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APPROVAL/DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena located at 201 East Bay State St., Alhambra, CA 91801, has approval to operate in 
the State of California is based on provisions of the California Private Postsecondary Education Act (CPPEA) of 2009,
which is effective January 1, 2010. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena under section 94802 (b) (1) or (2) of CPPEA, will
by operation of law, be approved to operate through February 22, 2013. 

The institution was approved to operate by Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education on January 14, 2010 and is
approved to operate until February 22, 2013. For more information, call the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
at (916) 431‐6959, or call toll‐free at (888) 370‐7589, or visit its website at www.bppe.ca.gov. 

The following programs have been approved: Cosmetology 1600 hours 
Skin Care 600 hours 
Nail Care 400 hours 

Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy level accommodating 132 students at any one time. 

California State requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study, be awarded an appropriate
diploma or certificate verifying the fact. 

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are 
also encouraged to review the Schools Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an 
enrollment agreement. This school is currently approved to participates in approved sponsored programs, government or
otherwise, to provide grants and/or loans to pay for portions of tuition and fees. 

The State of California Bureau of Consumer Affairs, Board of Barbering and Cosmetology set minimum standards for the 
above-mentioned programs. The minimum number of class hours and the total clock hours for each course as outlined in 
the Program's Rules and Regulations booklet must be met to qualify the student for licensure. 

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may
be directed to the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA
95834, or for mailing P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798‐0818, Phone (918) 574‐7270,Toll Free (888) 
370‐7589, ww.bppe.ca.gov. 

Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first contact the instructor in charge. Requests for any further
action may be made in writing to Peggy Lee, Director, however if a complaint can't be resolved then “A student or any
member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by
calling Toll Free (888) 370‐7589 or by completing a complaint form which can be obtained on the bureau's Internet Web 
site at www.bppe.ca.gov.” 

Additional approval agencies 

National Accrediting Commissions of Cosmetology and Skin Care are A SEVIS-Approved School, which 
Career Arts and Sciences. participating programs in the Title IV participates in the Student Visitor 

4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 1300 for Federal Financial Aid funding. Exchange Program (SEVP) 
Alexandria, VA 22302 *Available to those who are eligible. 

(703) 699-7600 

All information in the content of this school catalogue is current and correct and is so certified as true by Alee Cao, President. 

Signature __________________ 
Alee Cao, President/Dean Revised date of publication of school catalog 10/2012 

http:www.bppe.ca.gov
http:ww.bppe.ca.gov
http:www.bppe.ca.gov


 

  

         
              
                   

                
      

 
 

               
                 

         
              

 
 

 
                  
   

 

    
                       

                
                 

            
      

         
              

  
 

              
   

           
 

               

                  
              

 

     
                  
                  
               
                

                   
                     

                   
         

 

                
              

            
              

               
                   

     
 

 
             

              
                

     

MISSION STATEMENT 
WHEN PEOPLE COME FIRST, SUCCESS WILL FOLLOW. Our mission is to provide a quality educational system to
prepare students to pass the state board examination and to gain employment within the field of Cosmetology, Skin Care
and Nail Care. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena is passionately committed to provide a solid educational foundation to
empower our team in the pursuit of excellence. 

FACILITIES 
The Cosmetology, Skin Care and Nail Care courses at Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena offer the challenge of a very
stimulating and rewarding career. The school is fully equipped to meet all of the demands of modern hair designing and
skin therapy, providing a high-tech atmosphere and model for progressive personal development. The facility includes
student lounge, library, lockers, client reception and work areas, management offices, private classrooms and 
workstations. 

ADMINISTRATION/OWNERSHIP
The Cao Institute of Aesthetics Inc., doing business as Paul Mitchell The School - Pasadena, is an independently owned
and operated franchisee of Paul Mitchell Advanced Education, LLC. 

Alee Cao – President/Dean
Alee got in to the industry since 1984 and became a Paul Mitchell Associate soon after in 1986, later promoted to be a
Senior Associate prior received the highest honor of recognition as a John Paul Mitchell Systems Master Associate in
1996. His career has been in the role of an International Platform Artist since the beginning of 1992, experienced across
the globe from North to South America, Europe and Asia including Australia and New Zealand. As such, he was afforded
the opportunity to study with the great masters of the industry, which is quantified by his multi-faceted creativity that is
expressed through crisp and commanding stage performances. "I learned from many of the industry's greats and I wish to 
pass on the knowledge that I have accumulated." Alee is strongly believe that Continuing education is a MUST for 
continuous success. 

He received many recognition from the beauty industry including the Canbran International Asia Award in 2000. He was
invited as an Industry & Community Leader to Speak at the 2009 Vietnamese American Summit Conference about his
Surviving & Thriving: Stories from Dynamic Entrepreneurs. 

With over two decades of dedication, continuous learning and development, Alee's vision realized in the form of a 
Cosmetology School, where he is most passionate about. His works are shown in various medium such as Celebrities, 
Hair Shows, Fashion Shows, Photo Works, etc. Alee found a cosmetics company in 2009, named it “Cao Cosmetics Inc.”. 
Alee Cao maintains his Cosmetology License as he actively involves in the industry. 

Peggy Lee – Director
Together with Alee Cao established The Cao Institute of Aesthetics since 2002, Peggy utilized her years of experiences in
Business Administration to strengthen the world of art. In 1998 Peggy got a Bachelor degree for Business Administrative
majoring in Advertising and Marketing Management from her home country of Thailand. Her true passions live in
education and sales. Peggy is always excited about learning new things and passionate with the idea of marketing quality
products she believes in. Peggy owned and operated a trading company while she was introduced to the Paul Mitchell
world; She was unquestionably attracted to the culture the company had to offer and said Yes! to the opportunity to be a 
part of the Paul Mitchell Schools. Peggy has strength in emerging market, since young age, learned from her parents’
distribution business. She believes challenges help her grow. 

Peggy represents school and its programs as an Admissions Leader in 2004; She helped new students identify and
develop learning plan. She supports and coaches her team and students as needed. Fun and happy environment are
always what she makes sure to have at Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena. Peggy got promoted to be a school director
in 2006; She continues creating an ongoing personal and professional development to help future professionals reach
their goals successfully. Peggy acts as an ambassador to the beauty industry, Educate, Inspire, and Network with the local
communities, not only to attract talent to the profession, to share opportunities within the beauty industry but to gain
referrals and support for her student career path. 

FACULTY/STAFF
Under the direction of prestigious designers of Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena staffs, students receive a quality
education in the exciting and changing industry of hair design, skin care or nail care. Our instructors are licensed, and are
highly successful professionals who continue to work in salon and spa in the industry as time permits. For detailed 
description of our faculty/staff, please refer to the team profile page on the school website http://www.pmtspasadena.com 
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COURSE DESCRIPTIONS 
Cosmetology: The curriculum involves 1600 hours to satisfy California State requirements. All courses are taught in 
English. The course includes extensive instruction and practical experience in cutting, hair coloring, perming, customer
service, personal appearance & hygiene, personal motivation & development, retail skills, client record keeping, business
ethics, as well as sanitation, state laws & regulations, salon‐type administration, and job interviewing. 

Skin Care: The curriculum involves 600 hours to satisfy California State requirements. All courses are taught in English.
The course includes extensive instruction and practical experience in facials, hair removal, makeup application, customer
service, personal appearance & hygiene, personal motivation & development, retail skills, client record keeping, business
ethics, as well as sanitation, state laws & regulations, salon‐type administration, and job interviewing. 

Nail Care*: The curriculum involves 400 hours to satisfy California State requirements. All courses are taught in English.
The course includes extensive instruction and practical experience in beautifying the hands and feet, nail shaping, hand
and feet massage, manicures, pedicures, customer service, personal appearance & hygiene, personal motivation &
development, retail skills, client record keeping, business ethics, as well as sanitation, state laws & regulations, salon-
type administration, and job interviewing. *This course is not being offered at this time 

MEASURABLE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES 
1.	 Receive the required number of clock hours of training 
2.	 Complete and receive passing grades on all practical graduation requirements and projects to include

examinations, both practical and theoretical 
3.	 Satisfactorily pass final written and practical exams 
4.	 Receive a graduation certificate and plaque 
5.	 Pass state board exam 

EDUCATION GOALS 
The quality education system at Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena includes providing an outstanding learning facility,
experienced and competent instructors, and a curriculum developed through years of experience and expertise. Our
goals are: 

1.	 To educate students to be professional, 4. To teach courtesy and professionalism as the
knowledgeable and skilled Cosmetologists, Skin foundation of a successful career in Cosmetology, 
Care Therapists or Nail Technicians for Skin Care and Nail Care. 
marketability within the industry. 

2.	 To maintain a program that is constantly updated 5. To prepare students to successfully pass the
so students will have complete knowledge to State Licensing Exam for entry level employment. 
compete in the field of Cosmetology, Skin Care 
and Nail Care. 

6.	 To train and graduate students while empowering
3.	 To promote the continuing educational growth of them to become confident and excited to enter a 

the faculty and students, using current teaching successful career within the salon and beauty
methods and techniques. industry. 
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COSMETOLOGY COURSE OVERVIEW 
Course Hours: 1600 clock hours. 

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences. 
o	 Pre-clinical classroom instruction -The first 210 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where students 

learn design principles, technical information and professional practices. 
o	 Clinic Learning Experience - The remaining 1390 hours are spent in the clinic area where practical
 

experience is gained.
 

COSMETOLOGY COURSE OUTLINE 
Student time at Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena for the cosmetology program will be divided into six designations: 

1.	 Core Curriculum - A six-week, 210-hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic fundamentals.
Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral and practical testing methods. Students must successfully
complete the Core Curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily classes in cutting, hair color, permanent
waving and chemical texture services. 

2.	 Protégé Experience- Student experience as a Protégé produces a smooth transition from Core future professional to 
Adaptive future professional. He/She spend 2 weeks as a Protégé preparing his/her for the clinic experience. 

3.	 Clinic Experience - Student learning process will be guided with individual attention and group learning
experiences from 281 to 1600 hours, wherein workshops, monthly worksheets and periodic tests have been 
developed specifically to monitor student progress. This is when student will begin working on paying clients in the
workroom or clinic area 

4.	 Classroom Learning - Student time in the classroom from 281 to 1600 hours is divided into four areas. Each of 
these areas has a specialist in that field that will conduct the different elective classes once a week. These areas
are cutting, hair color, permanent waving, texture, and specialty classes. The specialty class includes guest artists, 
retail, motivation, and self-improvement, nail artistry, make-up, etc 

5.	 Adaptive Curriculum - From 281 to 800 hours student will enter a new phase of elective classroom workshops 
coupled with challenging practical services that will continue to build on his/her skills and confidence as a designer. 

6.	 Creative Curriculum - Student will spend the last 800 hours in "high gear" by dressing, acting and working like a
true professional. Student will use his/her own artistic and creative abilities, coupled with the assistance of Paul 
Mitchell The School-Pasadena instructors, to prepare students for their future salon career. 

State of California Requirements - Cosmetology:
The following is the list of the State of California requirements for technical and practical criteria. The instructional 
program of Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena meets or exceeds these requirements. 

Subject Minimum Minimum 
Technical Training Practical Training 

Hairstyling 65 240 
Permanent Waving and Chemical Straghtening 40 105 
Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60 50 
Hair Cutting 20 80 
Laws and Regulations 20 
Health and Safety Considerations 45 
Disinfection and Sanitation 20 
Anatomy and Physiology 15 
Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials 25 40 
Eyebrow Beautification and Make up 25 30 
Manicuring and Pedicure 10 25 
Artificial Nails and Wraps 25 120 (Nails) 

Additional Training	 530 
Total	 900 700 

The School provides training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, 
decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards. 

Note: The remaining 530 hours indicate the maximum time students have to complete the minimum required practical
operations. All practical work includes product use and safety. Job search training includes compensation packages,
resume writing, and job interview. 
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SKIN CARE COURSE OVERVIEW 
Course Hours: 600 clock hours. 

The course is divided into pre-clinical instruction and clinical service learning experiences. 
o	 Pre-clinical classroom instruction - the first 210 hours are devoted to classroom workshops, where the 

student learns 
esthetic principles, technical information and professional practices. 

o	 Clinic Learning Experience - The remaining 390 hours are spent in the clinic area where practical
 
experience is gained.
 

SKIN CARE COURSE OUTLINE 
Student time at Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena The Skin Academy Department will be divided into five designations: 

1. The Basics: Classroom Theory.  Student will be graded through written, oral and practical testing of student
knowledge attending regularly scheduled daily classes in facials, hair removal and makeup. 

2. The Workshop: Student learning process will be guided with individual attention in practical workshops, monthly
worksheets and periodic tests that have been developed specifically for this stage of progress. This is when student
will begin working on clients in the clinic area. 

3. The Clinic: Student will enter a new phase of elective classroom workshops coupled with challenging practical 
services that will continue to build student into a confident skin care therapist. 

4. The Specialist: Specialists in specific fields will conduct different elective classes once a week. The specialty classes 
include: guest speakers, prescriptive selling, motivation, self-improvement and introduction to body treatments and
emerging technologies. 

5. High Gear: Student will dress, act and work like a true professional. Student will use his/her own technical and 
therapeutic abilities, coupled with the assistance of Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena instructors, to prepare students 
for their future salon and spa career. 

State of California Requirements – Skin Care:
The following is the list of the State of California requirements for technical and practical criteria. The instructional program
of Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena meets or exceeds these requirements. 

Minimum	 Minimum Subject Technical Training Practical Training 
Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials 70 140
 
Preparation 15
 
Laws and Regulations 10
 
Health and Safety Considerations 40
 
Disinfection and Sanitation 10
 
Anatomy and Physiology 15
 
Eyebrow Beautification 25 50
 
Make-up 20 40
 

Additional Training	 165 
Total	 370 230 

The School provides training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, 
decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards 

Note: The remaining 165 hours indicate the maximum time students have to complete the minimum required practical
operations. All practical work includes product use and safety. Job search training includes compensation packages,
resume writing, and job interview. 

NAIL CARE COURSE OVERVIEW *this course is not offered at this time 
Program Hours 400 clock hours 

The course is divided into pre-clinical instruction and clinical service learning experiences. 
o	 Pre-clinical classroom instruction- The first 100 hours are devoted to classroom workshops, where the 

students learn nail principles, technical information and professional practices. 
o	 Clinic Learning Experience- The remaining 300 hours are spent in the clinic area where practical
 

experience is gained.
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NAIL CARE COURSE OUTLINE 
Student time at The Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena The Skin Academy Department will be divided into three 
designations: 

1. The Basics: Classroom Theory.  Student will be graded through written, oral and practical testing of the knowledge
attending regularly scheduled daily classes in manicure and pedicure. 

2. The Clinic: Student will enter a new phase of elective classroom workshops coupled with challenging practical
services that will continue to build student into a confident nail technician. 

3. High Gear: Student will dress, act and work like a true professional. Student will use his/her own technical and 
therapeutic cabilities, coupled with the assistance of Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena Learning Leaders, to prepare 
students for their future salon and spa career. 

State of California Requirements – Nail Care:
The following is the list of the State of California requirements for technical and practical criteria. The instructional program
of Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena meets or exceeds these requirements. 

Subject Minimum 
Technical Training 

Minimum 
Practical Training 

Acts, Rules and Regulations 10 
Health and Safety/ Hazardous Substances 15 
Disinfections and Sanitation 10 10 
Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology 10 
Water & Oil Manicures, including hand and arm 15 40 
Complete pedicure, including foot and ankle massage 10 20 
Acrylic Liquid and powder brush-ons 15 80 Nails 
Nail Tips 10 60 Nails 
Nail wraps and repairs 5 40 Nails 
Additional Training 50 
Total 150 250 

The School provides training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, 
decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards 

Note: The remaining 150 hours indicate the maximum time students have to complete the minimum required practical
operations. All practical work includes product use and safety. Job search training includes compensation packages,
resume writing, and job interview. 

MAKE UP WORK 
Students must complete all required assignments and tests. To accommodate students, make up test days and
worksheet periods are scheduled. Students must complete make up work at this scheduled time. Monthly make up test 
dates are posted on the theory and school calendars. 

STUDENT ACADEMICS 
Students will be made aware of their progress on their academics, attendance and overtime on a monthly basis 

PERFORMANCE STATISTICS/JOB OUTLOOK 
Year 2010 

Completion Rate: 62.73% 
Placement Rate: 76.62% 
Licensure Rate: 78.00% 

Since 1990, NACCAS has commissioned several Job Demand Surveys, to provide quantitative data on cosmetology
careers, earnings potential, and job openings. The most recent survey, completed in May 2007, compiles data from 6,203
salons responding to a national survey. 

Percent of anticipated new hires by job category 
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The 2007 Job Demand Survey results indicate that salons in California plan to hire 45,967 new employees in the next
twelve months. The average annual salary for a salon professional in California is $44,134. This amount does not include
tips and gratuities. Nationally, the average salon professional’s salary is $35,973. 

Most importantly, 69 percent of California salon owners who attempted to hire new employees in 2006 said they were
unable to find properly-trained applicants. This means that jobs would be Immediately available for salon professionals. 

As of January 2007, there were 325,021 professionals employed at California’s 48,131 salons. 40 percent of salons in the
state are employer-owned, and 29 percent are booth-rental salons. The other 31 percent are a combination of the two. 49
percent of California salons are classified by their owners as full-service salons; 20 percent are listed as haircutting
salons. Barbershops make up 13 percent of the total. Nationally, 58 percent of salons are listed as full-service, meaning
that California has a higher percentage of specialized establishments. Most importantly, 69 percent of California salon
owners who attempted to hire new employees in 2006 said they were unable to find properly‐trained applicants. This
means that jobs would be immediately available for salon professionals. The exciting news is that salon earning
power keeps improving! 

SAFETY PRECAUTIONS FOR THE BEAUTY INDUSTRY 
By following safety precautions students contribute to the health, welfare, and safety of the community. The following are
a list of important guidelines and precautions to follow:
1. Always have good hygiene and be professionally dressed
2. Keep a first aid kit on hand
3. Follow safety regulations and keep equipment properly sanitized
4. Protect the client's clothing by appropriately draping them
5. Ask the client to remove any jewelry, hair accessories, glasses, etc.
6. Keep any and all chemicals away from the eyes.  	In case of eye contact with chemicals, thoroughly rinse eyes with 

cold water. 
7. Wear gloves when dealing with chemicals
8. Carefully use all chemically active products to avoid injury 

INDUSTRY REQUIREMENTS 
Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena believes that students interested in pursuing a career in cosmetology, Skin Care or 
Nail Care should: 
1. Develop finger dexterity and sense of form and artistry.
2. Enjoy dealing with the public.
3. Become aware of the latest fashions, beauty techniques and technical advances.
4. Make a strong commitment to their education.
5. Be aware that the work may be arduous and physically demanding because of long hours standing and using the

hands at shoulder level. 

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS 
Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena enrolls individuals, who at least 17 years of age with a high school diploma or high
school graduation equivalency certificate (GED), or persons who are above the age of compulsory school attendance,
at least (18 years) of age, who have pass the Ability to Benefit Test. The school use Compass Subtest measured; the
test consist of Pre-algebra/Numerical Skills Placement, Reading Placement, and Writing Placement. The ability to benefit 

10 



 

  

                 
               

                
                     

         
             

                  
        

 

      
 

         
         

 

 
 

       
           

 

                   
          

              
 

                  
 

              
                 
             

 

              
                      

            
 

                
  

 

                  
 

 

     
   

     
 

                 
        

                 
           

               
       

 
 

            
                 

                  
                  

                 
          

 
  

               
          

     
 

exam is based on a pass and fail basis, the approved passing scores on this test are Pre-algebra/Numerical (25),
Reading (62), and Writing (32). ATB applicants is allowed to take one initial test and one retest attempt. The retest 
attempt should be at least 2 weeks after the initial test. If the student does not pass on the second attempt, the student 
must wait 3 months to test again. The student must retake this exam until they receive a passing score. See Admissions
for testing dates and cost of taking the test. A student may also be enrolled as an Ability-to-Benefit student if the student 
satisfactory completes 225 clock hours toward the program then the student can remain in the program and would then be
eligible to apply for Title IV aid, however, he/she would not be entitled to Title IV aid for that period of time. ATB Student’s
financial aid payment period beginning with hour 226. 

The school does not offer distance Education 

If enrollee is a transfer student from a non Paul Mitchell school, 
he/she must take a practical exam to assess the skills level. 

ADMISSION PROCEDURES 
Complete an Admissions Application form - Complete and submit the application form to the school prior to
registration. All forms may be obtained by requesting them from the Admissions Department. 

Submit a Registration Fee - Action will not be taken on admission or financial aid application until a Registration Fee
of $75.00 is received. Please send the registration fee in the form of a cash, cashier check or money order, payable to
Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena. The registration fee is non-refundable and not included in the cost of tuition. 

Submit two (2) Pictures - The pictures should be recent (not over 60 days) head and shoulder of you. 

Provide Verification Documents - A copy of your high school diploma, high school transcripts, transcripts from a
college or university showing a student went through at least 2 years of post‐secondary education towards a bachelor 
degree or GED, and a copy of your driver’s license or birth certificate. 

If you are interested in attending our school and you do not have a high school diploma or GED certificate, please
contact our Admissions office for a list of GED programs located near the school. Or if you plan to take the ability to 
benefit test, a copy of driver's license or birth certificate is required. 

Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena does not recruit students who are already enrolled in a similar program at
another institution. 

Any disability that may need an academic adjustment, please notify the Admission Office as soon as possible in order for
the school to review the request. 

Verification Documents for Non-Citizens - In addition to the above documents the applicant must also provide an I-20 
form and a copy of their Visa. Non-Citizens and Non-Residence cannot qualify for any type of financial aid. The student 
must attend the full-time schedule, and can only attend 12 months of the program. 

Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena does not require a student to have immunization / vaccinations to enroll in our school. 
If a student has been convicted of a crime, done any act involving dishonesty, fraud or deceit, or done any act which if
done by a licentiate of the business or profession in question, would be grounds for the Bureau of Barbering and 
Cosmetology to deny licensure. The Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology may deny licensure on the grounds that the 
applicant knowingly made a false statement of fact required to be revealed in the application for such license. Paul
Mitchell The School-Pasadena is not responsible for students denied licensure 

NON-DISCRIMINATION 
Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena, in its admission, instruction, and graduation policies practices no discrimination on
the basis of sex, sexual orientation, race, color, creed, religion, financial status, age, ethnic origin, ancestry, disability,
country of origin or residence. The school does not allow or tolerate discrimination of any kind, bullying, harassment, or 
hazing of any sort. If any student or team member experiences or witnesses anyone being bullied, harassed, or hazed in 
any way you are required to report the matter to the School’s Director, Peggy Lee, in person or email 
peggy@thecaoinstitute.com immediately in order for appropriate action to be taken. 

TERMINATION POLICY 
Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena may terminate a student’s enrollment for immoral or improper conduct, receiving five
suspensions, noncompliance with educational requirements, student professional development guidelines, general
policies, or the enrollment contract 
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STUDENTS WHO WITHDRAW 
Students who withdraw from the program are required to empty their locker and gather all personal items. Any items left
behind by the student will be stored for 60 days, at which time the items become the property of Paul Mitchell The School-
Pasadena. 

Students wishing to transfer to another institution must pay all monies owed to Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena, and 
all applicable academic requirements must be met in order for the hours to be released. 

REENTRY STUDENTS 
1.	 Outstanding tuition, fee, and overtime expenses must be paid in advance or the student must make satisfactory

arrangements with the Financial Aid Leader. 
2.	 Previous tuition payments will be credited to the student’s balance. 
3.	 Because tuition fees and costs are subject to change, reentering students will be contracted according to the

current tuition costs and will be required to pay any additional fees if applicable. 
4.	 Pay a $100 reentry fee. 

“The school does not deny readmission to any service member
of the uniformed services for reasons relating to that service.” 

Readmission is reserved to the sole discretion of Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena 
and may require special conditions. 

Readmission for a student requires a personal interview with school administration. The reentering student will be placed
on a 30-day probation. If a reentering student dropped from the program with an academic standard of 79% or lower, the 
student has 30 days to meet the 80% academic standard. Students failing to meet the 80% academic standard within the 
30 days may be terminated. Student who re-enter the program are placed in the same Satisfactory Academic Progress
standing as when they left. 

TRANSFER STUDENTS 
Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena will accept transfer hours from other schools based on an evaluation of the student’s 
comprehension of the course material. A maximum of 600 hours will be accepted for students who transfer from another
school; all transfer students must attend a minimum of 1000 hours at Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena, to obtain the 
Paul Mitchell culture and educational program. If transferring from another Paul Mitchell School all transfer hours will be 
accepted. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena do not accept the transfer for Skin Care Program. 

The cost for transfer students is $12.00 per hour attended at Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena; this does not include
the cost of a complete and current Paul Mitchell student kit. 

Please note that students transferring to another school may not be able to transfer all the hours they earned at Paul
Mitchell The School-Pasadena; the number of transferable hours depends on the policy of the receiving school. 
NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION 
The transferability of credits student earn at Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena is at the complete discretion of an 
institution to which he/she may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate student earn in Cosmetology or Skin Care
programs is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which he/she may seek to transfer. If the certificate that
student earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which he/she seek to transfer, he/she may be required to
repeat some or all of the coursework at that institution. For this reason one should make certain that the attendance at this
institution will meet one educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which one may seek to transfer
after attending Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena to determine if the certificate will transfer. 

CLASS STARTING DATES 2012 *all dates are subjected to change 
Cosmetology:
Day School: January 31, March 20, May 8, June 26, August 14, October 2, and November 27 
Night School: February 13, April 30, July 16, October 1, and December 17 

Skin care: 
Day School: March 27, July 31 and December 4 
Night School: April 16 and October 22 
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COST OF TUITION AND SUPPLIES 
TUITION – Cosmetology 

Tuition $18,000.00 
Registration Fee, Non-Refundable 100.00 

Equipment, Textbook, Supplies 2,925.00 
TOTAL COSTS $21,025.00 

TUITION – Skin Care 
Tuition $8,200.00 

Registration Fee, Non-Refundable 100.00 
Equipment, Textbook, Supplies 1,525.00 

TOTAL COSTS $9,925.00 

TUITION – Nail Care *this course is not offered at this time 
Tuition $ 1,625.00 

Registration Fee, Non-Refundable 100.00 
Equipment, Textbook, Supplies 300.00 

TOTAL COSTS $2,025.00 

Please contact the School Financial Aid Leader for payment options. The school accepts cash payments, credit card
Payments (additional fee may be applied), cashier check/ money order payments. Financial Aid recipients understand 
that monies received on their behalf are applied first to tuition costs.  Any remaining funds available for the student will be
paid to the student only at which time the course costs have been paid in full. 

Financial Aid Available To Those Who Qualify 

"YOU MAY ASSERT AGAINST THE HOLDER OF THE PROMISSORY NOTE YOU SIGNED IN ORDER TO FINANCE 
THE COST OF THE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM, ALL OF THE CLAIMS AND DEFENSES THAT YOU COULD ASSERT 
AGAINST THIS INSTITUTION, UP TO THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID UNDER THE PROMISSORY NOTE." 

LIST OF LIBRARY REFERANCE MATERIALS 
Cutting and Coloring DVDs / Product Workbook / Color System DVD / Color Skill Cards / Cutting System DVD Cutting
System Book / Masters DVDs / Milady Cosmetology Workbook and Test Review Milady Cosmetology Textbook 

ENROLLMENT INFORMATION 
1. Enrollment periods: Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena usually begins a new class about every 8 weeks for day

programs and 12 weeks for night programs, depending upon space availability. Please refer to the Tuition and
Registration Schedule supplement or contact Admissions Leader at Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena for exact 
starting dates.

2. Holidays: Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena allows the following holidays off - New Year's Day, Labor Day,
Independence Day, Memorial Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas Day. Additional close school days will be
announced at least two weeks prior to such dates.

3. The Enrollment Contract: Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena clearly outlines the obligation of both the school and 
the student in this contract. A copy of the enrollment contract and information covering costs and payment plans will 
be furnished to the student before the beginning of class attendance.

4. Payment schedules: Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena offers a variety of financial options. Such information may
be requested from our Financial Aid Leader. 

PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
There shall be monthly payments in the amount agreed on the enrollment contract, with the first payment to be made on
or before the first day school and subsequent payments are to be made 30 days of each month thereafter until the
balance is fully paid. The balance is due within one month of termination of the monthly payment schedule. Monies
received for eligible students from federal financial aid programs will first be applied to this payment plan. Student must
also understand any other monies received on their behalf is applied first to tuition costs. Any remaining funds available
for the student will be paid to the student only at which time the course costs have been paid in full. The student agrees to
pay all the sums herein required to Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena. 

“STUDENT IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE AMOUNT OWED. IF STUDENT GET A STUDENT LOAN, 
HE/SHE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR REPAYING THE LOAN AMOUNT, PLUS ANY INTEREST.” 
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STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF)
The State of California created the Student Recovery Fund Assessment (STRF assessment) a state‐imposed charge to
relieve or mitigate pecuniary losses suffered by a student of a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident or 
was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institutions, prepaid tuition, paid the assessment, and
suffered loss as a result of any of the following: 

1. The closure of the institution. 
2. The institution failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or any other

purposes, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected with 180 days before the closure of
the institution. 

3. The institution's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan program as
required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution prior to closure in excess of tuition and
other costs. 

4. The significant decline in the quality or value of the educational program within 30‐day period before the closure of 
the institution or, if the decline began before that period, the period of decline determined by the Bureau, to a degree
that results in the institution's failure to meet minimum operating or academic standards, and school's breach or
anticipatory breach of the agreement for the closure of instruction, and:

5. The student's inability to collect a judgment entered against a qualify institution for a violation of the Act, subject to
the following:
(A) The student has reasonably tried, and failed to collect on the judgment, The Bureau will determine the
 

reasonableness of the effort on a case‐by‐case bases;
 
(B) The Bureau receives the student's application within 4 years from the school's closure; 
(C) The student has not received reimbursement or forgiveness from any other source

A student whose total charges were paid by a third‐party payer is not eligible to make a claim. A student seeking
reimbursement under the Fund shall file a written application on the Bureau's Student Tuition Recovery
Application Form, signed under penalty of perjury that the form and all attachments are true and correct, which
includes the following information: 

1) The student's name, address, telephone number, email address and social security number or taxpayer identification number. 
2) If any portion of the total charges were paid from the proceeds of a loan, the name of the lender, and any state or federal agency

that guaranteed or reinsured the loan: 
3) Proof of the amount and description of the student's economic loss, and the amount of the student's claim. 
4) Proof of the state the student started and ceased attending the institution: 
5) A description of the reasons the student ceased attending the institution, or if the student graduated, date of graduation. 
6) The student's or borrower's authorization to allow the Bureau to negotiate with any lender, holder, guarantee agency, or US 

Department of Education on the student's behalf to reduce the loan obligation: 
7) The student's authorization to allow the Bureau to issue a payment directly to any lender, holder, guarantee agency, or US Department of

Education on the student's behalf; and 
8) An assignment to the Fund and the Bureau of the students right to collect those funds against the institution if any payment issued as a 

result of the application;
 
9) The institution name; address and phone number in which the students attended
 
10) Proof that the student was a California resident at time of enrollment, or was enrolled in a residency program
 
11) Proof that the student paid into the STRF
 
12) If the student took an approved leave of absence and documentation of the approval. 

13) If a student previously applied for STRF reimbursement;
 
14) If the course of study or portion completed prepared the students to take a state or national licensure exam;
 
15) If the student transferred to another school, a list of all classes or units transferred.
 

Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena will collect the STRF from the student and remit to BPPE the STRF fee of $52.50 on 
behalf of the Cosmetology students and $20.00 on behalf of the Skin Care students. 

STUDENT CONSUMER INFORMATION 
Provisions of the Higher Education Amendment of 1976 require that effective July1, 1977, each post secondary institution 
which receives Federal Financial Aid funds must make certain student consumer information available to any enrolled or
prospective student who requests such information. 

This section compiled by the Financial Aid office staff attempts to meet the requirements. 

The school is approved for and participates in the above mentioned programs. Such programs help to defray the costs of
attending school for those students eligible for financial aid consideration. 

Financial aid is any mechanism that reduces out of pocket costs that the students and/or parents must pay to obtain a
specific post-secondary education. Put differently, financial aid is monies made available to help students meet the cost of
the program. Financial aid includes grants and loans (need and non-need loans). All financial aid is available to families 
that demonstrate a financial need for additional resources. The formula below is used to determine how much financial -
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need a student has: 

Cost of Attendance - Expected Family Contribution (EFC) = Financial Need 

Non‐Need is the difference between the cost of education and Financial Need. 

Based on these calculations Federal Aid may not cover all the cost of attendance. 

All financial aid is awarded to students that qualify meeting the following criteria: Citizen or permanent non-citizen alien 
recipient codes that are eligible are I‐151, I‐55 1, and I‐94. Ineligible codes include F‐1, F-2, J‐1, and J‐2, students that are 
not in Federal Loan default, grant over payment, or male students that meet the Selective Service registration criteria. 

STUDENT KITS 
The school is always improve the quality of the kit in order to support student learning. Student kits is also may be
updated, upgraded, or changed upon the availability of suppliers. Students should always refer to the kit check lists
which come together with the kit for accuracy. Any missing item must be reported to your core learning leader or the
operation office immediately. The school will not responsible for any report beyond 7 business days from the day
student received the kit. 

STUDENT KIT - Cosmetology
A standard student kit is included in the tuition total costs. Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of
stationary supplies. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena reserve the right to make any changes to the kits without prior 
notice. 

Students will not be permitted to perform any operation with equipment, tools, make-up, or supplies that are not
in their Student Kit, or supplied by Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena. 

Tools Cosmetology 
Technical Kit 

PM Schools 
Learning Kit 

CAO Cosmetics 
Makeup kit 

OPI 
Nails Kit 

Donald Scott 
Carving Comb 

Books/ 
Handouts 

Milady Textbook 
Bundle 

Core Orientation 
Handout 

Board of Barbering 
and Cosmetology 

Regulations 
Handbook 

State Board 
Handout 

Dollar Camp 
Money 

Education 

Other Master CD 
Subscription 1YR 

T-Shirt Extra Mannequin 
Heads 

Binder Markers 

STUDENT KIT – Skin Care 
A standard student kit is included in the tuition total costs. Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of
stationary supplies. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena reserve the right to make any changes to the kits without prior 
notice. 

Students will not be permitted to perform any operation with equipment, tools, make-up, or supplies that are not
in their Student Kit, or supplied by Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena. 

Tools Dermalogica Kit PM Schools 
Learning Kit 

CAO Cosmetics 
Makeup kit 

Markers N/A 

Books/ 
Handouts 

Milady Textbook 
Bundle 

Core Orientation 
Handout 

Board of Barbering 
and Cosmetology 

Regulations 
Handbook 

State Board 
Handout 

Dollar Camp 
Money 

Education 

Other Master CD 
Subscription 1YR 

T-Shirt Apron Binder N/A 

STUDENT KIT – MakeUp
A standard student kit is included in the tuition total costs. Please note that the students are responsible for the purchase
of stationary supplies. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena reserve the right to make any changes to the kits without prior 
notice. 
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Students will not be permitted to perform any operation with equipment, tools, make-up, or supplies that are not
in their Student Kit, or supplied by Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena. 
*This kit is being used for Cosmetology and Skin Care courses. 

1 Eye shadow
Pallet (12 colors) 

1 Concealer 
Pallet (6 colors) 

1 Cream 
Foundation 

Pallet 
(6 colors) 

3 Color Blush 1 Pencil 
Sharpener 

1 Tweezers 1 Translucent 
Powder Pallet 

4 Lip Pencils 2 Lip Pencils 3 Color 
Lips & Cheek 1 Mascara 1 Brush Set 

(8pcs) 
1 Scissors 1 Makeup bag 

STUDENT KIT – Nails Care 
A standard student kit is included in the tuition total costs. Please note that the students are responsible for the purchase
of stationary supplies. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena reserve the right to make any changes to the kits without prior 
notice. 

Students will not be permitted to perform any operation with equipment, tools, make-up, or supplies that are not
in their Student Kit, or supplied by Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena.
*This kit is being used for Cosmetology and Nail Care courses. 

Metal OPI Case 
Moisture 

Replenishing 
Lotion 

4 Files Base and Top
Coat Structure Buffer 

Plastic Pusher 

Education Work 
Book 

Nail and Cuticle 
Replenishing Oil Foot File Clarite Natural 

Powder Paper Cloth 2 Dappen Dish 
N.A.S 99 Nail 

Antiseptic 
Solution 

Clarite Table 
Top Instructions 

Exfoliating 
Cuticle 

Treatment 
Cuticle 
Nippers 

Clarite Sheer 
Pink Powder 

2 Pellon 
Squares 

1 Red 1 Grand 
Canyon Sunset

Polish 

Clarite Curing 
Resin 

Completion 
Table Top 

Instructions 

Swiss Blue 
Liquid Hand

Soap 

1 Small 1 
Large Nail 
Clippers 

Clarite Spa White 
Powder 2 Smoothers Tips Bondex 

5F Red Sable 
Brush 

Swiss Guard 
Antiseptic Hand 

Gel 
Nail Forms Clarite Crystal 

Clear Powder 
Hand/Foot

Brush 
Linear Clarite 

Glass Dropper Polish Remover 3 Form 
Holders 

Competition 
Warm Pink 

Powder 
Manicure Bowl Wooden Sticks 

Nail Adhesive 

The Fluffy Rapidry Spray Competition 
Monomer 

Competition 
Opaque White 

Powder 
Toe Separator Diamond File Bond Aid 

STUDENT RIGHT OF ACCESS AND RECORD RETENTION POLICY 
Students (or parents or guardians if the student is a dependent minor) are guaranteed access to his/her school records.
Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena requires written consent from the student or guardian for release of records in
response to each third party request unless otherwise required by law, such as by a court order or subpoena. The school
does not publish “directory information” on any student. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena provides and permits access
to student and other school records as required for any accreditation process initiated by Paul Mitchell The School-
Pasadena or by the National Accrediting Career of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences, Inc., or in response to a directive of
said Commission. The records will be maintained at the school for a minimum of 5 years. FERPA sets limits on the 
disclosure of personally identifiable information from school records, and defines the rights of the students to review the
records and request a change of records. A student has the right to seek an amendment to their school records. In order 
to seek an amendment, the student must meet with the school Director and bring any supporting documentation to show
that the record is incorrect. 

Student records consist of the following: Written records and transcripts of any formal education or training testing, or
experience that relevant to the students qualifications for admission to the institution or the institution's award of credit or 
acceptance of transfer credits. 
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REFUND POLICY – STUDENT RIGHT TO CANCEL OR WITHDRAW 

FEDERAL RETURN OF TITLE IV FUNDS POLICY: 
The school participates in federal financial aid. Please refer to the following refund policy for specific consumer 
information pursuant to the Federal Financial Aid program. 

1.	 Students who receive loans are responsible for repaying the loan amount, plus any interest, less the amount of 
any refunds. 

2.	 For students who have received Title IV financial assistance, the Federal Return of Title IV Funds calculation will 
be completed first and applicable funds returned. Returned funds will be reduced from the payments received on 
behalf of the student before applying the institutional refund policy to determine whether the student is owed a 
refund or if a balance is owed to the institution. 

3.	 If a student has received less aid than that student earned, he/she may be eligible for a post-withdrawal 
disbursement. If a student is eligible for this disbursement, the school will notify the student in writing of the 
amount he/she is eligible. The student will have 14 days to accept or decline the disbursement. If an acceptance 
is not received within this time frame, the institution will not make the post-withdrawal disbursement to the 
student. 

4.	 The Federal Return of Title IV Funds formula dictates the amount of federal Title IV aid that must be returned to 
the federal government or the lending institution by the school and/or the student. The federal formula is 
applicable to an eligible student receiving federal aid when that student withdraws on or before the 60% point in 
time in the payment period. 

5.	 The federal formula requires a return of Title IV aid if the student received federal financial assistance in the form 
of Stafford Loans, Pell Grants, or Plus loans and withdraws on or before completing 60% of the payment period. 
The percentage of Title IV aid earned is equal to the percentage of the payment period that was completed as of 
the withdrawal date if this occurs on or before the 60% point of time. The percentage that has not been earned is 
calculated by determining the complement of the percentage earned (e.g., if 40% was earned, 60% was 
unearned). 

6.	 The amount to be returned is calculated by subtracting the amount of Title IV assistance earned from the amount 
of Title IV aid that was or could have been disbursed as of the withdrawal date. The percentage of the payment 
period scheduled to complete is calculated by dividing the total number of clock hours scheduled to complete by 
the payment period as of the last date of attendance. 

7.	 If a student unofficially withdraws and has received federal loans, the loans will go into repayment. 

NOTE: A student who withdraws prior to completing 60% of the charging period may be required to repay some of the 
funds released to the student because of credit balance on the student’s account. 

The following Title IV refund distribution is used for all financial aid applicants/students due a refund: 

1. Federal Unsubsidized Stafford Loan 
2. Federal Subsidized Stafford Loan 
3. Federal Plus Loan 
4. Federal Pell Grant 

INSTITUTIONAL REFUND POLICY: 
1.	 Any monies due the applicant or student shall be refunded within 45 days of official cancellation or withdrawal. 

Official cancellation or withdrawal shall occur on the earlier of the dates that: 

a.	 An applicant is not accepted by the school. This applicant shall be entitled to a refund of all monies paid 
to the school. 

b.	 A student (or in the case of a student under legal age, his/her parent or guardian) cancels his/her contract 
and demands his/her money back in writing, until the first day of class session or the seventh (7) calendar 
day of signing the enrollment contract, whichever is later. In this case all monies collected by the school 
shall be refunded. This policy applies regardless of whether or not the student has actually started 
training. 
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c.	 A student who cancels his/her contract after the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the contract but prior 
to entering classes is entitled to a refund of all monies paid to the school less a registration/application fee 
of $100.00. 

d.	 A student notifies the institution of his/her withdrawal. 

e.	 A student is expelled by the institution. 

f.	 For official cancellations as defined in paragraphs b, c, d, or e, the cancellation date will be determined by 
the postmark on written notification at the following address: Paul Mitchell The School Pasadena, 201 E. 
Bay Street Alhambra, CA 91801, or by the date said information is delivered to the school 
administrator/owner in person. Written cancellations need not take any particular form. 

g.	 Monies paid for student kit is nonrefundable. 

2.	 Any monies due a student who unofficially withdraws from the institution shall be refunded within 45 days of a 
determination by the institution that the student has withdrawn without notifying the institution. Unofficial 
withdrawals are monitored monthly and a determination is made to withdraw a student who has been absent from 
school for 14 or more calendar days; the withdrawal date that will be used in this calculation is the student’s actual 
last date of attendance. 

3.	 When situations of mitigating circumstances are in evidence, such as serious illness, a disabling accident, or 
death in the immediate family, the school may make a settlement that is reasonable and fair to both parties. 

4.	 All extra costs, such as books, equipment, graduation fees, registration/application fee, rentals, and other such 
charges, are not considered in the tuition adjustment computation if the charges are itemized separately in the 
enrollment contract. 

5.	 Monies paid for supplies and equipment are nonrefundable after seven (7) calendar days of signing the 
enrollment contract but prior to entering classes. 

6.	 If a course is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment, and before instruction in the course has begun, the 
school shall either provide a full refund of all monies paid or provide completion of the course. 

7.	 A student’s account may be sent to collections for nonpayment. 

8.	 If the school closes permanently and no longer offers instruction after a student has enrolled, the school will 
provide a pro rata refund of tuition to the student. 

An institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs complies with this article by complying with 
applicable regulations of the federal student financial aid programs under Title IV of the federal Higher Education Act 
of 1965. 

The institution shall also provide a pro rata refund of nonfederal student financial aid program moneys paid for institutional 
charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance. 

Step 1: Identify all amounts paid for instruction less cost of equipment.
 
Step 2: Subtract Registration/Application fee not to exceed $250.00.
 
Step 3: Apply a pro rata refund based on the percentage of actual hours completed in the program.
 

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the Cosmetology Program: The amount listed is the amount a school may 
retain based on the percentage of actual hours completed in the program. 

Tuition amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100% 

$18,000.00 $1,800.00 $4,500.00 $9,000.00 $10,800.00 $18,000.00 

PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, has never filed for bankruptcy petition 
within the preceding five (5) years, nor operated as a debtor in possession or had a petition of bankruptcy filed against it 
within the preceding five (5) years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code. 

You have the right to withdraw from a course of instruction at any time. If you withdraw from the course of instruction after 
the period allowed for cancellation of the agreement, which is until the first day of class session, or the seventh (7) 
calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later, the school will remit a refund less a registration/application fee, if 
applicable, within 30 days following your withdrawal. You are obligated to pay only for educational services rendered. 
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IF THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE PAID IS MORE THAN THE AMOUNT YOU OWE FOR THE TIME YOU ATTENDED, 
THEN A REFUND WILL BE MADE WITHIN 30 DAYS OF WITHDRAWAL. IF THE AMOUNT YOU OWE IS MORE 
THAN THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID, THEN YOU WILL HAVE TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO PAY IT. 

REMEMBER, YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING. You do not have the right to cancel by telephoning the school or failing 
to attend classes. If you have any complaints, questions, or problems that you cannot resolve with the school, write or call 
the Department of Consumer Affairs, Consumer Information Division: 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite N112, Sacramento, 
CA 95834, (800) 952-5210. 

STUDENT FINANCIAL AID RELEASE 
The undersigned agrees that the School does not guarantee the student loan process in any respect. A Federal Parent 
Plus loan requires a credit check and is based on the parent’s credit. A pre‐ approval for a Parent Plus loan is not a 
guarantee that the Parent will receive a Federal Parent Plus loan. It is critical that the parent be able to pass a credit 
check when the loan is certified. The school has no control over the approval or decline of a parent’s credit history. Nor
does the school assume any responsibility for mistakes on any of the financial aid forms. It is up to the student to make
sure all forms are accurate and complete. 

POLICY FOR VERIFICATION OF TITLE IV FUNDING 
We have policies and procedures that we follow for verification. We provide the students with a verification form so that
they can collect the necessary information that is needed. We give them a 30 day deadline to return the form to the 
financial office with their verification items attached. The consequence of failure to meet that deadline is they immediately
become a cash pay student. We send to the school a change in EFC form for the student to sign if their EFC changes.
Fame handles our overpayment of students and alerts us so that we can make changes to their award packet which is
reported to COD (Common Origination & Disbursement) for the Department of Education. 

PARKING 
Students must abide by local (city and/or landlord) parking rules, which are announced during orientation or admissions
process. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena will not be responsible for parking violations and/or towing fees. 

COSMETOLOGY PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE 
The following tests and grading procedures are incorporated during the student's 1600-hour courses: 

1.	 Students must receive 70% or higher on each weekly theory exam. Test scores are completed the Tuesday
following the Friday that the test is given. Students must receive a 70% or higher grade on all tests given. 

2.	 210-hour Core Practical skill evaluation test. 
3.	 800-hour speed test. (There is not a required time frame for students to complete services. The information is 

for the student's use.) 
4.	 1200-hour Final 1 (written exam). This test is an overview of all related cosmetology subjects, i.e., anatomy,

chemistry, etc. 
5.	 1400-hour Final 2 (mock state board) practical skill test and a 1400-hour written test. The written covers an 

overview of all theory instruction, California State Law, and other items covered on the State Cosmetology exam.
The practical also covers all phases of what is to be expected on the State Board examination. 

6.	 Twelve (12) practical monthly worksheets. 

SKIN CARE PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE 
The following tests and grading procedures are incorporated during the student's 600-hour course: 

1.	 Students must receive 70% or higher on each lesson plan theory tests. Test scores are completed the Tuesday
following the Friday that the test is given. Students must receive a 70% or higher grade on all tests given. 

2.	 210-hour Core written and practical test. 
3.	 420-hour Protegé written and practical test. 
4.	 450-hour Mentor Final 1 written and practical exam. This test is an overview of all related esthetic subjects,

i.e., anatomy, chemistry, etc. 
5.	 600-hour Mentor Final 2 (mock state board) practical skill test and a 600-hour written test. The written covers an 

overview of all theory instruction, California State Law, and other items covered on the State Cosmetology exam.
The practical also covers all phases of what is to be expected on the State Board examination. 

6.	 Four (4) practical monthly worksheets. 

NAIL CARE PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE 
The following tests and grading procedures are incorporated during the student's 400-hour course: 

1.	 Students must receive 70% or higher on each lesson plan theory tests. Test scores are posted the Tuesday
following the Friday that the test is given. Students must receive a 70% or higher grade on all tests given. 
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2.	 100 - Orientation Practical skill evaluation test, theory and classroom hours. 
3.	 120 - Practical hours in manicuring and pedicure. There is not a required time frame for students to complete 

services. 
4.	 120 - Acrylic nails and nail tips. Hour written exam. This test is an overview of all related manicuring
 

subjects; Anatomy, Chemistry, etc.
 
5.	 60-hour (mock state board) practical skills test and a 340-hour written test skills. The written covers an overview 

of all theory instruction, California State Law, and other items covered on the State Manicuring exam. The 
practical also covers all phases of what is to be expected on the State Board examination. 

6.	 Three (3) practical monthly worksheets. 

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 
1.	 Receive the required number of clock hours of training. 
2.	 Complete and receive passing grades on all practical graduation requirements and projects to include examinations, 

both practical and theoretical. 
3.	 Work on all monthly worksheets with a 70% completion rate. 
4.	 Satisfactorily pass final written and practical exams. 
5.	 Complete the required theory hours. 
6.	 Make satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed the school. 
7.	 Upon graduation the student will receive a graduation certificate and plaque. 

(Once the applicant has met all these requirements, he/she will receive the graduation certificate.) 

Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena reserves the right to retain a student in school if the student's progress is not 
satisfactory as determined by the school’s administration and/or the failure to complete all listed requirements, or the
failure to pass the written and practical exams. We can retain this student until all requirements are met for graduation. 
Student is expected to complete all requirements within 125% of the program length. If not, the student will be dropped 
from the program. 

A certified transcript will be provided to a student who withdraws which will include hours that the school has been 
compensated for. For the purpose of transfer or graduation, hours will not be released by the school until all monies owed 
to the institution have been paid and all academic requirements pertaining to those hours have been completed. 

