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Approval / Disclosure Statement

Coastal Trucking Institute, LLC is a private institution and was granted institutional approval
form the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education in the Department of Consumer
Affairs.

The Bureau’s approval means the institution and its operation comply with the minimum
standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private educational institutions
and does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the state or Bureau. Institutional
approval must be re-approved every five years and is subject to continuing review. Approved is
the following course’s. This will lead to an occupation’s as a Class *A” Semi-Tractor/Trailer tfruck
driver, or a Class “B" Bus Driver with a passenger endorsement or a Straight truck driver. Requiring
the student to pass DMV’s written tests and driving test.

% Professional Truck and Commercial Driver Training, Class ‘A’ 160 Hours
-The average student completes the 160-hour program in 4 weeks.
< Professional Tractor and Commercial Driver Training. Class ‘B’ 40 Hours
-The average student will complete this fraining in 2 2 weeks.
Hours are defined as clock hours that equal 50 minutes of instruction per each é60-minute hour.

“Any guestions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been
satisfactorily answered by the institution may contact the Bureau for Private
Postsecondary Education at
Address: 2535 Capitol Oaks, Suite 400, Sacramento. CA 95833

P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento CA 95798-0818
Web Site Address: www.bppe.ca.gov
Telephone and Fax #'s: (888)370-7589 or by fax (916)263-1897

(916) 431-6959 or by fax (916) 263-1897

“As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an
enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance
Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.”

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with
the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by
completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet web site
www.bppe.ca.gov.”

General Information

Prospective students need to visit the physical facilities of the school and discuss training and
placement opportunities with school officials prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements.
Prior to enrollment a prospective student shall receive, either in writing or electronically, a school
catalog. Coastal Trucking invites interested individuals to speak with our Driver Instructors, currently
enrolled students and local companies that have hired graduates students.

Instruction will take place in Coastal Trucking’s training yard. Coastal Trucking Institute will
award a Diploma to all students upon successful completion of the program and their attainment
of a Class *A’ or ‘B’ license from the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles. Insfruction is
available in English or Spanish.




All interviews are conducted in either English or Spanish. All other languages the student must provide
their own interpreter. The state of CA, DMV provides license information and testing for driving in many
other languages, contacts them to see if your language is available.

Coastal Trucking Institute does not participate in federal and state financial aid programs. The only
financial aid we offer is 12 of the tuition at the start of class and balance prior to taking the DMV driving
test. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility
to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student
has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not
paid from federal student financial aid program funds.

Coastal Trucking is not accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States
Department of Education nor does it offer a degree program.

Coastal Trucking Institute’s Mission Statement

The objective of Coastal Trucking Institute is to prove the finest professional Truck Driving
Training available. Students of Coastal Trucking Institute are trained by professional instructors who
possess the knowledge and experience to assist the student in developing his or her skills o
become a safe, competent entry-level driver. The professional staff of Coastal Trucking Institute will
provide the expert assistance necessary to not only frain the student, but to insure the fransition
info the trucking industry is a rewarding experience.

Coastal Trucking provides lifetime placement assistance to all students successfully
completing the program.

Transfer of Credits To or From Other Schools

We, at Coastal Trucking, have no agreements with any other school, or college to accept or
transfer credits.

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS
EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION

"The transferability of credits you earn at Coastal Trucking is af the complete discretion of an
institution to which you may seek to fransfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in Coastal
Trucking is also at the complete discretion of the institution fo which you may seek to fransfer. If the
certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the insfitution to which you seek to
fransfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this
reason you should make certain that your attendance aft this institution will meet your educational
goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending
Coastal Trucking to determine if your certificate will fransfer.”

School History

Coastal Trucking Institute has been training Semi-Tractor/Trailer drivers since 2004. Over 1,000
drivers have been frained.
Some of the recognition awards and certificates that Coastal Trucking has received are:

« Cerfificate of Achievement 2011
Awarded by the California Highway Patrol for 2 consecutive satisfactory ratings
Since January 6, 2009




Equal Opportunity

Coastal Trucking is dedicated to a policy of equal and fair opportunity in all areas of
employment and education. Coastal Trucking does not practice any form of discriminatfion
against applicants, students or employees for admission or employment on the basis of sex, race,
ethnic origin, sexual orientation, or religion. Coastal Trucking is committed to the full observance of
and compliance with all federal and state laws prohibiting discrimination.

Administration

Corporate headquarters are located at 11 W. Laurel Dr. Suite 251 Salinas, CA 93906.
All instructors are qualified with previous commercial driving experience and hold a current
Class Alicense. This allows them to drive all forms of Commercial equipment.

President / Director Maria G. Chavez-Bello
Administrative Manager

Secretary / Treasurer Gildardo Chavez
Site Operations Manager

Instructional Staff:

Classroom Instructor Arcelio G. Chavez

Support Staff:

Business Manager: Maria G. Chavez-Bello
Yard Instructors

Yard Instructor Arcelio G. Chavez

Facilities and Equipment

Current Coastal Trucking facilifies include offices, classrooms and yard sites. For our Class ‘A’
Semi-Tractor/Trailer students, we have 3 frucks, and all fractors are three axle. Trailers range from
42’ to 48'dry vans. For our Class ‘B’ we have a fractor with three axles.

Coastal Trucking owns all of the fraining equipment and is financially sound, with no previous
history of bankruptcy. Please note, Coastal Trucking does not have a pending petition in
bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, has not filed a petition within the preceding
five years, nor has it had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that
resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S. C. Sec.
1101 et seq.).

Salinas Business office Training Facility
11 W. Laurel Dr. Suite 251 242 W. Lake Street
Salinas, CA 93906 Salinas, CA 93906

(831) 751-9533 FAX: (831) 751-9583




Admissions Procedures

To apply for admission to Coastal Trucking, Applicants should contact Coastal Trucking's office
to schedule an appointment for a personal interview and a tour of the School facilities.

For those students who have had prior driving experience, they will be scheduled to meet with
the range director to see how much time will be needed to pass the DMV written and driving tests.

Applicants will complete the Enrolilment Agreement. A class schedule and other information

will be provided. A non-refundable $100.00 fee must be submitted with the application.

A Coastal Trucking officer will review the Enrolilment Agreement and notify the Applicant of the
status of his/her admission to Coastal Trucking.

A student who has had prior training or experience driving a commercial vehicle and has held
a Commercial license will be evaluated by our range director and will have their tuition adjusted.

Hours of Operation

Office hours: 10:00 a.m. fo 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

Instructional hours: 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Monday through Friday
3:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Monday through Friday
7:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Saturday and Sunday

Driving instruction is held days, nights and weekends as necessary to accommodate the
requirements of the program and students’ work schedules.

Schedule of Classes

There will be three classes per month. One day time class, one night class, and one weekend
class. Students will be advised of start date at the time they enroll. Instruction is competency
based. This allows students fo commence fraining on a space and equipment available basis.
Students will be notified in advance concerning important scheduling information such as
operating hours, holidays, class schedules and revisions to schedules. Over-the-road Driving
Instruction is scheduled as necessary fo accommodate the requirements of the program. Classes
are 12 months per year. The following legal holidays will be observed:

New Years Day Memorial Day President’s Day
Independence Day Labor Day
Thanksgiving Day Christmas Day

Courses Offered

Course Description: Class ‘A’ 160 hours
(With doubles, triples & tanker endorsements.)

Curriculum

Registration/Orientation
-School/Course Requirements 1.5
-Student Responsibilities
-Course Overview
-Information regarding opportunities

Commercial Driver's License Requirements 1.5




-D.O.T. requirements
-Drug test

-Medical exam
-Permits
-Endorsements

D.O.T. requirements
-Driver Qualifications
-Regulations
-Drug testing
-Logbooks

20

Hours of Service
-Definitions
-Logbooks
-Summary page
-Exceptions
-Determining Mileage

2.0

Types of Trucks/Trailers
-Types of transmissions
-Auto shifts
-Splitters, range conftrols
-Double clutching, progressive shifting
-Engines
-RPM control band

Air Brakes
-Basic components
-Service/Emergency
-Spring brake/Service brake
-Use of Brakes
-Brake adjustment

3.0

Space Management
-Defensive driving
-Visual Search
-Attitude
-Road Rage

Professional Drivers Attitude
Use/non-use of alcohol/drugs

Truck Inspection

-External inspection
-Inspection by system
-Inspection by material type

-In-cab inspection
-Primary Brake Air system checks
-In-cab controls checklist
-Secondary Brake system check

3.0

Driving Technique
-Smooth, safe driving
-Mirrors
-Steering Wheel grip
-Maneuvering
-Stopping, Starting, Shutdown

20




-Adverse driving conditions
-Grades

-Parking

-Routing

-Rail Road Crossings

Preventive Maintenance 1.0
-Service Checks

Getting the Job as a Professional Driver 1.0
-Work History
-Resume
-Preparation/aftitude

Maneuvering — Road/Range Skills 70.0
-Straight line back-up
-Alley dock
-Parallel parking
-Precision stops and right turn

Pre-trip Inspection 22.5
-External walk around
-In-cab

Driving refinement 44.5
-Shifting

-Down shifting
-Equipment control
-Urban driving
-Rural driving

DMV test preparation 2.0

TOTAL: 160 Hr.

Tuition Cost

Costs per Hour of Training: Class A

Cost per hour of Driver training is based on student fo instructor ratio of 1:1 (One instructor to one
student). This is considered an individual rate of $96.00 per hour. When in a group of three, the
Driver training cost is at $32.00 per hour

First week:

Crientation / classroom 20 hours Cost per hour $11.00 == $ 220.00

Week two through five: Driver training

At the yard 140 hours (grouprate)  Cost per hour $32.00 == $4,480.00
Total Tuition Class ‘A’ $.4,700.00

Additional Costs: Class A




DMV Driving Report (paid to DMV) $ 5.00

Student Tuition Recovery Fund $ 0.50 for every $1,000. Rounded to the
nearest $1000 . ($2.50)

DOT Physical (or student’s own Dr.) $ 40.00

Drug Test/ Random pull $ 57.00

CDL Class A or B permit DMV (paid to DMV) $ 66.00

DMV Retest $ 30.00 (If required)

Hazard Endorsement (must be at least 21yrs old) $ 89.35 (if requested)Testing isin

Oakland, CA (paid fo DMV)

Estimated Tuition Class ‘A’ $ 4880.50 plus charges listed below

Course Description: Class ‘B’ 40 hours
(Tractor w/ 3 axles)
Curriculum
Registration/Orientation
-School/Course Requirements 1.0

-Student Responsibilities
-Course Overview
-Information regarding opportunities

Commercial Driver's License Requirements 1.0
-D.O.T. requirements
-Drug test
-Medical exam
-Permits
-Endorsements

D.O.T. requirements 1.5
-Driver Qualifications
-Regulations
-Drug testing
-Logbooks

Hours of Service 2.0
-Definitions
-Logbooks
-Summary page
-Exceptions

Trip Planning 1.0
-Map Reading
-Interstate Road System
-U.S. Highway System
-Determining Mileage

Types of Trucks 1.5




-Types of transmissions

-Auto shifts

-Splitters, range controls

-Double clutching, progressive shifting
-Engines

-RPM control band

Air Brakes
-Basic components
-Service/Emergency
-Spring brake/Service brake
-Use of Brakes
-Brake adjustment

20

Engine Retarders
-Effective use of retarders
-Down slope technique

Space Management
-Defensive driving
-Visual Search
-Atfitude
-Road Rage

Professional Drivers Attitude
Use/non-use of alcohol/drugs

Tractor Inspection

-External inspection
-Inspection by system
-Inspection by material type

-In-cab inspection
-Primary Brake Air system checks
-In-cab conftrols checklist
-Secondary Brake system check

2.0

Driving Technique
-Smooth, safe driving
-Mirrors
-Steering Wheel grip
-Maneuvering
-Stopping, Starting, Shutdown
-Adverse driving conditions
-Grades
-Parking
-Routing
-Rail Road Crossings

20

Preventive Maintenance
-Service Checks

Getting the Job as a Professional Driver
-Work History
-Resume
-Preparation/aftitude
-Communication

Continuing Education
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-Trade Magazines

Maneuvering — Road/Range Skills 4.0
-Straight line back-up
-Alley dock
-Parallel parking
-Precision stops and right turn

Pre-rip Inspection 3.0
-External walk around
-In-cab

Driving refinement 11.0
-Shifting
-Down shifting
-Equipment control
-Urban driving
-Rural driving

DMV test preparation 2.0
TOTAL: 40HRS

Tuition Cost

Costs per Hour of Training: Class B

Cost per hour of Driver training is based on student o instructor ratio of 1:1 (One instructor to one
student). This is considered an individual rate of $270.00 per hour. When in a group of three, the
Driver training cost is at $20.00 per hour

First week:

In classroom 5 hours of fraining Cost per hour  $50.00 == §$ 250

Week two through three, each week:

At the yard 35 hours of training Cost per hour  $90.00 == $3150
Tuition Class B: $ 3,400.00 plus charges listed below .

