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CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE

To: California Graduate School of Theology
Paul Lee, Board of Directors Member
Lawrence Wilkes, Board of Directors Member
Eunice Lee, Board of Directors Member
12828 Harbor Boulevard, Suite 305
Garden Grove, CA 92840

INSTITUTION CODE: 1900831

CITATION NUMBER: 1112003

CITATION ISSUANCE DATE: 4/26/12
EFINE AMOUNT DUE 550 OO
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Laura Metune, issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine (Citation) in her official capacity as Bureau Chief of the Bureau for
Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

BACKGROUND

On January 17, 2012, the Bureau received a cover letter and an Application for Change of Location (Application), dated
January 12, 2012, for the above named institution. The cover letter stated that the change in location was not an
emergency situation and that they realize the Application does not meet the “at least 60 days prior to the proposed date
of change” deadline. The change of location was over 10 miles.

On August 1, 2011 the institution sent a memorandum to the students and faculty of that institution informing them
that the school would move locations during the week of August 22, 2011 and would hold classes at the new location on

August 29, 2011. The Application for this change of location was received by the Bureau 170 days after the
memorandum was sent notifying the students and faculty of the change of location.

Applications for Change of Location and attached cover letters were also submitted from the institution on September
30, 2004, March 24, 2003, and February 13, 1997 for three separate changes of locations. Each cover letter that was

submitted stated that the move was not an emergency situation and that they realized that the Applications do not
meet the “at least 60 days prior to the proposed date of change” deadline. On each of these three separate occasions

the school failed to inform the Bureau 60 days prior to their proposed date of change.

On April 14, 2003 the institution was sent a letter regarding their March 24, 2003 Application for Change of Location.

The letter notified them that the institution submitted an Application for Change of Location after its move, which is in
violation of the state regulation.

CITATION

A citation is hereby issued to Paul Lee, Lawrence Wilkes and Eunice Lee, Board of Directors members of California
Graduate School of Theology located at 12828 Harbor Boulevard, Suite 305, Garden Grove, CA 92840, in accordance

- with Section 125.9 of the Business and Professions; Section 94936 of the Cal. Ed. Code: and Section 75020 of the
California Code of Regulations for the violations described below.
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VIOLATION

California Education Code § 94823.5 — Change of Location
“Change of Location” is defined as a move or relocation more than 10 miles from the site at which the institution offers

instruction.

California Education Code § 94893 — Authorization Required for Substantive Change
The institution did not obtain prior authorization for a substantive change. This law provides in part that if an institution
intends to make a substantive change to its approval, the institution shall receive prior authorization from the bureau.

California Education Code § 94894(e) — Substantive Change Defined
The institution did not obtain prior authorization for a change of location. This law defines change of location as a

substantive change to an approval to operate and requires prior authorization from the Bureau.

California Code of Regulation § 71500(a) — Application to Change Location

The institution did not obtain prior authorization for a change of location within the required time frame. This law
provides in part that an institution seeking a change in location shall complete and submit the “Change of Location”
form at least 60 days prior to the proposed date of the change in location or no later than 30 days if the change of
location is an unforeseen and unavoidable circumstance outside the control of the institution.

PENALTY — ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with Cal. Ed. Code section 94936; and California Code of Regulations Sections 75020 and 75030, the
Bureau hereby orders the issuance of a Citation and the assessment of a fine in the amount of $50.00 (fifty dollars) for
the above violations.

APPEAL OF CITATION
You have the right to contest this Citation Order through an informal conference with the Bureau and/or through an

administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2
of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the enclosed Notice of Appeal of Citation — Request for Informal
Conference and/or Administrative Hearing form within thirty (30) days from the date of service of the Citation. If you do

not request an administrative hearing within thirty (30) days from the date of service of the Citation, vou will not be able
to request one at a later time. Deliver or mail your written request to:

Yvette Johnson, Manager-Complaint Investigations and Discipline
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400

Sacramento, CA 95833

If you request an administrative hearing, further information regarding your rights to discovery and to request
postponement of the hearing for good cause will be provided to you with the Notice of Hearing.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by you or on behalf of

California Graduate School of Theology and delivered to the Bureau by May 26, 2012, you will be deemed to have
waived or forfeited your right to an administrative hearing in this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION AND FINE ASSESSMENT

This Citation assessment of the administrative fine will become final on the next day following your last day within which
to request a hearing. If you do not request an administrative hearing, this Citation shall become effective on
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April 26, 2012 and payment due by May 26, 2012. If a hearing is not requested, your payment of the administrative fine
shall not constitute an admission of the violation charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until a final order is entered against you.

PAYMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE FINE

Payment of the administrative fine must be made to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by check or money
order. Please include the Citation number on the payment of the fine assessment. Payments may be mailed to:

Janel Quayle, Discipline Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Janel Quayle,
Enforcement Analyst, at (916) 431-6940 or Janel.Quayle@dca.ca.gov.

ura Metune
Bureau Chief

Date

Enclosures
» Applicable Laws Violated
» Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet

> Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
» Payment of fine — Wavier of Appeal
>

Declaration of Service by Certified and First Class Mail
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