

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY · GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS · BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834 P (916) 574-8900 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



<u>CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT</u>

To: EC USA Holding, Inc., Owner EC San Diego 7979 Ivanhoe Avenue, #225 La Jolla, CA 92037

> EC San Francisco (Branch) 100 Montgomery, 18th Floor San Francisco, CA 94104

INSTITUTION CODE: 41424517 BRANCH CODE: 89092900 CITATION NUMBER: 2122113 CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: January 13, 2022 DUE DATE: February 12, 2022 FINE AMOUNT: \$ 50.00 ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to EC USA Holding, Inc., Owner of EC San Diego (Institution) located at, 7979 Ivanhoe Avenue, #225, La Jolla, CA 92037 and EC USA Holding, Inc., Owner of EC San Francisco (Branch) 100 Montgomery, 18th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94104, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below.

BACKGROUND

All institutions are required to submit a Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) Assessment Reporting Form to the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter.

Pursuant to CEC section 94923(a) The Student Tuition Recovery Fund relieves or mitigates economic loss suffered by a student while enrolled in an institution not exempt from this article pursuant to Article 4 (commencing with section 94874), who, at the time of his or her enrollment, was a California resident or was enrolled in a California residency program, prepaid tuition, and suffered economic loss.

The Bureau sends notifications/reminders to all approved institutions 30 days prior to close of each quarter.

As of January 13, 2022, the Institution has not submitted the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1st quarter of 2021.

In addition, all institutions are required to pay annual fee within 30 days of the date on which the Institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original approval. An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.

Pursuant to CEC section 94930.5 (g). effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus described in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount equal to 0.55 percent of that campus' total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars (\$60,000) for each campus.

As of January 13, 2022, the Bureau has not received the 30-day late payment penalty fee for the 2021 calendar year for the main location.

In addition, the Bureau has not received the annual fee, and the 90-day late payment penalty fee for the 2020 calendar year, nor the 90-day late payment penalty fee for the 2021 calendar year for the Branch location.

VIOLATION

#	Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of
	Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.
1.	Violation:
1.	5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e)– Collection and Submission of Assessments
	"(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program
	at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The
	assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student
	pays the institutional charges in increments.
	(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit
	it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the
	last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows:
	(1) April 30 for the first quarter,
	(2) July 31 for the second quarter,
	(3) October 31 for the third quarter, and
	(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal
	holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau.
	If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended
	to the next regular business day for the Bureau.
	(c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information:
	(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the
	reporting period; and
	(2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational
	programs during the reporting period; and
	(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period,

Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement EC USA Holding, Inc., Owner of EC San Diego and EC San Francisco Institution Code: 41424517, Branch Code: 89092900

	were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and (4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period; and
	(5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the nearest \$1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting period; and
	(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and (7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the form and any attachments are true and correct.
	form and any attachments are true and correct. (d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within seven days following the cessation of instruction.
	(e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal."
	The Institution has failed to submit STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the following quarter:
	• First Quarter for 2021
	On March 24, 2021, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1 Faneuil Hall Sq. 6th Floor, Boston, MA 02109, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1 st quarter of 2021 was due.
	On May 18, 2021, the Institution was notified via email at, <u>havivaparnes@ecenglish.com</u> , that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1 st quarter of 2021 was due.
	On May 19, 2021, the Institution was notified via mail at, 1 Faneuil Hall Sq. 6th Floor, Boston, MA 02109, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 1 st quarter of 2021 was due. As of January 13, 2022, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the Institution.
	Order of Abatement: The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Form with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the quarter listed above. The information provided shall comply with "Record Keeping Requirements" Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140.
	Assessment of Fine The fine for this violation is <u>\$50.00</u>
2.	Violation: 5, CCR Section 74006(a) and (b) - Annual Fee "(a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the anniversary of the date of the original approval. (b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable fees.
	CEC Section 94930.5 (g)- Fee Schedule "(g) Notwithstanding subdivision (d), effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for each campus described in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) shall be in an amount equal to 0.55 percent of that campus' total gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars (\$60,000) for each campus."

CEC Section 94931(a)(b)- Late Payment

"(a) A fee that is not paid on or before the 30th calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee shall be subject to a 25 percent late payment penalty fee."

"(b) A fee that is not paid on or before the 90th calendar day after the due date for payment of the fee shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee."

Main Location (7979 Ivanhoe Avenue, #225, La Jolla CA 92037)

The main location has failed to pay its 30-day late payment penalty fee applied to the annual fee for calendar year 2021.

On March 1, 2021, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900355946, via mail at, 1 Faneuil Hall Sq. 6th Floor, Boston, MA 02109, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2021 was due on April 1, 2021.

On May 17, 2021, the Institution was notified, Invoice # 900357769, via mail at, 1 Faneuil Hall Sq. 6th Floor, Boston, MA 02109, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2021 was due on April 1, 2021.

On June 9, 2021, the Bureau received payment for the 2021 annual fee in the amount of \$2,500.

As of January 13, 2022, the Bureau has not received the late payment penalty fee for the 2021 calendar year for the main location.

Branch Location (100 Montgomery, 18th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94104)

The Branch location has failed to pay its annual fee and 90-day late payment penalty fee for calendar year 2020 and the 90-day late payment penalty fee for calendar year 2021.

2020 annual fee and 90-day late payment penalty fee

On March 3, 2020, the branch was notified, Invoice # 900347945, via mail at, 100 Montgomery, 18th Fl, San Francisco, CA 94104, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2020 was due on April 1, 2020.

On May 15, 2020, the branch was notified, Invoice # 900349830, via mail at, 100 Montgomery, 18th Fl, San Francisco, CA 94104, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2020 was due on April 1, 2020.

On July 15, 2020, the branch was notified, Invoice # 900349830, via mail at, 100 Montgomery, 18th Fl, San Francisco, CA 94104, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2020 was due on April 1, 2020.

As of January 13, 2022, the Bureau has not received the annual fee and the late payment penalty fee for the 2020 calendar year, for the branch location.

2021 90-day late payment penalty fee

On March 1, 2021, the branch was notified, Invoice # 900355947, via mail at, 100 Montgomery, 18th Fl, San Francisco, CA 94104, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2021 was due on April 1, 2021.

On May 17, 2021, the branch was notified, Invoice # 900357770, via mail at, 100 Montgomery, 18th Fl, San Francisco, CA 94104, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2021 was due on April 1, 2021.

On July 15, 2021, the branch was notified, Invoice # 900357770, via mail at, 100 Montgomery, 18th Fl, San Francisco, CA 94104, stating that the annual fee for calendar year 2021 was due on April 1, 2021.

On November 18, 2021, the Bureau received payment for the 2021 annual fee in the amount of \$2,500.

As of January 13, 2022, the Bureau has not received the late payment penalty fee for the 2021 calendar year for the branch location.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to submit its annual fees for calendar year 2020 for the branch location, and the late payment penalty fees for the 2021 calendar year for the main and branch locations in accordance with 5, CCR section 74006(a)(b) and CEC section 94930.5(g). In addition, the Institution must pay all late payment penalty fees.

Assessment of Fine

The fine for this violation is <u>\$00.00</u>

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$50.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of fine in the amount of **\$50.00** for the violations described above. **Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within** <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. **Evidence of compliance with the order of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within** <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation.

Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement EC USA Holding, Inc., Owner of EC San Diego and EC San Francisco Institution Code: 41424517, Branch Code: 89092900

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the 'Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference **and/or** Administrative Hearing' form (enclosed) within <u>30 days</u> from the date of service of the Citation. *If you do not request an informal conference* **and/or** *an administrative hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time.*

Unless a written request for an informal conference **and/or** an administrative hearing is signed by you and delivered to the Bureau by **February 12, 2022**, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on **January 13**, **2022**. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by **February 12**, **2022**. Your payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:

Cheryl Lardizabal, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Cheryl Lardizabal, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-7427 or Cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov.

"Original Signature on File"

"1/13/2022"

Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager Date

Enclosures

- > Applicable Laws Violated
- > Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
- > Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- > Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail