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SCHOOL PERFORMANCE FACT SHEET 2009 


STATE EXAM PASS RATE 
96% of the students who completed the course in 2009 passed the Competency 
Evaluation Program CEP test required by the state of California for certification 
as a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant). 

EMPLOYMENT RATE 
Approximately 95% of those who completed the course in 2009 secured 
employment in the field in which they were trained or continued their education in 
the health care field. 

COURSE COMPLETION RATE 
94% of our students completed the course of instruction in 2009. 

*Based on the Santa Rosa American Red Cross classes, 2009 

THE RED CROSS CHAPTER IS A 

FRAGRANCE-FREE 

FACILITY 


WHILE AT THE CHAPTER PLEASE DO NOT WEAR: 
• PERFUMES 
• SCENTED AFTER-SHAVES 
• OTHER FRAGRANCES 


SMOKE FREE CAMPUS 

PLEASE DO NOT SMOKE 

ON THE PROPERTY 


(INCLUDING THE PARKING LOT) 


THANK YOU 
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Introduction, Course Descriptions, Fees and Charges 


Thank you for your interest In the American Red Cross Nurse Assistant and Home Health Aide 
Training Programs. The following pages contain very important information regarding the 
programs. Please review each page to be sure that you have read and understand it. If you have 
any questions regarding the programs, please call (707) 577-7600. Any questions or problems 
concerning the programs which have not been satisfactorily answered or resolved by the school 
(American Red Cross) should be directed to the Department of Consumer Affairs, 1625 North 
Market Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95834. 

Nurse Assistant Training Program: This 160 hour course will train you to provide quality care to 
residents in nursing homes. The course is taught in English. Students must read at the 5th grade 
level. (If students speak English as a second language, we strongly recommend that they take an 
English exam.) The course consists of 19 units focused on all aspects of resident care including 
residents' rights ; safety procedures; the aging process; assisting residents with personal care; 
taking vital signs; admitting, transferring and discharging residents; death and dying; modifying 
care; restorative nursing and time management. Additional modules are available to meet specific 
state requirements. The course is led by Registered Nurses who have completed a training 
course and meet all Federal , State and American Red Cross Instructor requirements. Upon 
successful completion of the course, you will be qualified to take the examination to become a 
Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA). You must be 16 years old to become certified in California. 

Course Fee: $1395 ($250 Non-refundable Registration Fee, $1145 Training. Fees include 
training, Livescan and Materials. See page 15 for additional fees. 

Text Books: Included in the tuition fee and non-refundable once they are issued to you. Every 
student must have his/her own text books. All other teaching materials are included. 

Uniform Dress: It is the student's responsibility to acquire a solid Royal Blue scrubs, 
comfortable closed toed shoes with appropriate hose or socks, to be wom beginning with the first 
day of clinical practice. 

Home Health Aide Training Program: You must be a Certified Nurse Assistant to take this 40­
hour State of California approved course. This course will train you to provide quality care to 
clients in their homes. You will learn: (1) how to work well with clients and their families, and help 
them to feel better about themselves; (2) how to assist clients in taking care of their daily needs. 
Upon successfully completing the course you will qualify to be a Certified Home Health Aide 
(CHHA) and receive 26 Continuing Education Units (CEU's) . 

Course Fee: $450 ($100 Non-refundable Registration Fee, $350 Training) 

Text Books: Included in the tuition fee and non-refundable once they are issued to you. Every 
student must have his/her own text books. All other teaching materials are included. 

