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c:1c a 

Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency– Governor Gavin Newsom 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 
P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 
P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov 

CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT 

To: Emerson College, Owner 
Emerson College 
5960 West Sunset Blvd. 
Los Angeles, CA 90028 

INSTITUTION CODE: 19103632 
CITATION NUMBER: 1920335 
CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: July 1, 2020 
DUE DATE: July 31, 2020 
FINE AMOUNT: $ 5,050.00 
ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes 

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in 
her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
(Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. 

CITATION 

A Citation is hereby issued to Emerson College, Owner of Emerson College (Institution) located at 
5960 West Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90028 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 
125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of 
Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below. 

BACKGROUND 

On May 30, 2019, the Bureau issued Citation No. 1819207 to the Institution for failing to submit the 
2017 Annual Report and requested the Institution provide the evidence of compliance by April 17, 
2020. As of July 1, 2020, the Institution has not come into compliance. 

In accordance with CEC section 94934 and 5, CCR section 74110 (c) and (d) an Institution shall file 
its annual report by December 1st of every year. As of March 4, 2020, the Bureau has not received an 
annual report for the 2018 calendar year from the Institution. 

On June 24, 2019, the Bureau’s Annual Report Unit (ARU) notified institutions by mail, to the 
addresses on record, informing them that the online portal to submit the 2018 Annual Report would 
be opening with a December 1, 2019 due date. On August 1, 2019, institutions were notified by mail, 
sent to the addresses on record, that the online portal was open. As of March 4, 2020, the Institution 
has not submitted the Annual Report for the 2018 calendar year. 

In addition, all institutions are required to submit a Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) 
Assessment Reporting Form to the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close 
of the quarter. 

Pursuant to CEC section 94923(a) The Student Tuition Recovery Fund relieves or mitigates economic 
loss suffered by a student while enrolled in an institution not exempt from this article pursuant to 
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Article 4 (commencing with section 94874), who, at the time of his or her enrollment, was a California 
resident or was enrolled in a California residency program, prepaid tuition, and suffered economic 
loss. 

The Bureau sends notifications/reminders to all approved institutions 30 days prior to close of each 
quarter. 

As of June 24, 2020, the Institution has not submitted the STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for 3rd 

and 4th quarter of 2017, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarter of 2018, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarter of 2019, and the 
1st quarter of 2020. 

Lastly, all institutions are required to pay an annual fee within 30 days of the date on which the 
Institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of 
the date of the original approval. An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other 
applicable fees. 

Pursuant to 5, CCR section 74006(a) and (b) and CEC section 94930.5 (d)(1)(A), an Institution shall 
submit to the Bureau an annual fee for each campus designated by the Institution as a main campus 
location in California, in an amount equal to 0.45 percent of the campus’ total gross revenue derived 
from students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and 
not to exceed sixty thousand dollars ($60,000). 

As of June 24, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee for the 2018 calendar year from the 
Institution. 

VIOLATION 
# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of 

Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating. 
1. Violation: 

5, CCR Section 74110 (a-d) – Annual Report 
“(a) The annual report required by section 94934 of the Code shall include the information required by 
section 94929.5 and 94934 for all educational programs offered in the prior calendar year. (b) In 
addition to the information required by section 94934 and this section provided under penalty of 
perjury, the institution shall have annual financial statements prepared for the institution's prior fiscal 
year and signed under penalty of perjury, and shall submit a hard copy under separate cover of such 
statements in conjunction with its annual report. The form, content and mode of preparation of 
financial statements shall comply with Section 74115 of this Division. The Bureau may request that the 
institution immediately make available for inspection to a representative of the Bureau, these financial 
statements at the offices of the institution. (c) An institution shall file its annual report by December 
1st. The Bureau may extend the period for filing if the institution demonstrates evidence of substantial 
need but in no case longer than 60 days. The institution shall not change the date of its filing its annual 
report because of a change in the fiscal year without the Bureau's approval. (d) The annual report 
shall be electronically filed by submitting the information required by section 94934 of the Code and 
this section via the online form provided on the Bureau's website, electronically attaching, as directed, 
the School Performance Fact Sheet, the enrollment agreement, and the school catalog”. 

CEC Section 94934(a)(1-9) - Annual Report 
“(a) As part of the compliance program, an institution shall submit an annual report to the bureau, 
under penalty of perjury, signed by a responsible corporate officer, by July 1 of each year, or another 
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date designated by the bureau, and it shall include the following information for educational programs 
offered in the reporting period: 
(1) The total number of students enrolled by level of degree or for a diploma. 
(2) The number of degrees, by level, and diplomas awarded. 
(3) The degree levels and diplomas offered. 
(4) The Student Performance Fact Sheet, as required pursuant to Section 94910. 
(5) The school catalog, as required pursuant to Section 94909. 
(6) The total charges for each educational program by period of attendance. 
(7) A statement indicating whether the institution is, or is not, current in remitting Student Tuition 
Recovery Fund assessments. 
(8) A statement indicating whether an accrediting agency has taken any final disciplinary action 
against the institution. 
(9) Additional information deemed by the bureau to be reasonably required to ascertain compliance 
with this chapter”. 

As of March 4, 2020, the Bureau has not received an Annual Report for the year 2018 from the 
Institution. 

Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit its 2018 Annual Report in accordance with 5, CCR 
section 74110 (a-d) and CEC section 94934(a)(1-9). The Institution shall submit the following: 

2018 Annual Report 
• Complete and submit the 2018 Annual Report via the Bureau’s Online Annual Report 

Submission Portal website at https://bppe.ca.gov/annual_report/. 
• A hard copy of the financial statements for year-end 2018 must be submitted via regular 

mail to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, 
CA 95833. 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $5,000.00 

2. Violation: 
5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e)– Collection and Submission of Assessments 
“(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program 
at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The 
assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student 
pays the institutional charges in increments. 
(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit 
it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the 
last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows: 
(1) April 30 for the first quarter, 
(2) July 31 for the second quarter, 
(3) October 31 for the third quarter, and 
(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal 
holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended 
to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
(c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information: 
(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the 

Page 3 of 7 
Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement 

Emerson College, Owner of Emerson College 
Institution Code: 19103632 

https://bppe.ca.gov/annual_report/


 

             
 

   
 

  

   
           

   
           

         
             

        
 

           
           

 
        
           

       
               

       
          

 
             

 
     
        
        
     

 
             

               
            

 
           

                 
            

 
           

                
            

 
             

                
              

 
 

             
              

              
 

 
           

                 

reporting period; and 
(2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational 
programs during the reporting period; and 
(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period, 
were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and 
(4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting 
period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period; 
and 
(5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the 
nearest $1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting 
period; and 
(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and 
(7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the 
form and any attachments are true and correct. 
(d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within 
seven days following the cessation of instruction. 
(e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal.” 

The Institution has failed to submit STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the following quarters: 

• Third, and Fourth Quarters for 2017 
• Second, Third, and Fourth Quarters for 2018 
• First, Second, Third, and Fourth Quarter for 2019 
• First Quarter for 2020 

On October 2, 2017, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 02116-
4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3rd quarter of 2017 was due. As of June 24, 
2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution. 

On January 2, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 02116-
4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4th quarter of 2017 was due. As of June 24, 
2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution. 

On June 18, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 02116-
4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 2nd quarter of 2018 was due. As of June 24, 
2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution. 

On September 18, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 
02116-4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3rd quarter of 2018 was due. As of 
June 24, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 

On December 20, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 
02116-4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4th quarter of 2018 was due. As of 
June 24, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 

On March 27, 2019, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 02116-
4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1st quarter of 2019 was due. As of June 24, 
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2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution. 

On June 24, 2019, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 02116-
4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 2nd quarter of 2019 was due. As of June 24, 
2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution. 

On September 18, 2019, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 
02116-4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3rd quarter of 2019 was due. As of 
June 24, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 

On December 17, 2019, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 
02116-4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4th quarter of 2019 was due. As of 
June 24, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 

On March 24, 2020, the Institution was notified via mail at, 120 Boylston Street, Boston, MA, 02116-
4624, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1st quarter of 2020 was due. As of June 24, 
2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution. 

Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Forms 
with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the quarters listed above. The information 
provided shall comply with “Record Keeping Requirements” Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140. 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $50.00 
Violation: 
5, CCR Section 74006(a) and (b) - Annual Fee 
“(a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the institution originally 
receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original 
approval. (b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.” 

CEC Section 94930.5 (d)(1)(A) - Fee Schedule 
“(d) (1) In addition to any fees paid to the bureau pursuant to subdivisions (a) to (c), inclusive, each 
institution that is approved to operate pursuant to this chapter shall remit both of the following: 
(A)An annual fee for each campus designated by the institution as a main campus location in 
California, in an amount equal to 0.45 percent of the campus’ total gross revenue derived from 
students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to 
exceed sixty thousand dollars ($60,000).” 

CEC Section 94931(b)– Late Payment 
“(b) A fee that is not paid on or before the 90th calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee 
shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee.” 

On April 2, 2018, the Institution was notified Invoice #900332058 via mail, at 120 Boylston Street, 
Boston, MA, 02116-4624, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2018 was due on May 1, 
2018. 

On June 5, 2018, the Institution was notified Invoice # 900333879 via mail, at 120 Boylston Street, 
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Boston, MA, 02116-4624, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2018 was due on May 1, 
2018. 

On August 15, 2018, the Institution was notified Invoice # 900333879 via mail, at 120 Boylston 
Street, Boston, MA, 02116-4624, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2018 was due on May 
1, 2018. As of June 24, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee from the Institution. 

Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit its annual fees for calendar year 2018 in accordance 
with 5, CCR section 74006(a)(b) and CEC section 94930.5(d)(1)(A).  In addition, the Institution 
must pay all late payment penalty fees. 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $00.00 
TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE:   $5,050.00 

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE 

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby 
orders this assessment of fine in the amount of $5,050.00 for the violations described above. 
Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the 
Citation. 

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT 

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau 
hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order 
of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of 
the Citation. 

APPEAL OF CITATION 

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or 
through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) 
of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the ‘Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for 
Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing’ form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date 
of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative 
hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later 
time. 

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by 
you and delivered to the Bureau by July 31, 2020, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited 
your right to appeal this matter. 
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____________________________________________ ___________________________________ 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION 

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall 
become effective on July 1, 2020. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance 
with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by July 31, 2020. Your payment of the administrative 
fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged. 

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a 
final order is entered against you. 

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to: 

Cheryl Lardizabal, Discipline Citation Program 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

1747 N. Market Blvd., Ste. 225 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the 
administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or 
renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all 

appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or 
found to be due after a hearing. 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Cheryl 
Lardizabal, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8968 or Cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov. 

“Original signature on file” “7/1/2020” 

Christina Villanueva Date 
Discipline Manager 

Enclosures 

 Applicable Laws Violated 
 Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet 
 Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing 
 Payment of Fine – Waiver of Appeal 
 Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail 
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