main campus location in California, in an amount equal to 0.45 percent of the campus' total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars (\$60,000).

As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the annual fee for the calendar years 2017, 2018 and 2019 from the Institution.

# VIOLATION

#	Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.
1.	<ul> <li>Violation:</li> <li>5, CCR Section 74110 (a-d) - Annual Report <ul> <li>"(a) The annual report required by section 94934 of the Code shall include the information required by section 94929.5 and 94934 for all educational programs offered in the prior calendar year. (b) In addition to the information required by section 94934 and this section provided under penalty of perjury, the institution shall have annual financial statements prepared for the institution's prior fiscal year and signed under penalty of perjury, and shall submit a hard copy under separate cover of such statements in conjunction with its annual report. The form, content and mode of preparation of financial statements shall comply with Section 7115 of this Division. The Bureau may request that the institution immediately make available for inspection to a representative of the Bureau, these financial statements at the offices of the institution. (c) An institution shall file its annual report by December</li> <li>1st. The Bureau may extend the period for filing if the institution demonstrates evidence of substantial need but in no case longer than 60 days. The institution required by section 94934 of the Code and this section via the online form provided on the Bureau's website, electronically attaching, as directed, the School Performance Fact Sheet, the enrollment agreement, and the school catalog".</li> </ul> CEC Section 94934(a)(1-9) - Annual Report <ul> <li>"(a) As part of the compliance program, an institution shall submit an annual report to the bureau, under penalty of perjury, signed by a responsible corporate officer, by July 1 of each year, or another date designated by the bureau, and it shall include the following information for educational programs offered in the reporting period: <ul> <li>(1) The total number of students enrolled by level of degree or for a diploma.</li> <li>(2) The number of degrees, by level, and diplomas awarded.</li> <li>(3) The degree levels and diplomas offered.</li> <li>(4) The Student</li></ul></li></ul></li></ul>
	with this chapter".

	As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received an annual report for the year 2016 from the Institution. The Institution failed to electronically file its 2016 annual report.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders the Institution to submit its annual report in accordance with 5, CCR section 74110 (a-d) and CEC section 94934(a)(1-9). The Institution shall submit the annual report via the Bureau website at www.bppe.ca.gov
	<u>Assessment of Fine</u> The fine for this violation is <u>\$5,000.00</u>
2.	<ul> <li>Violation:</li> <li>5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e) - Collection and Submission of Assessments</li> <li>"(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student pays the institution acharges in increments.</li> <li>(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows:</li> <li>(1) April 30 for the first quarter,</li> <li>(2) July 31 for the second quarter, and</li> <li>(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau.</li> <li>If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau.</li> <li>(c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information:</li> <li>(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the reporting period; and</li> <li>(2) Total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement uring the reporting period; and</li> <li>(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting period; and</li> <li>(4) The total number of students who signed their first payment during the current reporting period; and</li> <li>(5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the nearest \$1,000, for all eligible STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period; and</li> <li>(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing</li></ul>
	The Institution has failed to submit the STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the 1 <sup>st</sup> , 3 <sup>rd</sup> , 4 <sup>th</sup> quarters of 2016, 1 <sup>st</sup> , 3 <sup>rd</sup> , 4 <sup>th</sup> quarters of 2017, and 1 <sup>st</sup> , 2 <sup>nd</sup> , 3 <sup>rd</sup> and 4 <sup>th</sup> quarters of 2018.

On April 4, 2016, the Institution was notified via mail, at 20051 SW Birch Street, Suite 300, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1<sup>st</sup> quarter of 2016 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On October 3, 2016, the Institution was notified via mail, at 20051 SW Birch Street, Suite 300, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3<sup>rd</sup> quarter of 2016 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On January 3, 2017, the Institution was notified via mail, at 20051 SW Birch Street, Suite 300, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4<sup>th</sup> quarter of 2016 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On April 3, 2017, the Institution was notified via mail, at 20051 SW Birch Street, Suite 300, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1<sup>st</sup> quarter of 2017 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On October 2, 2017, the Institution was notified via mail, at 3400 Irvine Avenue, Suite 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3<sup>rd</sup> quarter of 2017 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On January 2, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail, at 3400 Irvine Avenue, Suite 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4<sup>th</sup> quarter of 2017 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On April 3, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail, at 3400 Irvine Avenue, Suite 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1<sup>st</sup> quarter of 2018 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On June 18, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail, at 3400 Irvine Avenue, Suite 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 2<sup>nd</sup> quarter of 2018 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On September 18, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail, at 3400 Irvine Avenue, Suite 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3<sup>rd</sup> quarter of 2018 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On December 20, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail, at 3400 Irvine Avenue, Suite 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4<sup>th</sup> quarter of 2018 was due. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

# Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Forms with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the quarters listed above. The Institution shall also submit the student information to substantiate the data reported on the STRF Assessment Reporting Form. The information provided shall comply with "Record Keeping Requirements" Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140.

#### **Assessment of Fine**

The fine for this violation is \$50.00

#### 3. Violation:

# 5, CCR Section 74006(a) and (b) - Annual Fee

"(a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original approval. (b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.

# CEC Section 94930.5 (d)(1)(A) - Fee Schedule

(d) (1) In addition to any fees paid to the bureau pursuant to subdivisions (a) to (c), inclusive, each institution that is approved to operate pursuant to this chapter shall remit both of the following: (A)An annual fee for each campus designated by the institution as a main campus location in California, in an amount equal to 0.45 percent of the campus' total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars (\$60,000).

### CEC Section 94931(a) or (b) - Late Payment

"(a) A fee that is not paid on or before the 30<sup>th</sup> calendar day after the due date for the payment of the fee shall be subject to 25 percent late payment penalty fee."

"(b) A fee that is not paid on or before the 90<sup>th</sup> calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee."

The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee for the calendar years 2017, 2018 and 2019.

On December 1, 2016, the Institution was notified (invoice # 900318052) via mail, at 3400 Irving Ave., Ste 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating the annual fee for the calendar year of 2017 was due on January 1, 2017.

On March 15, 2017, the Institution was sent a delinquency notice (invoice # 900320325) via mail, at 20051 SW Birch Street, Suite 300, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating the annual fee for the calendar year of 2017 was due on January 1, 2017.

On April 26, 2017, the Institution was sent a delinquency notice (invoice # 900320325) via mail, at 20051 SW Birch Street, Suite 300, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating the annual fee for the calendar year of 2017 was due on January 1, 2017. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the annual fee from the Institution.

On December 1, 2017, the Institution was notified (invoice # 900329713) via mail, at 3400 Irvine Ave., Ste 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating the annual fee for the calendar year of 2018 was due on January 1, 2018.

On February 16, 2018, the Institution was sent a delinquency notice (invoice # 900331521) via mail, at 20051 SW Birch Street, Suite 300, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating the annual fee for the calendar year of 2018 was due on January 1, 2018.

On April 18, 2018, the Institution was sent a delinquency notice (invoice # 900331521) via mail, at 20051 SW Birch Street, Suite 300, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating the annual fee for the calendar year of 2018 was due on January 1, 2018. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the annual fee from the Institution.

On December 1, 2018, the Institution was notified (invoice # 900338001) via mail, at 3400 Irvine Avenue, Suite 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating the annual fee for the calendar year of 2019 was due on January 1, 2019.

On February 19, 2019, the Institution was sent a delinquency notice (invoice # 900339828) via mail, at 3400 Irvine Avenue, Ste 218, Newport Beach, CA 92660, stating the annual fee for the calendar year of 2019 was due on January 1, 2019. As of March 28, 2019, the Bureau has not received the annual fee from the Institution.

#### Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to submit its annual fee for the calendar years 2017, 2018 and 2019 in accordance with 5, CCR section 74006(a)(b) and CEC section 94930.5(d)(1)(A). In addition, the Institution must pay all late payment penalty fees.

# Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is <u>\$00.00</u>

# **TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$5,050.00**

# ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of fine in the amount of **\$5,050.00** for the violations described above. **Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.** 

# **COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT**

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.

#### **APPEAL OF CITATION**

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference **and/or** Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. *If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative* 

Page 6 of 7 Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement: Cyber Insurance Group Corp., Owner of Business and Insurance School Institution Code: 64494378 hearing within **30** days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.

Unless a written request for an informal conference **and/or** an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **April 27, 2019**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION**

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **March 28, 2019.** Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **April 27, 2019.** Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

#### Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Gurinder Sandhu, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

#### **CONTACT INFORMATION**

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Gurinder Sandhu, Citation Analyst, at (916) 431-6940 or Gurinder.Sandhu@dca.ca.gov.

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager

Enclosures

- Applicable Laws Violated
- Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- > Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail

Page 7 of 7 Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement: Cyber Insurance Group Corp., Owner of Business and Insurance School Institution Code: 64494378