Uniform Dress: It is the student's responsibility to acquire a solid Royal Blue scrubs, 
comfortable closed toed shoes with appropriate hose or socks, to be worn beginning with the first 
day of clinical practice. 
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Student Assessment, Grading & Academic Progress 


Criteria for Grading Students: Students are assessed a grade based on their performance. 
Performance is measured and recorded by the instructors on the Clinical Practicum Guide 
Evaluation form and on the final written examination. Students are verbally quizzed by the 
instructors after each unit of instruction and are given a practice test at the first week and the half­
way point of class. 
Grades are assigned according to the fol/owlng: 
Pass (P): entered as the final grade for a stUdent who has passed all the required skills 
competency check-ofts and scored at least 80 percent on the final written examination. 
Fail (F): entered as the final grade if the student has not passed all the required skill competency 
check-ofts and scored less than 80 percent on the final wr~ten examination. 
Incomplete (I): entered as the final grade if the student is unable to complete the course due to 
certain circumstances, such as illness or a death In the family. An Incomplete is given only when 
arrangements to complete the course have been made. 
Academic Progress: A student's progress will be evaluated by a test after the first week of class. 
If a student is not passing, the instructor will counsel the stUdent about his/her difficulty and a plan 
for improvement and will write a 'Student at Risk Form: giving a date (completion of 50% or less 
of course) at which time the stUdent can drop and be entitled to a refund (SEE REFUND 
POLICy). 
State Certification: The certificate issued by the Red Cross upon successful completion of the 
course allows you to take the state competency examination. W~h proof of passing the state 
examination, the graduate may work as a Certified Nurse Assistant under the state and federal 
law guidelines for up to one year while awaiting receipt of state certificate, which could take up to 
four months. 

Record Retention Policy 

1. 	 All records will be maintained at the American Red Cross offices, 5297 Aero Drive, Santa 
Rosa, California 95403. All records will be maintained in a safe and secure location. 
Only the Director of Nursing and his/her designee shall have access to the records, which 
are retained for a period of four years. 

2. 	 Records will be available to the students during normal working hours as posted in the 
Chapter. Please retain copies of your TB and physical. ARC will charge $8 for any 
requested copies. 

3. 	 Records will be available to all duly authorized individuals, I.e., any person authorized by 
the Private Postsecondary and Vocational Reform Act of 1989. 

Attendance Policy 

1. 	 Complete attendance is required every day of the course. MAKE UP TIME FOR A 
MISSED THEORY DAY IS AT THE INSTRUCTOR'S DISCRETION. 

2. 	 Instructors will provide supervised make-up time for excused absences on a CLINICAL 
DAY and ONLY at the Instructor's discretion. 

3. 	 In the event of an emergency which would prevent you from attending any portion of the 
course, you must call the Instructor to the number you have been given. 

4. 	 You are expected to be on time every day. If you arrive late, you will be counseled and 
given a 'student at risk' form. If you are late after being warned, it Is grounds for 
dismissal. 
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Drop Out/Refu nd Policy 

1. 	 All fees will be refunded if the school does not accept the applicant. 
2. 	 The student has a right to a full refund of all charges less the $250 non-refundable 

registration fee If he/she cancels this agreement at least 5 business days prior to 
orientation. The amount retained for the registration fee may not exceed $250. 

3. 	 The student may withdraw from a course after instruction has started and receive a 
refund minus the non-refundable registration fee, textbook cost and a 15% administration 
fee if the student has completed 50% or less of the instruction (42 day class costs 
$33/day; 22 day class costs $63/day). For example: if the student attended 10 days of a 
42-day course and paid $1345 tuition, the student would receive a refund of $545.30 (see 
example below). 

$1395.00 Tuition paid 
Minus $ 0.50 Student Tuition Recovery Fund (nonrefundable) 
Minus $ 250.00 Registration Fee (nonrefundable) 
Minus $ 330.00 Number of days received 
Minus $ 59.95 Textbook retained by student 
Minus $ 209.25 Administration Fee (15%) 

$ 545.30 REFUND 

4. 	 The termination date to determine the refund is the last date of actual altendance by the 
student. Refunds will be made within thirty (30) days of receipt of cancellation notice. 

5. 	 Cancellation after completing fifty percent (50%) or more of the course will result in no 
refund. 

6. 	 There is no refund for termination of class due to violations of the code of conduct or 
dress code. 

Prior Convictions 

If you have ever been convicted by any court of a crime other than a minor traffic violation, you 
must submit your fingerprints (via Live Scan) and an application to the Department of Health 
Services for Certified Nurse Assistant, prior to enrollment in this course . Once you have obtained 
a criminal background clearance from the Department of Health Services, you may enroll in the 
course. The state may require the following information, which must be sent to the Department of 
Health Services, Licensing and Certification Program AID and Technician Certification Section, 
P.O. Box 997416 Sacramento CA 95899-7416 (916) 327-2445 to obtain clearance: 

• 	 Statement of facts, i.e., date(s) and nature of Incident(s) 
• 	 Disposition of the case (provide court papers) 
• 	 Current status 
• 	 Letters from your probation officer (if applicable), leiters of recommendation (if applicable) 

The American Red Cross has the right to deny a student enrollment based on the prior 
conviction penal section from the Department of Health Services, which constitutes automatic 
Den ial/Revocation of certification (see "Conviction of Penal Code Section" on page #16). If you 
have been cleared by the Department of Health Services for any conviction, bring your stamped 
clearance to the Red Cross. Please contact the Nursing Training Programs Coordinator regarding 
your questions and concerns about prior convictions. 
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Requirements of Enrollment: 

• 	 Enrollment form 
• 	 $250.00 non-refundable deposit 

Due on Orientation Dav (Mandatory) See course schedule for date 

• 	 $1145.00 Tuition (Credit/Debit Card, Money Order or Cashier's Check 
only payable to the American Red Cross (No Cash or Personal Checks 
accepted) 

• 	 Physical exam done within one year of start of the class 
• 	 TB test done within six months of start of the class or 1 year for X-Ray's 

NOTE: Uniform dress beginning with the first day of clinical practice. You 
are required to wear a solid Royal Blue scrubs, comfortable closed toed 
shoes. All students are required to have Livescan fingerprinting, which 
is done by the American Red Cross on Orientation. No cost to students. 

Order of Requirements 

• 	 Submit $250 non-refundable deposit (if submitting a money order or cashier's 
check, please make payable to American Red Cross) 

• 	 Enrollment Agreement. 
• 	 Physical exam (within 1 year of class start date) 
• 	 TB Test within 6 months of class start date or 1year for X-rays 
• 	 Tum in at Mandatory Orientation Day - REQUIRED TO BEGIN CLASS 

Tuition payable to the American Red Cross 
Physical exam 
TB test results 

• 	 Fingerprints done by LiveScan on Orientation (no cost to student). 
• 	 Acquire uniform to be wom at clinical training 
• 	 Half-way through the class: 

$90 CEP testing fee 
• 	 Sign up with $100 non-refundable deposit for Home Health Aide (optional) 
• 	 Pass the course and attend graduation ceremony 
• 	 CEP Test - you should reserve entire day for testing 

Present proper documents to take test: . 
Original Social Security Card 
Acceptable photo ID 
NAMES MUST APPEAR THE SAME ON BOTH DOCUMENTS 
DHS form 283B with instructor's signature 
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Suggested Clinics 
(You may also use your regular provider) 

TUBERCULOSIS TESTS & PHYSICAL EXAMS 

Concentra Medical Center 

1221 North Dutton Ave. 

Santa Rosa, CA 95401 

(707) 543-8360 

TB Test: $30 

Physical Exam: $70 

Drop 1n: M-F 8am-3:30pm 


Petaluma Health Center 
Services 
1179 North McDowell Blvd. 
Petaluma, CA 94954 
(707) 559-7500 
info@phealthcenter.org 
appointment 
TB Test: $15 
Drop 1n: Tuesday 9am-12pm 
Physical Exam: by appointment, cost varies 

Saints Jane & Mary Medical Center 
Center 
1580 Sebastopol Rd. Suite 1 
Santa Rosa, CA 95407 
(707) 591-9667 
Physical Exam & TB Test: $60 by appointment 

Sonoma State University 
Family Nurse Practitioner Program 
180 I E. Cotati Ave. 
Rohnert Park, CA 94928 
(707) 664-2466 
Physical Exam: $30 by appointment 

Occidental Area Health Center 
3802 Main St. 
Occidental, CA 95465 
(707) 874-2444 
wchealth.org 
TB Test: $13 
Drop-1n: Mondays 5pm-6pm 
Physical Exam: by appointment, cost 
varies 

Santa Rosa Sports & Family 

1255 North Dutton Ave. 
Santa Rosa, CA 95401 
(707-546-9400 Ext. 2 
Physical & TB Test: $70 by 

Southwest Community Health 

751 Lombardi Ct. Suite B 
Santa Rosa, CA 95407 
(707) 547-2222 
TB Test: $15 
Physical Exam: by appointment, cost 
varies 
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Code of ConductlGrounds for Dismissal 

1. 	More than one missed theory day may be grounds for dismissal. 
2. 	Failure to pay tuition when due. . 
3. 	You must be on time to every day of class. No more than two warnings will be 

given prior to dismissal. 
4. 	 Failure to make-up excused absence. 
5. 	Speaking a foreign language in the presence of residents who do not speak the 

same language or anywhere in the facility. 
6. 	The following disruptive behaviors are prohibited: 

• 	 Speaking in a loud tone of voice (shouting) to others in classroom, lab or 
at clinical setting, thus interrupting class time. 

• 	 Use of foul language. 
• 	 Smoking in any area that is not designated for smoking. 
• 	 Use of alcohol or drugs. Please report to your instructor any medications 

you are currently taking that might impair your physical or mental 
capabilities. 

• 	 Any comments, gestures, or body language that is viewed by fellow 
classmates, instructors or staff as inappropriate. 

• 	 Leaving classroom frequently without an appropriate reason before break 
time or lunch. 

• 	 Sleeping in classroom, clinic or lab during instruction time. 
• 	 ABSOLUTL Y NO CELL PHONES IN CLASS OR CLINIC! Make your 

emergency plan before the first day of class. 
• 	 Using American Red Cross or clinical facility telephones without 

permission. 
Phone use is for emergency calls only. 

• 	 Use of residents' personal property for your own needs or entertainment, 
such as television or radio . 

• 	 Cheating on exam. 
• 	 Theft of property from school, clinic site, students, patients or staff 

members. 
• 	 Inappropriate uniform; one warning will be given for violation of dress 

code. 
• 	 Harassment of Red Cross staff, instructors, fellow students, patients, or 

hospital staff, whether verbal, physical, written, visual, sexual, cultural, 
racial, religious, or based on a person's physical abilities (or lack of). 

There will be NO REFUNDS of tuition for students dismissed due to a violation of 
the Code of Conduct or Dress Code. 
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Student Complaint Procedure 

The Nursing Training Programs Coordinator is designated to receive and resolve student complaints. 
She/he will be regularly accessible before and after class at the office of the American Red Cross in 
Santa Rosa. 

A. The Program Director has the responsibility and the authority to do the following: 
1. 	 Investigate complaints thoroughly, including interviewing all people and reviewing all documents 

that relate or may potentially relate to the complaints . 
2. 	 Reject the complaint if, after investigation, it is determined to be unfounded or to compromise or 

resolve the complaint in any reasonable manner. 
3. 	 Record a summary of the complaint, its disposition, and reasons for that disposition, and place a 

copy of the summary, along with any other related documents, in the student's file. Make an 
appropriate entry in the log of student complaints as required by Section 73870. 

4. 	 If the complaint is valid, involves a violation of law, and is not resolved within 30 days after it was 
first made by the student, notify the Department of Consumer Affairs, the accrediting association, 
and law enforcement authorities of the complaint, investigation and resolution or lack of 
resolution. A person who has a duty to provide notice under this paragraph is not required to 
disclose any matter to the extent of that person's privilege under Section 940 of the Evidence 
Code. If the authorized person does not provide all of the information required by this paragraph 
because of a claim of privilege under Section 940 of the Evidence Code, the institution shall 
appoint another person, who may not lawfully claim that privilege, to provide the omitted 
information. 

