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CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: Brian Jump, Owner
Superior Auto Institute A.K.A. Superior Companies LTD
26945 Cabot Road #103
Laguna Hills, CA 92653

INSTITUTION CODE: Unapproved

CITATION NUMBER: 1819083

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: January 16,2019
DUE DATE: February 15, 2019

I FINE AMOUNT: $75,000.00 I

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in
her official capacity as Discipline Manager for the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
(Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to Brian Jump, Owner of Superior Auto Institute A.K.A Superior Companies
LTD (Institution) located at 26945 Cabot Road #103, Laguna Hills, CA 92653 pursuant to Business
and Professions Code section 125.9 and 149; California Education Code (CEC) section 94944; and
Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violation(s) described
below.

BACKGROUND

On August 13, 2014, the Institution was granted a verification of exemption under CEC section
94874(f) by the Bureau. The basis of the exemption was a document that the owner provided to the
Bureau that demonstrated that the Institution charged $1,995 for a 40-hour Paintless Dent Removal
(PDR) course and $2,495 for an 80-hour PDR course.

Between August 2, 2018, and September 5, 2018, the Bureau received three complaints alleging the
Institution was advertising private post-secondary education courses in California and charging
more than $2,500.

On September 5, 2018, the Bureau received an invoice from a complainant that was issued by the
Institution for a PDR 80-hour, ten-day training course. The amount of the tuition listed on the invoice
is $5,100.
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On September 28, 2018, Bureau staff searched Google for “PDR training California” and found an
advertisement for the Institution that states: “Learn PDR in California 1 Call about our $3995
promotion.” The advertisement also includes a link to the Institution’s website.

Based on the review of the offering and advertising of private post-secondary education on the
Institution’s website, www.Superiorautoinstitute.com, the Bureau determined that the Institution is
conducting business as a private postsecondary education institution at 26945 Cabot Road #103,
Laguna Hills, CA 92653

VIOLATION(S)

Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of
Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

Violation:

CEC 94886. Approval to Operate Required

“Except as exempted in Article 4 (commencing with Section 94874) or in compliance with the transition
provisions in Article 2 (commencing with Section 94802), a person shall not open, conduct, or do
business as a private postsecondary educational institution in this state without obtaining an approval
to operate under this chapter.”

CEC 94817.5. Approved to Operate or Approved
“Approved to operate” or “approved” means that an institution has received authorization pursuant to
this chapter to offer to the public and to provide postsecondary educational programs.”

CEC 94868. To Offer to the Public
“To offer to the public” means to advertise, publicize, solicit, or recruit.”

CEC 94869. To Operate
“To operate” means to establish, keep, or maintain any facility or location in this state where, or from

which, or through which, postsecondary educational programs are provided.”

On August 13, 2014, the Institution was granted a verification of exemption under CEC section
94874(f) by the Bureau. The basis of the exemption was a document that the owner provided to the
Bureau that demonstrated that the Institution charges $1,995 for a 40-hour Paintless Dent Removal
(PDR) course and $2,495 for an 80-hour PDR course.

On September 5, 2018, the Bureau received an invoice from a complainant that was issued by the
Institution for a PDR 80-hour, ten-day training course. The amount of the tuition listed on the invoice
is $5,100.

On September 28, 2018, the Bureau searched Google for “PDR training California” and found an
advertisement for the Institution that states; “Learn PDR in California 1 Call about our $3995
promotion.” The advertisement also includes a link to the Institution’s website.

Based on the Bureau’s investigation, the Institution is conducting business in California as a private
postsecondary education institution at 26945 Cabot Road #103, Laguna Hills, California 92653. The
Institution is not exempt from the provisions of the California Private Postsecondary Act. The
Institution advertises private post-secondary education courses, charging over $2,500. As such, the
Institution falls under the definition of a private postsecondary educational institution under CEC
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section 94858. As of January 16, 2019, the Institution continues to operate as an unapproved private
postsecondary education institution.

Order of Abatement:
The Bureau orders that the Institution cease to operate as a private postsecondary education

institution. The Institution must discontinue recruiting or enrolling students and cease all
instructional services and advertising in any form or type of media, including the
www.Superiorautoinstitute.com Internet web site and any other websites not identified here that
are associated with the Institution, until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the
Bureau. The Institution must disconnect all telephone service numbers (including 1-888-992-3464)
that are associated with the Institution until such time as an approval to operate is obtained from the
Bureau. To comply with the Order of Abatement the Institution must submit a school closure plan to
the Bureau pursuant to California Education Code section 94926. The institution must provide a
roster of each student currently enrolled at the Institution. The roster must include the names of the
students, their contact information (including phone number, email address, and physical address),
the programs in which they are enrolled, the amount paid for the programs.

Assessment of Fine:
The fine for this violation is $75,000.00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: $75,000.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94944; and 5, CCR section 75020(b), the Bureau hereby orders this
assessment of a fine in the amount of $75,000.00 for the violations described above. Payment
must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of 5 CCR Section 75020 (b) the Bureau hereby issues the order(s)
of abatement described above. In accordance with Business and Professions Code Section 149, the
Bureau may disconnect any telephone service numbers used by an unapproved Institution.
Evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau,
within 30 days from the date of service of the Citation. '

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or
through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500)
of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the ‘Notice of Appeal of Citation - Request for
Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing’ form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date
of service of the Citation. Ifyou do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing
within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.
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Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by
you and delivered to the Bureau by February 15, 2019, you will be deemed to have waived or
forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall
become effective on January 16, 2019. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of
compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by February 15, 2019. Your payment of the
administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a
final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Gurinder Sandhu, Discipline Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the
administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or
renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all
appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or
found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact
Gurinder Sandhu, Citation Analyst, at 916-431-6940 or Gurinder.sandhu@dca.ca.gov.

(e, JLLM/ 7
Christina Vi\ﬁlﬁlfeva Date
Discipline Manager

Enclosures

» Applicable Laws Violated

Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet

Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
Payment of Fine - Waiver of Appeal

Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail
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