## BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY . GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 P (916) 574-8900 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



# **APPEAL OF CITATION INFORMAL CONFERENCE DECISION: CITATION MODIFIED**

January 23, 2020

Amarillo College of Hairdressing, Inc., DBA Milan Institute, Owner Milan Institute 75-030 Gerald Ford Drive, Suite 203 Palm Desert, CA 92211

Date of Issuance	Citation Number	Institution Code
January 23, 2020	1920140	3304061

On December 20, 2019, an informal telephone conference was held in the matter of Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement No. 1920140 (Citation) against Amarillo College of Hairdressing, Inc., DBA Milan Institute, Owner of Milan Institute (Institution). In attendance were Leeza Rifredi, Deputy Bureau Chief and Dr. Marcy Ceranek, Director of Compliance and Career Services Technology Director.

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code, section 125.9; California Education Code, section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations, section 75020 and section 75040, the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau) renders the following decision relative to your appeal of the Citation No. 1920140.

It is the decision of the Deputy Bureau Chief that on January 15, 2020, Citation No. 1920140 is modified and makes the following change(s):

#### VIOLATION CODE SECTION

#	Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of
	Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating.
1	Violation

## **CEC Section 94929.5 - Reporting of Student Performance Data**

- (a) An institution shall annually report to the bureau, as part of the annual report, and shall publish in its School Performance Fact Sheet, all of the following:
- (2) The license examination passage rates for the immediately preceding two years for programs leading to employment for which passage of a state licensing examination is required, calculated by dividing the number of graduates who pass the examination by the number of graduates who take the licensing examination the first time that the examination is available after completion of the educational program. The institution shall use state agency licensing data to calculate license examination passage rates. If those data are unavailable, the institution shall calculate the license examination passage rate in a manner consistent with regulations adopted by the bureau.

The Institution's 2016-2017 School Performance Fact Sheets (SPFS) for the Registered Dental Assistant Program failed to report Licensing Examination Passage Rate Information.

## **Order of Abatement:**

The Bureau orders the Institution to submit the missing data on the 2016-2017 SPFS and a written policy of how future compliance with CEC Section 94929.5 will be maintained.

<u>Reason for modification</u>: New substantive facts were presented at the conference. The Order of Abatement has been satisfied.

## **Assessment of Fine**

The fine for this violation is \$2.500.00.

The administrative fine for this violation has been modified from \$2,500.00 to \$250.00.

# **TOTAL MODIFIED ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: \$250.00**

## PENALTY – ASSESSMENT OF A FINE

Payment of the administrative fine is due within 30 days from the date of this decision. Please complete the Payment of Fine form. Payment must be made to the Bureau by check, or money order. Please include the citation number on the payment of the fine assessment. Payment of the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged and shall be represented as satisfactory resolution of the matter for purposes of public disclosure. Payments may be mailed to:

Gabriella Perez, Discipline Citation Program Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

#### **APPEAL OF CITATION**

You *do not* have the right to request another Informal Conference to appeal this modified Citation. If you did not initially request an Administrative Hearing within 30 days from when the original citation was issued, you can no longer request one.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION AND FINE ASSESSMENT

This modified Citation is effective on January 23, 2020. The payment is due by **February 22, 2020**.

Failure to pay the administrative fine within the time allowed is grounds for denial of an application for an approval to operate or discipline. The Bureau will promptly take all appropriate action to enforce the Modified Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or found to be due after a hearing.

# **CONTACT INFORMATION**

Gabriella Perez, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8969 or at Gabriella.Perez@dca.ca.gov.					
Christina Villanueva Discipline Manager	Date	_			
Enclosures					

- Payment of Fine
  Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail