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CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: The Learning Source, LLC., 50% Owner
CSG Enterprises, LLC, 50 % Owner
The Learning Source
24002 Via Fabricante #203
Mission Viejo, CA 92691

INSTITUTION CODE: 58707895

BRANCH CODE: 96706570

CITATION NUMBER: 2021103

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: October 1, 2020
DUE DATE: October 31, 2020

[FINE AMOUNT: § 50.00 |

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in
her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
(Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to The Learning Source, LLC. and CSG Enterprises LLC., Owners of The
Learning Source (Institution) located at, 24002 Via Fabricante #203, Mission Viejo, CA 92691,
pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section
94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations
described below.

BACKGROUND

All institutions are required to submit a Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) Assessment
Reporting Form to the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the
quarter.

Pursuant to CEC section 94923(a) The Student Tuition Recovery Fund relieves or mitigates
economic loss suffered by a student while enrolled in an institution not exempt from this article
pursuant to Article 4 (commencing with section 94874), who, at the time of his or her enrollment,
was a California resident or was enrolled in a California residency program, prepaid tuition, and
suffered economic loss.

The Bureau sends notifications/reminders to all approved institutions 30 prior to close of each
quarter.

As of October 1, 2020, the Institution has not submitted the STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for
the 1st and 2nd Quarters of 2020.
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In addition, all institutions are required to pay annual fee within 30 days of the date on which the
Institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of
the date of the original approval. An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other
applicable fees.

Pursuant to CEC section 94930.5 (g). effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus
described in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount
equal to 0.55 percent of that campus’ total gross revenue derived from students in California, but
not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand
dollars ($60,000) for each campus.

As of October 1, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee nor the late payment penalty fee
for the 2015, 2016, 2019, and 2020 calendar years from the Institution.

VIOLATION

Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of
Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

Violation:

5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e)- Collection and Submission of Assessments
“(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program
at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The
assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student
pays the institutional charges in increments.

(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit
it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the
last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows:

(1) April 30 for the first quarter,

(2) July 31 for the second quarter,

(3) October 31 for the third quarter, and

(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal
holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended
to the next regular business day for the Bureau.

(c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information:

(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the
reporting period; and

(2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational
programs during the reporting period; and

(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period,
were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and

(4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting
period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period;
and

(5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the
nearest $1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting
period; and

(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and
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(7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the
form and any attachments are true and correct.

(d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within
seven days following the cessation of instruction.

(e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal.”

The Institution has failed to submit STRF Assessment Reporting Forms for the following quarters:
e First and Second Quarters of 2020.

On March 24, 2020, the Institution was notified via mail at, P.0. Box 2616, Chula Vista, CA 91912,
that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1st quarter of 2020 was due. As of October 1,
2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

On June 18, 2020, the Institution was notified via mail at, P.0. Box 2616, Chula Vista, CA 91912, that
the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 2nd quarter of 2020 was due. As of October 1, 2020, the
Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Forms
with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the quarters listed above. The information
provided shall comply with “Record Keeping Requirements” Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $50.00
Violation:

5, CCR Section 74006(a) and (b) - Annual Fee

“(a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the institution originally
receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original
approval. (b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.

CEC Section 94930.5 (g)- Fee Schedule

(g) Notwithstanding subdivision (d), effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus described in
subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount equal to 0.55 percent
of that campus’ total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than two
thousand five hundred dollars (52,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars (560,000) for each
campus.

CEC Section 94931(b)- Late Payment
“(b) A fee that is not paid on or before the 90t calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee
shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee.”

2015 Annual Fee and Late Payment Penalty Fee
The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee and its late payment penalty fee for the Main location

for calendar year 2015.

On November 20, 2019, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900345966, via mail at, P.O. Box
2616, Chula Vista, Ca 91912, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2015 was due on
December 01, 2019. The 2015 Annual Fee Invoice stated that a payment received after the 90t
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calendar day after the due date shall be subject to a 35% penalty fee.

As of October 1, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee nor the late payment penalty fee
for the Main location from the Institution.

2016 Annual Fee and Late Payment Penalty Fee
The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee and its late payment penalty fee for the Main location

for calendar year 2016.

