0 Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education Prars memarcennmi
A A 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 [ | ——
BPPE P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 e o st
i e P (916) 431-6959 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov

CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT

To: Kimm Salerno
Complete Appraisal School
8560 Vineyard Ave, Suite 212
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730

INSTITUTION CODE: 69608305
CITATION NUMBER: 1314008
CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: 5/5/2014

DUE DATE: 6/4/2014
FINE AMOUNT: $25,552.00

ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: YES

Yvette Johnson issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in her
official capacity as Enforcement Chief of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau)
of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.

CITATION

A Citation is hereby issued to Kimm Salerno, Owner of Complete Appraisal School located at 8560
Vineyard Ave, Suite 212, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730 pursuant to Business and Professions Code
section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of
Regulations (5 CCR) section 75020 for the violations described below.

VIOLATION

The California Education Code (CEC) and the California Code of Regulations (CCR). Below you will
find the code section(s) of law you are charged with violating.

Violation:

94902 (c)- General Enrollment Requirements

“(c) A student shall receive a copy of the signed enrollment agreement, in writing or electronically,
regardless of whether total charges are paid by the student.”

The complainant, L.C,, states he signed documents during the enrollment process but never received
a copy. Requests have been made to Kimm Salerno to furnish the documents. To date, no
documents have been received.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the institution provide the requested student records for L.C.
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The fine for this violation is $2501.00

Violation:

94926 (a)(b)(d)- Procedures Prior to Closing, Teach-Outs

“At least 30 days prior to closing, the institution shall notify the bureau in writing of its intention to
close. The notice shall be accompanied by a closure plan, which shall include, but not necessarily be
limited to, all of the following:

(a) A plan for providing teach-outs of educational programs, including any agreements with any other
postsecondary educational institutions to provide teach-outs.

(b) If no teach-out plan is contemplated, or for students who do not wish to participate in a teach-out,
arrangements for making refunds within 45 days from the date of closure, or for institutions that
participate in federal student financial aid programs arrangements for making refunds and returning
federal student financial aid program funds.

(d) A plan for the disposition of student records.”

The school failed to properly notify the Bureau of its closing.

der of A ment:
The Bureau orders that the institution provide a close out notice with an original signature.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $2,550.00

Violation:

94927.5 (a)(1) - Provision of Records to Bureau Prior to Closing

“(a) Prior to closing, an institution shall provide the bureau with the following:

(1) Pertinent student records, including transcripts, as determined by the bureau, pursuant to
regulations adopted by the bureau.”

The school failed to notify the Bureau of its closing and did not provide the Bureau with student
records. The owner claims the records are in storage but has failed to provide copies of any
requested documents.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the institution provide the requested student records for L.C.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $5.000.00

Violation:

71920 (a), (b)(1)(4), (3).(4), (5)(A), (8)(9)(10) - Student Records

“(a) The institution shall maintain a file for each student who enrolls in the institution whether or not
the student completes the educational service.

(b) In addition to the requirements of section 94900, the file shall contain all of the following pertinent
student records:

(1) Written records and transcripts of any formal education or training, testing, or experience that are
relevant to the student's qualifications for admission to the institution or the institution's award of
credit or acceptance of transfer credits including the following:
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(A) Verification of high school completion or equivalency or other documentation establishing the
student's ability to do college level work, such as successful completion of an ability-to-benefit test;
(3) Copies of all documents signed by the student, including contracts, instruments of indebtedness,
and documents relating to financial aid;

(4) Records of the dates of enrollment and, if applicable, withdrawal from the institution, leaves of
absence, and graduation; and

(5) In addition to the requirements of section 94900(b) of the Code, a transcript showing all of the
following:

(A) The courses or other educational programs that were completed, or were attempted but not
completed, and the dates of completion or withdrawal;

(8) A copy of documents relating to student financial aid that are required to be maintained by law or
by a loan guarantee agency;

(9) A document showing the total amount of money received from or on behalf of the student and the
date or dates on which the money was received;

10) A document specifying the amount of a refund, including the amount refunded for tuition and the
amount for other itemized charges, the method of calculating the refund, the date the refund was
made, and the name and address of the person or entity to which the refund was sent;”

The student file including documentation of coursework completed, enrollment agreement, and
financial records have been requested. Requests have been made to Kimm Salerno to furnish the
documents. To date, no documents have been received.

Order of Abatement:
The Bureau orders that the institution provides the student records for L.C. as well as provide proof
of how the institution has maintained student records in accordance with CCR 71920.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $501.00

Violation:

71930 (e) - Maintenance of Records

“(e) All records that the institution is required to maintain by the Act or this chapter shall be made
immediately available by the institution for inspection and copying during normal business hours by
the Bureau and any entity authorized to conduct investigations.”

The Bureau requested copies of L.C.'s student file including copies of payment receipts and refund.
Requests have been made to Kimm Salerno to furnish the documents. To date, no documents have
been received.

Order of Abatement:

The Bureau orders that the institution provide the requested student records for L.C.

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $5,000.00

Violation:

71930 (f)- Maintenance of Records

“(f) If an institution closes, the institution and its owners are jointly and severally responsible to
arrange at their expense for the storage and safekeeping in California of all records required to be
maintained by the Act and this chapter for as long as those records must be maintained. The repository
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of the records shall make these records immediately available for inspection and copying, without
charge except as allowed under subdivision (c)(4) of this section, during normal business hours by any
entity authorized by law to inspect and copy records.”

The Bureau requested copies of L.C.'s student file including copies of payment receipts and refund.
Requests have been made to Kimm Salerno to furnish the documents. To date, no documents have
been received.

Order o ment:
The Bureau orders that the institution provide the requested student records for L.C. as well as
provide proof that the institution is maintaining student records in accordance with CCR 71930 (f).

Assessment of Fine
The fine for this violation is $5000.00

Violation:

71750 (a), (b), (c)(1(e)(f) - Withdrawals and Refunds
“(a) Every institution shall make refunds that are no less than the refunds required under the Act and
this Division.

(b) An institution may not enforce any refund policy that is not specified in the catalog as required
pursuant to section 94909(a)(8)(B) of the Code, and must refund all institutional charges upon a
student’s withdrawal. Withdrawal policy procedures pursuant to section 94909(a)((8)(B) of the Code
shall include, at a minimum: the acceptable methods of delivery of a notice to withdraw; whether
withdrawal can be accomplished by conduct, and if so, how; the position or positions to whom the
notice to withdraw must be delivered; and the date that the notice to withdraw is considered effective,
which shall be no later than the date received by the institution.

(c) A pro rata refund pursuant to section 94919(c) or 94920(d) or 94927 of the Code shall be no less
than the total amount owed by the student for the portion of the educational program provided
subtracted from the amount paid by the student, calculated as follows:

(1) The amount owed equals the daily charge for the program (total institutional charge, divided by
the number of days or hours in the program), multiplied by the number of days student attended, or
was scheduled to attend, prior to withdrawal.

(e) An institution shall refund any credit
balance on the student’s account within 45 days after the date of the student's completion of, or
withdrawal from, the educational program in which the student was enrolled. For purposes of this
subdivision and section 94919(d) of the Code, "day" means calendar day.

(f) The institution shall maintain a cancellation and withdrawal log, kept current on a monthly basis,
which shall include the names, addresses, telephone numbers, and dates of cancellations or withdrawal
of all students who have cancelled the enrollment agreement with, or withdrawn from, the institution
during the calendar year.”

To date, Kimm Salerno has failed to provide a refund to L.C.

Order of Abatement:

1. The Bureau orders that the school refunds the complainant, L.C., a refund in the amount of
$690.00. This amount was assessed based on his out of pocket expenses. The total amount of the
program less any non-refundable fees equaled $8690.00. $8.000.00 was paid directly to the school
by adjuster JD Lanier. Therefore, out of pocket expenses owed to L.C. total $690.00.

Assessment of Fine
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The fine for this violation is $5,000.00

TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: $25,552.00

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5 CCR Sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby
orders this assessment of fine in the amount of $25,552.00 for the violations described above.
Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the
Citation.

ORDER OF ABATEMENT

In accordance with the provisions of CEC Section 94936 and 5 CCR Section 75020 the Bureau
hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the
order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of
service of the Citation.

BACKGROUND
On June 4, 2012 the Bureau received a complaint against Complete Appraisal School. Beginning
February 28, 2013, several attempts were made to contact school owner, Kimm Salerno. During the

course of the Bureau's investigation, the above mentioned violations were identified.

APPEAL OF CITATION

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or
through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500)
of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the ‘Notice of Appeal of Citation - Request for
Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing’ form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date
of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative
hearing within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later
time.

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by
you and delivered to the Bureau by June 4, 2014, you will be deemed to have waived or forfeited
your right to appeal this matter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall
become effective on May 5, 2014. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of compliance
with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by June 4, 2014. Your payment of the administrative
fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged.

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a
final order is entered against you.
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Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to:
Renee Campos, Discipline Citation Program
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the
administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or
renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all
appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or
found to be due after a hearing.

CONTACT INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact
Renee Campos, Enforcement Analyst, at (916) 431-6940 or Renee.Campos@dca.ca.gov.

/%) 14

Date

Enforcement Chief

Enclosures
» Applicable Laws Violated
» Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet
» Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative
Hearing
Payment of fine - Wavier of Appeal
Declaration of Service by Certified and First Class Mail
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