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CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: Hee Young Ahn
Pacific States University
3450 Wilshire Boulevard, 5t Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90010

INSTITUTION CODE: 1905291

CITATION NUMBER: 1516033

CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: September 29, 2015
DUE DATE: October 28, 2015

FINE AMOUNT: $2,100.00

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES

Elainea Shotwell issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her
official capacity as Enforcement Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
(Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to Hee Young Ahn, President of Pacific States University located at 3450
Wilshire Boulevard, 5t Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90010, pursuant to Business and Professions Code
section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of
Regulations (5 CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below.

VIOLATION

The California Education Code (CEC) and the California Code of Regulations (CCR). Below you will
find the code section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

Violation:

CEC 94902 (b)(3) - General Enrollment Requirements

“(b) An enrollment agreement is not enforceable unless all of the following requirements are met: (3)
Prior to the execution of the enrollment agreement, the student and the institution have signed and
dated the information required to be disclosed in the Student Performance Fact Sheet pursuant to
subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, of Section 94910. Each of these items in the Student Performance Fact
Sheet shall include a line for the student to initial and shall be initialed and dated by the student.”
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CEC 94912 Signature, Initials Required

“Prior to the execution of an enrollment agreement, the information required to be disclosed pursuant
to subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, of Section 94910 shall be signed and dated by the institution and
the student. Each of these items shall also be initialed and dated by the student.”

5, CCR 71920 (B)(3) Student Records

“(B) Records documenting units of credit earned at other institutions that have been accepted and
applied by the institution as transfer credits toward the student's completion of an educational
program; (3) Copies of all documents signed by the student, including contracts, instruments of
indebtedness, and documents relating to financial aid,”

The institution’s Enrollment Agreement is not enforceable because the School Performance Fact
Sheet (SPFS) did not contain a line for the student to initial and date next to the required SPFS
discourse listed in CEC 94910 (a)-(d) and CEC 94912. Student Performance Fact Sheets were not in
the student files as required by 5, CCR 71920 (B)(3).

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the institution make corrections to their Enrollment Agreement and
provide detailed information of how the institution will ensure that all students and the institution
sign and date the required documents. Provide detailed information of how the institution will
ensure that documents are kept in student files. Submit written evidence of compliance with CEC
94902 (b)(3), CEC 94912 and 5, CCR 71920(B)(3) to the Bureau.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $1500.00

Violation:

CEC 94911 (c) - Minimum Requirements for Enrollment Agreements

“(c) In underlined capital letters on the same page of the enrollment agreement in which the student’s
signature is required, the total charges for the current period of attendance, the estimated total
charges for the entire educational program, and the total charges the student is obligated to pay upon
enrollment.”

The institution’s Enrollment Agreement failed to include the total charges the student is obligated to
pay upon enrollment as required by CEC 94911 (c).

Order of Abatement:
The Bureau orders that the institution make corrections to their Enrollment Agreement and
submit written evidence of compliance with CEC 94911 (c) to the Bureau.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $500.00

Violation:

5 CCR 76120 (a) - Amount of STRF Assessment

“Each qualifying institution shall collect an assessment of fifty cents ($.50)per one thousand dollars
($1,000) of institutional charges, rounded to the nearest thousand dollars, form each student in an
educational program who is a California resident or is enrolled in a residency program. For
institutional charges of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or less, the assessment is fifty cents ($.50).”
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Only two out of five student files had a STRF calculation form and they were both inaccurate.
The institution failed to collect from and/or accurately calculate STRF fees for qualifying students as
required by 5, CCR 76120 (a).

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will
properly collect and accurately calculate STRF fees in compliance with 5, CCR 76120 (a). Submit
written evidence to the Bureau.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $50.00

*As of January 1, 2015, the STRF assessment fee was changed to $0.00

Violation:

5, CCR 76130 (a) - Collection and Submission of Assessments

“(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program
at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The
assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student
pays the institutional charges in increments.”

Only two out of five student files had a STRF calculation form and they were both inaccurate.
The institution failed to properly collect STRF fees for qualifying students as required by 5, CCR
76130 (a).

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the institution provide detailed information of how the institution will
properly collect STRF fees in compliance with 5, CCR 76130 (a). Submit written evidence to the
Bureau.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $50.00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: $2,100.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5 CCR Sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby
orders this assessment of fine in the amount of $2,100.00 for the violations described above.
Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the
Citation.

ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of CEC Section 94936 and 5 CCR Section 75020 the Bureau
hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the
order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of
service of the Citation.
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BACKGROUND

On 8/21/14, Bureau staff conducted a visit to Pacific State University (PSU) located at 3450
Wilshire Boulevard, 5% Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90010. Bureau staff met M.K,, Associate Dean of PSU.
During the visit Bureau staff gathered randomly selected student records and found that there were
no Student Performance Fact Sheets in the student files; three enrollment agreements had initials
and signed acknowledgments that they were received. Further review found that the Enrollment
Agreement failed to include the total charges the student is obligated to pay upon enroliment.
Bureau staff also found that STRF calculations were included on only two of the Enrollment
Agreements and did not appear to be correct.

On 6/08/11, the Bureau sent PSU a confirmation letter acknowledging receipt of the non-
substantive change of location within ten miles. On 7/26/11, the Bureau confirmed review and
approval to operate an accredited institution, On 09/29 /14, the Bureau received an application for
renewal from PSU.

APPEA] OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or
through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500)
of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the ‘Notice of Appeal of Citation - Request for
Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing’ form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date
of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative
hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later
time.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by
you and delivered to the Bureau by October 28, 2015, you will be deemed to have waived or
forfeited your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

if you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall
become effective on September 29, 2015. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of
compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by October 28, 2015. Your payment of the
administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a
final order is entered against you.

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:
Jody Wright, Discipline Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833

Page 4 of 5
Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement
Hee Young Ahn, President of Pacific States University




Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the
administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or
renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all
appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or
found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Jody
Wright, Enforcement Analyst, at 916-431-6940 or Jody.Wright@dca.ca.gov.

/ September 29. 2015
Elainea Sho Date
Enforcemen ager

Enclosures

Applicable Laws Violated

Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet

Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative
Hearing

Payment of Fine - Waiver of Appeal

Declaration of Service by Certified and First Class Mail

YV VVVY
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