Additional Costs: Class B

DMY Driving Report (paid to DMV) $ 5.00

Student Tuition Recovery Fund $ 0.50 for every $1,000. Rounded to the
nearest $1000 .

DOT Physical (or student's own Dr.) $ 40.00

Drug Test/ Random pull $ 57.00

CDL Class B permit DMV (paid to DMV) $ 66.00

DMV Retest $ 30.00 (If required)

Total estimated Tuition Costs: § 3,575.50
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Satisfactory Progress

Students are given weekly grades. Satisfactory progress is considered a GPA of 2.0 or higher. Major
part of GPA has to do with Participation which can be exiremely affected if Attendance is
unsafisfactory. Any student falling below a 2.0 for two (2) consecutive weeks will be dropped from
the course. The final GPA must be 2.0 or higher in order fo be eligible to receive a diploma.
Make-up participation may be allowed on a case-by-case basis. Students who experience
difficulty in understanding a subject should request assistance from the instructor. Coastal Trucking
Institute will provide the necessary assistance, within reason, o ensure each student’s success.

GRADE POINT AVERAGE SYSTEM

GPA LEVEL PERCENTILE
4.0 A 90-100%
3.5 B+ 86-89%

3.0 B 80-85%

2.5 C+ 76-79%

2.0 C 70-75%

1.5 D+ 66-69%

1.0 D 60-65%

.9- F 0-59%

0 | Incomplete

School Policies

Prior to being considered for admission to Coastal Trucking:

Coastal Trucking has established specific written standards for student admissions. Coastal
Trucking will not admit any student who is obviously unqualified or who does not appear to have a
reasonable prospect of completing the program. Each student admitted to Coastal Trucking shall
possess a high school diploma, GED or otherwise successfully take and pass the independently
administered Ability to Benefit Exam.

Must be beyond compulsory school attendance age. An individual cannot be D.O.T. certified
until reaching the age of 21years old. However, between ages 18 and 21 a student can obtain a
commercial driver’s license to drive within the state of California, but may not obtain a Hazards
Material license until age of 21.

Must have a valid Class C driver's license, having passed DMV written test. To determine the
student’s ability to benefit from the course.

Present a current DMV printout. An applicant will not be eligible for enrollment if the MVR
includes any of the following: (Without the approval of the Director.)

DUI conviction within the last three years

A reckless or careless driving conviction within the last three years

More than three moving violations within the last three years

More than one "at fault” accident with last three years.

More than two moving violations and one “af fault” accident with the last three years
A conviction of a felony involving the use of a motor vehicle

A conviction for any drug or alcohol related charge in the last three years

Meet with a school officer to discuss educational plans.

Submit a completed Enroliment application to the school.
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Must pass the DMV written examination, and obtain a commercial driver’s license.
Learners permit within the first week of the course. The permit is required in order to participate in
behind the wheel training, which begins in the second week of training.

Must pass a drug test, the first week of school.

Must pass the DO.T. Physical examination , the first week of school.

Enroliment

A student, who has had a CDL Class A or B license previously, will not be required to register for the
full course; but must first have the approval of the Range Director. Range Director will evaluate
student’s driving experience and advice the student to the amount of time they will need.

We extend a limited school loan to students, with half down at the time of enrollment and the
balance prior to taking and passing DMV driving test.

Aftendance

Consistent attendance and being on time are two assets that a student should develop. Every
potential employer will consider good attendance important hiring criteria.

Students are to call the school office whenever they are unable to be in class for any reason.
The calls must reach the office no later than 8:30 a.m. so that those students waiting for make up
time may use student’s space. Student’s cooperation will be appreciated. Those students referred
by an agency must be aware that we will contact student’s counselor and inform them that
stfudents are not in attendance.

Our teaching unit is a Truck and a Trailer not a desk and chair. We assign one instructor fo three
students. When a student is not in attendance, they are not having the opportunity to learn. Our
program has enough hours built in to allow a student who misses 1 or 2 days over their training period, to
still be able to complete the program on time.

