

CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: Curentur Institute dba American University of Complementary Medicine, Owner American University of Complementary Medicine
415 N. Camden Dr., Suite 214
Beverly Hills, CA, 90210

INSTITUTION CODE: 1926331 CITATION NUMBER: 1819141

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: March 7, 2019

DUE DATE: April 6, 2019

FINE AMOUNT: \$ 1000.00

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to Curentur Institute dba American University of Complementary Medicine, Owner of American University of Complementary Medicine (Institution) located at 415 N. Camden Dr., Suite 214, Beverly Hills, CA, 90210, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) sections 94936 and 94932; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below.

BACKGROUND

On July 30, 2018, J.C., the contact person for the Institution, notified Bureau staff via email of their move to a new location. J.C. stated in the email that the Institution had finished moving to their new location. The Institution moved to new location 18 miles away from the approved location without submitting an Application for Change in Location to the Bureau's Licensing Unit. Bureau staff requested J.C. to submit the application and followed up with him three times via email requesting the change of location.

VIOLATION

- # Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.
- 1. | 5, CCR Section 71500(a)- Application to Change Location

(a) An institution seeking a change of location as defined in 94823.5 of the Code shall complete the

"Change of Location" form (LOC rev. 2/10) to obtain prior authorization. The form shall be submitted at least 60 days prior to the proposed date of the change in location unless an unforeseen and unavoidable circumstance outside the control of the institution requires an earlier change; in which case it shall be submitted no later than 30 days following the change in location. The form shall be submitted to the Bureau along with the appropriate fee as provided in Section 94930.5(c) of the Code. It shall be signed

by the signatory(ies) required by section 71380 and dated, and each fact stated therein and each attachment thereto shall be declared to be true under penalty of perjury, in the following form: "I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing and all attachments are true and correct.

(Date)

(Signature)

The Institution failed to obtain authorization from the Bureau prior to the move to its new location. As of March 7, 2019, the Institution has not submitted an Application for Change in Location.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to submit an Application for Change in Location to the Bureau's Licensing Unit.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is \$1000.00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$1000.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of fine in the amount of \$1000.00 for the violations described above. Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within <u>30 days</u> from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.

Institution Code: 1926331

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **April 6, 2019**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **March 7, 2019**. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **April 6, 2019**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Cheryl Lardizabal, Discipline Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Cheryl Lardizabal, Citation Analyst, at 916-431-6940 or Cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov.

CX	3/2/19
Christina Villanueva	Date
Discipline Manager	

Enclosures

- > Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First- Class Mail