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APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT: UNIVERSAL BEAUTY COLLEGE (UBC), has 

received Temporary Approval to operate from the Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational 

Education 400 R Street, Suite 5000, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone (916) 445-3427, pursuant to 

California Education Code Section 943IO(a). A temporary approval is merely an interim 

designation the Bureau 'can authorize pending a qualitative review and assessment of the 

institution. At the time it is issued, the Bureau has not yet conducted a site visit. It is issued if the 

Bureau determines that the institution operational plan satisfies the minimum standards listed in 

Education Code 94311 (a). The temporary approval will remain in effect for at least 90 days, but 

not more than 360 days in order to enable the Bureau to conduct the site visit and inspection of the 

institution. After the visit, the Bureau will than determine whether the institution should be 

approved on a permanent basis. The courses pending temporary approval are: Cosmetology: 1600 

Clock Hours, Manicuring: 400 Clock Hours, Cosmetician 600 Clock Hours, Massage Therapy 600 

Clock Hours Instruction is in residence with facilities occupancy level accommodating 50 students 

at anyone time. Prospective enrollees are encouraged to visit the physical facilities of the school 

and to discuss personal, educational and occupational plans with school personnel prior to enrolling 

or signing enrollment agreements. This school currently does not have available sponsored 

programs, government or otherwise, to provide grants or to pay for portions of tuition and fees.  

The following are state agencies, have set minimum standards for our program of studies: BOARD 

OF BARBERING & COSMETOLOGY & BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY AND 

VOCATIONAL EDUCATION.  Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first 

contact the instructor in charge. Requests for further action may be made to the Owner – Ms. 

Mayette Nhan.  All information in the contents of this school catalog is current and correct and is 

so certified as true by: Ms. Mayette Nhan  

 

 

Owner Signature:  

Unresolved complaints may be directed to the: Physical Address: Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento California, 95833; TELEPHONE (916) 

574-7720.  

 

******************************************************************************** 

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND STATEMENT State of California STUDENT 

TUITION RECOVERY FUND: California law requires that, upon enrollment, a fee be assessed the 

institution in relation to the cost of tuition (Education Code Section 94944). These fees support the 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF), a special fund established by the California Legislature to 

reimburse students who might otherwise experience a financial loss as a result of: a) the closure of 

the institution before the course of instruction was completed, b) The school's failure to pay refunds 

or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or any other purpose, or to provide 

equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the 

school, c) The school's failure to pay reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student 

loan program as required by law or to pay reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to 

closure in excess of tuition and other costs, d) the school's breach of anticipatory breach of the 

agreement for the course of instruction, or d) a decline in the quality or value of the courses of 

instruction within the 30 days before the school closed, or if the decline began earlier than 30 days 

prior to the closure, a time period of decline determined by the Bureau, e) the school committed 

fraud during the recruitment or enrollment or program participation of the student.  

You may be eligible for STRF if you were a student that was unable to collect a court judgment 

entered against the school for violation of the Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education 

Reform Act of J 989.  All students must pay the state imposed fee for the Student Tuition Recovery 
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Fund (STRF) if all the following applies to you: You are a student, who is a California resident and 

prepays all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans and 

your total charges are not paid by either any third-party payer such as an employer, government 

program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. You are not 

eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF fee if either of the 

following applies: You are not a California resident and your charges are paid by a third party, such 

as an employer, government program or other payer, and if you have no separate agreement to 

repay the third party. New Education Code 94944 (a) (b).  The fund protects only California 

students. Institutional participation is mandatory.  

It is important that enrollees keep a copy of any enrollment agreement, contract, or application to 

document enrollment; tuition receipts or canceled checks to document the total amount of tuition 

paid. Such information may substantiate a claim for reimbursement from the STRF, which must be 

filed within one year of the Bureau's service on the student of their rights under the STRF, or if no 

notice of rights are served to the student, within four years of imputations closure.  

For further information or instructions contact: TELEPHONE (916) 574-7720. Physical Address: 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento 

California, 95833. 

 

 

FROM THE OWNER  

WELCOME 

 

Dear Student,  

 

Welcome to UBC and thank you for selecting us to assist you in obtaining your desired 

cosmetology training. You are now entering into a field experience that will hopefully provide you 

with the opportunity for a successful future in the beauty industry. At UBC, we offer you the basic 

training to pass the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology examination. We place emphasis on how 

to be successful in the marketplace and how to be successful at every operation necessary to create 

the lifestyle you desire. This means hard work, dedication, and practice on your part.  

You will practice shop management, business concepts, and the psychology of personal success.  

It is a pleasure to have you join us at UBC, My goal is to help you discover your ability to 

transform your life by your training. The degree of your success will depend on the effort you are 

willing to apply during the entire course of your training.  

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Ms. Mayette Nhan 

Owner/Director 

 

******************************************************************************** 
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MISSION STATEMENT & EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES 

 

MISSION STATEMENT: UBC strongly believes that any person who has the ability, desire and 

determination to benefit from vocational training programs should be given each and every 

opportunity to do so.  

 

EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES: Our objective is to provide each enrolled student with a high-

quality program, in an environment conducive to attaining real-world skills, by adopting a straight 

forward pragmatic methodology. Upon completing the course of study the graduate student should 

be able to function effectively in one of the many specialty areas such as: Hair Stylist, Hair 

Colorist, Manicurist, Make-up Artist, Esthetician, Massage Therapist or as a Beauty Salon 

Operator. Normal progression should move him or her to positions such as Beauty Salon Manager, 

Beauty Salon Owner, Cosmetology Teacher or School Owner.  

Students will be introduced and provided structured instruction in a state-of-the-art learning 

environment. Under these conditions, students acquire hands-on experience and acquire the 

knowledge and techniques needed to successfully complete their program of study. Students are 

encouraged to utilize the resource library, which can supplement their learning experience. Our 

school simulates salon conditions to help our students "learn-by-doing", with modern equipment 

and a variety of supplies that help enhance the student's product knowledge. Each student uses a 

locker to keep his/her uniform and private articles. Our students learn to practice manage the 

reception desk, logging patrons in, answering the telephone and operating the cash register and 

assist in operating our supply system. Our objective is to help the student become "salon-ready" for 

an entry level position of employment in a salon.  

UBC, faculty is exhibited daily in the classroom and in the clinic. This core staff is supplemented 

on a regular basis through the use of guest artists, lecturers, and trainers with proven expertise from 

virtually all cosmetology, manicuring, and skin care professions.  

FACILITIES: UBC, is a spacious (3,100 sq. ft.) air-conditioned, one story modern facility 

accessible to all public transportation. The facility consists of combined lecture/lab rooms, 

workshop areas, administrative offices, student resource library and student and faculty lounge. The 

school, the facility it occupies and the equipment it utilizes fully comply with any and all Federal, 

State and Local laws, regulations and ordinances. This includes those requirements as to fire safety, 

building safety and health regulations. UBC welcomes all persons interested in a beauty career. We 

are happy to have you visit the school at any time. Come in and see our student facilities and the 

teaching staff and consider the many advantages for our serious student. We will be pleased to 

answer all of your questions.  

 

FOR HANDICAPPED STUDENTS: Access for handicapped students to the institution's facilities 

is available at the college. This institution does offer programs for the handicapped student 

depending on the physical ability of the handicapped student.  

 

STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION: UBC does not discriminate on the basis of race, 

color, religion, sex, handicap, financial status, age, ethnic origin, area of origin or residence in its 

admissions, instruction, or graduation policies.  