On November 20, 2019, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900345967, via mail at, P.O. Box
2616, Chula Vista, Ca 91912, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2016 was due on
December 01, 2019. The 2016 Annual Fee Invoice stated that a payment received after the 90t
calendar day after the due date shall be subject to a 35% penalty fee.

As of October 1, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee nor the late payment penalty fee
for the Main location from the Institution.

2019 Annual Fee and Late Payment Penalty Fee for Main Location
The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee and its late payment penalty fee for the Main location

for calendar year 2019.

On August 1, 2019, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900343853, via mail at, P.0. Box 2616,
Chula Vista, CA 9192 stating that the annual fee for the Main location for calendar year 2019 was
due on September 01, 2019.

On October 15, 2019, the 1st Delinquency Notice (Invoice # 900345658), was sent via mail at, P.O.
Box 2616, Chula Vista, CA 9192 stating that the annual fee for the Main location for calendar year
2019 was due on September 01, 2019.

On December 16, 2019, the 2nd Delinquency Notice (Invoice # 900345658), was sent via mail at, P.O.
Box 2616, Chula Vista, CA 9192 stating that the annual fee for the Main location for calendar year
2019 was due on September 01, 2019.

As of October 1, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee nor the late payment penalty fee
for the Main location from the Institution.

2019 Annual Fee and Late Payment Penalty Fee for Branch Location
The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee and its late payment penalty fee for the Branch

location for calendar year 2019.

On August 1, 2019, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900343865, via mail at, 270 East Douglas
Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92020, stating that the annual fee for the Branch location for calendar year
2019 was due on September 01, 2019.

On October 15, 2019, the 1st Delinquency Notice (Invoice # 900345660) was sent via mail at, 270
East Douglas Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92020, stating that the annual fee for the Branch location for
calendar year 2019 was due on September 01, 2019.

On December 16, 2019, the 2n Delinquency Notice (Invoice # 900345660) was sent via mail at, 270
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East Douglas Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92020, stating that the annual fee for the Branch location for
calendar year 2019 was due on September 01, 2019.

As of October 1, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee nor the late payment penalty fee
for the Branch location from the Institution.

2020 Annual Fee and Late Payment Penalty Fee for Main Location
The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee and its late payment penalty fee for the Main location

for calendar year 2019.

On August 4, 2020, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900351814, via mail at, P.0. Box 2616,
Chula Vista, CA 91912, stating that the annual fee for the Main location for calendar year 2020 was
due on September 01, 2020.

As of October 1, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee for the Main location from the
Institution.

2020 Annual Fee and Late Payment Penalty Fee for Branch Location
The Institution has failed to pay its annual fee for the Branch location for calendar year 2020.

On August 4, 2020, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900351825, via mail at, 270 East Douglas
Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92020, stating that the annual fee for the Branch location for calendar year
2020 was due on September 01, 2020.

As of October 1, 2020, the Bureau has not received the annual fee for the Branch location from the
Institution.

Order of Abatement:
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit its annual fees for calendar years 2015, 2016, 2019, and

2020 in accordance with 5, CCR section 74006(a)(b) and CEC section 94930.5(g). In addition, the
Institution must pay all late payment penalty fees.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $00.00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: $50.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE
In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby
orders this assessment of fine in the amount of $50.00 for the violations described above. Payment

must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau
hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order
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of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of
the Citation.

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or
through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500)
of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the ‘Notice of Appeal of Citation - Request for
Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing’ form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date
of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative
hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later
time.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by
you and delivered to the Bureau by October 31,2020, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited
your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall
become effective on October 1, 2020. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance
with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by October 31, 2020. Your payment of the
administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a
final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Nicole Mitchell, Discipline Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225

Sacramento, CA 95834

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above within the time allowed
may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action,
and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this
Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Nicole
Mitchell, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8995 or Nicole.Mitchell@dca.ca.gov.
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“Original Signature on File” “10/1/2020”

Christina Villanueva Date
Discipline Manager

Enclosures

VVVVYY

Applicable Laws Violated

Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet

Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
Payment of Fine - Waiver of Appeal

Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail
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