STATE BOARD PRE-APPLICATION CRITERIA 
Pre-applications for the State of California Licensing Examinations are allowed only when the Students has completed 
70% of their course hours (1200 Cosmetology and 450 Skin Care), 80% of all theory tests are passed, 80% of the State 
required operations and theory hours are completed, and the course tuition and monies owed to school is paid in full.
Upon graduation the Proof of Training document is issued only after any incurred overage charges are paid in full. 

If the student wishes to pre-apply then they are required to notify their instructors approximately 50 hours prior to the
completion of the 70% hour mark. If the student has completed more than 70% of the course hours then THE 
STUDENT MAY NOT PRE-APPLY FOR THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA LICENSING EXAMINATION. Pre-Application is a
reward for student hard work and have a perfect attendance; Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena reserve the right to 
process the pre-application for students. 

PLACEMENT AND JOB OPPORTUNITIES 
There are many wonderful career opportunities available within the beauty industry. In addition to hair design and skin 
care, this industry also offers opportunities in areas such as makeup, aromatherapy, nail artistry, product educators, 
platform artists, sales representative and salon management. 

Although Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena does not guarantee employment upon graduation, we do maintain an 
aggressive job placement program and will inform students of job openings and opportunities, professional appearance
guidelines, job referral, and follow up. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena coordinates placement programs with local and 
national salons and spas through sending out surveys, inviting salon and spa owners and guest artists to teach at The 
School, etc. 

At 1200 hour student will be attending resume class, Connecting to my future, Mentor Portfolio Class and Salon Visitation.
Student will be getting a 1200-hour evaluation form and Graduate Exit Interview form. Student is required to submit 
resume and mentor portfolio with Admissions Leader. Admissions department Team assist student as needed. Students
has a certain period of time before they graduate to schedule an interview with Admissions, regarding the job placement.
Admissions will be guiding students to have at least 3 interviews with salons and spa. Admissions also provide the list of
salons in the Paul Mitchell network, local salons and spas and other related field. Within 180 days, Admissions 
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Department Team will do a standard follow up monthly to make sure, if they need any other assistance. All graduates list
will be kept in Admissions Files for future placement opportunities. 

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY 
Students enrolled in courses of 400 hours or more must meet formal standards that measure their satisfactory
academic progress toward graduation. Determination of progress will be evaluated at 450, 900,1250 and 1600 hours
for Cosmetology Program. In programs of 400 or 600 hours evaluations will occur at the mid-point to the academic
year. Satisfactory Academic Progress reports will be reviewed with students at each evaluation point and students will
sign each document. The policy is provided to all applicants prior the enrollment. The policy is consistently applied to all 
applicable students enrolled in the school. 

COMPLETION OF COURSE WITHIN DESIGNATED PERIOD OF TIME 
Full time day students attend 5 days/35 hours per week, Tuesday through Saturday 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Night school 
students attend 5 days/22.5 hours per week, Monday through Friday, 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm for both courses.
Information regarding other course schedules is available upon inquiry. 

The State of California requires 1600 clock hours for cosmetology and 600 hours for Skin Care, and 400 hours for Nail
Care. Students are expected to complete their course in no more than 125% of the program length. If students take no
leave of absences, or are never absent, they should complete their cosmetology course of study within 46 weeks for a
full time students and 72 weeks for a part time student; and 17.5 weeks for a full time student and 27 weeks for a part
time student for Skin Care Course. Nail Care courses of study should complete their course in 11 weeks for a full time
student and 18 weeks for a part time student. 

Students whose transfer hours are accepted by the school are applied to the total number of hours necessary to complete 
the program and are considered both attempted and completed hours. 

QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE FACTORS 
Factors for measuring the student's progress toward satisfactory completion of the program include maintaining:

1. A theory grade average of 70%,
2. A minimum cumulative academic level of 70% on practical worksheet completion.
3. A minimum cumulative attendance level of 80% of their scheduled hours. 

A student who has not achieved the minimum cumulative GPA of 70% and/or who has not successfully completed at least
a cumulative rate of attendance of 80% is not eligible for Title IV assistance, if applicable. In order to determine your rate
of attendance divide the cumulative number of hours completed by the scheduled hours to date. 

MAXIMUM TIME FRAME 
Students need to complete the educational program within the maximum time frame which is based on attending at 
least 80% of the actual hours or students may be terminated from the program. 

COURSE LENGTH MAXIMUM TIME FRAME 
Cosmetology - Full Time 46 Weeks 57 Weeks
 

Cosmetology - Part Time 72 Weeks 89 Weeks
 

Skin Care - Full Time 18 Weeks 21 Weeks
 

Skin Care - Part Time 27 Weeks 33 Weeks
 

Nail Care - Full Time 11 Weeks 14 Weeks
 

Nail Care - Part Time 18 Weeks 22 Weeks
 

EVALUATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIRED LEVEL OF ACHIEVEMENT 
Satisfactory Academic Progress elements will be monitored monthly. Formal Satisfactory Academic Progress
Evaluations in both attendance and academics will occur when student reaches 450, 900,1250 and 1600 actual hours 
for Cosmetology Program; however financial aid will not be disbursed until the student has attended 450, 900, 1250, and 
1500 actual hours. In programs of 400 or 600 hours evaluations will occur at the mid-point to the academic year. 

The following system of grading is to be used for the evaluation of a student's academic ability. Practical grade reports
will be issued monthly to each student in order for them to be aware of their progress towards meeting satisfactory
academic progress. Examinations are given in all subjects. Records are kept of grades and attendance. The following
grading scale is used for theory progress: 

A = 90 -100% B = 80 - 89% C = 70 - 79% Below 70% = Failing 
Practical and clinical work is graded by a signature on their worksheet or client ticket. A signature from an instructor 
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represents a grade of higher than 70%. No signature indicates a score of less than 70% and the student did not meet
minimum satisfactory standards on the practical application. The student is required to continue the practical application
until they receive a signature from an instructor. 

DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS 
Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are considered to be
making satisfactory academic progress until the next scheduled evaluation. Only students who maintain satisfactory
academic progress are eligible to receive Title IV assistance. 

LEAVE OF ABSENCE, INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS 
The school does not have a leave of absence policy. If the student needs to take off more time than allotted in the contract
or for more than 14 consecutive days, student must drop and re‐enroll when student is ready to return. Students who
withdraw prior to completion of the course of study and wish to re‐enter, will re‐enter at the same progress status as 
applicable at the time of withdrawal. Course incompletes, repetitions, and non‐credit remedial courses have no effect upon 
the school’s satisfactory academic progress standards. 

PROBATION AND RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS 
In order for students to be placed on probation status, the institution will determine if satisfactory academic progress 
standards can be met by the next evaluation or if the student will need to be placed on an academic plan. 

Students failing to meet minimum requirements will be placed on Financial Aid Warning for the next evaluation period. The
student will be counseled regarding actions required to attain satisfactory requirements by the next evaluation point.
During the Financial Aid Warning period, students are eligible, if applicable, to receive financial aid funds. If at the end of
the Financial Aid Warning period, the student has still not met both the attendance and academic progress requirements, 
he/she will be determined as not making satisfactory academic progress and will be ineligible for Title IV assistance. 

A student may appeal the decision if they have a reason as to why he/she did not make satisfactory academic progress
and if he/she can document that the circumstances, which caused them to have an unsatisfactory academic progress
determination have in some way changed. The basis for filing an appeal, such as death of a relative, injury or illness of the
student, or other special circumstances must be documented. If the school grants the appeal, student may impose
conditions for the student’s continued eligibility to receive Title IV, such as changing schedules. If such an appeal is 
granted, the student is placed on Financial Aid Probation for one evaluation period. If at the end of the Financial Aid 
Probation the student has not met both academic and attendance requirements, all Federal aid will be suspended until 
such time that the student re‐establishes satisfactory academic progress. Federal financial aid, if applicable, will not be 
disbursed to students on Financial Aid Probation unless the student appeals and prevails on appeal. Students may 
re‐establish satisfactory academic progress by meeting minimum attendance and academic requirements at the next
evaluation period. If the student has not met academic and attendance requirements for two consecutive evaluation
periods, the student will be determined as not making satisfactory academic progress and will be terminated. 

VETERANS SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY  
When the grade average of a veteran or eligible person falls below 70%, the student will be placed on academic probation
for one month.  If at the end of the probation period the student's grades are still below 70%, veterans' benefits will be 
terminated.  Once minimum academic progress standards are being met, benefits can be reinstated. 

When a student's attendance falls below 70%, the student will be placed on attendance probation for one month.  If at the 
end of the probation period the student's attendance is still below 70%, veterans' benefits will be terminated. Once 
minimum attendance standards are being met, benefits can be reinstated. 

APPEAL PROCEDURE 
If a student is determined as not making satisfactory academic progress or is terminated for not making satisfactory
academic progress, the student may appeal the negative determination. The student must submit a written appeal to the
school administration within five (5) business days of not making satisfactory academic progress or termination. The
student must include any supporting documentation of reasons why the determination should be reversed. If the students
fail to appeal this decision, the decision will stand. 

If a student is terminated for gross misconduct, which includes but is not limited to reporting to school under the influence
of alcohol or illegal drugs, cheating, stealing, insubordination, and threats and/or bullying, such termination is final and
may not be appealed. 

An appeal hearing will take place within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of the written appeal. This hearing will be
attended by the student, parent/guardian (if the student is dependent minor), the student’s instructor, and the Director. A 
decision on the student’s appeal will be within three (3) business days by the Director and will be communicated to the 
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student in writing. This decision will be final. 

Should a student prevail on his or her appeal and be determined as making satisfactory academic progress, the student
will be automatically re‐entered in the course, and financial aid funds will be reinstated to eligible students. 

All student appeal documentation will remain in student files and documented electronically in the school student life cycle
software for future reference. 

REINSTATEMENT OF FINANCIAL AID for those that qualify
If applicable, Title IV Financial Aid will be re-instated to qualified students who have prevailed upon appeal or who have
re-established satisfactory academic progress by meeting the minimum cumulative attendance and academic
requirements. 

REMAINING ELIGIBILITY OF FINANCIAL AID AFTER A DRUG CONVICTION 
A student will be given written notice advising them that a conviction of illegal drugs, of any offense, during a period of
enrollment for which the student was receiving Title IV financial aid will result in the loss of eligibility for any Title IV per 
(HEA sec. 484(r)(1)); and (20 U.S.C. 1091(r)(1)). 

Students whose eligibility has been suspended due to a drug conviction may resume eligibility if the student successfully
passes two unannounced drug test conducted by a drug rehabilitation program that complies with criteria established
under HEA Sec. 484(r)(2); (20 U.S.C. 1091(r)(2)). 

STUDENT SERVICES 
1. Housing: The school Admissions Department keeps a file of information about housing in the surrounding areas.
2. Advising: Students are provided with academic advising and additional assistance as necessary. If referral to 

professional assistance is necessary, the school maintains a record of such referral. Information and advice on any
financial assistance are accessible to students. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena also gives advice and information 
to students on these subjects: 

A. Regulations governing licensure to practice, including reciprocity among jurisdictions. 
B. Employment opportunities. 
C. Opportunities for Continuing education following graduation. 

REASONABLE ACCOMMODATIONS POLICY 
It is the policy of Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena to respond to requests for reasonable accommodations in
accordance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 U.S.C. 794) or section 202 of the 
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (2 U.S.C. 12132), which states in part, “no qualified individual with a disability
shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded from participation in or be denied the benefits of the services, programs, or
activities of a public entity, or be subjected to discrimination by any such entity.”
Reasonable accommodation shall refer to modification or adjustment to a job, an academic program, or work or learning
environment to enable a qualified individual with a disability to enjoy an equal employment or educational opportunity. An 
equal employment or educational opportunity means an opportunity to attain the same level of performance or to enjoy
equal benefits and privileges of employment or education available to similarly-situated staff, faculty, or students without a
disability. The Americans with Disabilities Act requires reasonable accommodations in three aspects of employment and 
education: 

•	 To ensure equal opportunity in the application process; 
•	 To enable a qualified individual with a disability to perform the essential functions of a job or to benefit from an 

educational program; and 
•	 To enable staff, faculty, or students with disabilities the opportunity to enjoy equal benefits and privileges of 

employment and education 

Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena is obligated to provide reasonable accommodations, adjustments, and/or auxiliary
services only to the known limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a disability. It is the responsibility of the
individual with a disability to inform school staff and to provide documentation (from an appropriate professional) of a
disability and demonstrate or document how the disability limits participation in employment programs, services, or 
activities at the time of admission. 

When a qualified individual with a disability requests an accommodation, the school will make a reasonable effort to
provide an accommodation, adjustment, and/or auxiliary service that is effective for the individual. Appropriate 
accommodations or modifications will be provided to ensure that the evaluation of performance represents achievement
rather than reflecting the impact of disability. 
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Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena defines accommodation as measures taken to supplement or modify instruction
during the student’s tenure at the school. 

Any qualified individual with a disability requesting an accommodation or auxiliary aid or service should follow this
procedure: 

1.Notify the school Director in writing of the type of accommodation needed, date needed, documentation of the 
nature and extent of the disability, and of the need for the accommodation or auxiliary aid. The request should be
made at least four weeks in advance of the date needed. Student may contact the director if there is any questions.

2.The director will respond within two weeks of receiving the request. 

STUDENT PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT GUIDELINES 
The following are a list of guidelines that all students must commit to and follow during their enrollment at Paul Mitchell
The School-Pasadena. The guidelines were established to assist in creating a safe, focused and enjoyable learning
experience. 

A. Attendance and Documentation of Time 

1.	 The school records attendance in clock hours and gives appropriate attendance credit for all hour attended. The
school does not add or deduct attendance hours as a penalty. Attendance is calculated using a computerized time
clock and does not round hours. 

2.	 Students are encouraged to maintain 100% attendance for Core class. Student may not miss 3 days or more
during Core. If he/she fail to meet the attendance mentioned, student will have to repeat the class missed in the 
following enrollment. 

3.	 The school is open from 9:30 am to 5 pm for day students and 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm for night students. All courses
require continuous attendance. If the school is unexpectedly closed due to extenuating circumstances, students
will be notified. Students are to return the following scheduled day, unless otherwise instructed. 

4.	 The prescribed attendance schedule must be maintained each week. Day students attend Core for 6 weeks, 
Tuesday-Saturday. Night students attend Core for 10 weeks, Monday-Friday. Alternate schedules are available to
those students that qualify. Students may not miss Mandatory Monday or Saturday. 

5.	 Late Arrival Policy: Students must be on time as it inhibits the learning process. Any students who arrive after
5 minutes start time for theory class will not be permitted to enter the classroom and will not receive theory credit.
They may "clock in” and will be assigned special projects or assignments pertaining to their course study.
Students may be allowed to attend the class after the end of the class or break. Students who are late for an
elective, cutting, hair color, permanent waving, or special class may not attend the class, and must report to clinic
floor Learning Leader to work on clinic assignments. Students are never excused from mandatory theory class to
work in the clinic. Unattended students may be asked to leave the school premises by the school staffs. 

6.	 Absentee Policy: During the enrollment contract period, the student must maintain a 90% attendance average
each month in order to complete the program within the contracted length. student is allowed to miss 10% of 
their scheduled hours before having to pay extra instructional charges. If the student’s training goes beyond
the contracted ending date for course completion, the student will be charged an additional $12 for each
hour completed in cosmetology and $13.33 for each hour completed in skin care after the contract ending date.
The student may use the allowed hours for vacation, doctor appointments, illness, etc. Student’s who fall below 
the 90% attendance average will receive monthly written warnings of the overtime charges accruing. 

7.	 If student is late or cannot attend school he/she must contact the school and ask to speak to a service desk
coordinator or school administrator or leave a message for Learning Leader Advisor. Day students must call in
before 9:30 am. Night students must call in before 5:30 pm. 

8.	 Students must request time off from school through the Education Leader/ Learning Leader Advisor. 
9.	 Holiday Schedule: Students are required to be in attendance a minimum of: 7 hours per day,35 hours per week for

fulltime schedule; 4.5 hours per day, 22.5 hours per week for part-time students. Half an hour lunch is not 
accounted for. Holidays such as New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving
and Christmas Day will be set according to the calendar each year. Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena, reserve
the right to add or make any changes for other day off necessary including but not limit to staff training and
educational events. 

10. Lunch and breaks are scheduled for all students. Day students will take a 30-minute lunch break between 12:00 
noon and 1:30 p.m., and two (2) ten minute breaks, one in the morning if possible, according to their booking. Day 
students much check out for lunch for a 30 minute period on a daily basis. Students should communicate with 
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their instructor if they have not had lunch by 1:30 p.m. Night students are to take a 20-minute break and students 
may not leave the school premises during the break. Day and Night Students must clock out from the school if 
they were to leave the campus area at any given time. 

11. Documentation of Time : Students may not leave the school premises during regular hours without the permission
of an instructor. Students who will be leaving the school premises or leave early, must document their time by:

a. Clocking out on the time clock
b. Signing the sign-out sheet
c. Having an instructor book them out

The student must always sign in and out on the sign in/out sheet. Students will not receive credit for the hour if 
he/she fails to clock in/out for lunch. Students must clock out for 30 minutes lunch every day or will be 
deducted 30 minutes if he/she fails to clock in and out for it. 

Student fails to clock in/out Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena cannot be held responsible, thereby losing any 
time lost by same. If the time loss is caused by electrical failure or time clock down time, The student will be given 
full credit for time lost during that period. 

Students may not clock in or out for another student. 
12. Students must keep a record of all services each day on the hourly break down sheet. The "hourly break down

sheet" must be completed daily and turned in every month. 

B. Professional Image
A professional image is a requirement for successful participation in school. Students must maintain the following
professional dress code: 

1. Core and Phase One future professionals must wear all black.
2. Phase Two future professionals must wear black or white in any combination.
3. Skin Academy future professionals must wear all black; Mentor may wear black or white.
4. A minimal print in clothing is acceptable only if it is in black and white print.
5. Clothing must be professional, clean, and free of stains, holes and tears.
6. Shoes should be black, professional and comfortable for all students. Everyone must wear closed-toed shoes.
7. Hair must be clean and styled prior to arriving at school. Wet hair, clips, plain ponytails are not acceptable. 
8. Skin Academy students must have hair pulled back while on the clinic floor.
9. Makeup must be applied using trend appropriate make-up techniques and applied prior to arriving at school.
10.The following is a list of unacceptable dress: 

•	 Tennis shoes, gym shoes, foot thongs or beach sandals, slippers and Crocs 
•	 Jeans or clothing made of jeans materials 
•	 Tank, Sleeveless, Low cut tops and Crop tops (cropped top, belly shirt, half shirt, tummy top, short shirt

or cutoff shirt) showing cleavage, armpits, stomachs or bottoms while standing, sitting or reaching 
•	 Sweat pants and shirts 
•	 Printed t-shirts other than those with a PAUL MITCHELL or The Cao Institute logo. 

The t-shirt must be clean and professional, and must be dressed up! 
•	 Short skirts that fall above fingertips 
•	 Shorts, Spandex or Biking shorts 
•	 Hooded jackets or tops 
•	 Legging without a dress, skirt or long top covered 
•	 See through clothing that reveals personal under garments 
•	 Color accessories other than Black, White, Gold and Silver 

11.	 Future Professionals who fail to comply with this professional dress code will be asked to leave and return with 
appropriate attire. 

C. Sanitation and Personal Services 

1.	 Students must keep workstations and classroom areas clean, sanitary and clutter free at all times. 
2.	 Students must clean their station, including the floor, after each service. 
3.	 Hair must be swept up immediately after a service is completed, before blow-drying. 
4.	 Workstations must be cleaned at the end of the day prior to receiving permission to clock out for the day. 
5.	 Students may have personal services done on Monday through Thursday, for each week outside of their schedule

study time, i.e. Day School students will get personal service after 5pm. Students are not permitted to clock out
and/or book out in order to receive personal services as a Guest. Once a student is clocked/booked out, he/she
may not remain on school premises. 
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To receive a service, students must do the following prior to starting the service: 
i.	 Notify and Obtain instructor's approval 24 hours prior to requested service. 
ii.	 Fill out and turn in a Request for Service form to the Front Desk Coordinator. 
iii.	 Pay for personal service, including but not limited to perms, tints, bleaches, rinses, and conditioning

treatments. Additional bowls and applications must be paid on the day of service. Students will be charged 
at the Student Discount rate. Haircut is Free. 

iv.	 Personal services must be rescheduled when the service desk personnel has a regularly schedule service 
client. Students must re-schedule their personal service and complete the service appointment assigned to 
them.   

v.	 Personal services are considered rewards and scheduled for students who are up to date with all projects, 
attendance, tests and worksheets. School assignments and successful learning are the priority. 

D. Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct 

1.	 Visitors are allowed in the reception area only. Visitors are not allowed in the classrooms, student lounge or work
floor area. 

2.	 Only emergency calls are permitted on the business phone. Students may use the student phones for a limited
time. Please keep those calls to 3 minutes. 

3.	 Cell phones, pagers, media players & Tape Recorders are not permitted in the school. 
4.	 Students may not visit with another student who is servicing a guest. 
5.	 Students may not gather around the reception desk, reception area, or offices. 
6.	 Students may not interrupt admissions leaders during admissions tour. If students wish to meet with an


Admissions Leaders, please inform Admission Assistant or Service Desk Coordinator by making an

appointment.
 

7.	 Students MUST communicate with school's staff members with respect and proper manners. Students will be 
asked to leave the office and return with appropriate manners and approach. Students who use inappropriate
language will be suspended from school. 

8.	 Food, drinks, or water bottles are allowed only in the lunchroom 
9.	 No gum chewing is allowed in the school at any time 
10.	 Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena is a smoke free campus 
11.	 Stealing or taking school or another's personal property is unacceptable and ground for termination 
12.	 Illegal Substance & Alcohol are not permitted in or around the school premises, also applies to outside campus

school events. Students who fail to comply will be suspended or terminated from the school. 

E. Learning Participation Guidelines 
1.	 Peer teaching and tutoring are encouraged. Taking credit for another's work or cheating during exams is
 

unacceptable.
 
2.	 Students will be expected to maintain an average of 70% on all theory tests and assignments. 
3.	 Students must take all appointments assigned to them. This includes last minute walk-ins. 
4.	 Students may not be released from required theory class to take a client or scheduled appointment with school 

personnel. 
5.	 Only Service Desk Team members may schedule or change client service appointments. 
6.	 All services must be checked and the service ticket initialed by an instructor. 
7.	 Students are expected to be continuously working on school related projects, assignments, reading or test


preparation during school hours.
 
8.	 Students will receive clock hours during the times student fully participate in their learning experience. 
9.	 When students are not scheduled with service appointments or are not scheduled to attend theory or an


elective class the following may be focused on:
 
• Completion of monthly worksheets. 
• Completion theory review worksheets. 
• Performing a service on another student. 
• Listening or reading school resource center materials to include educational videos, audiotapes and books. 

10.	 Students must comply with school personnel's and instructor's assignments and requests as required by the 
curriculum and student guidelines and rules. 

11.	 Students may not perform hair, skin and nail services outside of the school unless authorized to do so by
school Administration. Conducting unauthorized hair, skin and nail services outside of the school will be
reported to the state board and may result in your inability to receive a professional license. 
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12.	 Students are responsible for his/her own equipment, and may use a station drawer only while working at that
station. All equipment, tools and personal items must be secured in their assigned locker. The School is not
responsible for any articles that are lost or stolen. 

13.	 All worksheets are due the last school day of the month by 5:00 p.m. for Day students and 10:00 p.m. for Night
students.
 

14 Student will not be permitted to clock in until their worksheet is submitted
 
15.	 If a student fails to complete their worksheet 100%, and has singles, he/she will be placed on Back on Track list 

and will remain on the list until the following month as long the student has no singles on their worksheet. 

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS/COACHING AND CORRECTIVE ACTION
Part of the learning experience includes fine-tuning and mastering the skills and behaviors of a salon professional. The
School Team will coach all students to correct noncompliance or inappropriate behavior. The following are a list of 
actions that may be expected for non-compliance: 
A. Attendance and Documentation of Time Guidelines 
Attendance, promptness and documentation of work are cornerstones to successful work practices. Students may be
clocked out, released for the day and/or given a formal warning when they do not comply with guidelines. 
B. Professional Image Standards
Professional Image Standards were created to provide guidance and direction to students as they develop their 
professional image and persona. Students may be clocked out and released for the day and/or given a formal warning
when they do not meet professional image standards. 
C. Sanitation and Personal Service Procedures 
Sanitation and service procedures have been established to comply with state laws and to provide a safe and clean
service environment. Students may be clocked out and released for the day and/or given a formal warning when they do
not follow sanitation and personal service procedures. 
D. Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct 
It is the school's responsibility to provide a learning environment that is professional, positive and conducive to learning.
Staff and students all contribute to a mutually respectful learning environment that fosters effective communication and 
professional behavior. Students who fail to follow communication guidelines and who do not conduct themselves in a 
respectful and professional manner may be given a formal warning, suspension or termination. 
E. Learning Participation Guidelines
The learning participation guidelines have been established to provide a creative, fun, interactive and collaborative 
learning environment that empowers students to act as "future salon professionals" and committed learners. Positive
behavior is required to create a mutually beneficial learning environment for all students. Students who fail to meet the
guidelines and create challenges for others students or staff may be released from school, suspended or terminated. 