 

COURSES OF STUDY: COSMETOLOGY COURSE: (1,600 Clock Hours), Manicuring Course  

(400 Clock Hours), Cosmetician Course (600 Clock Hours), Massage Therapy Course (600 Clock 

Hours). The course of study for students enrolled in their course of study shall consist of the state 

mandated technical instructional and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art 

of Cosmetology, Manicuring, Cosmetician and Massage Therapy. Educational Goals: The courses 
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of study are designed to prepare students for the state licensing examination and for profitable 

employment as a  

Cosmetologist: (D.O.T. #332.271-010, CIP #12.0403) Manicuring (D.O.T. #33l.674-010, CIP # 

12.04099), Cosmetician (D.O.T. # 332.271-010, CIP #12.0406). Massage Therapy does not require 

a license to become employed however, in most cities a permit is required by the Local Police 

Department. Massage Therapy (D.O.T. # 332.27102, CIP # 12.0405).  

 

ADMISSION POLICY: Enrollees are admitted as regular students once one of the following 

criteria has been met.  

A) Applicant must provide a copy of his/her High School Diploma, GED, California State 

Proficiency Test or its equivalent, and pass an admissions test (CPAt Student Aptitude Test, 

published by "ACT) with a minimum score of 126 as stated in the test publisher's guidelines. For a 

student that has immigrated to the United States and cannot provide an actual copy of the High 

School Diploma or its equivalent, the applicant will be required to write a statement certifying the 

completion of High School or its equivalent. The statement must include name of high school, city, 

state and country where the high school is located, date of graduation and the .reason why records 

may not be available.  

B) Students lacking the High School Diploma or its equivalent, must be at least 18 years old 

(Compulsory school attendance in California),must have completed the 10th grade education level 

or its equivalent as required by the Board of Barbering & Cosmetology and pass an Ability to 

Benefit exam prior to admission,  

Students admitted under this criteria, will be required to pass one of the Ability-to-Benefit tests 

approved by the US Department of Education administered by an independent proctor. Students 

subject to this criterion are referred to as students admitted under the Ability-to-Benefit criteria 

guidelines. Currently, our school is using the (CPAt Test) published by 'The American College 

Testing Program. This test is approved by the Secretary of Education, Washington, DC. The 

passing score for this test is 126 or higher. This test will be administered by an independent agency. 

The school's admissions personnel will provide applicants with additional information as to how to 

arrange for the Ability-to-Benefit test. All Ability-to­Benefit students must take and pass the test 

prior to admissions. If you do not pass the exam, re-testing is available after a waiting period and 

the independent test agency will explain and provide you with the re­testing procedures.  

C) Our school does not recruit students already attending or admitted to another school offering a 

similar program of study. .. ,  

 

CREDIT EVALUATION: Appropriate credit will be granted for prior training or experience upon 

review and verification by college officials of its validity under the Cosmetology Act and the Board 

of Barbering and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations. Occasionally, a student's acceptance by the 

college will depend entirely on the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. 

 

RE-ENTRY POLICY: All students who withdraw may re-enter into the program without the loss 

of credit Program hours and provided it is within 5 years from the date of their withdrawal which is 

an institutional policy. All records of the student are stored for five (5) years only and it is the 

responsibility of the student to maintain all documents received from the institution. The institution 

reserves the right to evaluate the previous enrollment and to verify that the student was in good 

standing with the college before the student is accepted for re-enrollment.  

 

ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE: This institution does not offer English as a Second 

Language (ESL) course. All prospective students that are accepted for enrollment must be 

proficient in the English language. Since all of our instructors are bilingual either in English, 
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Spanish, Vietnamese or Chinese some translation of the terms may occur but ALL instructions will 

be conducted in English at a pace of English as a second language if need be. 

FRESHMAN CLASS-ENROLLMENT: The freshman curriculum for each of the courses requires 

a specific number of hours of classroom lectures, demonstrations, and student practice. SEE 

CURRICULUMS STARTING ON PAGE 16. The freshman class teaches you from the very 

beginning and introduces the basics for those areas that you will need to know to pass licensing 

examinations. From this initial introduction, you will learn all fundamentals that are the basics for 

your future and career. The hours spent in the freshman class are as follows: Cosmetology: 200 hrs, 

Esthetician: 80 hrs, Manicuring: 50 hrs. UBC considers the freshman classes to be the foundation 

for your future.  

 

TEXTBOOKS, EOUIPMENT & SUPPLIES: Textbooks will be issued at the beginning of the 

freshman class. All needed supplies and equipment will be maintained in the freshman classroom. 

At the beginning of second week of the freshman training, each student will be issued a complete 

kit of equipment with carrying case. The kit contains the equipment necessary for satisfactory 

completion of the course. Students are expected to maintain the kit by replacing lost or broken 

articles. The college is not responsible for a student's equipment, either lost or stolen. Students must 

learn to be responsible for the tools of their trade.  

 

CALENDAR HOLIDAYS: The college is closed on Sunday & Mondays, and the following 

holidays: Dr. Martin Luther King Day, President's Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, 

Thanksgiving Day and the day after, the Monday of Christmas week through Monday after-New 

Year's. A 'special' holiday may be declared for emergencies or special reasons. Holy Days of all 

religious beliefs are respected and allowed.  

CLASS SCHEDULES: 2013-2014: Classes: Day classes for Cosmetology, Cosmetician, 

Manicuring, and Massage Therapy courses, start weekly: Every Tuesday.  

 

ORIENTATION CLASS: Orientation class for students is held each Tuesday morning, 8:30 a.m. 

until 10:30 a.m., prior to any new class starting. All new students, transfers and re-enrollment 

students are required to attend prior to admission.  

 

DISCLOSURE OF EDUCATION RECORDS: Adult students, parents of minor students and 

parents of tax dependent students, have the right to inspect, review, and challenge information 

contained in their education records. However, a staff member must be present. Education records 

are defined as files, materials, and documents which contain information directly related to the 

student and are maintained by the institution. The school will maintain files for five (5) years. 

Students are not entitled to inspect the financial records of their parents. Written consent is required 

from the student (or their guardian if the student.is a dependent minor) before education records 

may be disclosed to third parties with the exception of accrediting commissions or governmental 

agencies so authorized by law.  

 

PROGRESS POLICY: Considering the varied capabilities of individual students, some may 

progress from one phase of training to another at a more rapid pace. However, all students must 

satisfactorily complete all subject matter prior to graduation unless credit has been allowed for 

previous training or experience in a particular subject area. Successful graduates will be awarded an 

appropriate diploma upon completion of their training program.  

 

REAL AND PHYSICAL CONSIDERATIONS: Generally, the professional in the beauty field 

must be in good physical health for he/she will be working in direct contact with patrons. In most 
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aspects of the beauty culture field there is a great deal of standing, walking, pushing, bending and 

stretching and sometimes for long periods of time. A person must consider his/her physical 

limitations in terms of extensive training. We promote the acceptance of students with physical 

limitations or disabilities. If these students believe they can fulfill training demands.  

 

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP): STANDARDS: This institution expects its 

students to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as established by this institution, the 

student must:  

1. Maintain a cumulative academic average of "C" (70%) or better on all tests, work projects 

(operations) and other required course work. 

2. Maintain a cumulative average attendance level of at least two-thirds (2/3) (67%) of the 

scheduled hours indicated on their enrollment contract. For example, a student scheduled to 

complete 30 hours per week would have to maintain an average weekly attendance of at least 20 

hours per week (2/3 x 30 = 20).  

Regardless of the average level of attendance, students who have more than three consecutive 

weeks of absences (21 calendar days) will be dismissed. This standard shall apply to all students 

except those on an approved Leave-of­Absence (see LOA policy). Students who expect to be 

absent 21 or more days up to 60 days are encouraged to request a Leave-of-Absence. In addition to 

attendance standards relating to Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP), students are also required 

to adhere to certain other general institutional policies relating to attendance and tardiness. These 

policies are outlined in the "School Rules" section of this catalog on pages 10-11.  

3. Complete the course within one and one-half (1-1 1/2) times the length of the course as defined 

in the enrollment agreement. For example, if the student has contracted to complete the course 

within 40 weeks, he or she must complete within 60 weeks.  

4. Students must meet minimum academic and attendance requirements for at least one evaluation 

prior to the midpoint (50%) of the course to be considered as meeting satisfactory progress at the 

end of an evaluation period. A student will be considered to be making satisfactory progress until 

the next evaluation. 

 

EVALUATION PERIODS: Students compliance with the Satisfactory Academic Progress is 

divided into evaluation periods and is assessed at each of the following times: For Cosmetology 

Students only.  

* The point at which 25% of the course is scheduled to be completed;  

* The point at which 50% of the course is scheduled to be completed;  

* The point at which 75% of the course is scheduled to be completed;  

* The point at which 90% of the course is scheduled to be completed;  

* The point of actual completion, or at which each additional 400 clock hours are scheduled to be 

completed, beyond graduation date.  

Example: For the 1600 clock hour Cosmetology course, a student will be evaluated at the 

increments in which the student is scheduled to reach 400, 800, 1200, and 1440 clock hours, if 

applicable; at the point of which the student is scheduled to reach an additional 400 clock hours 

beyond scheduled completion, or at actual completion.  

Evaluation periods for the Cosmetician, Massage Therapy and Manicuring Courses the evaluations 

will be performed as follows: The point at which 45% of the course is scheduled to be completed; 

the point at which 90% of the course is scheduled to be completed;  

Example: For the 600 clock hour Cosmetician & Massage Therapy course, a student will be 

evaluated at the increments at which the student is scheduled to reach 270, and 540 clock hours.  

Example: For the 400 clock hour Manicurist course a student will be evaluated at the increments at 

which the student is scheduled to reach 180 and 360 clock hours.  
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Special Note: The percentage of the course scheduled to be completed is defined according to the 

terms of the enrollment agreement. Example: A student enrolled at 100 hours per month would be 

scheduled to complete a 600 hour course in 6 months, a 400 hour course in 4 months and a 1600 

hours course in 16 months, allowing no absences.  

For example a student enrolled in a 40 week, 1600 clock hour program would be evaluated for SAP 

after the 10th week; the 20th week; the 30th week and the 36th week these dates would correspond 

to the point at which the Student was scheduled to have completed 400, 800, 1200, and 1440 clock 

hours. In the event a student reaches his/her scheduled graduation date and has hours remaining to 

complete, the student will receive additional evaluations; either at the time the student is scheduled 

to reach each additional 400 clock hours, or at the time of actual completion of the remaining 

hours, which ever occurs first.  

ACADEMIC PROBATION: Students who fail to meet SAP standards during a given evaluation 

period will be placed on academic/or attendance probation for one additional evaluation period. 

Students remain eligible to receive aid during the probation period and will be considered as 

making SAP progress during the probationary period.  

Probationary students who fail to meet SAP by the conclusion of the probationary period will be 

deemed not to be making satisfactory academic/and or Attendance Progress, and may be terminated 

at the discretion of the institution. In the event such students are allowed to continue with 

instruction, aid eligibility will be reinstated only after the student has reestablished SAP in 

accordance with the attendance and grading standards indicated in STANDARDS 1, 2, 3 & 4 of 

this policy. In the event a student is terminated due to not making Satisfactory Academic Progress, 

all policies regarding the institution's refund policy will apply. Probationary students who meet 

SAP by the conclusion of the probationary period will be removed from academic probation.  

 

APPEAL PROCEDURES: Students who wish to appeal the decision that they are not making 

Satisfactory Academic Progress must submit a written request to the institution's administrator. The 

letter should be received within (5) days of termination and must describe any circumstances 

related to the student's academic standing which the student believes deserve special consideration. 

The administrator shall evaluate the appeal within a reasonable time frame (5-10) days and notify 

the student in writing of the administrator's decision. Should the student's appeal be denied, he or 

she may appear before a school committee to present his or her case. The committee shall provide 

written notice to the student of its decision within a reasonable time frame (5-10 days). The 

decision of the committee shall be final. Students that prevails upon the appeal process, re-entering 

the program after an interruption of training, or having re-established satisfactory progress, and 

determined as making satisfactory progress will be re-entered in the course and financial aid funds 

will be reinstated to the student. Students accepted for re-entering the program who previously 

were not making satisfactory progress must attain a satisfactory progress status by the next 

scheduled evaluation, within the evaluation probationary period time frame.  

COURSE INCOMPLETENESS: Course incompleteness, repetitions and non-credit remedial 

course are not applicable to this institution's form of instruction.  

 

LEAVE OF ABSENCE: Occasionally, students may experience extended personal, medical or 

other problems which make it difficult to attend class. The institution may allow a student under 

such circumstances to take a Leave of Absence (LOA) from the program up to 60 days. LOA must 

be requested in writing by the student and must be approved by the school Director. A LOA request 

form must be filled out and the date of leave and return must be stated on the form prior to the 

Director approving the LOA. Do not request a Leave of Absence unless you absolutely need one. 

Under no circumstances can the school grant more than a single (1) LOA within a 12 month period. 

Students on LOA's will not be assessed any additional charges of tuition. Students returning from 
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an authorized LOA will retain all credit for clock hours and work projects completed and will be 

returned to the academic progress status they held prior to the start of the leave of absence. In 

addition, students returning from a LOA will have his/her maximum time frame to complete the 

course extended by the same number of days as the leave of absence. Students who fail to return 

from a LOA will be considered dismissed as of the last class day of attendance prior to the start of 

the leave and the refund calculation will be performed and all refunds due will be issued to the 

student or appropriate agencies and paid within 30 days.  

 

ATTENDANCE STATUS: Full time: Any student scheduled to attend 24 hours or more per week 

are considered to be full-time students. Halftime enrollment requires a minimum of 12 hours per 

week. Part-time enrollment is defined as more than 12 but less than 24 hours per week. Less than 

12 hours per week is less than halftime.  

GRADING SYSTEM: Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical 

work. The evaluations are measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a 

letter grade. Evaluation forms are issued to the Cosmetology students at 25%, 50%, 750/0 and 90% 

of the course hours scheduled to complete. All other courses consisting of 600 hours or less 

students are issued evaluation forms at 45% and 90% of the course hours scheduled to complete. 

This evaluation form reflects the overall Attendance and Academic progress of the student. 

Students must maintain a "C" (70%) average to maintain satisfactory academic status. System 

detailed below is the system utilized in the school.  

ACADEMIC GRADING  

100% - 95% A Superior Performance  

94% - 85% B Above Average  

84% -75% C Average  

74% - 65% D Unsatisfactory  

64% - 00 % F Fail  

 

 

POINT GRADES FOR PRACTICAL WORK  

(GPA4) 4POINTS=A  

(GPA3) 3 POINTS=B  

(GPA 2) 2 POINTS = C  

(GPA 1) 1 POINT8 = D  

(GPA 0) 0 POINTS = F  

 

STUDENT CLOCK HOUR POLICY: The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology will only 

recognize time-clock punched hours of attendance, as a result of this requirement this school can 

only give clock hour credit to students who record their attendance by using the time clock to 

punch in and out at the start and end of their class day and lunch period. You will be given up to 

seven (7) minutes to clock in and receive credit for the quarter (1/4) hour. This seven minute period 

applies to starting of the class day. A thirty (30) minute lunch break shall be taken when a student 

attends a 6 hour class day or more. If you are attending less than a 6 hour class day and desire to 

take a lunch break (30 minutes), then the half hour must be deducted from your daily total and you 

must clock in for on your time card for the lunch break. Once theory classes have been started no 

one will be allowed to enter the theory classroom.  

At the completion of the day, your time card is prepared from the current weekly time card. The 

daily hours and operations earned are added to the totals in the prior column and final totals 

transferred to the cumulative column. These cumulative figures are then entered in the prior column 

on the weekly time card. The time card must be signed by the student and the instructor daily. 
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Instructors may not sign a student in or out and if a student does not clock in our out at lunch, 30 

minutes for lunch will be deducted.  

Time cards reflect the student's daily record of hours and operations. It is important that all of your 

hours and operations are recorded properly and accurately. The attendance personnel must be able 

to read your time card so that the hours and operations are transferred correctly to the roster. The 

time cards are the property of the school and must remain in the school at all times. Time cards 

must be retained/stored: in their entirety for 5 years by the school.  

After clocking in you are required to maintain applied effort, personal grooming, leaving the 

building, reading material not related to your training or activity not related to your training is not 

tolerated. If this occurs you will be ask to stop such activity or to punch out for the remainder of the 

day. Continued activities of this nature could result in your termination,  

 

TIME CARD CREDIT: The following is a guideline for the instructor to issue credits.  

1. Each Theory must be initialed in the proper category. If that category is complete, the instructor 

may issue credit in it comparative category.  

2.  The portion of the time card reflecting hours are in the Theory hours earned and any classes. 

The instructor has demonstrated.  

3. The portion of the time card concerning operations are to be applied efforts of the students as 

they manually perform practical subject.  

4. Some practical operations may take longer to perform according to the student. Note the 

following time frame the Program gives for each operation: Shampoo/set = 11/2 hours, Scalp 

Treatment = 11/2 to 1 hour, Permanent Wave = 2 to 2112 hours, Facial = 11/2 to 2 hours, Manicure 

= 112 hour, Hair cut =1/2 to 1 hour. 

Using the above, the Board would understandably not consider a student capable of performing 

more than three permanent waves per day.  

 

PLACEMENT: Job placement assistance is provided to graduates and students at no. additional 

charge. Upon graduation, student's name is recorded in student registrar and the process of follow-

up begins. When students take the licensing examination, it is recorded as a pass or fail. Students 

are encouraged to return for placement assistance by reviewing the listings of salons seeking 

employees and the requirements, salary, and other pertinent information.  

Students are sent on interviews and the results of these interviews are recorded in the student 

register. The school may show prospective students this register upon request. Mr. Kirk Yang 

assists students in placements as often as needed; however, the school does not guarantee 

placement to any student.  

CAREER COUNSELING AND PERSONAL ATTENTION: Students are counseled individually, 

as often as necessary at least every six weeks to review the student's progress and adjustment. 

Successful Salon Owners and  

Stylists are scheduled into the school regularly to give demonstrations and discuss career goals, etc. 

with the students. This activity supplements the daily counseling carried out by the instructors and 

supervisor. Students may request additional counseling sessions at any time. Students are given 

personal attention assistance at every stage of training from the first day of enrollment to the day of 

graduation. At predetermined intervals, measuring instruments are utilized to evaluate the rate and 

quality of the student and remedial assignments are made when required. Particular attention is 

given to preparation for the Board of Barbering & Cosmetology Examination.  
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NOTICE OF STUDENT RIGHTS 

 

1. You may cancel your contract for school, without any penalty or obligation on the fifth business 

day following your first class session as described in the Notice of Cancellation form that will be 

given to you at the first class you go to.  

Read the Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and 

responsibilities. If you have lost your Notice of Cancellation form, ask the school for a sample 

copy. A different cancellation policy applies for home study or correspondence courses.  

2. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time, and 

receive a refund for the part of the course not taken. Your refund rights are described in the 

contract. If you have lost your contract, ask the school for a description of the refund policy.  

3. If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund. Contact the Bureau for  

Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education at the address and phone number below for 

information.  

4. If you have any complaints, questions, or problems which you cannot work out with the school, 

write or call: BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY AND VOCATIONAL 

EDUCATION: 1625 NORTH MARKET BLVD S-201, SA~MENTO, CA 95834; TELEPHONE 

(916) 574-7720.  

 

********************************************************************************  

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE:  

It is the policy of this institution to handle grievances in the following manner,  

1. Fill out the grievance form and list all grievances.  

2. Deliver all forms to the Instructor in charge.  

3. If you are unable to deliver the form to the Instructor you may deliver it to the Owner/Director: 

Ms. Mayette Nhan, 9614 E. Garvey Ave. Unit A/B South EI Monte, CA 91733. All grievances 

regardless of the nature will be turned over to the Owner and reviewed.  

4. The Director will evaluate the grievance and set an appointment with the person within 5 days 

from the receipt of the grievance form. If the grievance is an emergency, it will be addressed within 

24 hours.  

5. Any grievances that you can not work out with the institution you may contact:  

BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 1625 NORTH MARKET BLVD 

S-202, SACRAMENTO, CA 95834; TELEPHONE (916) 574-7720.  
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SCHOOL RULES AND REGULATIONS 

 

1. School hours are Tuesday-Saturdays 8:30 am.-5:00 p.m.  

2. Time cards must be clearly legible. Students must punch only their own timecards.  

3. In case of illness or emergency on any day, the student must call in to the school supervisor to 

report his/her absence before 8:45 a.m. that morning. 

4. Students are required to be in class for roll call promptly at 8:30 am. in clean, prescribed 

uniform. Males & Female students must wear a White Smock, neat and clean. Jeans are permitted 

provided they are free of holes and not the skin tight or baggy type. No shorts are permitted. Shoes 

must be closed toe and closed heel shoes (no canvass material type). A work type shoe is 

recommended due to the long periods of standing required in our occupation  

5. Students appearing in school with their hair not set and neat will clock out. Beauty needs are to 

be done on the student's own time.  

6. A student who is tardy Days (8:38 a.m.) cannot clock in until theory class is over and may not 

attend theory class. Students who are habitually tardy (5 times in one month) will be counseled and 

if tardiness continues may be suspended or be placed on probation until tardiness ceases.  

7. Students will take lunch between 11:30 am and 1:30 p.m. and' must be cleared by receptionist at 

the desk. Students should report to an instructor if they have not had lunch by 1:30 p.m. Lunch is 

30 minutes. Lunch period is each student's responsibility, and must be staggered.  

8. A student must use the time clock to punch "IN" when entering and "OUT" when leaving. 

Students failing to do so will only receive credit for hours indicated by the time clock. Students are 

also be required to punch in and out for all breaks on the back of their time cards.  

9. No student is allowed to clock out during college hours without permission from the supervisor. 

No student may clock in or out for another student. This rule is strictly enforced. Any time a 

student leaves the building during the day his/her time card must be left at the receptionist desk.  

10. No gum chewing is allowed in the college at any time. Smoking is allowed in assigned areas 

only OUTSIDE of the building.  

11. No visitors are permitted in the classroom or student lounge area unless approved by the 

supervisor.  

12. College business phones may not be used for personal calls. A pay phone is provided for 

(student) emergency use only. All calls are limited to 3 minutes. You are not permitted to leave a 

patron just to answer the phone.  

13. Rigid adherence to the rules of sanitation and disaffection and personal hygiene is required at 

all times.  

14. Students must their keep work station, in class or on the floor, clean and sanitary at al1 times.  

15. A minimum of 112 hour of sanitation must be completed by each student daily. Al1 kits must 

be in a sanitized condition at the end of each day.  

16. All students serving the public must be courteous and pleasant. If difficulty arises, please call 

an instructor. Students must take all appointments assigned to them. Failure to take a patron is 

grounds for suspension.  

17. No student may leave a patron while doing a perm or hair coloring service, except in an 

emergency and is excused by an instructor.  

18. Students are not allowed to give services or materials other than what is called for on the 

service ticket.  Students violating this rule will be disciplined accordingly.  

19. Students will pay in advance for supplies on personal services such as permanents, tints, 

bleaches, etc.  

20. Students are responsible for the return of college materials or equipment loaned to them. 

Students must not borrow equipment from each other. Each student is solely responsible for his/her 

personal belongings and materials.  
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21. Students must not gather around the receptionist desk, congregate in the office, or visit with 

another student who is busy with a patron. All appointments must be made by the receptionist and 

no changes are to be made by students.  

22. A student must attend college on all Fridays and Saturdays. Days before and after holidays are 

considered Saturdays. The college reserves the right to discontinue a student if this rule is violated. 

A student may be required to produce medical documentation of illness.  

23. Students have the privilege at all times to consult the management on personal problems. The 

college positively reserves the right to suspend or expel a student who gossips, uses vulgar 

language or causes discord.  

24. The college will not tolerate the use of alcohol or drugs at any time. No student will be admitted 

to class who is apparently under the influence of alcohol.  

25. Students must keep a record of hours and services each day as required on the student daily 

record of applied effort. Weekly time cards will be audited by the college office. Credit will be 

given for applied effort only; continuously engaged in training and study of the Branch of 

Cosmetology for which you are enrolled. All work must be checked by an instructor or credit will 

not be given. Records must be neat and clear.  

26. All students will be expected to maintain an average of 70% in theory and in all practical 

subjects. Probationary status will result in case of failure, to do so.  

27. Only products furnished by the college may be used unless otherwise approved by the 

supervisor.  

28. Students are to park only in the areas designated (by unmarked stalls). During orientation class, 

you will be shown the parking areas, and where to park when the unmarked stalls are full.  

29. Students must comply with all instructions, directions, orders, etc., given by personnel relative 

to school activities. Insubordination will not be tolerated.  

30. Students must comply with college policy and state rules and regulations. 

31. Due to absences, all assignments, tests and homework maybe made pp. Any deviation from the 

policy must be in writing from the office and signed by a member of the administrative staff.  

32. Notify office immediately of any address or telephone change.  

33. Absence of THREE days or more without notification shall be considered cause for suspension. 

Any student absent more than twenty one days without notifying the DIRECTOR will be 

automatically terminated.  

 

These rules are designed to form excellent work habits and attendance, and to aid in completing 

your course as soon a possible so that you may become employed as a Cosmetologist, Manicurist, 

or Cosmetician. Violation of school rules may result in suspension or termination.  

 

TUITION AND FEE SCHEDULE 

Effective 01-01-13 

COURSE     TUITION    REG.    KITS    TOTAL    WKS    

Cosmetology    $2,600.00    75.00    325.00    $3,000.00    40-64    

Manicuring     $   530.00    75.00      45.00    $   650.00    10-15    

Cosmetician     $1,115.00    75.00    310.00    $1,500.00    15-24    

Massage Therapy    $1,800.00    75.00    150.00    $2,025.00    15-24    

* = REFUNDABLE:               Additional Fee: Effective 01-01-03: Each Student will be assessed 

the STRF fee upon enrollment @ $2.50 per Thousand dollars of tuition paid per student. Please 

refer to the STRF section on page 2 of this catalog. The tuition will be rounded up or down to the 

nearest thousand and charged accordingly. Example: Tuition charged: $ 2,600.00 = 3,000 x $2.50 = 

$ 7.50. You must pay the state imposed fee for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all the 

following applies to you: You are a student who is a California resident and prepays all or part of 
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your tuition either by cash,' guaranteed student loans, or personal loans and your total charges are 

not paid by either any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer 

unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. You are not eligible for protection 

from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF fee if either of the following applies:  

You are not a California resident and your charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, 

government program or other payer, and if you have no separate agreement to repay the third party. 

(New Education Code 94944 (a) (b).  The fund protects only California students. Institutional 

participation is mandatory. Note: Once used, kits are not returnable or refundable due to sanitary 

considerations. Above kits prices include 8.25% sales tax. Length of time in course depends on 

number of hours student contracts for on a monthly basis as specified in the Enrollment Agreement.  

Please Note: In addition to the above fees/costs each student will be charged $ 30.00 for I.D. Badge 

& Uniform Smock.  

Note: Once used, kits are not returnable or refundable due to sanitary considerations. Length of 

time in course depends on number of hours student contracts for on a monthly basis as specified in 

the Enrollment Agreement.  

 

EXTRA INSTRUCTION CHARGES: Students are expected to complete their training within the 

maximum time allowed as specified in Enrollment Agreement. If a student exceeds the time frame 

outlined above, an extra instruction charge will be made for the balance of the hours required or the 

completion of course. An addendum to the enrollment contract will reflect the hours to complete 

and rate per hour as follows: Cosmetology: $1.87, Manicurist: $0.90, Cosmetician: $2.50 and 

Massage Therapy: $3.00  

BRUSH-UP Students requiring preparation for the licensing exam will be billed at the course 

hourly rates, depending on which license they are applying for and a registration fee of $75.00. 

Students must furnish their own equipment.  

 

METHOD OF PAYMENT: The Financial Advisor will develop a personalized payment program 

for each individual. All tuition and fees are payable in advance unless other arrangements have 

been made I prior to commencement of classes. Payment schedules (weekly, monthly, and 

quarterly rates are available) 

 

SCHOLARSHIPS: This College does not award any institutional scholarships incentives.  

 

THE COLLEGE RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE THE TUITION AND FEES AND 

MAKE SUBJECT CHANGES WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE WHEN NECESSARY; ANY 

CHANGE WILL NOT AFFECT ATTENDING STUDENTS.  

 

REFUND POLICY (B.P.P.E.) Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education  

A. An applicant not accepted for training by the school shall be entitled to a refund of all moneys 

paid.  

B. If a student (or in case of a student under legal age, his parent or guardian) cancels his/her 

contract and requests his/her money back in writing by producing a signed dated copy of the 

Cancellation Notice within' five business days (by midnight) of the first day of classes, all monies 

collected by the school shall be refunded. The cancellation date will be determined by the postmark 

on written notification, or the date said information is delivered to the school administrator/owner 

in person. This policy applies regardless of whether or not the student has actually started training.  

C. If the student cancels his/her enrollment after the fifth assessed business day of classes without 

the student starting classes, he shall be entitled to a refund of all monies paid to the school less a 

withdrawal fee of $75. The cost of the kit and supplies are not refundable due to sanitary reasons.  
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D. Even if you withdraw more than five business days after the start of class, you may be entitled to 

a partial refund. You have a right to withdraw from school at any time and receive a refund for the 

part of the course not taken.  

The amount of that refund shall be "pro-rated" according to the incomplete portion of the course, 

less the cost of an administrative fee of $75.00.  

The amount the school would be allowed to retain would be calculated in the following manner: 

Hypothetical Refund Example in accordance to the state pro-rata policy. Assume that a student 

upon enrollment in a 1,600- hour course, pays $5,125.00 for tuition, $75.00 for registration, and 

$300.00, documented cost to school, for equipment as specified in the enrollment agreement arid 

withdraws after completing 600 hours without returning (due to sanitary reasons) the equipment 

he/she obtained. The pro-rata refund to the student would be $3,203.00 based on the calculation 

stated below. If the student returns the equipment (if it was returnable) in good condition within 30 

days following his/her withdrawal, the school would refund the charge for the equipment returned 

and paid by the student.  

Hourly   Hours of   Hours paid   Calculation   Refund   Final refund calculation   cost of   Tuition   

for but not   of earned   calculation   Total paid   $5,500.00  Tuition = Paid   received   tuition   of 

tuition   Less:      

$5,125.00   $5,125.00   1,600   600   1,000   Adm. Fee   75.00    

1,600   $3.203   (600)   X $3.203   X 3.203   Equipment   300.00   =   Tuition   1,922.00    

$3.203   1,600   1,000   $1,922.00   $3,203.00   Total refund   $3,203 00   "Contract Price" reflects 

the amount of tuition, fees and other costs for which the student has contracted to pay EXCEPT the 

value of equipment, books, and supplies. "Amount Paid for Instruction" reflects the total amount 

paid to the school for tuition, fees and all other charges for which the student has paid EXCEPT the 

value of equipment, books, and supplies. 

 

***NOTE: This institution calculates refunds according to State and Federal requirements.  The 

calculation that results most favorable to the student is the one selected on the final calculation.  

E. Students who terminate prior to course completion will be charged a $75.00 administrative fee.  

F. If the school is permanently closed and no longer offering instruction after a student has 

enrolled, the student shall be entitled to a full refund of tuition unless you are enrolled in the field 

of Cosmetology. If you are, then the following policy will be applied: Cosmetology student hours 

are transferable from one Cosmetology school to another. The Pro-Rata refund policy will be 

applied if you have earned any clock hours beyond the Cancellation period of 5 business days. An 

exception to this policy is as follows: A student whom elects not to accept the verification of 

training hours or does not elect to pursue a program of cosmetology at another institution shall be 

entitled to a full refund of tuition.  

G. If a course is canceled subsequent to enrollment, the school shall at its option:  

l. Provide a full refund of all monies paid; or  

2. Provide completion of the course.  

 

RIGHT TO WITHHOLD TRANSCRIPTS AND GRADES FOR NONPAYMENT OF TUITION:  

An institution may withhold a student's transcript or grades if the student is in default on a student 

tuition contract. If the course of study consists of only one course, the institution may withhold the 

grades or the transcript until the tuition or loan obligation is paid in full. CEC Section 94828 per 

BPPE Reform Act January 1, 1998. 

ENROLLMENT TIME is defined as the hours of attendance, that portion of the course scheduled 

to be completed on the student's last day of physical attendance in the school. Any monies due the 

applicant or student shall be refunded promptly after formal cancellation by the student as defined 

in item B or formal termination by the school, which shall occur no more than 21 days from the last 
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day of physical attendance, or in the case of a leave of absence, the documented date of scheduled 

return.  

REFUNDS: In any case where a refund is due to the student or a designated second party so 

authorized in writing by the student the refund will be made within 30 days. When a student 

requests a transfer to another school, the institution will prepare all of the academic and financial 

documentation requested by the student and given to the student within a 10 day period from the 

date of notification of the termination. '  

 

ADMISSIONS & FINANCIAL INFORMATION AND HOURS 

ADMISSIONS: Applicants for Admissions may secure information on Tuesday through Friday 

between 10:00 a.m. - 6:00p.m. Person to contact: William Yang • Admissions PH: (626) 433-1371  

FINANCIAL: Applicants or students may secure financial information Tuesday through Fridays 

between 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.  

Person to contact: Mayette Nhan •. Financial Advisor PH: (626) 433-1371  

PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE: Wednesday and Thursdays between: 10:00 a.m., through 12:00 

p.m.  Person to contact: William Yang Placement PH: (626) 433-1371  

 

DRUG ABUSE PREVENTION PROGRAM: The college makes the following information 

available to its students staff: and instructors. 

Any individual associated with UBC, who is seeking information, counseling, or assistance 

concerning Drug Abuse Prevention may call or visit the following agency:  

 

CHARTER HOSPITAL  

6060 PARAMOUNT BLVD.  

LONG BEACH, CA. 90805  

(562) 220-1000  
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CURRICULUM 

COSMETOLOGY COURSE 

(1,600 HOURS)  

The curriculum for students enrolled in a cosmetologist course shall consist of sixteen hundred 

(1,600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices 

constituting the art of cosmetology pursuant to Section ~3.16 ~f the Barbering and Cosmetology 

Act. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration; lecture, classroom 

participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a 

complete service on another person pr mannequin.  

Please note 505 hours are devoted to clinic/theory experience which shall include all phases of 

cosmetology. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:  

MINIMUM SPECIFIED PRACTICAL OPERATIONS:  

10  

40  

25  

20  

20  

15 

10  

15  

50  

20  

Disinfection  

Thermal Hair Styling  

Chemical Straightening  

Hair Bleaching  

Scalp and Hair Treatments  

Electrical Facials  

Make up applications  

Water and Oil Manicures  

Liquid and Powder Brush-on  

Nail Wraps and Repair

200  

80  

80  

50  

10  

15  

20  

10  

50  

20  

 

Wet Hair Styling  

Permanent Waving  

Haircutting  

Hair Coloring  

Manual Facials  

Chemicals (Skin peels, masks & scrubs)  

Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal  

Complete Pedicure  

Artificial Nail Tips  

Press & curl 

SUBJECT OF TECHNICAL INSTRUCTION: Min. Hours of Technical Instruction:  

1. The Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules & Regulations: 20 Hours 

2. Cosmetology Chemistry (shall include the chemical composition and the purpose of cosmetic, 

nail, hair, and skin care preparations. Shall also include the elements of chemical makeup, chemical 

skin peels, physical and chemical changes of matter.)   20 Hours 

3. Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances (Shall include training in chemicals and health in 

establishments, material safety, data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing 

chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, ergonomics and communicable diseases, 

including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B.)     20 Hours 

4. Theory of Electricity in Cosmetology (shall include the nature of electrical current, principles of 

operating electrical devices, and the various safety precautions used when operating electrical 

equipment)        20 Hours 

5. Disinfection and Sanitation (shall include procedures to protect the health and safety of the 

consumer as well as the technician. The ten required minimum operations shall entail performing 

all necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment as specified in Sections 979 and 
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980. Disinfection should be emphasized through -out the entire training period and must be 

performed before use of all instruments and equipment.)   20 Hours 

6. Bacteriology, anatomy, and physiology.     15 Hours 

7. Wet Hair Styling (Shall include hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb 

outs.)          25 Hours 

8. Thermal Hair Styling (Shall include hair analysis, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs, 

and hot curling irons, and blower styling.) (A) Thermal Styling (B) Press and Curl: 

20 Hours 

9. Permanent Waving (Shall include hair analysis, chemical and heat permanent waving.)  

20 Hours 

10. Chemical Straightening (Shall include hair analysis, and the use of sodium hydroxide and other 

base solutions.)        20 Hours 

 

11. Haircutting (Shall include hair analysis, and the use of the razor, scissors, electric clippers, and 

thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting.)     20 Hours 

12. Hair coloring and Bleaching (Shall include hair analysis, predisposition tests, safe" precautions, 

formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, and the use of dye removers. Shall not include any creative 

color rinses.) (A) Haircoloring (B) Bleaching    40 Hours 

13. Scalp and Hair Treatments (Shall include hair and scalp analysis, scientific brushing, electric 

and manual scalp manipulation, and other hair treatments.)   15 Hours  

14. Facials (A) Manual (Shall include cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks.) OS  

(B) Electrical (Shall include the use of all electrical modalities, including dermal lights and 

electrical apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes.) However, machines capable of producing 

an electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or for the purpose of 

contracting, the muscles of the body or face.)    10 Hours 

(C) Chemicals (Shall include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall 

emphasize that only non-living, upper-most layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis may be 

removed, and only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must be performed in 

accordance with section 992 regarding skin peeling.)   10 Hours 

15. Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal (Shall include the use of wax, tweezers, electric or manual 

and depilatories. for the removal of superfluous hair.)   10 Hours 

16. Make-up (Shall include skin analysis, complete and corrective make-up, lash and brow tinting 

and the application of false eyelashes.).    15 Hours 

17. Manicuring and Pedicuring: 

(A) Water and Oil Manicure, including nail analysis, and hand and arm massage. 10 Hours 

(B) Complete Pedicure, including nail analysis, and foot and ankle massage. 10 Hours 

(C) Artificial Nails I. Liquid and Powder Brush-on    10 Hours 

(D) Nail Wraps and Repairs       10 Hours  

 

ADDITIONAL Training WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT: Salon Mgmt., 

communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, 

client service record cards and preparing a resume, employment development, modeling, desk and 

reception, and care and other subjects relating to Cosmetology field. 

COSMETOLOGY PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVE  

1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California's cosmological establishments' 

practices.  

2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and 

nails;  
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3. Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology, 

chemistry, and theory.  

4. Acquire business management techniques common to cosmetology.  

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED: Learn the proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology 

services. Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to 

determine any disorders. You will learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all 

cosmetology services, learn tile application of daytime and evening make-up to include the 

application of individual and strip eyelashes, learn the proper procedure of manicuring to include 

water and oil manicure and pedicuring, learn the application of brush -on nails, nail wraps, and nail 

tips.  

ATTITUDES AND APPRECIATI0N'S TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good 

workmanship common to cosmetology, possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow 

workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in dealings with patrons 

and colleagues.  

REQUIREMENTS FOR SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF COURSE: Shall have completed 

Theory and Operations required by Board of Barbering & Cosmetology with a grade average of 

"C"(70%) or better. '  

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: When a student has completed the required theory hours and 

practical operations in Cosmetology with a GPA of "C" (70%) or better he or she is awarded a 

diploma certifying his or her graduation. Students are assisted in completing the necessary 

documents to file for the appropriate Barbering and Cosmetology Examination. 

LICENSING  REQUIREMENTS: Applicant must be 17 yrs of age or older and have completed the 

10th grade, A Cosmetology license will be granted by the State of California only after the student 

has successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetology course as described above and 

passed the licensing exam with an overall average of 75%.  

 

CURRICULUM FOR MANICURIST COURSE  

(400 HOURS)  

The curriculum for students enrolled in a manicurist and pedicurist course shall consist of four 

hundred (400) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of 

a manicurist and pedicurist. Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration lecture, 

classroom participation, or examination. Practical operation means the actual performance by the 

student of a complete service on another person. Please note 40 hours are devoted to clinical/theory 

experience which will including all phases of manicuring. Such technical instruction and practical 

operations shall include:  

MINIMUM SPECIFIED PRACTICAL OPERATIONS:  

10 Disinfections and Sanitation  

20 Complete Pedicures  

60 Nail Tips  

40 Water and Oil manicures  

80 Acrylic: Liquid and Powder Brush on nails  

40 Nail Wraps and repairs  

 

MINIMUM THEORY HOURS TECHNICAL SUBJECT

1. The Cosmetology Act and the Board's 

Rules and Regulations.  

2. Cosmetology Chemistry related to 

manicuring practices. (Shall include the 

chemical composition and purpose of nail 

care preparations.)  

Health and Safety & Hazardous Substances 

(Shall include training in chemicals and 

health establishments, material safety data 
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sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals 

and preventing chemical injuries, health and 

safety laws and agencies, ergonomics, 

communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS 

and Hepatitis B.)  

Disinfection and Sanitation (shall include 

procedures to protect the health and safety of 

the consumer as well as the technician. The 

ten required minimum operations shall entail 

performing all necessary functions for 

disinfecting instruments and equipment as 

specified in Sections 979 and 980. 

Disinfection should be emphasized through-

out the entire training period and must be 

performed before use of all instruments and 

equipment.) 

Bacteriology, anatomy, and physiology.  

Water and Oil Manicures, including hand and 

arm massage. Complete Pedicure, including 

foot and ankle massage.  

Application of Artificial Nails,  

(A) Acrylic: Liquid and Powder Brush-on  

(B) Nail Tips  

(C) Nail wraps and repairs  

 

10  

 

3.  

 

15  

 

4.  

 

5.  

6.  

7.  

8.  

 

10  

10  

15  

10  

 

15  

10  

05  

 

ADDITIONAL TRAINING WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT MATTER: 

Salon Mgmt., communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, 

record keeping, client service record cards and preparing a resume, employment development, 

modeling, desk and reception, and care and other subjects relating to the Cosmetology field.  

MANICURIST PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVE: Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating 

California Cosmological establishments' practices, understand sterilization procedures, acquire the 

knowledge of general theory relative to manicuring, including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and 

theory relative to practical procedures and acquire business management techniques common to 

manicurist. 

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED: Use of proper implements relative to all manicuring, pedicuring, 

and artificial nails. Develop the knowledge to recognize the various skin conditions and disorders. 

Acquire knowledge of analyzing the hands and feet, prior to all services to determine any disorders. 

Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in use of manicuring, pedicure and artificial nails.  

ATTITUDES AND APPRECIATION'S TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good 

workmanship common to manicuring, possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow 

workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in dealing with patrons 

and colleagues.  

REQUIREMENTS FOR SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF COURSE: Shall have 

satisfactorily completed Theory and Operations required by Board of Barbering & Cosmetology 

with an average grade of "C" (70%) or better.  

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: When a student has completed the required theory hours and 

practical operations in Manicuring with a GPA of "C" (70%) or better he or she is awarded a 

diploma certifying his or her graduation. Students are assisted in completing the necessary 

documents to file for the appropriate Barbering and Cosmetology Examination.  
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LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed 

the 10th grade, a manicuring license will be granted by the State of California only after the student 

has successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetology course as described above and 

passed the Cosmetology Licensing Exam with If overall average of 75%.  

 

CURRICULUM FOR ESTHETICIAN COURSE  

(600 HOURS)  

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetician course shall consist of six hundred (600) 

clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a Cosmetician, 

pursuant to Section 7354 of the Cosmetology Act.  The purpose of this section, technical 

instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or 

examination. Practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete 

service on another person.  Hours will be devoted to clinic/theory experience which shall include 

all phases of being a Cosmetician. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:  

 

MINIMUM SPECIFIED PRACTICAL OPERATIONS:  

10 Disinfection and Sanitation 40 Facials (Manual)  

60 Facials (Electrical) 40 Chemicals (Chemical skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs)  

40 Wax and depilatories 40 Make-up & Eyelash Application  

10 Hair Removal & Eyebrow Arching and Tweezers  

 

 

TECHINICAL SUBJECT MINIMUM THEORY HOURS  

1. The Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations.   10 Hours 

2. Chemistry pertaining to the practices of an Esthetician. (Shall include the chemical composition 

and purpose of cosmetic and skin care preparation. Shall also include the elementary chemical 

makeup, chemical skin peels, physical, and chemical changes of matter.)  10 Hours  

3. Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances (Shall include training in chemicals and health 

establishments, material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing 

chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, ergonomics, communicable diseases, 

including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B.)      20 Hours  

4. Electricity (Shall-include the nature of electrical current, principles of operating electrical 

devices, and the various safety precautions used when operating electrical equipment.) 10 Hours  

5. Disinfection and Sanitation (Shall include procedures to protect the health and safety of the 

consumer as well as the technician. The ten required minimum operations shall entail performing 

all necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment as specified in Sections 979 and 

980. Disinfection should be emphasized through-out the entire training period and must be 

performed before use of all instruments and equipment.)    10 Hours  

6. Bacteriology, anatomy, physiology, skin analysis and conditions.  15 Hours  

7. Facials: A. Manual (Shall include skin analysis, cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and 

masks.)          20 Hours 

B. Electrical (Shall include the use of all electrical modalities including dermal lights and electrical 

apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes; however, machines capable of producing current shall 

not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body 

or face.)          30 Hours 

C. Chemical (Shall include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs.  Training shall emphasize 

that only non-living upper-most layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis may be removed, and 

only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must be performed in accordance 

with section 992 regarding skin peeling.)      20 Hours 
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8. Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal (Shall include the use of wax, tweezers, electric or manual 

and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair.) (A) Tweezers  20 Hours  

      (B) Wax and depilatories  20 Hours 

9. Make-Up (Shall include skin analysis, complete and corrective make-up, and the application of 

false eyelashes.)         20 Hours 

10. Training will also include classes in Salon Mgmt., communication skills that includes 

professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, recordkeeping, client service record cards and 

preparing a resume, employment development, modeling, desk and reception, and care and other 

subjects relating to Cosmetology field.  

COSMETICIAN PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVE: Acquire knowledge of laws and • rules 

regulating California Cosmological establishing practices, acquire the knowledge of sanitation and 

sterilization as related to all phases of skin, acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to 

Esthetics including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory and acquire business management 

techniques common to Esthetics.  

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED: Learn the proper use of implements relative to all Cosmetician 

services, acquire the knowledge of analyzing the skin prior to all services to determine any 

disorders, will learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all Cosmetician services, 

will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of individual 

and false strip eyelashes and also learn the proper procedure of plain and electrical facials.  

ATTITUDES AND APPRECIATION'S TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good 

workmanship common to Cosmetician, possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow 

workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in dealing with patrons 

and colleagues.  

REQUIREMENTS FOR SATISFACTORY COMPLETION OF COURSE: Shall have completed 

Theory and Operations required by Board of Barbering & Cosmetology with a grade average of 

"C" (70%) or better.  

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: When a student has completed the required theory hours and 

practical operations in Esthetician with a GPA of "C" (70%) or better he or she is awarded a 

diploma certifying his or her graduation. Students are assisted in completing the necessary 

documents to file for the appropriate Barbering and Cosmetology Examination.  

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed 

the 10
th

 grade.  An Esthetician license will be granted by the State of California only after the 

student has successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetology course as described above 

and passed the licensing exam with an overall average of 75%,  

 

CURRICULUM FOR MASSAGE THERAPIST COURSE  

(600 HOURS)  

The curriculum for students enrolled ill .the massage course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock 

hours of technical instruction and practical operations in teaching the art of massage. Technical 

instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination. 

Practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the massage technician of all techniques 

and principles.  

 

SUBJECT MINIMUM  

HOURS OF  

INSTRUCTJON  

 

MINIMUM  

PRACTICE  
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OPERATIONS  

 

I. Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances (Shall include training in chemicals and health 

establishments, material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing 

chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, ergonomics, communicable diseases, 

including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B.)     15 Hours 

2. Disinfection and Sanitation (shall include procedures to protect the health and safety of the 

consumer as well as the technician. The ten required minimum operations shall entail performing 

all necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment as specified Disaffection should 

be emphasized through-out the entire training period and must be performed before use of all 

instruments and equipment.)       10 Hours 

3. History, anatomy, and physiology.     10 Hours  

4. Ethics, Nutrition, Principles & Techniques    15 Hours 

5. The Body's Muscles & Nerves      10 Hours 

6. Trigger points of Massage       10 Hours  

7. Other systems of Massage       15 Hours 

8. Basics of the Traditional Massage,     10-20 Hours  

9. Basics of the Traditional Swedish Massage    10-25 Hours  

10. Contemporary American Techniques     10-25  

11. Basic Shiites Routine & 16 movements     20-75  

12. Aroma Therapy        05-10  

13. Patterns of Ki (Qui)       15  

14. The Front, Back and Side Channels     20-35  

15. Introduction of other systems of Massage    10-25  

and Bodyworks  

16. Sports Massage, Study of pre/post event massage,  

training massage, injury care, nerve innovations, range  

of motion, structural kinesiology, muscle testing and  

PNF stretching        55-100  

17. Introduction to Holistic theory      15  

18. Business practices, setting up a massage business   25-10  

 

MASSAGE THERAPIST PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVE: Acquire knowledge of establishing 

practices, acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of massage, 

acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to massage including anatomy, physiology, 

nutrition, theory and acquire business management techniques. 

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED: Learn the proper use of implements relative to all services, acquire 

the knowledge of massage prior to all services to determine any disorders, will learn the procedures 

and terminology used in performing all massage services, will learn the all basic massage 

techniques including Swedish, American and Shiatsu and will learn the all proper procedures of 

massage.  

ATTITUDES AND APPRECIATION'S TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good 

workmanship common to the field of massage, possess a positive attitude towards the public and 

fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in dealing with 

patrons and colleagues.  

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: When a student has completed the required theory hours and 

practical operations in massage therapy with a GPA of "C" (70%) or better he or she is awarded a 

diploma certifying his or her graduation.  
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PERMIT REQUIREMENTS: In order to practice the art of massage in an establishment permit 

and/or business license is required and must be secured by the local city office (police department) 

of which you plan on working in. Each city has certain requirements and the fees vary city to city. 

The school will provide you with all the surrounding city information on obtaining a permit to work 

in the field of massage as well as assist you in the application process. .  
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FACULTY AND STAFF 

 

FACULTY/ORGANIZATIONAL CHART  

Owner/Director  

Ms. Mayette Nhan 

 

Financial Advisor  

Mr. William Yang  

 

Admissions  

Ms. Evelyn Tram 

 

Placement  

Mr. William Yang  

Instructors: Mr. William L. Yang, Ms. Sara Vazir & Mr. Tram, M. Tran Receptionist  

 

************************************************************************  

EDUCATIONAL FACULTY QUALIFICATION LIST  

Mr. William Yang  

Licensed Cosmetologist  

Licensed Instructor: Cosmetology  

Massage Therapist  

Certificate of Authorization  

INSTRUCTOR  

14 years  

11 years  

09 years  

11 years

Ms. Sara Vazir  

Licensed Cosmetologist  

Certificate of Authorization  

 

INSTRUCTOR  

08 years  

03 year 

Mr. Tram M. Tran  

Licensed Cosmetologist  

Certificate of Authorization  

 

INSTRUCTOR  

06 years  

03 year  

Ms. Mayette Nhan 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

Licensed Massage Therapist 

Certificate of Authorization 

 

INSTRUCTOR 

07 years 

09 years 

07 years

 