5. 	 If the complaint is valid, determine what other students, if any, may have been affected by the 
same or similar circumstances and provide an appropriate remedy for those students. 

6. 	 The school will implement reasonable policies or procedures to avoid similar complaints in the 
future. 

7. 	 Communicate directly to any person in control regarding complaints, their investigation, and 
resolution or lack of resolution. 

B. Student's Action: 
1. 	 A stUdent may lodge a complaint by communicating orally or In writing to any teacher, 

administrator, admissions personnel, or counselor. The recipient of the complaint shall transmit it 
as soon as possible to the person authorized to resolve complaints and shall attempt to resolve 
complaints related to that person's duties. 

2. 	 If a student orally delivers the complaint and the complaint Is not resolved within either a 
reasonable period or before the student again complains about the same matter, the institution 
shall advise the student that a complaint must be submitted in writing and shall provide the 
student with a written summary of the institution's complaint procedure. 

3. 	 If a student complains in writing, the institution shall, within 10 days of receiving the complaint, 
provide the student with a written response, including a summary of the institution's investigation 
and disposition of it. If the complaint or relief requested by the student is rejected, the reasons for 
the rejection must be logged. 

4. 	 Effective July 1, 2007, the American Red Cross, is in agreement with the Department of 
Consumer Affairs to comply with all state statues, rules and regulations pertaining to a private 
postsecondary institution as defined in Section 94740.5 of the Education Code, as it existed on 
June 30, 2007, in effect as of the close of business on June 30, 2007. 

5. 	 If you have any complaints, questions or problems that you cannot work out with the school, write 
or telephone: Department of Consumer Affairs, 1625 North Market Boulevard, Suite S-308, 
Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8200, www.dca.ca.gov. 

C. Student's waiver of rights is void: 

The student's participation in the complaint procedure and the disposition of a student's complaint shall 
not limit or waive any of the student's rights or remedies. Any document signed by the stUdent that 
purports to limit or waive the student's rights and remedies is void. The Nursing Program Coordinator 
shall maintain a log for student complaints. 
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Student Tuition Recovery Fund 

California Education Code 94316.10(a) and CCR, Title 5, Section 74750, require the catalog to 
include a description of the student's rights under the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) 
established pursuant to 94342 of the Education Code. 

The Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) was established by the Legislature to protect any 
California resident who attends a private postsecondary institution from losing money if he or she 
prepaid tuition and suffered a financial loss as result of the school closing, failing to live up to its 
enrollment agreement, or refusing to pay a court judgment. 

To be eligible, you must be a California resident and reside in California at the time the 
Enrollment Agreement is signed, or when you receive lessons at a California mailing address 
from an approved institution offering correspondence instruction. Students who are temporarily 
residing in California for the sole purpose of pursuing an education, specifically those who hold 
student visas, are not considered California residents. 

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, you must file a STRF application within one year of receiving 

notice from the council that the school is closed. If you do not receive notice from the council, you 

have four years from the date of closure to file a STRF application. If a judgment is obtained, you 

must file a STRF application within two years of the final judgment. 


It is important that you keep copies of the enrollment agreement, financial aid papers, receipts or 

any other information that documents the monies paid to the school. Questions regarding STRF 

may be directed to the Department of Consumer Affairs, 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-308, 

Sacramento, CA95834, (916) 574-8200. 


You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF fee, 
and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following: 

1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed . 
2. The school's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a stUdent to a third party for 
license fees or any other purposes, or to provide equipment or materials for which a 
charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the school. 
3. The school's failure to payor reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed 
student loan program as required by law, or to payor reimburse proceeds received by 
the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs. 
4. The school's breach or anticipatory breach of the agreement for the course of instruction. 
5. There was a decline in the quality of the course of instruction within 30 days before the 
school closed, or if the decline began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, a time period 
of decline determined by the Bureau. 
6. The school committed fraud during the recruitment or enrollment or program participation 
of the student. 

You may also be eligible for STRF if you were a student who was unable to collect a court 
judgment rendered against the school for violation of the Private Postsecondary and Vocational 
Education Reform Act of 1989. 

You must pay the state-imposed fee for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the 
following applies to you: 

1. You are a student who is a California resident, and who prepays all or part of your tuition 
either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and 
2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, 
government program or other payer, unless you have a separate agreement to repay the 
third party. 

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF, and you are not required to pay the STRF fee if 
either of the following applies: 

1. You are not a California resident. 
2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program 
or other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party. 
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Notice of Cancellation 

Date when CNA class started: __~/'__-,I___ 

Location o f Training:_________ 

You may cancel this contract for school without any penalty 5 days prior to OrientationlRegistration day 
with the exception of the non-refundable registration fee. 

To cancel the contract for school, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this notice, or any other 
written notice, or send a telegram to the following address: 

American Red Cross 

5297 Aero Drive 


Santa Rosa, CA 95403-8070 


Not later than: --'---,'--­(Enter date that is five (5) days prior to OrientationlRegistration Day.) 

I cancel the contract for school. 

Signature: _ _ _____________ _ _ 

Date: __1__1__ 

You do not have the right to cancel by just telephoning the school or by not coming to class. 

Refund policy may also be found In Enrollment Agreement. 


REMEMBER: YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING. 
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Training Fees 

Nurse Assistant Training 
Non-refundable registration fee 
160 hours, half-day or full day classes* 

*Fees include training, LiveScan and materials. 

State Examination (skills and written test) OR 
(skills and oral Test) 

If student fails, skills retest (additional fee) 
and/or written retest (additional fee) 

Suggested Equipment (Optional) 
Gait Belt 
Blood Pressure Kit (stethoscope and cuff) 

$ 250.00 
$ 1145.00 
~ 1395.001 

$ 90.00 
$ 105.00 
$ 50.00 
$ 35.00 

$ 24.00 
$ 39.00 

Home Health Aide Training (Prerequisite: Certified Nurse Assistant) 
Non-refundable registration fee $ 100.00 
40 hours, 1/2-day classes (26 CEUs) $ 350.00 

$ 450.00 

Please retain copies of your TB and physical. ARC will 

charge $8 for any requested copies. 


15 




CONVICTION OF PENAL CODE SECTION WHICH CONSTITUTE 
AUTOMATIC DENIAL/REVOCATION 

187 Murder 
192 aj Manslauahter Voluntarv 
203 MaYhem 
205 Aaaravated maYhem 
206 Torture 
207 Kldnaooina 
209 Kidnapping for ransom, reward, or extortion or robbery 
210 Extortion bV POslnQ as kidnapper 
210.5 False imprisonment 
211 Robbery I includes decrees in 212.5 fa and (b 
220 Assault with intent to commit mayhem, raoe, sodomy. oral copulation 
222 Administering stupefying drugs to assist in commission of a felony 
243.4 Sexual battery (Includes dearees a) - Id)) 
245 Assault with deadly weapon, all inclusive 
261 ReI'e Oncludes degrees la)· ell 
262 Rape of spouse Includes a) ­ (e 
264.1 Race or penetration of aenital or anal openlnos bv foreian obiect 
265 Abduction for marriage or defilement 
266 Invelalement or enticement of female under 18 
266 a Takln a erson without will or by misrepresentation for restitution 
266 b Taklno a person by force 
266 e Sexual act by fear 
266 d Recelvina money to place a person in cohabitation 
266 e Placing a person for rostitution allilinst will 
266 Seiling a person 
266 Prostitution of Wife by force 
266 h PImpIng 
266 I Panderine 
266 Placln child under 16 for lewd act 
266 k Felonv enhancement for DimDlnQ/panderinQ 
267 Abduction of person under 18 for urposes of prostttution 
273a Willful harm or In urv to a child {includes deQrees (a)- (e)) 
2731d Co oral unishmentllnJury to a chlld_{lnciudes de rees aL- tC}j 

