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About Massage School of Pasadena

Mission Statement

Massage School of Pasadena (MSP) is dedicated to providing an environment for students to gain the
knowledge and skill necessary to become a top level massage therapists, to prepare students to be
competitive in the job market, promoting a healthy life-style through massage, and providing first-hand
education in a functioning massage/spa environment.

Our Objective for the 300 hour course is to certified our students in the level of Massage Practitioner, so
that he /she may become licensed in the State of California and/or be eligible to work towards taking the
National Board Examination to be licensed in other states.

Our Objective for the 500 hour course is to certified our students in the level of Massage Therapist, so
that he /she may become licensed in the State of California and/or be eligible to take the National Board
Examination to be licensed in other states.

Our Objective for the 750 hour course is to certified our students in the level of Advanced Massage
Therapist, so that he /she may become licensed in the State of California and/or be eligible to take the
National Board Examination to be licensed in other states.

Why Our School?

Facility

Classes at MSP are held within AcuSpa, a fully functioning day spa. Students experience, first-hand, how a
profitable business operates. Our facility is relaxing environment for students, staff, and clients. At MSP,
our students enjoy private rooms and are provided with sheets and lotions. Our instructors are
experienced industry leaders who are knowledgeable and who provide up-to-date education. Our
instructors also work on-site with clients.

Location

Our facility is located in a popular area of Pasadena, within walking distance of fine restaurants, fast food,
and shopping stores. The school is close to 210, 134, and 110 freeways. There is frequent bus service
from downtown Los Angeles and other surrounding cities. The Metro Rail provides service from
downtown Los Angeles and direct connections to south-central Los Angeles and Long Beach. We provide
private rooms for the hands-on lab portion of class. The facility is accessible by elevator and ample
parking is available.

Work-Study
Internships are offered in which students attend to paying clients from the public. With this vital
experience, students at our school will be prepared and eligible for opportunities for future employment.

Method of Instruction
All classes will be conducted in class with an instructor.

Class size
At MSP, we believe strongly in small class size. The art of massage is very detailed and a small class size
will ensure learning success.

The Student Practice Center
MSP is dedicated to providing the best education in massage therapy. We offer a state-of-the-art practice
center with private rooms and a soothing ambiance. The public is encouraged to receive massages from



our students at a discounted rate. This is a useful and unique way for students to get real working
experience. Students will receive an evaluation from each client

Our Curriculum
PROGRAMS
Massage School of Pasadena offers 3 programs. Each program has been aligned with the State of
California and the National Board.

300 Hours Level I Massage Practitioner

16 weeks of classes plus 50 Hours of Internship
Fundamentals of Massage

Anatomy & Physiology |

Swedish Massage Theory

Swedish Massage Lab

Chair Massage

Clinical Internship I- 15 hours

500 Hours Level I Massage Therapist
32 weeks of classes plus 80 Hours of Internship
All the classes of the level |, plus

Deep Tissue Massage

Aromatherapy Massage

Pregnancy Massage

Business Management I and Ethics
Anatomy & Physiology II

Pathology |

Medical Terminology

Clinical Internship II -15 hours

750 Hours Level II Advanced Massage Therapist
50 weeks of classes plus 130 Hours of Internship
All the classes of the Level I and II plus
Myofascial Release Massage

Spa Treatments

Lymphatic Drainage Massage

Foot Reflexology Massage

Shiatsu Massage

Pathology II

Business Management II

Clinical Internship III- 15 hours



REQUIRMENTS FOR COURSE COMPLETION for ALL PROGRAMS

Graduation and Diploma

Students must perform the required hours of internship for each program, have received a GPA of “C” or
higher in all required classes, must have complete all course requirements. Students must have paid all
classes in-full and returned all borrowed materials.

Grading System
Each class has a written and/or practical exam to determine student grades.
Grades are as follows:

90% - 100%= A 80% - 89%= B 70% - 79%-= C Below 70%= *F

Students must receive a “C” or better to receive a certificate for individual classes and a cumulative GPA
of “C” or better to graduate. Students receiving any “F” grades must repeat the failed class.

Student Progress
Quizzes, midterms, and finals are useful tools for students to mark their progress. Students always have
the right to ask instructors for input on their progress.

FACULTY
All Faculties at MASSAGE SCHOOL OF PASADENA undergo an intense interview process. All Instructors at
MASSAGE SCHOOL OF PASADENA is a licensed massage therapist that is active in the massage industry
and have at least three years of classroom experience.

ADMISSIONS, ACCEPTANCE Of CREDITS

Prerequisites
MSP requires proof of high school graduation, equivalent, or most recent educational diplomas. Any other
prerequisites are specified in individual classes.

Ability to Benefit

Before an ability-to-benefit student may execute an enrollment agreement, MASSAGE SCHOOL OF
PASADENA shall have the student take an independently administered examination from the list of
examinations prescribed by the United States Department of Education pursuant to Section 484(d) of the
federal Higher Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. Sec. 1070a et seq.) as it is, from time to time, amended.
The student may not enroll unless the student achieves a score, as specified by the United States
Department of Education, demonstrating that the student may benefit from the education and training
being offered.

Enrollment

To register, students must submit a completed Student Information Sheet and required deposit for the
program of their choice. Upon acceptance, a contract will be issued with start dates and financial
agreements. Please check for a list of required class materials when enrolling.



Eligibility

Students must be at least 17 years of age and must be able to comprehend English to attend MSP.
Students must be emotionally stable and physically capable of performing massages inherent to their
program. MSP does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, creed, national origin, gender, ethnicity,
or sexual orientation.

Admission Requirements for ability -to -benefit students CEC 94909 (a) (8) (A)

Credit for Previous Studies

MSP gives credit for previous studies when appropriate. Students must provide transcripts and any
documents showing proof of training and be prepared to demonstrate any skills in a practical evaluation.
The fee for this one-hour evaluation session is $75. In the case of Anatomy and Physiology, students may
be required to pass a comprehensive exam, at the cost of $75. There are two opportunities to pass this
test. Personal tutoring is available, upon request, for $50 per hour, by an instructor.

TRANSFERABILITY:
MASSAGE SCHOOL OF PASADENA offers programs for the purpose of massage training and does not have
a transfer agreement with any other college or university.

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR
INSTITUTION. The transferability of credits you earn at Massage School of Pasadena is at the complete
discretion of any institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in
the 300 Hour program, the 500 Hour program and/or the 750 Hour program is also at the complete
discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer.

If the credits, certificate that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you
seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some of all your coursework at that institution. For this
reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals.
This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Massage
School of Pasadena to determine if your credits or certificate will transfer.

Cancellation and Refund Rights

The student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through
attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later.

If a student cancels the enrollment agreement prior to completing 60% of the course, a refund will be
granted based on the percentage of class time completed. Students who have completed 60% of the
course, or more, are not entitled to a refund.

Students have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement at any time during the course.

The enrollment agreement must be canceled in writing. A withdrawal may be effectuated by the student’s
written notice or by the students’ conduct, including but not necessarily limited to a students lack of
attendance.

You must complete the Cancellation/Withdrawal form, provided when your enrollment agreement is
signed, and mail it or hand it in to the school director. The refund will be calculated based on the
postmark date, or the date the form is handed in. Your refund will be made within 30 days of this date.
Any outstanding materials must be returned within 7 days of this date, or the full cost of new
replacement equipment will be subtracted from the remaining balance. Only tuition is refundable.

If mailed, the Cancellation/Withdrawal form must be mailed to:

MASSAGE SCHOOL OF PASADENA

350 S. Lake Ave. #220

Pasadena, Ca. 91101



MASSAGE SCHOOL OF PASADENA shall pay or credit refunds within 45 days of a student's cancellation or
withdrawal.

Refund Policy Example for

Cost of tuition = $3000. Divide by 300 hours to get the hourly rate of $12.00. If you withdraw
after having spent 10 hours in class and have already paid the full tuition, your refund would be:
$3000 (tuition) - $120.00 (10 hours at $12.00 per hour) = $2,880. If you withdraw after 89
hours in class, your refund would be: $3000 - $1068.00= $1,932.00. After you spend 150 hours
in class, you have reached 60% of the total class hours and are no longer entitled to a refund.

MSP Policies
Attendance
Attendance will be recorded in each class. Students must attend the scheduled hours specific to their
program. There are a maximum number of hours a student can miss and still graduate from that course.

Missed Class

Students who miss class will be responsible for the material missed. Students who miss more than the
permitted number of program hours will not complete that program or be eligible to take
exams/practical’s until those hours are completed.

Leave of Absence

A student may request a leave of absence (LOA) for personal, health, or financial reasons. A LOA
request must be submitted to the Director in writing. A student who fails to return from a LOA on the
Day scheduled or inform MSP of the reason for not returning, will be considered withdrawn. The
Student will be notified by the Administrator and given an opportunity to respond. If the student is
withdrawn, the standard policy for refunds will apply.

Probation

A student may be placed on probation for the following reasons:
1. Failure to follow Student Conduct Policy.

2. Failure to meet satisfactory academic progress.

3. Failure to fulfill financial requirements.

Probation indicates that a student may continue participation in the course under certain conditions for a
specific period of time, not to exceed one year.

When a student is placed under probation, a conference is scheduled with the student, administration,
and any concerned faculty member to determine the requirements that must be met for the student to
continue in the program. A specific timetable is set for meeting those requirements.

If the student is unable to rectify the problems discussed during the counseling session, they will be
placed on a one week suspension. If the problem should arise again, the student will be dismissed from
the school.

Dismissal Policy

MSP reserves the right to dismiss any student that does not comply with any school policy, at the school
or at any school function.

Re-entrance may be accepted if a student can demonstrate that conditions causing the situation have
been resolved.



Complaint/Appeals Procedure

Students may lodge a complaint pertaining to decisions made on grades, probations, dismissals, etc.
Students should first meet with the student chairperson, instructor, administrator, or director who
initiated

the decision or whoever is most likely to help with the problem. If students do not receive satisfaction
resolution, they may take additional action as follow:

1. Complaints/appeals of any decisions made by any representative of AIMT must be made in
writing. The complaint/appeal should include:

a. The nature of the problem

b. The date(s) of occurrence

c. The names of the people involved

d. A brief description of the steps taken thus far

e. Copies of supporting materials

2. The written appeal is to be forwarded to the person next in the chain of appeals:

a. Student Chairperson (if applicable) b. Instructor

c. Administrator

d. Director

For unresolved conflicts, students may send a complaint to:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

2535 Capitol oaks Drive, Suite 400

Sacramento, California 95833

Telephone: (888) 370-7589

Tardiness
If a student is more than 15 minutes late for a class, the time must be made up. Regular tardiness will be
reflected in the final grade.

Make-up Work

We require that students make up hours missed, weather permitted or unpermitted. Make up work will
be accessed on a case by case basis and will consist of take home assignments or additional hours in the
internship.

Unfinished Class Work

If a student does not complete the program as scheduled, they will receive an “incomplete”. An
“Incomplete” grade becomes an “F” if student does not complete required course work within the time
the course if offered.

Holidays
If class falls on one of the following holidays, school will be out and class will be made up: New Year,
Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.

Record Retention

MSP shall maintain students’ records for five (5) years from the date of enrollment with the exception of
Student Transcripts which will be kept permanently.

Student information is deemed to be confidential and will not be released without the students’ prior
written consent with a signed document. The exception to this policy is student census information,
which is public information: the name of the student, status of enrollment, dates of attendance and dates
of graduation. Students have the right to withhold the disclosure of any or all of this information by
submitting a written request to the administration.



Housing and Distance Learning
MSP does not provide housing and distance learning for its students.

Visa Services

International students (F-1 Visa) are eligible for admission at MSP, however the responsibility of
obtaining a visa is that of the potential students. MSP will provide assistance where applicable. Full visa
services are not available at MSP.

Placement Services
MSP provides placement counseling after graduation. MSP will make every effort in assisting our
students in their search for employment. There is no guaranteed placement.

Library
MSP has DVDs, textbooks, health magazines and ample resumes for reviewing. All learning resources can
be checked out with your instructor.

Services

Practice rooms- students can reserve rooms for practicing massage.

Equipment rental - students can check out massage tables and chairs for overnight use.
Tutoring - MSP can provide private tutoring for $35 an hour.

Facilities and Equipment

MSP Classes at MSP are held within AcuSpa, a fully functioning day spa. Students experience, first-hand,
how a profitable business operates. Our facility is relaxing environment for students, staff, and clients. At
MSP our students enjoy private rooms and are provided with sheets and lotions. Equipment used for
instruction includes, massage tables, massage chairs, DVDs, charts, books and models.

Student Tuition Recovery Fund

The Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) was established by the California legislature to

protect any California resident who attends a private postsecondary institution. According to
California law, a fee must be assessed from each student upon enrollment, of $2.50 for each $1000
of tuition for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund. This is a state requirement. These fees allow the
state of California to reimburse students for the amount of prepaid and unused tuition expenses in
the event that an institution should close down unexpectedly, fail to live up to its enrollment
agreement, or refuse to pay a court judgment.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident and reside in California at the time the
enrollment agreement is signed, or when you receive lessons at a California mailing address from an
approved institution offering correspondence instruction. Students who are temporarily residing in
California for the sole purpose of pursuing an education, specifically those who hold student visas,
are not considered a California resident.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, you must file a STRF application within one year of receiving
notice from the Bureau that the school is closed. If you do not receive notice from the Bureau, you
have four years from the date of closure to file a STRF application. If a judgment is obtained, you
must file a STRF application within two years of the final judgment.

[t is important to keep copies of the enrollment agreement, financial aid papers, receipts, or any other
information that documents the monies paid to the school.

For further information or instructions contact:

BPPE (Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education)

P.0. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818(916)431-6959



An Estimated Schedule of Total Charges for the 300 Hour Program
TOTAL OF HOURS TO BE COMPLETED: 300
The objective of these courses is to train and educate the student to become a Massage

Practitioner. By successfully completing this course, this educational service is represented to lead to
certification of the title of MASSAGE PRACTITONER.

BREAKDOWN OF COURSE:
FEES, CHARGES, AND EXPENSES:

Registration $100 Non-Refundable Fee Program

Tuition $4000 Prorated Upon Course Withdraw. Refer to Refund Provisions
Books $140

STRF Assessment $7.50 Non-Refundable Student is assessed $2.50 per thousand

dollars of tuition paid (except third party tuition)

Linens Included

DVD Included

TOTAL FEES, CHARGES, AND EXPENSES: $4247.50

Schedule of Payments:

Total Amount due: $5752.50. Student will pay $500 to start the program and make payments per
agreement with the Massage School of Pasadena. Student will pay $140 to receive books prior to Start
Date.

An Estimated Schedule of Total Charges for the 500 Hour Program

TOTAL OF HOURS TO BE COMPLETED: 500

The objective of these courses is to train and educate the student to become a Massage

Therapist. By successfully completing this course, this educational service is represented to lead to
certification of the title of CERTIFIED MASSAGE THERAPIST

BREAKDOWN OF COURSE:
FEES, CHARGES, AND EXPENSES:

Registration $100 Non-Refundable Fee Program

Tuition $6000 Prorated Upon Course Withdraw. Refer to Refund Provisions
Books $140

STRF Assessment $12.50 Non-Refundable Student is assessed $2.50 per thousand

dollars of tuition paid (except third party tuition)

Linens Included
DVD Included
TOTAL FEES, CHARGES, AND EXPENSES: $5752.50 OR (if paid in full)

Schedule of Payments:

Total Amount due: $6752.50. Student will pay $500 to start the program and make payments per
agreement with the Massage School of Pasadena. Student will pay $140 to receive books prior to Start
Date.

An Estimated Schedule of Total Charges for the Entire Educational Program; 750 Hour Program
TOTAL OF HOURS TO BE COMPLETED: 750
The objective of these courses is to train and educate the student to become an Advanced Massage

Therapist. By successfully completing this course, this educational service is represented to lead to
certification of the title of ADANCED CERTIFIED MASSAGE THERAPIST.



BREAKDOWN OF COURSE:
FEES, CHARGES, AND EXPENSES:

Registration $100 Non-Refundable Fee Program

Tuition $8,000 Prorated Upon Course Withdraw. Refer to Refund Provisions
Books $140

STRF Assessment $20.00 Non-Refundable Student is assessed $2.50 per thousand

dollars of tuition paid (except third party tuition)

Linens Included
DVD Included
TOTAL FEES, CHARGES, AND EXPENSES: $8260.00

Schedule of Payments:

Total Amount due: $8,260.00. Student will pay $500 to start the program and make payments per
agreement with the Massage School of Pasadena. Student will pay $140 to receive books prior to Start
Date.

LOANS

If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to
repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student has

received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid fro

federal student financial aid program funds.

TITLE IV
Massage School of Pasadena does not receive Title IV financial aid.



City Licensing

All of our programs are designed to meet the various requirements of massage therapy throughout the
state of California. Since licensing requirements vary between cities/counties, students are advised to
consult the licensing authorities in the area in which they plan to practice. MSP staff can answer most
questions regarding licensing and certification.

In January of 2010, the State of California opened the first State Massage Therapy Board. Licensing
information can be found at www.cmatc.org

Completion of our 500 hour program allows students to sit for the National Exam. The National
Certification exam requires at least 500 hours of massage therapy and allows students to practice in
most cities in California and most states in the nation. Study workshops are offered to assist students
in preparing for this voluntary exam.

STATE REQUIREMENTS

State of California Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF)

"You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the
following applies to you:

1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a
residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or
personal loans, and

2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program
or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment,
if either of the following applies:

1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or

2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other
payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party."

(b) In addition to the statement described under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution
shall include the following statement on its current schedule of student charges:

"The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate
economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are
enrolled in a residency programs attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private
Postsecondary and Vocational Education.

You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program,
prepaid tuition, paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the
following:

1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.

2. The school's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees
or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within
180 days before the closure of the school.

3. The school's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan
program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in
excess of tuition and other costs.

4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 30 days before the school
closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, the period determined by
the Bureau.

5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the
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institution for a violation of the Act."
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer
identification number.

MSP Policies

ATTENDANCE

Attendance will be recorded in each class. Students must attend the scheduled hours specific to their
program. There is a maximum number of hours a student can miss and still graduate from that course.

Missed Class

Students who miss class will be responsible for the material missed. Students who miss more than the
permitted number of program hours will not complete that program or be eligible to take
exams/practical’s until those hours are completed.

Tardiness
If a student is more than 15 minutes late for a class, the time must be made up. Regular tardiness will
be reflected in the final grade.

Probation/Dismissal

Suspension

MSP reserves the right to suspend a student for not following any school policy. In the case of a
suspension, actions must be corrected prior to resuming classes.

Dismissal Policy

MSP reserves the right to dismiss any student that does not comply with any school policy, at the
school or at any school function.

Re-entrance may be accepted if a student can demonstrate that conditions causing the situation have
been resolved.

Make-up Work

We require that students make up hours missed, weather permitted or unpermitted. Make up work
will be accessed on a case by case basis and will consist of take home assignments or additional hours
in the internship.

Drop-outs
If a student does not attend three consecutive classes with out contacting MSP, they will be considered
a drop-out, will receive an “Incomplete.”

Unfinished Class Work

If a student does not complete the program as scheduled, they will receive an “incomplete”. An
“Incomplete” grade becomes an “F” if student does not complete required course work within the time
the course if offered.

Holidays

If class falls on one of the following holidays, school will be out and class will be made up: New Year,
Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
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STUDENT SERVICES

Auditing Classes

A student may sit in on a class already attended, with a passing grade, for 60% of the current tuition.
Students are not required to take any written/practical exams. Graduates are also eligible for this
privilege.

CEU'’s, Individual Classes, and Workshops
Updated regularly, please check with school administrator. Certificates of completion will be given to
those who qualify.

Staff Evaluation

At the end of each class, students are encouraged to complete evaluations of the faculty, course, and
school. Evaluations are carefully reviewed as part of our commitment to open communication and to
the highest quality of instruction possible.

Complaint Procedure

If a student has a complaint about any student, instructor, or of the premises, the staff encourages the
student to first address the issue directly with the person(s) involved. If the outcome is unsatisfactory,
or if the nature of the complaint is uncomfortable, a student may lodge a complaint by communicating
with any staff member orally or in writing. All complaints will be investigated thoroughly, including
interviewing all involved parties and reviewing all documents that relate, or may potentially relate, to
the complaint. A record of the complaint, its disposition, and the reasons behind it shall be kept in the
school and a copy shall be placed in the student’s file.