Coastal Trucking will continue to provide tfraining hours to students who have not exceeded
the aftendance standard. While in school, arriving late twice will be considered an absence. If a
student has not exceeded the attendance standard and does not pass the DMV testing, Coastal
Trucking will continue to provide them fraining hours within Coastal Trucking’s schedule at no
additional charge unfil they do pass.

If a student, who has missed less than 3 days, needs make up fime, they will be placed in the next
available space. There are no guarantees as to the time or to the day since our regular classes are
assigned one teacher to three students and the classes go from 7a.m. to 3 p.m. Mon - Fri, with Sat & Sun.
as an option.

Interruptions or being placed on hold is not realistic for a short term fraining program, and is
only granted when the interruption occurs at the end of the first week of training. The student will
then join the next class as it starts.

If a student accumulates three or more absences during the training period they will
be required to pay for additional instruction time needed. They will continue in the
program but [F they do not finish on the original scheduled date, we will continue to
provide them training based on space available basis until they have passed the DMV
testing. The exira time required beyond the original 3 or 4-weeks will be billed at our
group rate or individual rate at the decision of the student.
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Leave of Absence

A leave of absence may be granted to a student under special circumstances (e.g., serious
illness or death in the family). Such leaves will be granted only if they last less then 5-days. Our
classes are very short; a student may withdraw at the end of the first week and go on a thirty-day
leave of absence. Any other leave of absence longer then 5-days, the student will receive counsel
from the School Director. A student may be re-scheduled for the next class. Depending on the
cause for the leave of absence the student may be billed for extra time required to complete the
course. Leaves of absences will be referred to as being placed on “Hold” status.

Student Conduct

Coastal Trucking wants each Student to realize the importance of maintaining high standards
of conduct, not only on the school campus, but also in the trucking industry. Students are
expected to be polite, follow instructor’s directions, and obey school rules. Any disagreement with
the school, instructors, or other students should be taken up with the School Director for mediation.
Coastal Trucking is a school for adults and as adults, they should be aware of what is acceptable
and unacceptable behavior in the work place.

Examples of behavior on or around the school campus that will result in being dropped are
listed below. The following list will cause immediate termination from our program with appropriate
refund.

< Use of school equipment without authorization
% Use of illegal substances
% Under the influence of alcohol

The following items will place a student on probation, with no more than one warning prior to
dismissal.
% Harassment of students or personnel
% Aggressive and disruptive behavior
If a student is dismissed and files an appeal, and does not win the appeal, they will be
dropped and will no longer be eligible for re-admission.

Appeals Policy and Complaint Procedure

Believing that extraordinary or extenuating circumstances warrant consideration, Coastal
Trucking provides students with the opportunity to appeal actions based on school regulation
concerning attendance, dismissal, leave of absence, and extension of confract. Any actions
taken by the Coastal Trucking regarding attendance, dismissal, leave of absence or extension of
contract will result in a written notice of action to the student.

The appeal must be in writing and must be given to the School Director within five working
days from the date of the written notice of action. The appeal must explain what action is being
appealed and basis for the appeal. Complaints regarding an instructor, school official or school
policy initiated by a student must be provided in writing to the School Director.

Within forty-eight hours from the receipt of the student’s written appeal or the students filing of
a grievance, a conference will be scheduled with the school administration. The student will be
notified that he or she has the right to attend the conference and to bring with them anyone they
choose (council, witness, etc.)

During the conference, the school administration will review the Appeal/Complaint and
determine what steps should be taken to address the issue. The student will be notified of the
decision in writing within twenty-four hours following the conference.
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STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL

Refunds

Cancellation, withdrawal, and refund policies, the student has a right to cancel the enrollment
agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class session, or
the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. Monies paid shall be refunded within thirty
days after receipt of the notice.

If a student withdraws or is suspended or dropped after the above-mentioned seven-day
period for cancellation, all educational costs, shall be refunded on a pro-rata basis. The student
will receive a refund of all monies paid within thirty days if the student is rejected for training or if a
course is cancelled. There may be a processing fee if the student payment was made by credit
card. The student may withdraw from school at any time and receive a refund of unused costs.

In calculating any tuition refund due, the period of enrolliment is from the first day of class to
the last date of recorded attendance. The time and percentage of attendance will be
determined by total hours of class attended divided by the total hours of fraining. In all cases of
students who withdraw, fail to attend a class, or are dropped, the following minimum refund policy
shall apply: The refund of tuition less the registration fee shall be equal to the total amount of the
tuition multiplied by the fraction of fime remaining in class

You may with draw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described
above) and receive a pro-rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less of the scheduled
days in your “Enrollment Period”. Enrollment period is defined as the time period encompassed by
“Program Start Date” through the “Program End Date” as they appear on the first page of the
Student’s Enrollment Agreement. Any refund will be less a registration fee not to exceed $100.00,
less any deduction for equipment not returned in good condifion, and less present Non-Program
tuition for all classes started or completed.

All refunds will be made within thirty days from the date of cancellation or withdrawal. If a
student does not refurn from an approved leave of absence, refunds will be made within thirty
days from the leave of absence period. Within ten days of any refund, the student will receive
written notice of a refund stating the amount of the refund and to whom the refund was made.

For students receiving financing from a lending institution, the student will have the
responsibility fo repay the full amount of the loan plus interest.  Any tuition refunds will be made first
to any lender up fo the amount of such disbursement any additional refunds will next be made to
other funding sources up to the amount of disbursement. Any additional refund due will be made
to the student.

Refunds will be made only fo those students who cancel their enrollment and do not receive
their CDL.

Enrolled students who pass the DMV CDL road test and receive their CDL Class’ A’ or ‘B’
license from DMV will receive their Diploma from Coastal Trucking Institute and are not eligible for
any monetary refund.

Coastal Trucking institute retains the right to make changes to the catalog, curriculum,
schedules, materials or tuition in order to keep the program current with trends in the trucking
industry. These changes may be made without advance notice.
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Student’s Rights

Students have the right fo cancel the course of instruction including any equipment such as books,
binders, materials and supplies or any other goods related to the instruction offered through
aftendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. Business
day means a day on which students were scheduled to afttend a class session.

Students have the right to stop fraining af any fime after the cancellafion period and students have
the right to receive arefund for the part of the fraining not received.

If Coastal Trucking were to close before you graduate, you may be enfitled to a refund. Contact
the Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA
95833, telephone (916) 431-8959.

Cancellation shall occur when students give written notice of cancellation at the address of Coastal
Trucking, as shown in this catalog. Students can do this by mail or hand delivery. The written notice of
cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly addressed with the postage
prepaid.

The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is
effective if it shows the student no longer wish to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement. Students will
be given two notices of cancellation forms to use at the first day of class, but students can use any
written notice that students wish.

If the Coastal Trucking has given the student any equipment, including books or other materials,
students shall return them to the School within 30 days following the date of student's nofice of
cancellation. If the student fails o return this equipment, including books or other materials, in good
condition within the 30-day period, Coastal Trucking may deduct its documented cost for the
equipment from any refund that may be due to the student. Once the student pays for the equipment,
it is theirs without further obligation.

If the student cancels the Enrollment Agreement, Coastal Trucking will refund any money that has
been paid, less any deduction for equipment not timely returned in good condition, within 30-days after
the notice of cancellation is received.

Student Tuition Recovery Fund

The Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) was established by the State Legislature to protect
any California Resident who attends a Department of Consumer Affair institution from losing money
if the student prepays tuition and suffered a financial loss as a result of the school closing, failing fo
live up to its enrollment agreement; or refusing to pay a court judgment.

To be eligible, the student must be a "California resident” and reside in California at the time
the enrollment agreement is signed or when the student receive lessons at a California mailing
address from an approved institution offering correspondence instruction. Students who are
temporarily residing in California for the sole purpose of pursuing an education, specifically those
who hold student visas, are not considered a California resident.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement the student must file a STRF application within one year of
receiving nofice from the Bureau that the school is closed. If you do not receive notice from the
Bureau, the student has 4 years from the date of closure to file a STRF application. If ajudgment is
obtained, the student must file a STRF application within 2 years of the final judgments.

It is important that the student keep copies of the enrollment agreement, financial aid papers,
receipts or any other information that documents the monies paid to the school. Questions
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regarding the STRF should be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535
Capitol Ocks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 (916) 431-6959 www.bppe.ca.gov.

“You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all
of the following applies to you:

1. You are astudent in an educational program ,who is a California resident, or are enrolled
in a residency program, and prepay all of part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed
student loans, or personal loans, and

2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer,
government program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the
third party.

You are noft eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF
assessment if either of the following applies:

1. You are not a Cdlifornia resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or

2. Your fotal charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or
other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.”

“The state of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate
economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are
enrolled in a residency program attending certain schools regulated to the Bureau for Private
Postsecondary Education.

You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program,
prepaid tuition, paid STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the
following:

1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.

2. The school's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student fo a third party
for license fees or any other purpose, or o provide equipment or materials for
which a charge was collected with 180 days before the closure of the school.

3. The school’s failure to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to
closure in excess of tuition and other costs.

4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or the Division within 30-days
before the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30-day priors
to closure, the period determined by the Bureau.

5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment
against the Institution for a violation of the Act.”

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a faxpayer
identification number.

Dress Code

Each student will be neatly atftired in suitable clothing such as jeans and shirts. Footwear
should be a sturdy: no sandals or high heels. Clothing such as cutoffs, tank, or halter-tops or no shirt
would be considered inappropriate. Each student should practice good hygiene to present a
clean and neat appearance. This is important not only for the school campus, but also for future
job consideration. Occasionally, Coastal Trucking has Company Recruiters visiting, looking for new
drivers and first impressions count. Because students will be working around equipment, it is
important that long hair is fied back and that loose jewelry is not worn.

Graduation

Students enrolled at Coastal Trucking will under go intensive fraining during the period they attend.
All but the class room portion of Coastal Trucking will be in one of the commercial vehicles. As the
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students learn how to shift, back up and park the appropriate vehicle, they will then move to
driving in town and on the freeway. The Range Instructors will be constantly evaluating their
progress during this time. The student will not go to the DMV performance testing until two
conditions are met: 1) The student’s Instructor indicates to the School Director that the student is
ready and 2) the student feels confident they are prepared. Once the student completes the
DMV testing and has obtained their Class ‘A’ or B’ license, they then will receive their Diploma and
are considered to have graduated.

Student Services

Coastal Trucking offers graduating students job placement assistance. This service is a lifetime offer to
any Coastal Trucking graduate. The student is advised to begin thinking about the type of driving they
would like to do during their fraining. Rememiber a ten-year work history is required. The Student Services
Coordinator will advise of job opportunities in the local and/or national opportunities; depending on the
student’s decision. Weekly, Coastal Trucking has contact with trucking companies, delivery firms, and
those who hire Bus drivers. We refer students, as jobs become available.

Our current library conisists of State of California’s Commercial Drivers Handbook in both English as well as
Spanish. Upon enroliment you will receive a California commercial driver handbook and test study sheets
so that you can prepare for the DMV learners permit. The first week of school we have a class room with
just a few students and review the log book and other DMV requirements. It is understood that we
cannot allow you o begin driving until you have passed the driving learners permit. Once the student
has passed the learners permit, we work with the student until they pass the commercial A or B license.

Coastal Trucking works with a variety of state, county and private agencies to provide training.
All of these agencies have come to trust Coastal Trucking's ability to provide quality training and
maintain the highest levels of service to our students and their sponsoring agencies.
-The list is extensive, below are just a few.

% Cdlifornia Vocational Rehabilitation

% Candelaria American Indians

% Work Force Investment Act (WIA)

% Vocational Counseling Services

% Private Industry Council

< The Work Force Santa Cruz

We provide no housing for the students, or meals. The institution has no dormitory facilities under its
control. Apartments for rent in the yard area range from $800 to $2,000 per month. Nearby are a number
of motels: Motel 6, $49.99--—-Economy Inn $65.00---Best Western $80. Please note, Coastal Trucking has no
responsibility to find or assist a student in finding housing.

All student records are maintained permanently. The files are confidential and are kept in a locked,
limited access area. Students may request to review their file at any time.

For students who are here for training from other countries, please note we offer no visa service or any
other help. Our training is based on D.O.T. and CA DMV rules and regulations.
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Pursuant to section 94909 of the Code, this catalog shall be updated annually. Annual updates may be
made by the use of supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog. If changes in educational
programs, educational services, procedures, or policies required to be included in the catalog by statute
or regulation are implemented before the issuance of the annually updated catalog, those changes
shall be reflected at the time they are made in supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog.
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