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The San Jose Barber College is located at 1686 Monterey
Highway, San Jose, California. The College has 1,800
square feet of floor space, fluorescent lighting and the
most modern back bars. The ten feet ceiling affords
adequate ventilation. There are two private toilets and
washbasins for men and women, each equipped for the
handicapped. Sanitary linen and supply cabinets are
utilized. The college has an automatic sprinkler system
overhead. There are 340 square feet used as the
classroom and the locker room. The classroom contains
usual library and instructional equipment, wall diagrams
prescribed by the State Board of Barbers and
Cosmetologists. The premises contain heat and an air
condition system.

The San Jose Barber College operates under the Laws and
Regulations prescribed by the California State Board of
Barbers and Cosmetologists and the Bureau for Private
Postsecondary Education.

Entrance Requirements

Entrance requirements are prescribed by the State Board
of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Generally, these
requirements consist of either proof of the 10t grade or
its equivalent. Presenting good moral character is
required but this does not exclude from admission those
who have had unusual prior experiences. Minimum age
for admission is 16 %2 years. The student is obligated to
visit the college at least six days prior to starting class.
The officials are obligated to provide the student with a
thorough tour of the college facilities and to place a
written statement, signed by the student and put in the
student’s file to verify that the visitation and tour were
provided.



Enrollment Policy

The San Jose Barber college permits enrollment on any
day (closed Sunday and Monday) Tuesday through
Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Attendance Policy and Regulations

The college is glad to cooperate with students by advance
arrangements for absence for medical care, weddings,
funerals, etc..... However, whenever an absence is claimed
excused by reason of illness or medical care, a certificate
signed by the doctor is required.




Interruption for Unsatisfactory Attendance

Interruption for unsatisfactory progress or conduct run
from three to thirty days and may be permanent.
Disregard for school regulations constitutes sufficient
reason for suspension. Any student is subject to
suspension or interruption for unsatisfactory attendance.

Conditions of Re-Entrance

After formal interruption or suspension, students are
permitted to resume the course with credit on the same
enrollment only when the required hours can be
completed with the months specified in the law and
approval of the school.

Misconduct

In addition to the standards outlined above, any
disorderly, rude or impolite conduct towards customers,
staff or other students is cause for suspension or
dismissal.

The San Jose Barber College does not discriminate because
of a person’s race, color, sex, religion, age, ancestry or
natural origin.

The San Jose Barber College is dedicated to training
students in various phases of barber styling.



The San Jose Barber College is open every day of the year
except Sunday Monday and Holidays prescribed by Section
215 of the Regulations of the State Board of Barbers and
Cosmetologists.

These holidays are New Year’s Day, Labor Day,
Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day. All other holidays

proclaimed by the President of the United States and the
Governor of California.

Credit Evaluation Policy

The San Jose Barber College accepts transfers from all
other barber colleges accredited or licensed by the State
Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. No financial penalty
is required f the student who merely pays for the hours
required to complete the course. All transfers are under
the supervision and regulations of the State Board of
Barbers and Cosmetologists. Full credit is given for work
performed elsewhere whenever the transfer is approved
or within the framework of approved regulations of the
State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.

Special Cases

In the case of student’s prolonged illness or accident, a
death in the family or other circumstances that make it
impractical to complete the course, the school shall make
a settlement which is refundable and fair to both.

SAN JOSE BARBER COLLEGE CANNOT GUARANTEE JOB
PLACEMENT OR HOUSING.



Course Objectives

The Educational Vocational objective of each course taught
at San Jose Barber College is to prepare the student barber
for the examination to become a Licensed Registered
Barber. The courses taught are prescribed by the State
Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.

Attendance Pattern Permitted

40 hours a week - 38 weeks - 1500 clock hours
30 hours a week - 50 weeks - 1500 clock hours

20 hours a week - 75 weeks - 1500 clock hours

The above table explains the number of weeks required to
complete the 1500 - hour course required by the State.
When there is a variation from the usual eight hours a day
five days a week. The same amount of class work and the
same amount of total time required by the State is
completed by each student, regardless of the time in daily
attendance.

Students may be dismissed because they have no aptitude.
It is not the policy of the school to accept tuition from
students or their sponsors in these cases where it is
apparent after a few days or weeks that the student will
not ultimately qualify as a barber.

After satisfactorily completing all required practical
services, theory and hours, San Jose Barber College
graduates are given a Graduation Letter along with a
Diploma in the Art and Science of Barbering.



Six - Day Cancellation

All monies paid by the applicant will be refunded if
requested within six days after signing the enrolilment
agreement and making the initial payment. After the six
day period but prior to starting classes students may

terminate and receive a refund of all monies paid minus
the enrollment fee.

Tuition Refund Policy

A student terminating training after entering school and
starting classes shall be entitled to a prorated (hourly)
refund minus the enrollment fee. Refunds will be made
within thirty days of the termination date, which is the last
date of the actual attendance by the student.

San Jose Barber College
Maintains A Drug Free Policy