Tuition

Course Tuition Fees

MSP Level I 300 hours is $4,000.
MSP Level I 500 hours is $6,000.
MSP Level III 750 hours is $ 8,000

Fees include: videos, DVDs, CDs, products, or any other materials. Cost of books and aromatherapy
products not included.

Delinquent Tuition Accounts

MSP reserves the right to collect tuition owed for instruction provided to the students. Tuition not paid
in a timely fashion is subject to interest and penalties. If after making reasonable attempts to collect
delinquent tuition owed, MSP will consider outside collection agencies to assist in the collection of
delinquent tuition owed.

Payment Policy

Payment for classes or programs can be paid in full or in agreed upon monthly payments. A monthly
payment plan can be tailored to your needs at no additional cost. Deposits are required at least three
weeks in advance of a start date to hold space in a class or program; $100 of this deposit is non-
refundable.

LOANS
Please contact the school directly for more information.
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CLASS DESCRIPTIONS

Anatomy and Physiology I, 11, III

The study of anatomy and physiology is an essential part of a massage therapy education. A students level of understanding the
human body can greatly effect which jobs they qualify for and what clients they will see.

Students will learn to understand the 12 systems of the body, planes & directions, regions of the body, tissues, structures,
and mechanisms which control human function needed for each program level.

Aromatherapy I

Designed to introduce you to the wonderful world of aromatherapy. Learn the most common essentials oils and how each
can be used for massage and in everyday life. Bring an open mind and nose and be prepared to go on a beautiful sensory
journey. A product fee does apply.

Aromatherapy II
This class is designed for students who have completed Aromatherapy I and want to take essential oils to the next level.
Students learn how to blend oils and learn a higher level of diagnosis and treatment with oil.

Business Practices I & Ethics

Learn what it takes to be a value to yourself, your client and a future employer and have a successful massage practice.
Basic training in goal setting, marketing, and client record-keeping. Ethics and legal issues are covered. Effective
advertising, acquiring business cards, screening clients, and stimulating referrals are discussed. Also, learn to prepare a
resume, conduct yourself in an interview, and to be a model employee and valued team player.

Business Practices I1

An advanced class for those who are promoting their own business. Students will learn up-to-date marketing strategies to
make their business stand out from all others. Designed to keep students aware of their personal and business strength and
weaknesses as well as define and target their ideal clientele, learn to interview, hire, and staff a successful group of
professionals.

Chair Massage

This class will introduce you to new ways of relieving tension and quickly relaxing the body with chair massage techniques.
Swedish, deep connective tissue, and soft-subtle touch techniques will be incorporated into a routine that will last
anywhere from five minutes to an hour. Internship hours required.

Cranio-Sacral I

A balanced Cranial-Sacral system is key in the optimal functioning of the human body. Cranial-Sacral Therapy is a gentle,
effective method useful in treating symptoms of TM], migraines, neck and shoulder pain, and many others. Techniques covered
include palpation of the CS rhythm, including still-point and facilitation of physical and energetic releases.

Cranio-Sacral II
Cranial-Sacral Il will further the skills of full body evaluations by teaching students to identify degrees of facial tension and
energy blockages.

Deep Tissue I

The techniques learned: trigger point, cross fiber, passive joint movement w/ muscle stripping, and others, work into the
layers of muscle and connective tissues, the techniques help to facilitate structural release and balance, relieve tension and
holding patterns to increase range of motion and restore function of the body. Students will have a great understanding of
clients chief complaints, how to recognize them and remedy there pain.

Deep Tissue II
An advanced massage for those who completed DT L. DT II is designed to help therapists deliver a therapeutic massage to
the most challenging client/patient, without compromising their own health.

5 Element Treatment

A wonderful introduction to Theory of Chinese Medicine using the 5-Elemental Theory. Achieve a basic understanding of
people's health and recognize imbalances in the body before they become sick. Learn useful tools of how to get
clients/patients back into balance. This class includes an introduction to Acuroma, the use of aroma oils on acupoints.
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Fundamentals of Massage (Formally, History of Massage)

Learn the origins of massage; how and why it evolved over the years. Find out who is credited with creating the practice.
worldwide. Understand the benefits, how new advances in technology have helped shape massage today, and what the
future holds for massage therapy.

Hot Stone Massage and Hot Stone Deluxe

Hot stone massage is a luxurious body treatment offered in all of today’s top spas and resorts. This soothing and deep-healing
treatment is easy to learn and fun to perform, best of all it is easy on the practitioner’s hands.

This class includes instruction on how to perform a traditional Hot Stone Treatment and also transform into a luxurious spa
treatment.

Lymphatic Massage I

Lympatic Drainage (LD) is designed to increase the flow of lymph throughout the entire body. This is essential for the
acceleration of detoxification, release of excess fluid, and enhanced immune function. This course teaches the anatomy of the
lymphatic system, the 4-Point Method for stimulating major lymph duct drainage and proper drainage techniques,
including palpation and direction of strokes.

Pathology I and II
Study different diseases of the internal and external systems of the body. Determine which situations desire massage,
which are acceptable with modifications and which are prohibit massage.

Pregnancy Massage

Beginning on a firm foundation of how mother’s body changes structurally during pregnancy, you will learn to perform a
full-body massage during pregnancy. Study how certain massage techniques/practices are a perfect way to reduce stress
and promote general well-being.

Foot Reflexology and Foot Reflexology Plus

A natural healing art, using the micro systems located on the feet, hands, and ears which correspond to every part of the body.
Students will learn traditional Foot Reflexology, plus techniques to further enhance the service with essential oils.

This class is also an introduction to essential oils.

Shiatzu/Acupressure Massage

Students learn pressing and rubbing techniques - using thumbs, palms, forearms, elbows, knees- to apply pressure to areas
of the body. Coupled with basic stretching, massage is used for correcting the imbalances of the body, promoting, and
maintaining health.

Spa Treatments

Learn a variety of spa techniques used all over the world. Discover the health benefits of these techniques for you and your
clients. Understand the therapeutic properties and the unique benefits of individual ingredients. Learn water and non-
water treatments. This class requires a product charge.

Sports Massage

An advanced massage to alleviate stress and tension built-up in the soft tissues of the body during intense physical activity.
Promoting recovery from minor injuries due to over-exertion and improper mechanics. This massage prepares athletes for
peak performance, flushing the body of metabolic waste, relief soreness, and reduce muscular tension. Sport Massage is
beneficial when athletes is training for an event. It is helpful for anyone stretching their physical limits. Both professional
and amateur athletes who use their bodies in physically demanding ways will benefit from this form of muscle therapy.

Swedish Massage

One of the most popular forms of body work in the field of massage therapy, Swedish massage provides a solid foundation for
other forms of bodywork, such as deep tissue and trigger point therapy, which are often blended into a Swedish massage
session.

Swedish massage employs a set of techniques that relax muscle tissue, improve circulation of the cardiovascular and
lymphatic systems, and relax the body and mind.

Thai Massage

Thai massage promotes energy flow along meridians or sen liens, which maintain harmony between the body and mind. It

combines aspects of yoga, deep stretching, reflexology, energy work, and acupressure in a uniquely Thai blend of rhythmic

movement. MSP will provide students with the skills to perform a complete Thai massage treatment. This class emphasizes
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demonstration and practice of techniques with attention to working in a centered, relaxed, and meditative style. In
addition, there will be lectures on Thai medical theory, cultural background, and history.

Testimonials

3/10/2010
What a Gem! :)

[ was so fortunate to have found out about the student massages at AcuSpa's Massage School. If anyone
is looking for a massage school | would definitely look into this place; class sizes were small which
really gave the students a lot of individual attention.

Plus the Massage school is actually inside a lovely private spa! I think this gives the students a huge
benefit because, what better learning environment can you ask for then the real deal. And it's a really
relaxing and soothing place to be a client so I can imagine how nice it would be to be a student here.

Also, the instructor Kevin was really friendly to me and the students during my visit. [ look forward to
my next massage with them, couldn't even tell that they were students!

Summer ]
Studio City

[ am glad I made the decision to attend Massage School of Pasadena. The training
was detailed and I learned a lot from Kevin. [ am already working as a Massage Therapist!

Sandy H.
Arcadia

"My experience at the Massage School of Pasadena has been very rewarding and fulfilling. I learned so
much in my time there, and felt extremely prepared to enter the work force with the skills and
especially the experience I gained. The faculty and administration are dedicated, helpful, and kind. I
highly recommend this school!"

Sarah E.
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