Corrective Action Steps
After a student has received five (5) suspensions he/she may be terminated. Terminated students may only be
readmitted to school after a thirty-day waiting period. If the student receives another suspension after re-admittance,
he/she‘s attendance will be permanently terminated. 

Suspension Students may be suspended for the following: 
1. Lack of correct uniform/dress code 
2. Leaving school grounds without permission or without clocking out 
3. Malicious gossip 
4. Neglecting to call in and/or leave message before 9:30am(Day) & 5:30pm(Night) when late or absent 
5. Unfinished singles or late clinic floor worksheets 
6. Behind in theory attendance and/or tests 
7. Beginning a guest without a Learning Leader's permission 
8. Failure to sign in/out, includes lunch and breaks 
9. Refusing a guest or unavailable for a guest
10. Parking in undersigned area
11. Missing a mandatory Saturday (day) or Friday (night) 
12. Clocking out before 5:00 pm (Day) -10:00 pm (Night) 
13. Use of cell phone in the school premises 

Termination Students may be terminated for the following and give no warning: 
1. Drugs and/or alcohol 
2. Signing in/out for another student 
3. Cheating or stealing 
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4.	 Cheating on the time clock and/or receiving unearned hours ( i.e. Clocked back in but still having lunch) 
5.	 Insubordination 
6.	 Lack of tuition payments 
7.	 Threatening statements and/or made towards staff or future professionals. No bullying. 
8.	 Found to be in possession of firearms and/or any kind of weapon while on school grounds. 
9.	 Fail to return to school without notice, after 14 consecutive days from the last day of attendance
10. Receives a five (5) suspensions 

At Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena, we believe in providing a quality environment with an exceptional
education program. This framework gives everyone the opportunity to enjoy the experience! The entire staff
appreciates the students' respect of these guidelines. 

GRIVANCE POLICY 
In the event a student has a concern or grievance that cannot be resolved with the student’s immediate instructor or
Education Leader, 

•	 Student must file the concern in written form to Learning Leader Advisor 
•	 The complaint will then be referred to the School's Management Team which consists of the school Dean,

Director, Education Leader, Learning Leader Advisor, and Admissions Leader. The team will receive and 
attempt to resolve each complaint or concern within 21 days of receiving the written complaint. 

•	 If more information is needed, a letter requesting the additional information will be sent to the student. 
•	 If no further information is needed, the team will determine a resolution and notify the student in writing within

15 calendar days of the steps taken to correct the concern or an explanation as to why no action was taken. 
•	 The school will maintain records of the complaint and response in accordance with the published record

retention policy. 

If student have any complaints, questions, or concerns which cannot resolved with the school and wish pursuit further,
write or call the Department of Consumer Affairs, Consumer Information Division: 1625 North Market Blvd, Suite N112
Sacramento, CA 95834. (800)952‐5210 Upon request, the school will provide its annual campus security report to a 
prospective student or prospective employee. 

REGULATORY AND ACCREDITATION AGENCIES 
The following institutions license and regulate Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena: 

Department of Consumer Affairs National Accrediting Commission The Bureau of Barbering and
Consumer Information Division of Career Arts & Sciences, Inc. Cosmetology
1625 North Market Blvd, Suite 4401 Ford Avenue Suite 1300 P.O. Box 944226 
N112 Sacramento, CA 95834 Alexandria, VA 22302‐1432 Sacramento, CA 94244‐2260 
(800)952‐5210 (703) 600‐7600 (914) 574‐7574 

If you are interested in reviewing or receiving a copy of the school's state license/approval or a copy of the schools letter 
of accreditation, please contact the school Director. 

28 



 

  

 
   

 

 
                  

             
                

               
 

               
 

   
               

                
                    

  
 

                     
               
                 

            
 

   
   
    
   
   

      
         

    
     

    
 

    
                 

         
                  

                 
        

                  
 

                  
               

  
     

                
           

                
    

               
       

              
        

  
                

       
            
             

                   
                 

       
                

                
        

                 
      

                    
 

CAMPUS SAFETY & SECURITY POLICY 
(Revised 7/ 2011) 

INTRODUCTION: 
This document has been designed to inform all students and employees of Paul Mitchell Schools about its safety and
security procedures and policy. The safety of our students and employees is an important concern of the administration.
This document explicates this institution policy regarding crime and accident prevention, public safety, and criminal and
accident reporting procedures. Read this document carefully and ask questions if you feel confused or uncertain. 

Paul Mitchell Schools, herein referred to as “school” or “institution,” uses the following policy and procedures: 

Crime and Accident Prevention: 
The school does not assume liability for stolen property. Therefore, students and employees should always keep their
personal belongings locked in the student lockers, which have been provided. The institution encourages students and
staff not to bring expensive jewelry, money, or other valuables to the school. Such items should be left at home in order to
reduce the chance of theft. 

The school reserves the right to prosecute any student or employee to the full extent of state and United States federal
law for any criminal violation committed on the school premises. The school will take into consideration the specifics of
any student who may be accused of a crime on a case-by-case basis, which may include suspension or termination from 
school. Criminal violations may include, but may not be limited to the following: 

•	 Murder • Simple or aggravated assault 
•	 Rape • Unlawful consumption or possession of alcohol or
•	 Forcible sex offenses other controlled or illegal substance 
•	 Non-forcible sex offenses • Hate crime including larceny-theft, simple assault,
•	 Robbery/theft intimidation, or vandalism 

Further preventative measures include:
1.	 Students and/or employees shall not be permitted to consume illegal or controlled substances, including alcoholic

beverages, during school hours or at school functions. 
2.	 Students and/or employees shall not be permitted to have any illegal or otherwise dangerous weapons in their

possession or on school property. Such a violation will result in the confiscation of the weapon, possible
prosecution, and possible termination from enrollment or employment. 

3.	 Students and/or employees must keep their property securely locked in the designated areas in order to prevent 
theft. 

4.	 Students and/or employees must park in the designated areas and should always keep their cars securely locked. 
5.	 Employees and/or students must never remain alone within the facility after closing without administrative approval.

If approval has been given, the outside door must remain locked at all times, and the student/ employee must not 
allow any unauthorized individual entrance. 

6.	 All employees should make certain that the offices remain securely locked at all times. When leaving the office, the 
employees must always check the door to ensure it is secure. 

7.	 Employees should never lock the facility alone. Two people must always be present during locking procedures. The
two individuals should check to ensure that both have entered their vehicles safely. 

8.	 Students and/or employees shall report hazardous conditions (i.e., faulty or broken equipment, water leaks, 
chemical spills, exposed electrical wires, etc.) to the School Director for immediate attention. 

9.	 The School Director shall handle all such hazards with appropriate caution and expedience. Proper procedures may
require the School Director to notify the appropriate agencies (i.e., the poison control center, fire department, power 
company, etc.). 

10.	 Students and/or employees shall not attempt to repair damaged electrical equipment or exposed wires. Instead,
such problems should be reported to the administration. 

11.	 Damaged or dangerous structural conditions shall be reported to the School Director immediately. 
12.	 Students and/or employees should handle all equipment correctly (i.e., within the manufacturerʼs specifications). 

The school will not be responsible for accidents caused by inappropriate or negligent use of any of its equipment. 
13.	 Students and/or employees shall not be permitted to use unauthorized equipment. The school will not accept

liability for accidents involving such unapproved equipment. 
14.	 Students and/or employees with unusual, serious health conditions must report such conditions upon admission or

employment. Arrangements must be made with his or her physician for appropriate preventative measures. All such
conditions will be kept confidential among school management. 

15.	 Employees shall be required to attend a workshop on first-aid care. The administration will organize the workshop,
which will involve accepted professional organizations. 
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Criminal and Accident Reporting Procedures:
The school does not have individual campus security. All crimes are reported to the local police department for
investigation and action. We encourage all students and employees to report all crimes in a timely manner to Peggy Lee,
the School Director, who will promptly contact the local authorities to address the issue. Victims and witnesses are
encouraged to report crimes, but it is solely on a voluntary basis. 

1.	 In the event of a fire: 
• All occupants should proceed to the nearest available exit in an orderly, calm manner.
• Leave all personal belongings behind.
• Assist the elderly, handicapped, and children to the nearest exit.
• Do not attempt to contain the fire. Evacuate immediately and leave containment to trained professionals.
• Once safely outside, stand in a group at a safe distance from the building. Instructors should take a count to

ensure no one is still inside. 
• The School Director should call fire officials or delegate the task to one person. Also, he or she should notify the 

other building occupants.
• When reporting the fire to the officials: 

– Indicate the name of the institution. 
– Indicate the location of the institution. 
– Indicate your name. 
– Indicate any possible injuries (need for paramedics/ambulance). 
– Indicate the suspected cause (i.e., electrical, chemical, gas, etc.). 
– Remain calm and help calm others. 

2.	 In the event of a burglary:
• Remain calm and agreeable with the culprit(s).
• Do not attempt any heroic measures.
• Report all burglaries to the local police.
• When reporting a burglary: 

– Indicate the name of the institution. 
– Indicate your name. 
– Indicate the date and time of the incident. 
– Indicate any injuries if known. 
– Indicate the number of suspects involved. 
– Indicate any descriptive information. 

3.	 In the event of a rape or aggravated assault: 
• Remain calm. 
• Calm the victim and call 911. 
• If you are the victim, call 911.
• Report all such crimes to the proper local officials. Seek professional counseling or contact the school

administration for a counseling referral. 
4.	 In the event of an accident: 

• Report the event to the manager on duty.
• The manager on duty should do the following:
 

– Determine if emergency help is needed. If so, he or she should call for it. –
 
– Fill out an accident report. Include the cause, the name(s) of those involved, the date, the time,

the circumstances, and the explanation of any witnesses.
 
- Report all of the information to the management.
 
- If necessary, notify the parents and family of the victim(s).
 

5.	 In the event of a general emergency within the school premises, please notify the school administration 
immediately and remain calm. The school personnel are trained in emergency response and evacuation
procedures. If the school administration determines that students and staff are in danger and need to leave the 
school premises, an immediate announcement will be made over the school intercom system. Do not exit the
building unless you have been directly instructed to do so. Please listen to all announcements, remain calm, and
follow the directions of the school staff. The staff will direct you where to go in the event of an emergency in order 
to ensure your safety. 

The school will review its evacuation plans and procedures during orientation on the first day of class and yearly
with the student body and staff. The school will also conduct emergency evacuation tests annually in order for the
staff and students to clearly understand the procedures. 
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The school encourages pastoral and professional counselors, in instances when the student may need assistance in 
dealing with a particular situation. 

STUDENT RIGHT TO KNOW POLICY: 

All criminal activity and accidents that occur on the school premises must be reported to the School Director who must
keep a confidential file on the circumstances surrounding each incident. The School Director must make the information 
available to the employees and students, although he or she should keep personal information, such as names, 
confidential. The School Director shall use the following procedures for informing students and employees of criminal 
activity and accidents:
1.	 Each week during weekly announcements, a general account of any criminal activity that may have occurred will be 

given. 
2.	 Each week a general account of any criminal incident and/or accident will be posted in the lounge for student

access. Confidential information will not be available. 
3.	 A confidential file will be kept that describes each accident and criminal incident in detail. The file must include

dates, times, names, extenuating circumstances, agencies notified, etc. 
4.	 During the announcements, emphasis will be placed on accident and crime prevention. 
5.	 Statistics regarding the incidence of rape, burglary, drug violations, motor vehicle theft, murder, and simple or

aggravated assaults that occurred within the institution will be available to any and all students and/or employees 
upon request. 

6.	 Statistics concerning the number of arrests for on-campus crimes of murder, forcible and non-forcible 
sex offenses, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, motor vehicle theft, liquor law violations, drug law violations,
illegal weapon possessions, arson, and negligent and non-negligent manslaughter during the calendar year(s) of
2008,2009,2010 are listed below: 

TYPE OF CRIME NO. OF OCCURRENCES/ NO. ARREST 

Murder 0 0 
Sex Offenses (forcible) 
Sex Offenses (non-forcible) 
Robbery 
Simple or Aggravated Assault 
Burglary 
Motor Vehicle Theft 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
2 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
2 

Arson 0 0 
Liquor Law Violations 
Drug Law Violations 
Illegal Weapons Possessions 
Negligent Manslaughter 
Non-Negligent Manslaughter 
Hate Crimes based on Race* 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

Hate Crimes based on Gender* 0 0 
Hate Crimes based on Religion* 
Hate Crimes based on Sexual Orientation* 

0 
0 

0 
0 

Hate Crimes based on Ethnicity* 
Hate Crimes based on Disability* 

0 
0 

0 
0 

*Note: The school will separately report any hate crimes by category of prejudice and by type of crime if any are reported
during the reporting period. 

There were no crimes of murder, forcible rape, non-forcible rape, or aggravated assault that show evidence of prejudice
based on race, gender, religion, sexual orientation, disability, or ethnicity as prescribed by the Hate Crime Statistics Act
(28 U.S.C. 534) on the school campus or on public property immediately surrounding the school campus. 

In accordance with the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 (42 U.S.C. § 14071(j)), we are notifying
you that you can obtain information concerning registered sex offenders by accessing www.familywatchdog.us for a list of
registered offenders near the school premises. 
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DRUG & ALCOHOL POLICY 
(Revised July 2011) 

This is to inform Staff and Students of the requirements of the Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act Amendments of
1989, Public Law 101-226 and what Paul Mitchell School requires of it’s Staff and Students. 

All Staff and Students are prohibited from the unlawful manufacture and distribution, possession, or use of illicit drugs or 
alcohol. This prohibition applies while on the property of the school or participating in any institutional activity. This 
prohibition also applies to any student or employee who has a state issued medical marijuana card. Students or 
employees who violate this policy will be subject to disciplinary action up to and including expulsion from school or 
termination from employment. 

There are numerous legal sanctions and penalties under local, state, and federal laws, which can be used to punish
violators. Penalties can range from suspension, revocation and denial of a driver’s license to 20-50 years imprisonment at 
hard labor without benefit of parole. Property may be seized. Community service may be mandated. 

Recent federal anti-drug laws affect a number of areas in everyone’s lives. Students could lose eligibility for federal
financial aid, could be denied other federal benefits, such as Social Security, retirement, welfare, health, disability, and
veterans benefits. The Department of Housing and Urban Development, which provides funds to states and communities
for public housing, now has the authority to evict residents and members of their household who are involved in drug-
related crimes on or near the public housing premises. Businesses could lose federal contracts if the company does not 
promote a drug-free environment.  Finally, a record of a felony or conviction in a drug-related crime may prevent a person 
from entering certain careers. 

The laws of the State are adequate to protect the innocent, but stringent enough to insure that persons involved with the
illegal dealing of drugs or excessive use of alcohol can be adequately punished. For example, a small amount of drugs
found on a person may lead to an arrest, which could require the person to make payment of all court costs as well as
participate in mandatory community service. A person found with drugs with the intention to distribute, could be 
imprisoned. A person found to be intoxicated while driving could be forced to pay court costs, lawyer’s fees, participate in
community service, receive an increase in the cost of automobile insurance or even lose their driver’s license and end up 
in prison. 

The State has various laws regarding misuse of controlled substances (prescription drugs), alcohol, and also the use of 
illegal drugs. 

In addition to local and state authorities, the federal government has four agencies employing approximately 52,500
personnel engaged in fighting illicit drugs. These agencies are: The Drug Enforcement Agency, U.S. Customs Service,
Federal Bureau of Investigation, and the U.S. Coast Guard. 

Here are a few legal; facts that you should be aware. It is a crime to hold someone else’s dope. It is a crime to sell fake 
dope. You can be arrested if you are in a house (or a school) where people are using drugs, even though you are not.
You are considered to possess, under legal terms of “constructive possession,” dope that is in your locker, purse, car, or
house. 

Drug abuse is the utilization of natural and/or synthetic chemical substances for non-medical reasons to affect the body
and its processes, the mind and nervous system and behavior. The abuse of drugs can affect a person’s physical and 
emotional health and social life. Alcohol is the most abused drug in the United States. 

Drugs can be highly addictive and injurious to the body as well as one’s self.  People tend to lose their sense of 
responsibility and co-ordination. Restlessness, irritability, anxiety, paranoia, depression, acting slow moving,
inattentiveness, loss of appetite, sexual indifference, comas, convulsions or even death can result from overuse of drugs.
Not only does the person using the drug subject himself to all sorts of health risks, drug use can, and in many instances
do, cause grief and discomfort to innocent people. A drug-dulled brain, for example, affects the wide range of skills 
needed for safe driving, such as thinking. Further, reflexes are slowed, making it hard for drivers to respond to sudden, 
unexpected events. Alcohol-related highway deaths are the top killer of 15-24 year olds. 

There are drug or alcohol counseling, treatment, and rehabilitation facilities available in our area where you can seek 
advice and treatment. 

The yellow pages of the local telephone book, is an excellent source. Look under the heading “Drug Abuse & Addiction – 
Information and Treatment” for the nearest resource available to you. 

There are national organizations one can contact for help. The Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Hotline is open 24 hours, 1-
800-252-6465. The Cocaine Hotline, 1-800-444-9999 is open 24 hours a day. The National Institute on Drug Abuse 
Hotline is available 8:00am-2:00am, Monday through Friday and 11:00am – 2:00am on weekends, 1-800-662-4357. 
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Dependency upon drugs can only lead to a life of misery and misfortune.  The illegal use or abuse of drugs has a very 
high impact on our society and the type of crimes committed. To support a drug habit, people must resort to many things,
which can only lead to a life of horror and in some instances, death. The dollar costs can range from $200 to $3000 per 
week to support a habit. More importantly, the drug habit impacts a person’s family and lifestyle and career prospects as
well as one’s physical well-being and self-respect. 

Treatment is available and may be expensive. For example, a typical live-in program lasting four (4) weeks can cost from
$5000 to $15,000. Out-patient programs cost from $1000 to $5000. Who pays for these treatments?  There may be 
programs that cover the costs. One way or another, the person and the taxpayer pays! It has been proven that an
individual “hooked” cannot just stop, but requires professional care to kick the habit. 

There are classic danger signals that could indicate the first sign of drug use. The primary ones that could call attention to 
one’s use of drugs are: 

Abrupt changes in mood or attitude
Continuing slump at work or school
Continuing resistance to discipline at home or school
Cannot get along with family and friends
Unusual temper flare-ups
Increased borrowing of money
Heightened secrecy
A complete new set of friends 

We recommend that any person observing any of the above changes in either staff or students, immediately notify the 
school manager or director. Caution must be observed not to wrongly accuse a person suspected of taking drugs as an
improper accusation could lead to embarrassment both to the individual and the school. 

Once it has been determined by management that assistance to overcome a drug problem is necessary, the individual
and his/her family should be counseled on where they can obtain professional assistance. Records must be maintained 
of any counseling provided the individual, but will remain confidential. 

There are clinics in the school’s vicinity, which can render assistance. Treatment must be an expense borne by the 
patient. The school can only offer advice in a limited manner. If the individual is in immediate danger of harming
him/herself or others, local law authorities should be immediately contacted. 

Staff and students who violate these standards of conduct subject themselves to disciplinary action. Students are 
reminded that as a pre-condition to accepting a Pell Grant, that they sign a certificate stating they would not engage in the
unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensation, possession or use of a controlled substance during the period covered by
a Pell Grant. A Pell Grant recipient convicted of a criminal drug offense resulting from a violation occurring during the
period of enrollment covered by the Pell Grant, must report the conviction, in writing, within 10 calendar days of the
conviction, to the Director, Grants and Contracts Service, U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., 
Room 3073, FOB-6, Washington, D.C. 20202-4571. Failure to report the conviction could lead to LS&T or debarment for
the school. 

Staff, upon being hired by Paul Mitchell School, and students upon enrollment will receive, a briefing and acknowledge in
writing that they understand the provisions of the Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988 or Drug Free Schools and
Communities Act.  Employees must notify the Director of the School in writing of a conviction of a criminal drug statute 
occurring outside the workplace, within five days after receiving the conviction. Disciplinary action will take place within 30 
days of notification, and can range from a letter of admonishment, suspension from school or work, and/or enrollment in a 
rehabilitation program to termination from either school or employment. 

During 2010 the school had zero drug and alcohol related violations and zero fatalities that occurred on the school 
campus. 

During 2010 the school had zero sanctions imposed by the institution as a result of any drug or alcohol related violations 
of fatalities on the school campus. 
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SEXUAL HARASSMENT POLICY 

Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena is committed to maintaining a working and learning environment which provides for
fair and equitable treatment, including freedom from sexual harassment. This policy covers anyone who engages in
sexual harassment on school property or at school activities. 

Sexual harassment is defined as unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal and/or 
physical conduct of a sexual nature, when:

• Submission to the conduct or communication is either explicitly or implicitly made a term or condition of an
individual’s employment, work opportunity, education, or other benefit;
• Submission to or rejection of the conduct or communication is used as a factor for employment decisions or 

other school-related decisions affecting an individual; and/or 
• Such conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an individual’s work

or school performance or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive work or school environment. 

Sexual harassment can occur between staff to student, student to staff, student to student, staff to staff, female to 
male, male to female, female to female, and male to male. Administration will take prompt, equitable, and remedial
action on reports and complaints that come to the attention of school personnel, either formally or informally.
Allegations of criminal misconduct will be reported to the appropriate law enforcement agency. 

Sexual harassment may include but is not limited to: 

• Verbal harassment or abuse of a sexual nature 
• Subtle pressure for sexual activity
• Inappropriate or unwelcome touching, patting, or pinching of a sexual nature 
• Intentional brushing against a student’s or an employee’s body
• Demanding sexual favors accompanied by implied or overt threats concerning an Individual’s employment or

educational status 
• Demanding sexual favors accompanied by implied or overt promises of preferential treatment with regards to an

individual’s employment or educational status
• Use of sexually or gender degrading words or comments, verbal or written (ex., graffiti) 
• Display in the school, on school grounds, or at school-sponsored events of sexually suggestive pictures 
• Leering of a sexual nature 
• Spreading of sexual rumors 

Engaging in sexual harassment will result in appropriate discipline or other appropriate sanctions against offending
students, staff, or contractors. Anyone else engaging in sexual harassment on school property or at school activities 
will have access to school property and activities restricted or revoked, as appropriate. 

The school shall respect the confidentiality of the complainant and the individual(s) against whom the complaint is
filed as much as possible, consistent with the school’s legal obligations and the necessity to investigate the 
allegations, and to take disciplinary action when the conduct has occurred. 

Retaliation is prohibited against any person who makes a complaint or is a witness under this policy and will result in
appropriate disciplinary action against the person responsible for the retaliation. Individuals who knowingly report
false allegations of sexual harassment or corroborate false allegations will be subject to appropriate disciplinary
action. 

Each staff member is responsible for reporting alleged discrimination and/or harassment to his/her supervisor or
other appropriate school personnel immediately. Staff members who fail to take prompt action to report allegations or 
violation(s) of this policy may be subject to disciplinary action up to and including termination. 
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BULLYING, HARASSMENT AND DISCRIMINATION POLICY 

Paul Mitchell The School-Pasadena is committed to maintaining a working and learning environment which provides for
fair and equitable treatment, including freedom from bullying, harassment and discrimination of any kind. This policy
includes anyone who engages in such behavior on school property or at school activities. 

Harassing, bullying, and discrimination may take many forms, including verbal acts and name‐calling; graphic and written
statements, which may include use of cell phones or the Internet; or other conduct that may be physically threatening,
harmful, or humiliating. Harassment, bullying and discrimination do not have to include intent to harm, be directed at a 
specific target, or involve repeated incidents. Harassment, bullying, and discrimination creates a hostile environment when
the conduct is sufficiently severe, pervasive, or persistent so as to interfere with or limit a student’s ability to participate in 
or benefit from the services, activities, or opportunities offered by the school. 

Such conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an individual’s work or school 
performance or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive work or school environment. Bullying, harassment or
discrimination can occur between staff to student, student to staff, student to student, staff to staff, female to male, male to 
female, female to female, and male to male. Administration will take prompt, equitable, and remedial action on reports and 
complaints that come to the attention of school personnel, either formally or informally. Allegations of criminal misconduct 
will be reported to the appropriate law enforcement agency. 

Engaging in any of these acts will result in appropriate discipline or other appropriate sanctions against offending
students, staff, or contractors. Anyone engaging in bullying, harassment or discrimination on school property or at school
activities will have access to school property and activities restricted or revoked, as appropriate. 

The school shall respect the confidentiality of the complainant and the individual(s) against whom the complaint is filed as
much as possible, consistent with the school’s legal obligations and the necessity to investigate the allegations, and to
take disciplinary action when the conduct has occurred. 

Retaliation is prohibited against any person who makes a complaint or is a witness under this policy and will result in
appropriate disciplinary action against the person responsible for the retaliation. Individuals who knowingly report false
allegations or corroborate false allegations will be subject to appropriate disciplinary action. Each staff member is
responsible for reporting alleged bullying, harassment or discrimination to his/her supervisor or other appropriate school
personnel immediately. Staff members who fail to take prompt action to report allegations or violation(s) of this policy may
be subject to disciplinary action up to and including termination. 
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COPYRIGHT MATERIAL POLICY PAUL MITCHELL SCHOOLS 
All material in this program is, unless otherwise stated, the property of Paul Mitchell The School. Reproduction or
retransmission of the materials, in whole or in part, in any manner, without the prior written consent of the copyright
holder, is a violation of copyright law. 
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