

#### Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818

P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



# **CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE**

To: Stella Fixman Stella Ink LA

6325 Topanga Canyon Blvd. Suite 216

Woodland Hills, CA 91367

INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved CITATION NUMBER: 2021094

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: September 24, 2020

DUE DATE: October 24, 2020 FINE AMOUNT: \$ 5,000.00

**ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: No** 

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager for the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

# **CITATION**

A Citation is hereby issued to Stella Fixman, Owner of Stella Ink LA (Institution) located at 6325 Topanga Canyon Blvd. Suite 216, Woodland Hills, CA 91367 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9 and 149; California Education Code (CEC) section 94944; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violation(s) described below.

#### **BACKGROUND**

On March 2, 2020, the Bureau received an anonymous complaint alleging that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval in violation of CEC section 94886. Through the course of the investigation and evidence obtained, it was substantiated that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval or valid exemption.

# VIOLATION(S)

# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

#### 1. Violation:

# CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required

"Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter."

CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved

"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."

#### **CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public**

"To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."

# **CEC Section 94869. To Operate**

"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."

On March 2, 2020, Bureau received an anonymous complaint alleging that the Institution was operating without Bureau approval while charging over \$2,500.00 for training courses.

On March 3, 2020, Bureau staff reviewed the Institution's website and found that the following courses were being advertised for over \$2,500.00:

- 3 Day Master Class course for \$3,100.00
- Academy S Basic Course for \$5,000.00.

On May 20, 2020, Bureau staff requested that the Institution provide evidence to the Bureau as to how they are exempt from the Bureau's jurisdiction, or to cease advertising courses and instruction. The Institution Owner stated that there were no students currently enrolled and that training courses would be removed from the website as they would like to obtain Bureau approval.

On May 28, 2020, Bureau staff found that courses were no longer being advertised on the website.

The Institution operated prior to obtaining Bureau Approval while charging over \$2,500.00 for training courses.

#### **Assessment of Fine**

The fine for this violation is \$5,000.00

# **TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$5,000.00**

#### ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94944; and 5, CCR section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of a fine in the amount of \$5,000.00 for the violations described above. Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

# **APPEAL OF CITATION**

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date

of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **October 24, 2020,** you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **September 24, 2020**. Payment of the administrative fine shall be due by **October 24, 2020**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Nicole Mitchell, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

Failure for an applicant or institution to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

# **CONTACT INFORMATION**

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Nicole Mitchell, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8995 or Nicole.Mitchell@dca.ca.gov.

"Original Signature on File"	"9/24/2020"	
Christina Villanueva	Date	
Discipline Manager		

# **Enclosures**

- ➤ Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- > Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail