

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: Christen Caudillo, Owner Browtendre 1351 E. Colorado St. Suite A Glendale, CA 91205

INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved CITATION NUMBER: 2122128 CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: February 14, 2022 DUE DATE: March 16, 2022 FINE AMOUNT: \$ 15,000.00 ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager for the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to Christen Caudillo, Owner of Browtendre, (Institution) located at 1351 E. Colorado St. Suite A, Glendale, CA 91205 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9 and 149; California Education Code (CEC) section 94944; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violation(s) described below.

BACKGROUND

On November 17, 2021 the Bureau received an internal tip alleging that the Institution operates as a private postsecondary institution without Bureau approval. Through the course of the investigation and evidence obtained, it was determined that the Institution is operating without Bureau approval or a valid exemption.

VIOLATION

| # | Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of |
|----|---|
| | Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating. |
| 1. | Violation: |
| | CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required |
| | "Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter." |
| | CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved <i>"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."</i> |

CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public

"To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."

CEC Section 94869. To Operate

"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."

On November 17, 2021, the Bureau received an anonymous complaint that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval.

On December 8, 2021, Bureau staff reviewed the Institution's website and found the following courses offered:

- Three (3) day, Microblading & Brow Fundamentals Training for \$2,995.00;
- Three (3) day, Beginners Lip Blush Training for \$3,195.00.

On December 9, 2021, Bureau staff reviewed the Institution's Yelp, Facebook and Instagram (social media) pages and found multiple posts between September 2, 2018 -October 27, 2021 advertising microblading courses and pictures of students with their completion certificates.

Between December 15, 2021- December 19, 2021, Bureau staff corresponded with the Institution via email and were informed of the following:

- The beginner class is set up so that if the student is new to cosmetic tattooing, the student will be able to get the solid fundamentals to be a successful artist.
- The Beginners Lip Blush course has 2 spots open and there are no upcoming dates available for Microblading & Brow Fundamentals.
- The costs of the courses on the website are up to date and include the respective beginner kits.

On December 20, 2021, Bureau staff sent an email to the Institution to schedule a phone call to talk about the complaint.

On December 22, 2021, Bureau staff received a phone call from the Institution and spoke about the complaint. Bureau staff informed the Institution that the two courses listed online were under investigation for operating unapproved and that the program costs of \$2,500.00 exceeded exemption. The Institution stated that they had not heard of the Bureau, and that there were two students enrolled in the Beginner Lip Blushing training. The Institution also stated they would reduce the costs to \$2,500.00. The Institution also stated that they researched "California Microblading School Requirements" and had not found information regarding the Bureau, and that had they known about the Bureau, they would have applied for approval, or the cost of the course would have been changed to under \$2,500.00. Bureau staff referenced the Bureau's' website and regulations for approval to operate for the Institution to review.

As of February 11, 2022, the Institution is operating without Bureau approval or a valid exemption.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary educational institution, unless the Institution qualifies for an exemption under CEC section 94874. The

Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including www.browtendre.com, and any other websites not identified here that are associated with the Institution, until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers including, but not limited to, (626) 422-8272, that are associated with the Institution until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. The Institution must provide a roster of each student currently enrolled at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is <u>\$15,000.00</u>

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$15,000.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94944; and 5, CCR section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of a fine in the amount of **\$15,000.00** for the violations described above. **Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within** <u>**30 days**</u> **from the date of service of the Citation**.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of 5, CCR section 75020 (b) the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. In accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 149, the Bureau may disconnect any telephone service numbers used by an unapproved Institution. **Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.**

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. *If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.*

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **March 16, 2022**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

Page 3 of 4 Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement Christen Caudillo, Owner of Browtendre, Institution Code: Unapproved

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **February 14, 2022.** Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **March 16, 2022**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Cheryl Lardizabal, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Cheryl Lardizabal, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-7427 or <u>Cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov</u>.

"Original Signature on File"

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager "2/14/2022"

Date

Enclosures

- Applicable Laws Violated
- Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- > Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail