DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833
P (916) 431-6959 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: 360Training.com, Inc., Owner
Quickstart Intelligence
6801 N. Capital of Texas Hwy, Suite 150
Austin, TX 78731

INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved CITATION NUMBER: 1819133

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: February 28, 2019

DUE DATE: March 30, 2019 FINE AMOUNT: \$ 100,000.00

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager for the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to 360Training.com, Inc. (3TI), Owner of Quickstart Intelligence (Institution) located at 6801 N. Capital of Texas Hwy, Suite 150, Austin, TX 78731 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9 and 149; California Education Code (CEC) section 94944; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violation(s) described below.

BACKGROUND

On June 26, 2014, the Bureau received a tip regarding the Institution. The tip alleged that the Institution is operating without Bureau approval in violation of CEC section 94886. Bureau staff found evidence showing that the Institution does not have a Bureau issued Approval to Operate, is charging over \$2,500 in tuition, has a presence in California, and does not qualify for any of the exemptions under CEC section 94874.

VIOLATION(S)

- # Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.
- 1. Violation:

CEC Section 94886. Approval to Operate Required

"Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do

business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval to operate under this chapter."

CEC Section 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved

"Approved to operate" or "approved" means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs."

CEC Section 94868. To Offer to the Public

"To offer to the public" means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit."

CEC Section 94869. To Operate

"To operate" means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided."

On June 26, 2014, the Bureau received a tip regarding the Institution alleging that the Institution is operating without Bureau approval in violation of CEC section 94886.

In 2015, the Institution's owner purchased the Institution, which was offering unapproved online courses via its website at www.quickstart.com.

On April 12, 2016, Bureau staff mailed the Institution, and the Institution's owner, a letter stating that it was operating without Bureau approval in violation of CEC section 94886 and ordered that the Institution cease operating as private postsecondary educational institution and submit evidence of compliance with the order to the Bureau within 30 days of the date of the letter.

On June 26, 2016, the Institution's owner submitted an Application for Verification of Exempt Status to the Bureau and stated that the Institution's address is 17461 Derian Ave., Irvine, CA 92614.

On July 21, 2016, the Institution's owner wrote a letter to Bureau staff stating that if offers courses directly to California students, and that it believes those courses are outside of the Bureau's jurisdiction because they are approved by other regulatory agencies within the state of California. The Institution's owner withdrew its Application for Verification of Exempt status on the same date.

On June 7, 2017, Bureau staff found evidence that the Institution does not have a Bureau issued Approval to Operate, is charging over \$2,500 in tuition, had an office in Irvine California, and does not qualify for an exemption under CEC section 94874.

On March 27, 2018, Bureau staff found course descriptions on two of the Institution's webpages at www.360training.com/career-training-program/digital-marketing-careers and www.360training.com/career-training-program/medical-and-fitness-careers stating that it is charging over \$2,500 in tuition. Bureau staff confirmed that the Institution is offering online courses to California students, including an online California real estate course via its website at www.360.training.com.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary educational institution. The Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including the www.360.training.com website and any other websites not identified here that are associated with

the Institution, until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers including but not limited to (866) 991-3924 that are associated with the Intuition until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must submit a school closure plan to the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. The Institution must provide a roster of each student currently enrolled at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address), the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is \$100,000.00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$100,000.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94944; and 5, CCR section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of a fine in the amount of \$100,000.00 for the violations described above. Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of 5, CCR section 75020 (b) the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. In accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 149, the Bureau may disconnect any telephone service numbers used by an unapproved Institution. Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **March 30, 2019,** you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **February 28, 2019.** Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **March 30, 2019.** Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Gurinder Sandhu, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Gurinder Sandhu, Citation Analyst, at 916-431-6940 or Gurinder.Sandhu@dca.ca.gov.

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager

Date

Enclosures

- Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- > Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail