

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING ACENCY - CAVIN NEWSOW, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS - BUREAU FOR FRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833
P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818
P (916) 431-6959 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



## CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: IEC Corporation, Owner

Universal Schools & Colleges of Health & Human Services, Inc.

2023 Chicago Avenue, Suite B-1

Riverside, CA 92507

INSTITUTION CODE: 3302801 CITATION NUMBER: 1920013

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: July 18, 2019

**DUE DATE: August 17, 2019** 

FINE AMOUNT: \$50.00

**ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES** 

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

#### CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to IEC Corporation, Owner of Universal Schools & Colleges of Health & Human Services, Inc. (Institution) located at 2023 Chicago Avenue, Suite B-1, Riverside, CA 92507 pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below.

### **BACKGROUND**

All institutions are required to submit a Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) Assessment Reporting Form to the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter.

Pursuant to CEC section 94923(a) The Student Tuition Recovery Fund relieves or mitigates economic loss suffered by a student while enrolled in an institution not exempt from this article pursuant to Article 4 (commencing with section 94874), who, at the time of his or her enrollment, was a California resident or was enrolled in a California residency program, prepaid tuition, and suffered economic loss.

The Bureau sends notifications/reminders to all approved institutions 30 days prior to close of each quarter.

As of July 18, 2019, the Institution has not submitted the STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the  $2^{nd}$ ,  $3^{rd}$ , and  $4^{th}$  quarters of 2015,  $2^{nd}$  quarter of 2016, and  $4^{th}$  quarter of 2018.

### <u>VIOLATION</u>

# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of Régulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

### 1. Violation:

# 5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e) - Collection and Submission of Assessments

- "(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student pays the institutional charges in increments.
- (b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows:
- (1) April 30 for the first quarter,
- (2) July 31 for the second quarter,
- (3) October 31 for the third quarter, and
- (4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau.
- (c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information:
- (1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the reporting period; and
- (2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the reporting period; and
- (3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and
- (4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period; and
- (5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the nearest \$1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting period; and
- (6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and
- (7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the form and any attachments are true and correct.
- (d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within seven days following the cessation of instruction.
- (e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal."

The Institution has failed to submit STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the following quarters:

- Second Quarter of 2015;
- Third Quarter of 2015;
- Fourth Quarter of 2015;
- Second Quarter of 2016; and

Fourth Quarter of 2018.

On July 1, 2015, the Institution was mailed a notice at 2023 Chicago Avenue, Suite B-1, Riverside, CA 92507 stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 2<sup>nd</sup> quarter of 2015 was due.

On October 1, 2015, the Institution was mailed a notice at 2023 Chicago Avenue, Suite B-1, Riverside, CA 92507 stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3<sup>rd</sup> quarter of 2015 was due.

On January 4, 2016, the Institution was mailed a notice at 2023 Chicago Avenue, Suite B-1, Riverside, CA 92507 stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4th quarter of 2015 was due.

On July 1, 2016, the Institution was mailed a notice at 2023 Chicago Avenue, Suite B-1, Riverside, CA 92507 stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 2<sup>nd</sup> quarter of 2016 was due.

On December 20, 2018, the Institution was mailed a notice at 2023 Chicago Avenue, Suite B-1, Riverside, CA 92507 stating that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 4th quarter of 2018 was due.

As of July 18, 2019, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Forms from the Institution.

## **Order of Abatement:**

The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the quarters listed above. The Institution shall also submit the student information to substantiate the data reported on the STRF Assessment Reporting Forms. The information provided shall comply with "Record Keeping Requirements" Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140.

## **Assessment of Fine**

The fine for this violation is \$50.00

# TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$50.00

### ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of fine in the amount of \$50.00 for the violations described above. Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

### COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

### APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.

Unless a written request for an informal conference **and/or** an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **August 17, 2019**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

## EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **July 18, 2019**. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **August 17, 2019**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Ray Delaney, Discipline Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

### **CONTACT INFORMATION**

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Ray Delaney, Citation Analyst, at (916) 431-6946 or <a href="mailto:Ray.Delaney@dca.ca.gov">Ray.Delaney@dca.ca.gov</a>.

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager

Date

### **Enclosures**

- Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- > Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail