Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency- Gavin Newsorn, Governor,



Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 431-6959 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov



CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: Joe Martin, Owner The Garage Door Training School 2340 Gold River Road, Suite Q Gold River, CA 95670

INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved CITATION NUMBER: 1819190 CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: May 8, 2019 DUE DATE: Iune 7, 2019 FINE AMOUNT: \$ 2,500.00 ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED; Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager for the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to Joe Martin, Owner of The Garage Door Training School (Institution) located at 2340 Gold River Road, Suite Q, Gold River, CA 95670, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9 and 149; California Education Code (CEC) section 94944; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violation(s) described below.

BACKGROUND

On March 24, 2017, the Bureau received a complaint against the Institution for operating without Bureau approval.

Bureau staff searched the Institution's website and determined that the Institution is conducting business as a private postsecondary educational institution. The Institution's website establishes tuition costs ranging from \$2,295.00 to \$4,995.00, which does not permit them to operate under Categories of Exempt Institutions- California Code of Regulations section 94874(f)- An Institution that does not award degrees and that solely provides educational programs for total charges of \$2500.00 or less.

VIOLATION(S)

-	Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.
	Violation:
	CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required
	"Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition
	provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do
	business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approve to operate under this chapter."
	CEC Section 94858. Private Postsecondary Educational Institution
	"Private postsecondary educational institution" means a private entity with a physical presence in thi
	state that offers postsecondary education to the public for an institutional charge,
	CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved
	"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to
	this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."
	CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public "To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."
	To offer to the public means to davertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit.
	CEC Section 94869. To Operate
	"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from
	which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."
	On November 10, 2010 Develop the fill of the state of the
	On November 10, 2018, Bureau staff found that the Institution's website states the Institution offer two courses: 4-Week Course (\$4,995.00) and a 4-Day Crash Course (\$2,295.00). Classes are held in
	the evenings from 5pm to 9pm, 4 days a week. The skills taught include but are not limited to:
	Hanging Doors, Opener Installation, Spring Changes, Panel Replacements, and Cable Replacements.
	Based on the Bureau's investigation, the Institution is operating a private postsecondary education
	institution and is not exempt from the provisions of the California Private Postsecondary Act of 200
	The Institution advertises educational programs with tuition fees ranging from \$2,295.00 to
	\$4,995.00, which prohibits the Institution from operating under CEC section 94858.
	Order of Abatement:
	The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary educational
	institution, unless the Institution qualifies for an exemption under CEC section 94874. The
	Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all instructional services an
	advertising in any form or type of media, including <u>www.garagedoorschool.com</u> and any other
	websites not identified here that are associated with the Institution, until an approval to operate is
	obtained from the Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers including
	but not limited to, (415) 637-7514, that are associated with the Institution until an approval to
	operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must
	by the bounded it on the bureau. To comply with the order of Abatement the institution must
	submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. Th

Page 2 of 4 Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement Joe Martin, Owner of The Garage Door Training School Institution Code: Unapproved must include the names of the students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is <u>\$2,500.00</u>

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$2,500.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94944; and 5, CCR section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of a fine in the amount of **\$2,500.00** for the violations described above. **Payment must** be made, to the Bureau, within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of 5, CCR section 75020 (b) the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. In accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 149, the Bureau may disconnect any telephone service numbers used by an unapproved Institution. **Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.**

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. *If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one later.*

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **June 7, 2019**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **May 8, 2019.** Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **June 7, 2019.** Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Ray Delaney, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Ray Delaney, Citation Analyst, at **916-431-6946** or <u>Ray.Delaney@dca.ca.gov</u>.

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager

Enclosures

- > Applicable Laws Violated
- Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- > Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail