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CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT 

To: Linnea Ray, Owner 
Brian Haggerty, Owner 
American Harbor College 
2445 W. Chapman Avenue #260 
Orange, CA 92686 

INSTITUTION CODE: 1926311 
CITATION NUMBER: 1819199 
CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: May 16, 2019 
DUE DATE: une 15, 2019 
FINE AMOUNT: $ 50.00 

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES 

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in 
her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
(Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. 

CITATION 

A Citation is hereby issued to Linnea Ray, Owner and Brian Haggerty, Owner of American Harbor 
College (Institution) located at 2445 W. Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA 92686, pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and 
Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below. 

BACKGROUND 

All institutions are required to submit a Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) Assessment 
Reporting Form to the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the 
quarter. 

Pursuant to CEC section 94923(a) The S.tudent Tuition Recovery Fund relieves or mitigates economic 
loss suffered by a student while enrolled in an institution not exempt from this article pursuant to 
Article 4 (commencing with section 94874), who, at the time of his or her enrollment, was a California 
resident or was enrolled in a California residency program, prepaid tuition, and suffered economic 
loss. 

The Bureau sends notifications/reminders to all approved institutions 30 days prior to close of each 
quarter. 

As of May 16, 2019, the Institution has not submitted the STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the 
3rd and 4th quarter of 2018. 
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All institutions are required to pay annual fee within 30 days of the date on which the Institution 
originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of 
the original approval. An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees. 

Pursuant to 5, CCR section 74006(a) and CEC section 94930.5(d)(l)(A). An Institution shall submit 
to the Bureau an annual fee for each campus designated by the Institution as a main campus 
location in California, in an amount equal to 0.45 percent of the campus' total gross revenue derived 
from students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and 
not to exceed sixty thousand dollars ($60,000). 

Additionally, effective July 1, 2018, pursuant to 5, CCR section 74006(a) and CEC section 
94930.5(g). An Institution shall submit to the Bureau an annual fee for each campus designed by 
the Institution as a main campus location in California, in an amount equal to 0.55 percent of the 
campus' total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than two 
thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars ($60,000). 

As of May 16, 2019, the Bureau has not received the annual fee for the 2016, 2017 and 2019 
calendar years from the Institution. 

VIOLATION 

Violation: 
5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e)- Collection and Submission of Assessments 
"(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program 
at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The 
assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student 
pays the institutional charges in increments. 
(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit 
it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the 
last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows: 
(1) April 30 for the first quarter, 
(2) July 31 for the second quarter, 
(3) October 31 for the third quarter, and 
(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal 
holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
lfthe due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended 
to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
(c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information: 
(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the 
reporting period; and 
(2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational 
programs during the reporting period; and 
(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period, 
were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and 
(4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting 
period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period; 
and 
5 Total amount o institutional char es a ter roundin each student's institutional char es to the 
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nearest $1,000,for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting 
period; and 
(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and 
(7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the 
form and any attachments are true and correct 
(d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within 
seven days following the cessation of instruction. 
(e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal." 

The Institution has failed to submit STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the following quarters: 
3rd quarter - 2018 
4th quarter - 2018 

On September 18, 2018, the Institution was notified via mail, at 2445 W. Chapman Avenue #260, 
Orange, CA 92686, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3rd quarter of 2018, 
was due. As of May 16, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form 
from the Institution. 

On December 20; 2018, the Institution was notified via mail, at 2445 W. Chapman Avenue #260, 
Orange, CA 92686, stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4th quarter of 2018, 
was due. As of May 16, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form 
from the Institution. 

Order of Abatement; 
The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Forms 
with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the quarters listed above. The Institution 
shall also submit the student information to substantiate the data reported on the STRF Assessment 
Reporting Forms. The information provided shall comply with "Record Keeping Requirements" 
Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140. 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $50.00 

Violation: 
5, CCR Section 74006(a) and (b) -Annual Fee 
"(a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the institution originally 
receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original 
approval. (b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees. 

CEC Section 94930.5 (d)(1)(A) - Fee Schedule 
(d) (1) In addition to any fees paid to the bureau pursuant to subdivisions (a) to (c}, inclusive, each 
institution that is approved to operate pursuant to this chapter shall remit both of the following: 
{A)An annual fee for each campus designated by the institution as a main campus location in 
California, in an amount equal to 0.45 percent of the campus' total gross revenue derived from 
students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to 
exceed sixty thousand dollars ($60,000). 

CEC Section 94931'bl - Late Pavment 
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"(b) A fee that is not paid on or before the 90th calendar day after the due date for payment ofthefee 
shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee." 

CEC Section 94930.5 (g) - Fee Schedule 
(g) Not withstanding subdivision ( d), effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus described 
in sub paragraphs (A) and (BJ of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount equal to 0.55 
percent of that campus' total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than 
two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars ($60,000) for 
each campus. 

The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee for calendar years 2016, 2017 and 2019. 

2016: 
On December 12, 2015, the Institution was notified (Invoice #900310933) via mail, at 2445 W. 
Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA 92686, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2016 was 
due on January 1, 2016. 

On March 15, 2016, the 1st delinquency notice (Invoice #900312881) was sent via mail, at 2445 W. 
Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA 92686, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2016 was 
due on January 1, 2016. 

On May 18, 2016, the 2nd delinquency notice (Invoice #900312881) was sent via mail, at 2445 W. 
Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA 92686, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2016 was 
due on January 1, 2016. As of May 16, 2019, the Bureau has not received the annual fee from the 
Institution. 

2017: 
On December 1, 2016, the Institution was notified (Invoice #900317993) via mail, at 2445 W. 
Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA 92686, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2017 was 
due on January 1, 2017. 

On March 15, 2017, the 1st delinquency notice (Invoice #900317993) was sent via mail, at 2445 W. 
Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA 92686, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2017 was 
due on January 1, 2017. 

On April 26, 2017, the 2nd delinquency notice (Invoice #900320313) was sent via mail, at 2445 W. 
Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA 92686, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2017 was 
due on January 1, 2017. As of May 16, 2019, the Bureau has not received the annual fee from the 
Institution. 

2019: 
On December 3, 2018, the Institution was notified (Invoice #900337920) via mail, at 2445 W. 
Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA 92686, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2019 was 
due on January 1, 2019. 

On April 22, 2019, the 1st delinquency notice (Invoice #900337920) was sent via mail, at 2445 W. 
Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA 92686, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2019 was 
due on January 1, 2019. 

On April 15, 2019, the 2nd delinquencv notice (Invoice #900339809) was sent via mail, at 2445 W. 
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Chapman Avenue #260, Orange, CA .92686, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2019 was 
due on January 1, 2019. As of May 16, 2019, the Bureau has not received the annual fee from the 
Institution. 

Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit its annual fees for calendar year 2016, 2017 and 2019 
in accordance with 5, CCR Section 74006(a)(b) and CEC section 94930.5(d)(1)(A)(g). In addition, 
the Institution must pay all late payment penalty fees. 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $00.00 

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE 

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby 
orders this assessment of fine in the amount of $50.00 for the violations described above. Payment 
must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation. 

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT 

In accordance with the provisions ofCEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau 
hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order 
of abatementmust be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of 
the Citation. 

APPEAL OF CITATION 

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or 
through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) 
of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation - Request for 
Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date 
of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative 
hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later 
time. 

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by 
you and delivered to the Bureau by June 15, 2019, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited 
your right to appeal this matter. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION 

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall 
become effective on May 16, 2019. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance 
with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by June 15, 2019. Your payment of the administrative 
fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged. 
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If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a 
final order is entered against you. 

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to: 

Ray Delaney, Discipline Citation Program 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

2 53 5 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 
Sacramento, CA 95833 

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the 
administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or 
renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all 

appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or 
found to be due after a hearing. 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Ray 
Delaney, Citation Analyst, at (916) 431-6946 or Ray.Delaney@dca.ca.gov. 

Christina Villanueva Date 
Discipline Manager 

Enclosures 
► Applicable Laws Violated 
► Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet 
► Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing 
► Payment of Fine - Waiver of Appeal 
► Declaration of Service by Certified and First,Class Mail 

Page 6of6 
Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement 

Linnea Ray/ Brian Haggerty, Owners of American Harbor College 
Institution Code 1926311 

mailto:Ray.Delaney@dca.ca.gov