273.5 WiUfullnfliclion of corporal in urv I Includes deQre9s (8 h)) 
285 Incest 
286 e Sodomy with person under 14 years against will . 286 d Voluntarily acting in concert with or aidine and abettlng.ln act of sodomy aaainst will 
286 Sodomy with unconscious victim 
286 Sodomy with victim with mental disorder or develoomental or physical disabilltv 
288 lewd or lascivious acts with child under a e 14 
288a e Oral copulation with person under 14 years aaainst will 
288a d Voluntary acting In concert with or aidin and abetting 
288a Oral copulation with unconscious victim 
288. Oral co ulation with victim wfth mental disorder or develoJLmental o~~sical disability 
288.5 Continuous sexual abuse of a child Oncludes deQree (a}) 
289 Penetration of genItal or anal openingJ>yJoreign oblectUncludes ~rees (a) j)) 
289.5 Rape or sodomy (includes degrees {a and (b 
368 Elder or dependent adults abuse. theft or embezzlement of property (includes de rees bj · 
451 Arson Includes degrees a) - (e 
459 Bu I. includes decrees in 460 a) and (b)l 
470 Forgery ,Includes degrees (a - en 
475 POSS~l~)~~r(~})elPt of forged bills. notes. trading stamps. lottery tickets or shares (indudes 

degrees a - c 
484 Theft 
484 bj Intent to commtt theft bv fraud 
484 d·1l Theft of access card, forgery of access card, unlawful use of access card 
487 Grand theft (includes deorees (e d)l 
488 Petty theft 
496 Receivlno stolen property (indudes degrees (a ell 
503 Embezzlement 
518 Extortion 
666 Repeat convictions for petty theft, grand theft. burglary. ca~acking, robbery and receipt of stolen 

property 

16 




Student Uniform Dress Code Guidelines 

Each student has the primary responsibility for maintaining exceptional standards of grooming, dress and 
hygiene that comply with health and safety regulations. By maintaining these standards you will reinforce 
your desire to deliver the highest quality care and demonstrate professional values. 

LOOK PROFESSIONAL I BE PROFESSIONAL! 

You will need to have the following items by Day #1 0 of the "Half Day" Class and by Day #5 of the "Full 
Day" Class: 

UNIFORM: Royal Blue medical scrubs (large pockets preferred) 

SHOES: White or black closed-toe shoes, closed heel (no slingback) shoes with 
non-skid soles. 

WATCH: Watch with a second sweep hand. Elasticized watchband which can be 
moved up on the arm during hand washing is preferred. 

PAPER: Small pad of paper. 

PEN: Ballpoint pen - blue or black ink I Highlighter 

JEWELRY: Keep it simple. Avoid large and dangling earrings or chains. For 
cleanliness, all rings and bracelets will have to be removed when you 
are washing your hands at the clinical site. Facility policies regarding 
piercings, must be followed. 

HAIR: Keep hair clean and neatly trimmed. If you have long hair, please plan to 
put it up for clinical practice in a ponytail, bun, twist or braids. 

FINGERNAILS: Keep trimmed with length of nails in accordance with patient safety 
needs. Use clear or light colored nail polish . No nail jewelry. 

HYGIENE: Maintain good personal hygiene habits. Makeup in moderation. NO 
perfumes or colognes in consideration of and sensitivity to the residents. 

NAME BADGE: Wear Red Cross student name badge at all times in the clinical facility. 

DO NOT BRING PERSONAL ITEMS THAT YOU CANNOT AFFORD TO LOSE TO THE CLINICAL 
SITE. 

You must be able to carry everything that you need in your pockets. Optional - small waist pack (fanny 

pack) for your personal items. 


IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE UNIFORM REQUIRED, YOU WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO COME TO 
CLINICAL PRACTICE. 
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